A Lobster Tale (2006) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
15 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
A Good, Family Story – Pacing is a bit slow
ardentayu10 January 2008
The story concept of "A Lobster Tale" is very interesting. A poor Lobster Fisherman named Cody (Colm Meaney) finds some magic, green gooey substance caught in his lobster net. This "goo" proves to have healing powers. Because he has a limited amount of the magic substance, he and his family must make decisions about who can use it, when, where, and why… Therein, begins the family's problems. Suddenly they are most popular people in town, because everybody wants to get a piece of the magic substance. This scenario provides the characters with difficult decisions and ridiculously amusing situations.

I though the acting was great. Cody's son (played by Jack Knight) nailed an emotional scene, and other actors rounded out a strong cast –Colm Meaney, Alberta Watson (recognized her from "24"), and Graham Greene, who was very funny as a slacker cop.

My biggest criticism is that the movie was a little long. The middle section where the townspeople are continually confronting/begging him got very redundant. The pacing definitely could have been sped up through the middle section of the movie.

Otherwise, it was a really nice story with some good messages, some emotional moments, and some ironic/understated humor throughout.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
a really special film
makeupjames9925 October 2007
Wow, was I surprised to read the previous review by "bridgecheri" when I came to IMDb to check out the cast. We saw the film on the same day that review was posted and had a completely different reaction as did the people we were sitting with and those we discussed the film with after the show. My wife and I loved the film and thought it not only entertaining but very well done. I worked as an on set Hair Stylist in Los Angeles for years before moving to Washington and thought "A Lobster Tale" was well directed, had a wonderful story, exceptionally strong performances and was beautifully shot. After reading the two reviews posted on the film, we must say we are in agreement with "azmoviebuff" and would recommend this film.
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Terrific film
azmoviebuff16 April 2007
I saw A Lobster Tale yesterday at the Phoenix Film Festival. It is a terrific film. Colm Meaney, Alberta Watson and Jack Knight are fantastic. There is a great performance also by Graham Greene who was a perfect choice as the sheriff. It is a nice warm family film with a great message...yet has the laugh and cry moments too. I hope it gets picked up for distribution. Highly recommend it! If you are fan of Jericho/the TV show...there is a pivotal role in Lobster Tale played by Erik Knudsen who plays Dale the young store owner on Jericho. I had the pleasure of meeting the director, Adam Massey after the screening for a Q & A. He is one to watch out for, he will be making some great films in the upcoming years.
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
finally a good family film
grannypix23 July 2009
Thank God I was able to show my family a film that we could all enjoy. My family and friends feel better for seeing it. I feel proud it was a Canadian that had the courage to put a non blood thirsty, morally enriching film out there.I hope this will encourage other film writers and directors to give us morally uplifting content that will also bring with it humor. We felt like we wanted more. Can we set an example somehow, to encourage this story and others like it .Out of curiosity I went to the directors web sight. Adam Massey. He is diverse and intelligent. A wonderful discovery. Lets hope a film like "A Lobster Tale" will inspire many others. Congratulations!
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
great family movie
sarah-f-clark8 October 2008
I thought a Lobster Tale was a really inspiring story. I hadn't heard of this movie a lot, but when I saw it, I told my friends all about it. The plot is really original and I loved the end result of the movie. What is great about this movie is that the whole family can watch it. I felt like my whole family enjoyed it and no one felt bored while watching it. The actors also in the movie made it really enjoyable. I felt that Colm Meaney played his part really well and was really believable. He was a great father is the movie, and the boy who played his son was also very good. All in all, I recommend going to see this movie; you won't be disappointed.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
fish tale
SnoopyStyle4 January 2017
Cody Brewer (Colm Meaney) is a struggling New England lobster fisherman. His waitress wife Martha (Alberta Watson) feels ignored. His son Jake gets picked on. They have a three-legged dog. Cody finds a fluorescent green moss in one of his traps. When the motor cuts off his finger, the green moss provides magical healing. When friend Rusty suffers a devastating burn, Cody uses the moss. Soon news of the magical moss spreads in the small town.

This is one fish tale that could use some more cinematic surreal magic and a faster pace. There is a bit of good dry humor but it's only mildly amusing. Colm Meaney is as good as ever. There are no natural comedians but everybody is a good actor. The sheriff's investigative skills are rather funny. The laidback nature slows the movie down but it has a nice charm about it. It has a couple of heartfelt stories and some light dusting of humor.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great story. Better ending.
limmitedgravity14 November 2009
A serious low budget film about what a miracle can do to simple normal people.

I loved every part of it. The ending was exactly how I pictured a true to life experience in the same situation.

Characters evaluate themselves and find the true meaning to giving and receiving. The message in this movie is not hard to see....

It's hard to find other movies that are true to the soul, like this one is.

Don't get me wrong, the movie also has some humor that keeps it fresh and exciting as well. I highly recommend the movie to anyone looking to sit back and relax in front of the television.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Don't rob your family of the chance to see Lobster Tale, its lovely
inkblot1118 January 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Cody (Colm Meany) is a rough-hewn lobster fisherman on America's east coast. The business is not thriving, just treading water. His pretty wife works as a waitress to make ends meet and their only child, a nearly-teenage son, is getting bullied at school. So, there are family issues, although Cody's wife loves her husband and their life together very much. One day, as Cody brings up a lobster trap, to see the day's catch, he notices that he has also caught a bright green bunch of moss. Its so unusual looking that the lobster man throws it into a bucket to study. But, bad luck! Cody cuts his finger mightily and is in a panic. Putting his hand into the bucket, however, he is astonished to see the moss glow and HEAL his finger in quick order. This is magical moss indeed. On the way home, Cody finds a neighbor has just burned his arm severely, too. Out comes the moss and it heals this man as well. It isn't long before word spreads that Cody has a miracle plant in his possession, even to medical folks giving him huge offers of cash. At the same moment, one of the biggest bullies in Cody's son's class is diagnosed with stomach cancer. There is only a small clump of moss left in the bucket. What decisions will be made? This is a lovely film, in a lovely setting, with a lovely theme. The cast, mostly unknown actors, is great as the sturdy seaside folk while the venues, costumes, script and direction have very praiseworthy attributes. Most of all, the story's themes, a mix of realism and fantasy, make it a great choice for families everywhere. Don't rob yourself of this Lobster! Stop by the video outlets on the way home and give your loved ones a treat tonight.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Magical miracle healing moss blended with the simple wisdom of Graham Greene
Ed-Shullivan30 August 2018
The film ending is worth hanging in there for and as a wise old man once said "if it's worth doing, it is worth doing right!" A Lobster Tale was done right!

This is a story about a simple lobster fisherman named Cody Brewer (Colm Meaney) who struggles to provide for his wife Martha, (Alberta Watson) and his son Jake (Jack Knight). There are so many clear messages for any and all families reminding us what is really important in life. Cody Brewer whilst pulling up one of his lobster traps in a remote fishing cove, accidentally cuts off the end of one of his fingers and in an attempt to stop the bleeding he uses some moss that was inside his lobster trap. As the moss is placed on his bleeding hand, this is when we see the first (folklore) miracle. A bright light emanates and miraculously Cody's missing finger is now intact without any noticeable scar.

No one initially believes Cody's magical miracle moss until gradually some of the small town's residents witness further miracles happening with Cody's magical moss right before their naked eyes. Then one day shortly after the secret of the magical healing moss is made public, Cody's glass jar of the magical moss is stolen from his home. When Cody calls upon the town Sheriff (Graham Greene) to investigate and find the thief the Sheriff meticulously eliminates one suspect after another.

The interactions between the town Sheriff (Graham Greene) and Cody Brewer (Colm Meaney) are invaluable to us the audience. The Sheriff's wisdom and more importantly his simple advice he relays to Cody is priceless not only to Cody but to us the audience. Pay attention to the Sheriff's free advice because if you do, you can avoid "having one more problem" than many of us really could avoid if only we heeded the Sheriff's advice.

I give this family filled (folklore) story a solid 8 out of 10 rating
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic ignore the haters
jeanshields21 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I loved it !! A movie with integrity, a family putting others before self and a great message for us all that money helps but does not give us what that hole in our souls is seeking.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Imaginative and Poignant Canuck Family Film
TheBlueHairedLawyer23 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Canada is known for its creativity in the film industry, especially when it comes to obscure, low-budget indie flicks. 'A Lobster Tale' was surprisingly different in nature, sitting in the same vein as the television show 'Corner Gas' as far as humour goes, comedic without all the vulgarity that Canadian productions like 'Trailer Park Boys' and 'Septic Man' have. The story is set in New England but c'mon, it's obviously Nova Scotian through and through, and that's great, because this province makes for some stunningly picturesque rural scenery. We have here a happy-go-lucky fisherman whose family is a little less than on-board with his attitude. His son gets bullied frequently, money isn't easy to come by and his wife believes that he has lost his love for her. When he discovers accidentally some bizarre neon green moss (or did Trudeau's marijuana legalization idea finally kick in?) with magical properties, it forever changes not only the town itself, but also the relationships within the community.

By the way, did I mention the excellent collection of talented actors in the background, too? For example, character actor Julian Richings, known for his quirky roles in low-budget productions, makes a brief appearance as a morose undertaker. Alberta Watson ('The Sweet Hereafter') is remarkably funny and at times evocative as the matriarch of the Brewer family, who desperately tries to impress her husband, to no avail. Definitely a great cast and it was nice to see some actors not typical in the film industry, too. I loved the soundtrack, the general style, and of course the subplot of the real reason why the bad seed kid is a bully, which completely blew me away performance-wise. All in all, 'A Lobster Tale' is an incredible story that both kids and adults alike can enjoy.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A feel-good movie
kentholke31 July 2012
Since seeing this for the first time several years ago, I've recommended it to a number of friends and associates with gratitude being returned each and every time. I think most family-oriented watchers will come away with a smile and a desire to see it again in due time.

This is one of those films which slips through the cracks, so to speak. There's not much to this film in the way of action, or suspense or even thrills. There is just a really, really good story, much in the way of movies like "Where the Red Fern Grows" and "It's a Wonderful Life." Acting, as far as the main characters go is pretty good. A number of secondary cast members seem a bit stiff perhaps. Given what appears to have been a less-than-substantial budget, A Lobster Tale delivers more than many big-budget productions I can think of.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A 'nonsensical' Lobster Tale
stevepat9920 August 2008
Theme: Poverty stricken family that can not afford a pair of pants for their son and can not pay utility bills. Oh, how a windfall of money would 'lift' such a family in so many ways. If there was a possibility of such a life altering windfall wouldn't the family vote on it? No family votes on anything in this film. Rather, the husband/father RULES and almost always the wrong way.

Other themes: Dysfunctional marriage with husband, from scene one, ignoring his loving wife and her numerous heart wrenching efforts to save their marriage. Miracle sea weed plays no role in this whatsoever. Rather, a chance occurrence leads to resolution.

What to do with a very little bit of a substance that can cure even the worst terminal illness. Save it for your family, for relatives and/or search the community for a young mother with breast cancer or very young child with a horrid or terminal illness? Or instead use it on a very old man who has already lived a long, full life?

When it comes to such decisions, as noted, forget family votes. Why vote when two of the three family members make their own private decisions without so much as a word to the others.

When the wife suggests a safe deposit box, recognizing that some might steal a 'miracle' hubby decides, as he does with most all decisions, that placing it atop their living room TV is the best way to go.

The son's struggle with a difficult moral decision is worthy though, consistent with the film, is shrouded in dishonesty (not his sea weed) and the son's knowledge that he can not discuss such matters with his parents.

While the sea weed helps some with their physical ills it can not help this lame project.
3 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A movie so bad it will make you ANGRY
bridgecheri5 October 2007
Oh JEEEEZ!!! How do these stinkers get made and selected for FILM FESTIVALS!?!?! I kept staying to see if there would be some fantastic plot twist -- Acting horrid; worse than bad adult acting is bad KID acting -- several of those.

This may be the Worst Movie I've Ever Seen In A Theater. Colm can do good work -- I've seen it. Ditto Graham Greene. Must have been a dreadful, dreadful director.

And a bad script. Bad story. In the manner of a folk tale, but badly conceived and realized.

But, too, the photography was confusing. There were several shots of the sort we have learned (from horror films, mostly) indicate another set of eyes -- that is, the camera is in the place of a voyeur, spy, Someone Watching. So we are expecting the "watcher" to come into view -- never happens. Just stupid camera work.

I am still smacking myself for staying!!! Save yourself an evening of regret.
2 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worse than an ABC Afterschool Special
targe13148 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I'm not sure how down on his luck Colm Meaney must be to agree to star in this horrific stinker of a movie.

Set in New Hampshire, where people apparently talk like Canadians trying to fake an Irish accent, we have the tiny little tale of a lobsterman who finds a chunk of neon green magic moss.

Not even starting with the obvious statement that we 'just don't like movies like this anymore', this is post 911, nobody is innocent, and magic is crap.

The movie uses celtic tunes, and a lead actor with a very thick Irish accent, who absolutely cannot hide this in the movie trying to play an American lobsterman, so the audience can be forgiven for thinking this takes place in Ireland or perhaps Newfoundland.

The time period seems to be the 70's, however, the police chief very obviously struts around with a post 2000's Starbucks Frappachino in his hand in all scenes (yeah, not even kidding...)

The acting, however, is where this horror really divebombs. I know it's hard to find good young teenage actors... but the acting by the kids in this movie is below even one of those 'afterschool specials' we all used to come home to and yuck yuck through. I've seen MUCH better acting by adolescents on Degrassi Junior High.

The 'town yokels' are also a real abomination... it is truly painful to watch the acting in this movie.

...And then there's the old man who wants magic moss on his weener to give him an erection... yes. they went there. Awful, horrific, the worst movie I have ever seen, a monumental waste of my time... these are all phrases that leap to mind when describing this... thing.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed