The Escapist (2008) Poster

(2008)

User Reviews

Review this title
52 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Gets my vote
thomasthetanker20 January 2009
I didn't vote on any films in 2008. There were plenty of decent films but nothing made me want to post on IMDb, whatever I want to say has always been put more eloquently by someone else. But this film deserves credit, naturally I checked here before I watched but afterwards I felt compelled to demonstrate some appreciation. No, you moron posters, it is NOT Prison Break, neither is it trying to be. After it finishes you'll want to watch it again. It looks real and gritty definitely not studio. I don't know enough about film to tell you if it was the script, acting, filming or anything else, it took me to a different place - Isn't that what we want most in a film?
78 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A Great Escape
sundevil2722 January 2008
Seen at Sundance Premiere 2008. Within the first 2 minutes of the Escapist you know your buckled in and you won't be getting up till the credits start rolling, and thats just how it is. In the tradition of the Bird Man of Alcatraz, Great Escape, Cool Hand Luke and other greats of the prison break genre you can add the Escapist. The feel is modern but the setup is old school and true to the genre in a familiarly comforting way. Director Rupert Wyatt has created a fantastic action film with intelligent sequencing and a meaningful ending that makes you remember its indie roots. What is even more amazing though is the (((sound))) , it is insane! The sounds of the prison are so real and chilling in their quiet way, then when the action hits its like a tidal wave of sound hitting all you senses. Rarely does a new flick come along with such wide potential that brings new ideas and old ones together so well. I'm left extremely impressed by all involved. Movie will be best seen on the big screen with high quality sound, I imagine American audiences will not show this as much love as they should do to the lack of big names but I suspect the UK will embrace this very well.
81 out of 106 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
"It's our imagination that makes us free…"
drcath18 January 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Frank Perry (Brian Cox) is a long term prisoner in a London jail where the guards look the other way and one would be wise to avoid the attentions of Rizzo (Damian Lewis), the boss inmate and his unhinged junkie brother Tony (Steven Mackintosh in scenery chewing form). The arrival of a new cell mate, Lacey (played by newcomer Dominic Cooper) coincides with Perry receiving the first letter from his family in fourteen years. His daughter is a heroin addict and close to death. Perry decides he must get out, to see her and make things right while there is still time. He goes to his closest friend Brodie (Liam Cunningham) and they enlist on-the-edge pugilist and thief Lenny Drake (Joseph Fiennes) to put together their plan.

But the film begins with the escape, cleverly setting up many questions in the head of the viewer, which are then answered in flashback. We want to know why Frank starts the escape attempt what appears to be a stab wound, how drug dealer Viv Batista (Seu Jorge) gets involved and why Lacey is part of the team when he has arrived in the prison so recently. The answers come, but slowly so that it's only at the very end that the little hints and clues scattered through the story of the escape attempt itself make sense.

This structure and the final plot twist would alone make this film worth repeat viewing, but not just for that. Writers Daniel Hardy and Rupert Wyatt (Wyatt also directed) let images rather than words do the talking, and with a cast of this calibre it pays off brilliantly. The actors are allowed to use their faces and bodies to tell us the story: Brian Cox letting his face fall into a pile of regret when he reads the letter, Damian Lewis's posture as he walks past the cells to find out what happened to his brother, the tiny shifts of expression on Dominic Cooper's face as he relives his forced dalliance in the showers with Tony, from self pity to self hatred and back again. It's top notch stuff.

Comparisons with "Shawshank Redemption" are inevitable, but while "Redemption" was really a story about hope, "The Escapist" is actually a film about redemption, about the single unselfish act that can redeem wasted years, perhaps a wasted life. And, as Perry points out, that we're only as free as we allow ourselves to be.
47 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Existential puzzle-box movie - not just an escape
died dead red28 January 2008
Warning: Spoilers
I caught this at Sundance. Not the premiere but one of the other showings. Then I went back to a second viewing! (The only film there I'd felt that way about.) The audiences reaction said it all. People came with very little hype or knowledge about what was billed as a prison escape movie. So this was one of the few films at the festival which really exceeded expectations. I knew something was up when it started with the escape itself! Cutting back and forth between the escape and the plan was a device that I worried at first would annoy me, a tip of a hat to Memento but without good reason for being there. I was wrong - in fact the reason we get this structure is one of the cleverest reasons I've ever seen and its only fully clear what it all signified in the last few seconds of the film. But I won't spoil it.. its just worth saying that this film and its clever structure and twist makes it more of a Jacobs Ladder or Memento than a Shawshank Redemption. You need to see it twice to pick up all the clues and understand completely - a bit like Donnie Darko or Mulholland Dr - enjoyable even if you don't get it completely but there are other layers to figure out in future viewings. The film had an interesting look to it like a 70s movie and excellent cinematography although I wished that they'd either not used CG in places or done it a bit better. The acting from Brian Cox (carrying the film) and Stephen Mackintosh (minor role) really impressed, first time I've seen Cox carry a movie since Manhunter. The sound was very interestingly done which is rare and together with the unique, detailed look of the film gave me the impression of a director (Rupert Wyatt) who got to realise his unique vision.... which is what these Sundance movies should be about. The music was quite diverse, and best when not getting too sentimental, but it helped with the pace if not the mood. Leonard Cohen's song also perfectly led us in and out of the story. But the technical side of the film-making from all parties was clearly top notch and Joe Walker's editing, creating a double story while keeping both interesting was also stand-out good. I also loved the retro titles- these films its referencing from the 70s are some of my favourite but this managed to update, subvert and improve them. Hats off.
49 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Surprising and suspenseful
standeman198416 July 2008
As one reviewer said, this is an existential puzzle box of a movie, the true meaning of the title being revealed at the very end. It's not just about escaping from a prison, nor is it a pretentious metaphor. Its just very very well made.

I appreciate some similarities with Shawshank Redemption for obvious reasons, but really this film stands up on its own rights. The reasons for escaping are wholly different - SR was to right a wrong while here it is familial breakdown and taking responsibility for ones own actions. Brian Cox's character, and the rest, are believable and fleshed out enough to engage with but the real achievement here is in the pacing and structuring of the plot.

The film cuts between the actual escape itself and the events and planning leading up to the escape. Dominoes, diamonds, and of course, drugs all play a part in the set-up of the escape, which plays out with breathless excitement. The grim presentation of the prison, Damien Lewis' character in particular, appears shockingly believable. Prisons are not ruled in the way they should be, and a character like his, having a grip over the institution rather than the other way round, seems sadly truthful. He is very scary...

The end, like Shawshank, is uplifting in a downbeat kinda way. It reminded me of The Descent, which i hope is not a great spoiler for people. I almost cried but actually you're left feeling quite happy for the central character. There is not the same redemption as SR, which is a good thing, so don't go in expecting happy endings, or heaven forbid, Prison Break The Movie. For that it is not, though its existence probably owes something to the success of that over-running TV show, and the ingenious escape route is one Michael Schofield would be proud of. But really, this is a great little indie movie which came and went at the cinema very quickly, but will no doubt find an audience in the years to come.
35 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
An impressive film filled with sonic delights
John Gregory24 January 2008
Truly superb film. I was impressed by the choice of actors, some of whom played characters that one wouldn't expect them to do so well in - Damian Lewis, in particular, really impressed with his performance as 'the bad guy', while Steven Mackintosh also does an impressive job of scaring the living daylights out of you in this film.

The sound design and parts of the music really help the film along, building the pace at the right moments, creating suspense and capturing the raw, gritty feeling of prison life perfectly. It was a delight getting so involved in the subtleties of a film's soundtrack - something that is lacking in modern day feature films.

This film should stand out far more than other films of this genre, it is award-winning material.
65 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Too old to die young ... The Escapist
jaredmobarak31 March 2009
While The Escapist may not have an all-star A-list cast, it has a pretty recognizable international one. When I saw the names attached to this thing, I couldn't believe that it had trouble finding distribution. Luckily IFC Films stepped up to the plate and will add it to their VOD schedule to get some exposure for its DVD release. Much like Unknown from a few years back, Rupert Wyatt's film is a hidden gem of intrigue and suspense. A disjointed narrative tells the story of a ragtag bunch of criminals looking to escape from a maximum security prison so that the orchestrator, Brian Cox's Frank Perry, can see his daughter before she dies from drug abuse complications on the outside. Each member of the team has a specialty necessary for the escape to work and/or finds his way on the team through trade, whether consciously or not. You do begin to wonder way Rupert has decided to show it all inter-spliced with flashbacks on how they got together, and when the conclusion is reached you will understand in a surprisingly satisfactory turn of events.

Now these names may mean absolutely nothing to you, but on paper they are quite the collaborative team. Cox leads the way in recognition and stature, followed by a favorite of mine Damian Lewis, (in a smaller role than I had anticipated), and Joseph Fiennes. Add in the familiar faces of Steven Mackintosh, Liam Cunningham, Dominic Cooper, and singer Seu Jorge and you've really got something for a film that will probably not be seen by very many people. And that is the real shame here because The Escapist has a lot going for it. With a good marketing push and word of mouth, this had the potential of being a sleeper hit—an indie done well. Hopefully IFC viewers will start spreading excitement and help it to achieve cult status of some sort. It may not be as mainstream as "Prison Break", but utilizing the same core idea, Wyatt culls together a unique tale that takes more from a film like Jacob's Ladder than pop culture television.

It all begins with Cox's Perry, tired and scared, finding Lewis sitting on a cell bed. The next thing we know, Cox joins up with the team as they have just smashed their way into the laundry room, only now he has a bloodied shirt and what can be assumed as a nasty gash to his stomach. We have been dropped right into the escape and now the group is together, putting their plan in motion. But wait, all of sudden we are back in time watching Cox do laundry duty, Cunningham's Brodie putting on an ant race, and Mackintosh's Tony berating newcomer Cooper as he arrives at the prison. The discovery that we are about to go on a journey with the escapees, juxtaposed with how they all came together to plan the event, becomes clear. With sharp cuts, yet coherent story continuity, it all makes sense as both halves reach their crescendos at the end. The plot line of the past thread reaches the point at which the film started and that progression leads to the end of the escape simultaneously. Both meld together as one, revealing what has indeed been going on the entire time, possibly not even parallel timeframes after all.

Complete with some very nice camera-work, Wyatt shows some skill as a director. Scenes like that of Mackintosh and Cooper in the showers, fog shrouding their advance into the water, shielding us from what we know is about to happen, really stick out. Even the trip to that end, with Cooper's Lacey being "helped" by guards and inmates, opening doors for him to "hide" in, plays nicely into the artistry and aesthetic being put on display. The prison is dark and dingy, yet a paradise in comparison with the large expanses of sewers they soon find themselves traveling through. It is a muted palette throughout, making the light at the end of the tunnel (both figuratively and literally) that much brighter in notion and reality. And the way in which we see things happen is with suspense and intrigue. Watching the inmates plan their escape with dominoes as we are shown the real life places they mimic along with extended sequences of rapid process cuts—whether they be making drugs, creating a steel cutter, or even a jailhouse brawl—many instances beg to be appreciated visually as well as for how well they advance the story.

It all ends up being an actors' movie, though, as the performances shine above all else. Fiennes was almost unrecognizable to me at the start. I thought that was him, but something was off. Only after about thirty minutes did I finally realize it, Fiennes performing as a madman "utility" guy, nothing like the Shakespearean heroes he is most known for. Lewis is great as the menacing prison czar, always with a smile yet demanding the respect of every inmate with his own brand of punishment the guards look the other way on. And I really liked Seu Jorge's role as Viv Bastista. He is a wild card to the film—librarian/drug cook/witness for Lewis' Rizza. What really makes them all so elusive and mysterious, however, even as we learn who they are as men, is the fact that we don't know what has landed any of them in jail. Are they killers? Thieves? Rapists? It doesn't matter. These men all come together for a common cause and work as a team to achieve it. They sacrifice themselves for the others, just as Cox realizes that freedom doesn't have to be of the body, but can also be of the mind.
22 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The strong delivery makes the most of a story that appears simple and hackneyed but isn't
bob the moo8 February 2009
Frank Perry is twelve years into a life sentence when he learns that his estranged daughter has become a junkie on the outside. Unable to do anything for her from his cell and unwilling to wait till he gets out, Frank comes up with a base plan to escape from the prison and brings several other prisoners on board to assist him. The escape itself can be worked out to detail and timings but in the meantime it is the days leading up to the escape that prove to be the more testing in a world of betrayal, power, rape, murder and drug use.

Watching the trailer for this film some time ago I was left not particularly fussed about whether I got to see it or not – it just looked like I expected and offered little. The generally good reviews made me check it out when it was released on DVD though and I'm glad that I did because this is a much better film than it looks on the trailer. It is not that the plot is something different from a prison movie , although it is a little, it is the manner of delivery that makes the film work as well as it does. The concept is strong but it is the editing and structure that are the driving forces here. We start the film in two places. On one hand we are with the group as they start their escape attempt, while on the other hand we are some time before this when Frank gets his motivation to escape.

What this structure does is increase the tension by having two dramatic threads happening at the same time, with the escape itself delivering the pace to pay off against the build-up that is happening at the same time in the other thread. Rather than building up to the escape then the film does both at the same time and it is an effective and engaging technique. The point where one thread catches the other isn't totally convincing in some regards and I'll not be the only person to express a slight doubt at the dramatic punch of the conclusion but, with being caught up in the story so effectively up till this point, it does work and the way that it slightly undoes the impact of some of the film that had gone before is not a killer of a problem so much as it is a minor niggle.

Wyatt's direction is roundly good and, as co-writer, he makes the most of the structure and material. It helps of course when your debut feature has an impressive collection of actors and performances – and Wyatt's does. As he also showed in Red recently, Cox makes an engaging leading man when given the chance. Fiennes is not quite so good as he perhaps overdoes his swagger and toughness – still looks the part and does well but again he is a slight niggle. I liked Cunningham's turn as well as Cooper – although the latter had a bit of a wet and less engaging character to work with. Brazilian musician Jorge was a bit of a weird find but did OK. Mackintosh is engaging and convincing in how he acts knowing he is technically untouchable due to the actions of his brother. Lewis is not in the film for much of the running time but his "less is more" approach produces a real menace when he is given the camera.

The Escapist is a comparatively small British film full of faces you'll recognise but nobody who is a real "leading man" in film terms, directed by Wyatt making his feature debut after a few shorts to his name. However it is cleverly structured and delivered with a real sense of quality in the story, direction and performances. It is not perfect but it is much better than the trailer suggests and I was pleasantly surprised by how much it engaged me and how much I enjoyed it.
16 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A fantastic and intensely enjoyable film
hjw-621 June 2008
Only a handful of films have ever been awarded a 10/10 for me - this is one of them.

Having been given the chance to read the script by Rupert a couple of years ago, when the film was in preproduction and looking for filming locations, I have been waiting for this film for a long time knowing how much potential it had - never have I been so gripped by a movie script on first reading.

Oh boy, I wasn't disappointed. Wyatt delivered the story big time, for me. I went to see it last night on the first showing in Cardiff and enjoyed it so much that I went with a friend this afternoon to see it again. My friend also agrees with my feelings! I can understand how some people may find it confusing (especially in the first 15 minutes) but I think by the end, when all the pieces fit together, it's a classic.

Having seen it the second time now, there is SO much detail I missed the first time (some of which my friend actually spotted on the first watch).

This film ticks all the boxes for me. Strong characters played by talented actors. A complex but ultimately rewarding plot. An intense and superb soundtrack (needs to be seen in a cinema with good surround - I jumped several times at "normal" ambient noises coming from various places around the auditorium). The music is just perfect for the film.

Even now, I feel I want to go and see it again to see what other clues have been left in the storyline to subtly point to the payoff at the end of the film.
46 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A Thrilling-Lynchian Attack On The Senses!
Mikey Parkinson26 June 2008
It was only yesterday that I had the chance to watch a film that is little known, yet somehow managed to make it to my nearest Vue cinema in-between some of the current, perhaps contrived blockbusters that are on our screens currently. So it was only with great surprise that this film, which I had heard great things about after it debuted earlier this year at Sundance had a screening, after some persuasive actions on a friend, I was able to settle down for what I hoped would turn out to be a memorable prison film. At a first glance The Escapist would appear to be your usual affair of a prison drama, however Rupert Wyatt has done far more than that in this wonderful existential, puzzle box of a film, it drives on with true mystique and leaves you as the viewer questioning the true structure of the narrative as it thrives you along to the thrilling, lynchian climax.

The opening of the film begins the puzzle with what appears at first to be a strange narrative choice, you join a number of inmates that are seemingly in the midst of a prison break. The thumping electronic score sets your heart racing with a mixture of confusion and interest. Just as you think your in the middle of the escape, the director makes what seems to be a very questionable editing choice. He appearingly jump cuts back in time, before the escape. The film itself constantly jumps between the escape and the lead up to the escape. Throughout the first half of the film I must admit I found this seemed to hurt the pace of the film, but that's only if you take this as a conventional Prison-Escape film. This isn't Escape From Alcatraz. And this narrative style that is explored through the film becomes clear more and really begins to pick up the pace in the second half, and the climax of the film really does show this choice of structure really did compliment the story. You genuinely are knocked out by the films climax, it's on the same level as Memento, and you feel equally fulfilled by the end of The Escapist.

The cast is really five star, lead by the wonderfully diverse Brian Cox as the haunted, subdued life sentence serving inmate Frank Perry. Arguably his career defining performance. He brings multiple layers to the character impressively without much dialogue, it's a powerful, albeit silent performance for the most part, but you genuinely feel for his character, and without giving anything away you will understand why when you do see the film, as the main story point is what leads to the engineering of the escape. Cox is joined by a fantastic supporting cast of some of the finest English actors around today. For the most part there appearances are often short, but there screen time does more than enough to create the tense, look behind your back atmosphere you would expect in any prison film. Steven Mackintosh gives a chilling performance as the stereotypical inmate that is always the prisons big bad. He takes a distinct liking towards Perrys new cellie, with some unnerving results. His fictional older brother in the film, the "leader" of the cell block is played by the wonderful Damian Lewis who I became a big fan of after Band Of Brothers. He has considerably less screen time here but for me, his chilling stares, and few words were some of the most memorable for me after the credits rolled.

The cinematography of the film is quite simply incredible. With a bleak grey tone to the film that keeps the existential atmosphere brooding in the background. Much of the film takes place in vast maze's of underground tunnel works. The filmmakers managed to captured a claustrophobic feel towards the ongoing story. Full of black shadows and long, seemingly endless age old tunnels that are barely lit by the flickering orange flame from their cell-made torch's. The cinematography really helps compliment the enclosure of the prison, both inside it, as well as the escape. Their really isn't anywhere to go, its dark, brooding, and downright terrifying. As you would expect a prison to be! The Escapist really is a revelation in regards of modern cinema. It just reels you into the story from the get go and takes you on a bleak ride through the dark underbelly of the prison, metaphorical in its tone, Rupert Wyatt really has crafted something wonderful here. The film defiantly leaves you with that deep satisfaction that Britain has been getting some blisteringly good films as of late, alongside films like Dead Man Shoes, it gives you the sense that there is still a lot of great to come.
32 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
not too bad
marc-cheyne18 June 2011
not a bad film: good atmosphere, cast, acting & OST c/o Leonard Cohen.

it bares a resemblance, and even a few lines, to Shawshank Redemption. but then a lot of prison films do now.

however, the UK prison depiction was wholly inaccurate. British prisons have had in-cell lighting, kettles & tvs for over a decade. cons have never 'run' a whole prison, ever, anywhere. and the whole hazing/raping aspect - is a purely American phenomenon. and still you call us Brits fags!! also, there aren't any library cards as such, the common currency inside is drugs, tobacco & foodstuffs.

also, kat is an African herb, with amphetamine like qualities - as opposed to something you could knock together in an ad-hoc laboratory with oranges & fruit cake.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Intricate prisoner delivers more with each viewing.
Spikeopath15 December 2009
On the surface it looked like being a standard prison break out picture. But come the end one can't help admiring the construction of the film and marvel at how the makers used the cons to con the audience in a wholly satisfying way. The set-up is simple enough, Brian Cox's old lag Frank Perry is mortified to hear that his daughter is mixed up with heavy drugs and death is perhaps one more hit away from her. Desperate to get out of prison to save her, he hatches a plan for escape and enlists some other like minded souls, each with their own special "skill" to see it through. What follows is a twinned inter-cut tale as we witness the escape attempt and the prior motivations leading up to said escape. All building towards what one can rightly expect to be a run of the mill ending so evident in most prison based movies......

Directed by Rupert Wyatt, The Escapist thrives on claustrophobic atmosphere and grim prison reality to set the wheels in motion. Filmed at Kilmainham Jail in Dublin, this is a dank place, overcrowded and paint peeling from every wall; and of course there's an array of unsavoury characters just waiting to use violence or sexual proclivities to feather their respective nest. This place alone is reason enough for escape attempts, let alone the reasons put forward for our escaping protagonists. The audio on offer also enhances the mood, the clanking of metal or the rumbling of shuffling boots land in the ear drum with almost tenacious glee. There's also no overdose on dialogue, no filler conversations serving no purpose to the crux of the tale.

The cast are (prison) uniformly strong, led by the great and weathered Cox, the roll call of escapees also contains earthy Liam Cunningham, a buffed up Joseph Fiennes, a youthfully fraught Dominic Cooper and black magic gusto from Seu Jorge. While within these walls menace comes from a weaselly Steven Mackintosh and the excellently chilling Damian Lewis as nick daddy Rizza. All in all, The Escapist, if you pardon the pun, is a break out movie two fold. Not just as a story, but also in offering up something different in the genre it belongs too. Much like Brian Cox himself, The Escapist is something of a British treasure. 9/10
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
A really dreadful film
kinger197412 February 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This film uses the tired old trick of flashing back to try and keep us thrilled. It is used as a substitute for a decent plot. There is no depth to any of the characters other than the lead.

I'm also confused as to why someone would cast pigeon-chested effeminate guy as top-dog in a prison. Or how we are supposed to believe someone is able to manufacture Class A drugs in prison from an orange an a fruit-cake. Yes, I know we are supposed to suspend our disbelief, but I think the director could have met us half way. Of course, they do put in the rape scene, which seems to be obligatory in every film set in prison now. Yawn.

When you get to the final twist in the wafer thin plot, you realise you've just wasted another 102 mins of your life. Perhaps a few more if your daft enough to post about on a website.
11 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Five minutes of brilliance does not make up for 85 minutes of boredom
Gordon-116 March 2009
Warning: Spoilers
This film is about a man who is determined to escape from prison in order to reunite with his ailing daughter.

"The Escapist" is beautifully made, but I cannot say I enjoyed it. The main problem was the confusing delivery of the plot. Sometimes the characters are in the prison and sometimes they are in the tunnel trying to escape. The transitions are all sudden and unannounced. I could not work out if the story was linear or delivered in flashbacks until the last five minutes, but by then I have already decided that "The Escapist" is a huge waste of time.

The ending twist makes the film considerably better. It resolves the previous confusions I have, but then five minutes of brilliance does not make up for 85 minutes of boredom.
18 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Misery porn
Jasna-Balorda5 February 2016
This is potentially one of the most overestimated films in the last decade. It is visually attractive, modern and stylish with interesting choice of colors but everything else seems to be a result of poor choices and even worse logic. This film is not a thriller and most certainly not an action film, as some of the reviewers have noted. It is a misery inducing exercise in bad drama that will leave you feeling just short of suicidal. To begin with, there is the "jumping back and forth in time" element. This is usually used in films sparingly, so that the time sequence either starts in the past and then finishes in the now or the opposite. This film jumps back and forth so many times and so often that you end up having no clue whatsoever what part you are actually watching. Not only is this irritating, but it also makes it impossible for you to actually follow the attempted escape as, just as soon as they start running, a couple of minutes later you find yourself back in prison. Secondly - character development. There is none. Full-stop. Films about escape are all about characters, that's what provides the element of suspense. The film becomes important when you start sympathizing with the lead character. None of that whatsoever. Also, the film advertises itself as a story about a band of misfits. Being a misfit to me means a person of a certain character - puzzling or interesting in some way, but certainly non conventional. In this film, however, you learn nothing about the characters apart from their names. Thirdly, the plan is developed in like 3 seconds. The main part of the film, the part that actually makes you invested as it tickles your intelligence and sense of imagination is just missing. No character development, no plot development in a film that has a difficulty deciding whether to be a drama or a thriller, but ends up being misery porn. See this movie if you want to irrevocably cast away an hour and a half of perfectly good time that can be used for a host of other, more interesting things.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Confusing
valleyjohn27 February 2009
There have been many great prison escape movie in the past. Escape from Alcatraz , The Great Escape and Papillon are just three classics that spring to mind . Sadly The Escapist is nowhere near good enough to mentioned in the same breath as those three.

Frank Perry (Brian Cox) is an institutionalized convict twelve years into a life sentence without parole. After years of brutal prison life he begins to feel that there is nothing to live for on the inside. When his estranged daughter falls ill, Frank is determined to make peace with her before it's too late. He develops an ingenious escape plan, and recruits a dysfunctional band of escapists – misfits with a mutual dislike for one other but united by their desire to escape their hell hole of an existence.

However his dogged fight for freedom is blocked at every turn not just by the guards but also by the local psychotics that roam the prison. But Frank only has the one goal in mind and that's to come to the aid of his daughter…by any means necessary. Much of the action takes place within the tunnels, sewers and underground rivers of subterranean London.

Despite the impressive cast (Brian Cox , Joseph Fiennes and Damian Lewis) The escapist is a bit of a mess. Foe some reason we see the escape happening in snap shots between the actual planning of the break out and it's totally confusing.

I wonder why directors feel the need to mess around with time lines in films?. It's a big risk to show some of the climax of a film before the end and if it fails it ruins the whole film. That's the case with The Escapist.

It's a shame because the acting deserves a much better final product . The performances from Brian Cox ( Frank) , Dominic Cooper ( Lacey) and Steven Mackintosh (Tony) are impressive but sadly to no avail.

The prison scenes are unrealistic and look almost Victorian and i was extremely surprised when halfway through the film it is disclosed that the prison was in London. I could have sworn it was in Ireland due to the amount of Irish accents. ( This was made by Parallel films an Irish Company).

Another thing is that we never find out what the characters did to get into prison in the first place . There is very little background information on the inmates so therefore i didn't care what happened to them .

If you have seen or a planning on seeing The Escapist i would like to ask you a favour. Please explain the ending to me! I was left totally bemused as to what was real and what wasn't and in the end i just wanted it to finish , escape or no escape.

If you considering watching this do yourself a favour and watch one of the three movies i mentioned at the start of this review instead . You wont regret it.

5 out of 10
15 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Absolutely Brilliant!
JenEvans118 June 2009
This has to be one of the best films I have ever seen! And the surprising thing is, it is not one that I would have wanted to see normally.

I tend to like either science fiction, romance, comedies, etc and hardly ever watch prison escape or crime films. I think they're more of a 'man' thing? Anyway, my husband wanted to see this one so I thought I'd show willing, but honestly, I've got to admit, it just blew me away. It was fantastic! I won't go into the plot, suffice to say that it was gripping enough so that after the first few minutes I was totally engrossed. The acting was superb, the characters so vivid and couldn't wait to see how it would all end.

And I wasn't disappointed! I honestly never saw that twist at the end coming, I was genuinely shocked. What a great film! If you haven't seen it you absolutely must!
10 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Mediocre
Cheese Hoven6 September 2011
This film has a lot of things going for it: a good cast, especially Brian Cox, a striking visual sense and some well written dialogue. However, it is let down by a number of arbitrary and confusing elements which do not gel to make a satisfying whole.

One gets the impression of the British prison system is entirely run by the inmates with the indifferent warders looking on. Sadly this may be a fairly accurate portrayal of a modern British prison (although the living conditions are far more comfy than depicted here thanks to 'human rights'). But the impression is that certain scenes have been created just because they look good rather than because they serve any dramatic function. There's a strange and unexplained initiation ceremony for scantily clad newcomers; the now obligatory prison rape; and the lengthy intercut (apparent) escape scenes add to the confusion, even though they are highly atmospheric.

The black drug baron is particularly ludicrous. He has an assortment of potions to hand which would make Harry Potter jealous. He's able to concoct a poisonous 'cat' substitute somewhere in the prison (not sure where, I didn't think that laboratories were standard requirements yet) over night.

The 'surprise' ending merely added more questions rather than explaining anything. The comparison made to the Dallas shower scene made elsewhere is very apt.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Unfortunately I could not escape the dreadful movie
moviebus2 September 2009
Warning: Spoilers
A exceptionally bad movie which wastes some really good actors in ill-conceived dross.

The Escapist is poorly written with an unconvincing plot that steals from every American prison break movie ever made.

Unfortunately stealing great scenes from other movies is great if you can make them coherent in your film.

A task that was quite beyond this director.

The ending is the biggest cop out ever, well since Bobby Ewing woke up in the shower after being killed off a year earlier.

Take my word, watch 'The Shawshank Redemption' for the millionth times, of Clint in 'Escape from Alcatraz.' Get the box set of 'Prison Break.'

Under no circumstance rent this rubbish.
11 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Prison escape made dull
TruthTella29 January 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Don't waste your time on this movie. Complete dud. Very slow moving with no twists or action. For a prison movie this ranks at the bottom. Poorly planned escape. One of those movies that jumps around to different points in time. Characters are poorly introduced and you know nothing about them. No back stories, little information, unrealistic. Just a low budget poorly acted movie that tries to hard to be "artistic" or "deep" but fails. Decent story but done poorly and made boring.

Maybe it plays better overseas and in the UK but any decent film student in HS could beat this movie. I've seen good UK movies before, but can only think of cultural differences on why anyone would like this movie.

No action, no suspense, no drama, predictable plot
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
British at it's best!
filmsploitation29 April 2009
Phil's Quick Capsule Review: Well acted, clever and thought provoking films don't come along too often but that's exactly what The Escapist is. Superbly crafted this Lottery Supported film shows everything that is right about British cinema. Not for everyone's tastes for sure but The Escapist should be a must see for fans of quality UK films.

Best Bit: Frank's final speech

IMDb Rating: 7/10

If you liked this try: Prison Break Season 1 (9/10); Shawshank Redemption (9/10);

Phil Hobden For more reviews like this check out:

http://www.mod-life.net/modlife/index_ugly.htm
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Too dark and confusing
ggoldberg19 March 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I am usually a big fan of prison movies, but not this one. It was too unrelentingly dark and depressing for my tastes. Even prison has uplifting moments. Between the bad sound, the unfamiliar slang and the strong accents, I often found it very difficult to make out exactly what was going on. The lead - Brian Cox - did a good job, but the main bad guy - Damian Lewis - was too clean-cut and just did not fit the part (although I love him in Homeland). The whole drug factory in prison making a non-existent drug just seemed silly to me. There is no way that one would have the privacy to go through all the steps that it took to make it. The premise of an experienced middle-aged convict breaking out of prison because his daughter is a junkie seemed stupid too. What would he be able to do about it when on the run from the police? A lot of people seem to like this film, but I am not one of them.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Grim realism and comic-book adventure meet in this superb prison break drama
Robert_Woodward28 June 2008
Rupert Everett's new film, The Escapist, is a gripping prison break drama. Beginning in explosive fashion with the instigation of the escape attempt, the film switches back and forth between two chronologically distinct narratives: the story of the escape and the story behind the escape. The result is an inspired combination of grim realism and comic-book adventure.

The escape attempt is hatched when Frank (played by Brian Cox), an elderly and world-weary inmate, receives his first letter in fourteen years, informing him that his daughter has become a drug addict and that her health is failing. When Frank decides that he must break out and see her before it is too late, a number of other outsiders fall in with him, each having their own reasons for trying to escape.

The prison is an intimidating place, effectively ruled by inmate Rizza (a menacing turn by Damian Lewis) and his obnoxious brother Tony. Drug dealing is rife and the new inmates are subjected to a trial of humiliation and catcalls. The prison guards are mostly complicit in these activities, offering little protection for outsiders and dissenters. In a brutal demonstration of power, Rizza forces a disobedient junkie to cut off his thumb with a knife as an act of penitence. This is one of several jolts delivered to remind the audience that the prison setting is not just there for their entertainment: it is frighteningly real.

There are a number of fine performances in the lead roles. Ralph Fiennes is excellent in the role of Lenny, a menacing, violent inmate who becomes a brave and resourceful hero during the escape attempt. Tony is a memorably revolting villain, played with aplomb by Steve Mackintosh. But it is Brian Cox who deserves the highest praise. The crucial, wordless scene where he comes face to face with his wife in the visiting room is powerfully understated and typifies his performance.

On the other hand from the grim reality of the prison, the escape attempt is a taut and exciting adventure. The escapists use improvised gadgets to make their way through the subterranean caverns that they hope will lead to the outside world. The scenery, from long underground tunnels, to cavernous sewers to a disused underground station is often spectacular and the camaraderie that develops between the five men is deeply affecting.

The two strands of The Escapist, the story behind the prison break and that of the prison break itself, are expertly juggled throughout. There are plenty of twists and turns throughout, and the film often segues between the two narratives at unexpected junctures. I will not attempt to spoil the final twist, but it is one of those great moments in cinema where all sorts of details in the preceding film fall into place (and continue to fall into place when it is all over).

Apparently the prison scenes in The Escapist were filmed in a prison-turned-museum that was restored to its original appearance for the film shoot. It is a superb location, with enclosed walkways criss-crossing the central space and a dramatic spiral staircase that Everett uses to great effect in several set pieces. What struck my friend who accompanied me to the cinema is that there are no windows for the prisoners to look out of, only a skylight in the distant ceiling. Daylight takes on an almost mystical property as the escaped prison inmates strive to escape the subterranean passages adjoining the jail.

The sound and music in The Escapist are also deserving of high praise. The score by Benjamin Wallfisch includes a thunderous theme tune and creates tension by use of frantic percussion. The sounds of the prison by day and by night are exceptionally well done, helping to create a stifling, claustrophobic world that encroaches on the minds of the viewers. By the end you cannot help rooting for the escapists.
8 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Good cast in a good movie that only occasionally soars
dbborroughs14 April 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Brian Cox stars and produces this tale of a prison escape. Told out of sequence, the escape parallels the tale leading up to it, this is an often nail biting, often run of the mill story. The thrust of the film concerns Brian Cox who is serving a life sentence, getting a his first letter in 14 years. The daughter he left behind is sick due to a drug habit. Desperately needing to get out and make things right he assembles a group of men to help him escape. Very well acted film that is extremely claustrophobic. Everyone is in everyones face and the walls really are all around. Its a good movie that doesn't always transcend its stock prison bits. yes the escape is stunning, and some of the twists are affecting but I know that had this been told conventionally it wouldn't have amounted to very much (and if you sense that an note of disappointment that the good bits aren't up to the great bits you're right). That said its definitely worth a look on cable or as a rental.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Not for average minds
ssneg13 June 2009
Most people who did not like this movie mention such epithets as "confusing", "unclear", "mixed up" and "hard to work out". The story is indeed delivered in a non-trivial bi-linear way, so it takes some focusing on the movie and some brain activity. You see why this movie has not pleased the wide audience, right? Maybe some of the haters should stick with their comic books.

"The Escapist" is a brilliant movie per se and a star among other escape-this-prison movies (and TV series if you know what I mean). The cast is great, Sir Brian Cox is unbelievable, Joseph Fiennes delivers a great performance, and the rest of the cast are near flawless.

I would have given this movie 10/10 if Damian Lewis was not in it. Don't get me wrong, he is a great actor, one of my most favourite after Band of Brothers, and I enjoyed his other movies a lot.. Yet he is definitely miscast in this case and the whole idea of having a really wicked person with a face of a good guy did not fly for me. Lewis is much more convincing in "Life" (during his "what I learned behind bars" moments) than here.

Again, this is a gem and I am glad I have watched it.
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews