The Wolf of Wall Street (2013) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
1,291 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Oscar worthy
karolin-9926329 December 2020
The movie Leonardo DiCaprio should have gotten an Oscar for. His portrayal of the character is perfect. The movie is well-written, leaving no details out of the original story. Martin Scorsese never fails to impress. One of the only example where the movie is better than the book. The movie never gets boring, I could watch this anytime.
130 out of 148 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
"Money is the oxygen of capitalism and I wanna breathe more than any other human being alive."
notoriousCASK24 October 2018
It's no surprise that Scorsese is associated with the gangster genre with films such as The Departed, Goodfellas and Casino, of which the last two are possibly the best pure examples of the genre. In Goodfellas the gangsters are dangerous but they operate on a more underground level, in Casino they practically run a major city and can do whatever they like. The gangsters were and will always be a part in America's system. Now, the gangsters are not just accepted by the system, but are considered to be an integral part of it. In the first two films, the gangster is threatening and dangerous, but avoidable. In The Wolf of Wall Street, he's calling to hustle you at home and you don't even know it. Some people view The Wolf of Wall Street as a glorification of Jordan Belfort's lifestyle and want to be like him, as Scorsese portrays this life by its nature, enticing. That's the way it works, and it's impossible to portray it accurately without showing how a charismatic man like Belfort can suck an unsuspecting person into a world of money and fame. The film though, shows us just how empty and destructive that life can be.

There is an undeniable similarity between the instantaneous joy, energy and euphoria that we have while watching The Wolf of Wall Street and how Jordan Belfort lives his life, this is a movie where the director skillfully mixes form and content to create an experience which is as hyper and as instantly ecstatic as the life of its flashy and opportunistic characters.

The direction by Martin Scorsese which still has infectious energy and power is impeccable, there is no other director who has mastered pacing like he has. This is a three-hour movie that moves lightning fast and always manages to keep the audience invested in the story throughout the whole duration. Each scene is packed with so much visual information, and it is fast paced and quickly edited, which complements the general tone of the film. The cinematography by Rodrigo Prieto is gorgeous as well and displays an optimal color palette throughout the whole film. Each shot also looks precise, even during some of the more chaotic scenes.

The script is fantastic, filled with many great and memorable lines of dialogue. Every character has a well-defined arc and motives, and the story is given proper breathing room to blossom. The performances are also exquisite, especially Leonardo DiCaprio who gives one of the best performances of his career and portrays the opportunistic nature of Jordan Belfort's character with great commitment as you can see a lustful, hedonistic and impulsive sex & drug-addict man who only wants to have more fun. Supporting him with equal passion is Jonah Hill as Donnie Azoff, Belfort's sidekick, and even he manages to make a mark of his own. Margot Robbie plays Naomi, Belfort's second wife and she does an alluring job in her given role. Matthew McConaughey is in for a very short duration as Mark Hanna, Belfort's mentor, but even in that little time, he is the show-stealer and he dominates the screen unlike anyone else.

Martin Scorsese and Terence Winter set out to create a film about the Wall Street excess, and by definition, it contains an excessive amount of everything, such as cursing, sex, nudity, drugs, alcohol and partying. But the film is not really about those things. The story of The Wolf of Wall Street boils down to money, that "most-addictive drug" Belfort speaks of, and not just what it can buy, but what it can do to people. Not just how it changes one's lifestyle but the effects it has on one's morals, beliefs, and values, and how it can effectively change not just how a person thinks and feels but how they operate at their core.

With a collection of truly incredible films, The Wolf of Wall Street stands out as one of Scorsese's best films, my personal favorite and by far his most humorous film to date. He truly went all out and it paid off in a hilarious satire on the reverence of money, drugs, women, and the admiration of a criminal money-maker. The Wolf of Wall Street is maddening cinema that's already high on coke but still continues to snort more white powder every 5 minutes for 3 hours. This is a fascinating vignette of excess, greed, abuse and decay and it's one of the best movies of the decade and surely one of the most entertaining movies ever made.
99 out of 121 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Leo's best performance of all time!!
abdulazizalsaad-7305312 April 2021
Di caprio was robbed in the oscars whether you like it or not, the only reason why people give this movie a low rating is because of the over nudity, and it's the same reason why leo didn't get the oscar in my opinion, which is what I don't understand!!!, it's an r rated movie, so obviously there will be nudity, it's not a kid's movie!!!! , it's easily leo's best performance and scorcese's second best movie after goodfellas.
24 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Worth your time!
juulgroenen12 November 2021
This movie has everything a guy likes. I watched it over 10 times I guess. Enjoy the acting, from both Leo and Jonah. It's a shame they didn't receive an Oscar. And yes I watched Dallas Buyers Club too, but this is too good.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
High energy and wonderfully excessive as it delivers an engaging true story, but the lack of morality anywhere was a limiting factor
bob the moo17 January 2014
This film arrived in the UK with awards and Oscar nominations all around it, adding an expectation which it really didn't need adding since even without any of that it is ultimately a Scorsese film with a big name cast. It also arrives with some other stuff because the film has been criticized for near glamorization of the excesses that Belfort was able to experience with his ill-gotten funds and, to be honest, it is an impression that isn't helped when you consider that this film was put forward to the Golden Globes in the Musical/Comedy section. Now I am sure that was a political move by the studio, but it does say something about the film because indeed for most of it we have stuff so unbelievable and so excessive that it is hard not to laugh at it. It is hard not to enjoy it.

And this is a problem, because the first 2 hours and a bit of this film is really engaging and enchanting in how much of a rush it gives you, how enticing it is and just how much vibrant energy it all has. The viewer is swept along and I guess to a point this is the film doing its job well because not only are we being told a story but we are first hand seeing how easy it is to get caught up in the grab for success, for money, for status. In this regard the film works really well because throughout the film I really was glad to be part of it and wanted it for myself; I don't think the film goes out of its way to glamorize this excess and this life, but for sure it doesn't do much to balance it – and this really is my problem with the film.

The structure, subjects and delivery of this film is so inherently similar to Goodfellas that it is hard not to mention it. If you remember the opening of Goodfellas you'll remember that it opens with a memorably violent scene where an near-dead man in the back of a car is stabbed by Hill and his colleagues in a scene that is oppressive and violent but yet ends with the narration telling us "as far back as I can remember I wanted to be a gangster" and snaps to credits under a big track from Tony Bennett. This scene is important because it works as a microcosm of the whole film – the appeal but also the cost, all in one place. Wolf of Wall Street never has any of that and it hurts it. I suspect the message of the film is that our financial systems are screwed and that ultimately the rich will never be in the same world as the average person, because this is what I took from the rather sobering final scenes. However if this is the point it is trying to make then it really hurts itself with the rest of the film seeming to say "so why not get on board". I know this is not the case but the lack of a "point" or an agenda it the film means that it naturally fills it with its own, which is a weird feeling.

But then again – I guess it is a comedy. So the infamous Quaalude scene is not horrific but rather hilarious, the scenes of excess and of criminality are not equally appealing and repulsive – they are almost totally appealing, we hardly get the other side or get to see a victim here, and a few seconds on the subway with the FBI agent really does nothing but yet again make the suggestion that "it's all broken so why not at least get rich yourself". Getting away from this, it is a well made film. Scorsese makes this award season's second film to owe a massive debt to Goodfellas (American Hustle being the other) and he directs the film with energy; music is used well as one would expect and the editing makes the film pop. DiCaprio is great in the lead – OK he doesn't find the heart of the character, but the film doesn't ask him to. Instead he is charismatic and energetic, drawing the viewer in and giving the film its energy. The supporting cast is deep with names and familiar faces and it is a statement about how well the film holds the viewer, because it isn't distracting no matter how many famous faces or supporting character from TV appear (although I did notice that this and American Hustle had lots of faces from HBO's Boardwalk Empire). Jonah Hill is over the top in a way that works, although I am surprised to see him getting an Oscar nomination for it in such a crowded year.

Wolf of Wall Street has had a lot of praise and this will continue as the Oscars approach and are awarded. Personally I enjoyed the film as a funny true story delivered with energy and excess but in many ways it is not Goodfellas and the most important of these is that the film lacks a moral core to itself, to its characters and to its message. I don't mind the "it's all screwed so who cares" message that it ultimately seems to give, but I didn't feel comfortable with how wide a smile it had on its face while it was delivering it.
211 out of 296 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is easily Leo's best performance ever!
alexscott-3529915 November 2021
This movie is absolutely amazing and it deserved way more Oscar wins. Leonardo DiCaprio is unbelievable and this movie is his best performance and he isn't the only one putting in an amazing performance, this film is littered with them, Jonah Hill is amazing, Margot Robbie is so good to say this was her first major role. I love the story that this movie is telling and the direction on how they tell it is amazing aswell. This is easily one of the best movies of all time and it will go down in history as one of Leo's best ever movies. I love it so much!
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Dont normally rate movies but I had to
foehrenbach11 November 2021
I saw nearly all of the top ranking movies on IMDB and I love a lot of them, but this one is my favorite. Although this is a drama and not a comedy this is the funniest movie that I have ever seen. The lines and how they are beeing portrayed just makes you smile for the whole movie. The acting and the wiriting are brilliant and although it is pretty long the pacing is never too fast or slow. Even after watching it five times it still just gets better every single time.

By the way Leo was great but Jonah Hill gets underappreciated.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A fantastic story
drachenakz10 October 2021
This movie is incredible because it is based on a true story. Whether or not the actions of Jordan Belfort were ethically correct should not detract from the veracity by which he lived his life. All the people who are damning Jordan's actions wouldn't have the balls to live a fraction of the life he lived. This movie is a story of the true American dream which is one without bounds.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best movie of 2013
diegocoda22 September 2021
The movie is just the best, the acting is great and even I say that it was Oscar-worthy and the plot is simply one of the best ones; the message that it brings to you that money brings power and it is not always for the best because in this movie we see the downfall of a man that will learn that actually in life the money can be a drug and will simply make you cause damage to yourself.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best movie of all time
trainerowenex16 September 2021
Yeah, I'm a business major and this is my favorite movie of all time.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Where Human Flaws Make a Rotten Core
Serge_Zehnder17 December 2013
Brilliantly acted, superbly written and as one would expect from a picture by Martin Scorsese, it is a masterclass of directorial craft.

Showy when it needs to be, but also quiet and contemplative. "The Wolf of Wall Street" is the equivalent of something like "Good Fellas" or even more so "Casino" but set in the world of finance. The suits might be more expensive but the people who wear them are just as sick and violent as their street-mob counterparts. Sardonic in humor and unflinching in showing the depravity of its characters, it marks somewhat of a different approach to the world of stock-trading than Oliver Stone's "Wall Street".

Where Stone seems more in line with Bertold Brecht who considered theater (or in this case film) a moral institution, does Scorsese take the position of the omnipresent observer of the dark side of the American and in many cases the human dream.

Leonard DiCaprio gives another stellar performance of great intensity and even greater tragedy while this tale of corruption, greed and self-righteousness unfolds.

It's a vast panorama that shows how during the last twenty-five to thirty years gullibility as well as our innate greed make all of us accomplices in this never-ending pyramid scheme far away from any reality.

One could almost hear Scorsese's clerical background come to the fore again, according to which nobody is without sin, and therefore we are all susceptible to corruption.

It is our decision on which side we choose to live that makes the difference. For every individual but also society as a whole.
195 out of 307 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Leo is one of the rare reliable actors
hassanmy-0328513 February 2021
You can literally watch any movie for leo without reading the reviews, but this movie is special, it's been the fastest 3 hours in my life .
20 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The Wolf of Wall Street is Leonardo DiCaprio's Crowning Work
ClaytonDavis17 December 2013
Martin Scorsese has done it again. His newest and most refreshing effort he's contributed to the world of cinema in years, The Wolf of Wall Street is a roaring thrill ride that is both absolutely hilarious and meticulously constructed. It also presents Academy Award nominee Leonardo DiCaprio in possibly his finest acting performance of his career. At one-minute shy of three hours, I was both engaged and hypnotized nearly the entire duration. A comedic epic that studies the behavior and cultures of a time in America, feels like the uncovering of a time capsule that was buried and dug up to give insight into our current financial crisis. Much more than just laughs, it turns on the dramatic elements early enough in the film to warrant considerable reactions about the choices of our key characters. Expertly paced with intelligent moral questions presented, The Wolf of Wall Street is one of the best films of the year.

Telling the story of Jordan Belfort, a young Wall Street broker that gets involved in drugs, money, and even more drugs during the 80's and 90's. In his tenure trading (and stealing), Jordan marries, divorces, does drugs, marries again, does even more drugs, makes solid friendships, and believe it or not, does a lot more drugs. Watching the destruction of Jordan acted as a documentarian's insight that felt like I was watching "Intervention" without the family that cares. The Wolf of Wall Street is a black comedy, giving hints of drama. Natural comparisons will fly to Oliver Stone's Wall Street which is accurate but you can see subtle hints of films like Trading Places, Glengarry Glen Ross, and even American Psycho. That's a testament to Scorsese's outstanding direction and Terence Winter's masterful screenplay. Scorsese keeps Wolf life-size, sprinkled with characters that are both geniuses and morons, but functioning morons. They're like the frat pack group that sat in a corner on my college campus, being loud and obnoxious, and made terrible life choices that they still aren't aware of until this day. Scorsese puts together an all-star cast to inhabit these beings that includes DiCaprio, Jonah Hill, Margot Robbie, Matthew McConaughey, Jon Bernathal, and Kyle Chandler. All of which seem to be having the time of their lives.

A lot of the credit of the film's overall success has to be awarded to Leonardo DiCaprio. I've never seen him truly "go for it" in a way that he exhibits as Jordan Belfort. In his breaking of the fourth wall, to his long but completely engaging monologues about life, money, and greed, it's the most assured and compelling work by the actor to date. When DiCaprio unleashed his talents in the mid-90's in What's Eating Gilbert Grape? and later stole the hearts of tween girls everywhere in Titanic, who knew this is the role he'd been gearing up to play. This is the role of his career and something that the Academy Awards should look to for his long overdue recognition. It's a charming and adventurous turn that presents a conundrum to the audience as we find ourselves both enamored and loathing the pure essence of Jordan. A sequence of DiCaprio crawling on the floor will probably be the scene of the year. This is DiCaprio's crowning achievement.

As the magnetic and cheesy-minded right-hand man, Jonah Hill's performance as Donnie Azoff is another great turn for the 30-year-old actor. He's allowed to explore some of his comedic ticks and beats that he may not have ever had the opportunity to explore in films like Superbad or 21 Jump Street. In Wolf, he relies on his own instincts, and his chemistry with DiCaprio, which has helped him before for his Oscar-nominated work in Moneyball opposite Brad Pitt. Matthew McConaughey, is one scene shy of winning the Oscar for Best Supporting Actor. While his work in Dallas Buyers Club will bring him the acclaim and recognition that he deserves, The Wolf of Wall Street is a prime example of what he should be doing when he's not working or seeking out the strong, independent features that are geared for awards recognition. Stealing every frame and focus from DiCaprio in his ten minute screen time, McConaughey utilizes all his charm and spunk as Mark Hanna, the mentor to young Jordan as he started out.

Like any great Scorsese film, the women are in full-force and given the opportunity to shine like the others. Cristin Millotti, a toned down and tragic version of Marisa Tomei in My Cousin Vinny, is sensational in her brief appearances on screen. Beautiful and sympathetic, she offers much needed serious and dramatic elements to Jordan's outrageous antics. In the end, a star is born in the gorgeous and vivacious Margot Robbie as Naomi Lapaglia, Jordan's second wife. Whoever was going to be cast as Naomi, had to be an actress of considerable talent and had the ability to really be the sexy kitten but still warrant an emotional reaction from the audience when called upon. Margot Robbie was the perfect choice and she'll need to owe Scorsese royalties for years to come with the roles she'll be offered following this. Robbie is pure magic and is everything she's required to be. She's the more elusive, compelling, and more thought out version of Scarlett Johansson's character in Don Jon.

I loved every second of The Wolf of Wall Street. Terence Winter's script is a natural and well-oiled machine that produces the words of a demigod. You couldn't make these things up. Thelma Schoonmaker is the utmost professional and continues to shine film after film. You won't find another dedicated and glossed editing work this year. The other supporting actors do sensational work especially Kyle Chandler, who has a very well-constructed exchange on a boat with DiCaprio, has us asking more and more, why is this guy not helming his own films on a consistent basis yet?
523 out of 860 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Wild
robertreviewsfilms26 August 2021
Had to re-watch this. Wild and explicit scenes but overall a well made film.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Awesome movie
erickluca20 August 2021
The Wolf of Wall Street is an incredible movie, the character is very characteristic, but the movie has several pornographic scenes, making it impossible to watch with family.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Wolf of Wall Street review
Al_The_Strange29 December 2013
If you've seen The Goodfellas or Casino, then you'll know the story of The Wolf of Wall Street. This is another tale of a criminal whose ambitions sweep him away into a debauched world of dirty money, out-of-control substance abuse, endless lies, a troubled family life, and a downward spiral of corruption that inevitably leads to his own undoing. Only thing is, this is less about the gangsters and mafia, and more about white-collar crime. The guys wear suits, work in proper offices, and everything they do is just business; funnily enough, this whole movie still plays out like a kind of gangster film.

Based on the memoirs of Jordan Belfort - the real-life stock broker who made millions by selling shoddy stocks to average joes - the film showcases one seriously messed-up slimeball of a man. If his scheme sounds familiar, it's because it's been the inspiration behind the 2000 film Boiler Room, and this film covers much of the same concepts, albeit with better structure. The film maintains a close and intimate focus on the man as he rises to power, suckers thousands into his schemes, and then lives a life of extreme excess. And it is extreme: the whole film becomes laden with drugs, sex, superficial luxuries, material things, and characters who want nothing more than to take and consume everything. The sheer corruption becomes palpable on-screen, and I couldn't help but to shake my head at numerous scenes when I saw just how far these wolfish characters have gone in their unrestrained partying and debauchery. I have no clue as to how closely this film adapts the real-life events, but at times it's almost hard to believe that things could have gone this far. And yet, the excesses serve to underscore key themes and criticisms on the American dream; the pursuit of money and success, through any means, remains the main drive of the characters and the movie, and it leads to a fairly hard-hitting downfall.

This film features good-looking photography and editing. Acting is great: Leonardo DiCaprio is practically perfect as the titular character, and the rest of the cast pulls their weight really well (including Jonah Hill, who seems to fit into his character's archetype very comfortably). Writing is really sharp and good; the film is full of great lines and great speeches. There are some great-looking sets, props, and costumes on display in this film. Music has a varied mix of songs, and they're all used really well for their intended effect.

The Wolf of Wall Street is every bit as good as Martin Scorsese's previous work with The Goodfellas and Casino. All these films work with similar plots and themes, but TWOWS is like a gangster film masked by the thin veil of upper-class corporate swindling. It is a film that candidly shows the crimes and excesses in full, before proving that, even for the super-rich, crime still doesn't pay.

Recommended! 4.5/5 (Entertainment: Good | Story: Very Good | Film: Perfect)
205 out of 340 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The funniest movie of 2013
TheConnoisseurReviews25 December 2013
"The Wolf of Wall Street" is infectiously entertaining. It is probably the funniest movie I have seen all year with witty dialogue, over the top characters, and filled with energy that bleeds off the screen. Between all the fun however,  there is also a story about addiction and how it can cause a downward spiral in your life whether it be drugs, money, or power.

Acclaimed director Martin Scorsese does a wonderful job keeping this movie at a high at all times. Never once does this movie lose it's energy or sense of humor much like the drug induced characters. There are a lot of quick cuts and edits to keep the movie feeling as If you are on drugs as well as playing high energy music in some of the more serious situations.

The cast brings their "A" game. The stand out is obviously Leonardo DiCaprio, who pretty much owns and excels any scene he is in. This film really showcases his diverse range.

Overall "The Wolf of Wall Street" is a full on adrenaline ride that never loses momentum. It's directed with a lot of flair and energy and has an incredibly well written script that gives it depth and a ton of laughs. The cast is fantastic and DiCaprio gives his best and most fun filled performance to date. I really enjoyed this movie and think it's the funniest movie of the year 4.5/5
273 out of 467 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Scorsese's best pic since Goodfellas
andrewcappelletti30 November 2013
The last few Scorsese pics left me a little disappointed. I had begun to think Marty had become a 'gun for hire' and that his brilliance may have been spent (his earlier works were some of the best movies ever made). I attended a screening of The Wolf of Wall Street this evening, and was expecting to be unimpressed. I am happy to say I was completely blown away. This pic is Marty at his best. I laughed, I cringed, I related (with fond memories as well as a bit of guilt) and I TOTALLY believed every unbelievable moment. A good book, a great screenplay and a delightful cast were formed and molded into what I believe should get Scorsese a best director Oscar, and likely a Best Picture Award for the movie. Leo DiCaprio has grown into a versatile actor and his creation of this super hero dirtbag's roller coaster ride in this crazy (true) story is really honest and delightfully entertaining. Jonah Hill pulled out all the stops too and this is definitely his best work. Thank you Mr. Scorsese for delivering the goods so brilliantly!
435 out of 770 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
2013 goodfellas
12M314J7 September 2021
If you like goodfellas, put this on and use up 3 hours of your life.. 😁
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
His speeches are so awesome
hpcmakeup28 August 2021
The more you watch this movie the better it gets. Leo and Jonah are so good together! His speech when he says he's not leaving is my favorite! A classic!
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A great film!
paologerardo15 August 2021
I loved The Wolf of Wall Street! The truth is that I had a good time almost 3 hours long, with a very dynamic and entertaining pace that helps a lot so that the film does not feel heavy. The performances are excellent but the one I want to highlight is the great Leonardo DiCaprio, GOD! What a great actor. How well written the character is and the great charisma of the actor makes Jordan Belford, a pretty nice guy despite some things he does during the film. The truth is that I had a lot of fun and what better than with a very good movie!
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Wow. Just wow.
jaydenmccagh15 August 2021
Wow. This movie is incredible. Leonardo DiCaprio is incredible and I can't wait to watch more of him! He absolutely embodies the role of Jordan and I lose myself in his performance! Outstanding acting!

Scorsese's directing is impeccable (like always) so there's that to enjoy.

Margot Robbie was amazing as Naomi! (Nadine) She played the part perfectly. Margot will always be my favourite actress but I loved her in this!

I surprisingly never found Jonah Hill annoying in this movie (I always do!) he also did a great job on the role of Donnie!

I've been interested in Jordans story for years but to finally see the whole movie was incredible.

Once again the acting is incredible! Such an interesting story too! Overall 9/10! Fantastic!
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wolf of the box office
tommywhite-295287 August 2021
Wolf of Wall Street

Just an FYI this is a very late review , but I hope some people read this and feel the same, cinema is art and we are running out of films like this due the marvel universe expanding and taking over everything (I'm sure Martin would agree )

This film is a comedy masterpiece possibly the funniest film ever, whether it be Chester Ming, Brad or Jordan played by the maim man Leo himself, this film is as I have already described a masterpiece ether scorcese meant it or not (I'm sure he did ) he has nailed it once again, scorcese pulled every cliche from his book the similarities to goodfellas is almost as bad as joker to taxi driver, this film almost glorifies the crazy and unstable life of Jordan Belford but the last 30 mins bring you back down to earth, a lot like goodfellas you feel the come down, the dread, the consequences of the characters actions, it's brilliant to have this side of the film, I personally feel this is martins modern day classic, his best film since the departed, he just goes for it but that makes me even more exited for his next project whether that be with Leo, Bobby or both.

Thank you

Tommy white.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
LEO'S HOTTEST FILM
cjmetcalfe30 July 2021
Yet again Scorsese blesses our screens with another portrayal of a 'one of a kind', entertaining lifestyle. The glamorous, inhuman life of Jordan belfort was demonstrated with the purpose of idealising the motivation and ambition Belfort undergoes, inspiring the audience. Dicaprio perfectly captivates the character of Jordan, depicting his growth as a person (gaining success and power) and battling the consequences throughout the late 80s, early 90s. Scorsese includes the thought of trends throughout that time, he creates a stylish, aesthetically pleasing movie. With the addition of Margot Robbie, the film takes a raunchy turn. Hill, Dicaprio's co-star, creates an amusing, comedic side to the story of the wayward tale. Similarly to Dicaprio his character experiences a rapid rise in wealth and success, the story shows how they both deal with this sudden change in life. Scorsese portrays this experience in a colourful, luxurious and fashionable manor. This is definitely one of Scorsese's best productions, the shots have been taken with an insightful intent, producing a unique perspective, cleverly designed to showcase the extreme wealth that is amongst this film. There is not one boring moment in this movie. You will be hooked. An all round 10/10 production.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Powerhouse director comes out with another powerhouse
wrightjason-965363 July 2021
One of the best directors returns with another great film. Scorsese doesn't usually make comedies, but when he does, it'll turn out great. Not for children. Don't watch with family.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed