Take (2007) Poster

(2007)

User Reviews

Review this title
22 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Thoughtful and intelligent movie.
jim-219318 May 2007
A Thoughtful and intelligent movie, I saw it at the Tribeca Film Festival. The director accurately captured the plight of the characters, the scenes were artfully staged. Great overall impact. This is a movie you can and should see more than once.

The story was told without judgment, you could feel the anguish and redemption of the characters, it was portrayed, not preached. This was movie making and story telling at its best.

Although the ending was predictable, suspense was present throughout the movie. There were a few quirky things going on that made and kept the movie interesting. The only criticism I can offer is that it seemed the conclusion of the story lacked the impact it could have had, although I am not sure how that could be pulled off, the message did get across. The movie is well worth the time.
20 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Opinion on the movie.
gennyluna11 May 2007
The movie "Take" is definitely a brain teaser type of movie. I went to see it at the "Tribeca Film Festival" and I really enjoyed it. Its very interesting how it only focuses on the two main characters and how it goes into the present and past and then you end up in the future. Its very fascinating because the movie kind of takes you into a journey into the lives of the main characters Saul and Anna as we see what happens the day that everything changed for them. And its interesting just to see how each of their lives are so different, yet the same in a way. The most important part of the movie and probably the biggest lesson of and in real life is forgiveness. Can we forgive that easily? I found it very interesting. I really enjoyed it, the cast and crew did a wonderful job with it.
18 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A near-perfect film
tymflyer-115 May 2007
This film exemplifies why the industry needs to keep encouraging the making of independent films. This film couldn't have come from a major studio.

The cinematography was cutting edge and experimental (a patent is even pending on a new camera rig, according to the DP at a Tribeca Q&A), and it worked well to saturate the viewer with the mood of each part of the film.

The writing was precise and tight, but the director allowed the force of the film to be carried more in its silences and in tiny nuances of expression than in dialog.

Which brings me to perhaps the most powerful of the film's elements: the acting. Without the right actors, the powerful message of the film in evoking the immense struggle surrounding rage and forgiveness would have been lost in the silences. Minnie Driver's face on one tight closeup after another showed nuances that were unbelievably powerful. Jeremy Renner's portrayal of a slow inexorable descent into darkness was captured flawlessly. And the little boy - Bobby Coleman (Driver's son in the film)- both enchanted with a completely natural portrayal of charming boyhood and terrified with a chilling reaction to what happens to him. Although young, he was completely real, with none of the Dakota-Fanning-blankness we've come to accept. In a sense, he was the linchpin of the film; if we hadn't cared about him and his relationship to Minnie, we would not have cried as we did.

The whole audience was in tears; be prepared. But...also be prepared to think, and wonder, and grapple with the film. It is well worth it.
16 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Excruciatingly Slow Moving and Depressing
hellokristen19 August 2007
I notice all the people giving this high marks saw it at a film festival -- with the actors and writer/director in attendance. I think this has tilted their objectivity -- made them more enamored of it.

I found this movie just dark, grimy, grungy and relentlessly sad and slow-moving. There is some deep booming sound on the soundtrack that occurs just before something bad happens (and a lot of bad things happen) -- it made me want to jump out of my skin.

I'm sure the cinematography is great -- but it's mostly of junky-looking places.

The actors are all very good. The story was OK -- but I think I've seen the topic addressed on Lifetime made-for-TV movies.

If you like really slow-moving stories about hopeless people leading hopeless lives -- then this is the film for you.

It's not my cup of tea. I had to come home and put on a DVD of a good comedy movie so I wouldn't have nightmares.
23 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Take
ron-85815 July 2007
I thoroughly enjoyed Take. It was a different experience for me than any other movie I have seen. After reading the Take website (takethemovie.com), I was very concerned about ruining my macho image by crying. It turns out that I did not cry but was profoundly and deeply moved by the movie (way beyond crying). I was riveted to the screen throughout the movie and at the moment of resolution, I found myself understanding life from a deeply new perspective. Take helped me to think more deeply about my relationships with those who have been a source of grief in my life. I think I will be a little bit better person for having seen Take.
12 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
My first film at tribeca is a winner!
dave160628 April 2007
A great, thought provoking film about the death penalty. This is a movie that will be extremely difficult for most viewers to watch, yet it is worth it for more than one reason. The first and foremost to reason to see this film is that it is a visual tour de force. Every scene looks amazing and the cinematographer constantly fills the screen with something interesting to look at. The second reason I would say to see this is that its script is pretty intelligent. while not above some logic flaws and a frustrating beginning, a murder who I felt needed a little more backstory,the film really does shine when it comes together. Much like Crash or Babel it is a nonlinear story with some different time periods. Minnie Driver is quite good though her accent does come through at points, regardless her emotion is conveyed really well on screen. Overall this film made quite an impact on me and was well worth the time invested! Definitely check out this well made expertly directed low budget film. Cant wait for my next film at tribeca!
13 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Couldn't stop thinking about it
eharper1212 July 2007
I loved this movie. Not that it's an easy film to watch - some parts were a little painful to experience. But I couldn't stop thinking about it for the next few days. Very few movies do this for me (Million Dollar Baby comes to mind). The idea that opposing sides of an extreme situation could both be so believable and relatable, that's the genius of this film in my opinion. I think if I had rated it right after I saw it, I probably would have given it 9 stars. But that wouldn't be right, because it doesn't take into consideration the impact it had on me. I hope it gets picked up because I want to take my two teenagers. It's one of those few thoughtful films that everyone should see.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A must see movie!
oclo12 July 2007
Heavy subject, but wonderfully executed. There was enough detail to make the story line real. I loved the "real" feeling of the cinematography as well, it made it more believable. The actors came across as real people. The movie did a good job at letting the audience get to know the main characters - which was absolutely vital for this movie to be a success. I think this movie will be better the second time around - all truly good movies are - as you catch even more of the details. I gave it a 9 instead of a 10 because there were a couple of scenes where the acting was a little bit bland/did not quite hit the mark. This is a movie I would recommend to friends and it is a movie that keeps you talking and thinking long after you have seen it. I am so glad I got to see it. I can't wait to see it again.
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great!
wizardsall16 May 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I loved this film. I thought it was brilliantly crafted with a real artist's eye. Everything in the film connected well. And I appreciated the realness of the film. The director created very real, raw characters and settings too often atypical of Hollywood. After watching the film I found myself thinking about it from many different aspects; it has multiple layers to ponder. I also thought the music was perfect, adding poignantly to the emotional impact of the story. The acting was excellently nuanced as well. All the main characters bring you into their presence to empathize with them, and you both feel and see on them frustration, loss, haunting on their faces. (I especially liked the little boy's look to his mother in the the back of the car at the end of the storyline.) Everyone should see this film. It leaves you a better person for having pondered the issues, for having walked in someone else's shoes for the little while.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Thought provoking, emotional film...
missloca219 May 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I too, saw this film at Tribeca. went to see this movie not because of Minnie, but because of Adam Rodriguez. In my opinion, Adam really shone in this film. The film showcased his many talents and proved that he is extremely versatile in any type of media. He played a complicated character whose impact on the main character was strongly felt and made me question faith and forgiveness.

In sum, it is an emotionally charged piece that can be difficult to watch. I myself, had to compose myself. However in the end, I was left with a movie that really provoked me to question society and our own actions and the residual effects our actions have on them. Overall, I would definitely recommend this film to others.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This movie was amazing!
eldert2216 May 2007
I thought this movie was well worth the time to watch. I flew to Tribeca just to watch this movie. It was the best movie of the Tribeca Film Festival. I enjoyed how the story-lines crossed. The writing in the film was absolutely amazing. It truly is a great movie and I thought it was worth my time to watch. The actors seemed to really click and I thought the little boy was great. I would tell everyone to go see this movie when it releases. Jeremy Renner was great to watch in this role as a man struggling with his inner person. I felt as I watched this movie that this is going to be nominated for an Oscar. Great movie everyone.
10 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Movie!!
crm19916 May 2007
Warning: Spoilers
While working at the Tribeca Film Festival, I had the opportunity to see a screening of "Take" and the film was easily one of my favorite movies at the Festival. The story really showed us the depths someone could go to in order to forgive another person. Director Charles Oliver was able to humanize a child abductor, and that's no easy task. And of course, Minnie Driver was phenomenal...the closing scene between her and Jeremy Renner in the prison is both amazing and chilling at the same time. We were truly able to see both forgiveness and deep regret in these two respective characters. I would certainly recommend seeing this movie.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Pacing bogs down at points; otherwise, top-notch
editor-13114 April 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Another must-see at the 2008 Phoenix Film Festival, we realized, since it got made by the producers snagging Minnie Driver in a lead role. Great film; shot with lighting and/or film stock that conferred a washed-out, bluish graininess to reflect the drear, grim thrust of the story. Reminded me of the filmic feel of last year's "Before the Devil Knows You're Dead," reviewed in this space a few months ago; then we had to defend our dwelling on Marisa Tomei's extended frontal nude scene in it in a later issue.

"Take's" gist was, crime victim (Driver) is on a road trip, on her way to witness the execution of the guy who caused her loss. That guy--what a loser. Much of the film follows his terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day. Which gets worse and worse that way as a consequence of his bad choices, granted. Like in "Devil." But. The narrative arc of convergence of convict on victim or victim on convict is paralleled by the story-within-the-story of the convergence of the two on the infamous day of the crime.

We didn't stay for the Q&A, but I wanted to ask the producer or director, did you see this as an anti-death penalty film? Because it seemed to me to say, "If the victim can forgive the transgressor, what business does society have insisting on its vengeance?" (As a hyper-rational guy, I recognize that's an emotion-based argument, not a logical one. I have other, unassailable reasons for opposing the death penalty.)

Anyway, an excellent film; maybe, along with "The Visitor," the best of the fest. And, an awesome acting job by Jeremy Renner, as the down-and-out, reprehensible, hapless Saul. I'm just damn glad they didn't name him that because he was going to have a "Paul on the road to Damascus come-to-Jesus conversion" as his execution drew closer. In fact, he put up a pretty good fight, argument, against the chaplain sent in to give him final rites, solace, what-have-you. A fine film--almost caustic to watch, but full of integrity, intensity. (For more film-osophy of this ilk, as well as "Fake News," humor, satire, news and opinion, visit the online version of our print publication, or google it and click on the link for its blog.)
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
TAKE - A must-see.
michael-16761 July 2008
Warning: Spoilers
I saw TAKE at a screening and was very moved by it. Performances by Driver and Renner were excellent. The cinematography was right on. Direction was tight. The whole film worked. Every aspect came together. Looking forward to seeing it again. Films that address this theme are difficult to make. Not to mention watch. I was uncomfortable at times. Uneasy. I found myself questioning things that I would rather not think about. But the filmmaker forged on. Continuing to push the envelope. It is an interesting script. It takes courage to shoot a film like this. I'm glad Oliver and his investors were willing to take the plunge. I hope they are rewarded. There are a lot of films out there not worth seeing. Films that focus on special effects rather than on more interesting matters. This is a character study that makes us look inward to see who we really are. Thanks.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Painful 'Take'/ contains spoiler
mariannehettinger9 June 2008
Warning: Spoilers
As I was watching 'Take' I kept asking myself why this movie had been made. Very early on we know that a man is going to be executed and a child will be killed. I kept waiting for the child to already be dead to get it over with. Why show the abduction in such graphic detail? Why show the mother repeatedly wailing? We all know that having your child murdered is maybe the most horrible thing that can happen. The film was NOT made to advocate the meeting of victims/ perpetrators like it says at the very end. The set up for that is nonexistent. The director/ writer tries to be artsy with all the confusing flashbacks and set ups that don't lead anywhere (you see the mother waiting for her boy to come out of the rest room at a rest stop and he never does. It's totally unclear that he's a ghost at this point. The woman's husband whom she has a good relationship with just disappears. To me it was a film made for effect and gratuitous in terms of subject and violence. The actors were very good. I always enjoy Minnie Driver's work.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
well crafted production . . . but lacks real credibility
charles00017 July 2017
review_take

Yes, it is a well crafted production, powerfully presented in the context of the message it hopes to deliver.

But this is where I part ways with the obvious intention of the film, which I can't really articulate here without providing a spoiler to its conclusion.

My point here is that the actions of Saul, remarkably well portrayed by Jeremy Remmer, is framed in the context of a sympathetic character, fraught with a difficult array of bad choices made under duress, resulting in a horrific criminal outcome.

But that's not how such things usually come about in real life. In real life, the perpetrators of horrific crimes are very often myopically self absorbed, violent sociopaths and psychopaths, completely without remorse or even the remotest capacity for anything resembling a conscience.

This is where the film fails completely.

Ana Nichols delivers her version of Minnie about as perfectly as any actress could to portray the circumstances represented in the story.

It's not the acting, or quality of production and directing, all of which were very well done, that I have trouble with.

It's the heavily slanted purported message the film is trying to drive, which is so remarkably out of sync with the actual reality it tries to portray, that makes me back away from offering a higher rating than what I offer here.

Sorry . . . 6 stars is about as far as I can go with this one.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Beautiful and Powerful
davidnibley12 July 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Watching this film truly is an experience. It works on so many levels. It is heavy (appropriately) but it's accordingly powerful and meaningful. And even though the ending is what we feared it must be all along, the weight of the subject matter is somehow lightened as the credits roll, and we find reason to hope and believe that good can be found in even the most terrible situations. This film was clearly crafted with fierce attention to detail, and the combination of direction, cinematography, performance, and sound is wonderful to take in. For me, it is truly amazing that this film was helmed by a first-time director. There's confidence and clarity in the way the audience is carefully guided through the various environments of the film, and it's obvious (though not overbearing) that, again, no detail – visual or aural – was overlooked. The principle players particularly bring real weight and believability to their characters, and for me they conveyed a sense of familiarity, a feeling of real life that rang true, even though I thankfully haven't had to experience the majority of what these people go through. The film leaves you with many things to think about – valuable things – and reason to empathize somewhat with someone that maybe you wouldn't have given much thought to a little less than two hours before.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great Dual Character Study!...
MovieHoliks18 August 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I caught this little indie flick off HULU a couple days ago, and wow!- what a powerful film this turned out to be. Two great actors- Minnie Driver and Jeremy Renner- star as a struggling mom and a thief on the verge of getting possibly executed, whose lives collide all over the course of one day. The film is mostly done in flashback sequences, and it confused me a little at first until I realized the scenes with Renner on the "inside" are the present-day ones.

The film starts out a little slow, but once it gets going, you really find yourself absorbed in their lives. Renner is just great in roles like these, sort of a weasily-type character, but you still find yourself empathizing with his character, and hoping things will turn around for him. The role is something similar to the kinda character Al Pacino may have done in the '70s, like "Panic in Needle Park" or "Dog Day Afternoon". Definitely worth checking out...
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Restorative Justice
sophia73 April 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I watched this film because of Jeremy Renner, but it was good all around. Very puzzling plot at first, but then you realize that it is unconventional and let yourself be surprised by the turn of events. Very gritty visuals and iconic landscapes of the west with Nevada-style diners in the middle of nowhere. This could be a cult film. If you see this on DVD you may have to squint to see the fine print and realize that this really is a film with a message--see Restorative Justice websites--a community approach to healing criminal injustice. Something new to me, but maybe worth looking into if you know any crime victims--or, I suppose, criminals. I agree, what is in Ana's trailer, and what happened to her husband, and why the title?
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A complicated film that may appeal to some...
cheeftanz16 May 2010
I stumbled upon this without knowing it was an 'art' film. The acting of Minnie Driver was great,... competent and real. In many ways I would say that this was the only thing that allowed me to continue watching. Although this is my opinion, I had two other people in the room- both friends and fellow engineers- and they walked out to play with the cat in the next room. What does this mean? 'Too much' they agreed as they had a troubled look when I asked why they had left. This may well be a socially responsible and worthwhile type of film to make. However, it rambled and left me sick and feeling tortured. One may reject my review as being uneducated or shallow, but I am not alone here. I feel the film "Doubt" has real moral dilemmas, fears, challenges and human failures within its tight and brilliant characters...a work of art to me. Here, I felt assaulted, beaten, and in no way entertained...ever. Perhaps I am shallow after all, but I go to films for many reasons...always to be entertained. A tense drama needs to unfold and reveal beauty or power... and I found no real message here. I felt jealous of my friends who had gone to play with the cat.
3 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Heartbreaking.
mcw69572 November 2008
Warning: Spoilers
A mother struggling to raise a child with learning disabilities is forced to overcome her grief to understand a man who has committed a horrible crime. Synchronicity is a common theme today in movies strangers crashing into one another their lives inextricably connected to the bitter end. I've grown weary of this concept post Magnolia & sick of it entirely 10 minutes into Crash. Take is in the same vein however is refreshingly different for two very subtle differences. The first is perspective pay attention toward the end of this film & you will see what I mean. The second is that Take manages to somehow have a death penalty message embedded in it without beating you over the head with the film makers own moralistic view right or left. This is a quiet movie with moving performances. Minnie Driver & Jeremy Renner embody their roles nicely. Both of these actors typically play second to someone bigger. Here they are given the spotlight & I think Take albeit a small film will do big things for both of their careers. Writer,Director Charles Oliver is fantastic & im curious to see what he will do next. Take is a very solid film & well worth your time check it out give it a chance.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Festival Phobia
vitaleralphlouis21 April 2012
Warning: Spoilers
A big negative with me is any movie that claims to have a "message." Nobody in today's corrupt Hollywood has any moral authority to deliver a message to anyone. Thus, perhaps, the extreme box office failure.

I disregard any and all reviews from anyone who says they saw a movie at a film festival. All hyped up from being invited, and seeing a star or two in person; they get all dew eyed and overpraise.

The plain fact is that TAKE is an interesting but mediocre movie, not worth $11 or 90 minutes of anyone's time. I enjoyed the settings and some of the director's work was good; but that's about all. At least it wasn't a Good Robot kills Bad Robot action flick.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed