Smallville: Arrow (2006) - News Poster

(TV Series)



ASC's top nod to 'Children's' Lubezki

Emmanuel Lubezki was honored for "Children of Men" in the feature film competition at the 21st Annual American Society of Cinematographers Outstanding Achievement Awards on Sunday at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza. The prize capped a big week for the Academy Award nominee, who last weekend won in the cinematography category at the Orange British Academy Film Awards.

In the ASC competition, Lubezski topped a field that included nominees Dick Pope for "The Illusionist", Dean Semler for "Apocalypto", Robert Richardson for "The Good Shepard" and Vilmos Zsigmond for "The Black Dahlia".

In the ASC's television categories, John Stokes was recognized in the television movie competition for "Umney's Last Case" from the "Nightmares and Dreamscapes" miniseries, and David Mockness won the episodic TV trophy for the "Arrow" episode of "Smallville".

Additionally, the ASC presented Allen Daviau its Lifetime Achievement Award; Ron Howard, the Board of Governors Award; Michael Ballhaus, the International Achievement Award; and Jerry Hirschfield, the Presidents Award. Donald M. Morgan was honored with the first ASC Award for Career Achievement for Television Cinematography.

ASC gives 11th TV nom to Del Ruth

ASC gives 11th TV nom to Del Ruth
Cinematographer Thomas Del Ruth earned his 11th nomination from the American Society of Cinematographers on Wednesday, when noms were announced in two television categories for the 21st annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards, set for Feb. 18 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Century City.

Del Ruth -- who has won four ASC Awards -- was nominated for the pilot episode of Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip. His fellow nominees in the television movie/miniseries/pilot category are Adam Kane for the pilot of Heroes, Walt Lloyd for the telefilm The Librarian: Return to King Solomon's Mines, Bill Roe for the pilot of Day Break and John Stokes for the Umney's Last Case episode of the miniseries "Nightmares and Dreamscapes: From the Stories of Stephen King."

In the episodic television category, the nominees are Eagle Egilsson for the Darkroom episode of CSI: Miami, Nathan Hope for the Killer episode of CSI: Crime Scene Investigation, David Moxness for the Arrow episode of Smallville, Roe for the What If They Find Him episode of Day Break and Gale Tattersall for the Meaning episode of House.

See also

External Sites