5.7/10
1,568
39 user 12 critic

Johnny Was (2006)

Trailer
1:49 | Trailer

Watch Now

From $2.99 (SD) on Prime Video

ON DISC
Johnny Doyle escapes a violent past in Ireland to lie low in London, until his former mentor Flynn breaks out of Brixton Prison, hell bent on derailing the Irish peace process with a few ... See full summary »

Director:

Mark Hammond

Writer:

Brendan Foley
Reviews
2 wins. See more awards »

Videos

Photos

Learn more

More Like This 

Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.9/10 X  

An ex-convict's plans to turn legit go awry.

Director: Adam Rifkin
Stars: Vinny Argiro, James Caan, Donnie Montemarano
Nailed (2006)
Crime | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.4/10 X  

"Nailed" is a thriller about two men who break into a house in attempt to escape arrest by police, and find instead a man lying on a bed, covered in bandages, whose caretaker may have ... See full summary »

Director: Adrian O'Connell
Stars: Charles Porter, Wilson Jermaine Heredia, Sam Sarpong
Action | Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.4/10 X  

The violent story of Jay and Jonnie Linski, two Polish-Irish brothers who try to come to terms with the brutal murder of their youngest sibling, Danny. The story follows the terrible ... See full summary »

Director: Jason Figgis
Stars: Emmett J Scanlan, Eoin Macken, Bill Fellows
Slipstream (2005)
Action | Sci-Fi | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.6/10 X  

A scientist goes to a bank to meet a pretty bank-teller. His time-machine allows him to go 10 minutes back in time and correct his approaches to her. He's shadowed by 2 FBI agents and the bank gets robbed.

Director: David van Eyssen
Stars: Sean Astin, Vinnie Jones, Ivana Milicevic
Played (2006)
Crime | Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.4/10 X  

An examination of the malevolent London underworld with its despicable criminal underground. Ray (Mick Rossi) just finished an eight-year prison sentence after getting set up. Now he is back on the streets to settle the score.

Director: Sean Stanek
Stars: Val Kilmer, Gabriel Byrne, Vinnie Jones
The Other Half II (2006)
Comedy | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5/10 X  

When English Mark surprises his American bride Holly with her dream honeymoon to Portugal she cant believe her luck. Mark goes to great trouble to organise everything for her. They arrive ... See full summary »

Directors: Richard Nockles, Marlowe Fawcett
Stars: Danny Dyer, Gillian Kearney, Jonathan Broke
Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.4/10 X  

When a 'bog body' a 2000 year old murder victim preserved in a peat bog is disturbed by developers in rural Ireland, an archaeologist, a hunter and their helpers face the task of sending him back where he came from.

Director: Brendan Foley
Stars: Vinnie Jones, Jason Barry, Nora-Jane Noone
The Riddle (Video 2007)
Crime | Drama | Mystery
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.3/10 X  

A journalist investigates a series of murders that follows the discovery of an unpublished novel by Charles Dickens in the cellar of an old Thames-side-pub. Gradually he becomes obsessed with unraveling a century-old murder in the pages of the manuscript. Only when he has done so, with the help of a mysterious beach-combing tramp who stalks the Thames foreshore, is he able to solve the modern ... See full summary »

Director: Brendan Foley
Stars: Mark Asante, Julie Cox, Vera Day
Drama | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.9/10 X  

A group of people in a post-apocalyptic world fight to survive against a band of vicious cannibals.

Director: Mark Young
Stars: Michael Madsen, Vinnie Jones, Rachel Miner
Crime | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.6/10 X  

Brothers Martina and Luca travel from Las Vegas to Hollywood. Along the way they meet two convicts and Cherie a showgirl who flees his representative. The convicts kidnap Martina and force Luca to carry a 3 million bag.

Director: Fabio Segatori
Stars: Antonio Cupo, Bianca Guaccero, Caprice Bourret
Horror | Sci-Fi | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 2.7/10 X  

This high-tech, psychological thriller is set in the shadowy world of the Internet. Sondra Brummel is recovering from a skiing accident in her boyfriend's mansion, and accidently contacts a... See full summary »

Director: Nico Mastorakis
Stars: Nastassja Kinski, Jeffery Dean, Nicollette Sheridan
Blast (2004)
Action | Comedy | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.8/10 X  

A terrorist posing as environmentalist hijacks an oil rig off the coast of California with the intent of detonating an electromagnetic bomb over the US.

Director: Anthony Hickox
Stars: Eddie Griffin, Vinnie Jones, Breckin Meyer
Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
Vinnie Jones ... Johnny Doyle
Patrick Bergin ... Flynn
Laurence Kinlan ... Michael
Eriq La Salle ... Julius
Lennox Lewis ... Ras
Samantha Mumba ... Rita
Mark Asante ... Nathan
Roger Daltrey ... Jimmy
Sam Sarpong ... Skip
Charles Porter ... Digs
Wilson Jermaine Heredia ... Sparra
Colin Stewart Colin Stewart ... Druggie
John Fashanu ... DJ Fash
Emma Little Lawless Emma Little Lawless ... Cafe Waitress (as Emma Lyttle)
Heather Greenleese Heather Greenleese ... Painter
Edit

Storyline

Johnny Doyle escapes a violent past in Ireland to lie low in London, until his former mentor Flynn breaks out of Brixton Prison, hell bent on derailing the Irish peace process with a few well-placed bombs. Unable to escape Brixton, they are trapped together in Johnny's anything-but-safe safe house, sandwiched between a Rastafarian reggae pirate radio station upstairs and a West Indian 'Yardie' crack-dealing gangster, Julius, downstairs. As the charismatic Flynn finds common ground with the Yardies, Johnny fights to realize a peace process of his own, but makes the mistake of falling for Julius's girlfriend Rita, causing all-out war. A thriller in the vein of Lock Stock and The Long Good Friday, in which questions of race, morality, identity and loyalty play out against a great sound-track of reggae, rock, new wave and soul. Written by Anon

Plot Summary | Plot Synopsis

Taglines:

Stop running. Face the future.


Motion Picture Rating (MPAA)

Rated R for violence, pervasive language, drug use and brief nudity | See all certifications »
Edit

Details

Country:

UK

Language:

English

Release Date:

19 July 2006 (USA) See more »

Also Known As:

Johnny Was - The last Days of a Good Guy See more »

Edit

Box Office

Budget:

$4,300,000 (estimated)
See more on IMDbPro »

Company Credits

Show more on IMDbPro »

Technical Specs

Sound Mix:

Dolby Digital

Color:

Color
See full technical specs »
Edit

Did You Know?

Trivia

Lennox Lewis spent his honeymoon in Belfast filming the movie less than a week after the wedding in Jamaica. See more »

Goofs

In the shootout scene with the police in chapter 10, the white police Vauxhall Vectra has the registration number ATM 874L, this is a 1972 registration and the car is clearly post 2000. See more »

Connections

References The Godfather (1972) See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
congrats from Canada for Rebelfest award
17 September 2006 | by denvereverwoodSee all my reviews

Attended Rebelfest in Toronto where this won the Sony Audience Award and as a fellow filmmaker enjoyed meeting some of the guys involved in making it.

The mix of voices in the movie was really different - Jamaican, Irish, English and a lot of people have commented on the soundtrack of reggae, which was well used.

Some aspects were not so great - technical production left a bit to be desired, but I suppose this is low budget indie problems always.

Acting wise I think Vinnie Jones was good and while I read some comment about him not doing a good Irish accent, unless I've completely missed the point I thought he was supposed to be a Londoner whose family came from Ireland, which would mean he spoke like a Londoner - which to my ears he did.

Another small grumble is that Roger Daltrey is very good but should have had a bigger role. He has an interesting character, but it just comes and goes.

I agree with the comments on Samantha Mumba - a bit too healthy looking for a junkie. On the other hand, Lennox Lewis, who I was expecting to be just a celeb cameo did really well in an interesting role as a DJ running an illegal music station.

Anyway - we enjoyed it, so congrats to cast and crew from someone who knows how hard it is to get indie movies made.


7 of 12 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you? | Report this
Review this title | See all 39 user reviews »

Contribute to This Page



Recently Viewed