5.7/10
1,780
14 user 10 critic

A Crime (2006)

Trailer
1:59 | Trailer

On Disc

at Amazon

Vincent's life is on hold until he finds his wife's killer. Alice, his neighbor, is convinced she can make him happy. She decides to invent a culprit, so that Vincent can find revenge and leave the past behind. But there is no ideal culprit and no perfect crime.

Director:

Writers:

(scenario), (scenario)
Reviews

Videos

Photos

Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

Hello Herman (2012)
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.9/10 X  

A journalist interviews a sixteen year old boy, who is in police custody after he shot and killed 42 people at his high school.

Director: Michelle Danner
Stars: Norman Reedus, Garrett Backstrom, Martha Higareda
Tough Luck (2003)
Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.4/10 X  

A tense and intricate web of deceit and betrayal entangles Archie, a wandering grifter who is hired by a traveling carnival owner to murder his beautiful wife.

Director: Gary Ellis
Stars: Norman Reedus, Marco St. John, Rick Negron
Thriller | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.3/10 X  

A loner American computer hacker is brought to Russia to commit bank fraud, only to find a family and love in the incomprehensible, violent, and chaotic Moscow underworld.

Director: Chris Solimine
Stars: Norman Reedus, Konstantin Yushkevich, Slava Schoot
Action | Comedy | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.8/10 X  

An assassin is hired to kill the men responsible for kidnapping an important man's son. With every death, the killer gets closer to the last kidnapper's name.

Director: Max Makowski
Stars: Francis Ng, Lung Ti, Vivian Hsu
Les témoins (2007)
Drama | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.7/10 X  

Paris, 1984: A group of friends contend with the first outbreak of the AIDS epidemic.

Director: André Téchiné
Stars: Michel Blanc, Emmanuelle Béart, Sami Bouajila
Voleur de vie (1998)
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.4/10 X  

Alda, her sister Olga, and the latter's daughter Sigga live together in an old house facing a cemetery by the sea. Self-assured Alda collects men; Olga shuns them, but cannot help following... See full summary »

Director: Yves Angelo
Stars: Emmanuelle Béart, Sandrine Bonnaire, André Dussollier
Beat (2000)
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.6/10 X  

The story of writer William Seward Burroughs and his wife.

Director: Gary Walkow
Stars: Courtney Love, Kiefer Sutherland, Lisa Sheridan
Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.5/10 X  

A French couple's (Emmanuelle Béart, Michaël Cohen) passionate love-hate relationship unfolds from the point of its dissolution.

Director: Michaël Cohen
Stars: Emmanuelle Béart, Michaël Cohen, Léopold Kraus
Red Canyon (2008)
Action | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.8/10 X  

In Red Canyon, Regina and Devon return to their family home in the badlands of Utah to face the memory of a brutal attack - and put it behind them. But in coming home they awaken a killing ... See full summary »

Director: Giovanni Rodriguez
Stars: Christine Lakin, Tim Draxl, Katie Maguire
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.7/10 X  

Julia is a terminally-ill architect whose ultimate wish is to die in her home.

Director: Isabelle Brocard
Stars: Emmanuelle Béart, Hafsia Herzi, Laurent Grévill
À boire (2004)
Comedy
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.5/10 X  

Three disparate people meet in a bizarre skiing accident: a doctor who had just been left by his wife, a beautiful but direction less woman, and the bumbling Algerian man who caused the ... See full summary »

Director: Marion Vernoux
Stars: Emmanuelle Béart, Edouard Baer, Atmen Kelif
Ginostra (2002)
Crime | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.5/10 X  

An F.B.I. Agent from America and his bride and young child travel to the Sicilian island of Ginostra, to solve the murder of a key witness.

Director: Manuel Pradal
Stars: Harvey Keitel, Andie MacDowell, Francesca Neri
Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
... Roger Culkin
... Alice Parker
... Vincent Harris
... Bill
... Sophie
... Ashley
... Joe
... Ben
... Will
... Li Huang
Jonathan Lam ... Baby-Face
... Scott
Natalie Caron ... Jenny
Ben Wang ... Chinese man
Stephen Payne ... Mark
Edit

Storyline

While returning home after fixing the lights of a billboard, the worker Vincent Harris passes by a taxi with a damage door panel. When Vincent arrives home, he finds his wife murdered on the floor of the living room. He claims that the driver was wearing a red jacket and a ring with a large stone. Three years later, he lives in Brooklyn but is still chasing the killer of his wife. His dysfunctional neighbor Alice Parker has a crush on him, but Vincent is haunted by the ghosts of his past. When Alice meets the cab driver Roger Culkin out of the blue, she seduces him, damages his taxi and gives a red jacked and a ring to him. Then she forces him to meet Vincent, inventing a culprit to release Vincent from his past and stay with her. Written by Claudio Carvalho, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Plot Summary | Add Synopsis

Taglines:

The victim could be anyone

Genres:

Crime | Thriller

Motion Picture Rating (MPAA)

Rated R for sexual content, language and some violence | See all certifications »

Parents Guide:

 »
Edit

Details

Country:

|

Language:

Release Date:

11 October 2006 (France)  »

Also Known As:

A Crime - Späte Rache  »

Filming Locations:


Edit

Box Office

Budget:

$7,000,000 (estimated)
See more on IMDbPro »

Company Credits

Show more on  »

Technical Specs

Runtime:

|

Sound Mix:

Color:

Aspect Ratio:

1.85 : 1
See  »
Edit

Did You Know?

Goofs

Alice open Vincent's apartment door with a key but a closer shot shows, when the door closes, that the lock uses a magnetic card like in hotels. See more »

Connections

Referenced in JCVD (2008) See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
Excellent thriller in the tradition of Henri-Georges Clouzot and René Clément
28 June 2007 | by See all my reviews

Some people might have two problems with the film: 1. It's rather old fashioned (which is a good thing in my opinion, I don't like the regular hyped mainstream trash). The plot is the kind of story that could come from a novel of Patricia Highsmith, and the look of the film is more like it's from the late 70's or early 80's. 2. The pretty complex story with a lot of strange (and maybe) almost unbelievable coincidences. And you don't get a simple positive character for identification. Exact the same way many french thrillers from the good old times were working (especially those of Clouzot). Though sometimes these films seem a bit too over-constructed (and I must admit I had this problem when I first saw Clouzot's "Les Diaboliques", 1955). But when you accept this (and life itself sometimes surprises us with strange coincidences too), you will see an excellent, very emotional thriller with great performances. You'll never know what happens next!


29 of 41 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you? | Report this
Review this title | See all 14 user reviews »

Contribute to This Page

Stream Trending TV Series With Prime Video

Explore popular and recently added TV series available to stream now with Prime Video.

Start your free trial



Recently Viewed