Six Degrees (TV Series 2006–2008) Poster

(2006–2008)

User Reviews

Review this title
27 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Tired of Good Shows Getting to Boot Too Early
skooshie22 April 2007
This show was Fabulous. It was intricate and well written and all the characters where likable with out being horribly sweet. Even Jonathan Cake the philandering boyfriend was likable. Since our airwaves are filled with crap like American Idol and Dancing with the Stars, it was nice to see a drama that was not too soap opera like. It was always intriguing to see how each character would be connected to the next circumstance. It really is annoying that we finally get a show that makes you think a little bit and have it thrown out because of some mysterious number that most of us don't even pay attention to. Some of us are not sheep. This show will be missed maybe not by a lot of people but by some pretty loyal fans.
35 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
too bad it didn't last
brendonm15 January 2007
Along with "Brothers & Sisters", "Six Degrees" was one of my favorite new dramas of fall 2006.

Great cast all around, but really enjoyed the work of Campbell Scott (the come-back photog) and Hope Davis (recent widow of journalist killed in Iraq).

Aside from the acting, the writing was fresh and the acting superb. The show was also shot in NYC, the real city, not the Warner Bros. or some other studio's backlot, adding a secondary layer or realism.

I guess people are more interested in the latest "Survivor" and other reality garbage. Too bad it didn't last.
48 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Six Degrees is too good to be canceled!
I loved this show so much and I'm so incredibly sad its canceled i thought it came back too, but just two stupid weeks. Thats terrible. i hate how we never find out how everyone ends up. it sucks. Bring it back! ABC has stupid shows like Supernanny and whatnot but doesn't give time to good ones like Six Degrees. If they're complaining about ratings it was probably because they had a bad slot because this was truly a good show, something I could relate to and anticipated. JJ Abrams delivered, he's awesome, I wish ABC could just trust him enough to complete the story. I loved the entire cast too. I couldn't wait to see how everyone would someday meet each other at once. Everyone's story is now left incomplete, now I'll never know if Steven and Whitney would get together or Carlos and Mae. I wanted to see what would happen to Laura or Damien and everyone else. This is really such a downer.
36 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Show in Years
luomarya27 April 2007
So, what's the reason? Is there some sort of vendetta against this AWESOME show or somebody involved therein? Why would the best show I've seen in years be canceled? I'm addicted. I saw this show on randomly last fall, and immediately loved it, and watched it every week. Then it went away, and I tried to Tivo it, but it wasn't being aired. So I forgot about it for awhile, until I found the episodes on ABC's website. Now I want MORE. I agree with everybody else - with the rest of the junk on TV today, it was refreshing to see something as well-rounded and developed as this. I watch Boston Legal for my eccentric-comedic fix, and House for my intellectual-mystery-jackass fix. My wife loves Grey's Anatomy for its "realism", and I do love/hate the show, but it could not be farther from real for me. WAY too much drama. Everything that can go wrong, does. But for once, there's a drama that's REALLY real. Real people, real problems. Sure, there are some extremes like a former gangster turned good, girl running from the mob, etc., but these people (especially in NYC) are really out there, and I relate to each and every one of them. I can't seem to get enough. I just hope that ABC will get their heads out of their bean-counting butts and continue this show. Get some respect for having a QUALITY drama out there. This could be one of the best shows of all time. If somebody will just let it.
22 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
It's a shame to see it go.
philndeb15 April 2007
It really is a shame that thought provoking programming for adults doesn't get a chance. This series was in a class with Grey's anatomy and E.R. The network really should have given it a chance to build an audience. The cast (w/Hope Davis, Campbell Scott, Erika Christensen, Zoe Saldana, Jay Hernandez and Bridget Moynahan) is one of the best I've seen in recent years. Recently, the networks have brought us a few good programs that are worthy of setting aside time to watch. This was certainly one of them. I couldn't wait to see how the writers would tie the next character into the mix. If anyone at the networks is listening, please reconsider. We grown-ups are starving for this kind of adult drama.
20 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Six Degrees is the Best I give it a 10!
sixdegrees1012 May 2007
This is the best and most original show seen in years. The more I watch it the more I fall in love with it. The cast is excellent, the writing is great. I personally like every character. However, there is a favorite character for everyone as there is a good mix of personalities and backgrounds just like in real life. I believe ABC has done a disservice to the writers, actors and to the potential audience of this show, to cancel so quickly and not advertise it enough nor give it a real chance to gain a following. There are so few shows I watch anymore as most TV is awful . This show in my opinion was right up there with my favorites Greys Anatomy and Brothers and Sisters. In fact I think the same audience for Brothers and Sisters would love this show if they even knew about it. Why is it always the loser shows that get so much extra time and the winning shows with great potential always get dumped right away. I am so sick of reality shows I do not watch any of them. It was so refreshing to have a new idea for a show and then to hire excellent actors, this show had so much promise. The recent episode was the best one yet as everyone has started to really get into their parts and make the show so real. Please watch this show on ABC's video and let ABC know you wish to have this show back. PLEASE SIGN THE ONLINE PETITION TO ABC: http://www.PetitionOnline.com/gh1215/petition.html
19 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
bring it back
artcook_29 January 2007
Six degrees had me hooked. I looked forward to it coming on and was totally disappointed when Men in Trees replaced it's time spot. I thought it was just on hiatus and would be back early in 2007. What happened? All my friends were really surprised it ended. We could relate to the characters who had real problems. We talked about each episode and had our favorite characters. There wasn't anybody on the show I didn't like and felt the acting was superb. I alway like seeing programs being taped in cities where you can identify the local areas. I for one would like to protest the canceling of this show and ask you to bring it back and give it another chance. Give it a good time slot, don't keep moving it from this day to that day and advertise it so people will know it is on.
35 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Why didn't the producers give that show a chance. I liked the show.
erima-15 April 2007
Why didn't the producers give that show a chance Of all the junk on TV, why didn't the producers give Six Degrees a chance? Will the series go on video? I would love to see how it ends. Put season one on video and sell it. I was a loyal fan of Six Degrees and waited for it's return. I set my recorder to tape all of the shows. Thank God for that. I just found out that the show was canceled and I'm heart broken. I wish I knew it was going to be canceled, why didn't they tell us? I thought the show was just developing some depth in the characters. The writing was pretty good also. Steven (Campbell Scott) is my all time favorite. I am SO sorry to see it go!
18 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Give it a chance!
musikluvr4107 April 2007
I was so excited to find that Six Degrees had returned last month. I really enjoyed this show a lot. I liked how each of the characters were somehow linked to each other but yet had their own separate storyline. I found them interesting and they kept me waiting for more in the next episode. Last night I was extremely disappointed to find that after only two more episodes it has been canceled. Why not give it a chance and finish all the episodes that have been filmed. Why leave us hanging in the middle of a good storyline. I wanted to see what happens between Carlos and Mae. Why not leave it on Thursday nights following Grey's Anatomy instead of on a Friday night when so many more people are not in front of their TV sets. I saw Men in Trees the first episode and it did not interest me at all. I thought Six Degrees was a much better show. Please give it one more chance on another night and finish the rest of the season!
14 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
additional episodes
the_arch_duke28 May 2007
You probably all already know this by now, but 5 additional episodes never aired can be viewed on ABC.com I've watched a lot of television over the years and this is possibly my favorite show, ever. It's a crime that this beautifully written and acted show was canceled. The actors that played Laura, Whit, Carlos, Mae, Damian, Anya and omg, Steven Caseman - are all incredible and so natural in those roles. Even the kids are great. Wonderful show. So sad that it's gone. Of course I wonder about the reasons it was canceled. There is no way I'll let myself believe that Ms. Moynahan's pregnancy had anything to do with it. It was in the perfect time slot in this market. I've watched all the episodes again on ABC.com - I hope they all come out on DVD some day. Thanks for reading.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"A Winning Show Worth Watching"
Upset Fan16 June 2007
This show is totally worth watching. It has the best cast of talent I have seen in a very long time. The premise of the show is unique and fresh ( I guess the executives at ABC are not used too that, as it was not another reality show). However this show was believable with likable characters and marvelous story lines. I am probably not in the age group they expect to like the show, as I am in my forty's, but a lot of my friends also loved it (Late 30's - mid 40's) and are dying for quality shows with talented cast members. I do not think this show was given enough time to gain an audience. I believe that given more time this show would have done very well. Once again ABC is not giving a show with real potential a real chance. With so many shows given chance after chance and not nearly worth it! They need to give quality shows a real chance and the time to really click and gain an audience. I really loved the characters and looked forward to watching each episode. I have been watching the episodes on ABC videos and the show keeps getting better and better. Although I think they owe us one more episode (Number 13?). We want to watch what we can! Bombard ABC with emails and letters and see if its possible to save this show from extinction. It certainly worked for Jerico. Some things are just worth saving and this show is definitely one of them. SIGN THE ONLINE PETITION TO ABC AT: http://www.PetitionOnline.com/gh1215/petition.html
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Way too Good to Give Up!
Darlene Miller16 June 2007
I am so upset that ABC is giving up on yet another show that has the chance to be a real winner. This show is so good, the writing and storyline were great, an actual original idea for a show instead of another boring reality show. The casting was spectacular! Not only were the characters and actors right on, but these are a very talented set of actors. The concept and idea is really a new and cool idea for a TV show, many of us share this whole idea of "connections". I really love the characters of Steven, Laura, Whitney and Damien. But to be honest there is not one person connected to this show that I did not like, even those that only were in for a few episodes (Sheri Appleby for example). The acting and characters are so easy to like and so talented!!. I wish ABC had given this show more of a chance, and not interrupted the show midway, Also it was not advertised enough. Truly unfair!! to everyone!!. This show showed great promise. I for one will let ABC know how I feel and will keep sending emails to keep this show alive. Please join me, I know we can do it. It worked for Jerico. (By the way where is episode 13? I want that last show!). Please support this show and send emails to ABC,we can do it!!! This show is well worth it!!! PETITION ONLINE TO SAVE SIX DEGREES: http://www.PetitionOnline.com/gh1215/petition.html WE CAN DO IT!! SIGN THIS PETITION ASAP!!!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
watching from China
chienwentong8 June 2007
I got hooked on this as apparently ABC has licensed this show to Pearl TV in Hong Kong. It caught be my surprise, as it was a break from listening to anything Chinese. But i started getting reeled in, as the cast and the story lines are just NYC enough and thoughtful. Nothing too unbelievable, though I think it's very very stereotypical of them to write Damien as a potential black man with a sheet!!!! That has been the most disappointing aspect. The rest is great and I'm sad to learn on IMDb that i can't look forward to watching season 2 when i get back to the US. I'm am just as disappointed as the other commentators that this showed much promise and quality and taste. But just as shows that show characters getting closer, it's probably harder for people to watch if the start watching several episodes in. Which is apparently a bit too late for the eager networks.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Early Demise
chronic_ecstacy_6922 May 2007
Unfortunately for myself - I stumbled onto this show late in it's lifetime. I only caught a few episodes (about three) before it was cancelled by ABC. I loved the characters, and storyline - but most of all the GREAT actors! I was a fan of Sex and the City, so I saw two characters I recognized (Bridget Moynahan was & The Character "Todd" was "Smith Jared"), as well as Jay Hernandez (From Carlito's Way: Rise To Power) and Erika Christensen (Swimfan). I enjoy watching young actors get their due, and felt like this show would propel their career further along. I hope this at least gets put back out on DVD, and maybe WB will pick it up for a second season sometime? In the meantime, I'm viewing it on ABC's website from the beginning.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bellissimo
massimolabraca9 September 2007
Here Italy (I write from Venice). Why cancelated? The ABC should have given it a chance to build an audience. The cast (w/Hope Davis, Campbell Scott, Erika Christensen, Zoe Saldana, Jay Hernandez and Bridget Moynahan) is one of the best I've seen in recent. We need more shows like this that makes viewers feel like they are intelligent individuals not mindless drones. I hope that ABC will reconsider its decision or another station will pick it up. Please sign online petition to Abc: http://www.PetitionOnline.com/gh1215/petition.html Please sign online petition to Abc: http://www.PetitionOnline.com/gh1215/petition.html
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's a Gem. The finest cast on TV. Why was it cancelled????
yelenakaplun1 August 2007
I watched the un-aired episodes online and I was so sad that the show won't be back. It had the best cast of mature, talented actors and an amazing chemistry. It seemed like all the actors are personal friends in real life. Towards the end the show became engaging, sexy and highly watchable. Of course, some of the story lines are not realistic, so what... The characters are all likable and you root for them. The show reminded me a cross between 2 other favorites: "Sex and the City" and "Felicity". Big kudos to all the cast. Note to ABC execs: Nielsen ratings reports do not show you true results. The show audience will mostly record it. I've been very disappointed with major networks for flooding us with reality-TV or teenage oriented shows. Why to get a mature, thoughtful, well-acted material we have to switch to HBO or FX? I can only thank the network for putting the rest of the episodes online. The new stream media will gain more and more popularity among viewers.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Why Why Why???
nebur_scb5 July 2007
Oh man, why? "Six Degrees" is a show about this so called theory that we all are linked by someone. If focus on the lives of a group of people and the consequences of their actions.

When I first heard of this show, it didn't caught my attention at all. It seemed too ordinary, actually. Then, i saw some episodes... and loved it! First of all, the characters. They are all well-written and different from each other. There's a alcohol addicted, a woman whose fiancée cheats on her, a woman who just lost her husband, a driver who has a troubled brother and so on... Unlike what we're used to, most of the characters interact with each other in casualties, like in our daily routines. Great! My favourite ones are Mae, Carlos and Whitney.

Then, the cast. They are all great. Jay Hernandez, from "Hostel", shows here his acting habilities in a more 3d character than his previous work as Paxton. The other ones give great performances too, specially Campbell Scott, who plays Steven and Bridget Moynahan, who plays Whitney.

Well when i came to IMDb, after watching some episodes, i couldn't believe that it got cancelled. Seriously, i can't understand the low ratings.

It's too bad it didn't have more than one season. It would really be a good show to follow!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Six Degrees= Amazing
nellysgirl28 June 2007
This deserves a 12 out of 10. An absolutely refreshing show with real characters and real stories. This show needs to come back, I've seen every episode and this is real quality.

The show centers around a couple of New Yorkers, plays around with the concept of the six degrees of separation and cleverly intertwines their lives. Bridget Moynahan and Jay Hernandez are stunning and so is the adorable Caseman. The scenery is amazing and wardrobes are exquisite.

We need more shows like this that makes viewers feel like they are intelligent individuals not mindless drones.

If it never comes back, six degrees will be sorely missed.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This IS reality TV
wadmancincy26 June 2007
What is really sad, shows like Six Degree's and Brothers & Sisters are the true reality TV, not that garbage that are nothing more than glorified game shows. I think the ground swell of discontent has been there for the past few years with very premature cancellation's of numerous shows with a cult following. But with the more vocal backlash the fans of Jericho (which I also enjoy) and other shows, networks may start to reverse this trend. I am like others, I will not support ANY new shows until they have been given a second season. I'll then possibly make a decision to watch and catch up via DVD's and online viewing. Until then ABC, you have lost me as a viewer to ANY new show.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A double Tragedy
t_clark8724 September 2007
Six Degrees is a wonderful show! I watched the entire season online since I just found it and was terribly disappointed that there will not be a season 2 :'( and to top it all off, ABC has now taken it off-line, so it is unable to be viewed online anymore. Why would ABC create such a wonderful show, with a great story line and with great characters just to pull it off the air without ever completing the tale. It seems it is left to our imagination to figure out what happens to all of our connected characters. Honestly though I feel that ABC could at least place the show online for viewers who enjoied it while they continue to air overrated reality TV shows. Six Degrees we will miss you.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good news for Six Degrees fans - Season on ABC.com for free
clivebearman20 September 2007
Like many TV viewers I ignored Six Degrees the first time round, however I was very intrigued when I heard that ABC was now offering some of it's shows for free on the web.

So I went to ABC.com and to my surprise found the whole season of six degrees, for gratis. I watched the first episode and got really addicted. I was really surprised to learn that the show wasn't renewed for a second season, but was stunned to discover that in fact it didn't even make it to episode three! So if you are a fan and want to find out how everyone is connected to everyone else just go to ABC.com and launch the player.

Superb!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Six Degrees is too good to not being canceled!,
BenCZ12 January 2009
I borrowed (slightly modified) title from some other comment. I have to say, that as i usually don't like relationship series, I really did liked this one. Great characters, interesting and not cliché story, good acting, good and again not cliché (which in case of dialogs is rather rare) dialogs ... It is really interesting, how the characters cross paths with each other, and sometimes knowingly, sometimes more or less at random influence each others lives. But unfortunately, as we say in our country - do you know how do you recognize a good US series? It is the one that got canceled before the end of the first season. Sure, it isn't always true, but ...
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Six degrees
shelley_221122 September 2008
I have complained to ABC about the cancellation of six degrees. If enough people do the same then it could be enough to bring this fabulous show back to life!! Just go onto the official site and the rest is simple enough. I do not understand why this show has been cancelled. What a fantastic show, cast and characters. The whole concept is gripping viewing! I am astounded that my favourite show is over after just one series. Why is this? Six degrees is phenomenal, it's better than so many other TV programmes out there! Until I heard they were stopping it from a friend it hadn't even occurred to me that this might happen.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Why just one series?
lrock-515 July 2008
We only got this recently in the UK and I am absolutely hooked. I love the way the writers interlink these peoples lives and make each character so likable despite their storyline. The pace is perfect and each episode holds your interest and leaves you wanting more. Why did they not commission another series? We are being starved of good drama in the UK and drowning in banal reality TV shows. Even UK actors are now complaining about the lack of good drama and that TV is now aimed at 20 somethings. Don't those who have any power within the networks know that it is the baby boomer generation that are the major TV audience. The 20 somethings are out partying. Just what do we need to do to change things?
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Disappointed in cancellation of this show
rmccracken467 May 2008
While listening to an audio book, Cambpell Scott is the reader. I was so excited to hear his voice and that brought back my disappointment that "Six Degrees" was canceled. They never seem to keep the good shows on air long enough to capture an audience that can connect with the shows story. What a shame, and shame on th network for not giving this show a full seasons chance. This was an excellent show to watch with a great cast. The network gave "Men in Trees" a second chance witch is also a great show , but they took "Invasion" off and that also was something totally different to watch, not the same old-same old themes. Why can't the networks get it right.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed