Chasing Molly (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
16 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Very witty!
zmally11 May 2020
It's rare a film will make me audibly laugh out loud, but this one did. It's not groundbreaking, but it is hilarious and the actors all do a fine job. Not your typical comedy, and it gets even better on the second viewing.

Warning, lots of F-bombs!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great storytelling and funny
usfslk23 August 2019
That was a good experience watching this movie, characters are unique and dialogue is quite consistent, definitely not boring but you can clearly see that production is very basic and some scenes are just unrealistic. I'd recommend to anyone looking for original story
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Zzzzz
mjdk212 December 2019
I miss the days when movies were good. This is another crap movie with a lousy script, bad dialogue and poor acting. This movie is the equivalent of an untalented writer self-publishing a book on Amazon.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
More sketch show than film.
LLgoatJ5 June 2019
This tells the story of two ghost cleaners/con people who steal and sell a teapot full of drugs. The drug dealer then wants them back so one is taken hostage and the other, Molly has to try and get the drugs back, get the money for them or new drugs to replace them.

The film is quite funny to start with the two con artists on the phone discussing paranormal cases and then stealing from their victims as they try and clean the ghosts away. However the film then just seems to break down into a series of skits. It does not seem to flow. The ending also seems to be almost rushed and ruins the film to be honest. Its low budget but the film doesn't suffer and works well in its budget.

There are some funny parts of the film. More dialogue you will find funny than laugh out loud comedy. Most of the characters are unique and funny. Molly is particularly good. A lot of her lines seem to involve discussing unusual sexual practices, so I would not watch with your gran. Although there is no nudity. Just occasional cleavage. You may never look at a grapefruit the same way again.

The acting is a bit dodgy in places. There are some funny characters. But it just feels more like a sketch show than an actual film. Its still worth a watch though as it is funny and very well written.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Inside the Park Home Run
dji8815 May 2020
I haven't gone into a film with zero expectations and laughed so hard since I picked up Idiocracy in a bargain bin in college over a decade ago (and I'm pretty sure their budget was exponentially larger for Idiocracy). With improv-style, lower budget comedies I typically cringe more than I laugh - but the few times I felt the jokes were getting into cringe territory here, I was still laughing (shamefully), and the Director and Actors instinctively seemed to know where to draw the line. Turns out, some of those scenes even led to hilarious payoffs later in the film.

All in all, this film actually seems to almost have a sense of self-awareness. The talented individuals involved with this production seem to be acutely aware of how similar films in their genre are typically received, and they inherently know the difference between cohesive comedy versus simply recording improv actors go off on tangents or long rants. Even the epilogue scripts hilariously poked some fun at their own film. I think these individuals understood the mantra "don't take life too seriously, or you'll never get out alive".

The last thing I'll say is that most improv comedies or lower budget comedies I see are funny to a point, right up until they fall off a cliff about halfway through and then putter out to an ending that tries to make some sense of what we saw. That is not the case with Chasing Molly. Even though many will consider this an "improv comedy" and it definitely has some of that off-the-cuff feel, there IS actually a plot that holds true throughout the film and the best jokes are the ones that have been slowly built up throughout the film. The overall plot probably could have been conceived in a single session; but the acting, directing, editing, and written dialogue of this film are actually what make it shine the brightest in a crowded field. I still come away thinking of Idiocracy for some reason - not because the films are necessarily similar, but because they evoked very similar surprise reactions from me; and I truly believe this talented group of individuals are future household names in the making, and we are blessed to be able to witness their ascension!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Molly is on the move and I wanted to be on this journey with her!
doingmemyway9 June 2019
If you want to laugh, watch this. If you want to be entertained, watch this.

I am not Siskel or Ebert, but i give this flick 2 thumbs up. I was entertained through out the movie. I laughed out loud, to the point tears formed. A few times. The comedy in this flick is cleaver and the story is original. Its the kinda movie that if you watch for a second time, you will hear things you missed the first time around!
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Fun Time
alexcatalano130 December 2019
So nice to see a female lead. Shelly brings a lot of fun to this film with her wit.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My stomach hurts from laughing so hard
lcfelder21 December 2019
This movie is not only very funny but it's profound. The lead character is a very funny super hero woman who not only outsmarts all sorts of scary dudes but she also is wise and caring when dealing with a few women who are in dire straits and need her smarts to get out of trouble.

It has non-stop funny and suspenseful action plus a hint of decency underneath all the sassiness. Enjoy!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Kurt Angle delivers!!
manager-0195321 December 2019
Wow! Kurt delivers! It's true! The comedy was raunchy, loved it.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Yes yes yes to a female lead!
manager-5565521 December 2019
Love seeing a women as the hero. The dialogue is hilarious and unexpected! Laughed the whole way through!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious and original!
shelley-5719721 December 2019
Finally a movie that's clever and original! The comedy is edgy, not cookie cutter. The actors give hilarious performances. This movie is a must see!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love it!
themagicalmina21 December 2019
Full of comedic nuggets, a maze of laughs and gags with surprises along the way. A must see!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
WAS doing great til it got gross and crude
nanettemeau22 September 2020
The first 70% of the movie was funny and then they came up to that "skullcracker guy" who is crude and disgusting and filthy and gross - that trashy role ruined the movie. And then it just kept getting more and more crude and gross and not funny. Too bad. You guys ruined a potentially funny film. 😐🙄
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
sarcastic rating
avmvalloor25 February 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Super movie must see unbelievably good Super movie must see unbelievably good Super movie must see unbelievably good
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Utterly bad
suripat2 February 2020
This is one bad movie. Bad acting, poor script, stupid story. I really don't know how people actually like this. Just stay away from this nonsense.

3/10.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Excluding expletives and gross potty rants the movie is 10 minutes long
stevepat9921 December 2019
Obviously the '10' written reviews are meaningless or phoney in light of the accurate 3.5 rating from 112 people who viewed what I viewed. The Molly actres was great but sadly surrounded by this toilet wall written script. I aborted the film way too late thinking it could not possible keep going in one downward spiral. Then, I went outside to get a fresh breath of air.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed