Numb (2007) Poster

(I) (2007)

User Reviews

Review this title
29 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Numb
Panterken20 April 2008
Since the 'friends' era (someone was bound to bring it up), Perry's films have always shared the typical romance/comedy element, although I must nuance by saying the emphasis tended to differ, but now it seems that Matt has chosen a different path, trying to prove himself as a serious actor in drama's, although he hasn't fully abjured comedy (not that he should, as long as it remains tasteful). The recent 'The Ron Clark Story' proved to be a big hit in the rose and 'Numb' was the next logical step, providing him with a more challenging and diverse role even namely a screenwriter having to deal with a peculiar form of depression; 'depersonalization'.

Judging the authenticity of his performance is very hard, seeing that I, like most people, have never heard of the condition in question. I do believe most reviews coming from people suffering from it or having suffered from it in the past were predominantly positive. Perry's natural charm and his impression of being clumsy have to be suppressed, and having dealt with depression in real life the actor can dig into his own experience to come up with a real life character, and he does so with furore, wisely underplaying and steering away from his typical comedy style, meanwhile the film still has a lot of off beat comedy moments to lighten the material at hand a bit, certainly a welcome comical relief.

The low-key tone of the film might make it difficult for some people to access, but I would still recommend it to most people.

7.7/10
22 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
This is for all you Depersonalisation suffers out there.
kettle_fish24 August 2008
Warning: Spoilers
"Numb" is a film I was afraid to watch. As an anxiety/depersonalisation sufferer myself, I was frightened of two things. Either that the film would portray the symptoms of this hellish condition inaccurately, giving off a message that was contrived or 'Hollywoodised', or that it would be so accurate that I would cry my heart out.

Thankfully, I cried my heart out. Matthew Perry is absolutely perfect for the role, and I give credit to the director who I learnt suffered from the illness himself. I feel that, through Perry, he has displayed the epitome of Depersonalisation disorder, the effect it has on the individual and the effect that it has on the people in the individual's life.

Through Perry's actions, such as looking at his hand as though it were something alien and far away with a blank expression in his eyes (something that I often did), as well as the choice of music, and the script (the script is FANTASTIC), it brought a smile to my face at the humour of a humourless mental condition and gave me humour to my own experience of it.

However, the one thing that I was disappointed with was the ending. The fact that Perry does not recover made me feel very sad for his character, and for all other Depersonalisation suffers - because I am no longer a depersonalisation sufferer. The film, while funny, made the condition seem life threatening, or forever. It is not. I suffered with it for two years, and then I got a self help book to read and eventually it went away.

To all you depersonalisation sufferers that watched this film, enjoyed it but felt despair at the message that you can never get better, don't worry. Depersonalisation does not seem to get better through medication or therapy as I discovered in my experience and other's experiences. I believe it needs acceptance, which is mentioned in the film, but I only wished that through Perry's character's acceptance it was shown that he got better.

The difficult but only effective way to get rid of DP is what the message of the film, in a small way I feel, is trying to say, and what echoes in things I have read about DP - what you must not do is try and force normal feelings. You must wait for normal feelings to return of their own accord, which in time, they will. In their efforts not to feel the way DP suffers do they question why they feel the way they do, day in and day out, even though it is nothing to do with psychosis or any other mental illness, but to do with anxiety or the repercussions of a drug experience. They burden themselves with more thoughts and more pressure on their minds which only increases their anxiety and causes further symptoms of DP. I honestly don't mean to sound like some kind of patronising councellor because I get what its like, as shown in the film, to talk to people who have absolutely no understanding and tell people to 'pull themselves together', but I'm not talking about people pulling themselves together. I'm talking about people surrendering themselves to the condition and letting it be there without questioning what it is as its nothing but another offshoot symptom of anxiety disorder. I know this is a film review, but as crazy as it sounds, acceptance of my depersonalisation and almost finding it funny allowed me to get better. It's nothing to be frightened of because it doesn't last forever when you don't try to push it away but just live with it. As soon as you accept it and don't dwell on it with despair, you begin to recover. TRUST ME. I've recovered and I know many people who have recovered through time and acceptance as they followed the route to recovery like I did by not fearing it, not pushing it away and not what-iffing and self doubting all the time.

All in all 'Numb' is a beautiful, heartwarming film that gives DP sufferers an opportunity to laugh, yet I want them to know that despite the ending depersonalisation is absolutely possible to recover from, not through Matthew Perry's depressive attitude towards it within the film, but through acceptance and knowing that it is caused by nothing more than a tired mind fixated on its own anxious condition that causes a detachment from its surroundings and itself.
13 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
It actually happened to me... and, honestly, this is pretty accurate
Beren2 July 2008
I picked this up on a whim after having only seen a brief trailer for it on another movie. I am SO glad I did. As one of the other commentators pointed out, depersonalization disorder is a real problem for some people. Unlike Perry's character, I smoked weed everyday for a little over two years before it suddenly flipped a 180 on me and threw me into a panic/anxiety disorder coupled with what I was calling dissociation (not feeling right in your own skin, as they say in the movie, is spot-on). I felt "out of pocket" for over two years after my incident and never really went completely back to normal. I eventually managed to get over the chronic anxiety (after six months on Lexapro and about a year spent seeing a psychologist). Anyway, sorry to go on about myself, but it is just such a relief to see this on film! I'm even a writer as well (fiction not screenplays), but this is uncanny. My doctor also told me there was nothing physically wrong with me, just like in the film. I had an MRI and multiple other tests which all yielded nothing, like in the film. I had read some blog entries of people experiencing this, but my doctor had no idea what was wrong with me and my shrink had never really heard of it either. I felt just as alone and helpless as Perry's character does.

This movie did an amazing job of showing the effects of this little-known disorder. That whole part about looking at your hand or an object and not feeling like it's actually there, even though you can physically feel it -- completely true. I wanted to crawl out of my skin at times, and it is just so cathartic to see this film now, years after the fact. Perry is brilliant in this role and didn't even slip into Chandler-esquire tropes that have somewhat become his trademark (although, unfortunately, he will always be compared to that character). The dialog is actually quite good and the romanticism in this film isn't overbearing and contrived like so many other rom-comedies. In fact, I normally avoid rom-comedy for that very reason. Numb avoids the pitfalls and cuts right to the uncontrived truths. It doesn't rely on cuteness or sentimentality and the wittiness shines. Of course it's not perfection, but I couldn't have asked for more. Thank you Harris Goldberg. You did well.
41 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Excellent Movie
rmarb5-110 February 2009
I have been rooting around for sometime now for a movie that would speak to the inertia that has settled over me in various cycles during the last decade or so. This would be a movie that would address the issue of being a potentially gifted person, but who is stunned by the oppressiveness of modern life: frightening economy, unpredictable jobs, the no-rules relational chaos of post-modernism.

The last movie I saw that got to this was "Wonder Boys," about an insightful English professor who couldn't function because of being emotionally stunned. While it is flawed and at times, forcing itself too much on you, "Numb" is that great new movie that gets into the struggle for identity.

Matthew Perry does a convincing job as Hudson Milbank, a modern LA freelance writer, trying to find meaning and connection. The film cleverly dances in and out of his early life, showing his times with fittingly remote and narcissistic parents, especially a destructive mother who is played perfectly by Helen Shaver, a great Canadian actress who masterfully conjures cold, chipper, semi-ice-queen figures.

It also has a hysterical and realistically frightening bit about a highly credentialed psychiatrist, Dr. Cheryl Blaine, played ably by Mary Steenburgen, who has her own bout with borderline syndrome and sexaholic tendencies, which she can't seem to restrain from unleashing on Hudson, who seeks her help with his condition.

The funniest line of the movie comes when she chases him out of a restaurant in a predatory moment, asking him about his family. To which Hudson, in a mid-trot, grunts to Tom, his writer sidekick played by Kevin Pollack: "uh...run." You can't decide whether Dr. Blaine is funny or terrifying, maybe the scariest female character since Sharon Stone in "Basic Instinct."

There are so many familiar handles in this movie, I can't even remember them all. Besides the out-of-control, counter-transferring female therapist, let's see...there was

-- Spending most of your leisure life in bed being hooked on one brand of inanely topical TV, in this case, The Golf Channel. Many of us have our times escaping into with some kind of nerdy TV; mine is The Weather Channel, for my ex, it is The Fishing Channel, and an old roommate couldn't live without The Military Channel.

-- Trying an unending series of anti-depressants, thinking you will find one magic pill to fix you. Hudson becomes so much a regular at the HMO pharmacy, that we see the pharmacist playfully wishing him luck with his latest prescription.

-- Being up and out at 4 a.m., insisting this is the only time you really feel good about the world.

And there are many more moments I recognize in this movie that come from the benumbing, joyless periods that seem to settle in on us. without answers, at various times in the post-modern world.

What director Harris Goldberg does that is so helpful is he makes many of the trapped moments funny and he resists offering up a trite resolution. Hudson finds hope in certain things and soon abandons them, going on to his next illusory beacon. It is a waiting game until he finds the next bit of relief, kind of like real life.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
lovely film
contact-121913 October 2007
i just saw this film at the Austin film festival. I had no idea what to expect and i was delighted with the results. Mathew Perry delivers a fantastic understated performance. I really wasn't a fan of his and when I heard he was in it, truthfully i wanted to see it less. But i've changes my tune completely, l'm a definite fan now, he sunk his teeth into this role and really let go of his usual bag of comedic tricks.

The writer/director knows what he is doing. He injected just enough, just just enough comedy into the movie to make the disturbing and hard to handle subject matter palatable. I really found the movie a delight and the the whole theatre was laughing in agreement with me. Go see it, its really something!
52 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Looking At Changing Numbers
Chrysanthepop15 November 2008
Goldberg's 'Numb' tells an intense and funny 'tale' of a writer suffering from depersonalized disorder while facing other difficulties (his kleptomania, his dysfunctional family, his love). This is no disease-of-the-weak movie that preaches about a sickness because Goldberg adds plenty of humour that is dark, satirical, subtle, dry and adult while keeping us entertained from start to finish. He also keeps us involved in Hudson's life. I wonder how much of it is based on Goldberg's own experience. The dialogues are funny, witty and clever. Though the movie does sort of mock psychologists and psychiatrists (in a hilarious way) but the problems surrounding the disorder and the central character's anguish is well depicted and people will recognize them as almost everyone has felt depersonalized at least for one moment or another. Matthew Perry's excellence in comedy is already well known and here it was great to see him act on a more intense level. The actor can definitely do more than comedy (as was also evident in 'Birds Of America'). I think it is the first time I heard him say the 'F' word. His understated performance as Hudson draws sympathy from the viewer but also laughter during the lighter moments. Of the 'Friends' lead cast, only Perry along with Lisa Kudrow and Courteney Cox seem to have 'grown' as actors. Lynn Collins holds her own and has a good screen presence. Mary Steenburgen is laugh-out-loud hilarious as the steamy 50+ psychologist who hasn't done 'it' in seven years. Thus, 'Numb' was a fun and enlightening watch. Goldberg and Perry have done a superb job and this is one movie I definitely would be revisiting soon.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Delightful, Clever, Incredibly Written and So Well Acted!!
dKateC7 October 2007
Just saw "Numb" tonight at the Ojai Film Festival. The whole audience laughed and stayed "in" the movie the entire time. There was not a break in continuity or a weak moment in the film.

Now there is stillness and quiet and depth at times which some might interpret as "slow moving" but it is real. And the depth allows for the audience to slow down enough to really see the motivation in a character's eyes.

It is an uncomfortable film at times. You want the main character to "snap out of it" or "do the right thing" at moments but he is real. You want it all sewn up at times it isn't. But that is what makes for good writing and good films to me-- when you actually go within the movie and want to motivate the characters. Just remember that when you see Steenburgen's character in the restaurant scene!

This film works well to show a form of mental illness that isn't overt and is so hard, so subtle to understand. It also is delightful because it is an autobiographical account of much of what the writer/director himself faced. I loved that the main character keeps going back to how/if he caused this to happen. I also like that Hudson (Perry's Character) keeps chasing the cure in spite of dealing with so many doctors who cannot help or therapists who are unprofessional. I think that's the story of so many who deal with personality disorders.

The quiet Perry assumes in this role is much like the odd sadness of Murray in "Broken Flowers" and the madness of the psychologists and psychiatrists involved reminded me a touch of "Running with Sissors".

I hope this film gets good distribution because so many will benefit from seeing it. I look forward to seeing how Matthew Perry's career is changed as he can obviously play a very serious leading role with much depth. He is no longer just a "friend".
46 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Loved it!
spitfireent-111 September 2007
JeffAbu Blog Numb is, in reality (or unreality) a wake up call There are movies that, in time, garner a cult following, for reasons most people can't fathom, or don't care too. This is likely to happen with Harris Goldberg's "Numb." The scant reviews emerging from the Tribeca Film Festival thus far have pointed out that the script is pretty much autobiographical, based on Harris Goldberg's own experience with something called Depersonalization, triggered by pot. Sounds like a pretty extreme and rare reaction to weed, and a pretty weak premise on which to base an entire movie, right? No. Just the opposite. Depersonalization Disorder is something quite real, and a condition that, incredibly, affects more people than either schizophrenia or bi-polar disorders. Yet few people, even relatively few health professionals have ever heard of it. It can be triggered by various forms of stess or trauma, as well as things like LSD and marijuana. The confusion, frustration and inability to deal with "normal" life that often marks DPD is portrayed beautifully by Matthew Perry, whose eyes, at times reveal the void left behind by a soul that has simply disappeared. Lack of affect, "numbness" is just one of many symptoms of depersonalization, but it is likely the one most movie viewers can relate to, and perhaps, the simplest to portray. In this sense, Harris Goldberg has wisely avoided extensive diving into the fearfully negative and hopeless waters of DPD. Instead, he gives us important glimpses into the overall angst of the condition as well as the sufferer's desperate efforts to resume a "normal" life. And he manages to do this within a comedic context. DPD is NOT depression, you see, nor is it humorless. People with the condition are often highly intelligent, and more often than not, they can exhibit extreme insight and a biting wit, simply because their ego, or lack thereof, never stands in the way. Ultimately, this film marks the very first mention of Depersonalization Disorder on the big screen. It is the first depiction of someone who has it. On top of it, Goldberg has generously shown Perry reading the only authoritative book on the condition "Feeling Unreal" right in the middle of the film. Creating this film, which is funny and highly entertaining by any standard, marks a singlar act of courage on the part of the writer/director. According to Hollywood: Everyone knows that pot is always harmless, right? Wrong. According to the medical profession: Depersonalization is just a symptom of some other condition, right. Wrong again. Goldberg has, if nothing else, boldly stated these truths by tickling the funnybone rather than the temporal lobe. Literally millions of people already know these truths, and therein lies the film's audience, for a long long time. posted on Sunday, May 13, 2007 11:34 PM by JeffAbu
43 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
This movies is superb
adventurous42024 January 2008
The movie is absolutely superb, it has everything, its fun to watch Mathew Perry again and he has done a tremendous job, Goldberg, what can I say about him, he's fantastic as an writer & director & I think its his own story.

The movie is about a guy named Hudson who has depersonalized disorder & how he comes face to face to face his fear lolz, its funny & at the same time has a strong message in it.

Mathew Perry has done a superb job, I think he deserves an award for this movie, its been a treat to watch him on big screen after his successful series of friends.

Go & watch this movie, its worth it.
36 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Numb left me feeling everything.
spellydog24 January 2008
I recently viewed, "Numb" at the Palm Springs Film Festival. It was by far the best film there. Harris Goldberg's script and direction are seamless in this film. The story was laid out on film beautifully. Numb is extremely interesting and funny. If you like, Garden State, you will love this film. I was in Palm Springs representing another film in the film festival. (I'm a Composer) I never knew that Matthew Perry was that good of an actor. I always thought he was funny in friends, clever reaction more than serious acting. Well in "Numb" he really shows his range. Matthew Perry was spectacular in his role as Hudson the mentally de- personalized professional script writer. His love interest, I hate to say I don't recall her name, but she sucked up the screen and I fell in love with her instantly. When you work in this business you see a bunch of sub par films. So, when you see a film like, "Numb," your faith in film making is restored. Thank you Harris Goldberg and cast.
22 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Phenomenal performance!!
Ryan Anderson9 May 2007
Warning: Spoilers
This review may contain spoilers!!! I got tickets to the 30th April showing of Numb at the Tribeca Film Festival in NYC. Like most people, I was a huge fan of Friends, but apart from that, I really had no interest in watching anything Matthew Perry had previously starred in. After seeing this movie, my opinion has changed! The movie is about a young screenwriter named Hudson, who suffers from depersonalization disorder, a type of depression that he struggles with for the entire movie, while trying to win over the woman of his dreams, Sara (played by the beautiful Lynn Collins) What I liked about this story was that it had a very autobiographical feel to it; I later learned that it was in fact written about Harris Goldberg's (Numb's writer and director) struggle with the illness.

Plummeting further and further into a depression that neither his friends or family were able to comprehend, Hudson is so distraught that he can't handle watching anything on television more demanding than the Golf Channel. Unable to work or uphold a relationship, his only release is an increasingly worrying (pen) shoplifting habit.

Hudson's attempt at getting help using therapy are less than successful, with one shrink prescribing an ever-changing series of medications that do little more than put him into a comatose state. He does however make some progress with another doctor, but she suddenly becomes passionately infatuated with him (and he realizes that she may in fact be crazier than he is) Things start to change for Hudson when he meets the gorgeous Sara, whose relaxed ways and big-hearted spirit help bring him out of his shell. But even then his relationship becomes threatened by his powerlessness to take on life's risks.

I honestly do not want to spoil the story, as it's definitely a movie I would recommend to people! All I want to say is how incredible this cast worked together. Harris mentioned that Matthew was not his first choice for the movie, but that soon changed after they met to discuss the script, and I can honestly say, I cannot see another actor playing this character as well as he did. In my opinion, Kevin Pollack was also another perfect choice; he played Hudson's constantly eating writing partner.

I went in to the movie theater with little to no expectations, and I came out with some very different opinions. After seeing this movie, I'd gladly watch Matthew in his new NBC show Studio 60, as I have now realized he really is more than Chandler Bing! Lets hope we see this in movie theaters real soon!!
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
great romantic comedy
yannamari145 June 2008
I saw this at the Austin Film Festival and thought it was one of the best romantic comedies I have seen in years--and from the most unlikely source material. Beautifully written with a light hand, it exploits extreme situations for humor but always goes beyond simple shock value and superficial, quirky tics. (This writer has had enough of movies like Superbad and Knocked Up, which wear audiences out with shock humor, and I didn't see the point of Napolean Dynamite, in which minimalist, oddball moments fail to accrete to a real story.) Numb is instead an eccentric, hilarious film with depth, heart and soul. The tone was spot on: though based on deeply painful autobiographical material, Numb is never maudlin or pathetic. And Matthew Perry is outstanding--prevented from being outlandishly Matthew Perry ("Zero," the director reportedly commanded him. "Nothing. You're numb."), it seemed he was forced to funnel his comic genius into tiny, brilliant moments. A gem of film.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Finally... an intelligent film... Perry is Great!
margaret-17529 August 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Just saw this film at the Sedona International Film Festival. It is by far the best film I've seen in a long time. Just what I've been hoping for.. and intelligent film. Matthew Perry is superb! Many thanks to Harris Goldberg for bringing a film that speaks to psychological suffering in such an honest and enjoyable way. Too often films with this kind of subject matter are overdone and painful to watch. This was the opposite. It was thoughtful and a delight to watch. It was graced with just the right amount of strategically placed comedic snippets, (most of which the audience got immediately) that you didn't get the feeling it was going to depress you in the end. Which it didn't. It was true. It know doubt hit home for many in a confirming and not too serious way. We here in Sedona GET IT! Harris was great to listen too at the Q&A as well as Matthew via phone. Two nice guys. It was an intelligent crowd and fun evening.

Just brilliant...Thank You! Hope you come back in February!
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Perry is great, "Numb" is not
Jeff Howard7 May 2007
You know how you go to a movie and the way it opens makes you feel like you're in for a great time? The premise seems great and the lead actor is wonderful, yet for reasons beyond your control the movie gets continually less interesting as it goes along? And you keep rooting for it and rooting for it, because you can feel the good movie in there waiting to break out? But the good movie in there never breaks out, and when you leave the theater and start talking to people who watched it with you it becomes quickly apparent that everyone agrees that it was "almost good"?

That is "Numb." It is almost a good movie. Matthew Perry is great and charming and believable in a very challenging role, and yet I cannot recommend this movie. I saw it at the Tribeca Film Festival with a bunch of strangers who I had gotten to know from picking the same movies all week, and we all agreed.

If "Numb" makes it to cable, I would recommend it as a very interesting study in a film that you watch and keep thinking, "This should be better. This should totally be better. Why isn't this better?" I will not go into why this movie isn't better, because the writer/director seemed like a sincere and nice person. Nothing is more annoying than internet jerks who insult people anonymously. I applaud him for giving us this personal story from his life. I just wish that he had been able to take this movie to the next level so that I could tell my friends, "You've got to look for 'Numb' when it comes out. Matthew Perry is great and the movie is an intriguing, personal story." I cannot recommend this movie. I wish that I could.
47 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Well written, slightly flawed directing
Josh Kaplan22 March 2008
This movie is very well written, the drama is crafted intelligently and the humor is good. The only problem I found with the film is the decision to mix the humor with a somewhat serious portrayal of the hero's condition - the way it is shown, the viewer does not know whether to identify with the hero and feel sorry for him or to just laugh from (the good) comic situations he runs into. This made me feel a bit guilty for laughing which is quite strange for a film which should be comic. Other then that, everything in the film and especially the acting is quite professional and all in all the film is very enjoyable. I give it a 10 out of 10 because it is so much better than most other comedies which are shown currently in theaters but it would probably get much less attention which would be a pity.
14 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Too depressing for me
Mr Black22 March 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Well, this was a tough for me. I picked it up on DVD because Matthew Perry was on the cover and I'm actually a big fan of his. I think he is pretty funny in comedies and an all around good actor. For some reason I thought this was going to be a comedy. It does has some funny stuff but for the most part it is dark and moody. There are times when I felt like yelling out "snap out of it!" to his on screen character. For me there was no resolution. At the end of the film he still has his same problems, although he does get the girl. The performances though are all good. All the supporting cast is great. It just wasn't a movie I'd want to see twice. I was hoping for more funny stuff and for somehow his new love to snap him back to reality.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
lovely Lynn Collins made this interesting
SnoopyStyle8 November 2013
Hudson Milbank (Matthew Perry) is a depressed Hollywood screenwriter who can't feel anything. He bounces from one psychiatrist to another. His life takes an interesting turn when he meets the lovely Sara Harrison (Lynn Collins).

Director/writer Harris Goldberg doesn't have the creativity to make this movie quirky. I wasn't certain what it was trying to do for quite awhile. Then Lynn Collins gets into the movie and I figure this was a nice little rom-com. But then Lynn gets yanked out of the movie. It completely disrupted the flow. Mary Steenburgen provided some quirky funny moments in the last half, but it's too little. Lynn was sorely missed. A depressed Matthew Perry is just not compelling all by himself.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Heart-warming, though serious flick about a serious situation...
dramses7919 August 2011
Yet another one here who has some of those depersonalization episodes the main character in this movie suffers from. So, along with some of the other reviewers here, I know what you go/have gone through...

Getting back to the movie, it has been majestically directed and well- acted. The movie takes a great effort into showing the audience what the main character is feeling, without making it boring to the spectator. Matthew Perry is also great in the movie, with a powerful performance...not shallow, and also not exaggerated.

With enough depth in drama, as required by the situation displayed in the movie, it also had quite some humor in it, but at the right dosage, I'd say.

So, yes, it is a movie TO BE SEEN by the general audience. It has humanity in it, even when showing something which is not pretty. It portrays a journey of self-discovery also, something pretty much required of any human being out there, even the ones who occasionally have some trouble with feelings and humor/mood changes, likes some of us.

Great movie! Really recommend it!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
question
zenwiebe16 October 2010
This is to the people that have smoked pot and your brain chemistry has changed into a depressed state. I was wondering if anyone tried coke to reverse the effects of what the pot did? If anyone has could they respond. Greatly appreciated. As far as the movies goes it was excellent. It shows how difficult it is on people to lead normal lives when they are not a hundred percent mentally healthy. It also shows that it can happen to anybody and it makes people feel that they are not all alone in there condition. Mathew Perry did and unbelievable job as he really committed to the role of his character. I was very impressed with him and he deserved a lot more attention for his performance than he received.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Irritating
deaustin200017 August 2009
Numb has to be one of the most idiotic, annoying, pretentious yet pointless wastes of time in the history of cinema, not even a dog, but the product of a dog's hind end. If you want background noise in which the word f... is used in various contexts in pathetic attempts at humor, go ahead and buy the CD. Even as background noise, however, I had to eject this annoying trash at the midway point. I mean, like I could go on with another ten or twenty lines using words such as crap, garbage, outright irritating, but what more needs to be said. Lemme post this and see if it's enough as is. Nope, I need a couple more lines, I guess. OK, I'm thinking about bringing suit against the film's producers. This film elicited such violent emotions in me that I had to slam the eject button to get rid of it and thus ruined a perfectly good CD drive.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Loved it!
maazrk16 August 2016
It's been quite some time since i've finished watching friends and i was missing the funny, sarcastic character of Matthew Perry from it, so i thought why not watch more of his work from the past and came across Numb..After watching it i even more forgot about the joking character i knew.. He has portrayed a totally different character and nailed it! It really felt like this movie is affecting me in some way, not just passing my time. I think, emotionally it would be equivalent to the fault in our stars to give you a hint of what to expect..If you are really a fan of Matthew Perry, then you should definitely make time for this one!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Numb film left me none the wiser, as no solution was found
omary-319969 July 2016
This film offered no resolution of a man being hooked on psych medication.who at the end of the film is no better and continues to take them.

A very disappointing conclusion He accepts his malfunctioning.Caused by family dysfunction.

What was the point of this film, could someone please explain.

In other words, 47 million people continue to take anti-depressants daily for the whole of their lives,in Britain.

Because we have been conditioned to do so,without any reviews as the withdrawal symptoms of psych medication are so overwhelmingly debilitating that we accept our chemical lobotomies.

So we accept the apathy and indifference loss of interest spiritual malaise.numbness, the closing down and blunting of all emotions.

The answer, which the film failed to portray is to get off this toxic poison, which calcifies your brain, dulls your frontal cortex and leave you no more than a lethargic being, because you have been stripped of your humanity.

Just look at the clinical studies which support this. Or Reform psychiatrists, who maintains on these medications, you are less than you can be.

Your drug could be your problem. .

Life has learning from emotions, what are we without them ?
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Mary Steenburgen Mary Steenburgen ... Visitor #2
dantonstl17 December 2014
So I have been not connected to power or film in awhile, I admit that I have been going to see many films in the last two years. As a summary I poit out Mary Steenburgen, what a great gal! This movie is one intense movie that actually is enjoyable. I had just seen INLAND EMPIRE by David Lynch, and totally wanted to assure that the actress i saw was in fact the very same one who plays a therapist in NUMB. so, Matthew Perry is a smart dude. I acknowledge his friendship with his buddy in a sort of NON fantasy role like Jack Black in Shallow Hal. The interesting and sexy person that Lynn Collins is makes this film a little more exciting as well as intriguing...if not a total bummer. But jump in Mary Steenburgen, and whallagh! awesome sentiment and compensation virtually arousing the males minds in this erotic thriller that insinuates that a mental illness is not to be taken seriously, and that DETACHMENT is a serious issue.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Enjoyed this dark comedy -Wow "Chandler" can act
juneebuggy25 October 2014
I think the best thing about this movie is the fact that Mathew Perry finally leaves his 'Friends' character behind and does some real acting. He is a mess here and gives a pretty astounding performance as a chronically depressed screenwriter desperately trying to cure his condition after he finds the love of his life. 'Hudson' suffers from depersonalization disorder and tries a host of different therapists (Mary Steenburgen) and drugs in his quest to "feel" something other than anxiety.

Its an okay movie with a few good or funny moments i.e. ("Chandler" dropping f-bombs and smoking a giant bong.) I enjoyed Lynn Collins as his girlfriend and they appeared to have some genuine chemistry together. There are hints of something darker and deeper in flashbacks to his childhood and his mother. 02.03.14
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
An accurate resume of my darks years: June 1996 – June 1998 (web)
leplatypus23 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
If this American production fails again as usual to be imaginative in the main character's occupation (a writer...), the movie is however an excellent surprise to depict a psychological pain and the fraud of the shrinks.

I know clearly of what i can write because i took this road in my past (remember my title?) and suffer the same depersonalization syndrome (in my case, the start wasn't a pot but a total burnout from college exams to stay the top of my class for a 4th year). Thus, everything I faced during this time is on the screen with great intelligence:

  • the feeling to not recognize his own body, to disconnect from the places, the other people (


  • the same consultations with distant psys, their drugs, their side effects and especially on male potency.


  • the same fear of mixing words and death (mine was about thinking to stop my heart) and the same reply of no connexion.


  • the same anxiety or hyperventilation crisis and the candid help from parents.


  • the same indifference from psys and the same lovestruck for one (mine was a dark Italian with green eyes).


And finally, the same solution to escape this doom and live again: get rid of psys, drugs and do sport and meet friends!

This personal, intimate journey is here supported by a great cast: Perry is the finest member of the "friends" family with a real talent for comedy and proximity, Lynn is a fresh newcomer, Perry's friend is always funny and it was good to see again Doc's girlfriend and Cancerman!

Unfortunately, this movie has great chances to fall in the movies limbos. At least, i'm happy to have found it and i urge you to do the same, even if you are not a psycho!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews