It's Kind of a Funny Story (2010) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
217 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Kind of nice that Hollywood can still offer a non-commercial, very moving film like this one
inkblot119 November 2010
Craig (Keir Gilchrist) is depressed. Although his parents (Lauren Graham and Jim Gaffigan) are nice, they are a mildly over-achieving duo who try to gently push their teenage son in a certain direction. This means going to a competitive high school and following a specific curriculum. But, even though Craig is quite intelligent, his stress level is very high and he dreams of "jumping off a bridge". One morning, before sunrise, he sneaks out of the house to contemplate his own suicide but ends up going to a hospital emergency room. The teen insists they admit him. They do. However, the adolescent ward is undergoing renovations and doesn't have room for Craig. Instead, he is placed in the adult psych ward, with a nearly catatonic roommate, Muqtada (Bernard White). In short order, Craig wants to go home but his new shrink, Dr. Eden (Viola Davis) says that is impossible, he must remain for five days. Fortunately, he soon makes friends with an affable patient named Bobby (Zach Galifianakis) and casts his eye on a lovely young female Noelle (Emma Roberts), who bears telltale scars on her wrists. These three strike up a friendship, with Bobby schooling Craig on how to "dress up like an employee" and leave the ward, at least temporarily! It is quickly evident, however, that Bobby has some dark secrets, as does Noelle, and Muqtada seems to be going nowhere fast. Can Craig get the help he needs, even as he helps others? This is a lovely film which highlights the topic of mental illness in a sensitive, intelligent way. Yes, there are patients with more severe troubles than others but all remain part of the human race, as shown here. The cast is great, with Gilchrist doing a fantastic job as the film's main character. Galifianakis, Roberts, Davis, and especially White, do great work too, as do all of the lesser actors. The setting is fairly limited, as most of the action takes place in the hospital, and the costumes are suitably drab, although Roberts looks very pretty in whatever she wears. Then, too, the script is comically insightful while the direction and camera work are quite nice. All in all, if you are hoping to watch a great film that touches the heart, with depth, view this one kind of soon.
111 out of 132 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It's kind of an awesome movie.
lewiskendell14 February 2011
"See, that's the part I don't get, Craig. I mean, you're cool, you're smart, you're talented. You have a family that loves you. You know what I would do just to be you, for just a day?"

Despite the fact that most critics were underwhelmed with It's Kind of a Funny Story, I found myself liking the movie. It's sort of a feel-good flick, despite being set in a mental hospital. Imagine a lighthearted version Girl, Interrupted with more teen angst (in a good way).

The story's about a teenage boy who's burnt out on pressure from parents, school, and his peers, exhausted, and contemplating suicide. He checks himself into a mental health clinic hoping for some kind of a quick fix, but instead has to spend five days in the adult ward (the youth ward is temporarily closed). He meets the requisite cast of oddball patients (including Zach Galifianakis), he grows close to the requisite love interest triangle (Emma Roberts & Zoe Kravitz), and he learns the requisite lessons about himself and life. 

So yeah, this isn't exactly a revolutionary movie. I enjoyed it, though. Keir Gilchrist is a likable young actor, and Galifianakis keeps thing from getting too serious with his quasi- mentor character. The young cast gives solid performances, as well (I've developed quite the massive crush on Zoe Kravitz, I hope she sticks around the movie biz for a long time to come).

All in all, not a bad movie to spend a couple of hours with. It leaves you in a positive mood, and the soundtrack is pretty rockin', too.
60 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
My 359th Review: Clearly one of the better films of 2010: Fleck / Boden do it again
intelearts30 January 2011
Ryan Fleck and Anna Boden are, in this reviewer's opinion, the best writer / director team working in film today. Both Half Nelson and Sugar (Which made my top 5 for 2008) were good and here they go more mainstream and produce a simple yet vibrant low-fi comedy. If you go expecting the Hangover, a full on comedy, then this might take some adjusting to - it is more than that. It reminded us most of the same vibe Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist had.

Craig (Keir Gilchrist) is an angsty teen and checks himself into a psych ward for 5 days. He is excellent, like a cross between Justin Long and Michael Cera and should get good work off the back of this. Here Craig meets the wizened Bobby (Zack Galifianakis), who has a complete emotional range here, his hangdog is perfect and watched closely you'll see every thought and facial gesture with real pleasure, and a teenage girl his age, Noelle (Emma Roberts). The supporting cast have groupworked this really well and it all just gels nicely. The film is a journey of self- discovery.

What lifts this is it doesn't have a mean bone in its body yet delivers beautifully - this film is firstly, optimistic about pessimism and abounds with humor, laughter, and originality, and secondly, Fleck again coxes the the actors to simply act, without excess.

It does a wonderful balancing act of making us see the world afresh too. In addition to all this it is totally refreshing to see a teen movie that is about teens and their world and not just another slapstick sex comedy.

I could only wish for 20 films a year like this, rather than the cookie cutter production values that govern Hollywood. The common trait in all three films are honesty, struggle, and eventually, something more. That's three in a row for Fleck / Boden - and I, for one, can't wait to see the fourth...
52 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It's Kind of a Good Story Too
jonnyhavey10 October 2010
See It Now! Critical Perspective: B+ Personal Perspective: A

This is a film about second chances and in particular giving yourself a second chance. We all get very overwhelmed and stressed out because of our very busy and hectic lives, however, sometimes you just need to step back and give yourself a break from all of the drama in the world and focus on what is really important to you in your life. After a little thought all of the things that stress us out on a daily basis become very petty and unimportant and the things with true meaning and value in our lives shines through. "It's Kind of a Funny Story" is a film based off of the 2006 novel by Ned Vizzini of the same name. The story follows a boy named Craig (Keir Gilchrist) on a five day self-discovery journey in a psychiatric hospital he checks himself into after dealing with depression in his stressful life. He is guided with the help of his doctor Eden Minerva (Viola Davis; Oscar Nomination for "Doubt") and fellow patient Bobby (Zach Galifianakis; "The Hangover"). These two relationships along with a very special girl named Noelle (Emma Roberts) change Craig's life.

The Good: The film follows its genre as a dramatic comedy very well and isn't over sentimental or Hollywoodized at all. Instead it is everything you would want a film with the title "It's Kind of a Funny Story" to be. It really is kind of a funny story and a very good story with some very serious undertones. Overall, the acting in the film is very fulfilling and the variety of different character personas' of the patients mesh very well in a perfect comedic melody. However, Zach Galifianakis is the biggest name actor in the film and steals the spotlight whenever the camera is on him. He plays a character that is very hard to describe. He is both troubled and enlightened, dramatic and comedic, and optimistic and pessimistic. What ever he is, all of the other characters feed off of his energy and look up to him on screen. Galifianekis is joined by Keir Gilchrist (Craig) Lauren Grahm (Craig's Mother), Jim Gaffigan (Craig's Father), Emma Roberts (Noelle), Thomas Mann (Aaron) and Zoe Kravitz (Nia). The cast is supported by a very well written adapted screenplay by Anna Fleck and Anna Boden that will make you laugh and cry.

The Bad: The actress, Zoe Kravitz, does not do a very good job playing Nia, Craig's love interest from before he meets Noelle in the psychiatric hospital. She is a very annoying, stereotypical, stuck up girl that just isn't very believable. It is very hard to believe that Craig would actually like her especially because she is his best friend, Aaron's girlfriend. It is also hard to believe that Aaron is his best friend because he does not seem to treat Craig very good and does not act as a very good friend towards him. This makes both of these relationships to be very unimportant to the overall story.

Final Thought: We all could use a five day break from our lives so we can just enjoy the moment and relax without following a strict schedule that forces us to rush around. We all need contemplate the quotation that Craig's doctor Eden Minerva states at the beginning of the film, "Lord, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change. The courage to change the things I can. And the wisdom to know the difference." Go to the theater and See It Now, the film that avoids the typical clichés of the psychiatric hospital comedy and it may just inspire you too.
59 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Lift
barbarakayrich4 December 2010
An important movie, and an original movie whose originality is not its reason for being. That is, "It's Kind of a Funny Story" has emotional chops. Musical chops as well, but that's another review.

Yes, the shadow of a memory of "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest" came to me while watching, but I have to say this echo did not lessen "Kind of a Funny Story" by comparison. It's not an angry movie. It's not a star vehicle. It's not a plot-fest. It is not ego-driven. It is not desperate for laughs, though I laughed hard on several occasions. In fact I'll see it again to remember those lines.

This movie gives you time with interesting people. Defenseless and ordinary, and beautiful people. Teens need to feel, we all need to feel compassion for ourselves and everyone around us pushed to depression. "Funny Story" while not grimly realistic is realistic in heart.

Zach Galifianakis has transcendent scenes. Keir Gilchrist is just lost enough. Much to admire in the film-making. This one should not sink under the radar.
93 out of 114 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
nothing stands out in this
MLDinTN2 August 2011
There wasn't anything that happens in this movie that stands out. It's not really a comedy or drama and I didn't find it entertaining. Even Zack G. didn't do anything funny. It's about a teen, Craig, whom is depressed and dreams about suicide. So, he goes to a mental ward and gets checked in for 5 days with all the adults because the teen ward is closed. He meets one girl his age he sort of makes friends with. Then there is Bobby whom has a kid and is in there for suicide attempts also. Craig meets a few other "off" characters. The main thing he does is make life easier for all the patients because he gets along with everyone and throws a pizza party on his last day. So, now you see why it was boring.

FINAL VERDICT: Skip it.
29 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fun and moving story about a teenager under pressure
jlf-849-61731019 September 2010
"It's Kind of a Funny Story" is based on the book of the same title in which Ned Vizzini tells of his experience checking himself into an adult psychiatric ward at the suggestion of a suicide hotline. The film by Anna Boden and Ryan Fleck is lighter than their previous two films, "Half Nelson" and "Sugar", which deal with drug addiction and an immigrant's experience. Still the issue of teenage suicide is a serious one, even though Vizzini's book, and Boden/Fleck's screenplay, treat it with many comedic moments. Keir Gilchist from "The United States of Tara" is nuanced and convincing in the lead role, and is backed up by a strong supporting cast led by Zach Galifianakis and Emma Roberts. If you can remember or relate to what it is to be a teenager under pressure from school, parents, friends, and life in general you will like this movie. It will make you laugh, cry, and be glad to be alive--isn't that what film is all about?
102 out of 126 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It's kind of a predictable story
kosmasp19 January 2014
But that doesn't make it a bad movie obviously. You will see where this is going, what role Galifianakis is playing, whom our protagonist will end up with, where his coming of age story goes and what the overall message is. Having written that all out, it's a nice story to tell and it is told with gusto.

It's also the actors who bring their best into the roles, even if you think they have been pigeonholed (like Zack G.). The jokes work and the payoffs come at the right time. A feel-good movie if there is one. Light but with touches that might make you change some of your views (especially concerning life in general).
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Truly Delightful and Indulgent Little Movie
david-961-96465227 January 2011
This is one of the most rewarding pictures I've seen in a long time. It's a breath of fresh air from the usual mainstream hokum, mixing black comedy and dry humor with genuine warmth and empathy. It's a movie you don't want to end, but when it does, you kinda want to give it a big hug.

There are no cheap laughs or lame gags here - the humor bubbles along like an undercurrent, echoing real life. Life is a constant source of amusement - we just have to recognize the fact and tap into it sometimes.

The storybook device, where the protagonist speaks directly to the audience, was perfectly weighted, cutting in at just the right moment to pace the movie and remind you of the pretext.

All the characters were well-rounded and authentic - I was particularly impressed that Craig's psychiatrist was played totally straight. The temptation to have her do or be something slightly crazy or contrived must have been great, but it was thankfully resisted. Likewise, the inmates of the psychiatric ward - there's a charming and utterly believable sense that everyone's a bit off kilter, rather than jokingly deranged.

The patients in the film aren't the butt of the joke - society and its proclivities are. That said, as a British viewer, I found it more difficult to appreciate how academia and peer pressure drive school-kids to anti-depressants and therapy - and for them to be impressed by the fact. I probably missed some of the main messages and in-jokes of the film, being from Yorkshire, rather than New York.

Nevertheless, I don't think you can fail to love this film. Zach Galifianakis is adorable, Emma Roberts is gorgeous and Keir Gilchrist manages to combine confusion and teenage erudition superbly.

If nothing else, you have to love the self-indulgent interludes, especially the 3D animation through Craig's fictional, line-drawn world and the wonderfully camp group performance of 'Under Pressure'. The soundtrack is spot on right to the last - who knew traditional Egyptian music could be the saving grace?
70 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Let's have some fun with this....
filmchasing20 March 2011
A depressed teen admits himself into a psych ward & meets some colorful folks.

Complex issues switched up and told in a free-spirited way. There's nothing sugar-coated about these characters, which is probably why I like them so much. Pluses for having them relate to our current society; these characters could be someone on your own street.

With a narrative & creative style similar to 500 Days of Summer, this is an oddly inspirational tale.

Comic relief provided by the excellent Zack Galifianakis.

Great music, great film!
36 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Nine years later...
caelum-natura14 September 2019
I can't believe I never saw this movie before. Great, feel good, uplifting, well made movie with a clear and positive message, perfect cas and great story. Be brave, breathe... Live!
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Acting, Script, and all around movie
SpringerStudios26 September 2010
The real treat about this movie is the performance from Zach Galifianakis and Emma Roberts. Both of them do a superb job, and left me wanting even more. The entire script is actually funny, and I mean funny as in you will be giggling the entire movie. This movie just makes you feel good, it makes you want to experience life even more. It has a great message, and keeps to the plot of the book a lot better then most adapted screenplays. Going back to the acting performance though, it really is something. While Zach Galifianakis usually plays the oddball in blockbuster comedies, he does a FANTASTIC job being a psych ward patient who is absolutely hilarious. Emma Roberts shocked me, to be honest. I've only seen her in Nancy Drew and a small glimpse in her Tween TV show "Unfabulous" in which her acting was borderline on being downright awful. In this movie, she completely breaks out of that role, and jumps into one that the people who aren't the ages of 10-13 and female will actually like! Several times during the movie i honestly didn't believe it was the same girl. She really does a great job. The bottom line is that this movie is great. It's not the best, but it is a movie worth seeing that has a very good story and great acting to complement it. See. This. Movie.
110 out of 155 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Heart warming
Gordon-1127 September 2020
This is sort of a funny story, but one that makes you smile from the inside because it is heart warming.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Sweet movie.
adrian-rugina1 February 2011
This is a slightly fun movie, but do not expect laughing your guts out. It's a almost a teenage romantic comedy placed in a different environment than the regular college movies. It has good characters and decent casting,and they will grow on you easily. Also, I appreciate such characters that are very enjoyable even if they don;t have more than 2-3 lines, such as Muqtada or Solomon. You may not remember this movie next year, but you might be hearing a friend sayin to you "get up, Muqtada" if you don;t want to get up from your bed :). This is a good 2010 movie, with a low budget,low commercial expectations but with great feedback. Despite dealing with depression issues, the atmosphere is positive and delivers a good feel at the end. Nice to see this kind of movies from time to time.
38 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This movie would make a great movie for "Movies with a Message"
jdowling5 June 2011
"Movies with a Message" is a discussion class for youth groups, especially Unitarian Universalists, but other religious or non-religious organizations could discuss movies that impact on the lives of teenagers. This movie would be ideal for even a 45 min. Sunday school or religious education class. In the first 20 minutes enough happens to have 1/2 hr. conversation, depending on how many there are to discuss it and how open they feel about sharing. It's also a movie that adults can enjoy and relate to. This is the kind of movie with the kind of issues adults need to talk about with youth and youth need to talk about with each other.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It's Kind of a Charming Movie
evanston_dad15 June 2011
"It's Kind of a Funny Story" is a refreshing antidote to the seemingly endless parade of movies and T.V. shows about teen angst.

In it, Keir Gilchrist, in a winning performance, plays a young teen who's vaguely depressed for reasons he can't explain, is overwhelmed by the seriousness of the world in which he lives and even harbors the occasional thought of suicide. Thinking himself seriously messed up, he checks himself into a mental ward for a five-day stint, only to find out once there that he's nowhere nearly as screwed up as he thinks he is -- certainly not as screwed up as the other people on the ward who deserve to be there -- and that he's not suffering from anything that pretty much every other human being on the planet doesn't suffer from from time to time.

The lessons he learns will sound pretty familiar and sound like a summary of lines spoken by Ruth Gordon in "Harold and Maude." They're all about living life instead of being afraid of it, doing what makes you happy, and not letting others life your life for you. But though the moral of the story is as ordinary as morals come, it's delivered in a charming way, and the movie overall is extremely easy to like.

Grade: B+
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It's kind of a boring story...
Irishchatter29 December 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I'm actually glad to have not read the novel because I wouldn't waste my time reading something pointless. I thought the movie and the storyline had no meaning at all. Yes I know it's about a teenage boy admitting himself to a Mental Institution since he was unfortunately suicidal. I just think the actor who played him didn't seem interested in his role. He just didn't give that click to fall in love with the character enough. It made me think, why couldn't they have gotten an older actor playing the teenager? It would be totally different and a lot better since they would have more experience then a teenage actor.

I don't think a love story would suit anything for this kind of movie, it just kinda holds me back on concentrating on the teen. He should've at least made a new friend and that would be more better then a love interest.

I don't want to brag too much because it just didn't satisfy me at all. It is the worst adaption ever!
17 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A bit Cuckoo's-Nest Lite, but it's heart is in the right place
bob_meg15 March 2011
Warning: Spoilers
It's Kind of a Funny Story walks a very thin line.

It takes the very real problems of teen depression and suicide, realistically relates their real gravitas and pathos, then holds a fun house mirror up to them, exposing their inherent absurdity. The cliché "if you don't laugh you cry" comes to mind, but this film doesn't take the easy way out, even though there are points where you say to yourself "Oh yeah, they're gonna pull THAT old trick again...." I have a litmus test for bad movies. If I observe a plot set-up early on (points off right there), and it pays off exactly the way I think it will, I downgrade my rating. This occurred recently when I saw "Love and Other Drugs," another of Edward Zwick's sappy pappy rom-coms: pharmacological sales rep throws away Prozac in dumpster, bum is nearby. Maybe ten minutes later, bum is now on way to job interview and I was on my way to the vomitorium. Next.

It's Kind of a Funny Story seems to offer a million set-ups like this but then goes out of its way to defy your expectations. I expected Zach Galifinakis' character to go off the deep end at a climactic moment near the film's end. Didn't quite happen that way. I expected Keir Gilchrist's character to be a lot more moody and not so bright. Ditto.

A good blast of this freshness comes from the performances which are not overly studied. Gilchrist's neurotic teen hero and Galifinakis' middle-age schlub seem spontaneous and improvisational at times. They're an unlikely, perfectly matched pair, drolly undercutting their own low confidence streaks without an overbearing father-son tone stifling it all. Emma Roberts brings no artifice to her portrayal of a teen cutter. There are a lot of "quirky" characters here but, as in Cuckoo's Nest, a film it somewhat resembles at least in set-up, none are too broadly drawn as to be mockable.

Granted, it doesn't chart any truly subversive ground or go full on into high-drama mode, as Kesey and Foreman's landmark film did, but you can see that it cares about it's characters and their problems very much. That alone qualifies for accolades in these overcrowded days of commercial feel-good pablum.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It Starts on a Bridge
ferguson-630 September 2010
Greetings again from the darkness. Attended a screening last evening and came away a bit surprised. The preview, thanks in part to Ida Maria's blaring "Oh My God", had me convinced this was going to be a typical slapstick teen comedy. Instead, co-writers and co-directors Anna Boden and Ryan Fleck deliver a black comedy-drama that has appeal to both teens and grown-ups.

The story revolves around Craig, a 16 year old who is feeling depressed and suicidal given the pressures of a relentless father, looming college entrance exams and a screwed up social life. You are right if you are thinking this sounds like just about every 16 year old on the planet. The difference here is that Craig checks himself into a psych ward ... he ends up in the adult wing, as the teen wing is undergoing renovations. Craig is played by Keir Gilchrist, who I can best describe as a young Keanu Reeves clone, only too smart rather than too clueless.

Since this is a comedy, you can imagine the characters who fill the ward. Craig bonds with Bobby, played by Zach Galifianakis, who seems happy to play the mentor role for Cool Craig, but just can't seem to find the strength to live his own life. Of course, we also get the emotionally damaged hot girl played exceptionally well by Emma Roberts (daughter of Eric, niece of Julia; Nancy Drew). The film accepts its own stereotypes for the other characters with labels such as "the schizophrenic".

The message of the film seems to be that we all go through stages of doubt and uncertainty, and the best "cure" is to somehow remove the stress and discover our real talents and personality. You may end up creating art in the form of a brain map, or even a music video of Bowie/Queen's "Under Pressure" (an elaborate inset to the film).

The filmmakers appeared to struggle with where their line was for the direction of the story. With previous films "Half-Nelson" and "Sugar", my guess is their vision was a much more complex and darker script rather than the final version which has more mass appeal. The Zach Galifianiakis character specifically, seemed poised to make a real statement. Instead we are left with his reserved, knowing smile as Craig presents him a gift and the hope of getting together for ping pong. Also, not much story is given to Emma Roberts and her penchant for cutting herself. She seems magically cured after a roof top encounter with Craig. Anyway, the comedy sections are more successful than the drama sections, provided you are able to find humor in the illness and weakness of others.

This is certainly not at the level of "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest", but it is an entertaining film from a comedic perspective. It will probably be remembered as Zach Galifianiakis fist role where he flashed some real acting chops, and hopefully as Emma Roberts breakout role.
10 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
if "i'm depressed. just don't be!" was a film this would be it
atomeckova2 January 2021
Warning: Spoilers
See i'm not an expert or anything but i don't think this film actually understands how mental illness works. the main character who apparently had depression calls people with other mental illnesses "freaks" and could be basically described as ableist. other than that 2 of the female characters serve only as the main character's love interests and 2 other are only relevant to the main character's development. so yeah there's that 4 star rating
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Its not a comedy, but is good!
ZeroCoolRO21 January 2019
So the movie was tagged as "comedy", but in movie is nothing funny. As the title says, the movie present us the life of a teen who's depressed and put himself into a psych institution ....there he meets a girl, he likes her at first sight, and all movie is about those 5 days that he stays inside that institution.

Most will consider "a boring story" or "a boring movie" .. i've read some review with 1 star ... and I can't understand those guys. If the movie isnt full SCI-FI and made on computer with explosion and aliens isnt good?

The story can be inspired from real life, in real life many teens go thru depression and you come here and say that "the movie is a pile of garbage, a bad story.." come on!

Yes, the movie is kinda slow, and almost nothing interesting happening, but is all about the story, how he gets there, how he met people with many problems that he have, and how he works on helping his room mate... its all about connection with other humans mostly.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Boy Interrupted
DarkVulcan2918 October 2010
The story begins with Craig(Keir Gilchrist) a smart teenager with a bright future. But to Craig the future does not seem to bright, feeling the pressure to well, feeling alienated from his parents. Starts having suicidal thoughts. When he goes to the doctors, and he wants to be cured quickly, feeling he might be a danger to himself. But Craig is gonna learn is that there is no such thing as a quick fix, when he is checked in to the mental ward at the hospital, and he has to stay there about a week. Craig does not like it, but makes the best out of it. During that he meets Bobby(Zach Galifiankis) and Noelle(Emma Roberts), but will Craig make it through the week?

A great film, that has a lot of imagination to it. Keir Gilchrist was really good in this, he brings all sort of believability to his role. Zach Galifianakis was surprisingly good here, I hope he won't be missed by the Oscars. Emma Roberts is descent in her role. Jim Gaffigan and Lauren Graham are alright as Craigs parents. A great indie film.
9 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
It never seems to click.
tristanbunn22 January 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I watched this film out of boredom one evening with high hopes considering my love for coming of age type films. Well after 40 minutes I found myself wondering, "When is something going to happen?" I was waiting for something to connect to me emotionally and make me feel for the characters. However, all I received was a boring story that leads to a predictable ending leaving me feeling nothing. Keir Gilchrist was boring in his role, although I don't believe he had a lot to work with. I kept expecting the story to dive more into Zach Galifianakis' character and give the actor a chance to show off his true acting abilities. The film never goes there. It addresses his condition and his relationship with his daughter very lightly, but not enough to make the audience care. In fact, the film fails to make the audience care for any of the characters. Emma Roberts does a fine acting job although the chemistry between her and Keir Gilchrist is non existent (which I don't blame on her). If you are ever looking for time to kill then perhaps you can give this movie a shot, but I wouldn't spend any money on it. I was very disappointed.
25 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It's Kind of a Funny Story — An angst teen finds refuge in a mental hospital
AvidClimber11 March 2013
It's Kind of a Funny Story is about what you do when you are served that one extra drop of water that makes your glass overflow. We don't have an instructional book to help us go through life, yet once we're born, we're expected to live. That can prove too difficult for some. This is for them.

The story is simple. The acting is good. The subject matter has plenty of room to be explored and will make you think. This is the film where I think Zach Galifianakis has given his best performance.

Now, the main flaw of the movie are the therapy sessions and how the main character evolves throughout his stay on the psychiatry floor. Those are common mistakes and easily overlooked. I've rarely seen a realistic psychotherapy session in a film, and few people can make sense of them.

Beyond that, it's a quiet flick that aim at making you ponder life. It's not a depressing piece, or a high tension one, so it's an easy watch.

If you're not looking for action or laughs, but still want something relatively positive, this might be for you.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Adorable Keir Gilchrist in cute little rom-com
SnoopyStyle17 February 2014
Craig (Keir Gilchrist) checks himself into the psych ward for his suicidal thought. At least he thinks that he's having suicidal thoughts. The children's ward is under renovation, and he's been put in with the adults for at least 5 days. He was hoping to just be given new meds. He's in love with his friend, but she's already with someone else. In the ward, he meets some real cases like Bobby (Zach Galifianakis), and quirky fellow patient Noelle (Emma Roberts).

It's a very light and fluffy look at the psych ward. It's definitely not 'One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest'. Keir Gilchrist is adorable. Zach Galifianakis is zany without his usual crazy wildness. Keir and Emma make for a cute couple. The movie is like the lead Craig. It thinks it's more serious than it actually is. But it works as an adorable rom-com for emotionally fragile kids. It's cute. It's likable. Sometimes, it's even funny.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed