Paruthiveeran (2007) Poster

(2007)

User Reviews

Review this title
16 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Grows on you
bay630 March 2007
Some of the movies we watch never draws first blood. But it grows on you slowly and steadily like poison. This is one of those. That effect reaches new heights when you realize that it is based on a true story. Ameer I think has taken the 90:10 ratio. Keep the audience happy for 90% of the movie and shock them to hell in the last 10. His mentor Bala does that with similar if not more success. Though the new comer Karthik (though there were shades of Surya his brother) has done a nice job, Priya Mani steals it in the last 10 min. Like how Kamal hassan steals Mundram Pirai right out of Sreedevi in the last 10 min. You will enjoy Saravanan with his dialogue delivery and the ease with which he carries his role. If you want entertainment avoid the last 10 minutes. Otherwise watch it fully for a whole new meaning.
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
great effort
aakinz8 March 2007
After long time, a great movie for Tamil cinema from Ameer

Ameer, his third movie. He made a great impact in Tamil cinema with 'Raam'. Now another magic with the name Paruthi Veeran. The film made with excellent sense of film making. Well written story and screenplay with perfect support from cinematography.

Yvan as usual, did it again with Ameer, with wonderful nativity songs and background score that travels well with the story. the song with Ilayaraja (Ariyatha vayasu...) still occupies my mind.

Karthi (brother of Surya, son of Sivakumar) did a fabulous job. No one will believe this is his first movie. amazing effort in his debut.Priyamani, after long time a lady lead has a great chance to perform and she did a fabulous job.

This movie will change the career for both Karthi and Priyamani.

This is a kind of movie that changes the way of Tamil cinema
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I cant believe that i watched this movie
leoshiva198326 February 2007
When i bought the ticket for 24th night show at Albert theatre in Chennai, what is bought was not a cinema ticket, it was a ticket to a place in remote village in tamilnadu called Paruthiyur...Nobody in that village know me or the 1500 people sitting in the theatre...they were living their day-to-day life and we were watching that...Oh...their lives are sad at times...happy most of the times...we felt sad for them...happy for them.....and in the end...we all felt sad..My friends warned me against watching the last 10 mins..i did just that..and iam happy for that...my friends couldn't sleep for the last 2 days...When i came home from theatre...I felt " I just saw the best movie in my life"....
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A bond of love
N_Sgo28 September 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Paruthiveeran is a great effort. With remarkable photography and great performances by the main actors.

Karthik plays Paruthiveeran, a low-class orphan who is used to being a free personality, doing whatever he likes without any concern for custom or law. Priyamani plays Muthagalu, a stubborn, free minded, educated girl who is in love with him. They are, in fact, cross-cousins, and so, in a way (according to rural custom), should marry. But there was caste inter-marriage, and so, Paruthiveeran is considered unsuitable.

Once Paruthiveeran falls in love with Muthagalu, everything changes. In a way, both have to sacrifice their freedom (and therefor themselves). This is a love that cannot be, but also cannot be stopped. It ends, perhaps appropriately, and very typical of Tamil folk stories and cinema (Kaadhal for example), in shocking tragedy.

The story is original and compelling. Both characters are not generic, they surprise us with their decisions and choices. There is an inner tension between freedom and love (independence and belonging) and the tragic but inevitable way they conflict with each other. There are several great cinematic moments and inventions. The one in which Paruthiveeran, after tattooing his name next to his lover's on his chest, reaches for a peacock feather and caresses it, is memorable. The film tempers with some generic conventions - no makeup, no professional dancing and lip syncing. Some outside shots are taken from inside buildings, giving us a kind of 'peeping' feel. In one memorable shot, Muthagalu's father sits in a corner of his yard sadly watching as an entire day goes by.

There are two 'spaces' in the film. The first - the open land, shot widely, almost 180 degrees of earth kissing sky. It is rural land, vast, limitless but also hopeless, unchanging. And the other space - an inside, between the walls of the house. The place were laws are kept and honor is upheld. It is a violent space, where freedom has to obey dignity, and so, our heroes have to act violently in order to stay free of it. Once they begin to love each other mutually, they pass from the first space to the second - from chance meetings outside, to planned ones inside. Like the earth and the sky, our couple's confinement signals their doom, they can only live outside, meet by chance, do whatever they wish to do, but only love each other in sudden bursts never by commitment. Once they let their love bond them, they start obeying its law, which crushes them. This is the inside, our second space, where change is possible, but our heroes can't survive it, their past freedom becomes their undoing (Paruthiveeran's friends, used to his visiting whores, attack Muthagalu, who is alone and unprotected because she has alienated her family).

There is a tendency, among some western viewers, to regard any non-American or European cinema as some kind of an exotic artifact, showing us "how people live over there". If we wish to appreciate a movie for what it is, this arrogant attitude should change. This is not a film about "the caste problem" (there is no "caste problem", caste is a valid social construct with its own set of conflicts and paradoxes like any other). While some cultural knowledge may help, you don't have to speak Tamil to enjoy this film. It is a great work of art, coming from a remarkable cinematic tradition. An instant classic that has brought tears to my eyes.

Tamil cinema deserves to be much more well known worldwide. Its main point of strength, for me, is in the way it uniquely utilizes folk elements (as opposed to "pop" elements), contesting hegemonic perceptions without being subversive. It is a mature cinema, yielding many excellent movies, with its own distinct film grammar and editing techniques. Paruthiveeran is a good entry point.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Watched it without understanding a single word.
rahuljyadav5 August 2016
If you watch a movie in a language which you don't understand a word of and the movie does not let you realize this fact for whole of its length, that is a good enough reason to praise a movie.

Parutheeveeran is a Tamil movie which I watched with subtitles and though I don't understand a word of Tamil other than "macha" or "Naan unnai Kathalikkireen", I can guess that the Tamil used in the movie is very original countryside old Tamil. And the characters spoke so fast that at times I had to pause and read what the they said, but it was all worth it.

Story is very simple. Parutheeveeran is a country brash, loafer who spends his time doing petty crimes with him uncle and wants to become famous by going in Chennai jail. Muththazhagu loves him unconditionally because he saved her life when they were kid but her father is against it. Parutheeveeran ignores Muththazhagu and keeps her at distance. But when he realizes her love towards her the story takes an interesting turn and reaches to a climax which most of the viewers will not expect.

Music is high point of the movie and is nowhere near to conventional music. The songs (some would doubt its existence in the movie) are used to create the mood for the what happens in the movie. The movie starts with a village festival and the collage of various folk style song snippets leave the aroma of rustic yet colorful and joyous village which lasts till we reach towards the climax of the movie.

Acting is top notch, not only by main actors but also by all supporting characters. Most of them has been handpicked from the locality where the movies was shot, which makes them look very original. Very rightly Pramani got National Award for best actress for her portrayal of Muththazhagu in the movie. If you have any doubts, check out this scene.

There is no set so to say, whole movie seems to be shot in real locations and they are mesmerizing. It makes you want to go to a village outside of Madurai and live there for a day or two just to admire their life. Direction is awesome but I guess the actors, cinematographer, editor etc have made the job of the director very easy.

Now the climax. I feel climax is an art and as I have described in another article leaving the movie at right note is as important as garnishing the meal. The climax of the movie may sound disturbing and depressing to some, but I felt that movie could not have a better ending. The act by Parutheeveeran and the end not only justifies his eccentric character but also epitomizes his love for Muththazhagu in a very peculiar way which requires some pondering.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Bold and Beautiful -
psarjun27 September 2010
When I got the Ticket, I didn't expect that I am going to a Village called Paruthiyur. Actually I saw each and every Character very near to me. I can smell the village. Its like a Fresh air. I saw the Local Dance and Festival mood.

Karthi (Debut) 's portrayal of the character is impressive and he doesn't look like a debut-ant. He is so confident and have the casualness of an Experienced Actor. Then 'Muthazhagu', Priyamani (National Award Winner) what a Performance!. Her voice is very powerful and is very apt for this particular role. At Many scenes her performance can match any actress in the world and is the best role done by any actress in India in recent times, at a time when actresses are used as a Barbie doll. Saravanan and Kanja Karuppu. They give high level of support to the main cast for delivering the entertaining and tragic story of Paruthiyur.

Yuvan Shankar Raja's Music was a milestone on his way to become the most versatile of all. Let it be the BGM or the Songs, Yuvan scores well and he once again proves this is Yuvan Yugam. After watching the movie at one stress you are not going to forget the song 'Aiyyayyoo' or 'Ariyatha Vayasu'., Masterpiece. Great and Splendid. He is so much talented that he proves again and again.

After Bharathiraja's movies like 16 Vayathinile or Muthal Mariyathe, we had lost the touch of Tamil Earthy Movie thats so realistic and natural. Here comes the Paruthiveeran,. the story is very simple but the way Ameer had handled the script is terrific and hard to convert in letters. I wonder how this movie missed as the entry for best foreign film for Oscars. This is one of the rare movie that shows our tradition and nativity. Watching the movie in big theater will take you literally to the Village, and should watch this in at least Home theater not because this movie has 3D efx like Avatar or Roaring sound of Whistle like Sivaji or Special Efx extravagance Inception but for living along with the characters of the story. To see the beauty and simplicity of the Tamil Nadu Village.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Nativity at its creative best
ringslady1987-16 March 2007
One can trust Ameer for strong characters in his films. Karthi and Priyamani could have been slightly more better at emoting but considering the fact that they are new, it's no big deal.

One can delight at the routine and sets of a beautiful traditional Tamil village visuals. The screenplay has its highs and lows; blink during a rapid sequence of events and you'll miss a lot of the proceedings. Otherwise, the script is a simple love story. The climax is definitely one of the highlights, if not THE highlight. The ending is guaranteed to leave you in tears. Madurai lingo may be a little hard to grasp for those who aren't that well-versed in Tamil.

Nice background score by Yuvan. Songs consist mostly of folk. It is the romantic ballad Iyyaiyo that will remain at the back of your mind.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
World class
jsathish2921 November 2019
This movie deserves a watch. This movie deals amongst the group of people in a society often get feud for pride.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Really a masterpiece movie...
GoForFihad25 February 2017
The movie is really awesome, with awesome acting of the actors-actresses, sweet songs and musics, a heart-touching story, beautiful natural rural shooting spot and of course the best part- the heart-touching climax ever. I never expected the finishing of the movie will be like this. I love the character of Muthulagu and the love between Veeran and her. The dialogues and light comedies were enjoyable too. If you didn't watch it, don't wait. Just go, enjoy.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
a beacon light for tamil cinema
romeorammohan2 August 2008
Warning: Spoilers
a beacon light

ever wondered why Tamil movies hardly get respect from foreign audiences its simple-"we don't appreciate our nativity in the golden screen"

you heard me right -though Tamil cinema industry is expanding by leaps and bounds economically we are losing respect at the worldly stage(now even in bollywood).its simply because of the fact that we encourage style over substance all time.plus even the critics have started to praise movies superficially.(even an a.s.s hole named srinivasan from u.k has given this film 1/10 and sivaji 10/10 in the comments section for this film)

okay lets get the point i am not hear to bash about the masala films but simply to bring before you the the treatment of realism in kollywood)

enough said ,lets speak about Paruthi Veeran as mentioned its a beacon light a path which guides Tamil cinema into glory simply because it appreciates the Tamil culture and sticks to it ( and i am not superficially mentioning the slang or he country music but the emphasizing about the plot and screen play).the film has a rather simpler central plot but has a great character study and narrative to back it.the performances by the lead pair is the best i have ever seen in a Tamil film in the modern era .plus all the supporting cast have selected perfectly all around making it an a+ in terms of acting

the cinematography blends with film and it literally takes to parithiyur you hardly feel you are in a movie through out

and regarding the direction ameer has many places to go and hope he continues his guidance of tamil cinema towards greatness along with all the other great tamil artists lots have been said about the film but this comment is not a review but a view of what Paruthi Veeran has done to Tamil cinema
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
one of the greatest tamil movies of all time
guddu248625 February 2007
Warning: Spoilers
i went 2 movie on first day and was totally surprised after the first half and totally shocked after the second. it is a flawless script backed by extra ordinary acting and superb directing. songs are too good and every scene of the movie is natural. karthi makes an impressive debut and it's unbelievable that he has chosen this kind of role for his first film and he more than delivers. another surprise package is saravanan. we never knew he can play a role to such perfection. priyamani also rocks and i don't remember any other tamil movie heaving a heroin like this one. kudos to ameer 4 using her so well. i could have given perfect 10 for this movie but i give it 9/10 because the climax was so shocking and i'm not able 2 get out of it's impact till now.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A skillfully narrated tragic poem !! Two thumbs up for Ameer, Karthik & Priya !!
scorpion8323 February 2007
Warning: Spoilers
As the movies promos, trailers and stills promised a total catchy & natural village subject, I went in to see this movie on the opening day and I wasn't disappointed in any form.

The story was very simple and an age old one but the way Ameer has handled the script was just too good !! The film moves from the present to a series of flashbacks which are very well interwined and leaves the viewers in total aaaaah. The dialogues are totally down south TN and very natural indeed.

The acting department too has supported the works of the director in an exceptional way. Be it Karthik (never can anyone say that its his first film), Priya, Saravanan or Ponvannan, its flawless throughout the way and you will remember these characters for long even after the move folds out. A special mention must be made for Yuvan's background score which brought in the right kind of magic for this offbeat film.

A tragic ending is the perfect one for this beautifully narrated poem and kudos to Ameer for going through with it doing total justice to his work.

When lookin into the negative side of this movie, Ameer could have taken care to reduce the abusive actions and words a bit. One wonders whether there is something called as a censor board !! Hello people in the board .. its time to wake-up!! And Karthk watch out for your expressions, as in certain scenes it reminded us of your bro !!

In today's movie buzz its very rare to find a movie that has an excellent screenplay, wonderful acting and good technical backup. Paruthi Veeran is one such gem. Don't miss this movie !! Its tamil cinema at its best !!

My rating for this one would be a high 8.5 out of 10.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
ClassMovie
sujathavenkatesh27 June 2019
One of best movie in tamil cinema directed by Amir, we didnt expect this from him. complete entertainment , starts with natural things which happen in rural areas with comedy,drama,incidents and ends with touching and unforgettable heavy heart. Congralutaions to the entire team.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Raw and Realistic
Quirk4720 August 2020
Paruthiveeran is not a ususal movie which we see. Its one of its kind. The love story in it sucks but what the performances elevates the Film. Top notch performances by Lead pair Karthi and Priyamani especially in climax. Climax scenes are out of the box idea. Ameer took routine plot which deals a love story but his screenplay and taking deserves appreciation. Must watch and highly recommended
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Above average
rahul-rdthecool-das24 February 2020
1.Story is not that much special or heavily strong 2.Script is ok ok type 3.Narration is poor Only thing stands out is the performances of the movie
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Could have been better if there was a different ending
yrMDb25 January 2019
I didn't like the movie. Every movie should have a motive to run. Thus the ending would fix them. But here is this movie everything happens too slowly, and when the movie ended I was surprised thinking as an unfinished one. All the crews acted well. The direction is so so. But the script was incomplete I think.
0 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed