The Last Full Measure (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
237 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
One of the best movies I've seen in a while!
brooke-6139328 April 2020
Great storyline and entertaining throughout the whole movie. It's sad to see our vets get no recognition and this movie showcased how humanity, respect and compassion is still alive. I cried at the end. I never cry watching movies but this one really touched my heart!!! A must see! :')
84 out of 99 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very well done movie
babyruth-3900624 January 2020
I totally loved the movie. My mother, my aunt and I went to go see it and it was very emotional for us. I'm so glad to finally see, what went into getting our cousin, the Congressional Medal Of Honor. Also, just putting this out there. It states here, William Hart Pitsenbarger Jr but he was not a junior. He was not named after anyone, except for his middle name, which was his mother's maiden name. I would also like to note, that Diane Ladd played Alice Pitsenbarger but Alice Pitsenbarger was not Williams' mother. His mother passed away in 1991. Alice was his fathers 2nd wife. Williams' mothers name was, Irene Emma (Hart) Pitsenbarger. I know this because William was my family. My great-grandmother and his grandfather, were brother and sister.
138 out of 170 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Movie
jstrandberg-885-30159323 January 2020
This was a great movie. People who nit-pick it miss the point. Movies are supposed to entertain us, they are not history lessons. Sure there are a few mistakes, but nothing that detracts from the story or the man's heroism.

And for you guys talking about his "sergeant strips" that change did not take effect until Oct. 1967 and this action happened in April 1966. At the time of the action his 3-stripes indicated Senior Airman, which is still an Airman.

Sit back and enjoy the film. I'm sure you won't regret it. God bless you William Pitsenbarger.
108 out of 138 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A True American Hero!
ncoutlander21 January 2020
After seeing 1917 I really wasn't expecting much when I started watching the movie. 1917 would be a tough act to follow. I have to say now that at least for me...the true war Story vs a hearsay war story was way better.. At the time I knew nothing about William Pitsenbarger. I'm glad I refused all temptation to do a Google Search before watching the movie, I simply followed the story and was not disappointed. Beautifully written and I'm sure you will tear up, once you hear multiple witnesses describing the Airman's heroics.
122 out of 159 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Beautiful made movie
rachelbbbbb11 August 2019
Beautiful made movie! It's a movies which didn't bring out the violence of the war, but a emotional and touchy story of a hero. It's really rare that we even see a Vietnam war movies. I literally cried throughout the whole movies. Very glad to see. Great pick on actor and subject! Love the concept that this movie has brought hope to our life. PTSD was well written and showed in front of us. All the suffers that those veterans had been through. Great storyline based on real story. For sure that this story has "heart" , I really hope that people can see, feel and understand what veterans had been through and provide support for them. Definitely recommend!
216 out of 290 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Nothing Else Like It
user-19718-2793320 January 2020
First of all, I have never seen a movie take on a war story like this. Think Hacksaw Ridge, meets Saving Private Ryan without all the gore. It's not about the nations, the generals, the guns, or the tanks- it's about the people. The Last Full Measure is a Drama that happens to be a war movie. Plus, you have never seen performances like those given by William Hurt, Ed Harris, Sam Jackson, Diane Ladd, and Chris Plummer. I got to see the movie at a special screening in Washington DC, and the entire audience, including military brass, had tears running down their cheeks by the end. And, trust me, they weren't tears of sorrow-It leaves you with a feeling of joy and gratitude for any solider who places themself in the line of fire. Anyone who doesn't appreciate this film has no empathy. I would highly recommend seeing this in theaters, not just for the action, but to fully appreciate the nuances in these actors' eyes. I went with my grandmother who doesn't usually like war movies, and she won't stop talking about it.
113 out of 151 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Worth a watch
suicycomod24 January 2020
Second review I 24 hours being off work sick has its advantages!! I saw the low review point on this but watched it anyway because of the cast, it nearly has a better cast than the Irishman !!!! I'm not American ... I did not serve in Vietnam nor do I know anyone that served in that war as some keyboard warrior reviews seem hung up on. I enjoyed a well written well acted movie and I'm not ashamed to say I sat here and cried for the last 10 mins, not something I do for movies I think ET in the cinema was the last time. This movie slowly wrapped its storyline around my heart, gripped me till the end and and didn't disappoint. Disregard the low ratings and rants from wannabe movie critics this is a movie to enjoy and cherish every moment of they don't make them like this too often and when they do movies like this have a habit of falling between the same cracks spoken in the movie. Enjoy it for what it is, a journey for more than one person including the viewer.
82 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Critics Be Damned, This Is A Moving, Gut Check Film
utahbeekeeper25 January 2020
I was "In Country" about 40 miles away when this went down. The Whole Operation Was A "Goof" so why are some folks gripping over the model of helicopter, or the strips on a uniform, or the fact that "Pits" didn't get sufficient screen time. As an Army pilot, I worked mostly with Army Dustoff Hueys and crews. However, these Air Force Pararescue teams were special! The events producers wanted to build into a commercial success need some fleshing out, some screen writing skills to make it what it is. This old Vietnam pilot wept like a baby during many scenes. One of my missions was to fly low as "bait" and mark targets for fast movers. The line spoken by a US Senator was a particular gut punch for me.

"Usually we are judged by what we do. But what we don't do is what haunts us."

Yes, William H. Pitsenbarger was the epic reason for the movie and maybe we didn't see enough of him. That can be easily forgiven by me. A bit of Hollywood "Poetic License" was very well executed in this case, and it resulted in a beautiful motion picture. Every comfortable American who perhaps has never taken up arms and walked a post needs to see this one, Well done (for a change), Hollywood!
69 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Airman William H. Pitsenbarger, Jr. and the effort to get his Medal of Honor recognition after 30+ years.
TxMike23 June 2020
The title of this movie derives from something Abe Lincoln said in his Gettysburg Address all those years ago, "It is rather for us to be here dedicated to the great task remaining before us that from these honored dead we take increased devotion to that cause for which they here gave the last full measure of devotion."

The event in question happened in Vietnam in 1966, 21-yr-old Airman William H. Pitsenbarger, Jr., a medic, decided on his own to scramble down into the fray upon realizing the unit's medic was the one wounded. He had been recommended for the Medal of Honor but it never went through, we learn because the paperwork routing went awry. It was eventually awarded on December 8th, 2000 during the Presidency of Bill Clinton.

Several really good veteran actors are the the roles of men who fought with Pitsenbarger, plus during the end credits we see and hear from several of the actual men who were involved during the 1960s.

Good movie, I watched it at home on DVD from my public library, my wife skipped. Maybe 20% of the movie is recreated battle scenes, the rest in modern (1990s) times during the search to find out what happened and what needed to be done to get the award finalized.
20 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Powerful and emotionally stirring
fiercecelt24 April 2020
As a US Air Force Veteran who served in classified Intel overseas, I did not serve in-country Vietnam. I was at the cusp of the War, referred to as a Vietnam War Era Veteran. I have had friends and colleagues who did serve. We never discussed it. I respect that. If THEY wanted to talk about it, that was different. But, the rule of thumb among most Military Veterans was not (is not) to ask.

Until this movie, I was unaware of the Pitsenberger story. It is common for such movies to stir my emotions, deeply. This one surely did. The ugliness and senselessness of war, especially this war, were telegraphed across the screen with intensity. Yet, the spirit and compassion of Pitsenberger reveals a young man who was full of heart; and, love for others.

Again, as an Air Force Veteran, I feel honored to have learned about Airman Pitsenberger, superbly represented by Jeremy Irvine. The movie ended exactly as I had hoped it would. The cast of characters includes some of the best actors in the theater profession. Kudos!
31 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The Last Full Measure.
lakes-4906824 January 2020
An EXCELLENT Movie..Fantastically True Story,Great Stars,acting top notch.All round a VERY Moving,Gripping Movie...Top Marks
63 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Others sacrifice so I may have an easy life.
stevojaxon21 January 2020
On occasion I have been courageous. Sometimes I see it in others. But where and in the time I live, is the easy abundant safe culture, becoming devoid of values of character and promoting self interest above all else. This story is important, since in time, it may be seen as a fictitious fable that few will be able to identify with. A few need to live and tell such stories. More than anything, I'm glad I have the insight that allowed me the privilege of seeing and understanding this movie. War doesn't leave us, it simply changes shape. Nowadays we have the war for control of our minds, wallets and spirits. No blood spilled, just dumbing down. This is a well told story of humility, selflessness and sacrifice. I won't be around later when no-one identifies or cares about this story, or other stories like it. And I wouldn't want to live in that time anyway.
68 out of 98 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Just a beautiful movie.
jimmywrangleswows23 January 2020
This is not a war movie. It's a movie about love and friendship, heroism and honour. Do yourself a favor and give it a watch.
49 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Really good fact based drama
masonsaul20 July 2020
Whilst it takes an annoyingly generic and familiar approach to it's incredible true story, The Last Full Measure is still a really good fact based drama that's emotional and engaging. Sebastian Stan gives a great lead performance and Christopher Plummer, Samuel L. Jackson, Ed Harris and William Hurt all give amazing supporting performances. Todd Robinson's direction is really good and the war scenes are effectively intense and harrowing. The music by Philip Klein is good.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very good
stevegoode-9145729 May 2020
Don't listen to the poor reviews. This is a damn good film that brought tears to my eyes on numerous occasions.

Stellar cast and on point acting. Even Seb Stan surprised me after years of being the winter soldier.

Good job, a war film that aims at everything but the blood and guts
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This will make you cry
xxx_tash_xxx15 April 2020
Absolutely good movie, recommend watching this. Had my husband crying 😭 definitely a 10/10
18 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I think I'm in shock...
spikeit25 January 2020
Just walked out of the theater minutes ago and I'm still processing it all. Wonderful movie with a strong cast. A powerful story and message about the sacrifices made by Pits and all the men and women serving our country. Very emotional and moving... makes me want to do more that matters in the world.
39 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Selfless sacrifice when its most needed.
solomonjp24 January 2020
I'm not an American and I don't see the American engagement with the war in Vietnam was the right thing to do. But the soldiers have nothing to do with the decision. I see this at a very human level, a story of great sacrifice and going beyond one's job or duty to save others lives at one's own peril. The movie provides an opportunity for those who haven't been at war to experience the trauma of loss. Particularly of a person who saved your life. I never saw the point of medals given posthumously. I now see why. This movie educated me through my heart and my empathy, not through my head. The actors, the direction, the music and the editing was just right. There are cheesy parts; they are brief, its like too much icing on a good cake. One can easily ignore them and enjoy the movie
40 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Getting insignia wrong is lazy, not required
TheColonelsFamily27 January 2020
Murphman0526 Your claim that it is illegal to depict military uniforms, insignia, etc. accurately in a film is a myth created by Hollywood, which is simply too lazy and uncaring to get it right.

There is not and never has been such a law or regulation. Please stop spreading nonsense as an excuse for production companies' shoddy research and sloppy costume design.

P.S. I am a retired 30 year Air Force colonel and was an executive producer myself. I know of what I speak from both sides.
38 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautifully heartwrenching
michaeljamesregan25 January 2020
What an incredibly touching movie (with a beautiful score I might add). Of course it is still fiction and part of the story needs to be redirected. But what an accomplish and feat of a film to get to the core of Pitsenbarger as well as the lost and forgotten men. It's not a typical war movie (as it focuses on the aftermath, the honoring of a hero and those that fought for him for over 30 years). In doing so, keeps it unique and fresh. It focuses on PTSD, veterans and the effects to loved ones, friends and family. I found myself in tears at various moments and just leaving as though I saw all the effort and years put into making this film. Phenomenal casting all around. Great directing by Todd Robinson.
36 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Compelling story re tragedy of war and of heroes
dollmyr26 January 2020
Politicians start the wars and our children die in them. A movie about values, bravery, tragedy and a man struggling to do the right thing. No "buzz" about this movies but certainly worth every minute n tear.
18 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
What a film
leejball21 January 2020
Great film. Good actors, good writing, well directed, great story.
35 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great thoughtful, movie! Not your typical war flick
romanraju20 January 2020
Wonderful heartfelt movie. I left it moved with a deeper appreciation for the men and women in service ( both now and before) that we all have so much to be grateful for. Truly great performances by A list cast. In such a divisive time it's nice to agree on the honor of our brave military serviceman. Take the time to watch it..
37 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
WOW
kopstar-1925620 January 2020
This is Amazing It makes you realise what the lads went through. Pure hell. But both sides suffered and we can now look at it, and realise that brothers die for brothers and it still goes on and not enough are rewarded for what they give.
41 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A story worth KNOWING... A movie worth SEEING! From Reel Tunez.. The Radio Show All About the Movies
dan_slentz27 January 2020
Reel Tunez Movie Review (1/27/20): "The Last Full Measure"

After seeing Black Hawk Down years ago, I really felt like seeing movies like this left me (and others) feeling like they lived through the hell of war and battles, and I've generally avoided many of these, but The Last Full Measure is an incredible story of bravery, honor, and true sacrifice!

The story takes place in Vietnam, and is based on the true story of a REAL American hero.. William Pittsenbarger, a Air Force airman/medic who incredibly and with true bravery ended up sacrificing his life to save many others.

As a USAF veteran, I watched this movie with a little more understanding of the mentality of those in the military.

The quick notes of the story are based on this Air Force airman who put his life on the line and left the medevac helicopter to support his Army comrades who were under very heavy enemy fire with many killed and many severely injured. He was put up for the Medal of Honor (highest award for military bravery), but instead posthumously given a lower recognition. For over 30 years, those he saved fought the system to give him the true recognition he deserved. This is the story of that recognition, with flashbacks to what occurred which are sprinkled throughout the story.

As a vet who didn't see combat, but who studied what occurred in Vietnam and with friends who are Nam vets, I can understand (but truly not know.. thank God) the horror these military members went through. None of my older Vietnam vet friends ever openly talk about the horrors, but every one of them clearly show the scars of that hell.. and for that, I and all who have served recognize and thank them for their bravery and their sacrifice! Some volunteered, some were drafted, but nearly all stood up to serve when called. All of them deserve our thanks no matter what the outcome of any war (or "Un-declaired war"), fight, offensive, or simply by serving their country in a way that always puts them in a situation where their lives could be sacrificed.

This movie had a major cast that included: Sebastian Stan, Jeremy Irvine (as Airman "Pitt" (Pittsenbarger), Samuel L. Jackson, Peter Fonda (his last role), Christopher Plummer, Bradley Whitford, William Hurt, and many other very talented actors.. and the cinematography and production were top notch!

The Last Full Measure... a story worth knowing and movie worth seeing! On a 1-10 star scale, I'd give this a 7.7 (although the story itself is truly a 10 and one that we should all know). PLEASE stay through the credits. Unfortunately they immediately do not start the part you should see until about 2 minutes into the credits, but after the credits start, they put real video of the people who were actually in that fire-fight discussing Airman "Pitt", and how he saved them. It includes short interviews and statements from not only the men he saved, but his fellow medevac airman who he left behind in the helicopter to drop right in on the fighting to try to save those who were shot up.

The Last Full Measure... definitely worth seeing!!
18 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed