What's Your Number? (2011) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
98 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
What's your angle?
kosmasp3 April 2012
I know I shouldn't have liked or enjoyed it. Especially because I'm not really a big fan of Anna Faris (as an actress that is). But you can't fault her in this one. She really gets the most of many scenes (as stupid as they seem and feel like). And while this isn't really something that should be accounted for (as a positive), it really is nice, that it does not pull any punches (talking about the R-rating, although there is a longer cut to be released later on).

Of course you know where this is heading and while the ending again might fall short of all the swagger that has come up to that point it still feels like a nice comedy. Or should I say "raunchy" instead of nice? But both words fit the bill here. Both lead actors are obviously having fun and it translates and really transcends to the viewer. Not comedy gold, but entertaining enough
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
The Best Movie Katherine Heigl Never Made
Brent Trafton2 October 2011
"What's Your Number?" follows the standard Rom-Com formula as all the other Katherine Heigl or Jennifer Aniston movies that came before it. The only difference is this one is actually funny and has a bunch of laugh out loud jokes.

The reason this film is so much better than the other R-rated Rom-Com's is that Anna Faris is a true comedienne and is not afraid to show a little butt-cheek to get a laugh. She is essentially the whole reason to see this film.

Chris Evans, Blythe Danner, and Ed Begley Jr. make up the fine supporting cast. The jokes are mostly foul, crude, and unsophisticated but the audience at my showing was laughing throughout most of the film. The ending gets saccharine and sentimental at the end, but most of these types of films do that.

If you have felt cheated by the films of Jennifer Aniston and Katherine Heigl, you should check out "What's Your Number?"
53 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
pleasantly surprised
susiequeue1121 September 2011
a friend invited me to a screening of What's Your Number the other night and i went, but thought it was going to be lame. It wasn't! the trailer is so bad - why is it so bad? but the movie is funny! i swear, there are parts that are still making me chuckle days later.

Anna Faris is darling. Chris Evans not as boring as you think he's going to be - he's actually quite charming. (and his body is sick, but that's beside the point.) They have good chemistry and the banter between them is hysterical. they say the things that you think and would never dare to say out loud, which made me laugh and laugh. some people might find that offensive, like my mom, but i'm not recommending this movie to her.

i am recommending it to my girlfriends though. i see a lot of movies and this is waaay better than that No Strings Attached or horrible Justin Timberlake rom-com. this one is cute and has some really funny lines.

also - it's a fun shopping movie. i covet her apartment, i want to go to Boston in springtime, and it made me want to dig up some of my 80's music. is it winning an Oscar? no, but it's cute. i don't think you'll be disappointed.
56 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Eye Candy
gradyharp12 February 2012
WHAT'S YOU NUMBER? is a flimsy bit of fluff based on the novel '20 Times A Lady' by Karen Bosnak and transformed for the screen by Gabrielle Allan and Jennifer Crittenden. It is a very light comedy that has some observations about today's dating/quasi-relationship scene, but those impressions are a bit too true to be funny, so it is best to just concentrate on the film as a diversion of the kick back, put feet up, and giggle along with it genre.

Ally Darling (!) (Anna Faris) has a history of having many ex-boy connections who turned out to be losers. Reading an article that offers number amounts for judging sexual encounters (Ally has exceeded the norm) she freaks and believes that she can't find THE good guy. Deciding to reevaluate her ex-encounters searching for Mr Right, she decides to look up all of her exs to see if any of them have changed for the better. Finding this task daunting she turns to her apartment neighbor Colin Shea (Chris Evans), a would-be musician who sleeps with women every night and sneaks out the morning after to avoid relating to them, to act as her detective. The rest is a contrived series of ups and downs of the manhunt that has few qualified candidates. And the end is predictable.

For once Anna Faris has snagged a role that shows her talent (and fingernails-on-the- blackboard voice) and she looks terrific. But the biggest treat in the film is Chris Evans appearing in the buff often enough to keep the movie on: not only does he enjoy his Adonis body but he seems happy allowing it to buff up an otherwise routine comedy part. There is another attraction in the wings - Oliver Jackson-Cohen - who seems to have a future in film. Tuck in the always reliable Blythe Danner and Ed Begley, Jr and this is a cast worth an evening's outing. But the treat on top of the confection is the eye candy generously shared by Chris Evans.

Grady Harp
18 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Finally a romantic comedy for all
AaronAshton21 September 2011
My girlfriend got invited to a screening of this movie and though I tried to wiggle my way out of it, I was trapped into going. Walking into the theater with the worst possible predisposition, I have to admit I left smiling.

Men will immediately sympathize with the Chris Evans character: Slacker/musician/womanizer. Not the classic perfect catch man of these type of movies, which is breath of fresh air. I am not particularly fond of Farris, but she was another pleasant surprise. She makes her character very likable and though pursuing a completely ridiculous task she is absolutely relatable. Excellent character development by both, we see them grow and change and their on screen chemistry is just right. The reason I think the movie is perfect for all is that it has the right amount of romantic elements, mixed with a fair amount of raunchy and naked butts to keep everyone laughing. Not once during this movie did I feel it was falling into a sappy whole, and trust me I am the first one to stick two fingers down his throat when that happens (sorry for the image).

This movie definitely brakes the mold of Romantic Comedy, hopefully this is the direction they will take in the future. Let's make one thing clear: If you go see "What's your number?" be ready to laugh, be entertained and have a fun time. Don't expect "The Godfather", cause it ain't.

I'm not much of a review writer but there's something bugging me and I want to get it out. As a person who works in the film industry, I am particularly offended by the comment left below. You can like or dislike a movie for many reasons, obviously nobody has the definite truth. However, these folks create, develop, and put their names out there just to entertain you. You chose to stay behind your computer screen and criticize their work (poorly, I might add). Guess who's the coward?
99 out of 152 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
469th Review: Solid Rom-Com - liked it a lot
intelearts22 December 2011
What's Your Number simply is better than most rom-coms. It's a lot of fun, and puts some sizzle into the shizzle by giving it a little bit more sexyback than most. It's saved by two cute lead performances, a solid script, and a nod to the world that life ain't the 1950s anymore.

We really enjoyed this - it has a lot of heart, some genuine laughs, nothing too crude, it's sassy, even sexy, without being anything dangerous, and it's main plot device - what if you could go back and meet all your Exes - is one that has to ring true with a wide swathe of people.

All in all, if you like rom-coms then this is going to be exactly what you like; it makes you feel romantic, like true love is possible, and does so without being either prissy or crude; and it scores points for pointing out what really matters in life.... all in all a fun outing that both the heart and the mind can enjoy.
17 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Got Anna Faris' Number!
pturner101026 September 2011
Do you looooooove Rom-Coms? Do you looooooove Anna Faris? If the answer is yes to either, then you can add at least another star or two to this rating.

For me, rom-coms are just too damn predictable and therefore never going to get above a six rating (unless you're talking unconventional genre spasms like 500 Days of Summer).

However taking into account I don't like rom-coms, this is the highest rating one of these films will get from me. Anna Faris is extremely likable as ever and Chris Evans is very funny and probably a perfect specimen of man in the eyes of many an audience member.

Watch the trailer and you'll know how it ends but the journey provides the kind of rude laughs and romantic moments in iconic locations that are becoming ever more familiar in the modern rom-com.

Like the recent Friends With Benefits (not bad) and the hilarious Bridesmaids, What's Your Number? is ruder and funnier than many older rom-coms with hand-job jokes, potty-mouthed dialogue and a female character who is liberated, crude and played by a star who is definitely not too shy or vain to embarrass herself.

As Faris' character searches for the perfect man among her twenty ex-lovers, cameos from Martin Freeman and Andy Samberg maintain interest but it's Faris and Evans that provide the real laughs and chemistry.

Nothing new if you're not a rom-com fan but ticks all the boxes for the target audience and keeps the genre headed in a dirtier direction.
31 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
We enjoyed this probably more than we should have. Anna Faris has our number!
TxMike29 May 2012
Warning: Spoilers
When you make an inconsequential movie, and make no mistake "What's Your Number" is the epitome of an inconsequential movie, it succeeds or fails on the shoulders of the lead or leads.

This one succeeds because of Anna Faris, in my opinion a modern comedic actress genius. I have become a big fan of hers, and she can even play more serious roles as she did in 'Brokeback Mountain' and 'Lost in Translation." Here she is Ally Darling whose younger sister is getting married, but Ally is just getting fired from her job. On the subway home she reads an article that for women that have had more than 20 sexual partners, they have a 96+% chance of NEVER finding a relationship that will last.

So right away the somewhat ditzy Ally starts to make a list of her former partners, she needs to see how many she actually had. When she is finally done and counts them up she has had 19. Then after a night of drunken partying she wakes up with her former boss, the one who likes to stick his fingers in his pants then smell them. She is disgusted, but now she is at 20 and about to panic.

The other character that works out well and makes the movie interesting is Chris Evans (of Capt America) as Colin Shea , the across-the-hall neighbor who always seems to have a different girl over for the night, and the next morning he decides to hide out with Ally until the girl is gone.

We the audience recognize right away that Ally and Colin are probably soul mates, but it takes Ally a much longer time to figure that out. While she hasn't yet she decided that maybe some of her old partners might have changed for the better over the years and one of them might be ideal and she has Colin help her locate them. That idea doesn't work very well.

As Ally and Colin spend more time together, like shooting baskets in a game of strip horse at Boston Garden, or on the spur of the moment getting naked and jumping into the bay, they gradually form a bond. Ally's mother wants her to marry the "perfect" guy, who has the looks and wealth and wants to take her to Paris. But the moral of this story, if there is one, follow your heart and be with someone that you can "be yourself with", that is the route to happiness.

Fun movie, and Anna Faris is just great!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Another funny chick-flick
Eva S.7 January 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Never too early, never too late for a chick-flick. The funny story here is that i've had this film in my watch - list for a long time. I took it off twice (which means i'd added it again). The reason was Anna Faris. I didn't think of her to be a good comedy actor. Her roles were so badly chosen. At least in the comedies i've seen her.

Then again, i really wanted to see Chris Evans in a light romance comedy. Especially in this post-Captain America, pre-The Avengers period. I think he's another talented actor of this new revolutionary film movement we're witnessing these last 8 to 10 years, and i believe he can pull off perfectly some comedy roles.

The story is simple in What's Your Number? It has been seen before in movies and TV series. It's about a woman who looks back in her past relationships to find out the "mister right" she probably missed to notice.

The dialogues were funny and awkward, the music was pretty fresh and the cast was great, and Faris was surprisingly good in this one. Anything more i could say would be a spoiler. It's a generic comedy for some light viewing.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
What's your number? Probably higher than the score for this film…
bennington133 October 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I'll be honest. This was the least challenging movie showing at the cinema that didn't involve 3D sharks, hence its appeal. In a nutshell, Anna Faris vows not to sleep with anyone else unless he's 'The One' after learning (via the ever reliable medium of the woman's mag) that 96% of women with more than 20 ex-partners are unable to find husbands - I don't deny that it's cinematic candy floss. Unfortunately, even with expectations thus lowered, What's Your Number? still isn't premier league viewing. It's a shame really - Anna Faris and Chris Evans are a likable (and immensely buff) central couple, which makes them easy to root for/drool over. However, the film itself is merely a sequence of plot devices, some of which work, more of which don't. It's a terrible waste - few actresses have as much comic potential and willingness to make an ass of themselves as Faris. Even the open comedy goal of Faris re-visiting her exes is wasted - despite some promisingly perverse material, numerous cameos (including Martin Freeman, and a finger sniffing Joel McHale) are fluffed or wasted. The only positive is that the unmemorable male characters leave Blythe Danner clutching the best supporting actor role (as Faris' demonically elegant mother) by default. As for Evans, while he is effectively rehashing previous roles, most notably The Human Torch, as a cocky but lovable man ho', he (and his magnificent abs) are still worth the price of entry. Plus the basketball scene is probably the sexiest thing involving one ball that you'll see in a cineplex this year. Unfortunately, despite a plausible premise (rare is the woman that hasn't questioned everything about her existence after reading an article in a lifestyle magazine), the film sags. I wasn't expecting an exhaustive treatise on feminism, but What's Your Number? doesn't even acknowledge the irony of a woman 'taking control' of her life on the basis of a single spurious statistic in a Marie Claire article, or the flagrant double standard at play as Faris' character freaks out about her number - a number easily surpassed by her male neighbour. Such omissions push the film beyond light and fluffy, and into outright vacuous territory instead. Sub plots come and go without arousing much interest, the insurmountable obstacle and various declarations of love are extremely contrived (yes, even for a rom com), and then there's the perennial question of how two penniless people can afford such magnificent apartments (I rent a hovel at vast expense, so naturally it bothers me). In short, there were better rom coms released in 2011 and unless you've already seen them, you should probably save this one for a rainy Sunday evening.
26 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
RomCom with heart & soul
cinemaniac20025 December 2012
Warning: Spoilers
This film turned out to be much more than I thought it would be. The story line is really something that any modern-day woman can relate to. After the sexual revolution of the 60s, it seems like women are still characterized as whores if they have more than a handful of partners, while men can screw hundreds of women and never be chastised. As a result, progressive women are left with either hiding their conquests or risk being branded a whore - for life. Hard to believe that in this day and age, there is still such a double standard.

Once Ally Darling (played brilliantly by Anna Faris) finds out that she has doubled the average number of partners that a woman has had - she is desperate to ensure that her next sexual partner turns out to be her husband. That desire, in and of itself is sad. She shouldn't have to think this way and is responding to a status quo ... yet, people can relate to the fact that she longs for real love. It's just that she shouldn't be under that kind of pressure. Yet, this is what happens when women compare themselves to other women in our society -- they often take drastic measures in an effort to conform.

What do men do? Their noncomformity is celebrated, so they needn't be bothered to even attempt to change it. Got no job? No problem! There's a woman out there who will look right past that, happy to carry all of the weight. Sleep around and cheat? Again, usually not a problem - as long as you don't get caught. And, even if you do, there is a strong chance that your woman will take you back. In fact, there are entire websites built to help you continue your wicked ways. This is not to say that women are not equally as guilty of being lazy, stupid or cheating. Just that women seem to be held more accountable for being those things.

To make matters worse for Ally, she gets sacked from a marketing job that she hates. So, really, that's a good thing. She just doesn't know it yet. This is actually one of the best things about this film - if nothing else, realize that when one door closes, the right door may open - if you give it a chance. This movie is full of that kinda stuff, which made it even more endearing.

Immediately after vowing to connect meaningfully with her next partner, she gets drunk and winds up screwing her old boss. The morning after scene is hilarious... and Joel McHale plays a great douchebag.

Her neighbor, whom she seems to be the female version of, saves her by the bell as he tries to get away from his own coyote ugly episode.

Ally realizes she needs to change her life around and comes up with the seemingly brilliant idea of checking on all the guys she's slept with from her past because -- gee! They may have been the one! Except that as most of us know -- that is not the case. Some people just need to stay in your past, as she will soon learn.

Hilarity ensues as we see what has been happening with all of these guys. Of course, her lofty neighbor has been helping her track the guys down. That is, until he realizes he likes her for himself. But her friends caution her that he is just another douchebag and not good enough for her. Certainly not boyfriend material. Of course, the truth is quite different - as we will see as the story plays out.

I disagree that this film does not compare to other raunchy romcoms -- in fact, I think it is better than many of them. There are really great messages buried beneath the surface of this movie that are really worth watching.

The chemistry between the actors as really great, too. As with other films of this type, there are some over the top hard to suspend disbelief moments, but that is to be expected. Truth is, they're still funny, even if hard to fathom.

Some of the lines in this film had me howling -- for the sheer truth behind them. The writing was absolutely superb when it came to that. The main thing about this film is remember that it is, in fact, a romcom. It is not a Merchant Ivory film. Realizing that -- for what it is -- it's a great film and I'm really glad I took the time to watch it because I was totally entertained -- all the way through. Also -- the messages that love means being yourself - not feeling bad about who you are and chasing your dreams - weren't lost on me and if people can get those too, then it's really worthwhile to see this movie. Especially at a time when society is still hung up on certain old school values that modern and evolved people could never live up to.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Romantic comedy with a pinch of extra topping...
Paul Magne Haakonsen26 December 2011
For a typical romantic comedy, "What's Your Number" sort of surprised me, as it was just a tad more than your average movie of this sort.

What initially made me watch it was Anna Faris (playing Ally), because she usually makes funny comedies, and I have always found her acting to be enjoyable, and her selection of characters is usually great as well. Her performance in "What's Your Number", however, wasn't her best performance in her career, in my opinion. It wasn't bad either, it was just that she are better off in straight comedies in my opinion, not these romantic comedies. But hey, we all have different likes and dislikes.

Working with Farris was Chris Evans (playing Collin), whom I can't claim to be a big fan of. I think I have only seen him in the previous couple of superhero movies that he did. And I think he was better cut out for action movies of that sort compared to the romantic comedies. I will say that Farris and Evans did have a certain good amount of on-screen chemistry that worked out well enough.

As for the story in "What's Your Number", well it is basically your average standard run-of-the-mill plot line here. An unlikely couple starting out as strangers, then eventually becoming closer and closer, until they realize that the right one was right there in front of them all along. So nothing new to be seen here in that department. The plot did thicken with the layer added when the story was given the part with how many sexual partners does a woman have in her lifetime. That aspect was kind of fun and did add some pretty awkward situations here and there.

For a comedy, there wasn't all that many laughs throughout this movie. The best scene, and the best laugh (for me), was the very last phone call that Ally got while they were in the apartment. That cracked me up.

"What's Your Number" isn't a boring movie, and it does have some more substance compared to other romantic comedies. However, I think you have to be a woman to fully appreciate this movie. As a guy, I can now say that I have seen it, and it is doubtful that I will be putting the movie on a second time, unless wifey wants to watch it again.
16 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Not a bad chick flick!
apb21612 June 2013
I really like Anna Faris and I caught this on HBO the other day while channel surfing. I came in about halfway so I can't fully speak for the entire movie but I actually enjoyed it. It was a good chick flick to watch by myself while doing chores and it held my attention. I didn't fully agree with some of the things that were said about men, and that they don't want to date/marry a woman who has slept with over 20 men...because men get to sleep with lots of women and are basically praised for it, so who are they to judge what a woman has experienced? That just doesn't seem very real life to me.

Basically from what I saw, it was about a woman whose younger sister is getting married and she starts to worry that she won't find a guy in time and doesn't want to make the number of men she's slept with go higher than 20 to find him, so she asks a guy to help her track down the past 19 boyfriends and see if they are worth having another shot with. This is not meant to be a comedy gold mine, or a sappy love story. It was a tiny bit of both, and just the right amount for a movie you're not really taking seriously. It's a great movie to just watch on some down time and I really enjoyed it.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A Zesty Charmer
rivertam264 September 2012
I don't know why this film was so panned by critics I'm kinda sad I missed out supporting it in theaters. There are so many crappy romantic comedies that hit it big without even a quarter of this films charm (27 dresses, Along Came Polly, etc.) The film centers on a young woman played by surprisingly hot Anna Faris tired of dead end relationships who reads a magazine article and discovers she's slept with almost 20 guys and instead of passing that number decides to re investigate her former loves with the help of her delicious neighbor played by Chris Evans.The movie is cluttered with winning comedic cameos by sexy Joel McHale, Zachary Quinto, Andy Samberg and many more. It moves along endearingly as we tag along on her quest and watch the chemistry blossom between her and her neighbor. It's daily by the numbers but possesses a zesty charm. There are some really funny bits and maybe a stray tear towards the end all making for a fun, entertaining movie which explores a subset of people who may have been a little more active on the love exploring end but deserve happy ending just like everyone else. It's a nice change for the awful goody goody girl stereotypes usually present in these feminism killing comedies. 3.5/5
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
I number this film among the romcoms I have enjoyed lately, even though its a bit racy at times
Amy Adler28 February 2012
Ally Darling (Anna Faris) is having the proverbial bad day. First, even though she got up early to make a vegan breakfast for her current beau, he breaks up with her. It could be because she asked him to attend her sister's wedding with her and he didn't want things to be that serious. Second, her boss calls her into the office to tell her that their marketing company is downsizing and she is being let go. However, no other staff member gets a pink slip. As Ally takes the bus home, she spies a magazine article about relationships. It seems that women who have had more than 20 lovers remain single throughout their lives, most cases. Ally gasps. Her most recent boyfriend was "number 19". Therefore, she must make certain that number 20 is the one. Suddenly, another idea appears. Perhaps one of her past affairs would now work out, giving her a better chance for happiness. Although her sister tries to tell her its nonsense, as do her other friends, Ally begins a search to find her former beaux. As luck would have it, an ex-investigator lives right across the hall. His name is Colin (Chris Evans) and Ally has only smiled at him occasionally, mostly because he has an endless stream of ladies coming and going. But, after truly talking one day, when Colin begs Ally to let him hide out in her space for a couple of hours, the hunt begins. Colin will try to track down information on the marketing gal's past flames and Ally will let him dodge women, from time to time, at her pad. Is this the beginning of a beautiful friendship? We'll see. In the meantime, Ally discovers one of the men on her list is a senator, who wants her as a "trophy wife" to hide his same-sex orientation! What else will Ally uncover in her journey? And, could it be that relationship happiness is right in front of her? This is a really cute and fun romcom, albeit a bit racy. If you prefer a film that has the Doris Day touch, you should probably skip this one. Faris and Evans make a good combination, being very attractive and comic performers and the cast supporting them is nice, too. In addition, sets, costumes, script and zesty direction are quite fine, making the total package a small winner. If you number yourself in the romcom fan base, you should head out to find this one soon.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Very Touching Movie (in more than one way)
Nissa Greene8 July 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I'm 16, so my vote is bias, however I thought that this was by far the best movie I have seen in a LONG time! There's a cliché which every good romance story has to have. But, there's also acceptance, self-love, the journey of finding one's self, and of course the comedy. There's the anticipation as the main character (Ally) sees each guy, hoping that she won't reconnect with them and the "aww" moment every time we see Collin and Ally have a moment of love. This movie isn't about "fairy-tale love" and finding "Mr. Perfect" but about finding who you are and someone who accepts you as you are and THAT is perfect. The comedy comes in from many different directions; the controlling mother, one-night-stands, drunken toasts, flashbacks to how Ally met her old lovers (or her having sex with them), and overall, all-around awkwardness. Despite the sex, occasional nudity, and swearing, this is my new favorite movie. And I would recommend it to anyone who can handle the swearing and sex topic. Very inspiring & Very comical.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Tailor made for Faris and brilliantly hilarious!
Robert W.4 February 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I remember seeing the trailer for this and thinking it looked kinda cute. So I wasn't hesitant to see it and thank goodness I wasn't because I haven't laughed this hard in months. What's Your Number was very nearly a perfect comedy. Yes it was lewd and crude like comedies so often are nowadays in the Judd Apatow world of comedy but it didn't go overboard especially given the entire premise is based on sex. The main character seemed to be absolutely tailor made for Anna Faris' brand of slapstick comedy. There were so many scenes where I thought...that is so incredibly Anna Faris. The chemistry between the lead cast was excellent and the script was simply fun and laugh out loud funny. The dialogue was clever and witty and while this film will never be a critics favourite...its outstandingly fun, hilarious, just a really good time and that is just as important as making an artistic film sometimes.

Anna Faris has had some hits and misses. I think she hit her stride when she break away from the awful Scary Movie series and started relying on her cute, and clever slapstick comedy that she is excellent at. Yes she often plays the rather stupid, naive girl with a heart of gold but I thought her character in this was a little smarter, a little more down to earth, just your average girl but still with enough silliness to make her role hilarious. Chris Evans is no stranger to the type of character he plays in this. He's the cocky, fast talking ladies man that he was in everything from Fantastic 4 to The Losers...however the character works in this film and he's great at it. He does progress in the film to becoming her perfect match and their chemistry is fantastic! The supporting cast is fantastic especially the numerous cameos from Faris' ex-lovers including Chris Pratt, Zachary Quinto, Joel McHale and Andy Samberg. Her friends and family are all great in their small but fun roles.

Coming mostly from Television, Mark Mylod does a terrific job and clearly has a quirky fun sense of humour because everyone seems to be having a great time and just letting their characters show off how great they are. Faris really is the shining part in this film. She is a brilliant comedienne and I think she channels some of the all time great slapstick comedians with this role. Its really too bad that it didn't do better at the box office and please don't let that deter you because this is truly one of the funniest movies I have seen in such a long time. A hilarious fun raunchy comedy. 8.5/10
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Anna Faris, what a funny gal.
Jimmy Collins5 January 2012
Anna Faris, what a consistently funny actress, she is able to turn a film which is mediocre into comedy gold, she owns a film no matter what, even her scene in Brokeback Mountain were fantastic, a serious film like that but she was hilarious. What's Your Number is obviously more of an adult comedy, and at first seems like a rip off of Bridesmaids, the opening scenes of both films are scaring familiar, but then it comes into it's own and the laughs start and don't stop.

Pretty much this movie is a laugh a minute, and the laughs aren't cheap, most would probably not be funny if they weren't delivered by Faris, Chris Evans is surprisingly a funny leading man, I haven't seen him in a comedy since Not Another Teen Movie and I hope he does comedy again in the future, it's also quite wonderful to see him without a shirt on again.

I have to mention Ari Graynor, she is almost becoming the new Anna Faris, I love her in everything I've seen her in, particularly her short screen time in Youth In Revolt, I would love to see her in a leading role, she could easily carry a film I think so fingers crossed for that. If you like your comedy rude, adult, constant, then What's Your Number is the film for you, in fact it's a film for everyone.

Check it out and enjoy it. :)
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
What's in a Number?
Jon Ochiai3 October 2011
In "What's Your Number?" casual and cool Chris Evans walks with distraught, yet upbeat Anna Faris on the Boston street. His Colin says, "Ally, what guy really cares about the number of guys you slept with?" Great scene. Surprisingly, "What's Your Number?" is actually pretty good. Director Mark Mylod's movie is the latest of the raunchy in your face romantic comedies in the mold of "Bridesmaids", but not as well crafted. Based on the novel by Karyn Bosnak, "20 Times a Lady", the screenplay by Gabrielle Allan and Jennifer Crittenden is initially blunt and crass, and void of whimsy. This also explains the affinity for Lionel Richie songs. "What's Your Number?" wants to be "The Hangover", but lacks the cleverness. Part of the deal is that many of the characters are uninteresting caricatures. Fortunately, Faris and Evans breathe life into Colin and Ally, and we can authentically pull for them. Blythe Danner as Ally's controlling and disapproving Mom Ava also generates a hilarious edge.

Ally (Faris) is having a bad time. She is laid off by her Boss Roger (funny and weird Joel McHale) at her advertising job in the City. Her current clueless vegan boyfriend Rick (funny Zachary Quinto) refuses to go with Ally to her perfect younger sister Daisy's (quirky Ari Graynor) wedding. Daisy is marrying the love of her life, awesome Eddie (charming and handsome Oliver Jackson-Cohen). Ally is also the reluctant mediator for Daisy and their Mom (Danner). Daisy wants to invite their estranged Dad (wacky Ed Begley Jr.), more drama. Ally has an odd epiphany. She reads an article, related to the Bosnak novel's conceit, that a woman has a near zero probability of finding "the one" after 20 lovers. Ally does a sex inventory. According to her calculations she is at the tipping point: 19. This is revealed in a hysterical bar game with Ally's girlfriends, with copious penis and vagina jokes. Most of the jokes are funny.

Enter struggling musician and handsome player Colin (Evans). Colin is Ally's apartment neighbor (she is in 6C, duh). Every morning Colin retrieves his newspaper covering his shredded body with a kitchen towel. Evans's breezy charm and fun, out shines his abs—no small feat. Ally strikes a deal with Colin. She will allow him to hide at her place after his one-night stands; in exchange Colin will help her track down the 20 dudes she slept with. Yes, 20—you have to see the movie. If Ally can get with one of the 20, then she will escape her fate. Colin has a gift for this, coming from a family of police officers. Evans is sunny and playful, yet gives Colin a quiet personal passion for his music. He and Faris have an easy chemistry that works. Ally's true passion is crafting clay miniatures. In context, the whimsical chemistry and partnership of Colin and Ally is predictable. Oh, wait this is after all a romantic comedy. I think screenwriters Crittenden and Allan rediscover their narrative path as they veer back to standard romantic comedy, instead of shock and awe comedy. For one thing it is more satisfying.

Conflict arises albeit manufactured. Colin actually locates Ally's high school sweetheart, the mysterious and enigmatic Jake Adams (brilliantly stiff and vibrant Dave Annable). Jake is from a rich family and is now an international benefactor. Colin hides this from Ally, but she uncovers the conspiracy. From Colin's point of view, how can he compete? Mom Ava would be elated.

Faris and Evans make "What's Your Number?" work despite its shortfalls. They have a hysterical strip basketball game of HORSE in Boston Garden. And when they fall for each other, it is authentic. Too bad the material is not witty or evolved enough. Faris is perky and spirited in spite of it all as Ally. She brilliantly never overplays it. Faris fleshes out well a seemingly sketchy character. Evans is fun and surprisingly vulnerable. He is great as the aloof charmer, who really has a big heart. Evans's strong suit may be action hero. I think he is a gifted romantic comedy lead. "What's Your Number?" is predictable and could have been written better. But I like romantic comedies, because as general rule: they end well. Faris and Evans make it worth watching.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A Nutshell Review: What's Your Number
DICK STEEL8 October 2011
I wonder if any girl out there really do sneak off from the bed to the bathroom to freshen up, before their partner wakes up to see them in a state sans hair all over the place, morning breath and probably a drool hanging off somewhere. At least it's something that's worth putting on film, in both Bridesmaid and What's Your Number, where the protagonist does just that to impress I suppose. Maybe everyone does it and it's life's greatest secret that I'm oblivious to.

While Bridesmaid was a sleeper hit with a cast of relative unknowns on the big screen, What's Your Number is that typical romantic comedy where you can safely bet your entire fortune on the nice little outcome of an ending, and just about how girl meets boy and they fall in love inevitably in the shortest time span possible where the stars align for everything magical to happen. What's probably unique here is that the lead characters are both promiscuous, with Anna Faris' Ally sleeping with at least 19 men in her life so far, and finding that her lack of a love life and with random lovers every now and then going way over the national average of 10.5, the magic figure an average American woman dates before finally settling down. Fearful of being labelled a slut after a straw poll conducted with her soon-to-be-married sister Daisy (Ari Graynor) and friends, she's taking a vow of celibacy and is determined to make the next person she sleeps with, her husband.

Chris Evans' Colin is her next door neighbour whom she enlists her from in tracking down her exes, since there could be someone from her past who would have made it good, and better yet, doing so doesn't increase her number of men she slept with, which provides plenty of comical flashbacks providing Anna Faris an opportunity to ham it up, together with a select group of supporting characters, some of whom are completely different from the time she once knew them, while others will make you wonder just what she saw in them, ranging from support acts by the likes of Martin Freeman, Andy Samberg, Anthony Mackie and even Zachary Quinto amongst others. Ally strikes a win-win deal with Colin, centered around being able to hideout at her apartment so that he doesn't have to deal in the aftermath of his one night stands, making a clean exit and sending a signal to his flings it's all over. Talk about a mutually beneficial relationship that you know will head somewhere between the two.

And if the film works, which it does, it boils down to two words. Anna Faris. She's building a career based upon ditzy characters, and frankly she's finding a knack at hitting on all the right places and delivering punchlines without missing a beat, and having what it takes to take on physical, slapstick comedy without looking too dorky, nor embarrassed with the need to dabble in toilet humour. It's watching a quintessential comedian going through her repertoire of tricks that on one hand you've seen most before, yet still eagerly anticipating more from the performer to deliver her routine once more. Evans was wonderful as her co- star and the strip-basketball date was something that could raise temperatures, allowing the actor to continuously show off in this film his Captain America buffed up physique that will either make you drool at, or look on with envy.

For all the glossy fashion rags teaching women how to lead their lives, perhaps this movie says it best with the aged old message of happiness being able to be oneself, instead of living up to expectations set by others, be it friends or family, and to find someone who will accept you for who you are, and not what you have to try to be. Which is very frequent in Ally's life as the various man-hunt episodes reveal, where she has to learn to cook, speak with an accent, and so on. And it's true how miserable one will be in the long run, despite short termed bliss, if one can call it as that.

I was half expecting a wicked twist to happen at the final act since there's an elusive Jake Adams (Dave Annable) that Ally is desperately looking for which Colin constantly runs into zilch in his findings, and what played out was pretty straightforward, and careful as well since it took some pains to explicitly address a plot loophole that you'll forgive it for since that will spell some anti-climatic finale. But as I said, what held the movie together is Anna Faris as the one woman tour de force playing to her strengths in a typical stereotyped role, and the very easy on screen chemistry shared with Chris Evans. Definitely a date-movie any couple can consider.
14 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Not too shabby
Karolinnu1239 October 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I'm happy I pushed my Mom (yes, I went to the cinema with my mom, she doesn't have many girl friends) for us to go see "What's your number?" because I couldn't have lived through "Friends With Benefits" (I might be an adult but she's still my Mom). I wasn't all too happy about Anna Faris being the title character since her comedies are mostly stupid (somewhat liked "The House Bunny") but I was completely surprised how well she did. And as a woman don't really need anything else if they give you Johnny Torch xD. Yes, the whole idea was comical, not raising your number of partners but guess it worked for this movie. Loved Faris's accents, Borat and the Swedish chef had me under my chair. It was really funny and I recommend it to boys and girls because this is not the kind of a movie that makes a boyfriend throw up. Oh and the part when she was trying to get to the wedding, when she said "Why am I doing this, why don't I just wait him at the apartment?" was hilarious because I always wonder why the HELL they do that?? And a BIG plus was that the movie took place in Boston, I sick of a the happily-ever-after people living in NY or LA. Anyway, a goodwatch, gonna buy the DVD. :D
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Good Date Movie, Better Than I Expected
rcoss20018 October 2011
You will ask "Why have you rated this so high?" It's a non-thinker, right? Well, yes, mostly but it has a bit more depth than you'd expect. And it has Anna Faris, who I had never heard of - except I loved her animated character in 'Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs'. Never saw any of the "Scary Movie" series, nor "Brokeback Mountain". Nor did I watch "Friends".

Betsy and I went to see this movie Thursday after 'The Ides Of March' to "cleanse our palate" as Betsy put it. We wanted a light romantic comedy that fit into the right time slot for us, and this movie was one we hadn't seen but had seen the previews for. In a way it covers some of the same material as "Bridesmaids' (ptooey) and yet in a lighter, funnier non-disgusting manner. Anna plays Ally Darling, a woman who wakes to find she's been sleeping with another jerk, one of many. She then goes to work, only to be fired. On the way home she reads an article that say's the average woman has only had sex with 10.5 men-and those who have had sex with more than that are not likely to marry. Ally counts and finds she has 20 to her credit. OK, in the old days it would have been to her shame, but hey it's 2011. But her younger sister, Daisy, played by Ari Graynor, is getting married to a guy she (Daisy) had once dated, rejected, but now loves. Ally begins to think maybe she should search among her discards to see if she can find the right guy. Meanwhile she has to cope with her across-the-hall neighbor, Colin, played by Chris Evans.Colin is an unstinting womanizer who has no desire to commit. He also likes to pick up his daily paper naked. OK, so all this is a s predictable as can be. And there is a cast of okay to good supporting actors, including Blythe Danner as mama Darling, divorced from papa Darling, played by Ed Begley Jr. So why do I give it 4 stars instead of just 3? Anna's cute little posterior. Her naked, or nearly naked, butt is nearly everywhere in this movie. And she makes the most of her assets, moving and dancing about with great abandon, whether dancing, playing strip horse, or whatever else comes along. I have since learned she has several movies in which she bares it all. Now for you ladies who think I'm being sexist here, I must add you get to see a few men's tushes too. Captain America, oops, I mean Colin has a few bare buns to show, and while I'm not so inclined, I guess they are OK, at least by Betsy's standards. There also seems to be a fun chemistry between Faris and Evans. Both Betsy and I agree the movie was funnier and sweeter than 'Bridesmaids'. It's a good date movie for a date with someone you've been out with before. But it does have an 'R' rating for sexual content, language, and nudity. So if you're a 13 year old boy I give the same advice as I did 'The Creature'.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
What's your I.Q?
Howlin Wolf19 December 2011
Warning: Spoilers
... The answer you give is a fairly reliable indicator of whether or not you will like this film.

After sitting patiently through 105 minutes of this film, I can't believe that its resolution has the audacity to claim that the outmoded initial premise actually MATTERS. It seems as though all I ever hear is that Hollywood is liberal, freethinking, and - according to some harbingers of doom - immoral. Well, certainly not in this case.

... I was expecting the ending to promote the idea that all that matters is finding the right person, and it doesn't matter how many false starts you have to make in order to get to them... but instead, the main relationship is given legitimacy because of a technicality, and she's STILL hung up on the number thing?! Ugh. How juvenile. Who cares how many people you have - or haven't - slept with. Is society as a whole really still that prescriptive?!

Faris and Evans are both likable, but the script does nothing at all to serve the chemistry between them.
12 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Great movie!!
burmon32122 September 2011
I saw this movie the other night when a friend invited me to the premiere. To tell you the truth, I wasn't really into the idea, since I am not your stereotypical "rom-com" fan - just an excuse to get dressed up. Well, to my surprise, this was not your stereotypical "rom-com"! It was smart, hilarious and very well crafted and thought out (my biggest problem with most of those big budget messes - they think we are stupid!). Anna Faris is so adorable and likable - and the ex-boyfriends were terrific! I found myself waiting to see who would be doing a cameo next - they were so well cast! Chris Evans was also so cute - I am a new fan!!

I am so sick of movies that claim to be set in a certain city - when you know they are shot in LA or Canada (in other words - on a set). This was obviously not the case with WYN. It really felt like Boston was another character in the movie - sort of like New York was in Sex and the City. Such beautiful shots of the city.

This was a terrific movie - hilarious and well done by all!!
20 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A little flat but cute.
Blueghost30 September 2011
I saw the promos for this pic when I saw "Crazy Stupid Love" and "Our Idiot Brother". It seemed kind of funny, so I took a chance on it tonight.

I'm not a big fan of the bubbly blonde genre, nor do I frown upon it, but the film seemed to have lots of sexual references, almost too many for a character like Anna Faris's "Ally Darling". In this regard the film is a bit of a disappointment as it dove immediately to uninhibited descriptors of sex, as opposed to building up to those moments where Anna's character has to blurt out the obvious. But hey, it's a chick flick rom-com, so you can't really fault it too much, because it does mean well.

I can't say I laughed too much at this film, but laugh I did, and I truly wanted to laugh more, but the humor bounced from raunch to intellectual, with some shades of gray in-between. So it was that I found myself hard pressed to absorb and laugh at all of the sexually oriented humor, but nor was I a prude in that department, as I could very much appreciate some of the finer points of sex-gags.

Some of the alleged romantic moments seemed way over the top. So much that one wonders why they were put in there to begin with. And casting Colin Shea as the hunky yet uninteresting neighbor who might be a sleaze, seemed a bit of a stretch. Particularly when Ally's past suitors physiques pail in comparison to her sleuth-neighbor.

The other stretch is the notion that perky cute blonde living on her own in Boston would have a hard time finding mister right. But, it's a movie, so we take the premise for what it is, and either go with it, or shrug and begrudgingly accept what is put forth.

Technical marks all hit their cues. There're some interesting shots here and there, and one wonders how they got some of those. Otherwise this film isn't about great cinematography nor sound, just about a quirky little girl in a highly explicit verbal-sex film. Now, having said that, I think the delivery and editing of some of the lines (not to mention some of the lines themselves) could have been better executed, for the film does feel a bit flat in act I, and doesn't really pick up until a third of the way into act II.

Still, it is what it is. Not a film I'd go see again, something I might rent in the future just to see what went into making this film.

Give it a chance.
19 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews