Hanna (2011) Poster

(2011)

User Reviews

Review this title
461 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Starts off as a good film, but ends up as a handful of good ideas, poorly strung together.
Ced Yuen12 May 2011
Once upon a time, there was a little girl called Hanna (Saoirse Ronan), who was raised in a forest by her father Erik (Eric Bana). As an ex-CIA agent, Erik taught Hanna everything she needed: hunting, armed and unarmed combat, and all the languages in the world. One day, Hanna was sent out of the forest to assassinate Marissa Wiegler (Cate Blanchett), the woman who murdered her mother.

Joe Wright's latest feature is modern-day fairy-tale that is part revenge-flick, part coming- of-age drama. Like his last effort, 'The Soloist', 'Hanna' has some very good ideas that are let down by bad decisions and occasionally over-powering direction.

The film certainly has a very strong beginning. The concept of a killer child may be screwed- up, but this is offset by the curiosity it arouses. Why has Erik raised Hanna in this manner? Who is this woman they want to kill, and why did she become their enemy?

The storytelling is tight, intentionally drip-fed, which keeps the focus on the moment and makes the assassination plan more dramatic. Well, for the first 45 minutes. After that, Hanna sees the wider world for the first time and becomes distracted – which is both good and bad.

On one hand, it allows some insight into the effects of Hanna's blinkered upbringing. Having grown up killing her own breakfast and making her own fire, she is not prepared for her journey through the modern world. Seeing her flick light switches on and off in awe is one of several touching moments, which add a human side to what could have become another soulless gun movie.

However, Wright doesn't know when to pull back on the sentimentality. The film hits its low point when Hanna hitches a ride with a stuck-up English hippy family, which is meant to contrast the lonely, limited nature of Hanna's upbringing. Ironically, this family is even more dysfunctional than Hanna and Erik, and only succeeds in making Hanna's journey more irrelevant.

Her meticulous plan somehow becomes self-indulgent faux-art, featuring slow-motion Flamenco dancing. The film goes so off-course that it is questionable whether there was a plan in the first place. Is the story intentionally drip-fed, or is there just not very much to tell? For a child raised specifically to kill, Hanna doesn't end up doing very much.

That's not to say that there isn't any action. There are a handful of set pieces, and they are a delight to behold. From a fight in a subway to a chase through a labyrinthine cargo yard, the action is wonderfully shot and expertly edited. Long, tracking shots allow for a high level of clarity and immersion. Even this, however, is sometimes ruined with over-energetic camera-work, turning the film into a music video.

Saoirse Ronan is a good action star, throwing herself into her fight scenes with zeal, but her real strength is her acting. On one hand she seems so genuinely lethal that it's a little scary. At the same time, she has a delicate, innocent aura that makes it hard not to feel sorry for her. This is a layered performance that transcends the generic labelling of 'good' or 'evil'.

'Hanna' is not flawed, but sabotaged. Ronan is superb, and the action is fantastic, but even this is not enough to put the film back on course after Joe Wright steered it in the wrong direction. It started off as a good film, but ended up as a handful of good ideas, poorly strung together.
89 out of 123 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
9/10
Slick, thrilling, art-house action film.
gzuhgut27 February 2012
Having read some of the more negative reviews on this site, all I can say is that they all seem to have the same complaint in common. Namely, non-acceptance of certain plot contrivances.

So let me say straight off: if you are the sort of person who didn't like Inception because it made no sense, or the sort of person who didn't like The Matrix Trilogy because it made no sense, or indeed the sort of person who didn't like any of David Lynch's films because (ahem) NONE OF THEM MAKE ANY SENSE...in short, if you are an incurable pedant, you will not enjoy this film and you might as well stop reading this review. Seriously, stop reading, don't watch the film and go calculate Pi or something.

If, however, you have an appreciation for tightly-edited, emotionally engaging, aesthetically pleasing cinema with a brilliant soundtrack and at times breathless pacing, please allow me to take a few minutes of your time.

Hanna is the story of a teenage girl who lives in total isolation with her father. She has vague memories of her mother, and these memories, combined with her (literally) encyclopedic knowledge fuel her desire to leave the relative safety of her father's protection in the frozen hinterland of northern Finland.

In a way, I don't want to say any more than that. If you've read the other reviews on this site that give away more, then I'm very sorry for you, but if not then suffice it to say that her father's motivation for keeping her in this state of isolation appears to be protection, combined with a desire to train her in survival/assassination skills, in preparation for...well that would be telling.

Of course, you don't need me to tell you that she leaves her father's protection and the story proper begins. As Chekov said "One must not put a loaded rifle on the stage if no-one is thinking of using it" and boy, does that rifle get used.

Saoirse Ronan is brilliant as Hanna. At times seemingly invincible, at others pathetically vulnerable, owing to her complete inexperience of the world. We see the world from her unique perspective as she struggles to understand non-familiar interaction, the natural ease of recreation and even the basic electrical appliances that we all take for granted.

The story moves us from one location to the next, painting a rich tapestry of colour and culture, whilst simultaneously (and somewhat comically) contrasting Hanna's desperate need to traverse these territories with the bourgeoisie's seeming obsession with "experiencing" as many of them as possible.

The acting is solid throughout. The only truly great performance comes from Ronan, but Tom Hollander, Cate Blanchett and Eric Bana all turn out good performances that serve the picture well.

However the true credit for this film has to be laid at the feet of Joe Wright. None of his previous films could possibly prepare you for Hanna. Wright's mastery of both a tight, intricate plot such as in Atonement, combined with his incredible skill in making this beautiful, thoughtful, action-packed coming of age story mark him out as a director of real class.

It is true that Hanna suffers from a few plot holes, but that plot is delivered in such an appealing, exciting and above-all entertaining film that anyone who isn't compiling continuity errors for some god-awful TV programme that relishes in the fact that THIS ISN'T REAL LIFE, IT'S ACTUALLY ONLY A FILM!! should have a blast letting this film take them along for the ride.

If you want reality, watch a documentary. If you want a very good fiction, watch Hanna.
126 out of 179 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
7/10
Bad storyline coupled with great direction / camera / sound. Technically brilliant.
linustcr18 June 2011
A 'different' movie. Bad storyline coupled with great direction / camera / sound. Technically brilliant. The net result is quite enjoyable. One does have to suspend disbelief to take in the gaps in logic, but once you do that, it's a good ride.

The entire movie is in effect a large chase, and the direction has brought about this element superbly. The camera work and sound kept me glued.

There seems to be quite a few reviews that talk of all the gaps in logic and reasoning in the movie. They are all true, but I found the high levels of technical brilliance more than made up for it.

In the end, not a 'great' movie, but one that I nevertheless quite enjoyed.
162 out of 240 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
3/10
Wow, was this a waste of money
MFFJM218 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This film was derivative of many other films including (Soldier, Resident Evil), with little new in the way of plot. The immoral CIA creates a program in which they are attempting to genetically create the perfect soldier by fooling with the DNA of embryos. When the experiment proves successful (huh..? Why shut down a successful program..?) it is decided for unknown reasons to end the project and terminate all those involved. Eric Bana, the CIA field agent who recruited the women for the experiment has a change of heart and tries to save one woman and her child. For no particular reason, except to give Hanna a reason to want revenge later on, the mother is killed by Kate Blanchett, and Eric Bana escapes with the infant. Bana raises Hanna as his own in an "arctic" cabin without electricity or modern conveniences, in order to prepare her for the day that she has to face the CIA and their henchmen. The day finally arrives when Hanna decides that she is ready. Bana digs up a transponder he had buried and places it in front of Hanna quipping that once the switch is flipped it can't be undone. Since there is no electricity in the cabin, and in fact Hanna has never seen an electric light, the method by which Bana got a battery to operate after over 14 years is never explained. Bana leaves Hanna alone to be captured by the dastardly CIA operatives. He did this apparently in order for Hanna to kill Kate Blanchett. Why he doesn't take Hanna with him, instead of leaving her to be taken by the CIA is left unexplained. Hanna is brought to an underground holding cell, the size of the Superbowl, in Morocco.

Strangely, Morocco looks a lot like the desert southwest of the US. Naturally, Hanna is more than a handful for the loutish CIA operatives and manages to escape through the ubiquitous air-conditioning vents which just happen to be her size. She makes her way to the surface, and just as she is looking out of a vast desert vista in broad daylight, Hummvees start driving directly over her head, apparently oblivious to the fact that there is an open submarine door in their path. As the last Hummvee passes the hole is shown as empty clearly showing that Hanna has managed to take hold of the undercarriage of the last vehicle as it passed at 50 mph, where she hangs on similar to Robert De Niro as Max Cady in the 1991 film "Cape Fear". Too bad nobody told the director about this same treatment by the "Simpsons" with Sideshow Bob. I'm sure I'm not the only one surprised by the location of Morocco for this CIA detention cell, instead of somewhere in the US. It becomes obvious later on when Hanna has the opportunity to show off her dexterity with languages, which wouldn't have come up in the US quite so easily. Also, since it was decided by the Director to have the final fight scene in an amusement park in Germany, the CIA detention center had to be someplace from which Hanna could conceivably get to Germany, without a passport or any ID.

At one point in the film Eric Bana picks up a post card at a post office, apparently where they've been holding his mail for the past 14 years, and there's a postcard from Hanna telling him in code she has killed Kate Blanchett, which is unfortunately incorrect. How she bought the stamp, mailed the postcard, or knew which post office Bana would be near is unexplained. The fact that all of this action takes place in a matter of a few days, makes the idea that a post card can get from Morocco or Spain to Germany in that amount of time laughable to anyone who has lived overseas.

There are several editing or continuity errors, like when Hanna kills the reindeer with a bow and arrow, but then guts a reindeer of approximately half the size, and then brings the originally sized reindeer home on a sleigh, apparently having made the sleigh from the raw materials by hand.

The choice of where and when to use blood spatter effects is also interesting. Hanna gets her face splashed when shooting people, and the picture in front of grandma gets covered when Kate Blanchett kills her (again for no reason), but the reindeer is remarkably without blood, even though Hanna is in the process of gutting it.

If you can willingly suspend your disbelief for this film, then you really have no disbelief to suspend.

The story is derivative, the characters are two dimensional and without motivation, the lines are full of clichés, and the violence is unrealistic. Eric Bana is supposed to be the Zen like trainer of Hanna, but he can't seem to handle a Aryan Brotherhood with a knife. I suppose 12 year old girls will like the scene where Hanna flips a Spanish boy who tries to kiss her, but her reactions were closer to that of someone suffering from anti-social personality disorder than of a normal teenager.

The fact that Hanna kills people for little or no reason would seem to suggest that she is in fact meant to be characterized as a serial killer, except that she announces to Eric Bana that she doesn't want to hurt anyone anymore, when all she really needs to do is to stop hurting people.

I found it disconcerting that Eric Bana had spent 14 or so years training Hanna to kill everything that moves, when the CIA was unaware of his or her actual existence. He could just as easily have changed his name and raised Hanna on a ranch in Idaho or a tenement in the South Bronx, but then there wouldn't have been as much of a story, as such.
349 out of 540 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
8/10
Beautiful. Don't let the negative reviews repel.
Joseph Stevenson30 November 2011
I really wanted to watch this film but I didn't have the time when it was in theatres. So I recently treated myself to the Blu Ray copy. I decided to check the user reviews before watching it and was very surprised by the amount of negative feedback. The reviews were almost hate posts! So, I put the disc in with mixed expectations and afterwards, I sat, glued to the credits thinking "what was their problem?!" Truly a beautiful film. Don't set out expecting an action packed bad-ass picture (I think that was the problem with most of the negative reviewers). Though not as frequent as your everyday action film, the action scenes are just as exciting as ever. If you liked the fighting techniques in Taken, imagine a teenage girl pulling off moves just as hardcore, if not more. The visuals and sounds of the film are nothing short of artistic. I give it an 8 out of ten. Not the best film of 2011, but definitely not the worst.
74 out of 107 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
Come and find me
Vishal Kumar19 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
What is Hanna? it certainly isn't what I thought it'd be. At all. Chances are it isn't like anything you've seen before. Weird, wild and beautiful, it's Jason Bourne by way of the Brothers Grimm, David Lynch by way of Hans Christian Andersen, Luc Besson and Tom Tykwer by way of huntsmen, evil witches and big, bad wolves. It doesn't hesitate, it hurtles along. It doesn't flinch, it charges. It prowls and pounces, haunts and disarms. It has a pulse, a heartbeat, a rhythm. It roars. It cackles. It sings a lullaby. It hums. It whistles. And, really, you should stop reading right there. The joy is in the discovery, as they say, and Hanna is best served with as few expectations as possible. Whether you ultimately find it baffling or bewitching is, frankly, beside the point. It's well worth watching -- experiencing, rather -- and you'll be hard- pressed to deny the thrill of such a bizarre, breathtaking ride.

Once upon a time there was a very special girl named Hanna Heller (Saoirse Ronan). Since she was two-years-old, Hanna has lived in the secluded forests of Finland with her father, Erik (Eric Bana). There, she's learned to survive, hunt, fight... and kill. When she turns sixteen, her father decides she's ready to hear the truth and to be presented with a choice: continue living in seclusion or flip a switch on a dormant tracking device and alert a vindictive CIA chief, Marissa Wiegler (Cate Blanchett), to her whereabouts. It seems Marissa has been searching for Erik and Hanna since she failed to assassinate the pair fourteen years ago, and Hanna is all too anxious to meet the woman who murdered her mother and sent her father into hiding. The choice is simpler than Erik had hoped. Hanna flips the switch the moment he steps away from the cabin. And then? Then all hell breaks loose. Hanna, captured and taken to a CIA facility in Morocco, kills a woman she believes is Wiegler, steals intel about her true origins, escapes into the desert and hitches a ride with a family of tourists bound for Germany, where she plans to rendezvous with her father. But she'll have to stay one step ahead of Marissa in a strange, alien world of television, traffic and the internet, and dodge the CIA witch's fiends, led by the maniacal Isaacs (Tom Hollander).

Hanna leaps over vast genre chasms with the grace of the fully realized dark-fantasy, action- thriller hybrid it is. Director Joe Wright has created something so wholly in tune with his vision, so true to its own delirious delights and hard-hitting flights of fancy that it floats high above the Hollywood fray. It begins simply enough, explodes soon thereafter, and then slowly reveals its secrets and intentions with meticulous precision, descending into increasingly offbeat, grotesque territory only after enchanting viewers with its siren call. Wright pushes, sure. But he knows exactly how much to push his audience at any given moment. He challenges convention, but knows just how much pressure to apply. He demands a lot of those watching the film for the first time, but never more than they should be able to bear. (And Hanna is even better on repeat viewings.) His mad-hatter action opera doesn't overwhelm or overreach; it hypnotizes, mesmerizes and casts a spell with fierce fist fights, coming-of-age tenderness, cruel villains, audaciously long tracking shots (complete with brawls sans cutaways or cheap edits), dazzling photography, and organic electronica (from The Chemical Brothers, no less).

Ronan doesn't buckle beneath the weight of Hanna or Hanna, and approaches every scene with the same killer instinct her adolescent assassin approaches an assailant. Wright and Ronan seem acutely aware of how easily the film could plummet over the edge and adapt (or die) accordingly, creating a young protagonist both beyond her years and subject to childlike awe. (Hanna squeals with girlish excitement at the sight of a passing plane mere moments after gutting a deer and battling her father on a frozen lake.) Elsewhere, Blanchett gobbles down helpless scenes with toothy vehemence and devilish zeal (she's the Wicked Stepmother, the Foul Enchantress and the Evil Queen), Hollander licks his deranged chops and bears his fangs with sick pleasure, and Bana brandishes his best Bana -- the somber but soulful soldier -- and lends balance to an eccentric ensemble. The travelers Hanna joins -- a family played with flaky bohemian funk by Jason Flemyng, Olivia Williams and kinetic ball of energy Jessica Barden -- may be the straw that crack some filmfans' backs, but their presence is only jarring initially and only the first time through. Further viewings (and a bit of patience) illuminate their true purpose -- no wandering fairy tale princess would be complete without a band of quirky creatures and peculiar new friends, be they dwarfs, talking forest denizens or free- spirited European hippies -- and make them every bit as essential to Hanna as anything else. It's through her temporary surrogate family that she learns things her father neglected to teach her, for reasons that become painfully clear as the film nears its endgame.

But not everyone will be so forgiving. Hanna is a divisive genre-bender that will infuriate as many cinephiles as it entrances. Even if you and I typically see eye to eye, we may not this time around. Wright's fourth feature film defies expectation and explanation, and must be seen to be believed. It may not ensnare you, but it'll sink its claws in for two spellbinding hours. Hanna will probably make its way onto my Top Ten list this year, and it will undoubtedly find its way onto some of your lists as well, albeit as one of the Worst Films of 2011. You'll just have to brave its dark, demented forests to find out.
83 out of 121 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
Hanna Is Alice In Asunderland
renee-844-41762227 July 2011
Forget the trouble you think you might have with a teenage daughter who smokes, drinks, swears and gets contraception from her friends in the playground then doesn't use it anyway.

Teenage girls can be quite a handful and Hanna is way more trouble than any other daughter could be because when she throws punches – people die. She's a ruthlessly trained assassin by her secret agent dad and with a blonde disguise over her ginger genes, she easily passes for a modern day example of the Hitler Youth.

Saoirse Ronan plays the lead role with a quiet intensity that echoes the character she played in Peter Jackson's The Lovely Bones. But in Hanna she's not so much ethereal as she is lethal. Eric Bana plays her warm father who has the same concerns for his little girl as any dad – he wants her to be able to defend herself and survive in a world that's out to get her.

Cate Blanchett is a mother of sorts – mother to the subversive operation of destroying the father-daughter-killer-tag-team. But to me she looked like Julia Gillard on a ruthless rampage to restore order to a chaotic world surrounded by unreliably competent underlings.

The real success of this movie is director Joe Wright's ability to use every prop and every location in a highly provocative and meaningful way. Playgrounds are dangerous and decayed, snow is beautiful but unkind, daddies show they care by playing rough and demanding excellence and daughters murder then apologise for not doing it as well as they should have. The loss of childhood innocence would be tragic if it even existed in the first place.

Even the support cast and extras are homeless, baseless and nomadic like the leads. Everyone is on the move or on the run. But there is no escape.

I love wonderfully choreographed hand-to-hand combat action sequences and there are quite a few in Hanna – but I long for the day directors will return to holding wider shots so we can actually see the fighting take place. The constant rush of mid shots and close-ups with fast cutting detracts from a truly emotive fight sequence. Look at the footage of the beating of Rodney King – shot by an amateur – but you can't go past it for emotion. Hold a shot and you force the audience to watch. Every cut is a blink. And once the audience blinks – the emotional build-up is halted. Another great example of a terrifically shot fight sequence is in Coppola's The Godfather. Watch the unbridled fury in James Caan as Sonny as he gets increasingly carried away with bashing his brother-in-law. We get vital spatial awareness thanks to wide shots held long enough to turn us into gob-smacked witnesses. Now that's how you shoot a bashing sequence! Hanna has the menace of A Clockwork Orange and the inevitable pathos of Nikita while providing another example of what we are doing to destroy ourselves and our future. There are plenty of films about little girls whose circumstances and parenting options prevent them from being little girls for long – The Professional, Kick Ass and even Sucker Punch to some extent. But Hanna is the broken heart of modern youth from a broken family in a broken world that has cultivated a culture of making things that break then breaking them and throwing them all away like they didn't even matter in the first place.

Is Hanna a metaphor for raising a child in the post-modern world? What exactly do we need to teach our kids in terms of coping mechanisms and life skills? Is emotion now secondary to instinct and is that an insidiously smarter, more efficient way to live? We never really grow up. We just get bigger like the responsibilities heaped upon us. Our lives are terminally spent on swings and roundabouts in a spiralling state of disrepair so that playing games become less and less fun. And we all witness the mutilation of our childhood by the process of becoming older and so-called wiser.

If you haven't guessed it by now, Hanna isn't a cheery film. It's a grim fairytale.

Or maybe it's me. Chances are I've murdered my own childhood years ago. And what this movie has done is take me back there to identify the body.

It's worth seeing on the big screen.
73 out of 110 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
Simple action movie with a 16 yr old girl, but still has enough substance
KineticSeoul19 July 2011
I wasn't super hyped to see this when I first saw the trailer to this in theater but it got me intrigued. Especially how it goes in a direction where a little girl doing action sequences didn't seem lame at all, in fact some sequences was pretty darn cool. They way it reveals what is going on bit by bit was nicely done without giving away exactly and completely what the movie is about in the beginning. Good character driven movie with some good action sequences with a slight artistic cinematography. What is great about this movie is that it isn't just straight forward action movie. Even the soundtrack doesn't have the typical generic action movie style soundtrack, in fact the soundtrack is great. The masses might find this movie to be a bit awkward because it doesn't have the generic action movie feel to it. The plot isn't spectacular but somewhat absorbing. Saoirse Ronan was sometimes mesmerizing with her acting and I buy into her situation in the movie while she was playing Hanna and I wouldn't be shocked if there is a bright future for her in the acting business. However if your one of those audiences that is expecting constant action might be left disappointed. But when it comes to action it shows that you don't need a lot of CGI to make some cool action sequences. And the movie might be a bit slow at times, especially in the middle but overall it's a character driven movie with action in it that is worth seeing. It's a simple story but has just enough substance.

7.8/10
53 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
6/10
the review that writes itself
A_Different_Drummer7 September 2015
By an odd coincidence in the same year this film was released another film of a similar type came out, Columbiana.

Both at their core are stories of young women in a life they do not want doing things to people they do like. Neither is an Oscar winner, nor even near Oscar territory.

Hana has an astonishing cast. Ronan found an chance to let audiences around the world learn she can hold the camera with those amazing eyes of hers. Bana never gave a bad performance in his life. Blanchett however treated us to the worst American "accent" in the history of film and a character overall that had no credibility. Not her fault. It was written that way.

But I digress.

The point is that if you are going to try to do one of these films, than don't outthink the audience or yourself. Just do it. Columbiana with a lesser known cast (and less of a following) is the far superior film.

HANNA gets an A for effort, but seriously at some level in Hollywood the people paying the bills should insist on reading the script before they start writing checks.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
1/10
How does this film obtain a 7.7 rating? 7.7 Oh, please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Geff23 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Contains spoilers: This film, Hanna, was god-awful. I was angry when I left the theatre after ruining my afternoon watching a film with such a stupid, faulty plot. There are just too many mistakes and holes. Hanna is a 16 year old ANOREXIC-LOOKING supposed genetic super human. Right away you know the casting is all wrong. She looks so weak. Sometimes she kills commandos immediately, and then other times she fights with skin-head caricatures for hours it seems. Silly stuff. To view this film's comments, use the "hated it" filter. I think the film's cast and backers shamelessly used IMDb.com for their selfish, untrue, and dishonest promotion of the film. No one with half a brain would recommend this film. There are plot holes which should anger you. Also, we are never told why she has to die or why the skinny little girl is a threat to US security. Why does she look longingly, lesbian-like into her new friend's eyes as they are lying in bed together? What happens to that girl and her family? We are not told. What did her foster-father ever do to deserve such treatment from her at the end? He then sacrifices his life for her! She has knowledge of everything in the world, but acts like one of the Beverly Hillbillies when it comes to turning on a light or using electric appliances, but then she just walks into a computer/coffee café and goes online. This is one of the dumbest films of all time. I was just so angry to have wasted my time and money on this film that was rated so highly on IMDb. Why does this film deserve a 7.7 rating? 7.7 Oh, please. Something is really, really wrong with the ratings system if this can happen.
272 out of 468 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
3/10
Inconsistencies, Plot Holes Galore_Gets Ridiculous in Berlin!
ladymoonpictures8 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Spoilers: See first! First off, what's with these so called expert killers Kate brings into the mix to get the girl? There fat, out of shape and more like clockwork orange hoodlums, that couldn't win a bar fight let alone beat a superior, fighting hybrid! If all the hybrids (for a lack of a better word) had to be 'terminated' and Hanna was the last left, think about this..., here's Kate keeping up with her, in heels! chasing her and Hanna was not able to put distance between them? The point is: If that's all the hybrid can do, WHY does the U.S. have to see her dead? (Obviously, she's not all that bloody superior if that old, British broad is out thinking her! And how do the clockwork orange goons ever find her in Morrocco? Was that the ONLY seedy, little joint in the whole country that the lugs somehow knew that's the one she'd be at? Give me a break.

Why doesn't it reveal whether the British couple and their kids were killed or not? Anyone who can jump onto an undercarriage of a Humvee while traveling over them at speed is frankly, CARTOON! And WHY does Eric, after waiting 13-years in hiding near the Arctic Circle, with a beard and long hair, suddenly cut his hair/have to look...EXACTLY like his file photos, to be instantly recognizable when he leaves the forest? Senseless. And oh BTW, he leaves in suit in sub zero temps. Hello~

What in the world were Kate's gums bleeding for? It has nothing to do with the plot at all! When Eric fights the 3 guys in the vacant space, when the thugs after incredible hesitations, finally do decide to fire their weapon, Eric had time to through one of them into the line of fire and throwing a knife to kill the gunmen. To coin a classic line from Eli Wallach about clowns just like these losers..., "If you're going to shoot...SHOOT. Don't talk!" Great acting by Hanna, for sure!
194 out of 331 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
9/10
Action movie unbelievable shock! Get over it and watch pure film.
basilisksamuk4 March 2012
Let's get the obvious out of the way, shall we? The plot is derivative of so many other things it's not true, with Nikita being the obvious reference point. The acting isn't particularly strong, the script is barely adequate and the plot is neither internally coherent nor believable. In other words it's like every other action film ever made from Bond to Bourne and all points between. So what was everyone expecting who went to see this movie? Shakespeare?

On the other hand I would rate this as one of those rare experiences of seeing pure film. That is to say that there is the perfect marriage between image and music that makes it something quite different to the normal. The composition and direction of this film are really quite extraordinary with scene after scene catching the eye and making the commonplace clichés of the action genre seem fresh. The choice of music is inspired and the way that is has been synced to the action serves to heighten the tension in the scenes.

The film also manages to avoid the usual problem of over-reliance on CGI with the effects that are used being spare and for a reason. At one point we have a chase and fight in a container port and I was expecting the worst. Where did this scenario come from? I suspect it was one of the early Dirty Harry films and the container port shootout/chase has since become a compulsory element in all bad action movies and features in multiple episodes of TV thrillers. In 99 times out of 100 it's lazy, it's boring and it's the same as every other one you've seen. Well Joe Wright has done the seemingly impossible by making his container port scene exciting and different.

Look, you're not going to learn the meaning of life or even the meaning of the plot by watching this movie. If you enjoy cinema however, and by that I mean the use of images, light and music to propel the story then I think you'll like this.
23 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
9/10
Fantastic Character Driven Action Piece
cadillac208 April 2011
Hannah is a wholly unexpected, but entirely enjoyable film. However, this is not the all out, balls to the wall action film the trailer might suggest. There is a high art house value to the film, and it takes it's time letting you get to know the characters, most notably the titular character Hannah, as she explores the world for the first time. What we have is the kind of action film that comes around every once in a while that values it's characters, but also demonstrates some great action pieces.

Hannah tells the story of the 16 year old girl who, after living her whole life in the woods, is set upon the world. At the same time, her release into the world sets in motion a man hunt by a CIA agent with her own agenda. I've read many comments comparing this to Kick Ass, and I couldn't figure it out for the life of me. While these two films share loose ingredients, they are wholly different films, with Hannah arguably the superior film.

Beautifully shot and fantastic all the way around, the film elevates itself to art by successfully balancing Bourne-style action and a beautiful coming of age story. Through the film, we see the world as Hannah sees it, with a sense of wonder and beauty, but also a sense of confusion. Sound is used to great effect to depict this as well, and I will be very disappointed if this film doesn't get nominated for every sound award next year. The cast and talent behind the film also help to elevate it above the standard pic. Particularly Joe Wright, who treads into different territory, but nonetheless proves that he is an extremely versatile director. Saoirse Ronan also excels as the lead here, playing up the hardened, but vulnerable character. It's not an easy role to fill the shoes of, with both a physical and emotional demand on the characters, but in Wright's hands, Saoirse nails it.

While the film does have moments of drag here and there, even these moments are filled with something visually or audibly interesting. If it's not the Chemical Brother's fantastic soundtrack or a unique shot here and there, it's the stylish editing and unique focus. I will say that this won't be for everyone. This is not a film that's constant action and it does have an independent quality to it. But for those that take the journey, you'll find a very rewarding film here that succeeds where many action films don't. I'll even go so far as to say that this is my favorite film of 2011 so far.
228 out of 400 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
9/10
Not what I expected but .... WOW!
kristin_riding29 March 2011
A friend got me tickets to an advance screening, telling me it was a spy thriller with Eric Bana and Cate Blanchett. I hadn't seen a trailer and was expecting something along the lines of Mission Impossible. Was I wrong.

I'm not great at doing reviews, but I feel I need to say something about this amazing movie! During it, I was very aware at how engrossed I was, hanging on every scene. It was visually stunning - some of the scenes or transitions between them were so beautiful. The title "HANNA" on the screen reminded me a lot of Kill Bill. In fact, I felt Saoirse Ronan's Hanna is a teenage version of The Bride from Kill Bill and Leeloo from The Fifth Element.

I've seen Cate Blanchett in a couple of movies, but was impressed by her portrayal of a ruthless agent. I hate to say that Eric Bana's character (Erik) was "almost" forgettable - in the end, the movie was really not about him. But he did show up once wet and without much clothing and that was just fine by me.

I am not a fan of violence (and Tarantino's bugs me a lot), but I was OK with the quantity and visibility of it in this movie. Fans of Kill Bill should enjoy Hanna.
254 out of 453 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
5/10
Good for a little while, but then...
judy12 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I became interested in seeing Hanna because of the trailers. I am a fan of Eric Bana and Cate Blanchett also. I expected more than I got. It was good at first the set up with Hanna and her father; the bad lady chasing them. It was the usual super human person escaping harm through their strength and wits. I enjoyed the part when Hanna reaches the real world and the time she spends with regular people, especially a normal, annoying English teenager and her free spirit mother. But then the film deteriorates into one chase scene after another; one scene of stylized violence after another. After so much chasing and so much killing the ending becomes anti-climatic. 5/10
62 out of 103 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
1/10
Looking for Jason Bourne. Got Jason Boring.
jeff7134510 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This movie had me on the edge of my seat, wanting to leave. I came looking for a suspense filled action movie. I got a little girl making her first friend. I unfortunately realized it was not going to get better too late to switch theaters. The plot was simple and worked well. A little girl is genetically altered to be a super soldier for the CIA. An agent with a heart of gold helps her Mom to escape with her. The Mom is killed during the escape and the agent raises the girl as his own. He trains her to get revenge on the woman who killed her Mom. Sounds good right? Lots of fights. The girl uncovers the truth of her genetic origins then gets the vengeance due her. No. That is too satisfying. She has to make a friend and learn how to live in a modern age. Her Dad trains her to kill but she is surprised by a light switch? How can you send your daughter to kill in Morocco then meet you in Germany but never prepare her for the 21st century. Somewhere Sarah Conner is weeping.
144 out of 260 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
2/10
In desperate need of an editor...and a credible storyline...and a lot more
brianswebb9 June 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This film has some beautiful locations early on, but quickly becomes so pointless and loses credibility very quickly.

While there are some great actors and actresses in this film, they unfortunately have very few lines of dialogue, and also have very few opportunities to show us why they act or feel the way they do.

The film seems to happen for no reason. Sure, Hanna wants to kill the US secret agent Marissa because she killed her mother, but everything else is left largely unanswered. The super-warrior waif I can go along with for a time, but the film ends up becoming ridiculous when Hanna leaps out of a hole in the ground to grab the underside of a Humvee driving overhead. Idiotic.

Then the interaction she has with the English family is a confused mix of light relief and possible self reflection on a life spent in the Arctic wilderness without family fun. We're left wondering what happens to the family after she leaves them and they get found by the baddies.

The baddies that Marissa rely on apart from gray faceless operatives are hard to take seriously. Are they meant to be funny? Skinheads in boots led by a fuhrer in tennis shorts is possibly trying too hard, but apart from a tenuous eugenics connection with Hanna's genetic manipulation, I can't really see why the film-makers did this.

The inconsistencies in the story are infuriating too. Hanna is freaked out by an old black and white TV in Morocco, but somehow uses the Internet to discover the truth about her father and the DNA manipulation carried out on her.

Ultimately the predictable end to the film comes too late and you've had enough.
38 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
1/10
One of the worst films I have ever seen!
Tony Williams25 May 2011
Warning: Spoilers
CONTAINS SPOILERS!!!! I've opened an account on IMDb to warn you against this Film! It is a complete and utter waste of time. I don't know how it is scoring so highly on IMDb. The plot is ridiculous - we're not told why this girl poses a threat, what her Father did wrong, it doesn't explain why they had to split up only to meet at the same point again (couldn't they have got the bus together? LOL). The whole 'super human' business just doesn't wash, how can a skilled 'fighter' take out a soldier in one fell swoop and then struggle to fight against two skinheads? It doesn't make sense. Why on earth would the typical bad guy whistle a stupid tune when he is trying to find the girl? Hello..... whistling will give your location away! Why would you, if you are being followed (and you are a trained spy) make your way to an isolated underground car park type place? Why if you are trying to catch said spy, and there are 4 of you would you get involved in a hand to hand fight (which was poor by the way) - just shoot the guy, taser him, whatever - in the real world you would keep you distance! And then when the spy (the father) beats up the 4 agents he doesn't take the radio with him, he doesn't search them for weapons, it's just an insult to one's intelligence. There are so many holes in the plot it's almost laughable! None of it makes sense. Why does the grandmother get shot? She's been ignored for the last 16 years! Why would a trained super human spy be amazed/puzzled by a light, a TV, a kettle? And then she asks why she needs a bit of paper (her passport) to say who she is? Please do not waste your time with this film, it is nothing like the Bourne films or Leon (which some people seem to be comparing it with). This film is about a little girl, who's been stuck in the forest with her father for 16 years (and by the way, she doesn't even look 12, let alone 16!), finding her way in the big world beyond the forest. The film makers have tried to put a spin on this age old plot, but it just reduces the film to the pile of garbage that it is.
152 out of 281 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
1/10
the stupidest movie of the year
PaulX728 June 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I can't decide which one is stupidest, between Hanna and Source Code. After many thoughts I think Hanna is. The topic was interesting (a young girl was raised by an ex-CIA agent in the mountains to become an assassin and fulfil a mission), but the stupid scenario, poor dialogue (the "I just missed your heart" amongst others), the clichés, the way how it was directed and most of the music and soundtrack were ABSOLUTE rubbish. Below are some examples (and believe me there are lots!) of the ridiculous, laughable and stupid moments in the film: - She was imprisoned in a CIA cell located in the desert of Morocco which incredibly looks like the southwest of the USA - After shooting a few CIA agents, her face was covered with blood. The whole scene when she escaped from that CIA location gave me a headache because of the way it was filmed and the techno music (the post production probably wanted to re-create a cool-stylish-ish effect a la Matrix but they pathetically failed) - Hanna has no money yet was able to send a postcard to her father somewhere in Europe (how did she know how to buy a postcard and walk to the post office? She spent her life in the mountains, remember? Besides she had 0 money...) - Hanna was raised all her life in the mountains. She had never seen a TV or had electricity, yet she was able to walk into an internet café and surf the web to look for information about DNA I could go on for hours, but I'll stop here. The movie is rubbish, the scenario is rubbish, the dialogues are rubbish and the music is rubbish. I don't understand what worldwide famous actors such as Eric Bana and Cate Blanchet are doing in this failure
49 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
1/10
Does NOT do what it says on the tin
diggus doggus23 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
My oh my what a mess.. how *do* you people seriously vote a film like Hanna at 7.8, where do you find the courage to do so.

You know, if i go to the shops and grab a tin of beans, i expect there to be beans inside, and if i open that tin and find chicken stew instead, no matter how good the chicken stew is, i would still be upset; maybe i dreamt them, but in my mind, i still recall the trailers of this film and i was under the impression that this was going to be a martial arts-slash-spy story film. I had *really strong* impressions.. that this was going to be a girl's version of Bourne Identity.. seriously. I was convinced this film was going to be fanboy-awesome. Instead, it's a pile of S**t.

So, the titular Hanna is a young blonde gorgeous girl who spends her life training somewhere near the arctic circle, trained to become an unstoppable machine of death and a masterful infiltrator. Obviously, her teacher fails so miserably that she doesn't even know what a lightbulb is ffs.. despite being taught about supernovae and whales and - we hope - everything in between.

Well, at least the martial arts sections were good .. oh no wait - there aren't any! Hanna very, very rapidly - or not rapidly enough, actually - turns into a coming-of-age chick flick that would not have been out of place on TV in the 80's.. if, and i must stress *if*, they had marketed it this way - with its true contents - then at least i could have avoided it, and i would have;

What a ripoff. This film might not be the worse i have ever seen, though it *does* rank up there with the most boring, i should say, but the problem is the same with the tin of beans.. it's not what i wanted, and i want my money back. I can't give Hanna a realistic vote. If i wanted a horror and got a really bad horror, i could vote it down, but this film is nothing of what i was sold; in light of this act of complete thievery,

My final vote 1/10

The producers didn't even have the courage to sell it as what it really is.
75 out of 136 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
1/10
Wow, that was just dumb. (review contains spoilers, honestly though it would be hard to spoil this crapfest).
jcole2517 June 2011
Warning: Spoilers
OK, so you've got 16 year old girl who is a genetically altered super soldier. She has spent her entire life training in combat, stealth, etc., basically she is a bad-ass (which she proves right off the bat when she kills like half a dozen soldiers and escapes from a highly secure government facility). So why does she spend a large part of the movie running from two skin-heads and a 5 foot tall psychopath in a tennis outfit? It makes no sense she could have easily killed them all. Which she proves when they catch up to her and she quickly kills one of the skin-heads without even breaking a sweat, then she runs away from the other (unarmed) skin-head and the psycho in the tennis shorts. She could have just killed all three right then and been done with it. As if that wasn't bad enough later in the movie Hannah and her father are together. Her father being the man who trained her (and the man who earlier in the filmed killed like five armed men with his bare hands). The (still unarmed) skin-head and the (also unarmed) psychopath show up along with the very woman who it is Hannah's mission in life to kill. So, do the two of them quickly and easily dispatch their foes and then go out for ice cream? No, they split up and run. Yes they both run from people that either one of them could have easily killed on their own much less together. The whole thing was just ridiculous. Throw in a bunch "artistic imagery" and a whole bunch of useless subtext and you have 111 minutes of your life you will never get back. Take my word for it, skip this one.
39 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
1/10
Poorly plotted and plodding plop Warning: Spoilers
Based on the rating one would be forgiven for expecting a film that first made sens and second was actually good. I was looking forward to seeing this but after watching it wish I had not wasted my time. The whole thing was too daft and over convoluted for words. Hanna started in the Arctic, got captured and ended up in Morocco, escaped to Spain and then to Germany. This without the faintest idea what to do with a light switch, telephone or annoying TV programme. But of course she was able to first, find a place with a computer and second, use one proficiently enough to extract information from. Seemed odd she was freaked out by a light switch but knew what a computer was. Also her fighting skills against trained soldiers was stunning but she was not very well trained in warding off skinheads in the employ of a whistling dwarf in a tracksuit. What Cate Blanchett was doing and why was difficult to understand and the plot revelations were never really exploited very well. It had the makings of a good film but was too stupid to actually make the grade. If this was Eric Bana's plan to kill his nemesis it assumed a lot of things would go Hanna's way for her to complete her Mission Impossible. Especially as she was unable to even turn on a light. Her escape was utterly silly and became sillier when she hooked up with the family in the camper van. Very little of the actions of anybody in the film made that much sense and the story made even less. The reviews here written by those who worked for the production team ensure that the film feels worth watching but best start at the hated it and work upwards for a sense of what the film is really like. Another promising movie that failed miserably. Thankfully I saw 'Paul' the same day and that made up for watching Hanna. Hopefully 'Super 8' will be more 'Paul' than 'Hanna'.
26 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
1/10
This movie would be interesting, if you grew up a remote arctic forest like Hanna
classifieds200027 December 2011
After the first few times falling asleep, I finally got through it (to give it a fair review).

The plot-line was as cheesy-predictable-80's style as you can get, while the action sequences were perfect excuses for potty-breaks (and completely ridiculous at times); let alone the over-the-cliché-top acting, and the terribly executed themes like "i'm a teenager and i don't know who i am--waaah!"

Additionally, it didn't help that it was shot on a camcorder of sorts. There was no soundtrack, just a bunch of banging pots and pans, with someone leaning on a keyboard, which got really annoying after awhile

To top it off, the pro-lesbian theme of the directors/producers is really distracting.

How come this terrible movie gets a 7.0 rating? There are two possible explanations:

Why did it get such high ratings?

"1. the movie company hired 40,000 people to give high ratings. 2. people who dislike this film tried to fool other people to waste their time as well. Apparently, I was fooled and I want my 2 hours back! "

P.S. I am a director in unrelated subject matter.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
5/10
Cold-Blooded and Detached
3xHCCH28 September 2011
Saoirse Ronan is a unique young actress in that all her films so far are very unusual. We knew her first in "Atonement", then in the "The Lovely Bones", both dark dramas that got Oscar Award consideration. We see a new Saoirse here in "Hanna" as this wan, frail-looking lass as a kick-ass cold-blooded assassin.

The titular character Hanna was brought up by her dad Erik (Eric Bana) in the wilds of Finland, seemingly with one aim in mind -- to train this girl to be the perfect killer exact revenge on the CIA, represented by the vile agent Marissa (Cate Blanchett). Saoirse Ronan looked so weak to be credible as a killer, but as the movie progressed on, she was actually convincing. Eric Bana was absent from the big screen since "Munich" and "Troy," but he did not really make much impact here. Cate Blanchett looked like she was having fun playing the relentlessly evil antagonist.

The action sequences are fast and cartoonish. Everyone plays it over- the-top. There are plenty of illogical scenes, like how did the postcard reach the father, and many others. The counter-balancing sequences where Hanna tries to make friends for the first time were awkwardly composed. I think you are supposed to watch this movie only for the "cool" superhuman fight scenes. You are expected to be cold-blooded and detached to enjoy this film.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
1/10
Why all the hype?
PennTraffic21 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This was definitely one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I can't understand how people can write praising reviews at the same time they say that the characters weren't developed, the plot had many unclear points (like most of it). In fact I came onto the IMDb website to see if I could find out why these people were doing what they were doing, which was mostly beating each other up and killing gruesomely.

(I'm sorry I had to mark this as a spoiler as people will waste money on it as I did, if they don't read my review. But this is my first IMDb review and I'm not sure if this review is a spoiler or not, but I didn't want to take any chances and get blacklisted.)
41 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed