Thor (2011) Poster

(2011)

User Reviews

Review this title
744 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Thor
MR_Heraclius24 February 2020
Thor is a film that takes risks - and they pay off wonderfully. The movie grounds itself in reality while keeping a mythological and fantasy-esqe tone, and it never loses sight of the humanity within the characters, with elevates this above standard superhero fare.
58 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Thor proves a strong contender
rparham3 June 2011
In the pantheon of Marvel Superheroes, from my vantage point, Thor is a second-tier player. Even amongst non-obsessive comic aficionados, such as myself, Thor doesn't quite have the readership draw or the common familiarity in the public that heroes such as Spider-Man, Batman, Superman, etc., have. However, that doesn't mean that Marvel Studios, the filmmaking wing of the company, feel inclined to give the filmic adaptation of Thor short shrift. The cinematic entry for this character, titled simply Thor, is among the better of the Marvel adaptations of recent years, mixing a good sense of fun, strong acting, and some Shakespearian level drama that makes for an especially entertaining time at the movies.

Liberally adapting portions of Thor comic book lore to fit in a more modern comic book film reality, Thor introduces us to a centuries old war between the Asgardians, beings that live for long periods of time and can travel through space from their home realm of Asgard to various other worlds, such as Earth, via the Bi-Frost bridge, and the conflict centric Frost Giants, whom the Asgardians conquered some time back. Odin (Anthony Hopkins), ruler of the Asgardians, is preparing to abdicate his throne to his son, Thor (Chris Hemsworth), but on the eve of Thor's inauguration, agents of the Frost Giants infiltrate Asgard and attempt to steal back a device that is the key to their power, which had been taken by Odin at the end of their long struggle. When Thor disagrees with his father's desire to not to retaliate in order to not disturb the peace that currently exists between the Asgardians and the Frost Giants, he takes matters into his own hands, traveling to the Frost Giant's realm with his brother Loki (Tom Hiddleston), and compatriots Sif (Jaimie Alexander), Volstagg (Ray Stevenson), Hogun (Tadanobu Asano) and Fandral (Josh Dallas) in tow. When the encounter with the Frost Giants ends with tensions re-ignited between the two factions, Odin decides that his son is not prepared to lead his people, and exiles Thor, sans his powers, to Earth.

When he arrives on Earth, he is discovered by astrophysicist Jane Foster (Natalie Portman) and her associates Professor Selvig (Stellan Skarsgaard) and Darcy Lewis (Kat Dennings), who are convinced that he isn't a random homeless vagabond that they found in the middle of the desert. Thor must attempt to locate his power hammer, Mjolnir, from the government agents that have captured it, and attempt to reclaim his place in Asgard. However, he finds that, without his super-human abilities, and surrounded by humans, perhaps some of his previous attitudes were incorrect, especially when he connects romantically with Jane. Meanwhile, Loki, who turns out to have some ulterior motives, seizes control of Asgard following the collapse of Odin from strain, and begins to hatch a grand scheme involving the Frost Giants.

Thor, much like Iron Man before it, proves that, in the right hands, a comic tale that appears silly on the surface can have hidden depths when properly plumbed. Sure, Thor has elements that, on the face of it, may lead a bit to some audience snickers (Thor's ability to pick himself up and fly and defeat attackers with little effort are a bit cheesy at times), but the creatives behind Thor, including director Kenneth Branagh, manage to develop a story for Thor that deals with elements of tragedy, pathos, selflessness and, perhaps even more surprisingly, involving character development. Thor is more about the lead characters at its core, again akin to Iron Man, than some other comic book films and this draws the audience into its tale.

When it was first announced that Kenneth Branagh would be taking the reins of Thor as a director, it seemed something of an unusual fit for someone best known for his cinematic adaptations of the works of Shakespeare, but the final results of Thor bare out that Branagh was just the right man for the job. Considering the larger-than-life origins of the Thor comic, involving beings with the power and appearance of Gods and the various machinations of their story, the material fits fairly well with Branagh's body of work to a great extent. Especially strong is the development of Loki, who proves to be less of a traditional mustache twirling villain, and more of a misguided soul, trapped between revelations he makes about himself and his past and his respect in his father, making him more of a tragic figure than a black and white comic book antagonist.

Thor benefits from strong acting from its leads, Hemsworth and Hiddleston. Hemsworth embodies Thor, first as the brash, acting-before- thinking hero, and later as a man faced with the reality that some of his choices and attitudes were not becoming of a king. Hemsworth really makes you empathize with Thor, and gives you a reason to root for the character throughout the film. Hiddleston, working with the somewhat subdued (at first) Loki eventually transforms him from a seeming weak, malleable person into one who's penchant for vengeance and control is revealed in layers, peeling back one by one through the development of the narrative.

Thor isn't without its weak points, however. The romance between Thor and Jane Foster is practically and afterthought, rushed into the narrative at light speed and then not given any room to breathe or develop, it plays more as a requirement of adapting the comic story than something that works organically in the film. Portman is fine in the role, but the screenplay doesn't give enough to this relationship for it to be more than a bump in the road of the film's story.

Once again, Marvel has managed to take one of their lesser known heroes and make them the subject of an entertaining film version, with energy and depth that is a bit unexpected. May they keep on making comic book films of this caliber.
113 out of 167 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best MCU stories and productions
Top_Dawg_Critic19 June 2019
Who knew Thor was the perfect drinking buddy and is domesticated lol? Perfect writing. Perfect directing. Perfect casting. Perfect cinematography. Perfect amount of S/VFX. Perfect score. Perfect comedy/drama/thrills. Etc... 10/10
26 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A perfect popcorn entertainer...
Bioscopic_Wonders28 June 2020
The Marvel magic continues with Thor, as they create yet another throrouly enjoyable, fun, action packed and humourous adventure, where we're introduced to a bigger universe extending far beyond Earths realm.

What this movie does perfectly is ground the characters, and link them to our reality so that even though we're dealing with the mystical Frost Giants or the humoungous Destroyer, the characters do not appear other worldly or over powered to the existing superheroes.

The visuals are captivating, whether it be the splendours of Asgard or the chilly Jotunheim, the CGI is excellent. The story is crisply told, fast paced and simple, taking us across the realms and giving us a background to some really interesting, well written and well portrayed characters.

Chris Hemsworth nails the role of Thor with this charm, comic timing and of course good looks. He brings across the carefree, impulsive Thor while also showing a compassionate, gentle side to the character who'd otherwise have been all brawn and no brain.

Antony Hopkins is brilliant as ever, playing Odin Allfather with all the gravitas that the ruler of the nine realms should possess. He shows his steely, ruthless side, as well as his soft, wise nature with elan.

With Tom Hiddleston Marvel have struck gold when it comes to antagonist. His portrayal of Loki is by far the best negative character in the Marvel universe thus far. The God of mischief oozes charisma and brings out his underlying conflicts to perfection.

Natalie Portman and Stellan Skarsgard play important roles in helping Thor in his transformational journey, and we get small bits and pieces of Idris Elba and Jeremy Renners Heimdall and Hawkeye with a hope that they'd play meatier parts in future movies.

The action sequences are frequent and fun, there's a lot of humour, especially as Thor adjusts to the ways of the Earth and it keeps you engaged from the start to the end.

All in all, this film provides a perfect introduction to other worldly elements to be incorporated later in the MCU while managing to hold its own as a spectacle.

It may not be on par with Iron Man when it comes to a deep, rich story line, but it's the closest a movie in the MCU has come so far in touching those grand heights.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Intelligent and fun comic-book popcorn epic!
sidfargas18 April 2011
Thor was much much better than I expected. I didn't know if they could pull of the balance between the Norse mythology stuff and the real world Marvel Universe. I should've known better because Marvel knows their characters and knows what we want to see. Spider-Man set a new standard for the superhero film genre back in the day. Iron Man upped the ante. Thor takes the ball and runs with it and places that bar even higher. I look forward to seeing it again and know it will do well enough to be worthy of a sequel because word of mouth is going to be great. Trust me when I say Thor REALLY IS as good as Iron Man and is most worthy to be called one of the greatest adaptations ever.

Chris Hemsworth as the Norse god Thor, and Tom Hiddleston as his villainous brother Loki show they have the acting ability and star quality to become mega-marquee names in the future. Marvel found two absolute diamonds in the rough. Both actors make a HUGE impression and are wonderful on screen. You knew Acedemy Award winners Anthony Hopkins and Natalie Portman would bring it but these relative unkowns more than hold their own on screen. I know the script is written mostly for them but they carry it in a big way. From what I've read, Hemsworth and Hiddleston were cast almost a year in advance of filming the story so, they had time to get into shape and do character research. They certain did these long-time Marvel greats proud. Intelligent comic-book popcorn epics are rare and this one is definitely a cut above the usual fare.
378 out of 617 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Entertaining Adventure
claudio_carvalho25 September 2011
In 965 D.C., in Tornsberg, Norway, the Frost Giants from Jotunheim led by King Laufey (Colm Feore) attack the locals, and the Allfather Odin (Anthony Hopkins) and the warriors of Asgard protect the humans and win the battle against the invaders. They take their source of power and bring it to Asgard and they start an armistice with Jotunheim.

When three Frost Giants break in Asgard trying to retrieve their source of power, they are destroyed by the Destroyer. The arrogant Thor (Chris Hemsworth) decides to attack Jotunheim with his stepbrother Loki (Tom Hiddleston) and four Asgardian warriors and disobeys the order of his father Odin. In order to avoid war against Jotunheim, Odin removes the powers of Thor and exiles him on Earth to live among the humans. Odin also throws his hammer Mjölnir to New Mexico and orders that only the one that is worth will get the powerful hammer and achieve Thor's powers.

In Puente Antigo, New Mexico, the physician Jane Foster (Natalie Portman) is researching a phenomenon in the desert with her professor Erik Selvig (Stellan Skarsgård) and her mate Darcy Lewis (Kat Dennings). Out of the blue, Thor is hit by Jane's truck and she takes him to the hospital. Thor unsuccessfully tries to retrieve Mjölnir that is protected by agents of the government SHIELD. When the Machiavellian Loki sends the Destroyer to Earth to kill Thor, he needs to retrieve his hammer to save not only the humans, but also his Allfather Odin and Asgard from the evil Loki.

"Thor" is an entertaining adventure based on the character of the comic book published by Marvel Comics. Natalie Portman is usually the synonym of a good movie and she is delightful in the role of a scientist. The plot is funny and the scenes with the human Thor; the Nordic black gatekeeper Heimdall (Idris Elba); and the Vikings and Gods speaking in English are hilarious. The special effects are top-notch and the viewer may bring the popcorn and delight with a pleasant family entertainment. My vote is seven.

Title (Brazil): "Thor"
35 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An immensely enjoyable Marvel entry that complements the tone of Iron Man films
theycallmemrglass20 April 2011
I watched this last night at a preview screening in London.

I prayed that Kenneth Branagh would learn from his mistakes with handling a big budget movie, namely his Frankeinstein. Thankfully, I am glad to say he learnt a great deal from those mistakes. Of course, this is no Henry V, this is just pure popcorn entertainment but a thoroughly enjoyable introduction to Thor for the big screen. Chris Hemsworth played the part with a lot of energy, charisma and I have to admit from a bloke's point of view, annoying good looks. Anthony Hopkins added much needed heavyweight presence as Odin but its a role he has quite frankly played a gazillion times but I never tire of it, so I'm not complaining. In a year long span of brilliantly playing vastly different roles from psychotic to swashbuckling heroine, Natalie Portman this time plays the sweet determined scientist girl who falls for the strangely mannered good looking guy. Nothing too taxing for any of them but they do give a re-assuring aura about them.

The visuals were quite spectacular, mainly, the sweeping canvas of Asgard. The action scenes were also good though I thought could have been executed better with lesser use of the fast cut edit style that is too often the norm in action film these days.

There is plenty of humour when Thor is on Earth but not in a put-off way as there is a suitable contrast of a serious tone with everything set in Asgard. Even though the storyline was somewhat predictable, it was still a riveting one.

For those like me, who were concerned about how Thor fits into the established Marvel connected universe set by the Iron Man films need not worry. That is just another thing that Branagh and crew pulls off very well. We can now fully embrace the forthcoming Avengers where a God, a man who transforms into a giant green beast, and a man who flies in a hi tech amour suit can share the same screen. So its all coming together nicely.

And make sure you stay for the end credit scenes. In case you did not know of this before, I urge you to go back to the previous films (Iron Man 1 & 2, Incredible Hulk) and watch the end of credit sequences if you haven't already. They tell a separate story strand that will culminate to a certain upcoming Marvel movie. The end credit sequence of Thor is the most fascinating yet as it actually takes a major plot development in the story strand ;) And it was the longest bloody end of credit sequence I've ever seen in any movie! One last thing, the film I saw was in 3d and once again, it practically nearly ruined all the action scenes for me. In the non action scenes, it was pretty useless and just simply made the film much darker.
229 out of 381 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun movie
AngelHonesty28 December 2019
Great movie! The storyline is very well done! I love how they show Asgard and explain how everything fits into place. The humor is very tasteful, mixed with a good amount of action. The only thing that could have used some improving was the way they filmed the film. The shakey camera and weird angles are a little annoying, but the rest of the film makes up for this. Very good choice in the cast, could not have picked a better actor for Thor or Loki. Natalie Portman's part isn't the best. She has cheesy lines and her acting doesnt flow right, even though she is a talented actress. She does better with serious parts inatead of light and comical. This movie is very clean and makes a great fun movie for the entire family.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Entertainment At It's Best!
namashi_129 April 2011
Based on comic book character of the same name published by Marvel Comics, 'Thor' is Entertainment At It's Best! Put on your 3D glasses, and I can assure you, your in for a roller-coaster ride, that is filled with stunning effects, entertaining moments & intriguing performances.

Directed by Kenneth Branagh, 'Thor' tells the story Thor, The god of thunder based on the Norse mythological deity of the same name. It's the Journey of Thor, the powerful, arrogant yet heroic character, that is the latest addition to the host of Superheroes.

The Writing is Spot-On from start to end. In fact, Thor and his entire motivations, powers & ark, come out wonderfully. The Action Sequences are bombastic, while the Special Effects, as mentioned before, are stunning and come as a pleasure to your eyes. The 3D impact is definitely not missing here, as there are truly clap-worthy moments that look even more bigger due to the glasses on.

Kenneth Branagh's directs this Heroic tale, efficiently. And He is blessed with a catchy storyline & rich special effects. Cinematography is picture-perfect. Editing is good.

Performance-Wise: Chris Hemsworth as Thor, is awesome and carries the film on his shoulders from start to end. He is indeed a mega-star in the coming time. Natalie Portman is very sincere. Sir Anthony Hopkins is okay, while Tom Hiddleston is every effective as the bad guy. Stellan Skarsgård & Kat Dennings are passable. Ray Stevenson, Idris Elba, Colm Feore & Joshua Dallas leave a mark. Rene Russo gets limited scope.

On the whole, Don't give 'Thor' a miss. This one's a winner all the way!
65 out of 128 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Kenneth Branagh adds heavy dramatic depth to an already quite-unusual superhero flick
dvc51596 May 2011
Alright, back when this was into preproduction, I (and so many comic book fans) were surprised when Branagh was slated to direct. Here we have Thor the god of lightning and his mighty hammer, directed by a man who works mostly around William Shakespeare plays.

Thankfully, this helps. A lot.

Almost every superhero movie (Marvel, lately) focuses on more action instead of character development. Sure, they may look awesome, but you get used to it. Branagh bravely steers away from this predicament and directs the actors with such skill and flair you may mistake this film for yet another Branagh/Shakespeare costume epic.

Make no mistake this is still a superhero film, with some nice special effects and a stylish production design for Asgard, but there's a nice human twist to the story - that of dueling brothers, or gods, or god- brothers... you get the idea. Chris Hemsworth looks just about right for the part and shows some charisma as well as the hero. Branagh has assembled an interesting mix of actors - we have the great Anthony Hopkins, the cute Natalie Portman, Stellan Skarsgard, Kat Dennings, Idris Elba and even Rene Russo. Tom Hiddleston however steals the scene as the mischievous brother Loki.

Here's another good thing about the movie - the story and acting outweigh the special effects and action sequences. For a superhero film, this is extremely rare. Branagh deserves kudos for the effort, however some parts do not gel in nicely and there's some action bits that are not too well-filmed.

All is forgiven though - "Thor" is an above-average superhero movie, not extremely exciting, but definitely intriguing. Fans of both comic book films and costume dramas will certainly enjoy this.

Two words of caution - one, keep an eye out for some cameos, both during and after the film. Two, for goodness sake do not watch it in 3D. I saw it in normal 2D and that's fine enough by me. I didn't see anything worth watching in 3D in it.

Overall rating: 68/100
16 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Thunder? More smoke and mirrors
adrongardner13 September 2011
Plain and simple - when the humans show up the movie dies a slow death.

It's a superhero movie so you know what the plot is. Hero comes to Earth to help humans. They're basically riffing Superman to the Nth degree here. But on to the important stuff...

What the heck is Natalie Portman doing in this movie. I mean that in two ways. First why is she even in the movie? Second, what did she do other than stand there and let her hair be blown around by the off screen wind machines? It felt like all of her scenes were filmed in one day and she looks so bored in all of them. Chris Hemsworth was fine as Thor and Hopkins played a good Odin, but it was the human characters that kill this one.

At least Branagh threw in Skarsgard for the Swede inside joke. But as usual Stellan Skarsgard is totally wasted. After Insomnia I was just in awe of what the man is truly capable of and here in the states they always use him as a window curtain.

I didn't mind the first act all that much, but for a movie about the GOD OF THUNDER, it comes off surprisingly meek.
34 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
For the love of God
MAYESY-4410 June 2020
I'm always a fan of the first films with each character because of the originality. I'm watching them again from the start and Thor is not as good as Iron Man but is still a very good film. The relationship between Thor and Loki is a massive part of the MCU story and is at the forefront of this film, still really good action and continuation of the MCU.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Thunderously good entertainment !
janus-2025 April 2011
Straight to the point, this was not only one of the better ones, its one of the few really good ones. I'm sure anyone reading this knows what i'm getting at, they either get these right or they get them wrong. Well this ones right, very right, from start to finish, epic, spectacular, warm, funny, action packed.

The story draws you in, the characters are likable, the pace is just right, doesn't race along, but doesn't plod either. Great cast, particularly Chris Hemsworth, if Captain America and Green Lantern can keep up this standard then it'll be a good summer season.

Ken's pulled it all together. Go and watch it, i cant imagine you wont enjoy it and if you think i'm being paid to say this then get stuffed !!
165 out of 308 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Powerful Family Dynamic and Beautiful Landscape
featheredsun8 September 2011
This is a throw-off piece of Marvel fiction that is packed full of cliché and predictability...to a point.

I found myself cringing at a lot of the scenes of heroism and there's a definite stink of pure cheetos-stained fanboyism in many of the scenes in general, with the usual over-the-top "glory" of this old four-color trope.

But certain things caught my attention as well-done.

First, Asgard is absolutely beautiful. They went all out in making a realm of metallic and elemental grandeur. I had no trouble in buying this as the realm of Asgard, the ultimate land of beautiful heroism. In particular, the rainbow bridge, the weaponry, and the interior scenes were very fitting in general style and specific detail. Very impressive visually and even thematically.

Second, Branagh's touch can be seen with Shakespearean flair in the family of Odin the AllFather. Odin himself is brimmed with both the rime of age and the wisdom that comes with it and yet his voice can instantly summon fearful authority. Hopkins does well with that balance, even through some cheesy scripting.

And the brothers... the sibling rivalry here is very very potent in that it is nuanced and fully realized by both actors. There is love there, but also a lack of understanding, envy, and hate. Loki is far from a cardboard villain, in that we see, all in one package - a fighter who protects his allies, an honest counselor, a liar, a cautious thinker, a smooth tongue, and an awkward one. He loves and reveres his father, but comes to almost fatally doubt him and even hate him...but it's all very real and very stirring. And even when it's clear that he's done very grim deeds, you can actually understand and accept his motives...and his last scene in the film brings all three of the family men together in a very poignant moment of utter loss.

I was pretty surprised how moving this all was, especially when put in the middle of some otherwise-uninspiring hero pablem.

So in summary, this movie both met my negative expectation of disappointment and surprised me with some purely moving content. See it to see if it surprises you at all as well, and forget the whole comic-book hero thing, since that's been done far better.

Thanks for reading.
30 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Hammer Time!
billygoat10718 May 2011
In "Thor", I don't think the action is the big deal here while it's a movie from Marvel. Kenneth Branagh is more fond to tell the story, which is a better thing. The changes of the story of "Thor" is very fascinating. It's not a generic superhero movie that has a weak man becoming a superhuman then ends with a lot of action mess. It's more of a compelling drama fantasy with a little action and a lot more sense. "Thor" has some problems with the action but who cares, it's definitely great & entertaining.

First goes to the performances. Chris Hemsworth hams it up (no pun intended. he really did) although he is quite entertaining. Anthony Hopkins, he made Odin more than what we expect him to do. Tom Hiddleston's portrayal made Loki the best villain in the universe of the Avengers so far.

The action of the first act was pretty good. Plodding at times but when it comes to earth scenes, it's becoming somewhat unexpectedly boring. Kenneth Branagh has problems in making some of the action scenes but he has the heart to tell the story. It's amazing how the changed story and the performance are more mind-blowing than the action since this is a superhero movie. As you expected in a Marvel movie, "Thor" is hilarious at times.

While some of the action scenes weren't mind-blowing, The visuals were good. Asgard is beautifully made by the effects and the solid production design. Some of the effects are like video game graphics though. The cinematography has a tilted camera style to make it a better experience to the movie. The score is your standard fantasy music.

"Thor" is a little disappointing but it's still good because it's compelling. It's not an ordinary superhero movie. It's a drama fantasy movie with true depth. The storytelling made it more interesting. "Thor" has more magic than superhero action. It can be one of the best superhero movies although it isn't really loyal to its superhero movie elements. "Thor" is pretty unique to its genre and it's a good Kenneth Branagh film.
43 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Thor Continues to Build Up the Momentum for The Avengers
estebangonzalez102 May 2011
¨Whoever wields this hammer, if he be worthy, shall possess the power of Thor.¨ With Thor, summer movies have officially started in Hollywood. It's not one of my favorite seasons of the year for films, but if the rest of the movies can live up to what Kenneth Branagh has accomplished with Thor it will be an exciting and entertaining season at the movies. I wasn't a huge fan of Thor before this movie came out, I wasn't even expecting too much out of it, but I decided to go see it because he's still one of The Avengers and I couldn't miss out on all the propaganda that began with Iron Man. With each one of these films my expectations for The Avengers is rapidly building, and even Thor managed to win me over to his side. The first thing I can say about the movie is that it was entertaining enough for me to want to go see it twice in two days. The story, the visuals, the strong performance from two relatively unknown actors like Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston are all factors that contribute to making this movie successful. Include Natalie Portman and Anthony Hopkins into the mix and you have an even better film. The directing had a lot to do with it as well because Kenneth Branagh is a serious and dedicated director; he has proved it time after time with his adaptations of Shakespearean plays. He was dedicated with this project as well; adapted this Marvel comic superhero and prepared him for the big screen. Like most every Marvel character, they are very well developed and the film is no exception remaining true to the comic.

Thor (Chris Hemsworth) is the son of Odin (Anthony Hopkins) the god of Asgard. He is a great warrior and his father has been preparing him to be the future King of Asgard. It is no easy task because Asgardians are the keepers of the peace in all nine realms (Earth being one of those realms). They can travel from one realm to another through the Forest which is guarded by Heimdall (Idris Elba). Odin saved Earth from extinction many centuries ago when the Frost Giants tried to destroy the planet. Odin defeated them and took away their power so they could no longer leave their planet, Jotunheimr. Odin has kept the peace during all these years but now it's time to proclaim Thor as his heir to the throne. On the day of his proclamation something unexpected occurs and three Frost Giants manage to enter Asgard and almost steal the cube which holds their power. However The Destroyer does his job and kills the invaders before they can do any harm. Thor is furious and wants to give the Giants a lesson, but Odin wants to maintain peace and orders Thor to remain in Asgard. Against his father's command Thor travels to Jotunheimr with his younger brother Loki (Tom Hiddleston), the 3 warriors: Volstagg, Hogun, and Fandral, and Sif (Jaime Alexander). Together they face the Giants who tell them there is a traitor in Asgard. Odin discovers that Thor disobeyed his command, rescues the warriors from the Frost Giants but vanishes Thor to Earth without his supernatural powers. In Earth Thor meets a group of scientists: Dr. Erik Selvig (Stellan Skarsgard), Jane Foster (Natalie Portman), and Darcy (Kat Dennings) who help him rediscover his path.

I can imagine how difficult it was to try to make a serious movie out of all this Norse mythology about the nine realms and so on, but Branagh pulls it off by combining humor with the story. For instance when the three warriors come to Earth to find Thor, the unbelievable situation is toned down with a lot of humor. The same can be said with the Destroyer when he arrives at Earth to try to destroy Thor. When the SHIELD agents first see this metal giant they believe it could be one of Stark's creations. So whenever the plot seems to be getting ridiculous, the tone of the film is cooled down with a lot of humor. The funniest character is Darcy who with clever one-liners manages to steal most laughs. I liked Kat Dennings in Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist, but here once more she proves she is a talented actress. The true stars of the film however are Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston. Hemsworth plays Thor to perfection, and Hiddleston is excellent as Loki. The scene where he realizes his true identity is perhaps one of the most dramatic and best acted sequences in the movie. I know we are being bombarded with a lot of superhero movies, but as long as they keep on making them this entertaining I have no problem with that. Thor is no Dark Knight, or even Iron Man for that matter, but it still is a very good film. I will end my review by quoting my six year old brother's words after the movie ended: ¨I don't want to have an Iron Man party for my birthday anymore. I want it to be Thor!¨ http://estebueno10.blogspot.com/
16 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Recommended 👍
TheNonSmoker3 July 2020
Good movie, my time has well spend on this, so I recommend this to others too :)
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Me Thor, You Jane
bkoganbing27 May 2011
The Marvel Comic hero Thor of course based on the ancient Norse God of Thunder comes to the big screen in a fine version with very nice computer graphic special effects. And it has the added attraction of a classical actor like Kenneth Branagh directing and having the lines of the Norse immortals spoken as if the Bard had written them.

As played by Chris Hemsworth, Thor's been exiled to Earth, the last time he visited there was when the ancient Norse were worshiping him and other such beings who visited from Asgaard. Thor's a warrior, but it takes more than being mighty in battle to rule as his father Odin keeps patiently trying to tell him.

Anthony Hopkins another actor with classical acting chops plays Odin and I wonder if Hopkins might have envied Laurence Olivier for getting the plum role of Zeus in a film. He's now equaled him in playing another immortal deity.

Thor lands on Earth, New Mexico to be specific and runs into scientific researcher Jane and she tickles his fancy the same way that other Jane rang Tarzan's bell. Natalie Portman is the object of Hemsworth's affections.

But back on Asgaard Thor's brother Loki as played by Tom Higglesworth is plotting a palace coup of his own. That leads to a really spectacular fight to the finish as Thor's mighty hammer gives a few folks an attitude adjustment.

Branagh served up a fine tasty dish for those who like their comic book heroes. Hopefully we'll see these folks again in some further adventures.
15 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
More than a popcorn film
Gordon-1130 August 2011
This film is about the prince of Asgard who gets banished to the Earth for his impulsive action to protect his father's realm.

"Thor" is quite refreshing as it mixes historical drama with modern day life in a science fiction context. Such a blend may seem out of place in other films, but "Thor" blends these ideas well. The plot is well explained and engaging. Visuals are great, especially the roaring clouds and the fight scenes on the bridge. Both Thor and Loki are superbly depicted characters. Everything from the characters, story and visuals are so convincing and real. "Thor" is very entertaining, but it is more than just a popcorn summer blockbuster.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
For what Kenneth Branaugh accomplishes, Thor is a satisfying Marvel superhero tale of epic proportions
Screen_Blitz2 November 2017
Thor is an excitement-filled action adventure that competently puts the God of Thunder on the pedestal with flashy visual scope serving a warm welcome for another Marvel comics entry. Taking the director's chair is Kenneth Branaugh who takes the spirit of the titular hero and slaps it on screen with endearing charisma, and the results shine, though not in a way that breaths game-changer. As opposed to many heroes of the Avengers team, Thor is not your typical modern day hero. This hammer-wielding god combines average superhero elements and clashes them with the fantasy-esque world that bears reminiscence to Greek mythology. He is an inhabitant of a mystical world of unnatural wonders outside of Earth, and serves as the center of the story that draws small parallels to William Shakespeare's 'Hamlet'. In some context, it is an superhero origin story that almost falls in the category of an epic, though perhaps that classification would be rooting too deep. This film is takes us in the distant world of Asgard, ruled by the mighty king Odin (played by Anthony Hopkins). Under his wing are his two sons Thor (played by Chris Hemsworth) and Loki (played by Tom Hiddleston). As Odin prepares to crown the former as king, the realm becomes threatened by evil Frost Giants. Determined to protect his home, Thor goes against his father's orders and sets out to find against the evildoers. When his actions heightens a war between Asgard and the giants, Odin strips Thor of his powers and exiles him to Earth where he is forced to enlist the help of scientists Eric Slevig (played by Stellan Skarsgard) and Jane Foster (played by Natalie Portman) and their intern Darcy Lewis (played by Kat Denning) to help regain his powers. Meanwhile, back on Asgard, Loki, jealous by his father's initial plans to choose Thor over him as the new ruler, hatches an evil plan of his own.

Kenneth Branaugh crafts a refreshing picture of the titular Marvel comics star with solid precision, and from start to finish, never takes telling a compelling story for granted. The premise introduces the world of Asgard, warmed with dazzling CGI, and the characters very effectively, and once everyone steps into the action, the results pay off. The first special effects-laden sequence featuring Thor, Loki, and their fellow warriors battling against the Frost Giants not only satisfy with their effects glaze, but energetically set the story in motion following Thor's banishment from the home realm. His quest to regain his strength to fight against the evil that has threatened his home holds the most meant, but also lies a few of the narrative flaws. The story feels a bit rushed at times to the point where you hold the feeling that a half-hour of more runtime could have been more necessary to add more gravity to the plot. Nonetheless, the best thing to say that is that with the script, written by a team of three writers, keeps things rolling without spending too much time sketching out connections with the Marvel Cinematic Universe beyond SHIELD Agent Coulson, played by Clark Gregg, making a sweet appearance as a supporting figure. Chris Hemsworth proves to be the satisfying choice for the titular role, playing his character of humanity and clever sense of humor. His romantic chemistry with Natalie Portman is a bit weak, but perhaps less important to her characterization. English actor Tom Hiddleston on the other hand, submits arguably one of the most appealing villainous performances ever brought to the superhero realm, operating his role with both menace and darkly rooted charisma.

Thor is a fun picture for both fans and a little bit of non-fans of Marvel Comics. Kenneth Branaugh crafts a warmly entertaining thrill ride that nicely meets the bar of summer superhero movies. For the filmmaker accomplishes, there is plenty to be offered in this solid rendition of its titular hero, though nothing destined to blow many other superhero entries out of the water. In conclusion, it fits the bill.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Marvel does it again
tomgillespie20027 May 2011
As Marvel's mega-budget Avengers film draws ever closer, the stand-alone origin films are slowly coming to an end. Only Captain America, starring Chris Evans, remains to be released. So Thor arrives, amidst a worry that a portrait of the God of Thunder arriving on Earth after being banished from his kingdom in the sky may look a bit silly, especially when played by actors rather than drawings in a comic-book. But Marvel's track record has been good so far, and even very good, in the case of the first Iron Man film. Their left-wing choices for both actors and directors, and bold decisions have made for interesting viewing, and it's no different here.

King of Asgard, Odin (Anthony Hopkins), sits proud on his throne after defeating the Frost Giants of Jotumheim and bringing peace to the Nine Realms. He has two strong warrior sons, Thor (Chris Hemsworth) and Loki (Tom Hiddleston), one of which will eventually succeed him. But when Asgard is breached by Frost Giants trying to take back their precious Casket of Ancient Winters, seized by Odin, Thor invades Jotumheim with a small band of warriors including Loki, and starts a new war. Odin, livid with Thor's defiance, banishes him to Earth and takes away his all- powerful hammer Mjolnir, deeming him unworthy. When he arrives on Earth, confused and powerless, he is taken in by a scientist Jane Foster (Natalie Portman), while Mjolnir sits in the desert, moulded to a rock, awaiting the touch of someone worthy of it. Meanwhile, back on Asgard, war is afoot and Odin lies near-death, while Loki starts to act suspiciously.

This may all seem ridiculous and silly, and it is. The opening ten minutes, which condenses the history of Asgard and its war with the Frost Giants, is a confusing and silly blur of CGI and narration. My hopes of another Marvel triumph were somewhat dashed, but thankfully, with the arrival of Chris Hemsworth as Thor, and a bit of character development, the film started to become the enjoyable romp that it is.

Marvel's choice for Thor, Chris Hemsworth, whose CV consisted of a main character in Australian soap Home And Away, and a cameo as Captain Kirk's dad in the Star Trek reboot, is a stroke of genius. He has the charm, acting chops, comic timing, the physical presence to actually convince as a God. He was born to play this role, it seems. He juggles between irresponsible, immature and arrogant in the first half, to show off his skills as an action hero you can truly root for in the second. And when the film calls for him to play the fool, he pulls that off too.

The choice for Kenneth Branagh to take the directing reigns was a strange one. A director who is most at home directing literature, namely Shakespeare, would not have been my first choice to direct a blockbuster that could easily go tits-up if mishandled. Yet Branagh handles the duties with a natural flair and confidence. The film goes back and forth from Thor's growing humanity on Earth and his relationship with Portman, to Loki's evil plotting on Asgard without ever losing focus of the story at hand or the large collection of characters.

Overall, this is just a fun film, never taking itself too seriously, yet always maintaining a respect for the source material. The undoubted star to emerge from the film is Hemsworth, who I'm sure will go on to have a successful career. I'll be looking forward to see his character again in the Avengers film, which arrives sometime in 2012. Special mention should also go to Tom Hiddleston, who arrives from the London stage after winning several awards to play a menacing and pleasingly complex villain.

www.the-wrath-of-blog.blogspot.com
10 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of the best comic adaptation
darkmax1 May 2011
Thor has always been one of my personal favorite among mythology. A warrior with a heart of gold, forever tormented by Loki the trickster and magician. Thus, Thor became one of the very first comics I've ever continually subscribed to, for an extended period of time. However, the stories in the series became kind of stale in the 90s, and so I stopped after much disappointment.

The recent revival was great but I'm already over my addiction.

This movie is very well made with plenty of strengths and little weaknesses found in so many comic adaptations. I watched the 2D version as I still can't stand 3D for all that hype about nothing.

1. The cast is a strong one with strong character-actors, even among those with less important roles.

2. CGI is realistic and not over the top. I just wish they would have made the Frost Giants' world less of a twilight zone.

3. Loki was a great character. Instead of portraying him as the standard evil villain, he was made into a sad and jealous antagonist.

4. Costumes and equipments were very well made, especially the armors and weapons. Will there be a life-size replica of Mjolnir? Why do they call it a hammer, when it is obviously a mallet? 5. Wasn't Sif supposed to have long golden locks?.....
51 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Thundering Triumph!
assman20020 April 2011
The first blockbuster of 2011 may be the best. They certainly set the bar very high. It's an exciting and certainly an all-around entertaining comic book adaptation. Nothing in this genre since LOTR has been any better. Everyone involved in the production should be proud to know that their movie can stand toe-to-toe with the likes of anything else that summer can throw at them.

They found the perfect combination of spectacle and guts and passion balanced with the human dynamic of the character. It delivers mind-bending visuals but it still very intelligent and thrilling. How many summer films can you say that about that you've seen over the past ten years or so???? The actors REALLY brought the characters to life. It was really amazing to see it develop on the big screen. There's no doubt that Hemsworth is a star in the making and a rather astounding leading man. Thor is a dazzling example of the superhero movie done right. There were some parts in the movie where I was just blown away. This film has a depth that no one could have expected and is very impressive in scale and design.

I love how the movie played out and it exceeded all my expectations. This was by far the adventure movie I've seen in years. Not too many movies continue to have character growth from start to finish but still pack in the action and heart.
235 out of 458 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Surprisingly Good
gavin694212 May 2012
The powerful but arrogant warrior Thor (Chris Hemsworth) is cast out of the fantastic realm of Asgard and sent to live amongst humans on Earth, where he soon becomes one of their finest defenders.

I have enjoyed Thor as a supporting and humorous character in the past -- both in "Adventures in Babysitting" and one of the early Hulk movies. But I was never convinced he could be the leading character... his story is a strange one outside of Norse mythology.

But here, I think it worked. For me, the biggest concern is how do you reconcile Thor being a god with the other gods of the world? For Christians, there is only one god, so calling Thor a god calls everything into question (in the Marvel Universe). But they made it work here by strongly suggesting he is not, in fact, a god, but was merely seen as one by the old Norse people because his strength was so superior to theirs. Nice save.
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Incredible Action and Fantasy but with a Superb Story! Best in Years!
John_T_Chance26 April 2011
Another outstanding effort, Marvel does it again! It's hard to believe that a movie with this subject matter can make you think and challenge all your movie viewing skills but it does so and more. It's very artistic and you would expect no less from Kenneth Branagh. He presents the entire film in a way that can be savored. Many aspects are classical drama and yet other aspects are just plain old fun kick-butt action scenes. It's a perfect blend and this movie is far deeper then I would've thought. The pacing was perfect as is the link to the Marvel movie Universe... I can't wait to see what Captain America brings us. Overall, a summer movie that's superior to everything else that I've seen in years.

The director's background in Shakespearian themes comes in to play right from the beginning of the film and run throughout. Thor is a super-strong "god" and can travel through space with supernatural powers yet the story is paradoxical and contrary about those elements instead choosing to focus on the human elements. THAT elevates this film far beyond anything I was expecting but I should have known better considering the source material and the director.

The genuine and relatable qualities of these characters are what make it a great film. Sure, the action and fantasy are incredible but the story works so well. The family dynamics between fathers & sons along with sibling rivalry and the price of vanity and lack of humility all resonate. The choices made and the relationships on display are as wonderful as the brawling and action... which are as good as any summer movie that I've seen in years.
68 out of 131 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed