Rinjin 13-gô (2005) Poster

(2005)

User Reviews

Review this title
15 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Solid and disturbing hidden gem about a troubled psycho
Ike-NL16 April 2005
I'm happy to have caught this one at the International Rotterdam film festival 2005 a few months ago. I actually enjoyed myself very much. It was a special screening which the director joined and introduced with a nice little speech. He basically said that a lot of film festivals rejected it because of its harsh violence and that Rotterdam is the first to be open to it. In other words; I was in for a big treat.

All in all, the movie isn't overtly violent. However, that doesn't take away that it's very good debut of the director, not to mention a good adaptation of a manga. It's a nice slow paced psychological movie that toys with the troubles of a man who has suffered a lot in his younger years and is now living with the after effects. It's a very dark movie with horror and drama elements about a young man being tormented and teased most of his younger school years. Years later, he has taken refuge in his little house where he has bad dreams, fantasies and is alone a lot. Then he gets a new job at a construction site and some new neighbors: turns out that the man of the family moving is his new employer and is fact, the same guy who used to make his life miserable. To make it short, it's payback time, but not a Kill Bill, Sin City type payback with slashing, one-liners and lots of action (which is also good btw), but a more slow-paced and build-up, tensed, psychological and slow payback. This approach proves to be very effective for the themes the movies tries to flow along: teen abuse, trauma, social pressure. The movie turns out to be an interesting study of human behavior and social schizophrenia. btw, The alter ego or second personality of the young guy is one of the scariest mo-fo's ever on screen, mentally but definitely physically, up there with the likes of Freddy Kruger, Hannibal, and whatnot. Horrific? Think of a very very very very scary looking guy you never wanna meet in this life or the next, that has been tormented most of his life and is completely immune to any moral, social of ethical code. It gets pretty horrific from there.

After the movie there was a short Q&A session with the director in which we could ask questions. The crowd wasn't too anxious and due to the bad information provided by the organization, half the audience was already gone. Regarding the violence, he thinks that a lot of people rejected the movie not because of the 'goryness' or explicit images of the violence but more because of the type of violence, the effects and motivations of that violence and the effects of it. I couldn't totally see that in the movie: a lot of the violent image are disturbing in a surreal sense, not so much in a shocking sense.

It's a shame that the people who control what we can and cannot see in theaters and festivals are passing up this film, and to be honest, I don't really get it. I can give you 25 other movies which are much more violent. But it probably has to do more with the realness of it all. Either way, I hope that after the release in homeland Japan, second of April, the movie will get more attention and hopefully this hidden gem will get a wider release across the globe.
19 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Hate to have that guy as a neighbor
K_Todorov10 April 2007
And here we have this hidden gem by first time director Yasuo Inoue. "Rinjin 13-go" AKA "Neighbour Number 13" is a revenge driven psychological movie that explores the inner conscience of an individual rejected and abused by society. Stylishly shot, the lead character develops a psychopathic split personality, the action is satisfyingly bloody not all that gory as I expected it would be, most of the violent acts done of-screen and as a hidden surprise it's got a cameo appearance by Takashi Miike. What more could I ask for? Nothing really. But one question still remains. Does it deliver? You bet it does, this a great film and it indeed offers some insightful glimmers into the mind of a psychopath.

Jûzô Murasaki (played by Shun Oguri) is an individual who has spent most of his childhood being bullied in school. Often humiliated and beaten he has never been able to stand up for himself. Years have passed since those days and now he has just moved in into his new apartment in a small tenement building. He finds a job as a construction worker under one, Tôru Akai (played by Hirofumi Arai). Akai, to put it simply is a bully. He spends most of his time torturing those that are underneath his rank, those that can't stand up for themselves. To make matters even worse Akai lives in the same apartment building one floor above. Juzo's childhood nightmare is brought back to the surface as he is subjected to a series of pranks leading up to a point where he is trapped in a toilet by Akai. Then, enters Number 13, Jûzô's split personality. One very nasty fellow who unlike his "roomate" has no qualms to use violence against, anybody or anything. 13 is the vessel holding all the anger, all the rage that has been building up in Jûzô for years. Once he is free all hell brakes loose, there are no more moral barriers to cross, everyone in his path gets it one way or the other.

Inoue does a commendable job in directing this movie. Bordering near the realm of the surreal, "Neighbour Number 13" is a dreamlike slasher, that has more brains than guts. Inoue makes it very clear that the story is much more complicated than it seems at first. Several sequences point to that, one good example is the opening shot. Showing us the arrival of NO.13 into Jûzô's mind. Not to mention the open-ended ending that certainly leaves a lot to think about. The actors do their jobs accordingly and it does feel very organic the way their characters react. Miike's surprise cameo is another cool addition (not to mention the way he gets killed)to this already good film, I'm not going to lie his appearance is partially one of the reasons why I watched this, so yeah I'm glad he's here even if it is for a few seconds or so.

So what do we have in the end? "Neighbour Number 13" a vastly enjoyable movie be it revenge/slasher/character study/psychological see it for whatever type you desire or just watch it as something unique, an amalgam that stays in a genre of its own. For a first time director Yasuo Inoue demonstrates some impressive skills and I'm definitely going to wait and see what he'll cook up in the future.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Beware with the things you do to people....they can come back to you!
Jessica Carvalho24 October 2007
Warning: Spoilers
The story begins showing Jûzô Murasaki,a boy who is frequently being bullied and abused by a gang from his school, whose leader is Tôru Akai, the school's little demon.(And the things they do with Jûzo are not light stuff, they are from eating bugs to having acid poured down his mouth.) Never being able to defend himself, Jûzo grows traumatized, and ends up working, as an adult, in the same place that Tôru works. Tôru still has the same bad behavior he had as a kid,torturing other workers that are underneath his rank, but he doesn't remember that Jûzo studied with him when they were younger. Living the same hell as an adult that he had in his childhood, the anger inside Jûzo grows to a point that he gets another self, a violent and angry personality that is very different from his ordinary behavior. And this personality very soon becomes a part of Jûzo's, who wants his vengeance for all the years being bullied. And the good thing is that he is Tôru's neighbor...

'Rinjin 13-gô' is a very different movie about vengeance, specially because most of the things shown in this movie actually never happened, they could have happened if Jûzô never faced his enemy Tôru Akai. In this way, the story is very original, since most of the movies when have the vengeance plot, actually show what the characters did to their enemies, and never what could have happened if they had faced the person before. The director of this movie started in the film industry very well, and I hope we can see more great movies from Yasuo Inoue.

Ps: Anyone here is surprised like I am, to see Jûzo's wife let a strange neighbor that she doesn't know well to stay with her son?
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Strong, Tense, Revenge Film...
EVOL66629 April 2006
Warning: Spoilers
First off, this isn't your average "uber-weird" J-horror film. The story is pretty straight-forward which is refreshing for a change. There's no ghosts, or girls with long black hair, or rings, or phones, or any of that - just a good, tension-filled revenge tale. That said, my major gripe with the film is the ending, as it was too vague for my taste, and really dropped it a notch in my book. I'll be brief with my "summary", as to say too much would spoil the film...

Juzo is a shy and reserved guy who was picked on and bullied horribly in school as a child, and has developed a split personality as a result. When the guy that was the "main" bully happens to move in upstairs to Juzo, it's time for the bully to meet Juzo's "dark side"...

To say any more would really give too much of the well thought out plot away, so that's all you get, but that's really all you need to know going into this one. It's a relatively straight revenge-film with some very notable performances by all involved. It's not overly graphically gory or violent (comparitively speaking...) but there are some scenes that may upset more mainstream viewers - especially towards the end. Speaking of the end of the film - this is my major problem with NEIGHBOR 13 as there really is no resolution, which highly disappointed me. If the ending would have been handled better, this film would have easily gotten a 9 or 9.5 from me. Either way, it's definitely worth a look. Recommended - 8.5/10
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Great!
UberNoodle27 November 2005
I have just watched the film, and there is not much I can say without spoiling some of it for you. Let's just say that is a revenge film, and like many Japanese films of its type, insanity plays a part. The film starts when a young man, Juzo, gets a job at a construction company. We learn that Juzo spent much of his school years hiding from bullies (and from the introduction, also being tortured in some VERY shocking ways). The cruel attacks by his supervisor at the site begin to affect Juzo, bringing more and more of his school memories to the surface, and the desire for REVENGE.

*The Neighbour Number 13 (Rinjin jusan go)* That's all I can say really, as I don't want to spoil or diffuse this film. I am pretty sure if you do a search you will find a couple of reviews on the boards, from the cinema release, but beware of spoilers: the story is everything in this film, there are few twists and turns, and some sections will leave you stumped.

I liked this film: it is very stylishly shot, and the use of colour is fantastic in some scenes. I have never read the original comic that this film is based on, but I can only assume that the film's many lapses into the surreal are faithful to the source: there is even an animated section of the film, and identifying the reality in this film is not always an easy thing to do.

There are some very still sequences that reminded me of Kitano's films (Hanabi or Brother in particular), and some of the more insane scenes are definitely like adding a pinch of Miike to the mix. While there is a fair bit of violence in the film, most of it occures offscreen, though the fate of one character is shown particularly graphically.

One aspect of the film that I am sure is from the source material, as it seems to be a very manga thing to do, is the depiction of some of the more grosser things in life, ie: bodily excretions, both liquid and solid are shown in this film, when I am sure few Hollywood films would not. It's nothing too graphic, but it was enough to make me squeal "Ewww gross!" like little girl. tongue.gif So in the end, I quite enjoyed this film. It is stylish, tense and atmospheric. This director's style, reminds me in some ways of Kitano's older work, in that I felt sometimes that was just following the characters around. Some scenes are just not trimmed down to keep the action flowing, and I like that. Like I said, there are some quiet moments, but they are often filmed in a kind of detached manner, and filled with tension, possibly reminiscent of Kiyoshi Kurosawa.

The Neighbour Number 13 is a film that would be best watched with friends, and discussed over SEVERAL pints of beer - or at least Cokes and Gummi bears tongue.gif While it isn't amazing, it is very interesting and looks fantastic. If you have bought all of your essentials and you are looking for a sidedish, I can fully recommend this film.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A Dark, Gruesome and Surrealistic Psychological Thriller of Repressed Hatred and Revenge
Claudio Carvalho3 August 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Jûzô Murasaki is a boy miscast in his classroom, being frequently abused, tortured, beaten and humiliated by the bully Tôru Akai and his gang of juvenile punks. After years of repression, rejection and fear without facing Akai, he develops a psychopathic dual personality with a violent alter-ego. While living in the apartment 13 of a tenement building, he becomes unable to control his violent dark personality, who plots an evil revenge against his upper floor neighbor Akai and his family.

I am a great fan of Asian movies and I found "Rinjin 13-gô" a hidden gem, developing a dark, gruesome and surrealistic psychological thriller of repressed hatred and revenge combined with horror. The screenplay follows the usual patterns of Asian horror movies, with a plot point in the very end, and the viewer must use his or her brain to understand the whole plot. I believe this is the greatest quality of screenplay writers and directors of this genre in Asia. I note that people accustomed to watch blockbusters and American movies only seem to have difficulties to properly understand the intelligent Asian screenplays. In this film, all the adult situations only have happened in the mind of the young Jûzô Murasaki, and when he faces the bully Tôru Akai, he resolves all his inner problems and the time-line will never happen the way it is disclosed in the film. Therefore, the screenplay is absolutely original and I do not recall seeing any similar story. In addition, the movie is stylishly shot, with unusual angle of camera and a nice cinematography. The actors and actress have great performances and there is a cult cameo appearance of the director Takashi Miike in homage to the promising Yasuo Inoue. My advice to the movie lovers is to keep his name in the pocket, since his debut could not be better. My vote is eight.

Title (Brazil): "Ódio" ("Hate")
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Dark and unsettling film.
HumanoidOfFlesh15 January 2007
First-time director Yasuo Inoue tells the story of a troubled young psychopath named Juzo Murasaki,who was tormented through school by group of his classmates,led by Toru Akai.This leads to the young boy to create a split personality,where his other half is on the psychotic side and apparently only comes out when he feels bullied or angry."The Neighbor No.Thirteen" is slow and deliberate horror film laced with heavy psychological tones.It's obviously influenced by "All Night Long" series and Takashi Miike's works.The film offers a few moments of brutal and highly disturbing violence,so fans of Japanese transgressive cinema should be pleased.The finale is quite disappointing,though.My rating:9 out of 10.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Nice Blend of Revenge and Horror
ElijahCSkuggs1 October 2006
This movie is a pretty harsh look at how bullying and loneliness can affect someone's life. It's one of the best horror/revenge flicks I've ever seen.

What we have here is a story about a young boy who is abused by his fellow classmates. Due to this abuse he has grown up with a split personality. Which is his bad, vengeful, stronger side. The movie is basically about him coping with the emergence of his Mr. Hyde.

The movie plays incredibly well. Some may have issues with the long scenes, but for me the movie was shot incredibly well. It's this type of movie that makes me roll my eyes at these WB flicks or even TV shows. The cinematography, direction and music was nothing less than awesome. Whenever they show his alter side, it was nothing but pure badass, creepy goosebumps. There really is not much to complain about. It would have been nice to maybe get to know the characters a little more. Maybe to understand why Juzo went so kaka cuckoo. The other slight complaint is the ending. It's a tad confusing, but either way you think how it ended...it works.

This was a damn treat. A serious revenge/horror/thriller flick that delivers on pretty much all cylinders. I think I might start wearing my down vest again.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Excellent slow-paced psychological thriller
Rocco300020 July 2005
You know, I don't say this about any foreign movies, but I am going to say it here. This movie could be done well as a North American remake (ducks!), in the right hands of course.

I absolutely adored the premise for this film. A child, tortured at school when he was young, develops multiple personalities from it. His dual personalities (one weak and kind, the other strong and sociopathic) are kept well hidden all of his life and don't affect anyone else until, some new neighbors move in. A very evil and cruel bully, who he also ends up working with at a construction site. The bully bullies him, and the stronger personality starts to emerge to protect the weaker one. And that's when the freaky stuff starts to happen.

Good pacing by the director, showing the main character's struggle with his past and slow descent into madness. Great acting by everyone, especially the stronger personality. That guy was absolutely terrifying to watch on screen. He brought an unusual amount of tension to every scene. Well done.

But in the end, I still thought the film was lacking. This movie should have been an easy 10/10, but I have to give it an 8, because more could have and should have been done to help flesh out the development of the main character. I still hope that all of you will go out there and give this film a chance, and hopefully some American producer will see its potential and try and get a remake made, because as good as it was...it could have been better.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
wow, just wow...
TrulyDisturbed24 February 2006
I went into this film expecting something decent. What came out was amazing. If you are a fan on Japanese cinema this film should be on your must see list.

The film is not your standard revenge film involving revenge on those who hurt the victim but revenge on anyone. The action is fairly quick to get going and gets more and more disturbing as it goes along.

Definitely more enjoyable over a few beers since you will get to the point about not caring about the characters that die that much quicker since there is one characters death that does seem a little undeserved, but hey, its a Japanese horror flick! GO WATCH THIS MOVIE!!!.......NOW!!!
7 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Not completely horrible but nearly unwatchable..
johnnycashfan2225 September 2008
To begin with I did not give this title a three because i don't like foreign films i love them. Especially Asian ones. This however is a sad excuse for a film. Do not be fooled by the cover art or summary which screams violence because there is none. Even if you do not enjoy violence there are still many problems with this title. The story well there isn't much of one. Juzo who was picked on in his child hood, well more than picked on.. tortured in a way, by a classmate named Akai is the main character. Juzo is now of course traumatized and has split personalities. Juzo gets a job and moves into a new apartment guess whos in the room right above him and his new boss, thats right Akai. I wont say much else concerning the plot. There were a few twists very few however which helped but not enough at all. There is no musical score what so ever to heighten suspense instead we have long drawn out scenes which do nothing but bore the viewer.. All in all this movie is a waste of your time. Do not waste any of your precious time on it as I did you will regret it. two out of ten
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
dark character study wrapped in surrealistic contours of a vengeance quest
asian-cineblog28 October 2013
Warning: Spoilers
The Neighbour No. 13 explores the consequences of humiliation, abuse and torture among young teenagers and children. Juzo Murasaki arrives at a work construction area to take on his new job. Unfortunately for him, his supervisor turns out to be Akai, the one that has previously tortured him when both of them were only young teenagers. After years of repressed memories, Juzo develops a psychopathic alter ego that finally decides to seek revenge against Akai and his family, in a surrealistic journey that dissects the fears and enraged violence inside the human mind.

Review The film is served in an exceptionally slow pace allowing the viewer to be submerged in the intriguing atmosphere in which a considerable number of disturbing scenes simply tend to pile up, notwithstanding no further clue of the upcoming events being expected. The violence in The Neighbour No. 13 is thoroughly presented throughout the movie, alternating with traces of humorous moments and apparently childish scenes. The scenes appear to be fairly well-orchestrated by the director, being presented in a particularly raw and cruel way, thus enhancing a feeling of repulsion since the type of violence and to whom it is addressed is indeed the most disturbing side of the violent behavior in this case.

As the number of flashbacks tends to increase, Juzo is apparently sent into a downward spiral, leaving him desperate to gain control of his own mind. Surrealistic unorganized events, sometimes-incomprehensible perspective and grotesque animated scenes contribute to perfectly illustrate Juzo's disconnection from the reality. Nonetheless, towards the end of the movie however, the last scenes will eventually tie up any loose ends and a possible feeling of confusion that has been build up throughout the film.

The physical characterization of Juzo and his revenge driven created alter ego is also of particular interest as Juzo appears as a delicate young man and No. 13 is better described as a disturbing disfigured emotionless creature. The scenes representing Juzo's mind were particularly well shot and quite bizarre in an interesting way. The remaining characters were for the most part attention-grabbers, even though rudeness and bullying can easily borderline annoyance, which was fortunately not the case in the movie. There is no particular character development for the most part excepting Juzo himself as the film represents his own journey, facing his own fears and demons and finding the necessary empowerment.

Bottom line, The Neighbour No. 13 may be described as a dark character study wrapped in surrealistic contours of a vengeance quest, that as clearly something to say about standing up for yourself and fighting back against anybody or anything, allowing the viewer to explore the consequences and costs when repressed hatred and revenge become a part of anyone's reality.

Asian-cineblog.blogspot.com
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Revenge is sweet
Ben Larson22 July 2011
They say, "What goes around comes around," or "Karma is a bitch." In the case of bullies, I really hope that is true. Maybe they should show this film in schools to let them know that bullies sometimes get their just desserts, even if it is many years later.

Jûzô (Shun Oguri) was constantly bullied by Akai (Hirofumi Arai) and his friends in school. Now, they work for the same company, and even live in the same apartment building. Akai doesn't recognize Juzo, and that is good because he continues his bullying ways, and is going to get a taste of revenge.

But, before that we are witness to some real struggles between Juzo and his alter ego (Shidô Nakamura). This is presented in the form of an imaginary house, and again in cartoon form. Juzo doesn't want violence, but his alter ego is insistent. Apparently, the bullying drove him crazy.

The only think that prevent a higher score is the ending, which is very confusing. I have to chalk that up to the fact that this was a first attempt for both the director and the writers. Other than that, it was captivating -- with blood and gore, I have to add.

Takashi Miike makes a brief appearance as the first victim.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
He is Really Late...
Meganeguard15 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
During his elementary school years Murasaki Juzo suffered the torments of a bully named Akai Juzo. If these torments had included only such things as having his money stolen or being given wedgies Murasaki might have been able to lead a normal life when he grew up. However, Murasaki was locked in a toilet and sprayed with water and forced to eat excrement, but these malicious acts are only the tip of the iceberg. One day two of Arai's friends hold Murasaki on the ground as their leader pours a bottle of acid on Murasaki's face.

After the depiction of this flashback in a sequence that would please Clive Barker, a grown Murasaki snaps out of a pretty severe hallucination and as he makes his way to his construction job Murasaki notices that he has new neighbors moving into room number 23. Because construction work is an occupation that is often linked to the Japanese underworld, it is not surprising that the business is filled with unsavory characters. Besides the afro sporting Seki, the rest of the crew look as if they could just as easily start a gang war as construct a building. It is also at this locale that Murasaki meets Arai once again and, as if no time has passed at all, Murasaki soon becomes the target for Arai's cruelties. Arai continuously picks at Murasaki, smashes him in the leg with a piece of wood, and presents him from exiting the porta-pottie. However, with his anger overflowing, Murasaki kicks open the door sending Arai sprawling back. It is at this point that Murasaki's appearance seems a bit different. He sports a scraggly beard, he is blind in his left eye, and his face is horribly scarred. This being is Murasaki's other self. A repressed core of rage that Arai has unleashed that Murasaki is having more and more difficulty keeping under control.

Arai continues to mock Murasaki, but he is unaware that the timid man lives in the same building as he and that Murasaki has quickly become an acquaintance of his wife and child.

I am normally not one for thrillers or horror films being that I tend to watch dramas, but I did enjoy watching Neighbor Number 13. Oguri Shun, Murasaki, does a good job portraying a young man who has spent his entire life being bullied and Arai Hirofumi, Akai, definitely portrays a character who his deserving of the protagonist's hate. However, Nakamura Shido, Murasaki's alternate personality, really takes the cake. His rendering of a scarred, mentally deranged man is both incredible and terrifying. Also Yoshimura Yumi, of Puffy, does a decent job of portraying Akai's wife. Maybe at thirty she is trying to move away from her saccharine pop star image.

While definitely not a great film, Neighbor Number 13 is a fun film to watch. I bet also that you will be rooting for the "bad guy" as well.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Not a horror film--not even a good drama
Der_Schnibbler23 June 2009
If you are expecting horror, forget it. If you are expecting "psychological thriller," forget that too. In fact, if you are expecting anything halfway moving, gripping, or attention-grabbing in the least, FORGET ALL ABOUT IT.

The film has a decent premise but unfortunately displays the absolute worst traits of a certain strain of Japanese horror films which, as another reviewer mentions, owe a lot to Miike's more exasperatingly BORING experiments, such as that "Ichii" crap.

The problem here is that this movie move's at a snail's pace. That would have been alright had there been some kind of payoff, but there is not. Characters stare at each other for MINUTES ON END inexplicably in the middle of a @#$# conversation, children see dead, bloodied bodies and simply stand there aloof like scarecrows before casually walking away--countless reactions are completely fake and unrealistic. The film was a great idea but any kind of dramatic effect is robbed from it by the stupid SILENCE and stilted dialogue which plagues the entire film.

If you think boring crap such as "964 Pinocchio" and the "All Night Long" series were "disturbing," you'll probably like this film too. If you're looking for a REAL MOVIE, you'll wish you hadn't given it the chance in the first place, especially considering it's nearly two hours long. (If they had had haflway normal dialog and half-way HUMAN reactions among characters, the film would've been an hour and a half).

If you're looking for good Asian horror/revenge/drama, see the Korean "Oldboy." As far as "Rinjin 13-gô" goes: AVOID.
3 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews