Cannibal (Video 2006) Poster

(2006 Video)

User Reviews

Review this title
32 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Pass The Penis
ElijahCSkuggs6 February 2007
Going into Cannibal I was aware of a few things. I knew that it was based on a true story that involved two German men and cannibalism. I also knew that there was a good amount of gay sex and lots of weiners flippin and floppin all over the place. Well, the movie is indeed about two Germans with a incredibly rare fetish and it is also full of sex and male nudity. But I also came to realize that this movie has some of the best gore fx I've ever seen. So if any of this stuff itches you the wrong way, the best path to take is to avoid this movie. But if you're looking to widen your horizon and/or just check out an extreme, yet very well made movie, this is definitely a must see.

Like I said the movie is about two German men, 42-year-old computer expert Armin Meiwes and 43-year-old engineer Bernd Brandes. Armin through his accomplished computer skills and perseverance sets out to find someone who would help assist him accomplish his deepest desire. Through hard work and many meetings with people he eventually finds Bernd. From the moment they meet face to face you instantly realize that this movie is gonna get serious, fast. Reason why I'm saying this is the first thing Bernd says to Armin is "I'm your flesh" and then an intensely sexual yet loving stare follows. Remember what I said above with the extreme subject matter? Well, that's what follows. For many of you the reason you're watching this film is to get a better idea of what transpired between these two men. And believe you me, you'll get the idea. One thing I didn't expect from this movie was the way they chose to tell the story. I was expecting the film-makers to show them in a different tone, a tone more fitting to this type of subject manner. I came away from the movie with a sense that I just saw a love story, one of the grossest love stories I've ever seen, but a love story. I really only have two gripes with this film. One of them being the dubbing was kind of weak, and two I would have enjoyed a follow up after the closing scene, telling us exactly how the true-life story ended. Minor nit-picking, but it would have upped my score.

Cannibal was directed by first-time director Marian Dora. And I have to take my hat off to him, he did a really nice job. The shots of the movie were intense, the dialog was minuscule yet powerful. The acting seemed inspired, the gore fx were unbelievable. The movie brought home the bacon and fried it in the pan....big time. Cannibal is an incredibly strong flick that should appeal to many people, even though most will be scared away by the penis shots and sex. Truthfully, there's so much nudity in it, after a while you're not even noticing it anymore. If you like strong flicks and aren't afraid of a little sex and blood, check this baby out. 9 outta 10.
40 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The ultimate cannibal movie?
DVD_Connoisseur13 January 2007
While it would be unfair to draw a direct comparison with the Italian exploitation pictures ("Cannibal Holocaust", "Cannibal Ferox" et al), Marian Dora's shot-on-film "Cannibal" is perhaps the ultimate cannibal movie. An unflinching view into what drives one human being to devour another, this beautifully crafted production is an incredible achievement and it's a joy to see it released on DVD in the USA by the ever-reliable Unearthed studio. This based-on-real-life-events film has fared less well in Germany, where it is banned as a result of its no-holds-barred content and will therefore be seen in its home-country only as a result of imported DVDs and bootlegs.

The story will be known already to most viewers. In 2003, a man advertised on the internet for somebody to eat. Following a successful application, the scene was set for one of the most grotesque "crimes" to hit the media for many years. It's a genuinely interesting film as you wonder not just what would drive a man to eat another but what strange desire would make a man want to be eaten?

This is a film that may astound even the seasoned gorehound. The camera lingers on sights that you wouldn't expect to see on the screen, particularly up-close. Without a doubt, this is the bloodiest film I've seen for some time - Dora's film is a canvas of body fluids. The effects work is flawless and its realism will impress even the most critical of viewers.

The actors playing The Man and The Flesh deliver extremely realistic performances. This is a chilling, fly-on-the-wall recreation of real events, delivered in a sympathetic, non-judgemental way. There's a psychological level to the film as well as the visceral impact of the proceedings. Dialogue is kept to a bear minimum in the film but the relationship between the two men is both very believable and bizarre.

An important movie and one that deserves tracking down, I've given "Cannibal" a 9. I can't see how the subject matter could have been dealt with any better than this. Lovers of true-life crime will be in their element but horror fans expecting a non-stop gore-fest will be disappointed. This is an atmospheric, well-paced film that's more art-house than horror. Not a million miles from the pleasures of Nacho Cerdà's "Aftermath", this film is a "love it or hate it" production. I'm firmly in the first camp.
24 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Harrowing, sparse, and affective
tiresias4429 January 2007
Sparse, economical, and surprisingly affective, this film wisely eschews exploitation to instead attempt an oddly serious and almost artistic analysis of the famous Meiwes case. Almost in 3 clinical acts (the hunt, the seduction, and the consumption), the film minimalistically explores the theme of sex as predation, consummation as consumption. It also superimposes Meiwes' favorite Grimm tale of Hansel and Gretel onto it as a frame, creating an odd fairy-tale for adults.

It is not an entertaining or pleasant film--but it works very ingeniously. With little to no dialog, the film creates a sense of unease and distaste in the audience through the simple use of frank male nudity, homoeroticism (which for some will seem more disturbing than the violence), and ritualistic slaughter and cannibalism implied cheaply and brilliantly with what appears to be almost no real special effects. Much of what we see is most likely the carcass of a pig, and yet we will feel like we are seeing much more.

The film also creates a sense of an actual relationship between the two men--not that they loved each other, but that they understood each other and each other's desires. The way they interact seems genuine and a part of the paradox of this case.

Shot using the simplest and cheapest of home equipment and with only 2 real actors, the film is also a testament to how successfully done an independent film can be. So little was needed to create this, and it all comes together very well.

Unlike American films like "Hard Candy", which try to moralize its themes to death, this film is far superior in its provocation. I'm not sure who else the audience for this film is, but for those to whom it works--it works almost perfectly.
22 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very graphic and sickeningly brutal film.
HumanoidOfFlesh14 January 2007
"Cannibal" by Marian Dora is based on a gruesome criminal case of Armin Meiwes.Meiwes,the self-confessed cannibal from Rohtenburg admitted that he had met a 43-year-old Berlin engineer Bernd Brandes,after advertising on the internet and had chopped him up and eaten him.Meiwes cut off Brande's penis and fried it for both to eat,then stabbed his in the neck with a knife and dismembered the body.Over the next few weeks he defrosted and cooked parts of Bernd Brandes in olive oil and garlic,eventually consuming 20kg of human flesh before police finally turned up at his door."Cannibal" is very graphic and filled with scenes of rough homosexual activity.There are several truly revolting images including penis chomping and later castration scene that made me squirm in my seat.The evisceration and dismemberment of Brandes is shown in unflinching detail.The direction by Marian Dora is flawless as is the acting of two main characters.The minimalist score by Jim Thirwell creates truly oppressive atmosphere of darkness and despair.Overall,"Cannibal" is a grisly and very disturbing shocker that is recommended only for fans of extreme cinema.9 out of 10.
17 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Human - The Other White Meat...
EVOL66618 January 2007
Warning: Spoilers
So I FINALLY got my copy of CANNIBAL and I gotta say, I dug it quite a bit. I will say that this film will by all means not be for everyone. If you are not one of the more jaded "extreme" film fans and happened to grab this one blindly, you may very well not be prepared for it.

CANNIBAL is based on the true-crime story of Armin Meiwes, the "Rotenburg Cannibal" who posted an online ad searching for someone to volunteer to be mutilated and eaten. Unlikely as it may seem, someone actually replied. The film shows a fictional portrayal of the meeting between the cannibal and his victim/participant, they're homosexual relationship, and the eventual mutilation and murder of said victim.

I had read a few reviews, and am glad that I was aware of the amount of dong on display in this one ahead of time as that may have put me off a bit otherwise, though honestly, with the amount of sick fetish-porn I've seen, this one was pretty tame by comparison. There's not much (other than the copious wang shots) to complain about. The photography is well-done and "dark", which works well considering the subject matter, and the gore scenes that everyone has been talking about really are very well done - so much so that I don't think the average film-goer will be ready for this one. I also found the score/sound-design perfectly matched to the film. My only gripe production-wise was the HORRIBLE dubbed vocal tracks, though the film only has about 15 lines of dialogue anyway, so that's not a huge issue.

CANNIBAL is definitely an art-house type of film that relies heavily on visuals and atmosphere as opposed to dialogue. Normally, I'm not a big art-type film fan, but it works for this one. Although many will probably say that the scenes leading up to the gore are "boring", I found the build-up to add to the overall tension of the film and wasn't bored by any of it. Fans of stronger, sicker material will more than likely dig this one. Again, if you have a major problem with seein' some cocks, then you'd probably be better off cutting to the last 30 minutes or just skipping it altogether, otherwise - if you've got a strong stomach - give CANNIBAL a look...8.5/10

P.S. - anyone else notice the irony of the junkie in the beginning of the film shooting up while wearing a MINOR THREAT shirt???
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Crosses Every Line There Is To Cross
videozombi10 January 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Let me start off by dispelling a myth that I heard about this movie before watching it. This film is by no means pornography. Though it delves deep into the homosexual tendencies of the killer, calling this movie a porno because of that would be like calling Halloween or Sliver a porno. If your a mature person who can sit through the sex scenes, what follows is something that could only be called the greatest cannibal movie ever put to film.

Everything done in this movie is done for a reason, it all contributes to our understanding of the characters and makes the horror that follows far more shocking then it would have otherwise been. To go into some detail, the first twenty minutes or so in the movie are virtually dialog free. There is a short part at the beginning where a story is told but aside from that the viewer is left to rely on sights and sounds to explain whats happening. The beginning is setup to show us the killers quest for the man who will be his victim. What follows once the dialog starts is meant to expand on the characters we've met and it does so fantastically. Showing us how they feel and think, what their desires are and how desperate they are to fulfill them.

The sex scenes, like the rest of the film are unflinching. Shown in more detail then I would have ever expected to see in a film, but those scenes like everything else are there for a reason. They show the killer and the victims ultimate uncontrollable desire to be "one". They expand on the characters and show the almost primal desires that lie within them. Anyone who continues to watch the movie following these scenes can see how essential they were, how much they added to characters and to the effect the movie has on it's viewer.

The film runs about an hour and a half. Roughly fifty minutes or so into the movie it becomes truly horrific, taking us even deeper into the mind of a madman and his quest to satisfy his hunger. The gore at this point in the film will truly make you squirm. I've been watching horror movies since I was ten years old, I have never truly felt taken aback by what I've seen. I have never felt that I could label a film as truly brutal, realistic, honest and straight forward. Until now. I've seen Cannibal Holocaust and it's sequels, Cannibal Ferox and countless other cannibal films. More horror movies then I can remember, all of the Faces Of Death series, countless examples or real autopsies and many things I wouldn't care to mention. This movie is truly the best cannibal film I've ever seen and I can't imagine anything ever comparing to it.

I think calling it a cannibal movie is perhaps a little unfair, the term almost simplifies the film when there is so much more to it and it is so incredibly well done. The entire movie has a dark and foreboding feel, the camera work and music add to a great story which, as others have said, if it wasn't true no one would believe it. I am a fan of all types of horror from North America, Japan, Europe and just about everywhere else. I never judge one type of cinema against another. I'm not the type to say "if Hollywood could make a movie like this, it would truly revive North American horror". However I'm going to say exactly that. Perhaps the closest thing we have to this type of film making in North America right now is Rob Zombie, but even he doesn't push the limits like this. I have to wonder if he would, if he thought he could actually get it released in US and Candadian theaters.

If your a mature horror fan this is a must see and you will not regret it. If it isn't already clear though, keep the kids (or your parents as the case may be) out of the room for this one.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Beautiful.. bizarre... A must for every Gorehound...
Indyrod29 October 2007
This 2005 movie directed by Marian Dora is one of the most disturbing and horrific movies I've ever seen. It's based on the real life event surrounding Armin Meiwes, the "Rotenburg Cannibal" who posted an online ad searching for someone to volunteer to be mutilated and eaten. This movie version stars two people, the The Cannibal and The Flesh. As TC searches for some individual to literally give his body, TF shows up and is more than willing. In fact, he is by far the aggressor, as he wants to end his life, and wants TC to eat every single ounce of him. Both gay, they meet and before long the movie turns into a kind of gay orgy between the two, and little is left for the imagination as UNEARTHED FILMS presents "Cannibal" totally uncut in all its gory beauty. There is very little dialogue in the movie, only a few lines said between the two, but the visual images are among the most bizarre and graphic you'll ever see. In a way, it's a beautiful movie, but then that's me of course. I found it extremely disturbing, as it should be, and as the movie moved into it's darkest regions, what is depicted is enough to make many hardcore gorehounds turn away. Very well made, extremely well acted, and the video is flawless. It's hard to say I enjoyed the movie, but I did enjoy experiencing the movie, and the thought that this actually did happen. "Cannibal" is only for a very select audience, that wants such events to go ALL THE WAY. This movie does JUST that.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Cannibal - definitely worth a watch
Circ8120 March 2007
The first thing that I would recommend to anyone who wants to see this movie is to read up on the actual true life case - there's plenty out there on the web.

When you are familiar with the story you will get a lot more out of this film, the main reason for this being the limited dialogue. If you know what is supposed to be happening then you'll be able to follow the story easily.

There are only two main characters in this film, the cannibal and the 'Flesh'. The story picks up pace when the Flesh is introduced to the story. From here we witness the build up to the inevitable conclusion. Let me just warn you that there is a lot of male nudity and several scenes of a sexual nature. Whereas this is not a problem for myself or many other viewers, there are numerous posts on these boards that complain, so there you go, you have been warned.

You will soon witness the journey that this odd couple take, the torment the cannibal goes through when he briefly questions if he will be able to go through with things. The Flesh stating that it is his deepest desire.

There are some shots that will have you squirming in your seat. The last half hour or so will please fans of exploit/extreme/gore and may be a little bit hard core for the average cinema fan. This is no Saw movie, these things really did happen! Get yourselves a copy of this movie, turn down the lights, kick back and enjoy the ride!
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Dinner is served
Horst_In_Translation10 October 2016
Warning: Spoilers
And it's not a quality dinner, but something you'd throw into the garbage can right away, also in terms of the cinematic quality we have here. "Cannibal" is a German German-language movie from 2006, so it has its 10th anniversary this year. The writer and director is Marian Dora and he is certainly known to fans of gore and splatter films for his approach to movie making. This 90-minute movie we have here is among his most known works and it deals with the story of Armin Meiwes, a German who was sentenced to life in prison for killing and eating his "victim". I write "victim" because the other guy willingly agreed to what Meiwes did to him. So it is definitely an interesting story that deserves its own movie. But not in the way it was done here. Dora does not focus on quality filmmaking or writing, but only wants to make it as vomit-inducing as possible, for example with the very graphic scene where the protagonist cuts off the other guy's penis. The two lead actors are Carsten Frank and Victor Brandl and admittedly they aren't very memorable at all, especially Frank is entirely forgettable despite playing a character that really could have stayed in your mind with the right actor touching the role. The overall thing looks fairly amateurish I must say from start to finish and this does refer to the physical quality of the movie as well as the pretentious Hansel and Gretel voice-over by German horror film acting legend Manoush, As a whole, this film does not do the subject any justice at all. The filmmaker's attempts to make this something like a romance movie look very clumsy and do not work at all in the face of all the violence depicted graphically in here. And after all, if this is a love story film then it is about the most normal thing in the world, isn't it? But then it goes completely against the idea of being special enough to turn it into a film. There is no other motivation behind these 1.5 hours than to shock as many people as possible. I don't recommend the watch. Thumbs down and a major one indeed.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An unbelievable yet wondrous piece of art
unapalomablanca11 March 2008
When I first saw that the title of the film was "Cannibal", my first instinct was to let my curiosity get me to watch the film.

The start did not get that much attention from me, but as the movie progressed, I found myself in a maelstrom of emotions-- disgust, sadness and pity.

The movie's brilliant cinematography was something worth praising. It definitely captured the film with that sort of dramatic angling. The lighting and art direction was also astounding.

The scenes where The Flesh begins to die was somewhat gruesome. It almost had me puking, but anyhow, as an art form, it was brilliant. That gore was captured so dramatically. The scene where the man gave his final goodbye to The Flesh had me cry a little.

All in all the movie is not for the faint at heart. As an art form, it has exceeded the genre of abstract.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Unbelievable if it weren't a true story!
alanmora15 March 2007
Warning: Spoilers
At a recent horror movie convention I was browsing the dealer's tables and came across this film. The person selling the film saw fit to add a "cautionary label" to it which read "Warning: This is by far the sickest movie you will ever see" Of course copies of the film flew off the shelf. Everyone who passed by the table picked it up. I had read previous reviews on this film and was interested to see it so I quickly purchased my copy as well. When I finally brought it home and viewed it, to say that I was shocked,appalled,and disgusted by what I saw would be a gross understatement BUT I was also very intrigued by what I was viewing because of the way that the film was shot. This is an art-house style depiction of a most heinous and grotesque case. If it were not a true story no one would ever believe it in a million years. A man becomes obsessed with the idea of killing and consuming another man (justifying this at one point by saying that women were too important in the evolution of mankind) he runs advertisements on the internet for a "victim" and unbelievably gets numerous responses which do not pay off for him. Until he meets "The Flesh" a man who is not only a willing participant but who is even more eager and fascinated by the whole idea than the man is. When it gets down to time to actually follow through with the act, what follows is a series of grotesque acts to vile to describe in print. Absolutely NOTHING is left to the imagination and the viewer sees every aspect of what occurred. From the initial first night of sex and intimacy, to the mutual consumption of the Flesh's most personal of private parts, to the eventual disembowelment, decapitation and consumption of the Flesh. When all is said and done, one has to truly wonder, was this a crime? In an attempt to exonerate himself of any wrong doing the Man filmed the acts and it becomes very obvious that the Flesh was not only a willing participant who encouraged the acts but that in some ways he was even more perverse than the Man was as he screams out at him during the course of one of the acts "You can't do it, can you...your too weak!" The viewer is left to answer this question on their own as the trial and ultimate conviction of The Man is not discussed in this film. This helps to preserve this film as a work of art and not an exploitation flick or a cheap "true crime" documentary. This is a powerful film which will be etched in the viewer's mind for a long time to come.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Shocking but well constructed
bawjawz15 February 2007
In short, the previous review sums this movie up perfectly.

It's almost like a snuff movie, so get it seen before it's banned. You will be shocked and may not even think you can watch the whole movie, just watch it, it's all theatrical but extremely extreme.

As I said, the previous review sums it all up perfectly, and I have just been warned not to pad out my comment. As a result of this warning, I am trying to think of bettering the previous review. It is hard because, as I said the original review is perfect.

I was close to turning off this movie, due to squeamish reflexes of the natural kind, but continued to watch it with unabated breath.

If you like horror movies with lots of American kids, and a bad guy that gets killed at the end then this film is NOT for you.

If you want to see a harrowing account of 2 lost souls, one who had nothing to live for, other than being literally eaten by someone who loved him to death: By a person who had a life so mundane, that all he wanted to do was eat someone who wanted to be eaten by one who loved him so much to be physically devoured in the literal sense.... then watch this movie.
12 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I ate his PENIS… with some Fava-beans and a nice Chianti
Coventry26 May 2007
Well, here you have it ... The most grueling, sickening, disturbing, controversial, unbelievable and shocking horror movie EVER made, and yet it's all real. "Cannibal" is the ideal motion picture to state that the hard facts of reality will always surpass fiction. If this film had simply sprung from the imaginative mind of any random horror scriptwriter, it probably would have been laughed at, because surely nothing as vile, grotesque and far-fetched like this is ever likely to happen in our sophisticated society, right? The factual case of Rohtenburg cannibal Armin Meiwes is unquestionably one of the most perplexing crime cases in the history of mankind and, even though you know it's all true, you're often still staring at the screen in total disbelief. Even though the case is only a couple of years old, it already inspired no less than FOUR long feature films. Marian Dora's version is the first one I watched, but I sincerely doubt that any of the other three will defeat "Cannibal" when it comes to truthfulness, shocking impact or the explicit depiction of mutilation & manslaughter. This film is indescribably hardcore, with a continuously gritty & devastating atmosphere as well as graphic imagery that will undoubtedly disgust even the toughest and most experienced horror fanatic. Strange and surreal as it may sound, "Cannibal" primarily is an unconventional love-story and a portrait of two men who're social outcasts due to their unacceptable sexual desires. They're not crazed psychopaths or heroine-addicted losers, but introvert gay men with sexual needs only the two of them comprehend. The film soberly opens with Meiwes persona (though nameless in the film, as well as his victim Bernd Brandes) carefully looking for male company but always returning home alone again. He then finally meets his 'soul mate' via the internet and they promptly begin a fairly passionate relationship. Then soon follows the actual reason why the two met each other, namely the killing and 'consumption' of The Flesh. The victim is castrated at his own request and they both eat the penis before he's killed and eviscerated in extended and horrifying details.

If watching "Cannibal" initially feels awkward and uncomfortable, don't immediately think you purchased the wrong movie. It has to be said, the first 40 minutes of the film are ... um ... due to the lack of a more fitting term: extremely GAY! The two protagonists constantly walk around naked, fondle each other and Morian Dora eventually even includes rough footage of homosexual intercourse. Admittedly this is all quite uncomfortable to watch, but it does help a great deal to make the two characters more convincing and at least it provides them with a more likable background, rather then to simply portray them as maniacs. Also very impressive and unforgettable during these first 40 minutes are the uncannily grim photography and especially the chilling musical score. Dora compares the case of the Rohtenburg cannibal with the legendary fairy-tale of Hansel & Gretl, which results in a truly atmospheric into sequence and a handful of brilliant hidden gimmicks, like the sounds of opening doors resembling Hansel cage in the Brothers Grimm's story. Then, when the actual horror starts, "Cannibal" turns into the most stomach-churning movie I ever beheld, and that honestly isn't an exaggeration. The make-up effects are incredibly realistic and deeply disturbing. The already-notorious castration sequence is nearly unwatchable and the dissection of the victim's body near the end of the film goes on uninterrupted for eighteen whole minutes (make sure you purchase the uncut version!) and it's by far the most shocking thing ever captured on film. If you think movies like "Hostel", "Saw" or that ridiculous "Murder-Set-Pieces" were cruel, "Cannibal" will damage your stomach beyond repair. The acting performances of Carsten Frank and Victor Brandl are excellent, but the English dubbing is a total disaster. Luckily enough, there only are about 15 lines being spoken throughout the entire movie, and they're rather primitive and simply phrases like "I'm your Flesh" or "You're too weak to do it". All I can say is that this is a extraordinary and unforgettable experience to behold. Very few people will be able to sit the whole film through, but it's an absolute must-see for avid collectors of extreme cinema and warmly recommended to everyone who's sick and tired of goody-goody mainstream horror films.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not for the faint of heart
TM-27 January 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I didn't quite know what to expect from this movie. As it turned out, it gave me more than I was prepared for.

This is a VERY graphic movie. In fact, it is the most graphic I have ever seen.

I discount documentary footage showing actual horrors from everything else. I don't view real carnage.....it has an ugliness associated with it that, for me, evokes a terrible sadness. I cannot sustain disbelief with reality and that is what a movie should allow you to do and a documentary shouldn't.

I enjoy a good horror movie and the more extreme the effects the better. In fact, I have a collection of the most outstanding horror movies in existence and think they are wonderful.

********SPOILER ALERT********

Cannibal is a re-enactment of a real event where two disturbed people find each other and carry out a mutually agreeable scenario....one will eat the other.

I should mention that there is significant homosexual content which is entirely in line with the real life event. Again this was quite graphic and somewhat unexpected. If I had taken the time to research the case, I would have been less surprised. While this may cause some to avoid this movie, I would say that it is part of the total experience and is essential to the story. Don't less this put you off.

I think the pace, amount of dialog (minimal), acting, photography are just right. This may prove to be a masterpiece......but will be awfully difficult for most.

Now cannibalism has been the focus of many movies; some good, some bad and some extreme. On a scale of 1 to 10 for extremeness, if cannibal was a 10, the next would be a 2 (my scale...yours may differ). This movie shows as much as you would ever wish to see. In fact, I don't know anyone who I would feel comfortable sitting watching this with. I would have trouble recommending this movie to all but a handful.

I think what makes this superb craftsmanship is that it is a movie but seems so realistic that you believe you are watching a real life event. It should be stated that the actual participants video taped the proceedings and this formed the basis for the movies accuracy.

This takes me back to my initial point and why this movie made me squirm...it is almost like watching a documentary of the real event and it is awfully disgusting.

********SPOILER OVER********

I recommend this to people with a strong stomach and constitution. This is not one for the kids or a date movie. While this is classified as a horror movie, I think that is misleading. The Devil's Rejects it isn't. It is way too extreme for that. It's like calling Salo a Horror movie.

This is like a trip into hell.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Very Brutal
Michael_Elliott26 February 2008
Cannibal (2005)

** 1/2 (out of 4)

Based on the true story of Armin "Rotenburg Cannibal" Meiwes, the German man who posted a wanted message on the internet looking for someone who was willing to be killed and eaten. Directed Marian Dora has created one of the most vile, repulsive and disgusting films I've ever seen. Having seen all the Italian cannibal films I thought I could handle anything but that wasn't the case with this film. Just how bad was it? I actually had to stop the film and throw up once. Reluctantly I went back and watched the film and just grew sicker and sicker. The film leaves nothing to the imagination and shows us everything. The director has only around ten lines of dialogue and everything else is just built up with atmosphere and mood. This atmosphere is of pure nastiness and this comes through in the final third of the film where the killing and eating actually starts. Apparently this film follows the real events very closely and lets just say it starts with a penis being cut off, fried and then eaten. This is where I lost it but the film keeps going. It's hard to rate this film because it's technically well made but I really can't recommend it to anyone due to the subject matter and brutality.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Very dark, very disturbing, very real.
gunslinger8617 February 2013
Warning: Spoilers
When i first read about this film on the unearthed films coming soon page i was interested to say the least. The description said and i quote" Make Salo 120 days of Sodom look tame in comparison". That being said i was more nervous than anything during my first viewing, thats a bold statement and to back it up is a task in and of itself. Anyways i did my homework and the film was based on the Armin Weiwes case, the cannibal who found a willing victim. Anyways i had to sit through this film three times to fully get a grasp on just what it was that bothered me. I can say it wasn't the gore, or even the homosexual content although on most blogs referring this film that was one of the biggest complaints.

anyways what really got me above all things was how realistic everything was and not just effective special effects. The film was cast perfectly. Carsten Frank was frighteningly believable as Armin, He had this incredibly dark way about him you could almost believe he was a real deviant. The actor as the victim he came off as a very slow and easily suggestible with the same sense of deviancy as the latter. The two really feed off each other...no pun intended.

All this cycles an incredibly troubling court ship complete with a scene of homosexuality that could only be topped by hard core gay porn, honestly having seen Dora's other work and seeing what they did in those i wouldn't be surprised if Carsten Frank and the other actor actually had sex. This all leads to some absolutely vicious series of gore scenes including castration, gutting and finally cannibalism. Personally the castration scene made me curl into a ball. Finally the actual death scene has to be the most disturbing part. The way the body was being carried, everything seemed to be in place, there was small puddles of chunky vomit, bowels were voided...all in detail. All in all this film once really taken in and processed is so much more than whats taken at face value. It felt to me almost like and mind you this is all based on actual events, i was watching some perverse tragedy, there was something not only grotesque, but dark, sad,and perverse. Couple that with the minimalist piano score, which is almost become Hallmark to extreme German cinema.

If you like horror films think twice about this film, however if you are a gore hound, or have a serious interest in true crime stories than go ahead. Be forewarned.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Shocking and Terrible
sonicbrew527 July 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Let me first say that I did my research on this film before I watched it. As a fan of true crime I was enthralled by the comments and reviews of this film which peaked my curiosity so I had to watch it. MISTAKE!!! It is a well-shot, unapologetic, and real look at what probably actually transpired between these two men but for anyone who is not a fan of extreme cinema, I can't see how anyone could recommend this. There has forever been a spot burned into my brain from this movie. The homosexuality didn't bother me as there was only 1 real scene which was hard to watch and after the initial shock of all the wang shots wore off, it was almost as if I was used to seeing it so I didn't even notice it. I was completely uncomfortable the whole time I watched this movie and couldn't wait for it to be over. I then had to watch 30 minutes of the Disney channel to try and get the images out of my head. The gore in this movie is wonderfully done but the scenes of the "penis stump" being licked and tongued was a bit much. The actual castration scene was terrible as well as the camera is right there, up close and personal, so there is nothing left to the imagination. I had to look away during a few scenes due to them being too much to watch. The visuals in this movie are things that no-one should ever see. I can't recommend this movie to anyone and cannot understand how anyone could enjoy this. It's hard to rate this film due to it not being like anything I've seen before and I actually set in silence for about 5 minutes after the credits rolled trying to get a grasp on what I had just witnessed and what I thought about it. I can see how some people would say that this represents what really happened and can applaud the director for his unflinching realism but for anyone that is not of fan of extreme cinema, I would recommend finding a book on the case study instead of watching this. But if your like me and your curiosity gets the best of you, let me warn you. It's not pretty and you will be scarred.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Like a Fine Wine..........
arcticlvr19 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Look, this is a brutal movie and at the same time could possibly be the best horror film ever made.

---contains heavy spoilers----

"Cannibal" is not your typical horror film and I am glad of it. Over the years I have been watching all this garbage come out with cookie cutting teenie boppers and have gotten sick of it. So I pulled up and looked on the net to find movies that would appeal to me. I like gore and I like straight horror. And I have found it.

This movie as stated in other reviews plays out in 3 distinct acts; searching for "the flesh", meeting and the relationship with "the flesh", and finally the killing and consumption of "the flesh".

Acts 1 and 2 may seem boring to some, but it is a great build up to the actual gorefest part of the film. And as stated before, there is a lot of male nudity and gay love in this film. In fact, the whole killing and consumption the main actor is nude.

For y'all that may not be able to stomach it, act 3 is the gore. And my friends, there ain;t a film out there more gory than this one. That is a promise. The consumption starts out with the severing of THE FLESH'S penis. This looks real and there ain't no cutaways. In fact, after he fries up the penis and he and his lover share it, that is the one part I had to pass through because of the noises of the eating. After that he takes the flesh into the bathtub to bleed out and die so he can butcher him into steaks. This scene is great and creepy. After that he takes the dying body down to cut up and there is a nice watery crap scene that should make you sick. There is some barfing, the body is then hung and gutted in great detail.

----end of spoilers----

Anyway, this is a film that not everyone will like and I would not say that watching it with family members would be good either. This is something to watch by yourself so you can absorb what is happening. The score is great, the acting is great, and the gore is above and beyond anything I have ever see. So buy it, put it in the DVD and sit back and try to watch it straight through. And keep telling yourself it is only a movie.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Like 'Pink Flamingos', this is less like a film, and more like an experience
FunkyDan12 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
The first thing I noticed is how beautifully shot this film is. Seriously, it looks excellent(to quote Alex Delarge, "like it was done up in Hollywood"), and I'm surprised that an independent film of this nature could achieve that. It's also the only film distributed by Unearthed Films that doesn't clearly look like a set(such as the Guinea Pig movies, which were clearly shot on sets). I was also quite surprised how much it was able to accomplish without the use of dialog throughout the first half-hour, and the beautifully artistic, haunting, and minimalistic score throughout. I'm sorry, I'm just having trouble getting over how aesthetically pleasing this film is. The cinematography should've won some awards, and I bet if it was about an orphan trying to cope with life, it would've.

Anyway, when the talking started, I was shocked to hear how feminine Armin's voice was, but that soon came to pass. Something I found quite interesting about the second act was how it depicted The Flesh as the one in control, as opposed to Armin. The eerie role reversal of power worked on many psychological levels, and actually gave off a more disturbing air than the infamous gore did, especially when Armin was gutting his carcass. To think that the slab of ribs that Armin toys with was once the dominate one in their brief relationship really gave me something to think about.

Now, you're probably wondering how I felt about the gore. Well, I found the effects to be top notch, and was quite surprised to find that absolutely nothing was left to the imagination. However, the weirdest thing is: none of the bloodshed I saw really got under my skin. Not even the castration(which I blame on the fact that I've seen the rare mondo flick, The Last Savage, which has a penile castration that would give the Pain Olympics a run for its money). Also, I thought that the emphasis on gore made the third act drag quite a bit. Do we really need to spend 20 minutes on seeing a guy's carcass get cut up? This part felt less like a gripping gore film, and more like a how-to video on how to gut corpses. But like I said, some of it does actually add a layer of uneasiness when put in context with the film's prior events. Still, they should've spent a little less time on this.

All in all, this is a hard film to rate, as it's less like a film, and more like an experience. Do I recommend it? Only to those with strong stomachs, and/or those curious about the Armin Meiwes case. It's a well-made film, and is rewarding in its own special way, but I can see 95% of viewers turning this off the moment The Flesh's penis starts to bleed.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Audacious horror film is courageously revolting
fertilecelluloid11 December 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Strong stuff. A man who craves sweet human flesh meets another man who wants to be devoured. "Cannibal" details their blood-soaked courtship. Director Marian Dora's craft is not coy. He portrays this unusual relationship with sensitivity and in explicit detail. Innards are pulled from bodies. Penises are removed in bloody close-up. Bodily fluids soak the screen. We are never left in any doubt that the relationship we are witnessing is consenting. This is what makes what we are watching so strange and interesting. Although the two participants are hesitant to proceed with their fantasy at first, watching their inhibitions erode is part of this movie's grotesque charm. Dora's style is pure art-house with unconventional exposure, strange angles, and a disturbing soundscape. The special make-up effects are convincing, as are the central performances. Not easily forgotten, this is audacious, courageous film-making with a unique, European perspective. It is a breath of fresh air and stunningly revolting at times. Is that not what horror should be?
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Brilliant...until the last 20 minutes or so.
ecwaenigma10 March 2007
"Cannibal" is reminiscent of Jorg (Nekromantik) Buttgereit's work, but far more emotional. As other reviewers have said, it is a stark film with VERY little dialog. It doesn't need it. Obviously if you are watching this film, you have sought it out and know exactly what you are in store for. You know the story, you know about the gore. What you don't know is how emotional and tragic the love story is. While certainly not a date movie, it is oddly touching and sad in it's depiction of two men who belong together. While I certainly don't think this is a healthy relationship, it is tragically beautiful and poetic. Is it hard to watch? Absolutely. If you're homophobic or can't handle unshaved European body hair, look elsewhere. The scene where they share the Flesh's body is disturbing, but essential to show their emotional connection and the sadness the men both have inside their souls. Once the "butchery" begins, I thought the movie, only from that point until the final shot, became exploitive. If you've ever scene slaughterhouse footage, you've seen the last 20 minutes of this movie. (Hey, I love meat as much as the next guy, but I don't want to know how it got to my plate. You'll think the same thing as well.) If it would have focused the last 20 minutes on their last meal together and the Man's coping of the consummation of their love, it would have been perfect. Unfortunately, we're left with a brilliant, but flawed, tale of tragic love. Don't watch it expecting "Cannibal Holocaust" and go in with an open mind and you will be well rewarded.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
If I Like Cannibal Does It Mean I'm Depraved?
redrobin62-321-20731121 February 2016
Oy! Marian Dora's went and done it again. That's two for two - movies that can shock the daylights out of people - this one and 'Melancholie der Engel'. Of course, if you're like me and you watch lots of actual beheading/dismemberment/suicide/animal attack videos on the internet, 'Cannibal' won't seem like much of a stretch.

No need to repeat the synopsis here because it's already well known. Even though this movie was shot on video, that makes it apropos for this kind of snuff-like film. The 'original' was captured on video anyway so this retelling doesn't stray too far off the mark.

Some parts of the movie were not visually clear; a lot of images seemed washed out and, like 'Melancholie der Engel', there really isn't that much dialog, either. However, I gave the movie a relatively high rating because of the boldness of the material, the direction, editing and bravery of the actors involved. This is probably what a video by Ed Gein or Jeffrey Dahmer would look like if they were filming their own exploits. You may not learn a lot about why they do what they do but their depravity will make your stomach turn.

Be warned. For fans of August Underground, the New French Extremity and Lucifer Valentine only.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A horrible movie. Disturbingly gratifying.
dewit_jacco3 May 2008
Warning: Spoilers
This movie has found it's place among the five best movies I have ever seen. And this for a couple of reasons. 1. It's graphic, very graphic. 2. It does not pretend. 3. It actually did happen. 4. It left me empty.

In short, some comments on the above.

1. The effects are so good, that you actually forget they are effects. They're THAT graphic. And I appreciate good graphics when it comes to gore (then again, I just loooove gore).

2. This movie does not try to hit all the major screens. It knows what it is and thereby knows that it will not be embraced by a large audience, but it is filmed beautifully in it's way and it gets the message across. And this message is a disturbing one. I will not go into any details, but I can say this: if you are interested in how a person that want to actually kill and eat another human being thinks, watch this. You will not be disappointed. The human psyche is well spotlighted, as is the gore.

3. It happened for real.

4. After watching this movie, I had no thoughts for quite some time. On the one hand I was enjoying all the gore I had witnessed, but at the same time I felt a bitter emptiness for the cannibal. His loneliness is portrayed so good, it almost hurts.

Gruesome, true. But bizarrely beautiful.

Fred
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Weirdly effective
peedur25 July 2007
Watching this film is quite an odd experience. On the one hand, "Cannibal" is a very amateur affair. From a technical point of view, it appears to be shot on DV and transferred to 24fps. The storytelling at the beginning is frustrating. Blandly sophomoric with overly long takes, overuse of close ups, forcefully lingering on irrelevant details - the cumulative effect of which points to poor writing. The play of events is a by-the-numbers copy of the reported facts, verbatim. In fact, reading Lois Jones' "Cannibal," seems to bear this out since it mirrors the movie very accurately. The movie places moody bridges between the reported moments where we see the protagonist struggling or reveling with feelings or wandering around town, looking for love. All of this is shown with no sense of filmic structure and almost entirely without dialogue. All of this sounds terrible and, to be blunt, the beginning of the film, while accurate, is not worth mentioning.

But what the film lacks in storytelling flair, it more than makes up for in its depiction of the key events, which are ghastly in the extreme and quite explicit. The attention to gore and detail is stomach-turningly impressive. It should be added that the performance of how these two men actually went about killing and being killed has the desperate, awkward stamp of authenticity to it; the actors achieve a haunting, passionate fervor. Also, the sexual nature of their relationship is captured in a way that the news reports could not approach. A good deal of screen time in the second half of the film is given to the complex texture of their very physical relationship, sexual and otherwise. It seems perverse and insane, yet resonates as true somehow. While there is no exploration as to the nature of either men's internal cues, the film displays the horrifying aftermath in detail. There is real curiosity given to the ambivalence that the protagonist has about flesh, organs and blood.

What I found most impressive about "Cannibal" was perhaps unintended - it looked simply awful, in every way. Had a more accomplished crew made this film, it may have achieved glossy or professional sheen (like Hostel, for example) and reduced Messrs Miewes and Brandes' appalling ordeal into commercial horror. As it is, the aesthetic result translates into art quite well. i.e., It is difficult/contradictory/message-less - easier than a commercial film to read as metaphor, as well as its effective display of pathological attachment/need since there is no "character-arc" grafted on to it. It also shuns overt commercial appeal while remaining compelling. Thankfully, it also seems impossible to imagine a sequel.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Well acted and directed
bees89321 April 2015
Warning: Spoilers
This movie by Marian Dora comes with a reputation. It is the true story of a couple of men meeting on the internet. One wants to eat another person and one wants to be devoured. From the opening credits the viewer can tell it's well filmed on a moderate budget and the props used in the credits are successful in leaving an unnerving feel. The film feels right for an extreme horror – grim tone and totally devoid of any humour. The intimate scenes between the two men show a tender side to the two personalities that feel very real and the lack of dialogue really works throughout the film due to the good use of sound. The film has gore and sexual scenes but at nearly an hour and a half some of the scenes appear over-long or unnecessary. A good, if not very entertaining film that deserves a watch for extreme horror fans but most would decide not to revisit it.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed