Hall Pass (2011) Poster

(2011)

User Reviews

Review this title
141 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
i really don't understand why so many bad reviews
francesco-trio9 May 2018
I really don't understand why so many bad reviews, infact i found this movie not so bad, even a nice one funny and entertaining. of course is a light movie and nothing so special, but if you want a light comedy with several funny scenes and laughs that could be ok.
44 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Right movie right time for me
juneebuggy3 June 2015
This did make me laugh, one of those right movie at the right time scenarios because it really is pretty dumb. Lots of gross out raunchy humour thanks to the Farrelly brothers.

The plot is nothing remarkable, predictable even but honestly that's not what I'm watching a movie like this for; following two best buds (Owen Wilson & Jason Sudeikis) who are granted permission to take a week off of marriage, only to realize that the reality of single life is not as appealing as they remember after bumbling in their efforts to "charm" women.

A couple of scenes that I really laughed at were the girl "sneezing" into the bathtub and the gym-hot-tub-penis scene. Too funny. Yeah its a "naughty marriage comedy" that I'll probably watch again. 09.13
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
average
mattkratz2 May 2013
This movie was about two married guys who get a "hall pass" from their marriages, granted from their wives. One of them is given to him voluntarily, the other one pretty much forces it out of her. They pretty much have a week to do "as they please" with other women as one of the wives has had enough with his "noticing" other women.

While the idea is clever and decently executed, and there were some funny scenes and I liked the "Law & Order" spoof parts, I felt like the raunchy humor and "potty mouthed" jokes damaged it. While that could have helped in other films, it didn't really help here.

The cast (especially the leads) was decent and worked well together. You might like this if you are a comedy fan.

** out of ****
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Why all the haters?
doomsyer7 March 2011
I don't understand all the haters on here about this movie? I thought it was funny and laughed all the way through, and so did my wife. It is a lot funnier than Little Fockers was, and that is not saying much. It is a great movie to go and watch and just sit back and laugh and forget your troubles. What is wrong with some crude humor? I guess since I am in my 40s, and have friends that talk and act like the ones in the movie, it just was funnier to me...who knows....

I guess to each their own......

For me, I wish they would put out more funny movies like this. I haven't laughed so hard in a very long time....
155 out of 266 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Truly dire
willdotcom794 January 2012
I've never felt so repulsed by a film (and I've seen my fair share of festering turd piles) that I've had to create a movie review profile to warn the rest of human existence about this cinematic nightmare. The title for me, being from the UK, was misleading, the premise is woeful and the characters despicable. The only thing worse is the human, no cretin, who dreamt up this schizophrenic abomination.

This movie doesn't know what it wants to be on an epic level. On one hand it's an "American Pie" type comedy, where you're laughing at how bad the situation has become for a character, and then it's attempting to be all grown up, emitting a deep emotive, heartfelt message about life, love and loss. It simply doesn't work.

I would say it was aimed at teenagers, but what teen wants to watch middle aged guys hitting on young girls? It's cringe worthy beyond the extreme. I'm sad that I've watched this film and have found a new all time worst movie ever.
58 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
ooo, a turd gun
bdubington1 October 2011
in an era of burgeoning comedic genius, this is and pair of wrinkled testes floating in a bowl of warm corona light. uninspired and disastrous. everyone involved should be embarrassed. because i need 10 lines for a review, i will talk about something better than this "movie". like being cut with a belt sander, rubbing a homeless man's feet, diarrhea Popsicles, very small parachutes, foot binding, water boarding, being stranded in a life raft in the middle of the Atlantic, being clawed in the anus by a bear. and that is about it. I'm sure some people think its really funny. but its not. if you think I'm way off watch it and tell me. but then you will look really dumb.
49 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Love this silly movie
UniqueParticle5 March 2020
So many of the scenes are awesome and fun to watch! I wish I could work with the Farrelly brothers, they make lovable movies plus I have autism so I appreciate a lot of the characters in they're films. I love the dirtiness throughout. So much brightness and delightful fun I appreciate cinema so much! The CSI theme is so epic too.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Truly disgusting
rsol5517 December 2011
The authors are apparently incapable of coming up with anything generally amusing, so they instead substitute a serious of gross out, shock scenes. The piece in the main is a female revenge fantasy - the male characters are depicted as stupid and insensitive enough to ask for a license to cheat, the women with complete unrealism grant it, and in turn the women are successful and the men are spectactularly unsuccessfully. Perhaps he Farelly slobs and their friends are like that, but even if so they shouldn't tar all men that way.

Unsatisfied with vicious sexism against men, they also have to include a scene in graphic detail that states black men have large penises and white men tiny ones, and thus extend to the worst kind of racism. Most likely the Farrelly slobs have a complex about their tiny penises, but that's no reason to inflict this on the public.

To summarize, a disgusting piece of sexism and racism. Unfortunately, since it is left-wing sexism against men and racism against white people, this filth gets to be a Hollywood produced and backed movie.
69 out of 115 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Highly Disappointing
bob-rutzel-115 June 2011
Rick (Wilson) and Fred (Sudeikis) are given Hall Passes by their wives for one week to do whatever they want with whoever they want. Their thinking is that this will get their husbands to appreciate them more. Is this a good idea?

When I was in High School, a Hall Pass did not mean I could do whatever I wanted for a day or a week. It just allowed me to go from one classroom to another place within a very short period of time. But, this kind of Hall Pass is different.

This has a lot of crude, rude and out-of-place sexual humor. Nothing in here is funny. Nothing. There is male frontal nudity, female nudity and a masturbation scene by Fred. Is this what so-called comedies are coming to these days? Seems so. It's bad enough that these so-called comedies are never funny, but now we dip into almost x-rated dialogue and scenes. There is a place for things of this nature, but in a comedy? I need to find my home planet and go there. This is becoming way too much for me.

A lot of funny stuff is funny by implication, but in here, it's all spelled out for you, spoken, and shown. If you do see this, ask yourself: would you watch it again with your parents, children, grandparents? I think not.

Violence: Yes. Sex: Yes. Nudity: Yes, male and female. Language: Yes.
50 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Gratuitous, Full-Frontal Male Porn. It's sad.
ivxoxvi12 December 2012
This movie rates an "F" for Full Frontal male nudity on several occasions that had nothing to do with the movie or plot. I believe they were trying to see how far they could push the envelope. It was offensive and disgusting for an R-rated film; it would've been appropriate for X-rated porn. I am sad that the talented and hilarious Farrelly Brothers lowered themselves into the sewer.

Other than that, however, the rest of the plot was also highly offensive -- two "poor husbands," who want nothing more than to cheat on their wives, who are portrayed more like mothers and guardians than partners. This is hardly the typical middle-class family in my experience, and hardly a theme for a comedy.

They Failed, big-time.
65 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The same old jokes we have been seeing for the past few years
fortwenty25 May 2011
I really would not waste any money on this movie. I wish I had not watched the movie because I will never get the time I spent watching this garbage back and should sue the idiot directors This is a non stop penis joke and awkwardly explicit male nudity type of movie that fails to deliver anything original tries to force its jokes to happen.

This movie is pretty much for females and bi/gay males as with many comedy that have been coming out in the last decade and a half. Its a cop-out to producing anything of substance just to flip a quick buck. The entertainment industry knows that if they make movies for the girls their boyfriends will pay for it even if they do not care to see the movie because of the roles society has in place for men. However if they make movies with lots of female nudity and vagina jokes the movie will flop because women flip out and call men disgusting perverts for wanting to see the movie. Got to love double standards.

A trendy flop of a bad time. This movie was terrible. Watch if you are masochistic.
51 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The premise is immature an annoying (left-wing nonsense)
the___force5 January 2012
If these guys are so desperate for sex, and if their wives are morons who don't care who they sleep with, why not just go and find some prostitutes to sleep with? They don't even have a enough time to develop a relationship. I am so glad to see that the sense of commitment to marriage is alive and well in Hollywood. Apparently, the point of the movie is to show that people don't really want to be married. Casual sexual or childish teenage infatuation are more compelling than a committed marriage where the wife and husband have remained faithful to each other. If a husband is so immature that he goes around like a teenager dreaming about sleeping with younger women, then he should never have gotten married in the first place. He is a fool who has no clue what marriage is about.
58 out of 96 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Mediocre vehicle for pushing porn
lawrence134 June 2011
The film itself was passable entertainment from the Hollywood McDonalds style menu of mediocrity however the thing that absolute gob smacked me was the unnecessary and lets call a spade a spade, porn scenes although this film had 15 rating. The one particular scene that I never in my whole life would have thought I would see passed of as entertainment was the Jacuzzi scene. This is where two naked men black and white rush in to save Owen Wilson who'd fallen asleep in the tub. The gratuitous close up of the black fellers penis -which looked partially erect, made me feel saddened and sick that this stuff now gets past the censors without batting an eyelid.

I mean how can you watch this filth with your kids or parents . I have no doubt as witnessed by the Glenn Beck radio interview with Ben Shapiro

who is an author of a new book about the left liberal strangle hold on Hollywood and this film clearly shows that.

Let me elaborate: Ben Shapiro talks about the director of desperate housewives making same sex neighbours the norm. We have the same in England where the BBC is dominated by left, liberal self interest groups. I'm convinced that members of the production team or the director have an agenda to make pornography acceptable everywhere in our society. The Farrelly brothers should be absolutely ashamed of their contribution to the breakdown of the moral glue of our society. When lovingly shown shots of an half erect penis is passed of for 15 year old entertainment then you really feel we are entering the final age of Babylon.

Lawrence Jenkins London
58 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This Movie Was Aewsome! Hilarious
airgear24730 May 2011
....Watch it....It's an awesome movie!! The concept and idea of the movie was awesome! Owen Wilson was at his best just making the film funny as hell the cloths definitely didn't match him but it just made you think that he's definitely been out of the game the movie was great The movie was way better than expected i definitely wanted to punch Owen Wilson for doing what he does but i would love to be in his position when he did something really stupid . The plot was great and i was just astonished to see all the bad reviews for this when i had allot fun watching this. This just went one my all time recommendation list.Don't hype up the movie or anything just watch it! . Just watch it with friends you'll have a great time!
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very funny! Farrelly's deliver with hilarious cast!
sixstringshowcase10 November 2017
I dunno why people are bashing this flick. It's full of Farrelly Brother humor that is on-par with their best films. The premise allows all the characters to run the table. It's full of real-life comparisons that are hilarious as well as some exaggerations that hit the bulls- eye. It's not "On The Waterfront", but it wasn't intended to be. I guess I am biased because I've never watched a "bad" Farrelly Brothers movie. Sudekis and Wilson are awesome!
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
One of the worst movies ever
galili_yo-46-5115516 January 2012
pointlessly crude, unfunny, insulting to any thinking person - this is a total vulgar piece of crap. One of the worst flicks I have ever had the misfortune to come across. Do yourself a favor and skip this.

There's something about "Hall Pass" that feels grosser than the usual Farrelly brothers comedy. There is a joke involving an explosion of human diarrhea, but it's not nearly as off-putting as the film's unlikable characters.

Everything feels forced. Nothing kills laughter faster than trying too hard.

TOTAL JUNK.DO NOT WATCH.
48 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Go Get Your "Hall Pass"
jgregg4225 February 2011
Have you ever wondered what happened to the crew of guys from the first "American Pie" movie? After they lost "it" I often wonder what happened after they got married and had kids and moved out to the suburbs. What happened 20 years later when they were no longer the "Big Men on Campus"?

Thanks to the new release by the Farrelly brothers (Bobby and Peter who also brought us "Dumb and Dumber" and "Kingpin") we are now able to see the rest of the story. "Hall Pass" is by no means a sequel in the "American Pie" series but both films did remind me of how most men are wired for sexual conquests from puberty onward.

"Hall Pass" captured America's well known character - the middle age suburbanite male and gave him a hall pass. A hall pass is a weeklong excuse for married men to behave badly, drink to excess and sleep with whomever.

We start the movie with Rick (played by Owen Wilson) and Fred (played by Jason Sudeikis) attending an award banquet with their wives. They think they have the "scoping-chicks-out-in-secret" scheme down perfectly while their wives know what dogs they really have become over the years. It's not that Rick and Fred are totally miserable in their marriages but they think that they could be getting some serious action if they weren't tied down. Fred has even resorted to finding a way to relieve some of his sexual tensions in his car.

Their wives, Maggie (played by Jenna Fischer) and Grace (played by Christina Applegate), speak with a psychiatrist friend of theirs who gives them the idea of letting their husbands have a week off of their marriage so that they can carouse and let some of their male tendencies rule. At the end of the week they come back and have stronger marriages because of the freedom. Hey, I am sure it works in theory.

Once the guys are loose, they have some troubles getting back in the game. They are like two disoriented bulls in a china shop; they neither have any idea how they got there nor how to move around with any tact.

The week moves quickly with the guys bar hopping at family restaurants. They embark on a hilarious golf outing after eating some brownies laced with pot. By the third night they are called out on their manhood by their friends. Rick and Fred, like a lot of guys, talk a big game but have very little action to back up their smack talk.

While the boys are trying their hardest using tasteless pick-up lines and getting drunk to build their confidence, the wives are being themselves and living it up with a minor league baseball team in Cape Cod. As an indirect result to allowing the husbands go out, the wives are also permitted a hall pass. However, the wives aren't as shameless about their newfound freedom.

The movie moves on with many quotable one liners and quite a few shock moments. But, it wouldn't be a true Farrelly brothers' movie without one or two shock moments. Remember the hair gel scene in "There's Something About Mary?" The same goes with "Hall Pass," with a lot of big risks comes a lot of big rewards for the audience.

Should you see this movie? Yes. The actors played off of each with ease. Along with a well-written script, it all came together for several big laughs. However, if you are not comfortable with sexual references or outlandish sight gags, this might not be the film for you. If you are the type to laugh at "American Pie," "Superbad," "Step Brothers" or any other over the top comedy then this would definitely be a pick for you.
79 out of 146 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Criminally Underrated!
g-bodyl26 January 2013
Hall Pass is definitely a sweet and raucous film that is vastly underrated. I almost skipped this movie because of the bad things I was hearing about it. But because it has Owen Wilson starring and that talented Farrelly Brothers at the helm, I decided to give this film a shot. There are better R-rated comedies out there, but this still is a respectable one with lots of funny and dramatic moments.

This film is about two friends who are given hall passes from their wives. That pretty much means they can do whatever they want as they get a week off from their marriages. But will they be doing the right thing?.....

Owen Wilson always gives off a certain charm no matter what movie he is in. He played more of the straight-laced guy here but he still was good. I think Jason Sudekis will be a big comedy star because he had some really funny moments.

Overall, Hall Pass is another good entry in the R-rated comedy category of which 2011 was famous for. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie from beginning to end. There are a few stretches that are meant to be funny but really are not. But, most comedies are like that. I rate this film 8/10.
22 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Different view.
Tiburcio7213 July 2011
Seems that not everybody understood the plot. Maybe they were expecting a Vince Vaungh performance. First, the hall pass was given under a misinterpretation and overreaction. These guys were dorks and good husbands, not studs trapped in a marriage that missed their bachelor years. At the end, one of the wives recognizes that the one that needed that break was her, not the husband. If you were expecting a wild and crazy behavior after permission was granted, look for another stupid "guy flick" at Vegas. There were few clichés, like the use of pot and a shart (fart and diarrhea), but even the last one deserved a laugh. Good dorky movie, specially that Kevin James was not in it.
38 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
What are you night rider
alan_jones1329 November 2019
This is a pure example of a great comedy. You got good subtle set ups and pay offs. Owen Wilson is trying not to kill him self. It's just good fun. Like Fred said, "how much does a Polar bear weigh to break the ice?" That's comedy. Eh well you get it because he's trying to break the ice for the conversation, oh well humor is subjective anyway.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hall Pass is a national treasure
hhhalstead-5756129 November 2019
A modern-day classic! The performances by Jenkins, Wilson, and Sudeikis are career heights. Only the uneducated will bash a legendary film such as this. Coakley taught me everything I know. Bring a girl or don't come!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The movie delivers what it's supposed to - comedy.
Nesvrstani20 March 2011
I never really expected much from Hall Pass, since the Farrelly brothers kinda lost their touch in the years back, but this is pure gold. After a long day, this is the perfect way to end it. The perfect way to kill time.

It's fast paced, every scene is filled with something funny. I don't remember laughing as much as I did tonight. (at a movie) The story is great, it develops perfectly, it's original, and the actors are perfect for their respective roles.

It's everything you should get from a comedy movie. It blows Due Date; Little Fockers; and other comedies from a few months back by far.
19 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of the funniest movies ever made!
Kenkeller-98-62055311 November 2018
It is not for every taste but if you are a married middle aged man who has an "inner man" who dreams of being single for a week, this movie is for you. It's filled with one liners and I watch it every time it comes on.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Review: Hall Pass
staff-577-37888225 February 2011
Hall Pass is the latest "boys never grow up" comedy to come out of the Ferrelly Brothers. Being the creative minds behind Dumb and Dumber and There's Something About Mary, one can expect a riotous situational comedy with a dash of lewd exposure all while managing to keep a heartwarming undertone that makes it all worth it. Unfortunately, Hall Pass keeps the lewd with a dash of comical instances of brilliance while managing to keep the audience wondering when the movie will finally just... stop playing.

Rick (Owen Wilson, the blonde one who's not Luke Wilson) and Fred (Jason Sudeikis of SNL fame) are best buds happily married to wonderful women Maggie (Jenna Fischer of The Office) and Grace (Christina Applegate of Anchorman, Married with Children). But things have gotten a little stale in the bedroom and the guys are helpless but to gawk at all the young "talent" that surrounds them. Darn it, if only they weren't married! The wives take note of this behavior and after a lengthy dialogue with a minor character literally detailing the title of the film, they pave the way for a wild week of orgies and freedom by issuing their husbands a "hall pass" a.k.a. a week free from marriage in which they can sow their wild oats. The boys are instantly excited and embrace the idea without any concern for how bad things must be in their marriage to have brought their wives to this point, but never mind. Free sex! Except they find that it isn't as easy as they remember to meet women leading to failed attempt after attempt to not only fulfill their fantasies, but to even function without the guidance of their wives. Reminiscent of moving out of the house for the first time and instead of mom's meatloaf, you're eating Cup o' Noodles for 3 weeks straight. The ladies, on the other hand, go Maggie's father's summer home for the week and party with a visiting Minor League baseball team and play volley ball and shotgun beer and are flirted with constantly and... well, you get the point.

Ultimately, the film slumps along from one scene to the next, segmented together in a shrewd manner. The film's crippling weakness isn't that a majority of the jokes are asinine for even a Farrelly Brother film or that the plot is overly contrived but that the characters we're meant to invest in just aren't interesting or agreeable or worth a $10 admission. Being a fan of Wilson and especially of Sudeikis, the characters they played were severely underwritten for their talents. They didn't seem to capture the bumbling 40-year-old thinking he could still be a 20-year-old effect and just came across as bumbling 40-year- olds pretending to be 60-year-olds thinking they could be 20-year-olds. Fischer and Applegate were also underwritten and thus made it hard to really invest in their characters as well.

While there are a few memorable moments involving a hipster troll working at a coffee shop and Stephen Merchant being Stephen Merchant for 5 minutes, Hall Pass just does not deserve to be excused from its poor execution.

1.5 Hawaiian shirts out of 5

-MovieFloss.com
35 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Well worth the money
cashdj4 March 2011
Judging from the mixed reviews here, Hall Pass is a movie that you will either love or hate (although I do suspect that more people will love it than hate it).

Personally, I loved Hall Pass and laughed nearly all the way through it.

And judging from the reaction of the audience around me, they all loved it as well.

There have been a few comments that what you see in the trailer is what you get - I didn't find this to be the case at all.

Hall Pass is much, much better than the trailer.

If you're thinking about seeing Hall Pass, do yourself a favour and go and watch it.

Judge it for yourself.
28 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed