Stranger in My Bed (TV Movie 2005) Poster

(2005 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
12 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
I'm sorry, but I have to...
alexismadden096 February 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I'm sorry, but I have to defend this movie. Yes, the writing is cliché, and at times quite ridiculous, and you're wondering why this deserved to be made into a movie. Look at it this way: It's like all those episodes of the crime dramas on TV. Take Law & Order: CI, for example. My brother doesn't like that show, because he says it's not realistic. They solve 99% of the cases by the end of the episode--how coincidental. But imagine that there's hundreds of cases that take forever to solve, and sometimes don't get solved at all. It's the interesting ones that are solved in 45 minutes (not real-time) that get put on TV.

So, the writers imagined that somewhere out there, a woman could fake her own death and was quite dense and forgot to get rid of the evidence that she was still alive. It sounds ridiculous, but it's not impossible. And the husband kind of going insane and deciding to dissolve her in acid--well clearly, it's the old 'If I can't have you, nobody can,' scenario. Where did he get the acid? Who cares? It's Chris Kramer, and I think he was very convincing as an abusive maniac. The others' performances were kind of stiff and artificial, but he managed to make the most of the script. He's very talented, and very easy on the eyes, if you get my drift. My drift being, he's friggin' hot.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
An Interesting movie about a women who was looking for freedom from her husband.
vmusto12314 September 2005
Interesting. This movie wasn't quite like I hoped it'd be. It's worth watching once, but not a second time. The reason I say this is because it isn't one of those movies that keeps you guessing "whats going to happen next?" It's more like... "no kidding that was going to happen, i could have told you that" I like movies that have me guessing and wondering whats going to happen, and I didn't feel that with this movie. This movie skips around way too much from topic to topic. The ending isn't what I hoped. The worst thing possible in a movie is to have a horrible ending. That's what kind of ending this was. A good idea of a movie to watch on basically the same topic is a great movie with Julia Roberts called "Sleeping With the Enemy. It's an exciting movie that has you on the edge of your seat the entire time, unlike this movie.
20 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Something to think about
feelingsoalive22 October 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Strnager In My Bed is somewhat of a sad movie. Its about a woman who lives with her abusive husband. In the beginning he's not that way but then he starts beating her until one time it sends her to the hospital for several days. When she shows up for work after a night out with her husband her co-worker encourages her that she can do better and to get out before she ends up dead. She thinks it over and goes through with her plan of faking her own death. It worked for a few years and then her husband tracks her down. Now with her new life underway, she has to tell her boyfriend who she really is and what's got her all upset. I liked the show. Parts of it were sad, but it ends on a happy note.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
SPOILERS GALORE! I love Stranger in My Bed with Jamie Luner. Love her red hair too...!
SilverChaosBaez31 May 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Unlike some, I love this LMN movie. Jamie Luner, is tall fit as always and a lovely redhead. I love seeing her walk, and i love her acting,since Savannah. I meet many online who didn't have a clue about this soap drama Savannah.She was great in that and this. I love her. The wig in beginning, was a horrid one lol Then the red hair flowing all throughout the rest of the film was her hair.Just lovely. Youth do not own the patent on "who should wear long hair or short hair so that comment here is silly IMO." I love her and she was only what? In her early thirties,or late 20s in this movie. She is now mid forties,and not OLD at all. Still young to get more roles rest of her life! She is older, Not old. and i love her.

The only gripe about, Stranger in My Bed, is the husband at the end, is not at all arrested, or charge with killing the private eye, and her lovely dark hair friend, at all. Nothing happened. But we hear cute new boyfriend say,"we have to get rid of first, RYAN." Duh. That made no sense.. But i smile seeing how happy she is and all pregnant at the end, living off the water. So sweet. I rate this film, a 8 premise on the boyfriend was so cute! (big nose lol but cute) and i like Jamie Luner in LMN Stranger in My Bed."
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Do not bother watching this
delhart200120 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Do not bother watching this movie, go straight to "ENOUGH" with J.Lopez or better yet "SLEEPING WITH THE ENEMY" with J.Roberts,as they are far, far better then this, there are more holes in this movie then in a second hand dartboard, you have a woman who is in fear of her life, she see's her wife beating husband after 18 months, so she dashes home to find the window smashed, and the front door open, what does she do??????, call the Police, get the hell out of there, get a machine gun, leave the country, NO she has a shower, and the front door is STILL open, doh. in the meantime her husband is on a killing rampage, but he is knocking off people that have no reason to be killed, with the exception of his wife's friend, that really deserves to be whacked, i mean, would you invite a complete stranger into your house,that pretends to be interested in a house purchase down the street, i don't think so. I know it is only entertainment, but PALLEEZE are we complete morons, well the director seems to think so, he even has the battered wife wearing a wig at the start of the movie, which is fine if we see her later with a shorter then the wig hair style, but no, we see her with long flowing locks that "L'Oeal" would gladly pay millions to get the formula, are we expected to believe her hair has grown long and wavy in 18 months. In all my comments i tell people to make up there own minds, but if you want to see a movie with this storyline, than forget this one, go for one of the good ones.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
OK, but some things didn't add up
samanthakizz10 December 2012
Warning: Spoilers
This movie started out very sad, and the main actress does a quite believable job of portraying the abused wife who is suffering at the hands of her violent, psychotic husband. She then goes on to stage her own death to escape him because she knows he will find her and kill her if she just leaves him. He later discovers what she did when he finds a brochure on how to change your identity, and bank documents that directly link to her new bank account,new name, etc. taped to the back of a picture frame on the wall in their house. This is where the movie starts to get annoying. I didn't understand why she would make such painstaking efforts to fake her own death only to be that sloppy? I mean it's a lot of trouble and hard work to escape from your tormentor and then she practically leaves a road map to her whereabouts behind. I could understand accidentally leaving a small clue behind, but this was just ridiculously careless. Anyway, he finds her in no time, begins stalking her and killing people left and right. It eventually leads to a big violent showdown with her and her new boyfriend. And then the movie finally ends on a happy note with her in a happy relationship with her new man. It is very similar to Sleeping with the Enemy with Julia Roberts.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
So many issues with this movie.
suzhd3 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The storyline is familiar to Sleeping With The Enemy, but the writers of this gem didn't took the audience for complete idiots. When our heroine comes home and finds the window by her door broken (even though the door was re-locked it was obvious someone probably broke in), not only does she NOT call the police or leave the house... no, she goes upstairs and takes a shower. And when her boyfriend comes over and finds broken glass he is not alarmed either. Her friend Karen invites a stranger who knocks on her door inside for coffee..??? There are so many things in this movie that insult the viewers intelligence... right down to the incredibly predictable ending.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Poor imitation of SLEEPING WITH THE ENEMY
guilfisher-17 November 2008
This is not a good movie. Predictable and badly acted. The leading lady, Jamie Luner, is the main fault in this. I didn't like her in THE PERFECT Marriage and don't like her in his. The phony wig she wears in the beginning is a bad one where you can see her real hair sticking out the sides of it. When she goes into disguise and her real hair is seen, it's much too long for a woman of her age. It became annoying watching her with this mop of hair constantly falling all over the place. I suggest she look her age. Then there's Barbara Niven, another loser from PERFECT NEIGHBOR giving a boring performance. These women work all the time. Can't understand this. They're terrible actresses.

The men fare better in this. Both Chris Kramer as the brutal husband and Ivan Cermak as the new boy friend do better. Although Cervak looks much too young for our leading lady. More like mother and son.

All in all, this was bad stuff to watch. Sorry.
8 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Starts Out Well But Gets a Bit Far-Fetched
AshleyReviews15 November 2020
The story started out well and I wanted to like this movie, however, the ending just gets too far-fetched and a bit cheesy for me.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Significant topic.
pacvik23 August 2020
Found movie to be riveting enough to follow through to conclusion. Topic is relevant & not surprising to see what a victim is forced to do to survive. Having attractive leading ladies doesn't hurt film either. Found supporting actors adequate for desired effect. Not having seen Sleeping with the Enemy, I found film worthy of a view.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Little Shop of Horrors
lavatch4 June 2020
Warning: Spoilers
This film was far too violent. It started with a realistic premise of spousal abuse when Sara Hansen decides to fake her death and assume a new identity by moving from Tacoma, Washington to Turlan, West Virginia. Early in the film, Sara confidently tells her boss Christine that "I can change him," when referring to her deranged husband Ryan. But that never happens in a film that turns into a little shop of horrors.

Ryan Hansen, the villain of the film, is a character who appears to do very little work for his company. Rather, his life is devoted to tormenting his wife. Ryan's moods can change on a dime. Finally, Sara decides to stage her death in a remote cave in the Pacific Northwest. But she leaves behind a telltale sign in the form of bank papers and a brochure on how to change one's identity.

Ryan discovers the evidence and makes a beeline to West Virginia after killing in cold blood the private investigator he hired to locate Sara. He then kills Sara's best friend Karen and a kind farmer who welcomed him into his home to use the telephone.

The actress playing Sara was successful in creating a complete transformation of her meek and mild character Sara to a liberated and enthusiastic "Julie" in the West Virginia scenes. But to the bitter end, the film was too unpleasant, especially with the final "meltdown" of Ryan in a tub of hot acid! Only the denouement offered an uplifting moment when Christine receives a letter indicating that her old friend Sara is alive and well in Turlan, West Virginia.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
no film about spousal abuse should be overlooked
sandcrab27720 September 2018
It matters little how the cast looked or how old they were ... the theme was right on ... not only do i deplore spousal abuse, stalking as well and this film had both ... this type of behavior cannot be condoned by anyone from the human race .. showing the effects is just the education idiots that chastise women deserve ... i vote for stringing them up by their pinkies and letting the judge wield the razor
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed