Game of Thrones (TV Series 2011–2019) Poster

(2011–2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
4,498 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
A perfect example of: Falling in Love for the Wrong Guy
samxxx-671-82622125 May 2019
It was a master piece. It was written to the perfection. It was mesmerizing. It was gripping. It was so shocking that if someone is binge watching this show he/she will need a time-off in between to get their head around things and accept some messed up, yet mind blowing development.

But yet, I cant hate it enough after final season. Its like you came to know that you were in love with the wrong one all along. It was like looking at a completely different person. It was like seeing your own dreams and expectations get destroyed. It was not a let down, it was a BETRAYAL!
1,151 out of 1,286 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Seasons 1-6: outstanding. 7: daft but good. 8: disappointing
dholliday-imdb21 May 2019
Let's say you're reading these reviews and haven't watched GoT yet, but now that it's finished are considering the marathon. What's the consensus? In this case, the consensus is accurate, and that is:

Seasons 1-6: outstanding. Deep world-building, intelligent dialogue, epic set-pieces worthy of Hollywood, expert acting, detailed plotting, genuine surprises, great soundtrack used sparingly. GoT is worth watching for these seasons, definitely.

Season 7: you suddenly notice the writing and plotting has taken a sharp dive downwards in quality. There are inexplicable ideas, inconsistent characterisation and soap-opera dramas. But at least the entertainment value is still very high, so it gets a pass.

Season 8: this drop chasms down to depths you didn't think possible. The writing has got so amateurish that the still-fantastic production values are no longer enough to save it. If you ever enjoyed Lost but were amazed at how bad the final season was, you're in familiar territory here.

The biggest problem with the final season was it took us out of the story and got us thinking about its many weaknesses. We lost our suspension of disbelief. Fatal for fiction. It also ruined the series-arcs to the point where a rewatch of the entire series is pointless.

So can I recommend a GoT marathon for newcomers? Yes, the first 6 seasons are worth the disappointments later on. But best series of all time it is not. It could've been, but dropping the ball in the final stretch puts it behind the following superior series more worthy of your marathon:

  • Battlestar Galactica (2003-2008)
  • Twin Peaks (all 3 seasons, plus the movie)
  • Breaking Bad
2,385 out of 2,708 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It could have been the best TV series ever made...
danielkpkp12 May 2020
Till season 7 very likely the best TV show ever made in terms of suspense, character development, plot, effects, acting.... 10/10 with no doubt! But S6E10 is probably the point where you should stop and imagine your own ending. It is guaranteed better and has more character development. Otherwise you may end up rating it down by more than just one and are overcome by disappointment...
267 out of 295 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Imagine an Ice Cream Shop
kunkell2 November 2019
So imagine you go into an ice cream shop and you order a sundae. They've got all kinds of nice stuff going on, beautiful delicious soft serve vanilla bean ice cream, some hot fudge, freshly cracked up peanuts, woah what is that?? A brownie? Some delicious house made whipped cream... Man this sundae is gonna be spectacular. Wow what more could you ask for? Cherry on top? Bring it on!!

And then all of a sudden they put an anchovy on top, and then another, and then a couple more, and then squirt some Dijon mustard on for good measure.

You don't even want the sundae anymore, in fact, you can't even look back on how nice that sundae used to be without thinking about all the stupid s*** they did at the very end just when it was going so well.

That's essentially Game of Thrones. I tried to rewatch it, but as I got through the first season I began looking at where all the pieces land at the end it's literally impossible to go back to. There are just so many ruined character arcs, so much pointlessness, and every time I come back here I drop it one more star it seems like. Game of Thrones is a beautiful anchovy sundae.
699 out of 799 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Can you just make the remake the season finale?
SaifOVGU9 April 2020
I'm feeling so heartbroken to see everyone criticising my favourite show of all time. And yes of course that's because of the bad making of the season finale, I can totally understand that. After all these years hardwork, creating and developing each and every character from bottom to top, memories, emotions throughout the process all went to vain for one bad making. It's so painful to accept it for the audience who invested lots of time watching the show from the starting and then finishing it like this! It's a long long journey. I don't even remember the day I started watching it and since then I waited the next year to come for the new season. I can't say anything more. Only one last request, could you please delete the whole season 8 and make a new version of it? Please?
299 out of 341 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great Beginning, WORST Ending!
el-absy20 May 2019
Started off as the greatest series of all time, but had the worst ending of all time.
1,402 out of 1,653 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
SHAME that the show is not re-watchable anymore.
damianhlebec15 June 2019
It use to be my favorite show by far and i never thought that could change,but it did.Last(8)season i watched only once but all the seasons before that i have seen 3 times,except the season 7,which i saw twice.Thank god that i did,because now i won't watch the show again.You really mess it up with the last season.
810 out of 950 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Game of Thrones
jacobnoble-0252410 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I would give this an easy 10/10.. if season 8 didn't exist. But it does, unfortunately.

Season 1-6 10/10 Amazing, complex dialogue and intriguing logical story lines with strong character developments and shocking emotional moments. On top of the insane action scenes. A few MINOR flaws in s5/6

Season 7- 7/10 - still good but seemed rushed and had some illogical moments that made no sense.

Season 8- 3/10 I actually don't know where or start. Season 8 is a joke. Terrible writing. Nothing makes sense. The writers have butchered many character's developments and given hardly any satisfying conclusions to their story arcs. Brans story had no pay off at all and his whole role as the 3 eyed raven proved pointless against the Night King. Jaime's redemption arc was cut off instantly with real no reason. The Night Kings death was underwhelming. Infact all of episode 3 was poor, with no real structure and poorly written end to the main story line of the show. No Sansa and Cersei interaction of any sort which I would have liked to have seen. Unbelievable unrealistic plot armour. The plot armour ruined the battle of Winterfell. 'All' the Dothraki wiped out in seconds yet Samwell Tarly can fend them off. Many more characters needed to die that episode. Rhaegal taken down by first 3 shots, yet Drogon dodges an Iron fleets worth of Scorpions at Kings Landing, which weren't even shooting, just to serve the plot. I guess Euron forgot about Dany's dragon and her forces. Jon does nothing all season (why was he resurrected? ). Speaking of Jon, what was the point of his lineage? It didn't change anything. I kind of like Danaerys going mad but it needed a lot more time and thought put into it - It went too far too fast with no substantial development to justify her killing thousands of innocents. It was actually laughable. Needed seasons of planning and transitioning her character. After Dany's death it just skipped to Tyrion's trial and no one seemed phased over it. Anything that required any thought from the Writers was done off screen, like Arya and Sansa finding out about Jon's lineage. Major let downs and bad dialogue throughout. There are some good moments but very few and far between. Have to appreciate effort by cast, directing and music crew and the few decent scenes as a whole. Also, Cersei, who I personally think is the most interesting character gets 20 minutes screen time all season and does nothing except look out of a window.

Overall- 8/10 purely on S1-7
2,268 out of 2,728 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
When ending ruins an entire series
Mampire20 May 2019
For a series with such a complexity, many-layered characters, contradicted emotions & breathtaking events. you'd expect to get an epic ending but that wasn't the case with Game of Thrones which has an end that ruined it all & made rewatchability almost impossible. even the worst pessimists wouldn't ever imagined a series that acquired all this glory & hype to end up so terribly.

Shame on the writers to turn such a rich world & complicated structure into a pale & dumb pop-ish work at the last 2 seasons

Seasons 1-6 outstanding. season 7 that's when the dumb writing has begun. season 8 dumb writing has taken a whole new level, butchering all characters arcs & betraying the previous complexity of the world.

if you're new to the series do yourself a favor & stop watching after season 6.
987 out of 1,193 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Extraordinary untill season 8
alshamari-marwa19 May 2020
This is the first series i would recommend to anybody , it is an amazing piece of work , the most stunning TV series you will ever watch. Why i gave it 9/10 because of the last season, it's still good but very disappointing compared to all the seasons. YOU will enjoy every episode
79 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The writers really let themselves, their audience & Martin down...
jules-378037 May 2019
The first 5 Seasons of Game Of Thrones are exceptional, a beautifully structured series. The sets, characters, pacing, twists - exceptional. I could not fault it, however, after that things went downhill.

When it came to Season 5, the author of the books (George R. R. Martin) and HBO had a disagreement. Martin wanted the show to run across more series, to give all his complex story lines the chance to grow & move at a natural pace. HBO declined and so he dropped off the project, which is extremely evident.

Season 6 & 7, although flawed, were still watchable. The books & George's earlier comments paved the way for both seasons, but you could feel that the episodes lacked substance.

This brings us to the latest season, and after 2 years of waiting expectations were very high. The first two episodes were very plain, the reunions were wonderful, however you could tell they were setting up for one of the biggest fights of the series, which had been greatly anticipated since Season 1. I tried to not to have too high of expectations, however the director referred to episode 3 as "bigger than Helms Deep" which is a comment that will always spark excitement.

Episode 3 was so utterly disappointing, in every way. If you were somehow able to see through the intense darkness (what was the director thinking?) you will crumble to the poor decisions made by writers. I will not stem into this too much, but basically Dan & Dave chose to go down the Hollywood path, completely disregarding any real story or strategy. Episode 4 was equally as disappointing, which I was hoping would redeem the final season.

The writers have ruined this final season by fast tracking characters (basically teleporting), making the smartest of characters docile, and letting plot armor protect 'favorites'. I am still going to watch until the end, but I thought I would warn any future viewer to prepare yourself, as there is nothing more heartbreaking than watching terrible writing ruin a otherwise tremendous series.
934 out of 1,189 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Best show turned disaster.
debanjanpaul-8396710 May 2019
As GoT started, the first four seasons were insanely great. The story, the characters, the mature plot points. Everything was just perfect. It was 11/10 for me then. But as the seasons passed and episodes increased, the show became dumber and dumber and dumber. The story became childish, and the premise deteriorated. And now in season 8, it feels like a bunch of kindergarten kids are given the task of writing the plot for this show.
634 out of 814 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Shame of Thrones
type-a1pha24 May 2019
The ending of this series is a disservice to the public!

The first seasons are great as they are based on the books source material and, apparently, the writers are good enough at adapting other people ideas. After season four there's a decline, not so manifest at first since the goodness of the source material still lingers around. It's more of a slow deterioration, a spiral into shallow writing that peaks in a last season devoid of content and value. Where at first grand scale developments, societal issues and world-spanning intrigues dominated the narration with characters being the pawns of the true overarching story, later in the seasons characters and stereotypical interactions take the stage and the interesting, long developing issues that made the story captivating get resolved in the most unrewarding ways possible. It's incoherent, detached, uninspired writing. It's everything that is bad in mainstream media.

All of this because the writers decided they had enough with the show and grew bored with it. So they wanted to wrap it up as soon as possible in order to go on and ruin the Star Wars franchise (more than it already is). Thanks for your disservice!

It needs to be mentioned that the overall production, sound design, acting, cinematography, all of these are quite extraordinary and elevate the show quite a bit, even when the writing declines. The quality is amazing. It probably is still worth watching for its entertainment value. It just doesn't pay off. The ending season ruins quite literally everything.
297 out of 383 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Amazing show.
ANIMEBOI472 June 2020
Warning: Spoilers
GOT is an amazing show! But..... the last season was rushed especially regarding the white walkers. They built up so much tension and then just ended it like that.... pretty bad. Also the ending of the whole show wasn't very good either. However, this tv show is so high above everything else nowadays especially regarding production quality, story, standing out from the crowd, complexity and character development and not to mention the actors! Top notch! God tier! I just wish that they had some more time to figure out that last season..
60 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Incredible!
RobScott-1330 September 2020
I know people say this about a ton of different shows but Game of Thrones is absolutely, without a doubt, one of the best tv shows of all-time...it's perfect (except for the last season)! There's never been a show more talked about in the history of television than GOT. People loved this incredible series for a reason... because it's amazing! Yeah, Season 8 wasn't that good (especially the last few episodes) but the first 7 seasons were so good that it still gets a 10/10 from me. All you have to do is read through the reviews to see how loved this show really is!
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
GOT
wonkru23 May 2020
At first I did not want to watch the series. But once I started watching it, I couldn't stop. It became more and more exciting from season 1-8.

Great actors.

I was disappointed with the end of the 8 season!
47 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
almost perfect
LASTRONOME3 June 2020
A series like never seen before which rocked last season on a flop! congratulations anyway
67 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
This was an 10/10 until S08E03
SpitOnAStranger10 May 2019
I loved this series so much. Then came season 8 episode 3 and 4. Such a disgraceful ending.

Seasons 1-4 10/10 Seasons 5-7 9/10 Season 8 (Ep 1-4) 3/10
663 out of 888 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Can we please just restart season 8, perhaps 7 as well, but mainly 8
adamheritage-153336 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
First off, I used to have a 10/10 for the show but after watching season 8 ep 3, I can no longer consider it a masterpiece. The writing has been atrocious, no spacing between major moments. Season 8 is definitely going to be the worst season in GOT history, even if the last two eps are Brilliant which I'm starting to feel is highly unlikely. However I'm still giving GOT as a whole 8/10 because of what the show once was, but season 8 has ruined it. Their best hope now is to hire some new writers and redo season eight with 10 episodes, so key moments are spaced out and not feel all jumbled together like they do currently, and give more justice to the night king so that GOT can go out with a bang and be remembered as the greatest show that ever was, like it was supposed to.
377 out of 507 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent adaptation.
psypeterson17 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Readers who come to this review later in the series must note that, at the time of this writing, I have only seen the inaugural episode.

It's probably safe to say, when dealing with a series of novels as beloved as The Song of Ice and Fire, the most scrutinized aspect of the T.V. adaptation will be how well it holds to the source material. I am here to confirm, as a fierce devotee to the books, that we have nothing to fear.

While certain scenes play out differently in execution, the plot remains perfectly intact (so far). The characters have been transplanted well from page to screen, and the actors (most notably Peter Dinklage) nailed their personalities quite well. However; it is only fair to point out some of the acting seemed a little wooden at times.

Special effects were well done, though nothing mind-blowing, but the scenery and props perfectly captured the feel of the novels (in my mind at least). It also must be noted that there was just the right amount of nudity, violence and vulgarity to let the audience know they were watching a tale woven for mature viewers without using said nudity, violence and vulgarity as a crutch.

All and all, I am very, very pleased with this adaptation, and I went into it expecting to be disappointed. If I were to gripe about anything, it would be that newcomers who have not read the books might not know what to think of this fantasy story for adults. Some may shrug it off as fodder for geeks, while others might take offence to what they may see as a defiling of a genre usually meant for children.

UPDATE

After watching the entire first season, I can safely say this is perhaps the BEST adaptation of book into film/TV. While many moments in the show do not match the moments in the book action for action and word for word, the plot is never sacrificed when doing this, and the alterations simply make the story a better fit for a one-hour television time slot.

In addition, new scenes (by which I mean scenes which never happened in the book at all) fit seamlessly into the greater plot, and help the audience with information they would only otherwise get via the narrative of the novel (EG: asides which explain character/world history).

Top form, HBO. Top form.
1,573 out of 2,180 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the most stunning shows on television
paulday9819 April 2011
Do not believe any of those negative reviews. I honestly cannot understand why some reviewers have given this such a low rating. I think some people love the sound of their own voice and think their opinion is worth something and will be disagreeable simply for the sake of it.

Having said that, this show is stunning. I have never read the books and now I want to. There is so much crap on TV that is renewed year after year (CSI, House etc.) which uses cheap gags, pointless and sometimes ridiculous plots, unbelievable and many times one dimensional characters and yet all the truly great shows get cancelled.

There is enough brain-dead television. But once in a while a show comes along that transports you to another world and makes you believe in the magic of television again. Game of Thrones is one such show.

It is complex, multi-layered, surreal, vibrant, imaginative and it draws your eye in to the surprising level of detail, from the sweeping vistas, to the narrow dungeons, from the beautiful castles and magnificent trees, to the contrasting landscapes. It is worth watching just for the scenery alone.

Yes the acting seems a little cold and even wooden at times, but this is perfectly in keeping with the medieval look and feel of the show. Yes it is dark and gloomy, but again in keeping with the narrative.

The scripting is intelligent and well delivered by competent acting, led by Sean Bean perfectly cast as Lord Edard. Although Sean Bean is better known for brooding bad guys, he strikes the perfect balance between father, husband and Lord and soldier. He is well supported by other well known actors and many new to the scene.

After watching and sometimes enjoying Camelot, this show makes that one look more like "Merlin" by comparison. And where Camelot lacks in depth and scripting, Game of Thrones strikes the perfect balance between brooding medieval angst and wonderful fantasy story telling.

Even if you have never watched a fantasy show before, you should not miss this.
2,095 out of 2,914 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Finally, a Show that stays true to it's written roots
Jschool0318 April 2011
As an avid reader, I am often disappointed by what is represented by the silver screen. I initially get excited to see one of my favorite series on the big screen, and eventually walk away disgusted. For whatever reason, most shows and movies that are based on epic book series absolutely butcher the original content.

So when I saw the preview for "Game of Thrones" on HBO, I was immediately skeptical. Oh, I was going to watch it, but I didn't have high expectations. I did hold a little hope because HBO is known for their high quality shows.

I was absolutely shocked to watch the Pilot and realize that it followed the book almost to perfection. The language that is used by the actors is very similar to the way that it was written in the book, and events were not skipped. It stayed very true to the story without adding to it or removing from it.

The acting is superb and I actually felt like I was looking into Winterfell for the first time. I feel like I've actually got faces to add to the characters that I've been reading about for a long time.

If you have not read the books, you may feel as though the blatant sexuality is an addition from HBO to add some spice to the series. This is not the case at all. The books contained all of the sexuality that is shown in the Pilot. I am very proud of HBO for producing an amazingly accurate product. I will be watching every week for sure.

If you enjoyed what you saw in the Pilot, know that there are many other plot twists and action filled evenings to come. "Game of Thrones" has a ton of potential to be one of the greatest series that has ever been produced. I would highly recommend it to fans of the series and newcomers alike.

UPDATE:

I have now watched 3 Episodes and I wanted to come back and report some more. Even after 3 Episodes, the series is staying true to the written story. Overall the acting is still very good. I hate to watch a show that makes it look like the actors are reading a script. I don't get this impression with this HBO adaptation.

Each episode of this series leaves me itching for the next weekend. I really hate watching shows in real time because I enjoy absorbing several hours of a show at one time. But, a good show will keep you looking forward to it the whole week.

A special note to viewers that have not read the books... Keep watching! This series has numerous twists and turns and full of epic battles and action. It may seem like it's taking a little while to develop, but the reward is well worth the wait.

Even after 3 episodes, I would still highly recommend this to anyone.
1,847 out of 2,568 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
best ever
myplacestayout3 October 2020
Best adventurous, full of action and thrilling series ever made
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Fantastic, until the final season
thelatestdionne30 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This show started slow, but it grew on you. Throughout the series you get invested in the story, and have some explosive (literally) moments that are thrilling! These big moments were unexpected so it was a treat every time they occurred. As the show headed towards season 7, you can tell the directing got a tad lazy, but it was still fun to watch. Then season 8 happened. Cinematography? Great. Story? Meh. There are some moments that have you confused. For example: Dany forgot about Euron's fleet? Grey worm teleports to where Dany is? The castle falls on Jamie and Cersei, which kills them, yet Tyrion can walk to their bodies? The lighting of the long night? Ultimately, Game of Thrones is still a fantastic show. It is a shame that the final season only had six episodes, and was rushed.
149 out of 196 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
the best TV show in history
auuwws3 June 2020
An epic series, most of the actors mastered their characters despite the bad season, that it is still the best TV show in history
40 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed