Goal! III (Video 2009) Poster

(2009 Video)

User Reviews

Review this title
103 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
This movie ruined the Goal franchise!
adityashah198914 June 2009
There is not a doubt in my mind why this came straight to DVD. It was an absolute awful film. With the central character from the first two movies Santiago Munez (Kuno Becker) being given a guest entry. The story line was laughable. I am almost sure that there was no script, they just went along as they shot it. The two main characters were just plain unlikable. The CGI, or the blue screen to fit the actors in the matches was extremely bad and low budget.

There was hardly any football in the movie. It was more like the story about the love life of two footballers. There was no build up or character development. The lines and the acting was awful. Santiago Munez, the wonder kid, suddenly becomes an average mid-table club player.

Finally, the ending, oh the ending, it was disgusting and worse. If any of you value your time and most importantly money then please do not watch this movie. And this is not a "Goal" movie. They just used the franchise name to sell some DVD's.
138 out of 142 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What happened to the munez story ?
shanaboxer13 June 2009
I went into this film thinking that it would carry on from the first 2 goal films and be about the story of the brilliant mexian footballer santiago munez reaching the ultimate dream of playing in the world cup. Unfortunately he played very little part in this film. Not even kicking a ball in the world cup. This is hard to understand considering the first two movies were about him. Overall I thought the script for this movie was terrible compared to the first two which I enjoyed. There were so many times in which the story here just did not relate to what was seen in the first two movies and you ended up asking yourself " hold on what about munez wife or , who is he I have never seen him before etc etc" and you never really get a full explanation to these questions. There are some parts which are completely absurd, for instance, adams gets a taxi to see an ex girlfriend, he goes to pay the taxi driver and the taxi drivers says no it alright mate its for free. Adams says great I'll sort you out for tickets to see england in the world cup after the knockout stage. This sounds a reasonable thing to do. However you see the taxi driver and his friends 1) get into the VIP areas of the world cup games, 2)invited to Braithwaite funeral, 3) invited to adams wedding. I mean come it was a free taxi ride for god sake and suddenly your best man at the wedding. All in all I found the story boring and had no relation to the first two movies. The writers for this movie should be ashamed that they strayed so far away from the munez story of the first two movies. So my advice is if you think goal 3 will be anything like the first two movies then you will be bitterly disappointed as I was. With a script this bad It is no wonder some of the actors who played big parts in Goal 1 and 2 did not sign up for Goal 3. Verdit ----> miss at all costs
99 out of 102 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't bother watching it!
LoodoYaye14 June 2009
I would really like to know why someone thought this film is worth shooting. The only watchable part of the movie are some real footages from 2006 world cup and that's about it. Acting is horrible, script is horrible, the CGI is ridiculous,... I sincerely hope that this director and writers will not get a chance to film another movie. Don't watch this crap, it has nothing to do with a "Goal" franchise except for Santiago Munez (Kuno Becker) who appears to have something more like a guest-star role. I reckon he had to be in there due to some legal stuff. Anyone who enjoyed this movie is either related to someone who's in it or is still a teenager. Probably both.

Total waste of time. Go for a walk instead.
96 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Complete Rubbish
samantha_dean16 June 2009
I'm glad I didn't see this at the cinema or I'd have had to ask for my money back!! What happened to the great story line in the first 2 films?? We watched this to find out what happened to Santi and his wife being pregnant but she wasn't even mentioned, the whole story was brushed under the carpet in one line!! And what was with the weird trashy porno film set??? Its like they took a load of random ideas and stuck them together (not very well either!!) Have you seen how bad it looks when they use the real World Cup footage and stick the actors in front? I will say one thing, it did have us laughing.. but not for the right reasons!!
50 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What a major disappointment..
freefinger15 June 2009
Sorry but this was a major disappointment in terms of the quality of the first two movies. I'M not a fan of soccer and I have to say that the first two movies were great, maybe in the top 5 sport movies ever made. This one, major flop! It doesn't even tie in with the other ones. For a trilogy to end like this with characters we don't care about, with Munêz not even a major character here is just bad. I mean where's Harris? Where's Fry?, the two new characters here Adams and Braithwaite just pop out of nowhere. And the action is bad.. very bad... Not one scene where you could believe they where really out there playing for real. The first two movies, you actually wondered if they filmed the scenes during the freaking games since they seemed so real! I loved it! I was hoping for the same quality here, didn't get it at all. I'm guessing the money ran out or just a very bad Director in Morahan. Also I guess that Butchart was the real writer here because the story in Goal 3 is lame.. very lame. Jefferies either got rid of this one in a few hours or he's just that bad. There's no soccer issue other than the drinking oh wow.. If you loved the first two, then don't watch this one, you'll be greatly disappointed. They took the soul of the 1 and 2 out. Gave Munêz a backseat and got rid of the rest of the cast. Even his line that lets us know about his relationship was what can be called some of the worst writing ever! Bad choice. We wanted an end to the story arc. They gave us a shitty conclusion to what seemed like a great continuity. Too bad. 1 star..
54 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful Awful Awful
mighten15 June 2009
don't want to bore you and go into loads of detail but this was a poor excuse for a movie. There are definitely some plants on this page trying to boost the scores and writing false reviews - don't be duped. It was pathetic. I am angry at myself for spending the time to check it out as I liked the first two Goal movies. This one didn't make any sense!

Santiago is a bit part player - instead we are treated to a stereotype character overload, the alcoholic, the sleazy agent, the scorned footballers WAG.

I would not recommend watching this film.
59 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Worst Football Movie I have seen
IAjhawk14 June 2009
The movie is just bad. It might have to be that I am an American, but thought it was just a showcase how England football failure in the world cup. The green screen when the actors who would play with the national team was super cheesy.

This movie doesn't even follow the first two except a few characters. The first two I would give a seven they were more center on the characters and soccer scenes were more entertaining. The movie should have been center on finishing up the loose ends of Santiago, but it wasn't. There is nothing much to say. If your an England football fan I would still stay clear of this movie. This movie actually made me mad when watching it that it didn't follow the previous Goal! films. The first movie was called Goal! The Dream begins, but the dream hasn't even concluded yet.
46 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst film I've seen in a long time
one-two-many14 June 2009
Terrible film. Had higher expectations from the first two, even though I didn't fancy the second one as much as the first one. It's never been about cinematic perfection when it comes to the Goal-movies, but this picture was truly horrific in all possible ways.

They even try to make a lad look like Sven-Göran Eriksson by putting on glasses... Please...

And what about the German soft porn shoot in the beginning of the film? Or the boring mates traveling in their trailer across Europe, meeting up with blond Scandinavian girls showing off their tits? I really can't see whats even slightly okay about this picture. Perhaps the Swedish goals against England in World Cup 2006, and perhaps Leo Gregory is a fine actor (loved him in 'Stoned'), but I wouldn't recommend this film to anyone. Anyone at all. If you love the game of football, do yourself the favor by not getting involved with Goal III.
36 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
So Bad - I had to Write About it!
rb140120 June 2009
After 12 years of viewing IMDb on a very regular basis, this movie is the one that has compelled me to make my first review. I've seen many wonderful films during this time but not one has meant as much as this one to me. This is an atrocious film. Full of stereotypical characters, boring plot, little integration between the actors and real football footage, which was a strength in earlier versions. Furthermore, it doesn't appear to fit in at all with the two earlier parts of this trilogy, as the main character, Santiago is relegated to a supporting role and none of the people around him from the earlier parts have survived. You have a completely pointless set of Geordie fans which I guess were introduced to try and inject some humour to the tired plot. The acting is pitiful, the script is criminal and it was almost so bad, I could have watched it all over again, just to laugh at the total ineptitude. I awarded this film 1 - a first for me and I consider I was being far too generous.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Goal 1 (Great!!!) - Goal 2 (Good setup for a 3rd) - Goal 3 (Is this Goal 3?)
umutaydin_au19 June 2009
What can I say which hasn't been already said? I was expecting this to be the HAT-TRICK; but a pile of NON-SENSE came out of the HAT.

This was supposed to be the ROCKY of soccer movies. Even low budget isn't an excuse for what I had watched.

The story is already there... Why try to invent something which has nothing to do with what GOAL is/was about? The movie started with 7-8 user rating on IMDb, which I believe were production people votes, family etc...

One of the comments which really struck me was "If you thought the movie sucked that bad...why don't you shell out the cash and make one better...if you can't afford it then keep your mouth shut..."

We do it by buying the DVD and paying for theater tickets, but please understand that we feel sad and extremely disappointed when film makers sorta pocket our money with jokes like this movie.

A similar experience I had was Rocky 5, but Sylvester Stallone was man enough to say sorry to the fans and actually accepted that the movie was bad; but than he made Rocky 6 (Rocky Balboa) which was an epic ending in my opinion.

So just like The Rocky Story was saved, Goal can be saved with a real 3rd installation. However it will require producers who love the movie as much as the fans love it. Not people trying to make a quick buck!

PS: Before submitting, I had a long coffee break and re-read my comments just in case I may have been unfair because of my fresh disappointment. Unfortunately I still stand by my words.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Completely Ruined the Entire "Goal!" Series
andrewbrock52415 June 2009
Warning: Spoilers
The "spoiler" this review contains is the fact that Goal 3 has nothing to do with the first two installments of the series. Sad.

This failure of a film can be summed up rather easily. It has absolutely nothing to do with the first two Goal! movies, and follows two completely new and worthless characters. I somehow sat through the whole thing despite becoming thoroughly demoralized about 10min into it, and the movie was terrible. 90% of it was green screened, it was tacky and the story was brutal.

The producers of this movie owe Goal! fans an explanation as well as an apology. Where is the 3rd movie we had all been waiting for? How on earth was this movie series derailed. I guess I will have to read the book in order to find out what really happens to Santiago and the rest of the crew.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Very Disappointing
spmsilva15 June 2009
I am a big fan of the GOAL movies and I have been looking forward to the final of the trilogy so much so that I had tried researching the date of the movie release in anticipation of the third and final Chapter of Santiago Munez's (Kuno Beker) football career

Movie begins -

10min later and in almost utter boredom I continue to watch intently waiting to see what happened to Munez....

45min later still nothing and Munez was but a shadow.

60min my wife and I are dying of boredom,

There is no story line of Santiago Munez except for a few lines that should you not have seen Goal 1 and 2 you would see him as an ordinary character.

The story was all about England and two players that we have never heard of from the Previous two GOAL movies.

The story line was pathetic the acting was rubbish and even the computer effects were so obvious that it looked fake I probably could have done better with a home camera and some expensive software to edit the clips.

What really gets to me is that I had collected the first two in anticipation of completing the trilogy.

I guess that will never happen as I honestly wouldn't call this "Goal 3"

Honestly whoever wrote the story line lost the plot and really wasted my time and other people's money in this movie, if this movie had made the cinema I would have asked for my money back.

Please take this movie off the market and make a proper ending to the trilogy that it so much deserves, and with the original cast members that gave the original 2 Goal movies it's heart and soul
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A 'Shite' Movie
marton_robi18 June 2009
Warning: Spoilers
THIS IS NOT GOAL! III, even if the title says so. Goal! is about Santiago Munez. Period. This movie (and I really don't see the reason why it is called Goal?!), this movie is about two guys, let's call them football players, and perhaps some sort of friends of Santiago, but there's absolutely no connection to the previous two movies, and then there's a crappy plot. I don't care about these two chaps!

And you won't care about them either. They're two nobodies! I want to see Santiago Munez! Well... you wont really see him in this movie. His appearance is like a cameo...

The plot is bull**it! It starts out with one of Munez's friends getting some part in some movie in Romania. I'm from Romania and that wasn't Romania, it wasn't even close. You can see at some point a No Smoking sign and it is misspelled... So for me seeing that... I don't even know what to say.

But again: all of the Goal! movies, part one and two, were about Santiago. And this is not. It's a cheap nothing.

If the first two movies could be represented by Santiago's Lamborghini, this movie definitely could be represented by the carriage which passes the Lada in which Munez and his friends are riding.

I'm sorry, I can't say one good thing about this movie!
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Do Not Watch This Movie
chucho_s17 June 2009
I mean it, if you have any taste at all don't watch this movie, it's a huge disrespect to the other two movies and to the viewers.

If you were expecting to watch the very kind, very lovable Santiago Munez wearing the green Mexican shirt, playing the most important games of his life in a world cup, competing against stars like Beckham or Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo you are up for an enormous disappointment.

He's just a very secondary character, instead the movie is about two English players that have absolutely nothing to do with the other movies, nor with the hole Goal! story.

Above all this the technology used for the parts of actual football playing is awful, no wonder this movie wasn't even shown in theaters.

I'm still waiting for the director and producers to explain what the hell were they thinking about.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible 3rd movie in this trilogy
ckfball1314 June 2009
Warning: Spoilers
This was absolutely the WORST possible way to end this trilogy. While the first 2 movies in the Goal! series were absolutely fabulous in their telling of the story of Santiago Munez, a rags to riches fairytale about a poor Mexican kid achieving his dream of playing pro soccer, this 3rd installment did NOTHING to further the story along. Kuno Becker, who plays the supposed lead character of the series, our hero Santiago Munez, had maybe 15 minutes TOTAL screen time in this movie. The cliffhanger that was left off at the end of Goal! 2 was not touched on at all, and we are left with the worst way to end the trilogy- our hero gets hurt and doesn't even play a second of soccer in this film.

The film instead tells the story of 2 English players, supposed "friends" of Santi on Real Madrid. Only problem is, we've never seen them in any of the other films... who the heck are they? Where is Gavin Harris? Where is Glen Foy? Where the heck is Roz?? None of the lead characters in the first 2 films are anywhere to be found... and the special effects that seemed to work so well in the first 2 films were sacked in favor of crappy attempts at the use of green screen technology- instead of using actual soccer footage, they used green screen technology to insert the actors into the games...atrocious!

This was a POOR way to end the Goal! trilogy... what could have been a marvelous ending to the story of Santi Munez, is instead a half baked attempt at finishing off the trilogy... AWFUL AWFUL movie...
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Goal 3
simoncordt14 June 2009
Well if you are expecting a continuation from the 1st & 2nd film think again, The original exploits of Santiago Muniz have nothing to do with this new film.

Goal 3 centres around 2 new players with Muniz just floating around in the background my sons and I can some up in one word what we felt after watching the film GUTTED.

You have been warned!

The film is still worth a watch it has actors from the like of The Football Factory but to name a few so from that point its OK but we really wanted to see how Muniz's life panned out for him but this simply does not happen.
25 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst Movie Ever
mrwbartholomew20 June 2009
The most disappointing film ever made totally ruined the trilogy awful beyond words I can't understand why they made it at all. Better to have no 3rd movie than this steaming pile. The plot and characters are barely recognisable from the first 2 films and it's full of stock footage from the 2006 world cup. Santi barley features and the old characters are not even mentioned.

I can only hope they have another go at this film in the future with the proper characters and plot and this film is put firmly in the garbage where it belongs.

Do not waste your money.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This movie Sucks
alex_kimo16 June 2009
I just finished watching this film and i have to say way to give up at the end.

i mean here is the set up, a film about an aspiring football player that gets a chance to play in Europe against his fathers wishes, then he finds himself with the internal struggle to deal with his personal life now that he has become a more famous player and to top it off he just met his mom who abandoned him when he was a kid....good so far? then he gets injured and we watch a whole film about two other guys and their lives, one of them dies the other one gets married and the character we followed for two movies apparently lost the love of his life and still plays...but nothing more than that is said.

so the character is sidelined (pun intended) and the film was shot with a digital camera...nothing wrong with it, but it looks more like a soap opera than an actual film.

you can clearly see which scenes are done with a green screen (a lot of them) and which ones where clips from the actual games.

i really cant say more about it except that it sucks
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A Crime...
jf-afonso15 June 2009
Well, I'm a football (soccer) fan since I can remember. Therefore, when I saw Goal! and Goal II, I was pleasantly surprised because I thought those were two good films about my favourite sport.

And then, came Goal3...

What I loved about the first two films it was the way the filmmakers combined football as the sport and football as a way of life. I flinched every time Kuno Becker kicked a ball (sincerely, he could have trained more) but I liked his character enough to ignore that little thing and enjoy his epic rise to stardom. I really liked characters like Roz, Glen and Gavin Harris because they added depth to the life of the main character. Hell, even Raúl, Beckham, and co. did a good job.

The third film simply doesn't have any connections with its "distant and far superior cousins" besides one of the characters. That character was supposed to be the heart of the trilogy but in this last movie he's simply a sidekick to a myriad of new characters of whom I found myself not giving a flying f*ck (pardon me...). Football in this movie gets 15 minutes of screen time and the special effects made me think "Wow, they really wanted this film to suck!". Roz, Gavin, Glen, where were they? The life of Santiago Muñez, how many questions left unanswered?? Even real life footballers had no part in this, it was just footage from the matches of the world cup!

OK, it has drama (more über-drama), that made me, to say the least, watch the film until the end, a few nice goals from WC2006 and Swedish girls partying. And... that's it...

This film was able to make death-murder-kill to the end of the series, destroying what was good and completely creating awful things. A crime to a series that if done right, could have made football fans all over the world pretty happy and a few euros/pounds/dollars/etc. short...
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Disappointed.
gfaduck17 June 2009
After watching Goal 1 & 2 and being quite impressed this film take a severe dive in comparison.

Waiting to see how Munez would fare in the World Cup we are subjected to two unknown footballers playing on the fringe of the England squad.

It also lets us down with the cameo's and the filming. Whereas the first two had parts filmed at football grounds with real fans and real footballers providing the atmosphere this one has gone to a cheaper "green screen" option which just looks tacky.

A massive let down from a pretty good trilogy. Do not bother watching as you can get more entertainment watching Sunday league football at your local park for free.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Waste of time!
user-1673416 June 2009
Warning: Spoilers
First things first, when you think you're watching a sequel to a movie you're expecting some sort of continuity,well that was pretty much non-existent. After watching Goal 2 which wasn't great either I was hoping the makers will make amends,but this movie makes Goal 2 look like a stroke of genius. A movie named goal which hardly has any football in it.It should have been named "Life of WAGS" or something of that sort.

Certain things irritate me about the movie, like the patched up scenes whenever they show the actors on the pitch playing along with the real footballers, the crowd's blurred and they never share the screen with the players(the other GOAL movies didn't suffer from this problem). The game of football is not about great team play, passing and movement and ability according to this movie, it's about loving your girlfriend, coming on as a substitute and scoring a fantastic goal without any technical ability because apparently the assistant coach doesn't have any other substitutes to call upon when faced with a crisis.

All in all, if you want to watch a story about a man who leaves his troubled past behind and finally GROWS UP, then go ahead and subject yourself to the torture. But if you think you need to watch a football movie go ahead and rent a DVD of There's Only One Jimmy Grimble.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Prime example of how to disappoint fans
bunty-chea15 June 2009
I'm only rating 3 stars instead of 1 is because as a stand-alone movie, it's a b grade film. As an ending to a GREAT storyline, this one is truly disappointing, borderline RAGE at the producer and director.

Wow, that is all i can say. With in the first 5 minutes i was totally lost. My first thought was, who the hell are these two blokes (charlie and Liam character)? Since then, i sat angrily watching a story about two characters that did not belong in the story line. I mean why, why, why end the trilogy killing of the storyline and character that many fans fell in love with and related to? Seriously, where was the original story line? Where was Roz and the baby, Glen Foy and Gavin Harris? I can understand that they might not have the budget to star the likes of Anna Friel or Stephen Dillane again, but they could have just gotten new actor/actresses. NOT a totally new story.

Bottom Line, this movie will not only disappoint you, but if you watched the first two, will anger and leave you dissatisfied by the ending of what i thought to be a great trilogy.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
this movie was terrible
vbluechick121 September 2009
what the? this was by far the worst movie i have ever seen. i own the first and just purchased the second. i wanted to buy the 3rd, and thank god its not out yet because i called around looking for it. i am glad i got to watch it on the computer for free and didn't waste my time and money. what a waste of film. i loved the first and second, but this one had absolutely nothing to do with the first or the second. i mean what happened? what where these directors thinking? Santiago came out in this movie for what 10 minutes? i am so disappointed. i hope they remake this 3rd one because this one was a piece of well you know what. i am so glad no money was spent on this movie because i would not buy it in a million years. if it was given to me, i would throw it in the trash.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible movie
juju_been200011 September 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Worst movie I have ever seen in a very long time. In the beginning of the movie the action actually takes place in Romania, you can tell by the sign on the airport that seas "aeroportul international" witch is Romanian for international airport and by the jacket a little child is wearing witch has the emblem of Steaua Bucuresti a Romanian football team. There are a lot of mistakes throughout the movie and the quality of the footage is questionable.I was truly disappointed in this movie because I though the first two were spectacular witch a clear story line and a dramatic ending. Another reason for my disappointment was the fact that Santiago Nunez dose not play football at all because of an injury and maybe because of that there is very little football in a movie that is supposed to be all about this beautiful sport. There is more drinking scenes then football scenes. I truly can't recommend you this movie because it is a complete waste of time.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
disappointed ...
sassu_bv2 September 2009
I am very disappointed ... seems a low budget movie .... the Romanian country presentation is wrong (not a country of Gypsies and PROSTITUTES)... What next?? GOAL IV with prostitutes??? Awkward way how Santos is out of book (in a car accident in which he breaks his hand, not being able to participate in World Cup)!Embarrassing to have destroyed all the expectations of fans of a beautiful series.The film must be named, in my humble opinion, "I love England", that is dedicated entirely to this nation.This movie that left me empty inside!It's not about football! It's just an ordinary drama that has as background a World Championship! And clearly, does not deserve to wear the name "Goal III" . Shame, shame on you! And another thing ... learn to write correctly in Romanian language!! Shame on you!! very bad movie ... not recommend!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed