5.5/10
1,618
40 user 13 critic

Johnny Was (2006)

Trailer
1:49 | Trailer
Johnny Doyle escapes a violent past in Ireland to lie low in London, until his former mentor Flynn breaks out of Brixton Prison, hell bent on derailing the Irish peace process with a few ... See full summary »

Director:

Mark Hammond

Writer:

Brendan Foley
Reviews
2 wins. See more awards »

Videos

Photos

Learn more

More Like This 

Played (2006)
Crime | Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.4/10 X  

An examination of the malevolent London underworld with its despicable criminal underground. Ray (Mick Rossi) just finished an eight-year prison sentence after getting set up. Now he is back on the streets to settle the score.

Director: Sean Stanek
Stars: Val Kilmer, Gabriel Byrne, Vinnie Jones
Boy Eats Girl (2005)
Comedy | Fantasy | Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5/10 X  

A boy declares his love for his girlfriend, only to die the same night. He is brought back to life by his mother as a flesh-craving zombie, who sires more teen undead while trying to control his, er, appetite for his beloved.

Director: Stephen Bradley
Stars: Samantha Mumba, David Leon, Tadhg Murphy
Nailed (2006)
Crime | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.1/10 X  

"Nailed" is a thriller about two men who break into a house in attempt to escape arrest by police, and find instead a man lying on a bed, covered in bandages, whose caretaker may have ... See full summary »

Director: Adrian O'Connell
Stars: Charles Porter, Wilson Jermaine Heredia, Sam Sarpong
McVicar (1980)
Crime | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.8/10 X  

'John McVicar' was a London Bad Boy. He graduated to armed bank robbery and was Britain's "Public Enemy No. 1". He was captured and put into a high security prison. Will even the highest ... See full summary »

Director: Tom Clegg
Stars: Roger Daltrey, Adam Faith, Cheryl Campbell
Blast (2004)
Action | Comedy | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.8/10 X  

A terrorist posing as environmentalist hijacks an oil rig off the coast of California with the intent of detonating an electromagnetic bomb over the US.

Director: Anthony Hickox
Stars: Eddie Griffin, Vinnie Jones, Breckin Meyer
7-10 Split (2007)
Comedy | Sport
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.4/10 X  

An aspiring actor whose career is in the dumps, exploits his amazing bowling skills to take the PBA by storm and becomes rich and famous, only to lose his best girl and best friend...

Director: Tommy Reid
Stars: Tara Reid, Ross Patterson, Clayne Crawford
The Other Half II (2006)
Comedy | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.9/10 X  

When English Mark surprises his American bride Holly with her dream honeymoon to Portugal she cant believe her luck. Mark goes to great trouble to organise everything for her. They arrive ... See full summary »

Directors: Richard Nockles, Marlowe Fawcett
Stars: Danny Dyer, Gillian Kearney, Jonathan Broke
Action | Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.4/10 X  

The violent story of Jay and Jonnie Linski, two Polish-Irish brothers who try to come to terms with the brutal murder of their youngest sibling, Danny. The story follows the terrible ... See full summary »

Director: Jason Figgis
Stars: Emmett J Scanlan, Eoin Macken, Bill Fellows
The Riddle (Video 2007)
Crime | Drama | Mystery
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5/10 X  

A journalist investigates a series of murders that follows the discovery of an unpublished novel by Charles Dickens in the cellar of an old Thames-side-pub. Gradually he becomes obsessed with unraveling a century-old murder in the pages of the manuscript. Only when he has done so, with the help of a mysterious beach-combing tramp who stalks the Thames foreshore, is he able to solve the modern ... See full summary »

Director: Brendan Foley
Stars: Mark Asante, Julie Cox, Vera Day
Shaft (2000)
Action | Crime | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.9/10 X  

New York City police detective John Shaft (nephew of the original 1970s detective) goes on a personal mission to make sure the son of a real estate tycoon is brought to justice after a racially-motivated murder.

Director: John Singleton
Stars: Samuel L. Jackson, Vanessa Williams, Christian Bale
Action | Adventure | Sci-Fi
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6/10 X  

Hoping to alter the events of the past, a 19th century inventor instead travels 800,000 years into the future, where he finds humankind divided into two warring races.

Director: Simon Wells
Stars: Guy Pearce, Yancey Arias, Mark Addy
Crime | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.5/10 X  

Brothers Martina and Luca travel from Las Vegas to Hollywood. Along the way they meet two convicts and Cherie a showgirl who flees his representative. The convicts kidnap Martina and force Luca to carry a 3 million bag.

Director: Fabio Segatori
Stars: Antonio Cupo, Bianca Guaccero, Caprice Bourret
Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
Vinnie Jones ... Johnny Doyle
Patrick Bergin ... Flynn
Laurence Kinlan ... Michael
Eriq La Salle ... Julius
Lennox Lewis ... Ras
Samantha Mumba ... Rita
Mark Asante Mark Asante ... Nathan
Roger Daltrey ... Jimmy
Sam Sarpong ... Skip
Charles Porter ... Digs
Wilson Jermaine Heredia ... Sparra
Colin Stewart Colin Stewart ... Druggie
John Fashanu ... DJ Fash
Emma Little Lawless Emma Little Lawless ... Cafe Waitress (as Emma Lyttle)
Heather Greenleese Heather Greenleese ... Painter
Edit

Storyline

Johnny Doyle escapes a violent past in Ireland to lie low in London, until his former mentor Flynn breaks out of Brixton Prison, hell bent on derailing the Irish peace process with a few well-placed bombs. Unable to escape Brixton, they are trapped together in Johnny's anything-but-safe safe house, sandwiched between a Rastafarian reggae pirate radio station upstairs and a West Indian 'Yardie' crack-dealing gangster, Julius, downstairs. As the charismatic Flynn finds common ground with the Yardies, Johnny fights to realize a peace process of his own, but makes the mistake of falling for Julius's girlfriend Rita, causing all-out war. A thriller in the vein of Lock Stock and The Long Good Friday, in which questions of race, morality, identity and loyalty play out against a great sound-track of reggae, rock, new wave and soul. Written by Anon

Plot Summary | Plot Synopsis

Taglines:

Stop running. Face the future.


Motion Picture Rating (MPAA)

Rated R for violence, pervasive language, drug use and brief nudity | See all certifications »
Edit

Details

Country:

UK

Language:

English

Release Date:

19 July 2006 (USA) See more »

Also Known As:

Johnny Was - The last Days of a Good Guy See more »

Edit

Box Office

Budget:

$4,300,000 (estimated)
See more on IMDbPro »

Company Credits

Show more on IMDbPro »

Technical Specs

Sound Mix:

Dolby Digital

Color:

Color
See full technical specs »
Edit

Did You Know?

Trivia

Vinnie Jones and John Fashanu were former professional footballers who played together at Wimbledon. See more »

Goofs

In the shootout scene with the police in chapter 10, the white police Vauxhall Vectra has the registration number ATM 874L, this is a 1972 registration and the car is clearly post 2000. See more »

Connections

References Fantasia (1940) See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
cleaning house
24 September 2006 | by wrlangSee all my reviews

Johnny Was is a great Irish movie about criminals doing the right thing. Jones plays an ex-IRA operative trying to lay low after a bombing gone wrong until he can make a new life. Two of his old buddies (Bergin, Daltrey, Kinlin) who escape from prison and track him down to get revenge. They meet up with La Salle who is a drug dealer and Lewis the Rasta radio jock with a huge local following and Mumba who plays the drug dealers girl. They make try and scam each other until it all catches up with them in a very well thought out climax that left me with a smirk on my face. Not particularly fast paced, but the end is worth the wait.


11 of 16 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you? | Report this
Review this title | See all 40 user reviews »

Contribute to This Page

Free Movies and TV Shows You Can Watch Now

On IMDb TV, you can catch Hollywood hits and popular TV series at no cost. Select any poster below to play the movie, totally free!

Browse free movies and TV series



Recently Viewed