The Outsider (2019) Poster

(I) (2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
42 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
Not sure we watched the same movie.
cjfarley-6593922 June 2019
Not sure where the 8,9,and 10 star reviews came from. Trace Adkins seemed to be trying to channel Sam Elliot. The guy playing the villain pretty much chewed the scenery. The hero wasn't developed at all. The action was too little and was either filmed so close or so dark you couldn't see what was happening. Danny Trejo usually brings some life to the screen, he was nice and menacing, but dialogue sounded like he was reading it off cue cards. Flanery was probably the best part of the movie, but his character wasn't really developed either. There were some really strange decisions about what to film. Why closeups of people chewing food?
29 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Ain't no cowboys riding across your screen any more...
wilsp-2551216 September 2019
It's too bad really. Trace Atkins is so much better than this dark, dank poorly written, pathetically acted 'old west' saga. What plot there is came from a half dozen movies past. Everything from KungFu to Bonanza. (You'll recognize them.) Add this weakness to fact the entire presentation takes place at night and the result is a half baked struggling concoction that's never going to rise past sad. The three stars I gave it are: one for Trace, one for Danny and one for the horses! Save the popcorn and two hours of your life. Miss this one.
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A "B- Movie" at best.
lombligo200324 June 2019
Eh, the acting and scenes are pretty bland or shall I say "flat". No way near a classic Spaghetti Western like Sergio Leone's old westerns (as some ridiculous article tried to point out). Hell no! Now those were movies. This movie is lacking emotion, it tries to be dramatic, but it just doesn't connect with you, you just don't feel it. Like most movies coming out today, that are either straight to DVD or just blah. And the two lead actors (husband and wife) who are indeed Asian, look more latin or American Indian than anything else. Lol.
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Silly Movie
carlosferro3630 June 2019
People who rate this movie above 5 haven't watch any Clint Eastwood, Charles Bronson....
19 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Well, the filmmakers tried hard...
Wizard-86 October 2019
In recent years there have been in the direct to DVD world a number of westerns made on very low budgets. This is one of them, and I think that despite it having a number of flaws, it is a touch above most other modern low budget westerns. Now, it IS very cheaply made, but I could see that the filmmakers tried very hard to hide this fact, such as with the use of limited lighting in a number of sequences. And they did spend some money when it counted, such as with the use of a rain machine in a few sequences, which does add some atmosphere. The filmmakers were also able to with the limited funds generate a few decent scenes of action and/or suspense.

However, these points of merit only take the movie so far. While the movie is atmospheric, it is undeniably VERY slow to unfold, made worse that the core of the story is simply a rehash of revenge westerns from the past. A quicker pace would have helped things considerably. Also, the movie is hurt by the fact that the central protagonist (played by Jon Foo) doesn't give a particularly good or engaging performance. There are also a few badly directed sequences that will momentarily puzzle viewers as to what exactly is happening in front of them, or what just happened moments before.

Despite these and other flaws, I admit that I wasn't at any time BORED by the movie, and while I may not be giving the overall results a passing grade, I do think that under the low budget circumstances, the filmmakers deserve an "A" for effort.

One last note, this one to fans of Danny Trejo: He only shows up for a couple of minutes.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Poor acting, director and just all and all a slow ride.
heavyriginc22 September 2019
Not worth the hour and a half...

Too dark and writing is not good at all.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A Disgrace to The Genre of Western
akelly-6855616 September 2019
The only good thing about this movie was getting to watch Jon Foo. Even still I'm sadden and confused why he would lend his talents to this movie. Wishful Thinking maybe on Foo's part. This movie is a disgrace to the Movie Genre of Western.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Is this a movie? Really?
magicdustenterprises22 September 2019
I don't know what this is. Whoever this director is needs to be banned from making any movies in the future. Also, it looks like there's a lot of fake review on here who reviewed this title around June 2019 with 10 stars raising the average to 6.1 to deceive people into watching it. Please do not watch it.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Poor acting, crap story and action.
rev93715 June 2019
It's like other tons of low-budget westerns. 1 star is fine for this movie. Poor acting, poor story and no action at all and the movie shooting is not so good also.
16 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not bad for a B Western
jrnabors29 December 2019
The streaming services and Wal-Mart's movie section have brought back the "B" Western. You know, one that's not going to win any Oscars, but is still going to be entertaining. This one fills the bill quite nicely. Trace Adkins has been in several of these, but it was Flanery that in my opinion held the movie together once he decides to team up with the Chinese railroad worker, with acting that's actually good enough for a big budget Western, not that they make those anymore.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worse movie I've seen in years! Terrible acting, all scenes done in dark, rainy with little or no visibility. Plot is same old story done a million times. Don't waste your
benc706021 September 2019
Terrible in every way. Worse movie I've seen in years. An insult to acting and film making!
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Dark....For The Wrong Reason!
godsmessenger21 September 2019
This movie is POORLY directed. TOOOO much of the movie is black, dark....as in "Not Enough Light"!!! Too many of the scenes (frames) are spend entirely too much "filler time" on any particular frame. Add more light to the dark scenes move from one scene a bit faster than 5 minutes and it "may" be a better film.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A bad film
hamza7771236 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Bad scenario And consumption story do not know why these high ratings are
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Intriguing movie
bbolicek4 December 2020
Ignore the low ratings. Some folks aren't happy unless they are putting down something.

Great acting, fun action and a great moral story. It's a true good versus bad, morality verus evil movie. Conflict within a father trying to protect and save his son, as many people suffer due to the father's love for his son. The father outwardly despises his son, not in reality loves his son and wishes he'd find God.

A worthwhile movie.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
You can't tell me one man did all that
nogodnomasters28 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This is a formula film and you know pretty much the entire plot after the first 10 minutes. James Walker (Kaiwi Lyman) is not the most honorable man. His father Marshall Johnny Walker in black (Trace Adkins) claims he is "beyond saving." James messes with the wrong Chinese railroad worker (Jon Foo) creating a script built upon revenge by a one-man wrecking machine.

If you like the tough talk and with a vigilante plot laced with a little humor and bad acting, this is it. Does Trace ever wear anything but black in films?

Guide: F-word. Rape. Male butt nudity.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
DANNY TREJO,S CHARITY
vanmust19 June 2019
Jesus Christ ......all the dialogues are western tough wannabe cliches ..not one original word ...as for the chinese couple ...the two chicanos are hardly convincing.....if Danny Trejo helped them for a few seconds out of charity so would Chucky Chan....after all he is very self sarcastic in the end of all his movies ..I bet he would have helped them for nothing....the only guy who fits his role is the wisel son.....reminds me of the stalker of Whitney Huston in "The Boduguard"....the fat marshal is asking for somebody to put him out of his misery........and what,s with the husky voice....did they use Sam Elliot recordings without his consent?
11 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Low Budget Stinker!
bud2mac_0325 September 2019
Need I say more? Just a waste of time in my opinion
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A decent watch
dworldeater13 January 2021
Warning: Spoilers
The Outsider is not the best movie by any means, but I was reasonably entertained by this B western. The sheriff's rotten spoiled brat son ticked off the wrong Chinese railroad worker. He raped and killed his wife (who was pregnant with an unborn child). This leads him on a trail of revenge where he uses his Kung Fu skills to break some arms and bust some heads. Trace Adkins was the father of this no good son, that he was sworn to protect against his better judgement. Trace Adkins is no Clint Eastwood or Sam Elliott, but I found him to be a suitable and likeable lead here. Danny Trejo appears here briefly and is gone just as quickly. He really didn't add anything to this and his performance shows he was just here for another paycheck. There are a million ways this could be better. I'm sure a bigger budget and more time to film would probably be the answer. Still, I did enjoy this and if your expectations are not super high, The Outsider is a decent enough watch.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Naive movie
qqml22 September 2019
Cliche story. Naive plot. BTW, they are not even Chinese.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Second rate acting
sdjohnson-884617 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
For the time set of this movie the clothing and buildings were off. The lanterns looked led. The acting was class B. Looked likr I was watching a "how it was made" edit version. Sad. I had high expectations.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Sad waste of their and my time..
shane013a-12 October 2019
As aptly put by wilsp-25512, this could have been so much with the talent. Instead the whole film rides aimlessly in the dark and ends up by stopping. No way would I give it a recommendation except of course, don't bother!
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
What was that?
darrich3927 September 2019
I created an account just to leave a review for this movie! Ugh. So bad. Terrible acting. Darkness. "Get the hose?" I'm pretty sure they didn't have hoses in 1875 or whatever year this was?? There's 2 hours of my life I can't get back..lol
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome Western
mannydume15 June 2019
Trace Adkins, Jon Foo and the whole cast did a great job. The casting was outstanding, highly recommend The Outsider, looking forward to the next production. They just keep on getting better and better.
10 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Best western
jshin53515 June 2019
One of the best Western moves in a long time. Love that they had an Asian lead. Very Kung Fu...the series.
10 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Vigilante Western with great action
gbb8817 June 2019
Trace Adkins handles his role as a lawman trying to keep peace, but his low life son's horrible deed brings the onslaught of a martial arts master who is one man killing machine. Some great action and fight scenes.
6 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed