5.6/10
1,550
39 user 12 critic

Johnny Was (2006)

Trailer
1:49 | Trailer

Watch Now

From $2.99 (SD) on Prime Video

ON DISC
Johnny Doyle escapes a violent past in Ireland to lie low in London, until his former mentor Flynn breaks out of Brixton Prison, hell bent on derailing the Irish peace process with a few ... See full summary »

Director:

Writer:

Reviews
2 wins. See more awards »

Videos

Photos

Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

Action | Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.4/10 X  

The violent story of Jay and Jonnie Linski, two Polish-Irish brothers who try to come to terms with the brutal murder of their youngest sibling, Danny. The story follows the terrible ... See full summary »

Director: Jason Figgis
Stars: Emmett J Scanlan, Eoin Macken, Bill Fellows
Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.4/10 X  

When a 'bog body' a 2000 year old murder victim preserved in a peat bog is disturbed by developers in rural Ireland, an archaeologist, a hunter and their helpers face the task of sending him back where he came from.

Director: Brendan Foley
Stars: Vinnie Jones, Jason Barry, Nora-Jane Noone
Likvidator (2011)
Action | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.9/10 X  

A highly skilled bodyguard avenging his brother's untimely death uncovers a ring of corruption extending to the highest levels of society and government.

Director: Akan Satayev
Stars: Berik Aitzhanov, Vinnie Jones, Aziz Beyshenaliev
Played (2006)
Crime | Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.4/10 X  

An examination of the malevolent London underworld with its despicable criminal underground. Ray (Mick Rossi) just finished an eight-year prison sentence after getting set up. Now he is back on the streets to settle the score.

Director: Sean Stanek
Stars: Val Kilmer, Gabriel Byrne, Vinnie Jones
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.9/10 X  

An ex-convict's plans to turn legit go awry.

Director: Adam Rifkin
Stars: Vinny Argiro, James Caan, Donnie Montemarano
Nailed (2006)
Crime | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.4/10 X  

"Nailed" is a thriller about two men who break into a house in attempt to escape arrest by police, and find instead a man lying on a bed, covered in bandages, whose caretaker may have ... See full summary »

Director: Adrian O'Connell
Stars: Charles Porter, Wilson Jermaine Heredia, Sam Sarpong
Inversion II (2010)
Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.2/10 X  
Director: Allie Dvorin
Stars: Steve Crest, Andy Davoli, Kaitlin Doubleday
The Other Half II (2006)
Comedy | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5/10 X  

When English Mark surprises his American bride Holly with her dream honeymoon to Portugal she cant believe her luck. Mark goes to great trouble to organise everything for her. They arrive ... See full summary »

Directors: Richard Nockles, Marlowe Fawcett
Stars: Danny Dyer, Gillian Kearney, Jonathan Broke
The Riddle (Video 2007)
Crime | Drama | Mystery
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.3/10 X  

A journalist investigates a series of murders that follows the discovery of an unpublished novel by Charles Dickens in the cellar of an old Thames-side-pub. Gradually he becomes obsessed with unraveling a century-old murder in the pages of the manuscript. Only when he has done so, with the help of a mysterious beach-combing tramp who stalks the Thames foreshore, is he able to solve the modern ... See full summary »

Director: Brendan Foley
Stars: Mark Asante, Julie Cox, Vera Day
Action | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6/10 X  

A single father decides to break his dying wife's last wish to not box again in order to save his young son from certain death.

Director: Mark Mahon
Stars: Michael Madsen, Vinnie Jones, Patrick Bergin
Magic Boys (2012)
Adventure | Comedy | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3/10 X  

After witnessing a murder, a hapless pair of misfits escape their own near death experience by posing as male strippers - only to find themselves neck deep in even bigger trouble.

Directors: Róbert Koltai, Éva Gárdos
Stars: Vinnie Jones, Michael Madsen, Tamer Hassan
Boy Eats Girl (2005)
Comedy | Fantasy | Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.1/10 X  

A boy declares his love for his girlfriend, only to die the same night. He is brought back to life by his mother as a flesh-craving zombie, who sires more teen undead while trying to control his, er, appetite for his beloved.

Director: Stephen Bradley
Stars: Samantha Mumba, David Leon, Tadhg Murphy
Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
...
Johnny Doyle
...
Flynn
...
Michael
...
Julius
...
Ras
...
Rita
...
Nathan
...
Jimmy
...
Skip
...
Digs
...
Sparra
Colin Stewart ...
Druggie
...
DJ Fash
Emma Little Lawless ...
Cafe Waitress (as Emma Lyttle)
Heather Greenleese ...
Painter
Edit

Storyline

Johnny Doyle escapes a violent past in Ireland to lie low in London, until his former mentor Flynn breaks out of Brixton Prison, hell bent on derailing the Irish peace process with a few well-placed bombs. Unable to escape Brixton, they are trapped together in Johnny's anything-but-safe safe house, sandwiched between a Rastafarian reggae pirate radio station upstairs and a West Indian 'Yardie' crack-dealing gangster, Julius, downstairs. As the charismatic Flynn finds common ground with the Yardies, Johnny fights to realize a peace process of his own, but makes the mistake of falling for Julius's girlfriend Rita, causing all-out war. A thriller in the vein of Lock Stock and The Long Good Friday, in which questions of race, morality, identity and loyalty play out against a great sound-track of reggae, rock, new wave and soul. Written by Anon

Plot Summary | Plot Synopsis

Taglines:

Stop running. Face the future.


Motion Picture Rating (MPAA)

Rated R for violence, pervasive language, drug use and brief nudity | See all certifications »
Edit

Details

Country:

Language:

Release Date:

19 July 2006 (USA)  »

Also Known As:

Johnny Was - The last Days of a Good Guy  »

Edit

Box Office

Budget:

$4,300,000 (estimated)
See more on IMDbPro »

Company Credits

Show more on  »

Technical Specs

Sound Mix:

Color:

See  »
Edit

Did You Know?

Trivia

Vinnie Jones and John Fashanu were former professional footballers who played together at Wimbledon. See more »

Goofs

In the shootout scene with the police in chapter 10, the white police Vauxhall Vectra has the registration number ATM 874L, this is a 1972 registration and the car is clearly post 2000. See more »

Connections

References Fantasia (1940) See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
congrats from Canada for Rebelfest award
17 September 2006 | by See all my reviews

Attended Rebelfest in Toronto where this won the Sony Audience Award and as a fellow filmmaker enjoyed meeting some of the guys involved in making it.

The mix of voices in the movie was really different - Jamaican, Irish, English and a lot of people have commented on the soundtrack of reggae, which was well used.

Some aspects were not so great - technical production left a bit to be desired, but I suppose this is low budget indie problems always.

Acting wise I think Vinnie Jones was good and while I read some comment about him not doing a good Irish accent, unless I've completely missed the point I thought he was supposed to be a Londoner whose family came from Ireland, which would mean he spoke like a Londoner - which to my ears he did.

Another small grumble is that Roger Daltrey is very good but should have had a bigger role. He has an interesting character, but it just comes and goes.

I agree with the comments on Samantha Mumba - a bit too healthy looking for a junkie. On the other hand, Lennox Lewis, who I was expecting to be just a celeb cameo did really well in an interesting role as a DJ running an illegal music station.

Anyway - we enjoyed it, so congrats to cast and crew from someone who knows how hard it is to get indie movies made.


7 of 12 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you? | Report this
Review this title | See all 39 user reviews »

Contribute to This Page