Interstellar (2014) Poster

(2014)

User Reviews

Review this title
5,266 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Out of this world
kosmasp31 May 2015
A lot has been said and written about Interstellar. You can obviously take apart any movie that is out there. You'll either love this one or you won't. I kind of would have loved to have watched this on an IMAX screen, the sheer scope of the whole thing. It's just amazing, what Nolan has put on screen here. It's not only the visual experience (there is no 3D here by the way), it's the story/ride you take with it. It might be clear to some earlier than to others, where it's heading (no pun intended), but it doesn't change the fact that it's beautiful ... and terrifying at the same time.

Going out and saying this will be considered a classic, might not be too far stretched, but you still can never predict those things. The deserved love the movie gets on IMDb and other places would be an indicator that this will ring true though. The acting is really good, but I can understand if some people have issues with the ending. But the movie had to end in one way or another. It's the best possible way this could go, even if it's not in our grasps just yet ...
413 out of 448 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A visual and auditory marvel
Jared_Andrews13 April 2016
Interstellar is a movie like no other. Unlike many apocalyptic sci-fi films that feature advanced technology as the source of our destruction (ala The Terminator movies), it instead asserts that technology will save us.

Not everyone in Interstellar recognizes the potential of advanced technology. Most dismiss it as a waste of time and resources, and not just old curmudgeons feel this way. Thoughtful, intelligent young characters share this sentiment. This belief gained steam following a world-wide blight that wiped out the vast majority of life on earth—crops and humans.

Farming became paramount while advanced technology was deemed frivolous. Cooper (McConaughey) remains one of the few survivors who still appreciates the need for engineering. He feels like a man lost in time, until he stumbles into the headquarters of NASA (which had been operating in secret due to public disapproval). Here he meets others who realize that a return to our old ways is unsustainable and will ultimately lead to our demise. We need technology to save us. As Michael Caine, playing the brilliant (duh!) Professor Brand, eloquently tells Cooper, "we were never meant to save the world. We were meant to leave it." For a movie that won an Oscar for Best Visual Effects (and deservedly so) the sound stole the show. Hans Zimmer (Dark Knight Trilogy) unleashed a performance that was, quite appropriately, out of this world. Never have I seen a movie elevated so much by its score. The sound literally took my breath away. Forgive me for the next paragraph. I will gush irresponsibly about the magic that is this movie's sound. Skip it if you please. You have your warning.

The music fueled every important scene. In every meaningful moment Zimmer's harmonies captivated watchers' attention in the way of a coach commanding a locker room with a pregame speech. The music elucidated those emotional scenes, particularly ones featuring Cooper and his daughter, in a way that no words or visual ques possibly could. I sat frozen, jaw agape, with tears pouring down my cheeks as the music completely overwhelmed my emotions. The sound penetrated my soul and reverberated through my body, flowing to my appendages, supplying me with life like a heartbeat pumping blood through my veins. The music was truly the life force of movie.

Yes, we all witnessed a visual triumph, a daring creative wonder the likes of which we haven't encountered since Inception. Yes, nearly every actor's performance proved worthy of commendation. McConaughey is on fire. Chastain is blossoming into a star. At this point Michael Cain exudes such knowledge and wisdom by merely appearing on screen that if he were cast as Albert Einstein, people would wonder if the role were beneath him. All this considered, and the sound still towered over everything.

I walked out of the theater believing that I had experienced something unique, something truly special. Interstellar inspires, it awes, and above all it entertains. I cannot ask for more than that.
354 out of 402 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I waited 5 years to watch it again
Ksa-201026 June 2019
After watching this insane movie in the theatres back in 2014 I swore to god I will wait 5 years to watch it again so I get to forget it and experince the insanity it has again This without doubt is THE BEST MOVIE EVER MADE
1,970 out of 2,119 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Masterpiece
e-jackson19858 May 2022
Amongst the best movies of all time. The story, the acting, the script, the cinematography, the effects, the sound and the production as a whole is all absolute 10/10's.

But what beats all of that is Hans Zimmers compositions. How he continues to churn out perfection to the senses is mindblowing.
93 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A journey across the galaxy to save humanity
Tweekums27 January 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Set in a future where crop species are going extinct one after another former test pilot Joseph Cooper is now a farmer growing corn. His daughter Murphey thinks there is a ghost in her room; Cooper doesn't believe in ghosts but accepts that something is there when the dust on the floor is a set of coordinates in binary form. He goes to that location and finds himself at a NASA base where he learns of a secret programme to find another habitable world involving a wormhole discovered near Saturn. He is asked to take part in a mission to find the best planet out of three orbiting a black hole; each of which has a scientist who went on a one way mission sending data back. The plan is to find a world to transfer humanity to but if that is impossible there is a back-up plan for the crew to raise the 5000 embryos stored aboard their ship. Time is an issue as it moves at a different rate near the black hole; this means that as hours pass for Cooper years are passing back on Earth.

This film starts at a gentle pace gradually explaining what has happened to the Earth before getting the mission to save the world started; this means the separation of Cooper and Murphey is more emotional. Once the mission is underway there is plenty of tension, including some particularly gripping moments on the second planet they visit. The small cast does a fine job; especially Matthew McConaughey, who plays Cooper; Anne Hathaway, who plays Amelia Brand a scientist aboard the mission; and Mackenzie Foy and Jessica Chastain, who play the younger and older Murphey. The effects looked great, as one would expect in a film from Christopher Nolan, and I was pleased that space was depicted as silent; something that is both scientifically correct but also more impressive. Things do get a little confusing near the end but in a way that made me want to watch again rather than causing frustration.

Overall I'd recommend this to somebody looking for intelligent science fiction in the mould of '2001 – A Space Odyssey'… although this has more emotion to it than that classic.
61 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Masterpiece
aheaven200525 June 2022
A science-fiction masterpiece. Nolan executes a marvelous direction that slowly but efficiently puts in place a dark world creating a necessity to save humanity. Add to that great performances from Nolan and Hathaway plus a great score from Hans Zimmer. The result is on the best science-fiction movies of all time.
37 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
7 years later
ravesch-8377029 October 2021
Sometimes I just need to see the start. Or end. Or a trailer. Or the music and theme from Hans Zimmer. Or the whole movie. Just to feel that thing, I only get from this movie. That the earth, space and time are something special, mystical. I never forget the first time I saw this movie, in an IMAX theatre in 2014. I was struck by it. Totally got me. And it stil does, 7 years later. This is the best movie ever made for me. Because of the feeling it gives me, no other movie can. So hard to get all of this emotion in only one movie. Brilliant.
73 out of 79 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Absolutely Brilliant
gavin694225 January 2015
A team of explorers travel through a wormhole in an attempt to ensure humanity's survival.

Going into this I had mixed feelings because some have praised it, others have panned it, and some say it is good with reservations. There were allegedly issues with he sound in theaters, and any number of other issues. Then, when we get to the Oscars, the film gets nominations in the technical fields but not in the top honors.

This was wrong. Maybe this is not the best role from Matthew McConaughey or Anne Hathaway. Though, the fact that a "Hathaway hater" like myself enjoyed it should say something. And I think Jessica Chastain should have received a Best Supporting nomination. She easily outshines Laura Dern in "Wild".

This may be the greatest ever film about physics.
89 out of 114 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent Movie
frank-ancestor-hunter6 April 2015
I judge a movie by how long it takes me to realize I need the bathroom, how long the movie can hold my interest and how convincing the events unfolding are. Well, I watched this movie all the way through with no bathroom breaks. My interest was grabbed from the start and held all the way through. Being old enough, and lucky enough to have watched the premiere of 2001 A Space Odyssey - and viewed it several times since - of course I made comparisons, and there were a few, but this movie tells an excellent stand alone story that is both riveting and believable. I'm not going to give away any secrets but anyone who watches the last five minutes or so without a lump in their throat and a tear in their eye, well you're a critic, you're not enjoying the movie because you're too busy looking for bloopers and faults. Were there bloopers and faults? The darn movie was so riveting if there were any I didn't notice them!
730 out of 840 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I would rate 11/10
mysteryvoiceman24 June 2018
I hadn't seen this but movie and caught it on a flight back from the DR. One of my favorite movies of all time. I would give the first half of the movie an 11/10, just completely enjoyed it as a sci fi/ thriller(in the sense of so much always being on the line). I loved the acting and just yeah, a great movie and one you should go see if you never have
215 out of 262 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Possibly the best movie of all time
theoledoux6 April 2021
I think just about everything has been said about this film now. But, I can still tell you what this masterpiece is to me. To me, this movie is possibly the most relevant movie ever, because it questions our own humanity relative to the Universe. Whether that's our ability to love, think, or persevere and walk into the unknown. We are explorers, and curious at heart. This untameable curiosity is not our end, but our beginning. It is what advanced this civilization and it will continue to do so. So never, never let anybody tell you that we shouldn't look towards the stars and wonder, because that's what makes us human. Without this stargazing we are merely animals, accepting our fate in the dust...
25 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Sci-Fi Masterpiece
zardoz-1325 November 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Hollywood science fiction spectacles about antagonistic aliens abandoning dying worlds to occupy not only Earth, but also to oust us have been popular with moviegoers. Typically, like the European explorers who invaded and disenfranchised millions in the Western Hemisphere during the 15th century, these extraterrestrials—either bug-eyed behemoths with lobster claws or pod people whose seeds have drifted across the cosmos—show up to evict or absorb us. "Inception" director Christopher Nolan's latest extravaganza "Interstellar," toplining Matthew McConaughey, Anne Hathaway, Jessica Chastain, Michael Caine, and John Lithgow, is a superior space opera that reverses the action. Earthlings must abandon mother Earth because an environmental blight has devastated farming and millions have starved to death in overpopulated continents. No, "Interstellar" doesn't pit Earth against multi-colored "Guardians of the Galaxy" aliens or immaculate looking storm troopers in white outfits from the "Star Wars" and "Hunger Games" franchises. Instead, the "Interstellar" scientist heroes must search for a new home for humankind. Rather than an outlandish adventure epic with evil extraterrestrials, "Interstellar" qualifies as an intelligent, realistic, sometimes provocative, sci-fi saga similar to Stanley Kubrick's landmark movie "2001: A Space Odyssey." Mind you, Nolan doesn't chronicle mankind's evolution from the dawn of time the way Kubrick did in as "2001." The casts of "Interstellar" and "2001: A Space Odyssey" differ, too. Kubrick relied on an unknown cast, while "Interstellar" boasts a charismatic array of superstars. If you haven't seen "2001: A Space Odyssey," you won't appreciate some of the clever allusions to the legendary 1968 film. Anybody who has seen "2001" will be amused by a joke that a robot makes about blowing an astronaut out of an airlock. Ultimately, the most obvious "2001" references in "Interstellar" are those bizarre, oblong, Minecraft-style robots that resemble the black monoliths in Kubrick's film. Some of the sci-fi terminology may fly over your head, but Christopher Nolan and his brother Jonathan concern themselves with more than speculative science fiction ideas. They focus on relevant contemporary themes, such as father & daughter relationships and the environment. They forge interesting characters with philosophical dialogue that you will ponder long after the movie.

"Interstellar" occurs in the late 21st century, after things have waxed really wretched. Bad enough that farmers can grow only corn. Blight has destroyed wheat and okra. Public opinion about NASA has curdled. History textbooks have been rewritten. Everybody believes NASA faked the Apollo moon landings to bankrupt the Soviet Union. A former NASA test pilot, Cooper (Matthew McConaughey of "Mud"), has turned to farming and reaped rewards where many others have failed. Although his wife died from a brain cyst that an MRI could have detected had an MRI had been available, Cooper perseveres as a farmer and a father of two children, his fifteen-year old son Tom (Timothée Chalamet of "Worse Friends"), and his precious ten-year old daughter Murph (Mackenzie Foy of "The Conjuring") who adore him. Cooper and his kids live with his father-in-law, Donald (John Lithgow of "Terms of Endearment"), and they contend with tumultuous dust storms on a daily basis. These dust storms recall the Depression Era drought and dust storms of that prompted millions to flee from the plains states. Dust gets into everything, and Donald wages a never-ending war to keep everything clean. Meanwhile, books have been toppling randomly from Murph's bedroom bookcase. She suspects a ghost is responsible, but nothing ghoulish like "Paranormal Activity." Naturally, Cooper dismisses the presence of ghosts. One day after a particularly turbulent dust storm, father and daughter examine the way the books have fallen out of the shelves, translate it into code, and come up with coordinates that lead them to a classified NORAD facility. A monolithic robot named Tars confronts them. Later, Murph and Cooper find themselves sitting around a table talking with high-ranking NASA officials. One of them is Professor Brand (Michael Caine of "Batman Begins"), and Brand confides in Cooper that the world is living on borrowed time. Moreover, he tells him about the 'Lazarus' project. NASA has dispatched manned missions to other parts of the galaxy to find a new home for mankind. He convinces Cooper to sign on as a pilot for one last launch that will take his daughter, biologist Amelia (Oscar winning actress Anne Hathaway of "Les Misérables); physicist Romilly (David Gyasi); geographer Doyle (Wes Bentley of "The Hunger Games"); and two robots TARS (voice of Bill Irwin) and CASE (voice of Josh Stewart) deep into space to a recently discovered wormhole which will enable them to explore new worlds. Predictably, Murph isn't happy about her father's departure. During their flight to the wormhole, Cooper and company lose contact with Earth, but Professor Brand can still transmit messages. Gradually, however, things take a turn for the worst. The final quarter hour of "Interstellar" will absolutely boggle your mind. Cooper goes where no man has gone before in a desperate bid to save mankind!

"Interstellar" is a serious sci-fi movie. The computer-generated visual effects are nothing short of dazzling, and Nolan orchestrates the flight sequences so we don't hear any sounds in the vacuum of outer space. The different spacecraft and the Endurance mother ship look as authentic as the outfits that our heroes wear. The strange but new worlds that they encounter during their search to locate a new Earth are breathtaking. One world consists of an eternal sea with towering waves that loom like mountain ranges, while another is as stark and icy as it is inhospitable. The theme of deception runs throughout "Interstellar." The faked Apollo moon landing and Dr. Brand's mind-blowing revelation are a few surprises that will maintain your interest throughout "Interstellar." Nolan generates several suspenseful set-pieces that will keep you poised on the edge of your seat. Matt Damon has a startling cameo as another astronaut who has succumbed to effects of isolation. Clocking in at 169 minutes, "Interstellar" amounts to an unforgettable epic with intense white-knuckled suspense, top-notch performances, and a terrific ending.
64 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Visually Monumental And Thoughtful Sci-Fi Epic
CalRhys8 November 2014
I was extremely lucky to get the chance to see this film upon its first day release, before entering the cinema, my expectations were already high, after all, this was a film from the cinematic genius who brought us the likes of 'Inception' and 'The Dark Knight', to summarise the following review in a single sentence: I left the cinema in extreme awe from the visual masterpiece I had just viewed. A film that explores the psychological and emotional state of a man whose life revolves around his family, 'Interstellar' is a thrilling and thought-provoking film that boasts an intellectual story masterfully written by the Nolan brothers. Whilst there seems to have been influence from films like '2001: A Space Odyssey' and 'Apollo 13', 'Interstellar' is unique in its own way. Whilst the subject may be hard to comprehend at times, it can't be denied how visually monumental and thoughtful Christopher Nolan's epic science fiction masterpiece is, and can easily be named the best film of this year and possibly one of the greatest science fiction films to have ever graced the screen. A sheer brilliant feat of cinema.
1,367 out of 1,967 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fascinating Film
Rainey-Dawn15 November 2020
The earth is plagued with droughts, famines and other apocalyptic disasters. Mankind must find a way to leave planet earth once and for all. An earth-like planet has been discovered in another solar system. A spaceship can travel fast through a wormhole though interstellar space but can Cooper get there and return to earth in time to see his daughter before she grows too old?

The Aging of Murph vs her father Cooper the answer is relativity playing a factor in aging - how fast time runs depend on the relative position of the observer and the subject.

Incredible movie - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

10/10
30 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Greatest movie of all time
FeastMode1 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I rate this movie 11/10 to signify it's greatness. Perfection. Mind-blowing. A workout for your brain. I want to have debates about it. I want to write research papers on it. Amazingly unbelievably awesome, this is the kind of movie that opens up your mind. Lots of amazing scenes with epic music. A killer story told flawlessly. Perfect directing by the best ever. Great cast with great acting. A deep psychological aspect explored for numerous characters.

The most renowned theoretical physicist who is an expert on cosmology was brought on to keep the science honest, as well as a retired astronaut who's been to space five times. One of the rare movies that is better the second, and even the third time watching. The only movie I have ever liked the most the fourth time. I keep picking up on more things and a better overall understanding. So many parts are extremely moving and powerful. It does an awesome job of making you feel what the characters are feeling. (9 viewings, 12/2/16, 2/26/2020, 1/11/2022)

SPOILERS

I was randomly thinking about interstellar, haven't watched it in at least 6 months. I thought about one hypothetical that intrigued me: what if the tesseract is such that it can only be placed inside an already collapsed black hole. If plan B was what "originally" happened and Dr. Brand survived, future people figured it out, and they want to save those they left behind on earth, they need to find a love-link between someone who goes into a black hole and someone on earth smart enough to be able to solve the gravity problem = Cooper and Murph. Doctor Brand knows this because she knows cooper loves her, knows he sacrifices himself by falling into the black hole, knows his daughter grows up to be her dad's understudy, so she has the future people put the machine in the same black hole that cooper falls into, thereby making the entire plan work. INTRIGUING. Will need to confirm on next viewing... after watching again, I like this as a viable theory, but it conflicts with another theory I had about the "original" mission being completed without cooper.

Lots of awesome concepts that made me think, like murphy's law not applying close to a black hole, human survival instincts and it encompassing your children, love being a quantifiable scientific force, the black hole and time relativity. The robots were cool and original. Really awesome visuals of things I've wondered about but never really imagined. I liked the depiction of the 5 dimensions in 3D in the daughter's room. The way everything connected was very awesome. The different planets were so interesting with ice clouds and giant tidal waves. The endings were perfect.

Something I noticed that I didn't realize the first time was the reason his son became dark and a little crazy. He was still a good person, even after experiencing the death of his son, Jesse. However, once his wife convinced him to let go of the idea that his father was coming back, he gave up on everything in life and became a horrible husband, father and brother.

The relationship between the father and daughter was the best relationship I can remember in any movie I've seen. The primary underlying theme in the movie was the love between a father and his daughter being able to transcend space and time, which is the key to her getting the information she needed to save the world.

From Interstellar group chat discussion:

-Or the other theory I had was that originally plan B was the one that worked and a colony survived and eventually was able to do what they did and wanted to save all the people that ended up dying on earth and try to make plan A work

-So she finds out that plan a was a sham. That the professor had already solved the equation years ago before she even met him. That he knew even with solving the equation that they couldn't figure out how to get the people off earth. She found out they knew they were never coming back and they were going to let everyone on earth to die. So every day since she was 10 that she has been hoping her father would come home was a lie. She should have never been hoping. Her entire 20 years that she dedicated her life to working on this was a complete waste . That should break a person. Murph is a beast.

-The love between them was the only reason the world ended up being saved. It's the only reason she kept trying that hard after all those years. It's the only reason she went back to her house in her room. It's the only reason she saw the watch again. It's the only reason she figured out that the watch twitching was her dad sending the data.

12/2/16: I watched interstellar again wow. I found a flaw in my theory that in the original timeline they used Plan B without Cooper, and then when they became advanced they went back to try to get Cooper so they could save the people that died on earth. The problem is, how would they have gotten past the problems with re-docking onto the spinning blown up ship after Mann backstabbed humanity. It actually makes perfect sense because in the original timeline Cooper would not have convinced them to go to Mann's planet, Brand would have convinced them to go to Edmund's planet which was the right one. In that "original" timeline, love still saved humanity since it helped her choose the right planet.
30 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An Emotional, Beautiful Journey into the Unknown
slayerjmk953 November 2014
(This is both a review of the film, and an assertion of Christopher Nolan's filmmaking style)

There have been many reviewers and critics alike that have high praise for the film (the visual effects, the acting, the music), but say how it's not Christopher Nolan's best directed film. This is where i personally would have to disagree. Before i get into it, though, i'll talk about Interstellar a bit.

Interstellar is truly a sci-fi epic like no other. To compare said film to '2001: A Space Odyssey' isn't just a disservice, but unnecessary. The films are almost nothing alike, simply sharing small plot elements. Also, Stanley Kubrick's vision of Arthur C. Clarke's sci-fi epic wasn't to ponder the philosophical questions that accompanied the story, but to make art, and art is was, and is. With Interstellar, Mr. Nolan set out to make his most personal and emotional film to date about love and time (time being a recurring theme throughout all of Nolan's films). But it's so much more than that too. There are no words to express the epic journey Nolan takes us on in the film, but needless to say, it's tear-jerking and emotional throughout. The acting is top-notch, especially McConaughey, who gives (I would say) his most emotional performance yet. But the actor who stole the show in a few scenes (one in particular, when they're on an alien planet) was David Gyasi as Romilly, one of the astronauts aboard the Endurance, their spacecraft. The musical score from Hans Zimmer is, without a doubt, his best and most influential work to date, helping drive the film's bold and breath-taking vision (the church organ helped significantly). The visual effects are easily the best to date as well, and of the year. To see a black hole created through visual effects in such a way, with pages theoretical equations provided by Kip Thorne (theoretical physicist, of whom's work inspired the film's genesis); what you see in the film is the most realistic depiction of a black hole, and even offered new insight to accretion discs surrounding the anomalies. But even everything else, from the alien planets to the Endurance, the visuals always look real. Then, there's the writing. I would definitely have to say this has some of the best dialogue i've ever heard in a sci-fi movie, and the script continually pours or oozes emotion, keeping the audience tethered to the film.

Now, about Mr. Nolan. Don't just look at Nolan, but look at his films. Some say Inception would be his masterpiece, while others would say it's The Dark Knight, or Memento. But honestly, every single film Christopher Nolan has directed is a masterpiece not of its genre, but of Nolan. Following is his quiet masterpiece, not the film that put Mr. Nolan on the map as a phenomenal director, but one people visited or revisited after becoming accustomed to Nolan, after seeing Memento, what could be called his breakout masterpiece. Then, right after, he directed the remake of the Norwegian thriller, Insomnia. This, too, could be considered a masterpiece, even if a remake. Then, we were given his take on the Batman universe, starting with Batman Begins, the origin masterpiece. Then, there's The Prestige, adapted from the novel of the same name, which can be called his dark masterpiece. The Dark Knight, his bold masterpiece; Inception, his complex masterpiece, and The Dark Knight Rises, his flawed masterpiece. Now, we have Interstellar, his emotional or personal masterpiece.

This is just my looking at Nolan and his films, but whatever your thoughts are, you can't deny Interstellar is one hell of a journey. He certainly is one of the best filmmakers of our time, and of all time. I can't wait to see what he does next, but i'm not sure it will be as emotionally powerful as Interstellar.
1,559 out of 2,303 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Maybe the most spectacular movie of 2014 and one of the best
Horst_In_Translation25 December 2014
Warning: Spoilers
To this day , many people still talk a lot about Christopher Nolan's "Batman"-trilogy, but here is his newest work: "Interstellar". He gets help from Michael Caine and Anne Hathaway again and a couple more familiar faces. One year after Cuarón with Gravity, he discovers the endless widths of space as well. The difference, however is that a large part of his movie, including the first 40 minutes or so completely, plays down on Planet Earth. However, it is also about survival in space, including two people instead of one though. Or you could probably say the whole human race and not one individual fate.

This is like our generation's "Armageddon", only that it is much better and much more edge-of-the-seat. The lead character is played by Matthew McConaughey, whose career is still on a massive high after numerous critically lauded performances and an Academy Award win. "Interstellar" is much more than Sci-Fi though. I personally found the film was at its best when it touched more the emotional relationships of the characters. The water planet sequence was incredibly well done. And right afterward, when Cooper (McConaughey) sees how his beloved family has aged and become parents, it is truly moving as well. I had a lump in my throat just like I did when he meets his very old daughter at the end of the movie. The inclusions with the old people telling about the past seem a bit odd at first, but make sense towards the end as we find out who is speaking there really.

Then, I also had a love-hate relationship with the Matt Damon parts. I found it pretty boring to be honest initially, but when we found out about his true intentions, it quickly turns into one of the best parts of the film. Nicely done. When Caine's character mentioned him with high praise early on, I felt there could be something fishy (like with Pixar's Up) there and yes it was. The ending of the movie with Hathaway's character completely alone out there made me think maybe there will be a sequel. Saving Private... ehh I mean Dr. Brand. Who knows? The time during which the whole film plays is also interesting. Somehow, the NASA lost a lot of their reputation and the moon landing is called fake in American school books. It is some point in the future. That much we know. David Oyelowo plays a small role here as one of the teachers. He has "Selma" in the race for an Academy Award nomination this year.

The ending of the film was not among the best scenes in my opinion, but I still liked it. The whole ghost explanation about Cooper being actually the one giving the signs was pretty exciting. The effects are brilliant of course, but that does not really need be mentioned for Nolan movies. A given. Hans Zimmer did a good soundtrack and there is also some comic relief coming from McConaughey's charm (if you like that) and some droll robot creatures. Anyway, I found the film interesting enough that I found it a bit sad they did not get to visit the third planet (with Hathaway's character's lover), only the water planet and the ice planet. I'd have loved to see that. However, maybe that could be a nice inclusion for a sequel as well. The movie never dragged despite coming pretty close to the three-hour mark. It could have run for another hour and I probably would not have been bored. There really was hardly anything wrong with it. Affleck's character did not do too much for me. He wasn't particularly well-acted and the character felt just included as a simple man who quickly gave up on his dad in order to show the contrast compared to Chastain's character: the ambitious loving smart daughter with a true connection to Cooper. John Lithgow plays a small role too and is fun to watch as always.

This is one of the movies I really recommend to watch, preferably on the big screen due to its sensational visual aspects. It's also good for a rewatch I believe, also to evaluate the characters' actions, especially Caine's for example. And the story of course. I believe, after one viewing, I am still far away from having understood everything that was going on, especially the scientific aspects. That however, does not hurt the viewing experience at all thanks to the film's great acting and emotional impact. If you are interested in space, you really have to see this too. It has distant planets, wormholes, black holes, spaceships and a lot more. Let me finish this review with two little snippets: First, the actress who played Murph as a child was the same that played Renesmee in the last two Twilight movies and, secondly, that fittingly Hathaway's character was called Amelia like the aviation pioneer Amelia Earhart. That can't be coincidence, can it? Especially with her last shot.
59 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A visual masterpiece.
Sleepin_Dragon26 December 2022
The fate of humanity rests in the hands of a small number of NASA pilots, who travel through a work hole in search of a new home.

I've only watched it for the second time, the first being when it first arrived on the big screen. My opinion hasn't altered since the viewing, it's an epic masterpiece, the story holds up remarkably well, but the acting and visuals all contribute to make this film something very special.

The story is remarkably good, it's cohesive, well balanced, it makes sense.

Matthew McConaughey's best film role still for me, he's awesome as the lead character, superbly supported by both Anne Hathaway and Michael Caine, it really is a well made epic.

The visuals, the special effects are all tremendous, and have held up as the years have gone past, it remains one of the most incredibly beautiful visual films of all time.

Epic 10/10.
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Interstellar : An open-hearted & mastered Human Odyssey
tardieu-felix1 November 2014
The film begins by establishing at his own rhythm its ambitions: men overexploited land resources, which is why the only goal they have left is to survive. This life is not enough for Cooper, brilliantly played by McConaughey who gave body and soul to this character. But all of this wouldn't hold without the total control of Christopher Nolan, based on the languishing soundtrack by Hans Zimmer, the luminous and impenetrable photography of Hoyte Van Hoytema, and the sincerity of Nolan's directing. He manages to film the characters and to find the right cut at the right time, always in harmony with Hans Zimmer's soundtrack, to give the film an aspiring and inspiring dimension that went missing for many many years. Thus we are transported into the same cockpit that Cooper, we feel the same remorse that he can already feel, we feel the same gravity, and we feel the same fear of the unknown melted with the force of his will. All of this is brilliantly illustrated in a very simple directing choice, which from my point of view is the decisive impetus of the film: to directly jump from when Cooper leaves in his truck, leaving his family behind him, to Endurance taking off. This simple editing decision allows Nolan to give an original movement to his film, and the musical crescendo makes us physically feel the sentimental break between two parts of the film.

You don't necessarily have to understand it immediately : The film will raise questions in you, such as : what is it to be a human being, is there some physical limitations to our humanity, how far could we be willing to go to determine knowledge, is there other dimensions that we can not access to, and above all: what is the nature of this intact and immutable bond that unites us to others wherever we are in the universe ? Is this bond only intelligible, or is it also tangible ? All these questions resonate in harmony in Nolan's Interstellar.

Interstellar is itself a crescendo, increasing sensitivity and creativity. I use the term deliberately because it goes crescendo with the soundtrack by Hans Zimmer, which is one of the most beautiful music ever scored for a sci-fi movie. We are witnessing a perfect musical arrangement, a total symbiosis, a bit like the music of Gravity which had understood very well how to match the image and the rhythm of a sequence to its own musicality. Zimmer's crescendos are giving a new powerful breath to every new scene, whether it is in visually powerful & intense moments or in more intimate moments; it intrudes into our momentary feelings and sensations, and manages to extend them, sometimes almost to choking, before resting on the balance of the film frame along with our mind spell-bounded.

I have seen all the talent of the director that I knew he was outside the norm, but whom I did not know his capacity to reinvent itself. Because this is it: Interstellar is not an action movie, not really a blockbuster, and it goes not entirely but mostly again the expectations of common people. It's much more than that. This is much more than just a sci-fi movie. It is unlike any of his previous films. Some hoped to see Interstellar as Christopher Nolan's best film, and they were disappointed that this was not the case. And indeed, THIS IS NOT THE BEST FILM of Christopher Nolan. Because in a way, IT IS HIS FIRST FILM. I'm not saying that Interstellar is not as good as his other films, it goes beyond all of them. But to me Interstellar is the first film of a new stage in Nolan's filmography ; it is a masterpiece as it the beginning of a work ahead. Interstellar is the proof that Nolan has finally managed, despite all the expectations that were placed on him after the success of The Dark Knight, to move away from his own reputation to create a personal work, original, humble, sincere and deeply, meticulously, measured.

Now, in this third act of the film, it all comes to life with unparalleled strength. Nolan poses and answers questions that raise others. But he focuses his attention on the great mystery of love, that emotional bond that can unite men and sometimes separate them. But Nolan is the only one that can successfully speak of love from a being to another in a film that mainly takes place in a another galaxy. From my point of view, only Solaris by Steven Soderbergh (2002), unfortunately neglected by the audience, was able to accomplish that. Interstellar is based on a premise which is the following : from terrestrial dust to the depths of space and time, we can never be separated from who we are as individuals and as a species, as we always leave a part of ourselves "behind" us. In other words, I could say that this is a human story, and even if we go as far as we want to, if we travel through the universe believing that we can be detached of the one we are fond of, we will only get closer to them. Because the separation, and thus the distance and time, can only ultimately reinforce the relationship between the people who really love each other. Because it is going to the end of the world, when we reach the end of ourselves, that we reach the singularity of the "black hole beyond the horizon" * : it is our humanity. No, I wasn't been able to find any bad flaws in the film. Not one, and I'm still looking. After all, Interstellar is like gravity, "all it takes is a little push ! "

*you'll have to see the movie to figure that one out.

Félix Tardieu, November 1st, 2014
2,116 out of 2,950 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I've never seen a movie so good in a long time
bomberh-861286 July 2022
This movie is no doubt the best I've ever scene this movie gives you everything emotions,love,hype,excitement,etc.. In my opinion this is the best movie made by Christopher nolan. The ending is so good that I had to watch it twice I loved this movie so much and tbh I don't think any movie will Top this one for me .
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
time travel= relativity =space equilibrium= Nolan's grand space masterpiece
lark4013 November 2014
Warning: Spoilers
chris Nolan a delivered another original story with with less special effects its more old school stuff with flight simulators done instead of geeen screens with space painted on the outside everything you see in this movie is real as your going to get so here starts the story of a farmer called cooper played by Matthew mconnaughey another Oscar performance who was a N.A.S.A pilot and his family he finds out that there is a problem with earth food sources and stumbles upon a plan to save earth and t leave earth for another world with his daughter he loves and his daughter tuned into other worldly scientific things that I wont explain you have to see this to understand the films relevance on finding a solution to the worlds problems there is a solution in here house were signs are there but I wont make sense until the end he has really turned the corner in his career what a Renascence

First of all, it is incredibly beautiful to watch. Honestly, it was so beautiful that I felt like I was sucked into the movie. The way Nolan decided to show some scenes really remind me of contact and parts of inception you see in this movie ca feel the talent of Christopher Nolan, just by looking at the way it is filmed. The techniques he used contribute to create that visual environment in a believable way.

The sound environment is just mesmerizing. It is a very important part of the movie, because some scenes take place in space, and Noland just found the right way to use sound. The soundtrack (made by the great Hans Zimmer) is breathtaking, epic, amazing, unreal. I could find a lot more adjectives to qualify it, but you have to hear it to understand how epic they are. you think how loud this film is you think you ware a astronaut

Matthew, In this movie... Well, he is the movie. he orchestrates this film that everybody else feeds of his power so much that everyone around him gets better. But Matthew is just what was needed to feel the human part of the story (which is very important in Interstellar). He is capable of making us feel so many different emotions all along the story, as a father, as a human. Anne Hathaway was very convincing, all together the actors managed to create some harmony, which makes the human interactions credible. Caine, Chastaing and Affleck are a perfect choice. And then there is... The special guest who is mischievous in a minor role , is actually much more important than that. He proves, once again, that he is a great actor. Watch and see. and a sarcastic computer really a bit bizarre in space but this computer does come in handy in a important scene

And finally, the scenario/story. I won't spoil anything here; I'll just try to convince you how great it is. Nolan is known to revolutionize everything when he tries a new genre in cinema. Well, once again he did it. With The Dark Knight he revolutionized the superhero genre. With Interstellar he's revolutionizing the sci-fi genre in cinema. he worked with a physicist in gravitational physics and astrophysics to help him with this movie. And we can feel and see just as Spielberg did in the 80s Nolan is doing it now Today, Nolan is laying the new foundations of the genre in cinema, proving that cinema is still at the beginning of what can be done (brace yourselves my friends, we have not seen anything yet).

Why? Well, simply because we only know a few things about space, some things can't be proved for the moment, so we can use theory, and make the best of it. That is exactly what Nolan did. He used theories that exist today, and made a movie about mankind, about pioneers, about humanity, about us.

whole journey that they thought was fraught with danger and the unknown as they have received messages from across time and space to realize that they had the answers after all it was just his daughter love to figure out what the lead scientist life work (Michael Caine) was about My rating for this movie can only be a 10,this film does not feel like 3hrs of moving space enthralling epic masterpiece with a beating heart of love and time and bending space time from a to b to meet his family across the universe This is the sci-fi movie of the decade, and probably the best movie Nolan ever made.if you like thinking about logic you might just come way thinking that this earth can be saved if we take what Nolan was taking about and not just taking the earth for granted Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night... Rage, Rage Against The Dying Of The Light."
127 out of 212 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best movie I have seen in my life
Patterson138 April 2015
This movie was the best written, acted, visual effected, etc. movie. This movie was the best movie I have ever seen. I am a huge Christopher Nolan fan and this movie was his finest. Matthew McConaughey turned in his best performance of his lifetime. Anne Hathaway was an amazing supporting actress and compared to her performance in Les Miserables, I have no idea how she didn't get an Oscar for this. The visual effects were more than just Oscar worthy. They were pioneering. I have never seen anything like it. One thing I would recommend is having a little previous knowledge about space. Not like Einstein stuff though. I would recommend you see this movie as fast as you can if you are a Nolan fan or not. I give this movie a rating of 97 out of 100.
1,472 out of 1,662 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Stunning sci-fi !
deloudelouvain19 April 2015
Well to me this was one of the better science-fiction movies that I ever saw. It's been a long time since I didn't see a sci-fi like this one. It's extremely long but you won't get bored for a second. And that says enough about it. All the actors gave us a very good performance and some shots were stunning. The story was very well written even though sometimes too complicated to understand but then again who are we to understand anything about the unknown dimensions, black holes or wormholes. You have got to stay concentrated during the whole movie to understand the story but like I said before with Interstellar it is certainly not a problem at all. I was completely absorbed by the story and was actually surprised that time flew by so easily. One of the better movies I watched this year and certainly the best sci-fi in years.
18 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Glad i didn't watch the trailer
christopher-stiedl14 December 2015
Interstellar - Review

Certain things in life are precious. Very precious. And so was the Film for me.

Why you might ask?

Well seldom do i get the chance where i find myself sitting in a cinema anxious and intrigued by what might come. In a time where trailers are omnipresent and going to the movies without having seen one seems unreasonable, outright stupid to some i had the magical chance to find myself in front of the IMAX on a cold November night with 2 tickets to Interstellar. My only knowledge was that Nolan directed it and McConaughey stars in it.

The images were brilliant the acting was top notch and everything was blended together by Hans Zimmer and his Music. 169 minutes flew by me with my eyes fixed on the screen and my heart racing. And there it was.. The ending. I couldn't believe it . I was reliving, rethinking the movie while the credit scenes rolled enjoying the moment, the smell of popcorn, my comfortable seat and what do i see next to me? Ninety percent of the people in the cinema rushing outside after the first second of the credit scenes.

..

.

Well apparently people enjoy movies different than i do. Maybe i should start watching trailers again :).
439 out of 529 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Interstellar is quite an intriguing space movie requiring some attention to the narrative
tavm1 December 2014
Just watched this on IMAX with my movie theatre-working friend who had seen this before. It has Matthew McConaughey and Anne Hathaway going to space and seeking possible livable planets for places to move the earth people when that planet becomes uninhabitable. Christopher Nolan directs quite a long but mostly intriguing tale of how long this journey lasts and the effect on McConaughey's offspring when they grow up without having him around during those times. I have to admit that part of me was ready to sleep during some scenes but something exciting does always come up and it gets a little better as the narrative keeps on going. So on that note, Interstellar is very much worth seeing if you're patient enough to watch quite a long movie requiring you to think.
31 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed