Holiday Rush (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
54 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
It's not totally useless, but misses something
Wordsmith30 November 2019
Although engaging in a way, it misses something. It feels like a half-hearted christmas story, that is totally predictable and all and sure it's about family values and such. But it left me wondering, what am I missing...? Hence the half-hearted rating.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Unfortunately unlikable
mouldypeach1 December 2019
With the exception of Sonequa Martin-Green, there is not a single likeable character. She must have been exhausted carrying the whole damn movie!

It's not a *bad* film, but it feels about 3 hours long and the hideously unpleasant child characters kind of make you hope they have a crummy christmas.

Worst of all, sadly, is the dad... sheesh... wooden as a door!
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful awful awful unwatchable tripe
chrisrowexxx1 December 2019
Problem with this kinda storyline is you have to care about the characters, bar the dead wife bit they are all just awful, jokes about 6 year old twins demanding stuff at knifepoint, an egotistical son who you could never root for, a mother in law as charismatically challenged as a shoe and a self centred selfish daughter, what a family. Then the dad who felt like an unfunny arrogant version of mike from my wife and kids was the worst, ignorant, arrogant and just plain irritating. Roxy was good but not enough to save this.

I struggled to the end but felt nothing, no warmth no nothing, a week after the masterpiece of klaus and let it snow which was fantastic it's back to cheap, stereotypical rubbish from Netflix.

I feel as well in 2019 they don't help by portraying black people in such a way. The attitudes, ghetto talk and stuff just feels dated.

Really unenjoyable from minute one. Beyond terrible acting and the worst kinda people you can't feel remotely sorry for.
20 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
More Sonequa, less everyone else.
kerryrobinson-301077 December 2019
Odd concept to turn a movie about a dad losing his job around the holidays into his comedy. The kids are absolutely insufferable. Sonequa Martin-Green is fabulous which is why this isn't a 2/10.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Things will get better
rtuck-0144328 November 2019
Who doesn't love a wee Christmas movie that warms you up and make you grateful for all you have. It also reminds you that although life can throw you curve balls, it won't be like that for ever. Things will get better.
13 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Don't like the characters
annwilson10112 December 2019
These are some selfish kids. I can't handle it. I'm not even going to finish watching it.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Tired of Rotten Kids Movies
dreadlocs3 December 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This movie brought nothing new to the stable of holiday movies. The characters aren't particularly likeable, the storyline is typical and predictable and I feel Netflix really dropped the ball here. 6-year old kids know how to start a GoFundMe campaign to get Christmas gifts for themselves, but they can't understand that their father lost his job. Then there are the 2 oldest kids who are selfish, spoiled rotten, and cliched.

The drama and conflict seems very forced to the point that it doesn't seem like the characters in the movie believe the plot. I'm tired of seeing movies and TV shows with spoiled rotten, selfish, unlikeable kids, and parents who are nothing but ATMs. Why not depict kids with character who understand the love of a parent? We should be beyond this crappy, formulaic bs in 2019. Netflix, please do better.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not As Bad....
whlwtcher1 December 2019
Not sure about the bad reviews but I actually enjoyed this film. I thought the kids played exactly how they were written to be: entitled, spoiled, bougie kids who have been given everything, never knowing sacrifice, lack and hardship. I enjoyed the story, the acting (the actress who played Roxie was great!). It's a Christmas movie - give it a chance.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A good Christmas movie!
rmcaruso117 December 2019
I went in having no clue what other people thought of this movie, because I have pretty low standards for Netflix made films. This movie was actually good! It was cute and funny. I have no idea why it's rated so low.. just because the kids are spoiled makes this a bad plot? The whole point of the movie is that the dad wants to make his children happy and give them everything he can. It's just a silly Christmas movie. It could've been better, yes, but it wasn't a 1/10!
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disrespectful kids/bad parenting
kimletnes30 November 2019
The way the kids talked to their father in this movie made me too upset to finish watching it. The fact that as a parent he let them treat him like that is just as bad. I won't be watching this with my kids or finishing it. I want a holiday movie to make us feel good not make me mad.
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible
abbylowe-217031 December 2019
Not anywhere near interested in even finishing this film. The acting is horrendous. Don't believe they couldn't get better actors especially for the kid's parts. Don't waste your time
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Did it change my life?
sidseavers30 November 2019
No, this movie did not change my life. However, it kept me throughly entertained. I don't like how people expect every movie to be a billion dollar budget movie and they are expecting a once in a century type movie from a seasonal Netflix movie. This is a cute Christmas movie, maybe not one of the best ever but the cast had great chemistry, great acting and overall a solid story line.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Cute enough feel-good Christmas movie
TamPalm28 November 2019
This is a cute enough little movie. Very "Black-ish"/ "Best Man Holiday" esque in terms of production quality, aesthetics, and setting, with a dose of Hallmark movie cheesiness to make it acceptable for a general audience. If you accept it for what it is, keep your expectations realistic, you'll find it enjoyable enough. Well, at the very least you'll find it watchable and won't be upset you spent time doing so.

Speaking of expectations, the two main characters exceeded mine. I've been so-so on Romany Malco's acting skills in the things I've seen him in, but I was pleasantly surprised with his performance in this movie. But it's his co-star whom deserves the honorable mention. I'm not familiar with her, but I think she carried this movie! I can't believe I haven't seen her in other things. I think she has tremendous star potential! The actor who played the son was also a pleasant surprise. Will also give a shout to Deon Cole for playing the funny villain pretty well.

There are weak spots: the older daughter's acting is somewhat mediocre. The plot is somewhat predictable. But not to the point it insults the audience's intelligence.

I think overall this is a quality, family-friendly offering from Netflix. Given some of Netflix's other more "agenda"-driven offerings, you have to take the non-offensive, non-controversial stuff when you can. Enjoy!
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Welcome Break from the Monochromatic Hallmark Movies
AJBraxton1 December 2019
Every Christmas I look for some good old sappy happy ending easy to digest tear inducing holiday fare with a cast a hue other than the driven snow! Thanks Netflix for adding this to my choices...that's what you get with Holiday Rush. 10 stars because it does exactly what I expected it to do...
10 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Movie that brings back the Christmas spirit
contact-125-65114628 November 2019
Christmas is about Jesus first. Then, about family getting together. However the most part of Christmas movies nowadays are about new boyfriend/girlfriend silly thing. Completely out of the Christmas spirit. So, it was a nice surprise to watch this movie. And it was a bad surprise to see bad reviews about it. I don't understand what people think of family values today. It's sad. Very sad.
18 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Utterly Awful
Keeganamo2 December 2019
This was a really appalling film made up of some of the most unlikable characters I think I've ever seen in a Christmas movie. The kids were exceptionally unlikable and bratty (especially the son - ungrateful little s**t), it was painful to watch them on screen. Acting in general was pretty bad as well. I think I wanted to kick 90% of characters.

Sonequa Martin-Green was really good though. I sure hope the producers got her a back massage for carrying this entire film.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
If you hate christmas movies (like the makers of this one), watch this movie!
fverdult3 December 2019
Warning: Spoilers
A single father who loses his job just before christmas, and 4 spoiled kids who need to learn the meaning of christmas, and loat their mother to cancer. After all the bad plots this reasonable good christmas plot could (even with these not-so-great actors) create a very good heartwarming christmas movie. And this time not with a white family, but with African Americans, great new idea.

But then they gave this plot to moviemakers who have no band with christmas whatsoever, so they managed to mess up this plot big time.

After this movie you would think that black people in general (because every character in the movie with every background is black) have no christmas spirit, think that R&B is good for christmas spirit (while black people have great Christmas gospels about Jesus, or great examples of beautiful heartwarming songs in pop music or the movie Sister Act), they think that christmas is all about money and themselves (I am not talking about the spoiled kids but almost every character in this movie, at any moment). I am white myself, but I would think this movie is a racial act of bad white people who again try to kick down our image of black people. The makers of the movie manage to push down immediately every moment in the movie that could be heartwarming, by an unrealistic dialog or cliche, as if its makers want to rub in your face that black people can tell you how stupid Christmas is. With crazy umbelievable dialogs and character developments;

Kids (while decorating a christmas tree) say suddenly to an aunt they never had any interest in "I love you", because... they are decorating a tree together. Yes, this happens in other Christmas movies too, BUT ONLY if the decoration of the tree plays an important role (as it should play in Christmas movies), here the decoration as the hugging both happened for no reason whatsoever.

A woman never wanting a child of her own, suddenly states she is ready to have a baby of her own because she held the baby of a stranger for a second. This realisation fits in a Christmas movie, BUT ONLY when this theme plays an important role in the storyline. Here it comes from nowhere, and is just plain stupid.

A former manager who caused the fired DJ and producer a lot of problems while doing his job, quits his job and gives all of his money to the starting station of the DJ. Great christmas development, BUT ONLY if this had a meaning; if this -for instance- is the reason the struggeling starting station could survive or something. But the reaction of the DJ's producer immediately stops your heart from warming up as she (clearly not-impressed) says: More cash won't hurt. Then WHY DID THE MAKERS OF THIS MOVIE MAKE HIM QUIT HIS JOB AND GIVE AWAY ALL HIS MONEY?? If it is clearly of no importance to anyone or anything in this movie

I could say something about almost every scene that was just bad scripting and even worse directing.

Furhermore, there is no character development, or just no effect to the character at all;
  • have the kids learned about true meaning of christmas? No, at the end they only accept that they have to be a little less rich for a short while until dad does his job right
  • the kids have gotten a new mother, big change in their lives, but without any meaning for the storyline (no romantic christmas development)
  • the DJ starts a new relationship after his wife died, big change, but emotionally of no importance at all in the entire movie (accept for one hug moment with his new love)
  • the producer decides suddenly she is ready for kids of her own, big change, but in this movie it was no big deal and after this realisation you hear nothing about it anymore


To the makers of this movie: if you hate Christmas and black people this much, don't make Christmas movies starring black people!

To people who like Christmas and do not have any problems with black people; save yourself and do NOT watch this movie.
8 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great family movie for the holidays
mitchyrice27 December 2019
This was an enjoyable holiday movie. The cast was great. The lines were funny, and some brought tears. I loved how positive this movie was.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Cheesy but fun
irisheyes748 December 2019
Enjoyed it. Easy watch Don't expect too much, but still enjoyable
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A perfect Christmas movie
krw-7412030 November 2019
For a Christmas movie this is the perfect blend of sentimental and fun!
9 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just a really bad movie
hiphop_cy22 December 2019
For sure the worst Christmas movie i have ever watched. Bad actors, annoying characters, cheesy plot, sad jokes. 😭😭😭
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
For what it is, it's pretty good
ant890012 December 2019
The writing was decent. The actors really carried the jokes. Comedic timing was decent and I felt a feel.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Waste of time
andykowal-2316113 December 2020
My kids started watching it and even they gave up after 10 minutes. Unfortunately I watched it to the end.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Over acting show
mamgueomhle15 October 2020
With so many good actors on the cast it seemed like a parody or something ridiculous. The kids especially tried too hard. I think I stopped at around 30 mins in cause it was too much for me..🙌
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Adult movies have better acting
joergwohde6 December 2019
I swear some adult movies have better acting and there's not one likeable character in this "Christmas movie" Save your time.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed