One Missed Call (2008) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
127 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
One Positive Review (ok, middle of the road)
plumberguy6628 April 2008
Facts: As of 4.27.08 the rating for this movie is 2.9

Nearly EVERY review is negative. The accusations leveled over and over are: worst movie ever, terrible, trash, stupid and the like.

Here's my sad story about One Missed Call:

It was a rainy Sunday afternoon (I live in Seattle) so I went to the local video store looking for a mindless movie to watch while laying about. While perusing the selections I saw IT – not the Stephen King movie but the most vilified movie in recent memory: One Missed Call, staring at me from the shelf. I almost felt it call to me and for a fraction of a second my hand, with a mind of its own, started to reach out for it. Needless to say, I retrieved my composure and hurried away. Having read the reviews on IMDb, and so KNOWING it was something to avoid at all costs, I felt shameful and dirty at having let my guard down as I did.

As I walked a little further down the aisle I spotted another movie: Reservation Road. Thank goodness! Redemption!, I thought as I picked up a copy; feeling once again like sensible individual. As I headed for the front counter, reading the back of the box, it said Reservation Road was something to the effect of being a deep, emotional story. Not exactly the mindless fare for a rainy Sunday! So, completely loosing my mind and throwing caution to the wind, I snuck back and returned the copy of Reservation Road. Then, making certain no one else was around, grabbed a copy One Missed Call. I quickly tucked THE movie under my arm so that no passers-by could read the title and know the poor decision I had just made.

As I made my way to the counter, I made sure no line of happy movie renters were there so as to avoid their judging eyes. Safely at the counter, to throw-off some of my guilt, I made a joke with the clerk about how I was going to regret my selection but am a die-hard horror fan and therefore excused. He looked completely unaffected. I hurriedly paid and headed out the door with my guilty secret.

Once home, I popped the disc in, settled onto my couch and readied myself for disappointment. Funny thing though: About half way through the feature I started thinking about how similar this movie was to another movie I had seen - The Ring.

The Ring, when it hit the theaters and ultimately DVD, got huge, rave reviews. Strangely though, once I, personally, saw The Ring - and after all the hype - was ultimately disappointed. The Ring wasn't a bad movie, in my opinion, but it also was not deserving of all the accolades either – again, in my opinion.

So, here I am watching One Missed Call, comparing it to The Ring and now thinking the end has got to be the reason everyone is calling this a stinker. Well, I got to the end and was sitting there with furrowed brow thinking: What did I miss? Where is the movie that everyone hates so much? I don't feel ripped-off or violated. I don't even feel as if I was condescended to. What happened?

I suspect this was a case of jumping on the proverbial bandwagon. I thought we had are OWN opinions and shared them, here on IMDb, honestly. I have a very hard time believing that the same demographic gave The Ring 7.3, AVP: Requiem 5.1 (which SUUUUCKED) and One Missed Call 2.9. There is a serious disturbance in the force here. I used to trust the opinions and ratings on here. Ultimately this single incident has shaken my confidence in IMDb and the people casting their votes (much like the general elections of 2000 & 2004).

I hope one day I will once again be able to enter IMDb with the belief that I will be able to take away from it the knowledge needed to make a sensible movie renting choice. Until then, I will have to stumble through the video store alone, unarmed and destined to fall into the crags of bad movie selections.

A sad story indeed.

I fear I will run out of room soon so, I'll end here.

Cheers! Thanks for reading.
100 out of 125 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Oh God, the horror...
addledsam4 January 2008
Awful, absolutely awful. Had free tickets, but still, I knew better. Of course, all the clichés you'd expect, dumb young adults, scares that come from someone jumping into the screen and sound effects that go "boom" simultaneously, and the build up to when suddenly the main character is the one in eminent danger. Quick cuts of "scary" images. Did I mention the "creepy" music that lets you know when the mood should be tense? Now, add to that a premise that goes beyond the bad premises of other movies in the genre. Possessed cell phones? Or is it possessed ghosts that have to travel through cell lines? Oh man. The crowd I saw it with erupted with laughter numerous times at crucial plot points.

Download that game "snake" for your cellphone, it's a lot scarier.
211 out of 298 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Bad Remake
alexnader789 January 2008
This is just one of those films based on a good film (the original is wicked), that Hollywood sees as an opportunity to remake and make a load of money off. Please do not help accomplish this ! The Japanese version was based on "what you can't see is scarier than what you can see !", and played out as a highly decent scary movie. But then came along the Americans (no offense, i'm one) which bases a movie nowadays on "how much money can we inject into explosions, shattered glass,blowing up cars,... that we won't have to pay to get decent actors ?". And voilà you get this turd of a remake. Get the Japanese version and stick to it, in it the actors at least look like teenagers, in the American version they all look over thirty. I mean come on, how dumb are we ? (or how many years in a row have they flunked class)
108 out of 156 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
I can't believe I thought this wouldn't suck
Ken1234567894 January 2008
***Please, if you have not seen this movie don't vote no on it just because its a bad review.

This movie was so bad. It makes OK movies like The Grudge look like masterpieces. First, the one and only good thing about this movie was it built decent suspense in some parts. That being said, the pay off was horrible. We would always get some bad CGI, a copy off of something that was in another movie(1408 is a clue), or an average death that is filmed horribly just so that the movie won't be R. The character development is THE WORST I have seen in any movie, and thats including all the very low budget horror movies. The detective doesn't have a personality, he's just kind of a machine that spits out dialog. The main character is so stupid, its unbelievable. There have been unintentionally stupid characters throughout time, but none have been so stupid that I had to shake my head at them. The side characters are worse. You just remember them as hot Latin chick, guy friend, and the other friend. Of course, that means you don't care for their deaths. The plot was pretty stupid, they just shove some random crap in their so they could have an ending. When the film ends, it made me mad because they took too long to show credits, so you think something else will happen, but then the credits just roll. And if the screenwriter had a brain, he would know that cell phones aren't scary, its the idea of hearing your own death. But of course, we just have to have a cell phone in every scene, and this ruins what could be some good scares. On one last note, there was a really embarrassing scene that we're supposed to take serious, but you just laugh your head off at the stupidity. Overall, a 3/10
184 out of 289 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Terrible!
bunnysareevil4 January 2008
When I first saw the trailer for this film I thought "Oh great, another 'When a stranger calls' movie". I had nothing to do so I saw it with some friends. After I watched it I probably had the biggest headache in my entire life. The dialog was hilariously awful, The characters are very unlikable, the "Jump" moments didn't even phase me. And I hated how they tried so hard to make the whole feel of the film creepy and scary(Hence the 'Scary music').

It takes brains to make a good horror movie, and this one has no brains at all. It looks like were not going to be able to fight off any stupid remakes or boring horror movies anytime soon... If your looking for a good laugh or a bad headache, this film might be the one for you.

2/10 stars.
143 out of 224 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not deserving of such a low rating - Worth a watch!
demon-monkey5 August 2008
I know that many people have given this a low rating but I believe that is mostly because many people had preconceptions before watching the movie because of the original Japanese version/origin and the fact that it was a remake. O.k granted it isn't the best movie of all time but far from the worst if you watch it as I did with an open mind and give it a chance under it's own merits. There were several parts in the movie where it does get you guessing and thinking that you know who is behind it but you may guess wrong - I know that I did, o.k it wasn't overly scary but a few moments where it does make you think now that would be freaky, you can see a few holes in the plot but then again you can with most movies.

All in all worth a watch with an open mind if you don't really expect anything from it and give the movie a chance!

My rating 7/10
36 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I'm dying for a good horror movie!
jaddison3836 January 2008
Of all the atrocities I've seen on the big screen, this flick just might be the worst. Combining poor story-telling, bad characters, and laughable special effects, One Missed Call is pure crap. As much as I hate to slam something with the lovely Shannyn Sossamon in it, I can't stop myself with this. Poor choice, Ms. Sossamon.

The only thing the film does decently is building up suspense, and there are some intense moments. But then the pay-off is so cheesy I found myself laughing. And the story doesn't even make sense, especially with an ending that kills any possibility of reality.

Horror has really seen a downfall in recent years, but this film is the worst. It seems that intelligent thrillers/horror films have completely left the market. With torture porn films like the Saw franchise taking over the marketplace, wonderful movies like 2006's The Descent are rare triumphs. I want more of those. 2/10 stars.

Jay Addison
83 out of 134 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Great Comedy
residentofarea519 April 2008
Yes I know it's supposed to be a horror but it isn't. There are some parts that had me rolling around on the floor. Seriously, there are so many clichés and parts that make absolutely no sense. There's also parts where you think "why are they doing that?" or "why don't they just do this?" Then there's the ending which seems to think that it makes the rest of the film make perfect sense when it's just stupid. Nothing in the film adds up at all and it's just generally very inconsistent. I haven't seen the Japanese version but I heard that it's a lot better if you actually want a horror film. Otherwise, be on the look out for a guy with an umbrella at the end - priceless!
45 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
I don't care what they all say, it's got a creepy vibe to it.
hitchcockthelegend3 October 2008
It's not very good, but it isn't nearly as bad as some reviewers here are making out. Personally i found it far more entertaining than drek like Stay Alive and Cry-Wolf, whilst tagging it the worst film of the year when the likes of Untraceable are on the market, beggars belief. Remaking Japanese horror is getting stale, if it was ever really fresh that is, so with that in mind i feel the hatred and backlash for this latest American remake has a touch of "stop remaking already". One Missed Call {Japanese original Chakushin Ari} is creepy enough, from little eerie dolls and grotesque figures to a seriously unnerving ring tone, it works as the most basic of chillers when watched alone in the dark. You will find that Final Destination and The Ring will come springing to mind as you watch this one unfold, so no great prizes for originality for sure. The acting of course is sub-standard, even Ray Wise seems to be the bread part of a camp and ham sandwich, the directing is sloppy and the ending frustrates as much as it intrigues, but the picture is creepy, and for that alone it's far more entertaining than the ream of gorno slashers that dumb the screens every other week. 5/10
35 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
'One Missed Call' missed the mark
texrangers315 January 2008
I am a fan or horror movies. I get scared by almost anything, and I will admit that once I read the plot summary for 'One Missed Call' I was intrigued. My friend and I both thought it had potential. Than I saw the trailer, and was almost as disappointed as I was I saw 'The Land Before Time 16'. I went to see this movie expecting it to be comically ridiculous, and I wasn't disappointed. If you want a good laugh, go see it. If you are frightened by a missed call on your cell phone than you may want to sleep with the lights on, otherwise you should be fine. The worst part about this movie is that it isn't quite corny enough to be considered entertaining. It simply leaves you constantly turning to the person next to you to say "What was that?" because of how childish the plot becomes.
66 out of 114 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
If only It had been one of the first.
Sam_Movie_Buff7 February 2008
One Missed Call does not deserve a 2.8 rating, - it just doesn't. I think most people had an opinion of this movie before they even seen it. Most likely because it was simply "another Japanese remake", but that's unfair. If One Missed Call had been released before, lets say "The Ring" - the movie would have had a higher rating - and better reviews. But because we have had "The Ring", "The Ring 2 ", "The Grudge", "The Grudge 2", "Pulse", etc.. (to name a few) people think they know what the're already gonna get from the film. I mean, I'm not gonna lie and say One Missed Call is really a lot different from those movies - cause it's not. But that doesn't mean to say it's not good or entertaining. I think If you get passed the whole Japanese thing - you will enjoy the movie for sure.

The thing I like about these certain movies is, there is a lot of great suspense. There's no heads, legs, arms flying everywhere - it's better than that. These so called Hollywood "creators" now think a horror film can only be a horror if there is blood & guts splattered everywhere. That's not true. A great horror has great suspense, and One Missed Call delivers just that.
17 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
No missed clichés
rooprect25 October 2019
I'll make it fast. One Missed Call = every horror cliché in the book. Once you realize this you can shut off your brain and have an entertaining ride for 87 mins.

Shadowy figures go swoosh past the camera. Creepy dead people appear and then a bus goes by and they're gone. Whenever someone slowly opens a door you can bet $5 there'll be a fake scare in your future. Anyone who goes chasing after a pet cat will die. And the victims are telegraphed more blatantly than if they had a black Sims plumbob over their heads. All the same, this can still be a fun flick in the same way a rollercoaster can be a fun ride even though you know exactly where the rails go (hint: usually down).

"One Missed Call" is a polished remake of the Japanese "Chakushin ari" (2003) which I never saw. The story is about a bizarre chain of phone calls where the victims receive a voicemail from themselves from the future, time stamped at the moment they die. Somehow this ties in with a parallel story of 2 creepy girls and a spooky nurse. Don't ask me how; apparently my brain had auto-shutoff midway so I didn't quite grasp the connection, but I still had fun watching all the wacky ectoplasmic hijinks.

Just do like I did, shut off your brain and enjoy the show. It's well produced with decent effects, great spooky makeup, and good acting although you gotta wonder... why do these idiots keep answering their phones??

Also there's a bizarre recurring theme of centipedes (cgi) which is supposed to creep us out, but I think centipedes are cute af, so whenever a centipede appeared I was like... Dawwwwwwrrr! koochiekooochiekoo!! :D
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hilarious movie...
bestrob2635 January 2008
This was without doubt the worst and most disappointing movie I have ever seen in the cinema. I'm not a big horror fan, but I figured I'd try this out since the previews made it actually look like a movie. This movie deserves to be on the top of the WORST MOVIES list and can easily be one of the worst movies of 2008. I'm not going to get deep into the storyline, but let's just say it was a funny movie. If you're looking for a comedy see this, because this was the most pathetic piece of trash. This is not in the least scary and the storyline was beyond awful. They get a call hearing their death. They wander randomly around the street seeing weird faces. They die. Repeat. The ending will make you laugh the hardest. I think I lauged harder in this movie than in Superbad. Biggest waste of 10 bucks ever. Stay home and watch SAW.
19 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Why Does this Have Such a Low Score?
adamcarlton10 April 2008
I went to see this with the missus tonight, even after i saw the 2.6/10 on here i thought id give the film a shot, and I'm glad i did.

2.6 for this film is really harsh. Granted it does have a few moments with poorly acted dialogue and its very predictable. But the atmosphere in my opinion is very good, even when you know something is coming with the music build up, it still made me jump a few times and there's some pretty creepy stuff happening throughout. It's similar to the jumps and scares in the Grudge and other Japanese horrors.

In the end it is a typical jump scare movies with a different approach. It is predictable, it has poor moments, the haunted phone thing really isn't as bad as it seems and the ringtone is awesome.

Overall 7/10 "Good". Worth the watch
12 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
this movie was the most awful film i've sat through since ankle biters.
johnsonmk-114 January 2008
Honestly...America needs to stop trying to redo Japanese films, because they're making them suck. Let us just stick with the actual versions and read the subtitles it's way better. Speaking of Asian films if Hollywood tries to redo Battle Royale, I quit. They'll ruin a good film. Luckily I used to work at a movie theater so I was able to see this for free and didn't waste ten bucks on it, I did however, waste two hours of my time I could have spent watching something good. Who puts together a film like this? Honestly! I normally don't bash films even crappy straight to DVD movies, but the fact that a movie with millions of dollars spent on it and sent to theaters could be this crappy really bothers me. How could a director put his name on a movie like this with a straight face?
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not AS BAD as i expected, but still....
bjones7-27 January 2008
okay, this movie was honestly not AS awful as i had heard and expected. I've seen worse attempts at horror with "The Grudge", or "The Ring 2", "Pulse", "When a Stranger Calls" or the hilarious "The Wicker Man", but it is still embarrassing at how lame Hollywood "horror" movies have become. The only good ones are the independent films like "SAW" or the upcoming "Poughkeepsie Tapes", which by the way you know its sad when a trailer is actually scarier than the film you are presenting it before.

So the movie actually begins pretty decent and just slowly declines from there. The scares are so obvious and pathetically done that the audience usually ends up laughing. The acting was pretty horrendous, but hey, its a horror movie. The pacing was one of the better parts of the film as the kills are spaced enough to keep just a little bit of interest, as does the so-called plot. The ending is what truly ruins the movie though, as it's just a typical PG-13 horror film ending, so it was virtually expected. Overall---4/10
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Better than I had anticipated!
Clarinerd01029 January 2008
Prior to going to see this movie, my aunt and I had read several reviews bashing it. So, we went into the movie with considerably low expectations, which may be the reason why it managed to exceed them. Yes, the acting was mediocre, the effects were somewhat cheesy and we were left confused at times. But for what it was, it was actually pretty good. The nice thing about the movie is that aside from 5 or 6 inappropriate words, it is surprisingly fairly decent for pre-teens. There was no nudity or sex, just a little kissing. Another plus is that the detective is very pleasant to look at ;) Hardcore horror flick lovers probably wouldn't enjoy One Missed Call, but if you're just looking for a fun one to squeal through, this is it. It'd be great at a pre-teen/teenage(or older) Halloween sleepover.
11 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
very weird
mattkratz22 January 2008
This was and odd movie. It seems like movie makers think that the weirder they make a movie, the more you will like it. If this were the case, then you will LOVE this movie. It contains elements of such films as The Grudge and Final Destination. The movie basically consists of people getting a phone call. When they check it, they find it dated from a little bit in the future, and they hear themselves say something right before they die. Sure enough, it comes true. When other characters start investigating it, they find some kind of ghostly and other-worldly explanation.

I thought the movie was fairly suspenseful and good considering the subject material and storyline/plot. It will please you if you like this sort of movie. Fortunately, it had a minimal amount of blood and gore in it. Too much of that (which I'm sure they were tempted to use and rely on) could have ruined it. I'm glad they didn't.

** 1/2 out of ****
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A good horror movie rated PG-13
robertallenandersonjr10 April 2008
When I had first gone to see One Missed Call I didn't think it would be that good. I didn't think it would be all that good because I don't like movies like The grudge and The Ring. I had also kept hearing bad things about it. It turned out to be a very good horror movie. I thought that it kept me on the edge of my seat. It also had some great sudden scares. Some of the faces and weird ghost looking people were also pretty scary as well. For a pg-13 movie this was actually pretty scary. I don't get why people keep making fun of this movie. It was 10 times better than any of those movies like grudge or the ring. This movies story line was a little bit stupid but found a way to make it's way up toward the end. You end up finding out a lot more at the end, and why people were getting phone calls from dead people. The ending to this movie was really bad though. I think that it kind of dragged on toward the end. The visuals in this movie were pretty cool as well. the movie could have easily been solved by just not picking up your cell phone to see your new voicemails or by throwing your cell phone away. I did like a couple of the actors in it which helped out the movie for me. One of the good actors in it was Edward Burns, he played a great role. He played a detective who is trying to save a girl and her friends from the things that are killing them. The other awesome actor was Shannyn Sossamon who played the girl that was trying to protect all of her friends and stop the phone calls. It was so intense every time you saw that someone had a new voicemail it makes you wonder right away can they fight it and survive. This was a remake of the old One Missed Call which was a japan movie. This was a good remake and should be checked out if you like creepy edge of your seat horror movies. Overall this movie would get a 8 out of 10 rating. Go see it I think that you will enjoy this one more than some of those other dumb movies that have been out. Such as The Grudge and The Ring which are just flat out not even worth seeing.
9 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
1 Missed Call
kyleallen_916 February 2009
I found this movie to be exciting and thrilling. I like the fact that it wasn't real violent or gory, but at the same time some of the killings were horrifying. It has a great story line that keeps the characters wrapped up in a mystery until the end. It about a spirit that moves through the phone line and causes a group of college students to die in bizarre accidents. The main girl teams up with a detective to uncover the truth behind her friends deaths. It did remind of a few movies that compare to it, such as The Ring and Fear Dot Com. The actors Shannyn Sossamon, Edward Burns, Ana Claudia Talancon and Meagan Good made this film worth watching, so definitely check it out!
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Save your money, skip this movie
xbleednomorex5 January 2008
The Japanese movie was excellent, when i heard there was a remake i knew it was either going to be absolutely awful, or pretty awesome, unfortunately it was terrible. I found myself bored most of the movie and laughing during the "scary" parts because of how weak they were. The acting is pretty sub par, Ed Burns is the only decent actor in the whole movie. Every death scene cuts away instead of actually having to show any gore or any action at all, how it even got a pg-13 rating is beyond me, my 50 year old mother could definitely watch this movie without being scared. Do yourself a favor watch the Japanese movie, if you don't like subtitles it is dubbed in English too and well worth watching.
9 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It wasn't that bad.
iBeg_to_differ4 January 2008
First -- if you don't like The Grudge or Pulse or any other Asian horror remake, you won't really like this one either.

However, I have to say, it was entertaining through out. Yes, there are just the simple pop-up scares, but some of the scenes were very nicely done... a bit cliché... but still. Death scenes were an upgrade compared to recent remakes -- yes, they were still tame, but however slickly and stylishly done. There is a lot of creepy visuals and creepy atmosphere. The actors and actresses play their roles pretty good. The only negative I can think about this movie is the pop-up scares-a-second.

So all in all, the movie is pretty good. It is a lot better than some other Asian horror remakes and entertaining.
13 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic horror movie
davetwentynine3 May 2008
The best horror remake i have ever seen. Forget all the negative reviews, WATCH IT NOW if you dare.

Very frightening, full of scares from start to finish. Most recent REMAKES have been poor, but this.... I could not blink my eyes. Full of suspense and kept me on the edge of my seat, easily enough to give you nightmares. This is certainly up there with the best horror films around, Don't miss this what-ever you do.

ONE MISSED CALL is going to make you throw away your mobile phone(seriously) grab a copy now and you will then know what i'm talking about. More horror films like this and all horror fans would be smiling. Easily 10/10.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Great Popcorn Flick Not Meant to be taken Seriously
Solid_Snake1319 January 2008
Okay so, first of all, I don't get the hate for this movie. It wasn't awful and it wasn't perfect. Everyone knew what to expect from a movie like this, especially if they've seen The Ring or The Grudge. To me, One Missed Call was far better than Pulse, I didn't like The Ring and The Grudge just got boring.

The atmosphere of this movie was great, though the CGI and special effects of this film could use some touch up work. The centipedes looked far too fake to even be considered real. The ghosts, such as the mouth eye ghost seen above, were well done and most of all creepy.

The characters aren't all too memorable in a way this is Final Destination meets The Ring or The Grudge. Only change the Premonition plane crash or the watch the video and die in seven days to a creepy cell phone call(with a creepy, yet satisfyingly catchy tune) and you've got One Missed Call. Beth was a pretty good character though at times you didn't really know what to expect of her. At some times she's the calm heroic female and other times she's a bitchy "Don't mess with me!" girl.

Edward Burns played a good character and definitely one of the more memorable one from the group. Though his character's profession seems to make you think he has a lack of business going around the office.

The other characters aren't too mentionable, like I said, it's a lot like Final Destination so only certain characters get the special attention they deserve. The deaths aren't all that exciting nor would I expect them to be with a PG-13 rating. Though with the lack of bloody or memorable deaths or really good dialogue in between them, there are incredible tension and suspense leading up to them that makes this film get the attention it deserves.

So in the end, the movie was great and I got what I wanted and expected from it. Entertainment. The movie has great entertainer for a night with friends and will probably one of the funnest popcorn flicks you'll have in a while.

8/10
7 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Can we get some REAL horror please?
robzombie2324 January 2008
One Missed Call is TERRIBLE. I am tired of these PG-13 pieces of crap that Hollywood releases just to make a buck or two off of the teenagers of America. Horror used to be something in Hollywood movies. Horror movies used to be movies that would leave the viewers up all night. Horror used to be HORROR! Now we got crap like "The Ring" or "The Grudge" or "One Missed Call". These movies would only scare a 7 year old who rented it. Horror is not what it used to be, and most likely never will be the same. It's all about the money now and not at all about making a good movie. Now "scary movies" rely on cheap jump scares and weird looking ghosts to "scare" their audience.

Can we get some REAL horror? PLEASE Hollywood??
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed