(2019– )

User Reviews

Review this title
12 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Finally!
braydenflake5 May 2019
I've been waiting for this show for a while, these guys are well known in the fly fishing community for the Geofish and Geobass series. It's great to see them get a bigger platform. The people writing negative reviews here are clearly expecting something different when they watch the show. Fish or Die is a fly fishing adventure series, it's more about the journey and the hunt for a singular experience than just watching some guys fish. As someone who enjoys fly fishing and getting way off the grid to experience something very few people have, this series captures exactly what I want to to!
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great!
bnemeth-1061125 May 2019
To those who say they don't catch enough fish, you don't get it do you? It's not about the destination, it's about the journey. That's what creates the adventure, I, for one, enjoy tagging along. This show has heaps of adventure which I prefer over the standard "watch me catch a fish" fly fishing shows. The guys below who gave this negative reviews are the same ones who think catching a fish is akin to curing cancer. Dude, the last fish you caught probably had a brain the size of a marble, or less. Big man, you. I hear the golf course calling, you guys should answer.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Its about time!
ben-918602 May 2019
I don't understand the negative reviews here - Fish or Die is exactly what I wanted it to be and more. This isn't River Monsters, and it isn't meant to be. Its not about hero shots or grip and grins either. Its about a group of guys who share a passion for fly fishing and get to explore ridiculous locations in pursuit of that passion. Fly fishing is about the journey - and golden dorado is a holy grail fish for most fly fishermen I know. I thought episode 1 was awesome - these guys are rock stars in the fly fishing community. Throw some respect behind their names. 10 stars way up and looking forward to the rest of the season!
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awsome!
hebennett19 June 2019
So tired of reatity tv, drama, arguments, cusing uhg ! This show is So refreshing. The passion these men have for fishing and the adventure. I love this show, please continue, love love love this show.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Adventure!
bigsaltytears758 August 2019
I think the adventure leading up to actually getting the fish is necessary and it's actually my favorite part, I'd love to travel the world, fishing or not. So it's fun for me to watch.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Fish or die? Die
ralph-menendez24 April 2019
30 minutes into the show and they finally wet a line. This show is all "personality" and "color", no fish. They've managed to assemble a cast of characters of which you could care less. At least these guys get a nice adventure vacation out of it, but as a series, it's doomed. Bug bites, trench foot and stories around the campfire, a fishing show do not make. At minute 47, it's claimed that there are fish in the river, really? Finally at Minute 57! one guy loses three fish in a row, then finally gets one. Show over.
4 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
similar to Animal Planets River Monsters, sort of
exrhodie29 April 2019
Agreed that it takes ages to get somewhere & you don't see much fishing hopefully maybe they will get the idea & change for the better!
2 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
37 minutes too long
Keira_R25 April 2019
"How to get to your fishing spot and what happens while going there" should have been the title. They only start fishing around 38 minutes into a 42 minute show of which the first minute is misses. Effectively you see three minutes of fishing. As a fishing show, this sucks. As a "look at how interesting we are trying to look" show it's really good. Jeremy will be smirking if he sees this.
2 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
One sided
rooseveltelk9 May 2019
Recently watched your Mongolian quest for taimen. Pretty one sided for elitest fly fishermen. I've spent a lifetime fishing trout and salmonids. I would have out fished all of you on that river. To each his own but let's get real.
1 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Should Be Re-Titled
petebilling14 July 2019
"Fish or Die" is a catchy title, but these guys are just amateur trout fishermen, and outgunned in every situation. They have no clue how to fish saltwater big-game, like Grand Trevally. This is a feel-good show about exotic travel and has nothing to offer in regards to fishing.

When a show is titled "whatever" OR DIE, it implies an extreme hardcore drive to achieve the "whatever" and suffer if not. For example, "Liberty or Death". I did not expect any suffering, and I'm glad there is none (except mine), but at least fish in the rain! Don't walk through the village waking up locals to meekly ask for shelter from the coolish drizzle. Build a fire, pitch a tent, and man up! "Fish or Die"? false advertising - this is a marketed product that I purchased. And stop the constant mentions of safety first and how "dangerous" everything is - my mommy can remind me of all that.

If it were called "Free Vacations and Some Fishing" it would be great, and I would have never purchased it. As a fisherman, i want my money back because I am not happy about paying money to see fishermen that my son could outfish everyday.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What a great show
smith-kenneth-110 July 2019
I love this show. It's a great travel & fishing show. The characters are hilarious and don't take things too seriously. Can't wait for season 2.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Refreshing
smunster-279997 July 2019
Glad to see a show that is entertaining and real. 4 friends fishing all over the world but not always catching fish. One of my favorites.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed