The Dirt (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
560 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
The wait was worth it!
maccas-5636722 March 2019
"The Dirt" Drinking Game: take a shot of Jack Daniels whenever you hear the words "dude", "man" or "chicks". Take a shot for each bare breast you see. Check yourself into rehab 1.5 hours later.

I had been waiting to see this film for 12 years - ever since 17-year-old-me first read "The Dirt". It doesn't disappoint. In fact, it was way more enjoyable and fun than I thought it would be. It's cringeworthy, cheesy as hell and over-the-top - but then so is 80s rock. "The Dirt" seems self-aware of this though and doesn't take itself too seriously. It regularly breaks that fourth wall to hilarious effect.

It's basically a comedy with a side of debauchery, partying and drug addiction. Oh and there's occasionally some awesome music thrown in too. It follows the four band member narratives just like in the book - and it works. I came away with Mick Mars having become my new favourite member of Mötley Crüe. I feel they got the personalities dead-on.

Given the length of the book, this rollercoaster felt like it was over all too soon. Still, it was fun while it lasted - much like the career of Motley itself. Go into this with an open mind, don't take it too seriously and just enjoy the ride.

Most fun I've had watching a movie in ages. I'm off to go spin my copy of "Dr Feelgood" now!
292 out of 348 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great movie even if your not a fan
megavahinko22 March 2019
I know some die-hard fans are gonna whine about how not everything in the movie was accurate but hey, neither was Bohemian Rhapsody (.. and look how well that went!). If you want historic accuracy, read a book. The Dirt was an ENTERTAINING two hours and hell, I enjoyed it even though I'm not the biggest fan of the Crüe. And would watch it again.
189 out of 240 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Exceeds Expectations
gjrburbchic23 March 2019
I went into this with extremely low expectations and was more than pleasantly surprised. The casting is near perfect. Machine Gun Kelly knocked it out of the park as Tommy Lee. Being a huge Crue fan in the 80's none of the material in this film is new to me and yes I was very aware of inconsistencies that were presumably done for theatrical and story telling purposes. None of that bothers me. To me, this is the right kind of awesomely cheesy. I'm impressed with the actors in this film. They inhabited the personas of Vince, Mick, Nikki, and Tommy really well. And I think that was the idea. Lastly, I've always resonated most with Nikki and seeing his childhood trauma depicted on the big screen was deeply moving. It's truly a miracle that guy is alive and well.
76 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great escapism and nostalgic movie 🎥
stuart-4234822 March 2019
Great movie that takes you back in time and if you lived through that time then its a nostalgic trip. It's rude, loud and crude, but that's the Crue, so if you're offended then why the hell are you watching it. Sure some timelines are a little all over the place and there are a number of key Crue moments that are left out or glossed over. However at 1hr and 48mins it's to be expected. This is a movie that should have ran for a full 3 hours and really dragged you in, but instead it was nearly 2 hours of fast paced fun, debouchous, alcohol (and drug) fueled escapism, which is what the Crue are and were all about for many growing up. Throw in there the tissue moments as well as the self reflection and you've a movie that could easily see a sequel.
117 out of 152 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ten stars all day
thegarlicconnection29 March 2019
If you weren't there, you may not get it. Great film.

Motley Crue defined the era from their start to their break-up. It wasn't grunge that killed rock-n-roll, it was the break-up of Motley Crue.

This was waaaay better than I expected. Watch it!
81 out of 104 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
I wish they went further with it
cardsrock14 April 2019
For a film depicting some of the craziest people and moments in the history of rock and roll, it sure does play it safe. The Dirt is a pretty formulaic rock biopic about the notorious Motley Crue. As a fan of the band, I was definitely interested in seeing their debauchery detailed on film. While there is some fun to be had enjoying the music and craziness, the movie just doesn't go far enough in covering their absurd exploits. There's too much condensed into too small of a window. Machine Gun Kelly is perfectly cast as Tommy Lee and the rest of the cast is decent. I wish that the filmmakers put a little more effort into realistically showcasing the story of such an infamous band.
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I loved this movie.
jonorato-6349023 March 2019
I've watched it twice already and I can see this will be a movie I can rewatch a bunch n still enjoy. Do I wish it was longer? Yes. Do I wish they included 'Wildside" on the soundtrack? Yes. Will I buy this on blue ray when released?? Absolutely!!! - if you've read the book it will of course make the movie better (as they left many parts of the book out for better or worse) but I watched with some friends who didn't read the book (n aren't Crüe fans to the extent that I am) and they loved it. People will likely nip pick it to shreds but it was so fun and dark and sad and heavy - a little music lite for me in that I wish they featured so many more of their songs but the movie was really great and I'm glad they did this movie with reverence as it could have so easily been campy and cheesy and it's wasn't at all to me - I LOVED IT!!
56 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Never listened to Motley Cru
Chrispearce25 October 2019
An entertaining biopic, well acted and written. I enjoyed the film even though I know nothing about the band.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Solid
brett-7626024 March 2019
If you like the band, you'll like the movie. Much better than I was expecting.
47 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A bit disappointing.
simeonbrown-5743323 March 2019
I got the book several years ago (the 10th anniversary edition) and loved it. While I was never a massive Motley Crue fan I grew up listening to metal in that era and was well aware of their notoriety. The book is a warts and all expose of the bands antics and off them as people. It's a fantastic read.

And there's the first problem. The film is 1 hour 40minutes long. Three hours probably wouldn't be enough to do the story justice. It feels rushed and the timelines of certain events become jumbled. And that leads to the second problem.

Certain key things in the book are glossed over. The recording of one entire album is ommited (Girl's, Girl's Girl's). The subsequent tour in the film is covered by a brief look at the band on a flight. This is the tour where the wheels really fell off. The Japanese part of the tour was completely ommited and shouldn't have been as by this point Tommy and Nikki were totally out of control. It was shortly after this part of the tour that Nikki overdosed but that wasn't the first time. His fall into an absolutely chronic heroin addiction feels rushed.

The film doesn't really show how they changed as people enough either. Reading the book to go from liking Nikki to disliking him to kind of liking him again. Vince comes across as a self obsessed dick most of the time up until a personal tragedy. The film doesn't do enough to capture this but then doesn't have time to.

Lastly This is a film about one of the most debauched bands ever. Yes the film shows sex, groupies and drug taking, but it still felt sanitised. They left a lot of stuff out. Definitely a missed opportunity.

Overall it feels rushed. Credit for the portrayals of Sixx and Tommy though. If you know nothing of the band or very little then you'd probably like it. If you've read the book you might like me be a bit disappointed. It would have been better if it was twice as long. A shame I had been really looking forward to this.
108 out of 168 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The Title Says it All, in a Good Way
kjproulx22 March 2019
Biopics revolving around classic bands have definitely become a fad these days, even though they have been around for decades. The Dirt is the latest in the long line of musical biopics and this time it's hitting Netflix. As Mötley Crüe isn't exactly one of the greatest bands of all time to many people, their music has absolutely resonated with many listeners. Not knowing anything about the lives of these four men before going in, I'm pleasantly surprised that this story had a lot more to offer than the average biopic. Still, it does follow the tired formula, but that's okay, because it's done quite well here.

Following Nikki Sixx, Vince Neil, Tommy Lee, and Mick Mars as they form an unlikely group of misfits, this band quickly shoots to superstardom, which ultimately leads to a life of sex, drugs, and rock n' roll. This premise has been done to death through the years, so the only thing to truly keep you interested in movies like this is the content itself. From car accidents to overdosing, this is a film that keeps you engaged from start to finish. Sadly, the material presented throughout the majority of the film is quite unlikeable, to say the least.

You can't help but be disgusted by the actions of most of these men, but the music and shocking turn of events is why you watch movies like this, so for that reason, it all blends together quite well. Still, many viewers will be turned off by this film in the first five minutes, guaranteed. If you're in for a wild ride with sometimes disturbing imagery, bordering on pornography or actual footage of heroin overdosing, then I think you'll enjoy the movie for what it is. When watching this film, it became clear to me why this film never hit theatres, but that's not because it was bad by any means.

Although Vince (the lead singer) is played up as the most unlikeable character throughout the majority of the film, Daniel Webber gave a terrific performance. I would love to see his career explode more than it already has, because I believe he has some real dramatic talent, just waiting to be showcased. On top of that, Iran Rheon is the most likeable actor here and Douglas Booth as Nikki Sixx was great as well. Surprisingly, the breakout performance here is actually from Machine Gun Kelly (Colson Baker). I never would have expected that, but his devotion to this character was a joy to watch.

In the end, The Dirt is absolutely defined by its title, because this is a film that showcases the grit and griminess of the rock n' roll underworld. That aspect alone will turn viewers off, but it's a very well-made movie nonetheless. This is by no means one of the better biopics out there, but it's an enjoy film and better than a lot of the content Netflix has been making, in terms of feature films. To fans of Mötley Crüe or fans of a good biopic in general, I would recommend checking this one out. It's fairly standard fare with some surprisingly elements throughout.
44 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Come on people!
ashleylovesnascar22 November 2019
Metacritic and Rotten Tomatoes right now rate this movie 39% - what the hell is wrong with the world? Those guys did such an awesome job telling their stories, and chose the perfect cast. It's entertaining from beginning to end. Party like a rockstar, kick a little - The Dirt.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Inside Motley Crue
erin_osullivan22 March 2019
I watched this last night with my husband. I don't know much about Motley Crue having grown up a child of the 90s, but I certainly want to read The Dirt now I've seen the film. It's a little bit cheesy in some scenes, but overall is an enjoyable film detailing the debaucherous and crazy antics of the band. Worth a watch!
45 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Worth your time
jimmyjoe58322 March 2019
I admit it, I never really liked this band. I am the same age as the guys in the band and grew up with a lot of the same experiences but I always thought their music was shallow and insignificant. I was a Clash guy, but.... THIS MOVIE ROCKS! I also admit my mates loved them and I was dragged into the big hair orbit on more than one occasion. This is a well told story about regrets,love, hedonism and music. About lost souls searching. about lost souls finding. All the performers were very capable and though I have not liked even one film previously done by this director, he did a very good job of capturing the energy and pacing of a rock n roll lifestyle. A fun ride but not for the squeamish.
44 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it!
onebengalcat23 March 2019
I know a lot of the material wasn't in sequel. My god, quit complaining with the negative reviews. It was a two hour movie, not a mini series! Loved it. Worth the watch. 🤘🏼
43 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Yessssss The book was Amazing !!!!!!
kara247922 March 2019
Yessssssssss I loved The Dirt, one of the best books you can read on a Heavy Living, Heavy Partying Rock bands. The Dirt on Netflix loved loved loved. A long forgotton era of music the long haired, Heavy drugs and Heavy HAIR, loved every moment, it's going to be my goto movie from now. LONG LIVE THE 80S HAIR BANDS ❤❤❤❤❤
61 out of 106 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Meh..
badelle-8488923 March 2019
Bad directing. Looked more like a cheap made for tv movie. The book was fantastic but the movie, not so much. They rush through important scenes and draw out the ones meant to shock. All in all this movie was a bit of a mess.
114 out of 208 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I just love it so much
jessikat-4866222 March 2019
It's, fun and just an all around good time. The wait was definitely worth it
48 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What a ride
nickshowmelater23 March 2019
Been a fan since the happy 80's when I was 10 years old Mötley Crue has always been a part of my life. So now that I'm 45 and can see my idols behind the scene and everything private they went through made me sit here with tears rolling down the cheeks, but even with happines. I can understand if the movie isn't for everyone but for me it was epic. The characters live into their roles so they become one with Tommy, Vince, Mick and Nikki. I do not know more what to write than that you have to see it, it takes you to the happy 80/90 when it was at its best / worst
29 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Pros and cons
cantbesuperman201022 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Pros: it's a Motley Crüe movie. And let's be real we are all Crüeheads in our own right. I think the movie was pretty well done, Jeff Tremain did an excellent job. Mick was hilarious, while still being very Mars.

Cons: if you read the book, half the content is gone, no Japan arests, no Tommy drama with Pam, no real Vince drama. The end of the movie felt very rushed. Especially the meeting, there was NO DRAMA with getting Vince back in the band. And basically skipped over the entire time Corabi was in the band.

Overall, I really liked the movie, I'd recommend it to anyone.
33 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Pete Davidson killed it for me.
josephbotticella25 March 2019
Could of been better with better actors. Pete Davidson has no right to be in this film. He was terrible and untalented.
30 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Go in with the right mindset and it's great
It's not a deep slow movie. It's the same pace that they partied. I honestly think it could have been longer and took more time on certain story lines because it ended and I wanted more. I think the 4 guys did a great job portraying the band members who are all still alive.
17 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Totally worth the time
clk264-649-7164631 May 2019
Biographies, in general, are difficult. How do you tell entire lifetime in two hours? I really felt that this movie was, from what I've read, and from VH1 behind the music, fairly accurate portrayal of Mötley Crüe. They're drugged up, over sexed, rocknroll in their veins 24/7 (They actually do a really cool moment in the movie when they break the fourth wall and say "do you want to know what it's like to be us on tour?") And they have no remorse. Typically, with biographies, they like to glance over the bad things that they did, and, present themselves as being angels without any issues, not so here. I really enjoyed "The Dirt," and Strongly recommend checking it out.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A bad film after a good book about a great band.
mleijonborg25 March 2019
So many things thrown in, no time to get to know the band, No time to feel anything it just a mess of cheesy stuff, sad stuff, good music, bad acting and rubbish camera work. This could have been so good, but sadly...
38 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great inside in a band.
contact-2116422 March 2019
I have listen to Mötley since the middle of the 80'ts and always been one of my favorite bands. This movie gives another depth to the music that I didn't know before. So lucky that I saw the live and hope that they will come back.!
24 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed