Muhammad: The Last Prophet (2002) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
16 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
A story about the life of the final prophet in Islam, Muhammad (saw).
ILuvDX8426 January 2006
I'd just like to comment to Hazim Ibrahim. It is haram (forbidden) to show any likeness of any prophets in Islam. The obvious reason for this being that no one alive today would know what they look like. This is to prevent controversy like what Christians encounter when they try to portray Jesus (AS). Aside from that, it's really inconsequential what any of the prophets looked like. The focus should be on their message. Secondly there are not enough material out there for Muslim children so I don't think you should denounce an effort to provide one. Third, it is important for Muslim children to learn about the Prophet Muhammad (SAW)and video is an easy way to reach them. Should the restriction on portraying the Prophet (SAW) prevent such videos from being made? I don't think so. I believe this video was a good effort and I welcome videos like this one.
31 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Finally, an animation about Muhammad!
Mohamad Taufiq Bin Morshidi20 November 2004
Assalamualikum,

I was disappointed by Hollywood because of their movies which stereotyped Muslims as terrorist, paedophiles and girl beaters. But when i heard about this anime, i was surprised! The animation is cool, the storyline has the mix of Oliver Stone and the Quran. I recommend it a 8/10. This anime is about the life of Muhammad and how Mecca has transformed from a pagan city to a holy Islamic town. If you're an anti-Muslim but wants to know the truth about Islam, then go see this movie. You wont be disappointed. Director Richard Rich has followed the syariah law in order to create a nice movie. Thank you Rich and may Allah bless you.

Wassalam
34 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
its cool
SweetNmad8923 November 2004
hi,wow, I'm surprised to hear that it's REAL Islamic movie. As being Muslim, I love it. Thanks to Allah that it's REAL Islamic movie so everybody could understand it. Muhammad is the greatest last prophet of Islam. Allah Bless you, Director of Muhammad, the Last Prophet. I hope that everybody would like it as they will see the real Islamic movie. All of my Muslim friends love that movie because it has no terrorists or bad things based on Muslims. Although that some people don't like Muslims, but they must have to understand to see the good side of Muslim people.

Allah Hafiz and Salaam.
29 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Excellent Animation of an Excellent Story
usarch26 June 2006
This is a long awaited movie with excellent animation of an excellent story. It is a must see for all people of all ages who would like a summary of Islamic history in fun way. Unfortunately, the movie is very hard to find since it is seldom shown on movie screens, and is virtually unavailable for sale anywhere. One can find "unoffical" copies dubbed or subtitled in many languages, including Arabic, Turkish and English. I have asked many of the copyright holders for the reason that this very important movie is not available in the market in DVD, VCD or VHS formats. To date, I did not receive any reply. This is somehow frustrating. If I were in control of things, I would make this movie available in all languages and in all countries for free or for a very nominal price. But I guess we have to wait till the next century.
15 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Great
zakali4u5 July 2006
The style of this movie reminds me of Aladin which is perfect for a film of this nature.

This film briefly depicts the tale of Prophet Muhammed PBUH.

The film has been made in consideration into Islamic law so fortunately there is no character that actually represents Prophet Muhammed PBUH.

It is fantastic insight to the times and the story of Islam. It mentions a few wise words and teachings the prophet has given to all.

This film is a very good learning tool for those who ignorant of Islam and those think they acted islamcally but are not.

There are a few errors but they can be overlooked as they are minor: Muhammed PBUH is the prophet to the people or mankind and is messenger of God. In the film it states Muhammed is Gods prophet. A minor error I know but an error never the less.

I felt the writer should have informed the audience the Muhammed PBUH was illiterate yet he spoke these words that were beyond his abilities.

The story tells us that they visit the cousin of Lady Khadija but they do not inform the audience he is a Christian scholar and that the prophets arrival was prophesied and Christians were expecting him.

Great all round.

I doubt if this will ever appear on Saturday In America or UK as a prime time movie because it spreads the truth to Islam and that will never be tolerated.
18 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Simply a great movie...
zozjo17 December 2007
I love this movie, it is very clever in dealing with the viewer, it is suitable for all the different ages and backgrounds. I loved the plot, the history, the characters and definitely the production. The story is a well known one, which is the story of the beginning of Islam and of prophet Mohammad, but this movie present it in a very unique way that is both objective and challenging. I personally loved the narration and the style of conversation, of course the kids loved it too much that they showed at school and kept talking about it till now. excellent piece of work, I simply find it a well written, directed, produced movie.

Well done,
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
The film is true. Everything in it is nothing but truth
Shoei133 September 2007
Although, the animation is not good but the film itself tells you the truth about Islam. The film tries to cover most of the events but still lack the incidents happened to God's Prophet (PBUH) and difficulties he faced during his lifetime. These types of films should be made to encourage people to know Islam. Foreign media is controlled by people who doesn't want people to know how simple and peaceful Islamic teachings are but even in this film it has been clearly showed, Muslims never bow before any power they only bow before ALLAH. If anyone thinks its a propaganda and whatever showed in this film is not true then he or she should read history. Books never tells a lie and there are lots of books which tells you HOW HONEST Islamic teachings are. thanks
11 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Great movie
zuaiter_m-12 February 2008
it's really a great movie, it of course doesn't show the prophet PBUH. And that's the way it should be. It gives a simple quick feed about the great prophet Muhammad - peace and blessing of God be upon him.

The animation is good, the music is really nice. The movie is almost similar to the movie "The Message", but this movie is shorter and with less information.

I recommend this movie to be watched by everyone who wish to know as a start how Islam began. And also some of what Islam truly teach and commands.

I wish that there will be more movie like this to be accomplished.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
simply amazing!!!!
aalsha127 January 2008
a must watch for anyone interested in learning about Islam or for a Muslim that wants to be reminded about how it all started. It is a must see for all people of all ages who would like a summary of Islamic history in fun way. Unfortunately, the movie is very hard to find since it is seldom shown on movie screens, and is virtually unavailable for sale anywhere. One can find "unoffical" copies dubbed or subtitled in many languages, including Arabic, Turkish and English. I have asked many of the copyright holders for the reason that this very important movie is not available in the market in DVD, VCD or VHS formats. To date, I did not receive any reply. This is somehow frustrating. If I were in control of things, I would make this movie available in all languages and in all countries for free or for a very nominal price. But I guess we have to wait till the next century.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Decent summary of the greatest biography ever.
keka koka26 November 2006
This is a great animation of the greatest biography of the prophet (peace be upon him) I shed tears when I was watching this animation although I knew all of the story in details but this is the miracle of his biography every time you hear it you love it even more,, may Allah gives guidance to all who deserve it and gives guidance to all the Muslims to return back to their religion and fill the earth once again with justice and love ( this day will come when Jesus peace be upon him too will descend from heavens to the earth and he will be too a follower of the last prophet Muhammad peace be upon them all).

I recommend this animation to those who wants to start to know about the last prophet of humanity and to continue and search about the story in more details and then come back and argue(if there is any arguments left).
9 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Poor Film
Hazim Ibrahim23 November 2004
A very bad film, first of all, I'm a Muslim, so please I don't need anyone telling me to have more tolerance or less hatred. This movie has the same problem that 'The Message' had before. It insists on telling the whole story of Mohammad, but without showing Mohammad or even his closest followers. If you can't show Mohammad's character for any reason, then simply do NOT make a movie where Mohammad is the main character in it. You can make a movie about Islam without having Mohammad as a central character, which will solve the point-of-view problem, which is a major crisis here. This movie could work better as an educational material for elementary schools.

The animation is not very good, the movement is weird, and the camera keeps going backward and forward in an unsettling way. I recommend it ONLY for children who want to know about Islam, if you are an adult who would like to know something about how Islam started, then go see "The Message" which although still has the same problem, but it's more suitable for mature audience.
22 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The beauty of this film...
n_rxckz8 December 2007
This film shows a humorous and lively animation of the Prophets life and portrays his companions in a lovable way along with his foe's as cartoon like baddies, depicting on their much annoying qualities, for example Abu Lahab is shown as money greedy and Abu Jahl is shown as hungry for power, similar to Jafar from Aladdin.

The Prophet is shown in a kind and compassionate way and his journey of delivering the message of worshipping the One God allows the viewer to embark on this adventure and intrigues them to find out more about the details of what actually did happen.

The movie is suitable for young children with eager minds allowing them to develop skills in character analysis and subtleties of conversation, this is a family film and one most enjoyable to watch on a cosy day in.

10/10
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Non realistic portrayal that doesn't make use of US Law
Joshua Goldstein14 November 2007
A real travesty that people will actually look at this film and see it as a documentary of sorts when only a tiny tip of the ubiquitous iceberg is covered.

Both the movie and IMDb are based in the United States of America where tolerance towards homosexuality IS THE LAW and marriage to children is ILLEGAL. It doesn't make any sense that the movie producers don't make use of these laws to freely produce a realistic depiction of Mohammed without fear of those who are hateful towards gays or without fear of those who defend underage marriage.

Since the movie doesn't cover any truth about Mohammed whatsoever it must get the lowest rating possible. A 1 out of 10.
9 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
We Are Not Like They Show You
elkanna94 September 2008
Warning: Spoilers
I Think It Will Be Good To Make Sure That All The World Know The Truth About Our Prophet As A True Not Lies Like Hollywood Movies Do We Are Just Want The Truth Nothing But Truth I'm Asking No No But Requesting Them All Hollywood Movies Makers Plz Tell The World The True Story Not Your Story We Are Not Terrorist We Are Humans We Are Not Blood Thirsty But We Are Defenders Of Our Religion And Our Countries Try To Talk With Us Not To Involve Us Into Your Lies We Need The Talk Nothing But It You Will Be Injustice If You Judged Us Without Seeing It Will Not Be Fair We Ask You To Talk Not To Lie You Must Know our Prophet And Our Bases Not The Outshell Of Things But Deeply Plz We need To talk About Our Commons Thank You All
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Muhammad: The Last Prophet
a_baron22 December 2015
How do you make a film about a bloke who cannot be portrayed on film or in any image, at least not without setting off riots worldwide? With great difficulty. This cartoon depiction of the life of The Prophet and the origin of Islam is a fair effort although obviously sanitised, and with a few anachronisms here and there. No, that is not a reference to their speaking English throughout!

Be that as it may, quite a lot of human strife, misery and suffering can be found therein, but it's good to learn that Christians did not have a monopoly on sadism, and that others than the white man were capable of holding men in bondage and torturing them to death on a whim, even if that is not quite the position today, on the campuses of Western universities at least. Although this is a propaganda document, it's probably no worse than sitting through a church service. No mention here at all of suicide bombings or beheadings, but that is of course an entirely different breed of Islam.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
An Excellent Teaching Movie
mgr8176031 October 2008
Warning: Spoilers
This is an excellent movie, well suited, I think, for a teaching role in elementary schools. The movie serves as a well constructed introduction to Mohammed and Islam, suitable for minds 8 years old and up. It has a sort of Ballywood flavor, in that serious matters are leavened by humor and music at appropriate moments. The animation is well done, and the movie runs at a comfortable speed.

I rated it so highly, though, because I thought it so effectively portrayed Islam as someone growing up in Islam would be introduced to it. This is something, I think, that we would do well to expose our own children to, not to convert them, but to show why Muslims believe as they do.

When many of us look at Islam, we look it as a historical phenomenon, as a force which arose 1500 years ago, conquered a good portion of the world, and with which, now, we have relatively bad relations. We look at it as far more a political force, than we do as a religious faith.

By contrast, growing up in America, a nation 70% of which calls itself Christian, even those of us who don't consider ourselves Christian think of Christianity as a faith, not a political force. We recognize that Christians use politics to achieve their goals, but we credit that their goals stem from their faith.

We do so because we grow up learning the Christian faith. We know all the stories about Christ in the Manger, all the stories about Bethlehem and the Star. We know all about the Crucifixion, the Resurrection and Jesus Christ Superstar--even if we do not accept these things, we recognize them as the manifestation of Christian faith. And we understand those stories as speaking to the principles of the faith.

By contrast, many of us think that Islam is an excuse for political behavior, that its religious tenets--such as jihad--exist only to justify the political behavior. What "Mohammed, The Last Prophet" does so successfully, I think, is to introduce the principles that a kid growing up in a Muslim country would learn through their stories even as children growing up in America learn Christian principles through their stories.

If our next generation of children can be shown that Islam is not only a political force, but, rather, a faith shared by millions based on a commonality of stories, much akin to the same sort of Christian stories American children are learning from their parents and communities, then there will not, I think, be in the future the same sort of hostility towards Islam that so many Americans fear and evince.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews