Failure to Launch (2006) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
244 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Kit was Great
tumbersonps16 March 2006
I thought this movie was fun. I'm a big fan of Terry Bradshaw and I thought he and Kathy Bates made a "real couple". His "nude room" scene was a scream - I would have never expected that. I also enjoyed the scene Kathy Bates expresses her fears about her marriage to her son and the reasons - a little touch of real life. But my favorite character has to be Kit (Zooey Deschanel). Every comedy movie needs a straight (man/woman) I loved her, she was great. In my opinion the depth of the secondary characters was the strength of this movie. I didn't particularly care for the ending. I look forward to seeing more of Zooey Deschanel - great job!
56 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Fun Chick Flick
mtmc5-111 March 2006
No, this won't win any major awards or impress the art world's elite, but it is a funny, delightful diversion on a date night. My husband and I laughed all the way through it - as did the entire theater. I go to movies for a diversion from reality and this met the bill. If you don't expect deep meaningful, life altering messages or commentaries on the deep ills of society you will enjoy the movie.

The performances by the supporting cast were delightful and the best of the movie - especially Kathy Bates and Zooey Deschanel. While the chemistry between the leads was lacking spark, their performances were still fun to watch.

The critics need to relax a little and not expect searing dramatic performances from romantic chic flicks!
90 out of 122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Great Cast Wasted on a Sub-Par Sitcom Script
Why, oh, why, can Hollywood assemble such a fantastic cast, and fail the cast members so miserably with the script? Stay home and watch a "Friends" rerun and you'll probably witness a more coherent, funnier, and truer script.

Every actor in this cast, including Terry Bradshaw, a former football player, is fantastic.

In fact, why can Terry Bradshaw, a former football player, act better than professional Hollywood writers can write? This script is a mess. Scenes are short and borderline incoherent, or so dumb as to be targeted at an audience too young to care about romance. What's the point of putting goofy scenes, like the fake bird fake CPR scene, a scene that every seven year old in the audience will wake up for, in an alleged "romantic" comedy? There's no romance here. None. Zero. Zip. How do you put two such beautiful, sexy, charismatic actors -- Matthew McConaughey and Sarah Jessica Parker -- in a movie, and yet have absolutely zero romance or heat or sexual chemistry in the movie? I mean, you'd really have to be trying to make a movie this erotically neutered with two such stars.

Nothing here makes much of any sense at all. The scenes are a jumble of failed ideas quickly abandoned. The direction and editing are nil.

A few scenes are ridiculous and childish. Matthew McConaughey is repeatedly attacked by wild animals. These scenes just never take off.

A few scenes are painful.

MM takes SJP on a date on someone else's boat, pretending that it's his. He's caught, and has to run away. Is he supposed to be such a tacky character? Why is SJP supposed to fall in love with him? After MM discovers that his parents have been paying SJP to date him (this isn't a spoiler; this plot device is revealed early on), he uses a particularly crude word to tell her to go away. It's a believable reaction, but since everything else in the movie is so unbelievable, it's just awkward and does not fit.

Then there is the scene where one group of characters spies on another couple of characters via webcams. It's meant to be heartwarming, but it's just utterly unbelievable and really creepy. Whoever scripted this scene is tone deaf.

And a few scenes are just plain bizarre, as if they came from another movie.

This is such a shame. The actors were up for it, but the script writers and director gave them nothing to work with.
84 out of 117 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
This movie was a joke on all of us, right?
Hollywood_is_Dead7 February 2011
Warning: Spoilers
If you told me the writer(s) and director had just come to this planet and had never seen a movie or even read a book before, it still wouldn't completely excuse just how god-awful this movie was.

I'm not going to delve into the hows and whys of what made this movie so terrible because frankly I don't want to relive this picture. Just suffice it to say that yes, my wife and I did finish the movie. In the same way that you wouldn't turn away from a plane crash. But we both spent a majority of the time mouths agape or laughing out loud at something they didn't intend to be funny.

SPOILER ALERT *******

In the closing minutes, when McConaughey fell into the ocean, I made a prediction out loud that went like this:

"OK, let me guess ... a female dolphin, wearing lipstick, is going to swim up to McConaughey and instantly fall in love with him and start trying to hump him because let's face it, McConaughey is the most humpable thing in the universe (I said in a snarky way.)

And then .... McConaughey will yell in a panic to Sarah Jessica Parker "if you're gonna do something, do it faaAaaaaast! This fish looks horny!" Then a Screaming Sarah will throw a life-preserver, hit Matthew in the head, knock him out and have to dive in herself to save him. Meanwhile the boat drifts off into the sunset without them so a pod of adoring dolphins carries our two nitwits ashore with baby dolphins leading the way, throwing rose pedals."

OK, so I got the lipstick part wrong. And it didn't go quite as wacky as I predicted. But I got close enough that my Wife was like OH MY GOD - HOW could you possibly know that?!"

I told her I tried to think of the most asinine, ridiculous, wacky, cheesy, fifth grade, horrible idea I felt that Hollywood could possibly conjure up - then doubled it. That's how bad this movie is.

In closing : we should all slap a class-action suit on everyone involved with this picture and force them out of entertainment forever.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Failure To Engage The Audience At Any Point
missrljane5 May 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Tripp is a man in his thirties who still lives with his parents. His parents hire Paula to get him to move out. The film manages the set-up, but forgets to fill in the romance.

Matthew McConaughey as Tripp is off-putting to watch, and his accent so thick it is often difficult to understand what he is saying – and baffling, since no one else in the film, including his parents, share his accent. As for the character, he isn't given a personality or any depth, except for a sledge-hammered back story about a dead fiancée, which is dropped in towards the end of the film. Paula (Sarah Jessica Parker) repeatedly mentions how sweet Tripp is, but this sweetness must be going on off screen, as on screen he is constantly a jerk. There is also no chemistry between McConaughey and Parker which makes the so-called romance hard to notice. If it is there at all.

Paula is given even less personality than Tripp. All we know about her is that she gets men to move out of their parents' home professionally. She only refers to Tripp in terms of the job, so when after about half an hour we have to be told Paula has feelings for Tripp, it is a surprise. It certainly isn't in the performance or the dialogue. It would help if we saw she doing her job before being hired in to help Tripp. As it is, it is very confusing how she is so successful since she utterly fails in every aspect of her job with Tripp. And realising she is failing in her job, she sleeps with Tripp – for money. She becomes a prostitute, and doesn't bat an eyelid. How is this not an important plot development?

The film generally doesn't make sense and the scenes in which Tripp is attacked by a chipmunk/dolphin/lizard seem to have wandered in from a different genre, and fail to amuse. However, the scene in which Kit, Paula's house-mate, tries to buy a gun is very funny, the only funny moment of the film, mainly due to the performance by the salesman (Rob Corddry).

As for the supporting cast, Kathy Bates as Tripp's mum hams it up and Zooey Deschanel as Paula's house-mate phones in her usual tediously bored performance – this is obviously her selling point, but strangely enough, a bored actor is boring to watch.

Basically, Failure To Launch is an entirely disengaging film and forgets to actually put any romance in between the set-up and the finale.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Not at all like the trailer
lemmmary12 March 2006
The trailer was boring and I was sure I didn't want to see the movie. I am also not a big fan of Matt or Sarah. Luckily for me there was nothing "good" to see for date night out with the wife. So we decided to see "Failure to Launch". It was possibly the funniest movie so far this year. Great characters, great story, and loads of bust out laughing situations. Terry Bradshaw and Kathy Bates are crazy/funny and actually parents I would love to have. The rest of the cast, especially the character of Kit, are perfect for the parts played and extremely funny. This is just what it is supposed to be, a fun romp. Enjoy this movie and don't take it seriously like the guy from Canada.
126 out of 193 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Cute Movie
shrtsweet238512 March 2006
I really thought that this was a decent movie. I don't think that the commercials showed all the good parts either. It had plenty of parts that made me laugh out loud. I mean it did have some parts that were dry, and it reminded me of a different version of How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days, but I still liked it. I think that my favorite character would have to have been Kit, who is the roommate of Sarah Jessica Parkers character. I think that perhaps the main characters did not have the most humorous lines as their costars did, but each star mixed well in the movie. I think that if you are one of those people who like to watch girly movies, as I am, then you would definitely enjoy it.
48 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Lift Off!
tom-183710 March 2006
I'm just a guy who (doesn't live with his parent's) likes to be entertained. Our theater last night was packed and we couldn't stop laughing! This is a fun romantic comedy that leaves you feeling good. What I thought was going to be a predictable movie surprised me with characters that were endearing. Kathy Bates and Terry Bradshaw are great as the parent's. (Remember "Meet The Focker's?) Matthew McConaughey is the perfect "lovable loser" (and yes, he's wrapped in nothing but a towel in the first two minutes!) Sarah Jessica Parker has that charm and smile that would melt anyone's heart. The supporting cast is great! Matthew's 'live at home bud's' featuring Justin Bartha as "Ace" is the perfect "nerd" and Zooey Deschanel as "Kit" has a dry sense of humor often steals the scenes she shares with Sarah Jessica. Whether you still live at home or know someone who does, "Failure to Launch" lifts off.
85 out of 131 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Utter Crap.
timfletcher12 April 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Dross! Boring and predictable! After only ten minutes into the film, I could stake my life on what would happen at the end - and I was right.

I don't mind romantic comedies, but this is drivel. Even the "funny" moments; those slapstick scenes that are added to films to make you laugh uproariously, barely raised a smile (a chipmunk bit his finger – hysterical. A lizard bit his hand and he falls on his back– hilarious).

This film has no redeeming features whatsoever and even the inclusion of such comic genii as Matthew McConaughey and Sarah Jessica Parker couldn't get it going. What did I expect though, going to see a film with those two hams in the starring roles, they actually make Courteney Cox look funny. In my defence though, one night a week I do Support Work and my disabled employer wanted to go to the cinema. There was nothing on we hadn't already seen so we took a chance on this. Well, even he thought it was turd. I thought he was going to sack me!

If you want my advice, don't waste your time with this nonentity. I'd rather nail my eyelids to the floor than sit through this tripe again.
22 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
A Fun, Offbeat Romantic Comedy
blondie19728 February 2006
I got to see a preview of this the other night . . I went in thinking this was just another silly romantic comedy, but I must say I laughed a bit and enjoyed some of the crude humor. The audience I sat with loved it and laughed often, so I think this will do well in the theater especially those that enjoy Mr. McConaughey's abs and southern charm. There's actually some great nature shots with Dolphins and other fun-loving creatures, but I won't go into detail since it would spoil some of the crude humor in this flick. I think this would make a great date film since most of the film is told from the male perspective, so it's not your typical female male basher. Zooey Deschannel has some great moments as well with her deadpan looks and offbeat charm. There's no Oscar worthy performances here, just a fun silly, offbeat romantic comedy with a little um-nudity from Mr. Bradshaw (no frontal of course).
92 out of 145 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
When Animals Attack Bad Movies
shark-4314 August 2007
I was stunned at how bad this movie was - so predictable, so lame and another one of these Hollywood studio processed films where it doesn't even seem like reality - like it is this parallel universe that Hollywood creates where people have jobs like boat brokers and parent, grown son interventionist! They all have names like Ace, Demo, Kit, Tripp and Captain!! We all knew EXACTLY what was going to happen the minute Sara Jessica Parker says "I never have sex with a client." Gee - wonder if she will with Matthew - er, sorry - Tripp...I also cant believe that the movie invested sooooo much time in a subplot where someone wants to murder a mockingbird. Wow! That's funny! And obviously the studio found it hilarious whenever an animal attacks a human! Woo-hoo, that's some funny comedy - Billy Wilder could learn a thing or two from these fine filmmakers about what is truly funny. A chipmunk attacks, a dolphin attacks, a mockingbird bites the guy's nose like in a Goofy cartoon oh - and a lizard attacks - and after he does - they show him snickering - thus making the snickering lizard more three-dimensional than any of the supporting characters. Plus, it really was truly creepy what SJP's character tries to do - to "date" screwed-up, mainly lonely guys and make them think she likes them to try and get them to move out. The one other scene where they show her "working" - the guy is the typical fat, nerdy slob who quotes Star Wars and you watch her pretend to like him. Man! That is one creepy job there (almost as creepy as being a boat broker. I kid! I kid the boat brokers and all the members of The Boat Brokering Association). This movie is just a mind-freeze - watch point A move to Point B and then to Point C - now go home. The fact that this thing made TONS of money says it all.
27 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
I Launched My Lunch...
goosecap216 July 2006
...at the screen this film was so bad.

This is, arguably, the worst romantic comedy ever made. There is no witty repartee between characters, no situational comedy, no anything. Well, I take that back; you do get Terry Bradshaw's backside, but that is so gratuitous that it's not even worth a chuckle. Simply terrible film-making. If you read this, and still see the movie, you must hate yourself -- no other explanation would suffice.

As others have commented, the only attempted source of laughs in the script is the animal humor -- a few pointless, childish "jokes" where Matthew M. gets "attacked" by a chipmunk, dolphin, etc. It's as if the script was written by a four year-old -- and a wooden four year-old at that. It's hard to imagine a movie being *worse* than this. No way is this a 5.5 star flick -- even Sarah Jessica Parker could only rate this a 2-star effort. BE WARNED!!
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Appropriately named
Bookends12 March 2006
I had high hopes for this movie. After all, I love all of the cast members. However, somehow, it just didn't do it for me. It was as if the screenwriters didn't know who they wanted to try to please. The over the top farcical scenes would have worked in a different movie, and the relationship scenes would have worked in a different movie. I think that one of the subplots involving Zooey Deschanel (who literally steals the show) would have been more interesting to watch than either of the two leads. Matthew McConaughey is admittedly good looking to watch, but his abs and cast have been his supporting cast long enough. And as much as I have loved Sarah Jessica Parker, she's looking a bit long in the tooth here, and is definitely too old to play the part.

Grade: C (But only for Zooey's sake, I loved her!)
58 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
This is a TERRIBLE Movie - a contrived mess!
jack-55821 April 2006
Matthew M beefcake shots everywhere. Horrible, unbelievable storyline, oh and let's not forget the KWAAZY ANIMAL SEQUENCES! A lizard bites Matthew and then chuckles like a Budweiser chameleon. By the end it was so predictable in its lame attempts to tie the story together it was EXCRUCIATING! The only reason I didn't give Fs is because the actors at least showed up.

Poor Terry Bradshaw, he did okay until he agreed to prance around naked for cheap laughs. You how some movies go in and out in their quality? This one never comes out of the steaming pile that it is. I couldn't even find the director's name on the closing credits (probably too embarrassed).

Don't even waste a rental on this dreck!
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Worst movie I've seen all year
ssarahssmart7 April 2006
I watched & enjoyed "The Family Stone." I watched and forgot "How to Lose a Guy." I don't have impossible standard for films. I love romantic comedies, and if I want to see more one movie a year, I can't afford standards. But this film, "Failure to Launch," made me want to give up and stay home. I could have popped "Love, Actually" into the DVD player for the thousandth time and had a better, more rewarding evening. There are many many ways this movie went wrong, but I'd like to focus on the nail that sealed its coffin.

Two words . . .

Animatronic animals.

That's right . . . more than one. In this movie. Were you thinking "Must Love Dogs" or "The Wedding Date?" Think "Caddyshack" without the appeal.

Four separate animatronic animals appeared, one in a subplot which provided neither support nor counterpoint to the purported "main plot" (the romance between SJP & MM).

I wanted to like these subplot sections. Even with excessive sweat and scary, crazy eyes, I just love Bradley Cooper, but no actor on earth could have saved this movie.

If even one of these animatronic monstrosities had appeared in a trailer, I would have saved my $8. Maybe the failure was in marketing a low-ball comedy as a romantic comedy.

I don't ask that a romantic comedy be high art, but this was barely a romantic comedy at all.
16 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
The worst movie I've seen in years!!
she56110 June 2008
After wasting my time on this pathetic movie, I have made a decision not to ever watch another movie with Sara Jessica Parker. She has continued the exact same one dimensional acting in every single part she has ever played, this movie being no exception. She can't seem to get past playing "Carrie" no matter what the subject matter. One of the previous posters rightfully acknowledged SJP's habit of clutching at her abdomen and chest for effect in every single role she plays. Her high pitched screaming in every performance is the most irritating of all. I wonder how she continues to be cast in movies when she has no range as an actress.

While watching this movie I had the feeling that they must have rushed the production just to get it made. There are tons of errors and hardly a single thought is completed. All of the actors seem as though they would rather be somewhere else. It is not funny, clever or entertaining. Don't be drawn in by the trailer or any previews of this movie. It is the bottom of the barrel.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Worst Movie 2006
chester-3021 August 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is, TRULY, worse than a parking lot full of whale vomit. I didn't care about any of the characters and just wanted it to end before having to endure any more feelings of embarrassment at how ridiculous this film was. The story is simple: A man in his 30's still lives with his parents and, although he has a good job, he actually wants to live with his parents due to problems he has with relationships. His parents want him out and they hire a woman who specializes in getting older men to leave their parents' homes. So the girl comes to the guy and... WHO CARES! This movie is not worth anyones time and will--Guaranteed-- leave you with time and money that you will never be able to get back and you will regret it. There should be a good, old fashioned DVD burning on all copies of "Failure To Launch". Actually, we need to take all DVD copies of "Failure To Launch" and put them in a giant Microwave oven just to be sure they could never be used again. "Failure..." is my pick for worst movie of the year (obviously).
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A good time!
liza17279 March 2006
Being a huge SJP and Matthew fan- I of course went to see the movie. I was shocked and really pleased to see how much camera time Zooey Deschanel got. She was my favorite character in the movie- by far. I wasn't expecting that at all. Her facial expressions and deep voice were perfect for the quirky character she played. So now I am a huge fan of her's. Back to the movie. The plot was a little predictable (duh),but was truly a pleasurable one. I didn't go to the movie to be deeply moved- but I did go to see a great light-hearted film with an amazing cast. And I had success. I love Kathy Bates- so it's a plus that she's in it. Terry Bradshaw is naked at one point.....so rate that as you will. But all in all- a good time was had. Go see it.
52 out of 94 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
No romance, no comedy.
Steven Styers13 March 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Sturgeon's Law more than applies here: "90 per cent of everything is crud." There is no chemistry between any of the actors, the writing is on middle-school level, and any movie that dares to invoke Katharine Hepburn in one scene and then drags its characters through one contrived and pointless and flatly-acted episode after another is indeed crud. The only redeeming scenes were those featuring Zooey Daschanel, who brought some sincere charm and liveliness to her role, and there was the dolphin at the end. That dolphin was more engaging than most of the humans in this pitiful excuse for a romantic comedy. This movie was a major disappointment and a major waste of talent and time.
17 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Romantic comedy with a clever hook and some cute acting but not too much else!
secondtake6 August 2012
Failure to Launch (2006)

Another decent but sometimes strained interference with love film. I can think of two more classic recent ones, "Hitch" and "Heartbreaker," and this doesn't rise to those modest heights.

The impressive star of the two leads is the lesser name, charming and gorgeous Matthew McConaughey, who is not just believable but also compelling (which is something different). Across from him is the Sex and the City mega-star, Sarah Jessica Parker, who is good, and who does the job as a would-be pretend girlfriend who really does fall in love. Or not. You'll see.

The whole hook is an obvious one--first the woman is hired to make the man fall enough in love with him that he'll finally move out of his parents house. Then she'll collect her fee and boogie. But no, we know from the get-go, as with any screwball comedy, that the two leads are destined to be together. But when one learns the other's secret, what true love there was goes on the rocks. This is exactly what the other two films (above) did, and I'm sure it's a burgeoning new genre.

What drags it down a bit are the side plots and side characters. Many of these are good or even terrific one way or another, but it's all patched together and a little lightweight and thin. The best of these is Parker's roommate, played with Oscar-worthy dreariness by Zooey Deschanel (who also appeared in "(500) Days of Summer"). But the sideshows of the mockingbird, the biting dolphin, and even the baroque arrangement with the t.v. monitors in the final scenes are all a little clunky. Good on paper, maybe, but in the end you have to make yourself enjoy the best of it all, which will make you laugh and have fun.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
I liked it, but ...
ArizWldcat23 March 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Failure to Launch is a cute little romantic comedy that could have been a little better, but it's entertaining enough to be a fun way to spend the afternoon. Matthew McConaughey and Sarah Jessica Parker both do an admirable job with their roles (Trip and Paula). I enjoyed Zooey Deschanel, especially. I've never seen a poor performance from her. She should be getting more lead roles, in my humble opinion. Terry Bradshaw was credible as Trip's father, and Kathy Bates was marvelous, as usual. There were quite a few laughs in this movie, and enough action to keep me interested from beginning to end.

There are two things that bothered me. One is the silly subplot about the animals who kept biting McConaughey's character (huh??), and the scene near the end where Trip's "friends" were watching the couple on video screens in an internet cafe, and then were joined by nearly all of the patrons in the cafe. That scene made me squirm. I didn't find it at all funny...it also went on too long.

In a nutshell, this was a good enough movie...probably not a memorable one, but a fun way to spend an afternoon or evening.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
4.8 overall rating??? makes no sense...
jasonrenzi11 March 2006
look... i really don't understand you people.... nor do i understand what exactly it is you think you need to get out of a cinematic experience... this is a romantic comedy...taken within the context of this genre, i really can't see how it could have been much better...the cast was superb, the script was derivative but totally entertaining and highly amusing, the directing was very much above average... i just don't get it.... i simply can't see how a film of this type could be markedly improved upon... lighten up and try to enjoy a film for what it is...this movie will break no new ground, it will not win any awards, it will not resolve the world's pain... it is a fun, entertaining romantic ensemble comedy that will divert and amuse if you only allow it to do so... a 4.8 rating for this film is pretentious and hyper-critical...period.
67 out of 132 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Should've been better.
wmmwr15 March 2006
I went to see this film because I have admired Kathy Bates' acting for years. I must say that I am confused as to why she would accept a role so beneath her abilities. Given that, she could have brought life into her character.

As for Sarah Jessica Parker. Well, her ability to portray emotions ranges from clutching her chest to clutching her stomach. And when is this 40+ year old woman going to stop squealing like a stuck pig. Girls in middle school are able to express themselves better.

The male actors were, well, unimpressive at best.

The story line could've have been developed a lot more, with interesting banter and twists and turns. But it wasn't. Yet there were times when there were some good one-liners.

For a inexpensive matinée, why not. For a full priced movie ticket...
52 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Silly, Predictable But Entertains
Claudio Carvalho10 December 2006
Tripp (Matthew McConaughey) is a thirty-five years old bachelor man that still lives with his parents, Al (Terry Bradshaw) and Sue (Kathy Bates). Al and Sue hire the manipulative interventionist Paula (Sarah Jessica Parker) to play Tripp's girlfriend and seduce him, convincing Tripp to move out of their home. Paula and Tripp fall in love for each other, but Tripp's best friends Ace (Justin Bartha) and Demo (Bradley Cooper) accidentally find the truth about Paula and Demo discloses to Tripp, spoiling the plan and their relationship. When Tripp and Paula miss each other, their friends plot a scheme trying to arrange an encounter to fix the situation.

"Failure to Launch" is a silly and predictable romance, but entertains only because of the excellent cast. There is a great chemistry among the actors and actresses of this movie, keeping the interest of the viewer, in spite of a terrible and forgettable screenplay. The gorgeous Zooey Deschanel is the best in this flick performing Kit, the funny and complicated roommate of Paula. My vote is five.

Title (Brazil): "Armações do Amor" ("Tricks of Love")
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Horribly formulaic and poorly produced
gubon133 August 2006
As if it's not obvious enough from 60 seconds into the film what is going to happen, the production is so bad that the scenes don't even flow from one to the next without problems. Worse, it's a blatantly bad "chick flick" with uninspired acting. In their defense, the script isn't exactly War and Peace. The jokes are cookie-cutter. The characters are the type you'd expect from a bad romantic comedy - cartoonized representations of people we're supposed to relate to. Instead, the characters are flat out unconvincing and, in many cases, just plain annoying.

Save yourself the trouble and just rewatch any other romantic comedy that follows the same pattern: Person A like Person B. Person B likes Person A. Person B finds out that Person A is lying to him/her. Person B somehow makes it all better. Persons A and B live happily ever after in spite of all the grand lies.

At this point, I'm trying to convince everyone I know to skip every future Matthew McConaughey film until someone makes Dazed and Confused 2: Dazed-er and Confused-er...
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews