Electroma (2006) Poster

(2006)

User Reviews

Review this title
24 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Beautifully Crafted Silence
I think there is a lot to be said about experimental film. I saw the film on the beach at Cannes, and for all I know, the guys could have been sitting next to me. In a search for a human existence, two robots wander somewhat endlessly until they finally find a way to end it all. The film is making a remarkable statement on today's world. It raises so many great questions, and the only problem is that sitting through two hours of wandering characters takes an audiences expectations to another level. Fellini was able to allow his characters to roam, but in that wandering so much happened, and his characters were intellectually credible. In the case of Electroma, the lack of events is very anti-film. Everything which they have done with this film leaves the audience questioning, why? We love films because of what happens in them, not because of what doesn't happen. I think that Daft Punk's attempt to find something else in this medium is quite brilliant, yet it falls short of entertainment. The visual means in which they reached certain points was incredible, but finding a way through the monotony was difficult for some. The ending was fantastic though, and I wish they push the limits even more in their next take on film.

We are all robots who sculpt our own plastic faces. We are all wandering robots with no place to fit in. Maybe I am analyzing too much, but to go to such realms with out symbolism in some higher meaning would be a waste. Perhaps that is what they were out to do. Perhaps they were just creating a (beautiful) moving painting. Maybe just messing with our heads. Regardless, they were up to something, and we will just have to see what comes next to see whether or not they're full of it.

I do give them credit for the silence. It spoke louder than any music they've ever written.
82 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Daft is deft
soccergoon131 April 2007
If you're a fan of Daft Punk you aren't automatically going to like this movie. And if you're not a fan of Daft Punk you aren't automatically going to dislike it. No music by Daft Punk. No dialog or flashing helmet text. Ambient sound. And Curtis Mayfield.

Electroma plays like a festival art film, yet it's more accessible to the audience than the "Cremaster" movies and more thoughtful and varied than "Zidane". In essence, the movie comprises five set pieces. It opens with a drive through the desert, then a town. The second set involves becoming human. They then re-enter the robot world in a Frankenstein-esquire reversal, playing off of Icarus. The fourth part brings the sad realization of returning to robotic roots. Fifth, they walk through a desert, which comprises the longest part of the film.

I recommend it for the art-house/festival crowd. No dialog, an atypical plot-line, and lengthy sweeping pans will certainly turn away some fans. It is pretentious to a degree, I won't deny it, but compared to Cremaster (an unfair comparison, yes, but it's the most widely seen), Electroma doesn't require pre-emptive knowledge for the deciphering of the symbols, which tells you what you're watching. You can absorb it without extreme cerebral input.

It's slow. Like Tarkovsky or Herzog. Don't expect hyperactive techno robots.

You'll be hard-pressed to find this film, as Daft Punk does not intend to ever release this film on DVD. See it at a festival or snag a bootleg. It's worth the time.
43 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Silent Shout!
Canadarm23 November 2006
I saw Daft Punk's Electroma late last night at the Stockholm Filmfestival. This was right after seeing Gondry's "The Science of Sleep" which was brilliant! This evening turned out to be a great french evening.. Even though I have always been a big fan of Daft Punk's music, especially their live performances, I didn't really think that I would enjoy Electroma that much, but I was wrong! I was really touched by this story of two Robots (the members in daft punk) trying to become human. The theme is similar to that of their latest album "Human After All". It reminded me of Kubrick/Spielberg's "A.I", but Electroma is much more symbolical and humans play a less important role. The movie depicts the robots desire to be unique and human, and just like "Stalker" and other Tarkovsky movies the scenes are very long and for the most part there is no music just background noise, this made me really get into the movie. The whole movie is fantastic but the high rating is mostly due to the ending which is crazy good! I don't know if Daft Punk's robot-era is over after this movie, but I'm looking forward to seeing more stuff from them.

This is probably a movie that many people might find boring because it is a very silent and slow movie (heard a guy in front of me snoring..) but give it a chance... The french are not as stupid as the look!

oh and the music is not daft punk, but I heard some Brian Eno and Curtis Mayfield, overall the music choices were excellent! Merci;)
65 out of 79 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A focused, if magpie-like sci-fi meditation
Framescourer6 August 2007
A spellbinding, if not entirely original sci-fi/art-house featurette. The story concerns two youthful robot outsiders trying to find their place and purpose in their world. There is no dialogue.

Electroma is less experimental than you might expect. There is a strong narrative, albeit played out in a sequence of echt-music video stylised set-pieces. This could well be a 'Directors' Label Movie' for all that one can see the imprint of Michel Gondry (prosthetic/robot helmets, large heads), Spike Jonze (suburban humour and the final pyroshot) and Chris Cunningham (bleached white soulbernetics and horroroticism). Indeed, a 'Chris Cunningham' is credited as the steadicam operator...

Much though I enjoyed this game of spot the director however, it's important to try and assess the film on its own merits. Daft Punk's own music doesn't feature. Their technical contribution is to DJ the soundtrack, filling the gap between dialogue and narrative. The music's fairly effective in telling the story of the two characters, if - like the metaphors of the episodes - a little contrived. Above all I enjoyed the cinematography, the loving filming of the sub-Walkabout journey across the Californian desert. The costume and studio lighting design is also of a premium standard. With this attention to detail and the rigorous, trance-like rhythm of the film one might profitably compare Electroma with 2001: A Space Odyssey. It certainly deserves it. 7/10
17 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A visually hypnotic and surprisingly touching film by electronic music legends!..not for the attention challenged.
alisoncolegrooveq25 July 2007
It doesn't bother me in the slightest whether people think this film references others or not. That's irrelevant because it just works - it's delightfully simple, beautifully shot, visually arresting and surprisingly poetic.

Part of the charm of this film is both the fun (the makeover) and then the quite moving climax in the desert. It works against all your expectations of Daft Punk (and their music) and in many ways this is what makes this also quite special. The choice of music is sublime, and the pace itself becomes quite hypnotic. In fact the pace seems to be one thing that people use to critique this film as though it's somehow pretentious..which itself is an absurd and dimwitted comment really, because the playful charm of the silent characters themselves is anything but pretentious. Hell, if that's pretentious, the world needs a lot more of it because we are drowning in the bile spewing from the Hollywood trough.

As an older Daft Punk fan, probably more in tune with their own age and tastes i loved this film. Also worth a mention that there's a very Kubrick-esquire 2001 look to one scene (thumbs up there!)

Ignore the doubters. Sit back and immerse yourself in Electroma. In time this will definitely considered a classic concept film by one of the more innovative electronic artists of our age.

Human After All
30 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Rather Unexpected
rob-tyler-631-89296310 January 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I was not sure what to expect from this film, a top music duo produce a film which looked rather egotistic yet i found once the 'experience' had begun i was transfixed and couldn't take my eyes from the screen.

The film shows a definitive post-modern aspect. Is it really a representation of how we all are indeed equal under the facade we present to the world all struggling to be unique and different, it's all been done before and nothing anyone does makes them different.

All in all the film was a new one on me. A silent film with beautiful scenes and themes. A definite recommendation but not preferably one i would put on to entertain guests!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Destined for a mild cult following
Samantha18 May 2008
If anything, Electroma should be taken just like any other experimental, art-house cinema film. This is borderline impossible when it's not just Electroma, but "Daft Punk's" Electroma, the tag line is "It's a Daft Punk vision" and you've got the Daft Punk logo emblazoned on the back of the two protagonists' jackets. For this, I feel like the film falters from a bit of ego, but just think how much worse it would've been if they'd used their own music.

That being said, as a so-called art-house picture, Electroma is okay. There isn't much plot to follow and the "HUMAN" license plate is about as trite as calling this an interpretation of the difficulties of fitting into society, but in terms of something to look at, it's really really gorgeous. Considering Bangalter had little to no experience in cinematography prior to this, he's done a fantastic job. Each shot is quite beautiful in its own way, aesthetically speaking, particularly the final one.

What I'm trying to say is, don't go into Electroma expecting brilliance, because it isn't. Take it for what it is: a mildly pretentious if not borderline dull, yet visually stunning piece of celluloid. It's ripe for interpretation (or none at all) which will grant it some sort of cult following. Hopefully a midnight-film of sorts.

P.S. The soundtrack they did choose complements the film perfectly. And if "the" notorious desert close-up scene doesn't get this passed around film circles for years to come, I don't know what will.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Brilliant
Fayt089 June 2007
Warning: Spoilers
This movie I think does a great job of showing what it is like to (in this world)find a way to express yourself. After doing a lot of after thought of this movie I came to think that is what they wanted you to see over all. The movie, which is very unconventional can be very unsettling to other people who aren't very open minded, and if you notice in the movie the hero robots were seen as the same.

In my life experience i would say that if i showed this to a certain group of people i know (very closed minded) they would have a very negative response to it.There negative response would be seen as a kind of attack at the film makers, not having the ability to accept this kind of difference there minds would chase it to the end and hope that nothing like this would ever be made again because it would be seen as different.

On the other hand someone as open minded as myself would look at this movie as a sort of life story, the frustration of wanting to be different and never truly fitting in and in turn ending at a point early on like so many of wanting to end there own life, never being completely able to do it them selves, either having someone else helping them "self destruct" or as the second robot did having bring themselves by creating there own destructions indirectly.

Daft Punk must have noted in this story about the deaths of young artists who never felt they fit in and ending there lives young, like Jim Morrison, Kurt Cobain, and so many others do to there own frustration.

I saw the car ride at the beginning as a kind shot to the people of hey, were cool were different were gonna change things here, and the people did nothing and ignored them almost completely as the one robot with the newspaper glanced at them then looked away. They decided they needed to change there image even more to be noticed. Then when they entered the town and felt full confident in there new appearance they seemed to be fine, and as they noticed the townspeople despise there appearance it made them feel like idiots and made them feel disgusted with themselves. After running from those who feared change, which i thought was ironic as the townspeople all seemed to be some artistically devoid town. They felt that they too were ridiculous when they finally shed there self expression in the bathroom. After which they felt as outcasts of the world, constantly walking nowhere feeling as though they were missing something, when they truly were only missing themselves which they could no longer find.

After feeling that there was no hope left there only decision was that they should kill themselves because there were none like them, and that they would never be able to find themselves again. Each death is unique, the first death of the self destruction was a quick way out, an overdose maybe, or fast suicide. The other death was the fire which could be seen as anger, or even mental insanity building leading to a final death and a complete darkness.

I don't know thats what i saw, I may be wrong but thats what this movie told me, you could pick at it in an ignorant way, saying director did this effect and music that, and location this, and film era that, but i think they wanted you to truly look past that and find its true meaning.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Kinda cool but a bit too slow in parts
robotbling4 December 2011
(www.plasticpals.com) Electroma is the story of two robots (Daft Punk) who break from the norm to express their inner individuality in a world populated by robots, with disastrous consequences. This is an experimental film with no dialog whatsoever, running a generous 74 minutes, and some people may feel it drags on a bit in parts. Even fans of Daft Punk may be left scratching their heads since it doesn't feature their music but, supposedly, it syncs up with their album Human After All ala Pink Floyd/Wizard of Oz. If you are not into experimental film you will probably much prefer their animated excursion, Interstella 5555, which I highly recommend.

I haven't tried synchronizing it to their album but I enjoyed it just fine, though it should be said I'm a fan of unusual movies. The photography is very professional considering they are amateur film makers, and there's enough here to keep your interest, all without the need for words. I hope they'll continue exploring their visual creativity through cinema in the future, and if it sounds like something you might enjoy, check it out.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Arresting imagery if a bit thin
runamokprods29 September 2011
A bit pretentious, a bit obvious, overlong, even at 74 minutes (this would have been a brilliant 40 minute short), but still full of arresting images and surprisingly emotional moments.

Influenced heavily by Kubrick, Antonioni and most of the great 60s and 70s visualists, this is a wordless film about two robots who want to become human. The action is minimal. The opening drive through the desert alone takes a good 15 minutes.

But it's wonderfully shot, and the use of eclectic source music as score (Brian Eno, Curtis Mayfield, etc) is interesting, if sometimes a little too self-conscious or intrusive.

I doubt there are more layers to be found on repeated viewings, I think it is what it is: an experimental film more full of image than story or ideas. A 74 minute, interesting rock video.

But every time I'd head toward terminally bored, an image or feeling would reel me back in...
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Probably the most screwed-up movie I've ever seen
Kobained27 October 2011
Electroma was probably the most screwed-up movie I've ever seen.

It was a brilliant movie though. The cinematography was just superb. I loved the slowness, it didn't bore me at all. I was able to enjoy the ambiance, the details, the minimalism, the originality. It really touched me and took me to another level.

But at the same time, this movie got me quite some philosophical nightmare. It made me feel, more than ever before, like we're just robots, and everything we do has been programmed. The determinism theory. Anyone else felt this? I mean, I felt really, really horrible.

But as I said, simply brilliant movie, for the pleasure and for the pain it caused me.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Masterpiece... At least in my opinion.
Szamot9716 September 2010
Warning: Spoilers
No spoilers!!! I know that not everyone will like this movie... But it's masterpiece. It is something like an artistic film. There is no action. No dialogues - some may find it boring. Also, it is very, very sad. Too sad for some of You (I was crying in the end).

But it is the best movie I've ever seen. No, it is not a movie - it's an artwork. I felt like watching surrealistic paintings. And, best of all - it made me wonder about it for quite long time.

Music is quite good and it matches the movie.

It can be hard to get, but it's really worth trying.

My rating:

10 out of 10 - perfect.

P.S. I'm sorry for a mistakes (if there are any), I'm not English.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
For film fans, great
G Connolly8 July 2012
Warning: Spoilers
A landmark movie. It's very attractive and will retain an emotional attraction and personal significance for many. One reason, as another reviewer remarked here, is its comforting simplicity. There is no cerebral requirement for external references etc. as in some art movies. Surely there can be cinematic references there to artistic movies, however the film kind of, simultaneously creates a visual artistic paradox in shunning any necessity or compulsion to know.

People shouldn't be put off this film by connections to the music world and the band Daft Punk, or associations with electro, disco or house music.

"Electroma" is a movie 100%, and is to be viewed 100% on movie terms. It is a feature film, and has nothing to do with music, disco music, electro music or Daft Punk in itself. It has no Daft Punk music and no club soundtrack, though the soundtrack is gorgeous. While, yes, Daft Punk the musicians see themselves as culturally varied artists and may kind of live some sense of concept art, and the film may fit within this notion; the characters in the film are based on the band characters. However, again, there's really nothing more connected to the film. The wider contextualisation, for anyone who needs it, need only be that to know the characters are meant to be the 2 band members. The artistic meaning of "Electroma" is self contained.

I feel this is a very deep film. While very sparse in elements of interpretation, this means that the meaning of what you can find in there can be incredibly strong indeed. You won't want to treat any of it lightly. There are very serious and emotional themes (and they're very difficult to treat well), such as predeterminism, life as disingenuous facade for the seeing, the lack of choice in life, perhaps, that worldly fate is doomed in the here and now.

What is astonishing about this film is both that this is done in the gorgeous visual way achieved, lovely cinematography, and then the sheer, deep endearingness that this gives way to in appreciation of the film. The themes call upon sympathy for those in the welded, inescapable routes, while we may surmise as to whether this has meaning for the two actual band members. It seems there is a lean to a theme of kind of artists as hero, yet anti-hero in a traditional sense, moreso again - as hero. Endearing and comforting. Lovely cinematography and soundtrack. Full of significance and far from flimsy.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Disappointment
filmo1234 April 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Just watched this film last night - I was disappointed enough to get of my ass and write this review!

I've read quite a few of other reviews and I disagree that the movie is visually stunning. Although the desert has a certain beauty, I wasn't impressed by the actual filming techniques. There was nothing above ordinary with how the movie was shot - with the exception of the "human lab" scene with the white silhouettes of figures, but that seemed a bit gimmicky to me - the novelty wore off quick.

As many others have noted, the pace of the editing was unbearably slow. There doesn't seem to be any purpose to the excessively drawn out scenes other than to make a 15 minute movie into a feature length. I've seen "2001: A Space Oddessy" many times and feel that the slow pace in that film fits the themes of isolation, infinity, quiet in space, etc.

This film was SO abstract and vague that you can't help but ask a lot of questions like: What's the robot's function/purpose? Do humans even exist on this planet? Why are there toilets if everyone is a robot? Have others attempted to become human?

So they become human (or wear human masks anyways)- why do they just stroll down the street after? They have nothing better to do? Is their sole purpose just to show off their new faces and get a reaction out of others? And OK - so the other robots (whom I assume they don't know) don't seem to approve of their transformation.....why do the two main characters even give a shi* ?

If this film were transposed to a different world where a couple of young guys decided to become drag queens, walked down to Anytown, USA and then were ostracized - you think they would wander back to the desert and commit suicide??? Of course not - and that's why this movie makes no sense.

The best films make you care about the protagonists and identify with them on some level. The two main characters in this film are two-dimensional and weak. I think the story would have been much more interesting if they actually dealt with the rejection and came up with a different solution other than self-destruction.

I didn't learn anything from this film, I don't see the world any differently, and I wasn't even entertained for the hour-plus that I wasted watching it.

Daft Punk should have just stuck with Interstella 5555 for their cinematic contributions.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Your patience will be rewarded
Geraint Humphries23 December 2010
First off, let me say that this film is 74 minutes of long scenes that go on with atmospheric non-daft punk music played to them, the narrative is there and it is a simple yet effective story but their is no dialogue. In other words you will have to be patient and have to want to watch this film in order to properly experience it.

Story: 9/10 The story is a very simple tale of wanting be be something else and society not being ready to except new things. It is simply about two robots who want to be human. Their is no dialogue in the film and no "face acting" as the bots wear helmets, but the story is easy to follow.

Acting: 8/10 For what the acting is worth it is very good, as mentioned before there is no speech or human activity in the film, but that is the point. The robots feel robotic and even though there is no verbal communication emotions are put across very effectively through simple touches that actors add to their characters, for example the movement off the characters arms when they walk is slightly robotic, yet when one of the robots stares at a mirror we feel sadness through the portrayal. To understand what I mean you need to experience the film.

Visuals:10/10 The visuals in this film are fantastic for first time directors. Think Stanley Kubrick mixed with Ridley Scott sprinkled with David Lynch. The camera work is superb and the images in the film are striking. Sun drenched deserts, Children is steel helmets, robots marrying and slow motion burning to mention a few.

Audio: 9/10 The music in this film is not by Daft Punk but features music from Brian Eno and Jackson C. Frank as well as others. The music is amazing in some places (the last scenes music fits perfectly and has a haunting effect. Even though the music is not Daft Punk it is a brilliant score.

Overall: 9/10 A brilliantly slow film, excellently crafted and remenicent of Lynch and Kubrick, this is a film that requires patience, but those who are willing will be very pleased with the results.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A nostalgic voyage of meditation
codylikestuff7 February 2008
It's hard to pin point precisely what makes this film so relevant in this time. It could be the fact that our society is so instantly nostalgic that we've forgotten what nostalgia truly means, or that we've lost hope for what an art film can and cannot be. Either way this film has captured the essence of life in somewhat of an overdrawn extended metaphor that rings in your ears like a time bomb that desperately needed to be set off. It remains as no surprise to me, having recently rediscovered Daft Punk's music, that such a collaboration of sound and image can truly transcend above all boundary, and re ignite an artist's passion for the cinema. Funny enough it should take a duo of french electronic musicians to do so. The film's beauty lies in it's simplicity of story and it's complexity of motivation. The film's brilliance lies in it's gorgeous cinematography complimented by a haunting and all too perfect score. If you are looking for a film that will stimulate you on a level that will challenge and inspire you to fully comprehend, then this is a film for you. But be warned...the story is one that could have been told in 20 minutes, told over a period of an hour and 20 minutes. If you cannot take art seriously and become easily angered or frustrated when a film doesn't spoon feed you the plot, then stay away! It has been said that this film compares to Gus Van Sant's Elephant, or possibly Vincent Gallo's Brown Bunny, mostly for the long continuous takes scattered throughout the film. The difference here is that these shot are motivated whereas in Elephant, Gus Van Sant forgot he was making a movie and fell asleep during his shoot. Some may disagree, but Gus Van Sant doesn't know his ass from his elbow and I defy him to make a film as meaningful and well executed as Electroma. The imagery is beautiful, the setting is spiritual, and the music is touching. Top notch film making from two guys who have a lot to say, but can do so without any words at all. Brilliant.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Why bother?
jonb-2927 March 2010
If I'd seen this in a art-house cinema I would have walked out. But it was on my local public TV station so I watched it. Why? Well it was free. But that's all. This movie starts nowhere, goes nowhere, and finishes up nowhere. And in marked contrast with other reviewers I find silence just a bit boring when overdone. And it was really overdone in this self-indulgent "art work". And to think it took four, that's right four! writers to make this. Sure the scenery was good, but so what? It's been done a thousand times before (and better). Sure the music was atmospheric, but so what? it's been done a thousand times before (and better). Basically, the local public TV 30 second promos had the entire film in them. I kept waiting for something to happen. But no, watch the 30sec promo a few hundred times over and that's Daft Punks "Electroma".

Cult film? I don't think so...
7 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Homework.
moimoichan613 April 2007
Warning: Spoilers
It begins like a 70's Road Movie filmed by Antonioni and it ends like Gus Van Saint's "Gerry" with robots instead of humans. "Electroma" is an experimental trip that supposedly completes Daft Punk's last album : "Human after all" like "Interstella 5555" completed "Discovery" (but the two projects, beside their experimental faces, are here merely link one with another, whereas the last movie had strong connections with the album and the video clips). Here's a few things to know before watching this movie if you don't want to be too surprise or disappointed : it has absolutely no dialogs in it, the story is linear and simple and allows long experimental and contemplative sequences and the soundtrack isn't made by Daft Punk (even if it's omnipresent and very good : Brian Eno, Sebastien Tellier, Gregory Allegri...).

The movie is clearly divided in three parts, each lasts approximately 20 minutes long, except the desert part, which may be a little bit longer (but that may be a subjective impression...)

SUBJECTIVE DESCRIPTION OF THE MOVIE.

The first part is a road movie, with a video clip's editing style, where you see the two Daft Punk Robots traveling across the California desert. The references of the musicians are clearly shown here : the movie effectually looks like a crossover between "2001, a space Odyssey" and "Easy Rider", with robots in a big black car. The scene is rather pleasant, very aesthetically, and seems like a long and beautiful video clip d'auteur or like a 70's art video.

The second part is a mix between "THX 1138" and a grotesque horror movie, with the Daft Punk arriving in a typically American city full of robots, where they experience a operation, that transforms them to human, after all. They come out of the laboratory with caricature faces, and walk through the city, where the other robots stare at them with their surprised artificial eyes. But their carnival figures melt like ice-cream in the sun, and they have to get ride of them rather rapidly, and to become the Daft Punk again.

The last part fallows the two robots in the desert, where they walk and walk, and walk again (they're robots, they're never tired or hungry, they can walk endlessly...). There's then this secession of desert's frames, finishing with Courbet's "L'Origine du monde", that is rather ridiculous, but wakes the spectator up (I have to say that the movie is released in one Theatre in Paris, and has a unique weekly projection the Saturday at midnight !).

SPOILER AHEAD (even if it's merely a narrative movie).

Then, the two robots get tired of walking and even of living a robot's life : one explodes in a "Zabriskie Point"'s style, the other becomes the Human Torch (or the Robot Torch).

END OF TELLING THE END OF THE MOVIE.

The all thing is a pleasant but rather unoriginal (too many references) experimental movie, that links video clip with artistically experience and cinema.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Ooh, I didn't like this one.
thehappyspaceman20 April 2016
You know what Daft Punk's Electroma felt like? It felt like Daft Punk were making a music video, but wound up with too much footage and instead turned it into a movie.

Actually, that's exactly what happened. This movie started out as a music video for Daft Punk's song, "Human After All," but they got a little too ambitious and made it into a movie, and there are some things about it that work. The filming is very artistic; the message is nice, taking a spin on the classic Pinocchio moral of wanting to be human and mixing it with undertones about plastic surgery; the music—when there is any—is nice; and the acting is fairly decent, getting the message through despite the fact that we can't see anyone's face or hear what they're saying. The problem is that when you take a five-minute music video and expand its plot to a feature-length movie, you have to pad it out with extended shots, bizarre editing, and incredibly slow pacing. It definitely would have worked better as a music video, or even as a longer music video at ten minutes. But it's not a complete waste. Thanks to the Internet, fans have made several alternate cuts of Electroma. Many switch out the soundtrack with Daft Punk music to fill in the blank spaces, and there are even some fan visions of what the movie would have looked like in its intended form as a music video for Human After All. If you're going to check out any version of Electroma, watch those versions. I don't know how much of this is bias on my part, seeing how amazing their earlier film Interstella 5555 was and how underwhelming this was as a followup, but I would only recommend this movie if you're a huge fan of art films.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Human was not part of the plan
niccolomariamoronato29 August 2007
The movie might clearly be connected to more trivial, yet also more inspirational and loved, movies like D.A.R.Y.L. from 1985. It is very likely that, in their childhood, the authors experienced watching this semi-unknown home video featuring a robot kid becoming a kid and facing the issues the Government is giving it (or him) in its attempt to dismantle the device. Go check out the movie, or watch it if you please, and post a comment. Works from Daft Punk are overwhelming with quotations and atmospheres of that techno-romantic and dreamlike spirit that features every little memory of movies and music, toys and magazines from the 80s that everyone who made it to 1989 being no older than 15 and no younger than 2 feels whenever he/she thinks back about the scenarios of his/her childhood.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Electroma empathy
FilmFlaneur10 February 2008
Warning: Spoilers
A universe away from the 70's glam kitsch of Daft Punk's INTERSTELLA 5555 (of which I am also an admirer) ELECTROMA is another work which defies easy categorisation, which one will love or hate with equal fervour. It's also another set in the future. but an entirely different one to the rhythmically paced anime of the previous effort. Two robots set out to be human, amidst the expanse of a mostly uninhabited American hinterland, playing out their destinies in an entirely wordless, sometimes meditative setting. Unlike INTERSTELLA too, there is more silence here while what music there is comes from disparate sources as Brian Eno, Haydn and Allegri. As another reviewer has said : "If Stanley Kubrick, David Lynch and Jean-Luc Godard (with Francois Truffaut in a consultancy role) had been asked to collaborate on a film about androids, this is probably exactly what they would have come up with..." .. to which can be added some influences too from the futuristic sterility of such films as THX1138, as well as perhaps some of the philosophical road moves of the 70's like VANISHING POINT or TWO LANE BLACKTOP, road movies where significant travel by its definition never comes to a conclusion. This while the questioning of what exactly it means to be human is a concern familiar from the works of Philip K Dick. Entirely without dialogue, slow but strangely moving, the experience offered by ELECTROMA is ultimately just as profound as the viewer allows or wants it to be, and some have undoubtedly found it pretentious or tedious. Over its 70 minutes I found it memorable and affecting, a film which simply has to be accepted at its own pace. Without the distractions of dialogue one is forced to concentrate on issues elsewhere, with some striking images and scenes along the way - notably one of a burning robot striding to extinction through the desert, or the sad melting faces, like carnival masks, of those who seek to assume humaness. Whether or not Hero Robots 1 & 2 achieve what they want despite it all is a matter of interpretation as much as the film in which they appear. It's an experiment in its own way, just as much as the group's last was, but once again Daft Punk show just what an achievement off the wall film making offers for the adventurous, at least away from the popularist demands of Hollywood. Were that other musicians so creative on screen. Recommended.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Silent, surreal Daft Punk film
Polaris_DiB10 September 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Daft Punk's "Electroma" has a pretty simple story: two robots attempt to become human, fail, then wander a desert landscape until they destroy themselves. Thematically, I wouldn't see why it shouldn't be taken at face value, though if you want to get technical about it I suppose it does have some things to say about plastic surgery, alienation, and conformity.

This movie's real focus resides, however, on the visuals. It's use of music and it's sense of surrealism, plus the fact that it has such a slight story, lends it to the inevitable comparison to music videos, but even that's not quite getting to the unique way the two directors use music and imagery. For one thing, the movie is shot in video and the movie often jumps or halts while panning, giving a sort of POV from the electronic minds of the protagonists (they are billed simply Hero 1 and Hero 2). Secondly, the soundtrack is just as ready to use environmental noise as it is music to hold the moment.

It could have been shorter. Most of the screen time is spent on the robots walking or driving through the desert landscape, staring at the other robots in the world or just watching the road or dunes. I think in this case Daft Punk were trying to make the movie fit into feature length presentation, though I suppose an argument into the monotony and blankness of the robots mechanical lives isn't unwarranted. The problem, however, is that after several long takes of repeated imagery, one hopes that it'll eventually lead to some form of action.

Still, the imagery is pretty gorgeous, and the middle scenes (involving the modeling, the robot society's reaction, and the abandoned bathroom) are pretty much 100% fascinating. This might be a good movie to see on DVD--watch the landscape traveling until it gets repetitive, then skip to the next scene of action.

--PolarisDiB
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Rip off of Gus Van Sant's "Gerry"
Raycarlking14 April 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Anybody else think this is a total rip off!? Gus Van Sant did it way better!

Daft Punk did almost exact shots! Who does that? Desert scenes. Slowly walking in the desert. Fatigued. Giving up. Death. The only different was that in Gerry, they were humans. I love Daft Punk, and I really liked the last burning scene, however, it was totally a rip off. Great songs too, but too similar to call an original movie.

At least cite Gus Van Sant's work.

Human After All.

-Raymond
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews