The Aristocrats (2005) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
240 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Not a comedy. Not a bad thing.
Kinitawowi14 March 2007
The Aristocrats is not a funny joke.

This is a fact admitted at several points through this film. And it's an important thing to bear in mind when considering the film, because the film is not the joke. The film is *about* the joke. It's a documentary. It deals with far more light-hearted matter than the average documentary, but it's a documentary nonetheless. Yes, the joke is told frequently and in various ways throughout the film. But in and of themselves, only about four incarnations of the joke are worthwhile. Billy The Mime's version is inspired, the guy who does it with playing cards is clever, Gilbert Gottfried's is a masterpiece of saying precisely the wrong thing at the right time, and Sarah Silverman's first-person rendition lies perfectly between deadpan hilarity and abject horror.

The value of the film lies in the story of the joke. And in this regard, it stands as one of the funniest films ever made. The joke isn't something to be told at the dinner table. It's a challenge, told by comedians to comedians. And this is where the hundred or so comedians in this film come in, to tell us their own stories and experiences about the inception and reception of it - and of course, to do this it becomes necessary for one or two of them to provide their own interpretations. And so it goes on.

As a comedy, it's not that funny; it is, in a very literal sense, a one-joke movie. As a documentary, it's genius.
21 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A celebration of laughter
jyancura29 July 2005
The Aristocrats uses a warhorse joke to give the audience a window into humor, obscenity, and the American conscience. I am not aware of another study capable of inducing such laughter. The premise is devilishly simple and almost a modern version of comedia delarte. This allows some of the best American comic minds to muse wildly about humor. A great achievement of the movie is the raw footage of a who's who of comedians. Comic greats such as George Carlin, Eric Idle, Whoopi Goldberg, Gilbert Godfrey, Jason Alexander, Robin Williams, Phyllis Diller, Drew Carey, Sarah Silverman, and many more weigh in on how comedians put their signature on jokes.

The editing and pacing of the movie insure that the audience goes no longer than two minutes without a good laugh. There is no shortage of obscenity and lewdness in the film. The Aristocrats is not a family film. However, the film proves that there is much to be gained from wading into the lake of obscenity. Packed between laughs about bodily functions and social taboos, are searing insights about improvisation, character, show business, and things which most of us would not willingly put in our mouths. The movie hits on many different levels and stands as an insightful sociological achievement garbed in laughter.
72 out of 103 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The funniest joke ever told
filmprog31 January 2005
Screened at Sundance 2005, The Aristoracts tells the story of the worlds funniest (and dirtiest) joke you've never heard before but will never forget.

The joke itself is structured to have the same beginning and the same punchline at the end. Yet each comedian that tells it has their own variation on the middle. And that's where the freedom (and generally the vulgarity) comes in.

My favorite renditions are by Kevin Pollak (doing a spot-on impression of Christopher Walken), Bob Saget, and Paul Reiser. Matt Stone and Trey Parker even animated a South Park version of the joke that had me laughing so hard I couldn't breathe.

Paul Provenza and Penn Jillette filmed the movie over a period of 4 years and between 80 to 100 hours of DV video tape.

The film has been picked up for distribution by ThinkFilm. But don't be surprised if the MPAA slaps a NC-17 on the film for the language. Save your surprise for the theater.
112 out of 170 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Almost an incredible film...
Shaph20 August 2005
After seeing "The Aristocrats" I found myself wondering if I truly enjoyed a film about the craziest joke in the world. The answer: Almost.

The film itself centers around a single premise: A joke with the punch line "The Aristocrats!" has existed for a long time, and many different comedians tell their versions and try to explain why the joke is funny, allowing reflection on what makes this particular joke so memorable and humorous.

Don't get me wrong. There are parts of this movie where I was having difficulty breathing due to the humor and the telling of "the joke." Some of the deliveries were flawless, executed with the aggressiveness and impartial judgment that have made some comedians famous.

But some comedians I didn't find funny. And their telling of "the joke" created another feeling inside me: How much longer is he going to try to make me laugh? And the problem here is that these parts of the movie are just very difficult to sit through. Using foul language and references to numerous taboos is one thing, but it hurts to listen to a comedian do it badly.

Ultimately, the comedians do a good job of explaining some of the finer nuances of "the joke", comedy in general, and its place in our lives. But the film spends more time on each comedians' angle with "the joke" than the development of why the joke is great. And I think the movie suffered from it. Listening to the philosophy of "the joke" was great; listening to bad comics preach the scripture was unbearable.

So the dilemma was created: I thought I enjoyed the film afterward, but I didn't know. After careful deliberation, I gave it a 7, losing 3 stars through the lack of developing more comedic philosophy and for the sometimes painfully unfunny moments a movie like this has in it.
48 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Intelligent, Warm-Hearted Obscenity
Carl_Tait1 August 2005
For all its over-the-top vulgarity -- with large helpings of pornography, scatology, and incest -- "The Aristocrats" is fundamentally an intelligent and affectionate film. One gifted comedian after another dives into the time-honored muck of this joke, keen on retrieving the filthiest possible diamond from the sludge. The result is some of the most hilarious film-making of recent years.

It's difficult to select just a few favorites from this assemblage. Bob Saget is surely the most startling (and one of the funniest). George Carlin offers both great humor and insight into joke telling. Sarah Silverman's deadpan first-person account is unforgettable, and Gilbert Gottfried's post-9/11 version is a jewel. Billy the Mime has riotous sexual encounters with various invisible family members. Only a few comedians misfire: perhaps most notably, a guy who tries to pull off a "clean" Jerry Lewis sort of physical comedy routine.

And this is the paradox of the both the joke and the movie: clean versions just don't work. The hilarity comes from the clash between the pornography and the punchline, the comedic brilliance and the carefully crafted vulgarities.

90 minutes on one joke may seem like overkill, but the film skillfully avoids monotony. The broader subject matter is the art of comedy: the comedians' insights are fascinating and their enthusiasm is endearing.

Two minor complaints. First, it would have been helpful to identify each comedian *during* the film, not just during the (excellent) closing credits. Second -- and more seriously -- some of the camera-work was intrusive and distracting, with rapid MTV cutting that flipped back and forth between full-face and profile shots. This got so bad at one point that I had to look away from the screen until the segment was over.

9/10. A masterpiece of filthy good cheer.
53 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Vile? yes. Offensive? Yes. Disgusting? Yes. Funniest movie of the year? YES!
Temsi31 July 2005
One of the funniest movies I've seen in a long time. If you're not familiar with the joke, that's fine. If you are, you'll probably enjoy this movie on an entirely different level (which may or may not be better).

Whatever the case may be, be prepared to laugh to the point of crying and in some cases, sides aching.

Now, be forewarned... this movie is not rated, and is about the most disgusting joke ever told. If you're a prude, you'll probably walk out like the stuck up couple who left the theater about 10 minutes into the screening I was at tonight.

There are some howling moments, there are some painfully unfunny moments, but overall, I can't recall laughing this much in a theater since seeing There's Something About Mary.

This is an exercise in 1st Amendment rights (this movie would have been shut down in the days of Lenny Bruce).

If you think 97 minutes of various comedians doing their versions of the same joke won't work, you're in for a surprise. This movie has so much more than that... It shows a real affection for comedy and comic performers.

I have to see it again, there were so many jokes I missed, either because of other people laughing or because I was laughing to hard to hear.

If you love stand-up comedy (or just enjoy laughing) and aren't easily offended, you must see this movie. You'll laugh your ass off.
96 out of 157 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Comedy is Art and "Aristocrats" is Brilliant Artistry
kranessa30 June 2005
Typically, I'm not one to encourage obscenity so I shunned the idea of the "Aristocrats" at first. However, I must applaud the "Aristocrats" and tell you that it was brilliantly presented and not at all about obscenity. It seemed to be more about being creatively obscene while keeping your audience horrified and simultaneously roaring with laughter. Many of the bits in the film will shock the prudish movie goer, but you'll also find that, like a fatal car crash in heavy traffic, you must keep listening and watching. Later you'll be embarrassed to admit that you laughed so hard, you're not sure if your lungs are still intact. Warning: skip the beverage during this film unless you enjoy nostril burn.
66 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
"A Man Walks in to an Agent's office..."
KUAlum269 January 2007
And with that line begins a joke that is profiled from its Vaudvillian roots,through ninety minutes and a myriad of comedians. I once made the mistake of describing this show as bing "a hundred comedians tell the same joke',which got a quizzical"Why would anyone watch that?" reaction. There's much more to this that "comedicans telling a joke".

Comedian Paul Provenza(with the help of Penn Gillette)directs this documentary that examines one joke and how it can be stretched,shrunken,reformed,refitted,debated,taken apart,turned upside-down,twisted,cleaned up,dirtied up and any other way a comic can interpret it. Philosophies and stories around the joke are also factored in,and one who watches this film(assuming one can stick with this doc,any of the wildly profane and wincingly nasty treatments of the joke)learns as much about the teller of the jokes as the joke itself.

With notable turns by such comics as Gilbert Gottfried(who tells the joke both in interview and archival footage),SArah Silverman,Bob Saget,the Smothers Brothers,MArtin Mull,Howie Mandel and George Carlin(among others),this film is a test in one's understanding of not only the telling of a joke,but the mechanics OF telling it and the joke itself. Not much of a movie and barely a documentary,this is a great "curiosity" film that will weed out people who should and shouldn't be watching this. I felt like I learned something out of this,and every so often I got laughs out of it,too. How many films can you say THAT about it?
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Tedious
pga791 August 2005
Warning: Spoilers
The problem with this movie is that it ceases to be funny once the premise is revealed. The joke gets really dirty---get it? Now listen for another hour and a half as comedians say all of the dirty things you already thought up when you reached your "obscenity maturity" at around, oh, eighteen. Incest, various sexual positions, feces, etc.

Those things are funny when you aren't expecting them. For example, in the South Park movie, I remember actually being surprised at how many obscenities were invoked in the "Terrence and Phillip" movie-within-a-movie. It was a cinematic first for me, and I laughed.

But in this movie, once you have heard a fairly dirty version of this joke, you are expecting anything and everything. In fact, the only funny version of the joke (in my opinion) was told by the South Park characters in the second half of the movie. It was funny because it invoked something that was actually surprising--in other words, something that probably even offended some people who came to the movie knowing for the most part what it was about.

Other than that, the only interesting aspect of this movie was that it served as an unwitting empirical investigation into the self-indulgence and self-aggrandizement of the stand-up world.

Another user's comment reminded me of a thought I had during the movie--that this whole thing might be a hoax, a joke perpetrated on America to see how many people would laugh at something so clearly not funny. In fact, during the movie I kept wondering if we weren't going to all be told at the end, "Gotcha! Shhh...pass it on!" That would at least explain A.O. Scott's (NY Times) ridiculously positive review. Needless to say, we weren't.

But hoax or no hoax, since this is a review of the movie, I guess my comments stand--it was irritating.
58 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Plain and simple: not funny
amity1593 September 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I wasn't really sure what to expect heading into this movie. I'd heard it was a bunch of comedians talking about a joke that was supposed to be the most absurdly offensive and hilarious joke ever told. I'm not sure if this will be considered a spoiler or not, as the entire premise of the movie is revealed ten minutes in, and repeated for the next eighty.

Yes, it's about an absurd and offensive joke and its history and so on, but that's it. It's a ninety minute movie about variations on a single joke that, after about twenty minutes, you realize aren't so varied after all. All the comedians give their own takes on the joke (none of them are very funny in my opinion, except Kevin Pollack's impression of Christopher Walken) and they all involve the same thing. "Push the envelope," it screams. It seems this is the sole point of this film, and I can't remember the last time that was a good thing.

The comedians think it's hilarious and they love telling it, and that's fine, but who wants to hear the same dirty joke fifty times in a row? I must be a snob.
34 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I hate to admit it, but I laughed (a lot)!
kc-902 February 2005
Warning: Spoilers
The Aristocrats was shocking, appalling and yes, completely hysterical! I actually shocked myself when I found the material funny. The amazing part was that I wasn't just chuckling, I was holding my stomach and nearly wetting my panties. That's right, I said panties. Women, especially married women with children, aren't supposed to find this kind of sick humor funny, but it had me rolling.

George Carlin's rendition of the joke was one of my many personal favorites, but my absolute favorite was a female comedian (but darn it - I can't remember her name). She played the girlfriend of the geek guy roommate of Jack Black in the movie "School of Rock." She told her story in the first person, as an actual participant in the family act she was describing to the talent agent. She described incestuous acts and appeared to actually be reminiscent of the good olé days when these abhorrent things were happening to her as a child. Her delivery was artful and completely brilliant as was her demeanor. The way she was describing these unspeakable acts was chilling; as though she completely enjoyed the savagery. Considering that she is a beautiful, seemingly well adjusted, young woman, it came as an added shock and made her telling of the joke all that much more compelling. Again, her delivery was pure genius.

All of the comedians were great, though. Whoopi Goldberg was good, as expected, but Bob Sagat has such a clean-cut look that I never knew such brilliant filth could be formulated in his brain. I have to comment also on the way the different pieces were spliced together seamlessly; it kept the film really interesting. Considering that it was essentially the same joke being told many different ways, that had to be a feat in and of itself. Great work Penn & Teller!
46 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Waste of money (at any price) - not dirty, just very badly produced.
najobskalf12 April 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I am no prude and I am not easily shocked. This was not funny or shocking but a very badly edited mish-mash of little bits of cuts from a series of interviews. I could not believe that anyone would have the nerve to actually sell this rubbish.

My impression is that we are supposed to find just the idea of the underlying joke so funny that we don't actually need to have it told to us. The sales pitch, if only implied (the producers must have obtained legal opinion as to whether it was a swindle or not), was that the Aristocrats joke would be told by a variety of well-known comedians. The IMDb page certainly implied this in my view.

If this is what you are hoping for - you will be sadly disappointed!
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Good idea, badly executed
brockmporter15 April 2006
To be blunt, I could have made this movie. The only thing directors Penn Jillette and Paul Provenza had that I don't is access to famous comedians. Other than that, the movie has little direction. It looks like it was filmed with a camcorder, it is very choppy, it digresses a lot, and it is filled with people I've never heard of and whose opinions mean very little to me.

This isn't to say it's not funny. There are some truly wonderful bits in it. Unfortunately they are scattered throughout a long and often tedious journey of filler material and analysis. Much of this is provided by star comedians, such as George Carlin, Paul Reiser, Robin Williams, etc. But a lot of it is from below-the-line showbiz insiders, such as Hollywood columnists, talent agents, editors, etc, who are not introduced until the closing credits.

There are some truly hysterical tellings of the joke, particularly George Carlin, Glbert Gottfried, Kevin Pollack, Drew Carey, Robin Williams, and Sarah Silverman, delivering with her trademark cute-little-girl voice. Billy the Mime's pantomime performance of the joke is high on the list of funniest things I've ever seen. And there is even some interesting analysis about the nature of comedy. Paul Reiser and Larry Miller offer some valuable ideas.

Largely, though, the movie is filled with comedy clichés, such as "Comedy is all about timing." "This joke is all in the delivery." "Comedy is about how far you can push the envelope." And so-forth. The majority of the movie is people repetitively restating these well-known facts, with annoying interruptions by some of today's more annoying comedians, such as Pat Cooper and David Brenner, who think that comedy is nothing more than having a Brooklyn accent, a loud voice, an angry tone, and using the c-word as much as possible. The most abominable of these is the ventriloquism act calling himself "Otto and George" whose material is exactly what I just described, only performed with such poor ventriloquism that it's embarrassing to watch.

Overall it's choppy, redundant, tedious, and fortunately, hilarious.

It's a movie worth seeing, even worth owning if you have more than a passing interest in comedy, but if you're expecting miracles, prepare for a disappointment.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
We all LOVED this movie!!!!!!!
laschneider17 June 2005
I don't know what movie RT Firefly saw... I saw this at the Deep Focus film Festival, and think it is one of the smartest and funniest movies I have ever seen. A bunch of friends and I are still talking about it. Every one of us found different things all through the whole movie. It's only repetitious if you are not watching for the nuances and subtle variations in each different version. Little things make a big difference every time someone else tells the joke. Some are funnier than others, but none of the people I saw it with agree on who - some love what others didn't and vice versa (except we all agree SarahSilverman, Taylor Negron, Bob Saget, Gilbert Godfrey and Billly the Mime are hilarious). Yeah, some of it is childish but that's part of the fun, and kinda the whole point of it. Let yourself go and see what happens. The creativity is amazing, no matter how filthy. But it's got so much to say about being free, and about the art and craft of comedy. when you see how many different ways this one joke can go, it is truly amazing. I thought it was just going to be a dirty joke, but it is also about crossing lines and where are those lines anyway? It's hilarious to see all these big stars just being silly and having a blast. It's like we're at their private party and they don't care what anyone thinks. We all LOVED this movie and can't wait to see it again because we missed so much from all the laughing throughout.
77 out of 138 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Meh.
ntthfllshllng7 May 2007
A documentary about an infamous joke that has done the rounds for decades amongst comedians but has rarely had a public airing. This is probably because, despite a roll call of some of comedy's biggest names, the joke just isn't very good, it's cult in-joke status can be the only reason for its longevity. This is however a likable film, which does have its funny moments, a particular highlight being the South Park telling of the joke, just don't believe the hyperbole of the DVD cover: "you'll laugh till it hurts" (rolling stone)... "one of the funniest movies ever" (hotdog)... "howlingly funny" (New York daily news) these people really should get out more.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The Decline of Western Civilization, Pt.2
jamesk-1219 February 2006
I consider myself to be an open-minded progressive creative with an appreciation for creatives pushing the limit and telling it like it is. I'm not a prude. I'm a big fan of Margaret Cho. With that said, I find the Aristocrats' obsession with scatological bestiality and incest – all presented in a "humorous" context – to be insulting, demeaning, and not the least bit funny. It espouses the kind of humor indicative of a psychopathic juvenile delinquent. As many of the comedians in the film themselves admit – the Aristocrats just isn't funny. The film is not totally without merit, however. It is living proof of how psychopathically juvenile our culture can be. And that's just not funny.
31 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
a grueling ordeal
Buddy-5120 September 2006
How is it possible for a group of filmmakers to gather together more than a hundred of the world's foremost comedians into a single documentary and yet elicit not one genuine laugh throughout the course of the entire film? Well, I'm not sure quite how they've accomplished it, but "The Aristocrats," for all its high-priced comic talent, is one seriously unfunny movie.

The film is built around a supposedly classic joke involving an agent who walks into a producer's office, declares "Have I got an act for you!" and then proceeds to describe that act in terms so lurid that even a convention of Satan-worshipping sailors might have trouble booking it for one of their programs. When the agent finally finishes his description, the producer asks "What's the act called?," a query which is always followed by the response, "the aristocrats." The object of the joke is for the teller to be as offensive, disgusting and perverted as possible in the lead up to the punch line. Routinely, the subject matter involves incest, bestiality, pedophilia, violence, urination, defecation and a whole host of other topics not normally broached in polite society. In what amounts to a talking-heads documentary, "The Aristocrats" basically consists of all these great comics running their own variations on this one joke while discussing the iconoclastic function of humor and providing an occasional backstage glimpse into the art of joke telling (I guess that's where the "redeeming social value" aspect comes in).

The main problem with the movie is not that it is crude, vulgar and disgusting per se, but that it is crude, vulgar and disgusting without being funny. In fact, after the umpteenth take on the same routine, we sink into a kind of humor-deprived stupor that lasts for almost a full ninety minutes.

Honestly, I appreciate a dirty joke as much as the next fellow, but "The Aristocrats" is all dirty and no joke.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The punch line!
jotix10020 August 2005
"The Aristocrats", the hilarious documentary directed by Paul Provenza, and produced by, among others, Penn Jilette, is one of the funniest things about American stand up comedy, period! Mr. Provenza was able to amass some of the best exponents of this typical form of entertainment in which the classic joke is reinterpreted by whoever happens to be on the screen at any given moment.

Granted, this film is not for everyone who might object to be a witness a gross joke being told the way it's supposed to be told. It's a credit to Mr. Provenza and everyone involved in this project not to stray from the joke itself in all its exaggerated detail.

"The Aristocrats" is an excellent documentary that will be appreciated by all fans of comedy. The film is laugh riot because it comes out naturally with what appears to be an improvisational style. The joke being told for our benefit by some of the best talent performing today in this country.
28 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Painfully Unfunny
machofox11 September 2005
Christ, this film is pitiful. It's basically like when little children shout obscenities thinking it's funny and clever, only made worse by self-congratulatory smugness of it all as though they're "pushing the envelope". It's true that there could have been an opportunity here to explore the boundaries of acceptability but the reality is that rather than address any actual taboo subject matter such as terrorism, Islam, race, etc. almost all the comics stick to the same safe pubescent topics i.e. coprophilia, bestiality and incest. which becomes tiresome and predictable almost immediately and are only really funny to begin with if you're a thirteen year old schoolboy, and if any of it actually shocks you then you've obviously led a pretty sheltered life.
31 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I'v never walked out of a film before...
halloweenjack7426 September 2005
even the awful Last Days I recently had to sit through but this was truly awful and I felt I had no choice. Out of the 5 people in the screen my friend and I were the last to leave so we tried but we had to leave the last 15 minutes running to itself. I have never seen such a self-indulgent piece of tripe in my whole life. Firstly the so-called "shock" factor of the film was absolute rubbish, these comedians were not shocking at all and exercised absolutely no originality. It was just offensiveness by numbers, once you'v seen one sub-standard comic talking about vomit and incest you'v seen them all and it is not a funny sight. If they really wanted to be shocking they would have told an extremely racist or homophobic version of the joke, but of course they won't because in the current alternative comedy climate talk of incest, bodily functions etc is perfectly acceptable where racism and homophobia so in this context the audience are playing to the audience's expectations and remaining within the established safety bounds just as much as Bob Hope ever did. Not only was this offensiveness by numbers but it wasn't even good, grotesque imagery can be used within a comedy routine but it isn't funny in itself and just talking about having sex with your granny or child isn't funny or shocking it's just dull and after 60 minutes of the same it's incredibly boring. The worst parts of the film were when the comedians literally could not speak with laughter at how funny they were being as they spat out their pathetic routines as though they were performing groundbreaking hilariousness worthy of Lenny Bruce or Bill Hicks. They weren't. The only two points that made me smile were the 'british' guy's clean version and the version the women told where she turns the joke on it's head to describe a wholesome act with the name 'the motherf*cking c*cksuckers'. these two succeeded by defining themselves against the tedious onslaught of macho attempts at shock all around them and employing a comic technique other than 'and then I pooped on stage and my wife ate it and I spanked my dead grandma'. Pioneering comedians fought against censorship and this is what we'v done with it. For shame.
31 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Absolutely the worst joke I ever heard
pet_the_monkey26 November 2006
Warning: Spoilers
The title of my post actually makes the movie sound interesting. Its not. I didn't even laugh the first time. Wave after wave of self-congratulatory comedy nobodies proving how useless they are. Its not a funny joke no matter how many ways you tell it.

If you are actually expecting a film with comedy content I wouldn't even try this. It has no continuity and the camera guy cuts so many times between people that you get motion sickness.

I only watched the first 15 minutes and fast forwarded from there. I somehow get the feeling that the joke is on the viewer. I think they are laughing at us for even watching. Even so, shame on you Robin Williams for even appearing.

"Dont chew your nails, you know what happened to the Venus De Milo." Dean Martin

P.S. Game over
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just Awful
butternutt26 July 2006
Don't believe the hype. This movie is awful. Imagine being surrounded by 100 comics laughing about one long, bad inside joke. You will feel like an outsider the whole time the comics basically talk about a joke that is not even funny.

It is painful to watch so many comics NOT being so funny. This movie feels like a movie for comics and comics only. After the 50th cutaway in 20 minutes you will find yourself, 1. a little dizzy, and 2. wondering what all the fuss is about.

The hype this movie has received is way out of touch. I can only imagine the reviewers gave it respect for "being different". But in reality is is trash.

The joke is on you. Don't rent this movie.
27 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Is it possible to spoil this movie?
smuchnick1 September 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This is an extremely funny movie if you enjoy bathroom humor and the lighter side of rape, incest, and child abuse. You might also like it if you like to watch a bunch of guys congratulating themselves on their own "aristocatic" and "sophisticated" gifts, and a few women valiantly trying to keep up with the boys in an effort that might dissuade any young woman to swear off feminism forever. The few actual funny moments were the Paul Reiser and John Stewart bits which contained enough embarrassed irony to almost let them off the hook, and Sarah Silverman's interpretation which was a brilliant deadpan version of "the joke," that almost gave it some redeeming social (and comedic) value.
27 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boring and worthless
wunderbunny060226 April 2006
I am really surprised at how many people found this to be a good movie. Are we really that easily entertained? One critic made a good point that Aristocrats consists mainly of white men making up the most insulting and degrading filth they can imagine, the primary butt (no pun intended) of the various versions of the joke being women, girls and minorities. There is a reason this joke is not told onstage; it is a masturbatory exercise between (mostly male) comedians and has virtually no worth as such, much less as a full length film. The joke gets very old after about the 20th scatological act and incestuous rape reference, and the movie is only 1/3 of the way over. I laughed once, during George Carlin's version of the joke which was a great example of excellent delivery and comedic style. Otherwise, "yawn". The material might have been made more funny with better editing, but half the acts are spliced up with each other, ruining the timing of the telling, and resulting in a constant, non-sensical barrage of every dirty word and deed in the human inventory. It's almost as if the school boy giddiness of saying something dirty was the point, rather than highlighting the variations resulting from the individual comic's personality and style which is the purported point of this movie. If you have any IQ whatsoever, don't soil yourself with this s**t.
26 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
interesting'
Now, that I give this any score at all is down to the fact that it is an interesting project. Yes, I know, a bit of a cop out, that word, 'interesting', but what can I say, it surely isn't funny. Well, there are funny bits and for me that was Robin Williams, who told a different joke and the lady who reversed the joke, giving a very angelic scenario an elongated and most obscene title. I also liked the Eric Idle segments but he managed to undermine the whole project by (quite rightly) suggesting that in England we expect the aristocracy to behave this way. It also made me think of de Sade and caused me to ponder whether any of these turgid, self congratulatory pieces measured up to that gentle aristocrat's activities and I concluded in the negative. Whether there ever was any such joke and whether many people find this funny is not as interesting as the obvious fact that so many of those appearing really did get a lot of fun by talking dirty. That some should be as amused as this by simply saying words considered rude or talking of body fluids, rape and child abuse in this way must reflect one heck of a lot of pent up emotion. Maybe a bunch of psychiatrists should contribute to a documentary in response.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed