Game of Thrones (TV Series 2011–2019) Poster

(2011–2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
4,330 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Seasons 1-6: outstanding. 7: daft but good. 8: disappointing
dholliday-imdb21 May 2019
Let's say you're reading these reviews and haven't watched GoT yet, but now that it's finished are considering the marathon. What's the consensus? In this case, the consensus is accurate, and that is:

Seasons 1-6: outstanding. Deep world-building, intelligent dialogue, epic set-pieces worthy of Hollywood, expert acting, detailed plotting, genuine surprises, great soundtrack used sparingly. GoT is worth watching for these seasons, definitely.

Season 7: you suddenly notice the writing and plotting has taken a sharp dive downwards in quality. There are inexplicable ideas, inconsistent characterisation and soap-opera dramas. But at least the entertainment value is still very high, so it gets a pass.

Season 8: this drop chasms down to depths you didn't think possible. The writing has got so amateurish that the still-fantastic production values are no longer enough to save it. If you ever enjoyed Lost but were amazed at how bad the final season was, you're in familiar territory here.

The biggest problem with the final season was it took us out of the story and got us thinking about its many weaknesses. We lost our suspension of disbelief. Fatal for fiction. It also ruined the series-arcs to the point where a rewatch of the entire series is pointless.

So can I recommend a GoT marathon for newcomers? Yes, the first 6 seasons are worth the disappointments later on. But best series of all time it is not. It could've been, but dropping the ball in the final stretch puts it behind the following superior series more worthy of your marathon:

  • Battlestar Galactica (2003-2008)
  • Twin Peaks (all 3 seasons, plus the movie)
  • Breaking Bad
2,526 out of 2,844 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Can you just make the remake the season finale?
SaifOVGU9 April 2020
I'm feeling so heartbroken to see everyone criticising my favourite show of all time. And yes of course that's because of the bad making of the season finale, I can totally understand that. After all these years hardwork, creating and developing each and every character from bottom to top, memories, emotions throughout the process all went to vain for one bad making. It's so painful to accept it for the audience who invested lots of time watching the show from the starting and then finishing it like this! It's a long long journey. I don't even remember the day I started watching it and since then I waited the next year to come for the new season. I can't say anything more. Only one last request, could you please delete the whole season 8 and make a new version of it? Please?
640 out of 741 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A perfect example of: Falling in Love with the Wrong Guy
samxxx-671-82622125 May 2019
It was a master piece. It was written to the perfection. It was mesmerizing. It was gripping. It was so shocking that if someone is binge watching this show he/she will need a time-off in between to get their head around things and accept some messed up, yet mind blowing development.

But yet, I cant hate it enough after final season. Its like you came to know that you were in love with the wrong one all along. It was like looking at a completely different person. It was like seeing your own dreams and expectations get destroyed. It was not a let down, it was a BETRAYAL!
1,614 out of 1,782 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is a television show?
TheLittleSongbird9 November 2017
Was over-time on a gradual binge of watching 'Game of Thrones' from the first episode (gradual because of being so busy), having heard nothing but amazing things about it from friends, family and IMDb reviewers. Plus with such a great cast of talent and a brilliant book series, how could it possibly go wrong?

The good news is that 'Game of Thrones' didn't go wrong. Quite the opposite. Not only is it a rare television show that does its original source material justice and treats it with respect but it is on its own merits one of the finest, most addictive and consistently compelling shows in recent years. A television show so brilliant that one has to actually check that it was made for television when everything is done to such a high level that it puts many films made today to shame. This is one of the strongest examples of an acclaimed show that deserves every ounce of the praise it's garnered.

Visually, 'Game of Thrones' looks amazing. The scenery is throughout spectacular, the sets are hugely atmospheric and beautiful on the eyes with a real meticulous eye for detail and the costumes suit the characters to a tee. Then there are the special effects that are some of the best of any television programme and are not overused or abused, the scale, the detail and how they actually have character and soul are better than those in a lot of the big-budget blockbusters. As well the cinematography and editing, which are cinematic quality as well.

One cannot talk about 'Game of Thrones' without mentioning the thematically, orchestrally and atmospherically multi-layered music scoring and the unforgettable main theme. Again, worthy of a high-budget fantasy/action/drama film.

It is hard not to be bowled over by the quality of the writing, outstanding isn't a strong enough adjective to describe how good the writing is. It always has a natural flow, is layered and thought-provoking and demonstrates a wide range of emotions such as suspenseful tension, poignant pathos and witty humour. The story-lines are paced so beautifully, structured with such nuance and attention to coherence, a high emotional level and touch upon complex and sensitive themes with intelligence and tact.

Whenever there's a set-piece or more action-oriented scene there's always a reason, never there for the sake of it. Not only are the set-pieces done with a lot epic scale, superb staging, excitement and dramatic tension but underneath all the scale and flashy attention to detail there is a lot of heart and a multi-layered one. They're not overlong, nor are there out of place elements.

Characters are a huge part of the appeal too. 'Game of Thrones' has characters that are so well developed and as close to real life as one can get despite being in a fantasy world. These characters are not hero and villain archetypes (Joffrey is the only one close to that, the difference though is that he is an extremely interesting one with a lot of development who ranks well beyond one hundred percent on the threat level scale), they have much more to them and have strengths and flaws. Decisions are logical and one doesn't like any character any less when a decision is not the right one because mistakes are acknowledged and learnt from.

'Game of Thrones' cast is full of talented names and, thanks to so well rounded characters and such great writing, nothing but the very best is gotten out of them. Even those who are not favourites of mine. Big acting standouts are Peter Dinklage, Sean Bean, Lena Headey and Jack Gleeson (Joffrey being the king of all young characters with not a redeeming bone in their body).

In conclusion, absolutely outstanding and a rare television show worthy of being a cinematic modern classic. This review may sound superlatively hyperbolic, but to me 'Game of Thrones' is that good. 10/10 Bethany Cox
220 out of 272 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Extraordinary untill season 8
alshamari-marwa19 May 2020
This is the first series i would recommend to anybody , it is an amazing piece of work , the most stunning TV series you will ever watch. Why i gave it 9/10 because of the last season, it's still good but very disappointing compared to all the seasons. YOU will enjoy every episode
177 out of 221 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Imagine an Ice Cream Shop
kunkell2 November 2019
So imagine you go into an ice cream shop and you order a sundae. They've got all kinds of nice stuff going on, beautiful delicious soft serve vanilla bean ice cream, some hot fudge, freshly cracked up peanuts, woah what is that?? A brownie? Some delicious house made whipped cream... Man this sundae is gonna be spectacular. Wow what more could you ask for? Cherry on top? Bring it on!!

And then all of a sudden they put an anchovy on top, and then another, and then a couple more, and then squirt some Dijon mustard on for good measure.

You don't even want the sundae anymore, in fact, you can't even look back on how nice that sundae used to be without thinking about all the stupid s*** they did at the very end just when it was going so well.

That's essentially Game of Thrones. I tried to rewatch it, but as I got through the first season I began looking at where all the pieces land at the end it's literally impossible to go back to. There are just so many ruined character arcs, so much pointlessness, and every time I come back here I drop it one more star it seems like. Game of Thrones is a beautiful anchovy sundae.
1,176 out of 1,343 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Shame of Thrones
type-a1pha24 May 2019
The ending of this series is a disservice to the public!

The first seasons are great as they are based on the books source material and, apparently, the writers are good enough at adapting other people ideas. After season four there's a decline, not so manifest at first since the goodness of the source material still lingers around. It's more of a slow deterioration, a spiral into shallow writing that peaks in a last season devoid of content and value. Where at first grand scale developments, societal issues and world-spanning intrigues dominated the narration with characters being the pawns of the true overarching story, later in the seasons characters and stereotypical interactions take the stage and the interesting, long developing issues that made the story captivating get resolved in the most unrewarding ways possible. It's incoherent, detached, uninspired writing. It's everything that is bad in mainstream media.

All of this because the writers decided they had enough with the show and grew bored with it. So they wanted to wrap it up as soon as possible in order to go on and ruin the Star Wars franchise (more than it already is). Thanks for your disservice!

It needs to be mentioned that the overall production, sound design, acting, cinematography, all of these are quite extraordinary and elevate the show quite a bit, even when the writing declines. The quality is amazing. It probably is still worth watching for its entertainment value. It just doesn't pay off. The ending season ruins quite literally everything.
316 out of 396 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It could have been the best TV series ever made...
danielkpkp12 May 2020
Till season 7 very likely the best TV show ever made in terms of suspense, character development, plot, effects, acting.... 10/10 with no doubt! But S6E10 is probably the point where you should stop and imagine your own ending. It is guaranteed better and has more character development. Otherwise you may end up rating it down by more than just one and are overcome by disappointment...
802 out of 878 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fantasy has never seemed so real
gogoschka-122 July 2014
I don't believe there has ever been anything like 'Game of Thrones' on TV. The sheer amount of quality and talent in this series is staggering. The actors (and I mean really ALL the actors), the costumes, the visual effects, the make-up: everybody working on this show seems to have wanted to make Television-history. And the writing is just phenomenal.

'Game of Thrones' may belong to the 'Fantasy' genre, but the world of Westeros and its surrounding lands has been so amazingly well thought through and is inhabited by characters that are so well drawn and credible that everything you watch feels real. Every "country", every city, tribe or family has such a richly detailed history and even mythology that it just never feels like it was made up. Of course, that was all already there in the books – but translating that so perfectly to a TV-show and with such care as was done here really is a rare achievement.

Yet for all its grandeur, scale and breath-taking visuals, what really makes Martin's outstanding work come to life on the small screen is the fantastic ensemble of actors. At the core of this show (any show, really) are the characters. Tyrion, Cersei, Dany, Jamie and John (and all the – many – others) don't lose anything of their complexity; the amazing cast succeeds in showing all their respective characters' inner conflicts and often questionable motivations and virtually no one comes across as one-dimensional (except maybe for Joffrey).

There have been a couple of great TV-shows over the last years, but when it comes to scale AND quality, 'Game of Thrones' is – at the moment – in a league of its own. A joy to watch: breath-taking, epic – and highly addictive – Television. 10 stars out of 10.

Lesser-known Masterpieces: http://www.imdb.com/list/ls070242495/

Favorite Films: http://www.IMDb.com/list/mkjOKvqlSBs/

Favorite Low-Budget and B-movies: http://www.imdb.com/list/ls054808375/

Favorite TV-Shows reviewed: http://www.imdb.com/list/ls075552387/
438 out of 630 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great Beginning, WORST Ending!
el-absy20 May 2019
Started off as the greatest series of all time, but had the worst ending of all time.
1,427 out of 1,681 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
the best TV show in history
auuwws3 June 2020
An epic series, most of the actors mastered their characters despite the bad season, that it is still the best TV show in history
77 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
GOT
wonkru23 May 2020
At first I did not want to watch the series. But once I started watching it, I couldn't stop. It became more and more exciting from season 1-8.

Great actors.

I was disappointed with the end of the 8 season!
77 out of 104 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A once terrific show bogged down due to horrible writing.
Game of Thrones used to be one of my favourite shows on television. It was the perfect fantasy story with complex and detailed stories with characters that you actually cared about, along with simply fantastic writing and good acting with a great sense of tension. However, ever since Season 4 ended, the show has taken a rather significant hit in quality, and it soon went from being fantastic to good and then good to straight up idiotic. While Season 5 and 6 weren't the worst, and Season 7 didn't really have my blood boiling, there was a definitely recognisable change in the writing and plots. It stopped being as sophisticated and became straight up average. All that was saving it was the other good things about the show like the visuals, characters, tension and drama. But now we're here, at the final season:

Game of Thrones Season 8 is one of the worst seasons of any TV show I have ever watched in my entire life. It throws everything you ever cared about with this show out the window for cheap expectation subversions, it completely shatters and throws aside character arcs that you have wanted resolved, it completely destroys many of the characters you once loved, the writing has gotten to a whole new level of atrocious with D&D giving excuses like "Oh they just forgot about them" to justify it, it is filled with plot holes and contrivances, ex-machinas, and so many impressively dumb moments and deaths that make The Last Jedi look like Citizen Kane. This is The Last Jedi of GOT, it ruins everything you have ever loved about it, it disregards the fact that you have loved this show for nearly a decade just so it can get away with wrapping up the story in a way that even the actors of the damn show hate.

I have never seen a TV show get affected by Seasonal rot THIS HARD. A once truly terrific show bogged down due to horrible writing, and they're not even going to up their game for the ending. Years of watching this show that I'll never be able to get back. Thanks D&D, or should we start calling you Dumb and Dumber? Try not to ruin Star Wars next.
49 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The beast
hf-156992 May 2020
One of the best series I've ever seen, but the last season was ruined.
96 out of 130 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best shows ever!
Supermanfan-1310 November 2021
I know that people say this about a ton of different shows but Game of Thrones is absolutely, without a doubt, one of the best TV shows ever created...it's damn near perfect (except for maybe the last couple of episodes) and easily one of my all-time favorite shows! Yeah, the last few episodes of Season 8 weren't that good but the first 7 1/2 seasons were so ridiculously incredible that it still gets a 10 from me! I'm pretty sure there's never been a show more talked about or more loved in the history of television than GOT. All you have to do is read through the reviews to see how loved this show really is! Again, this show is absolutely amazing!
21 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
GOT- The journey is long, full of surprises and betrayal to audiences
aniketchoudhary-2630321 August 2021
Here is my ratings for all seasons S01-S04 = 10⭐ S05-S06 = 9⭐ S06 = 7⭐ Running like an olympic athlete S08 = 5⭐ Ruined everything

That's all, I have a lot to say but I am pissed how it was concluded but it will always be my best fantasy show ever.
52 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Need Fulfilled
Hitchcoc6 January 2018
I am writing this because according to the IMDB User Ratings, I have not commented. I have reviewed all the individual episodes, but not the show as a whole. There is little that I can add to the impact of this show. I am proud to be on the same planet as those who created and put this work into fruition. When one looks at the technical accomplishments and the multiple plot strains that have been kept in balance, it is truly a wonder. I know that there are those who can never get past the "book did this" and "the book did that." We have to come to realize that it is impossible to recreate every nuance that fiction allows and that occasionally characters must be dropped and events assumed. For me, I have approached these as the artistic creations they are--as film (and television, at that). I have the books. I've not read them but plan to at some point. I doubt at this late stage of my life there will ever be another series to match this. I like fantasy but am not ruled by it as a genre. But this is for us all. If you've not seen it, treat yourself.
42 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely Amazing (except for the ending)!
Supermanfan-136 September 2021
I know that people say this about a ton of different shows but Game of Thrones is absolutely, without a doubt, one of the best TV shows ever created...it's damn near perfect (except for maybe the last couple of episodes) and easily one of my all-time favorite shows! Yeah, the last few episodes of Season 8 weren't that good but the first 7 1/2 seasons were so amazing that it still gets a 10 from me! I'm pretty sure there's never been a show more talked about or more loved in the history of television than GOT. All you have to do is read through the reviews to see how loved this show really is! Again, this show is absolutely amazing!
18 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best show ever made
carobertson958 November 2021
Regardless of what people say about the last 2 seasons. This show is unmatched. It has a bit of every genre in the mix. I've watched it 3 times now and I still think that from the beginning to the last episode this show is perfect. My favorite show ever created.
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the greatest shows of all time, even with the ending.
pickle-9264226 September 2021
No matter how much criticism it gets for its ending, writing, directing, you cannot deny that this is one of the singular greatest achievements in all of film history. Absolutely RIVETING television. Some of the grandest emotions can be felt by watching this series. I can't recall a time when watching this that I did not feel emotionally invested and/or connected. Some of the most INSANE and awesome scenes I have ever seen in a piece of fiction. I cannot believe people think the ENTIRE show is ruined just because of like 2-3 bad episodes at the end. It's as if you're completely ignoring the sheer brilliance of season 1-6, and in my opinion, season 7 as well. This is currently my second favorite show, only under Breaking Bad. I urge anybody who likes film/tv to check this out, it will not disappoint.
19 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best shows ever created!
Supermanfan-1316 May 2021
I know that people say this about a ton of different shows but Game of Thrones is absolutely, without a doubt, one of the best TV shows ever created...it's damn near perfect (except for maybe the last couple of episodes) and easily one of my all-time favorite shows! Yeah, the last few episodes of Season 8 weren't that good but the first 7 1/2 seasons were so amazing that it still gets a 10 from me! I'm pretty sure there's never been a show more talked about or more loved in the history of television than GOT. All you have to do is read through the reviews to see how loved this show really is! Again, this show is absolutely amazing!
22 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hands down the best series ever
hefo-6455822 September 2021
The perfect combination of action, fantasy, history, politics, intrige, blood, sex and sentiment. Fantastic cast, beautiful decor and wardrobe, smart dialogues and thrilling storylines. G. O. T. Just has everything you ever wanted in a series rolled up into 7 seasons of pure entertainment. Have watched it 3 times now and still some episodes get me on the edge of my seat. Special acknowledgement to Peter Dinklage who, in my opinion, gives his character such depth and subtle layers it is hard to imagine he is actually on a set surrounded by cameras and crew. Amazing!
16 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Goosebumps throughout seasons...
aini78676 April 2021
A larger than life experience that was...i started watching got back in 2012 and then after watching 1st episode i gave up on it ...and than 3 to 4 times again i started watching it and left it just after rewatching first episodes..but not this time .deep down i knew i have to watch it ...and when i finshed it i had just one regret why i didn't grew up with this show...i will always regret it .. A master piece...i cant remember the amount of goosebumps i got watching this show ...and the amount of emotions ...
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A series that rose to such great heights only to dive to abysmal depths
gazzalodi15 May 2019
10 out of 10 when they had the books and were just doing adaptations. Season 1-4

6 out of 10 when they passed the books had to depend on their own ideas which were not at all in the same league as the source material but still tried to follow it in spirit... somewhat (no Lady Stoneheart should have been a warning to the audience). Seasons 5-6.

1 out of 10 when they decided it was time to wrap up the series and realized they had no idea how to resolve the characters' stories so just turned everyone into one dimensional cartoons and threw in a lot of explosions to try and distract the audience. Seasons 7-8.

Sorry Star Wars fans but these are the guys you get for the next trilogy. With no one to tell them what story they are supposed to be telling.
42 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The most epic/greatest thing ever!
goswamidiptanshu3 April 2020
Literally nothing can match the level of intensity like the show every season has literally one or two groundbreaking episodes each and every scene tells more with the picture and talking the fights the story the buildup the music the screenplay the acting the visuals each and everything was epic and never seen before wonder!from night king to iron throne to starks and lannisters every thing was beautifully written!no wonder greatest quotes are present in here too!politics and war was like i am playing that in real life such impact full it is!Although ending 3 episodes did'nt quite felt satisfying but it was digestable!not a perfect ending yet the greatest show of all time!
31 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed