Supernova (TV Movie 2005) Poster

(2005 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
67 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Awful
mixmasterreece16 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
For those who missed the end : Luke Perry's calculations were incorrect and he had put a + instead of a - in his calculations meaning that the sun was not going to blow up. All of the great minds of America decided it not wise to check the doomsday predictions of one man, deciding instead to just take his word for it. But thats what happens when you get some Beverly Hills 90210 burnout to conduct some Astro Physics research and hire an arab, a Jamaican and a bimbo as his incompetent colleagues.

Perry's mentor who first read his findings and discovered the impending doom of the world did what anyone else would do in the same situation, namely not tell a soul and instead go hang around a beach in South Africa with a blonde local waitress

In breakthrough technology scientists can now watch giant fireballs hurtling towards earth at great speeds by using extremely intelligent satellites which can stand in the path of the fireball whilst filming and then flip round the back of it afterwards to get the perfect shot while it smashes into earth.

A fireball the size of a bus hurtled into earth blowing up a shed with an essential character in it, but had mercy on other buildings leaving them unscathed. In a interesting plot twist the Sydney Opera house was revealed to be made out of wet cardboard when a person hurtled into it after a fireball attack and smashed a hole the size of a small house in it.

Reaffirming my earlier suspicion that fireballs are mans greatest natural predator scenes of fireballs picking out humans and leaving the ground around them unscathed has effected my ability to sleep at night. Also a tip on public safety, when under fireball attack do not hide in well known monuments such as the Taj Mahal or the Eiffel Tower as Fireballs instinctively hunt these landmarks out.

It would also seem that little to my knowledge Australia and South Africa look exactly the same. It also came to me as quite a surprise that white Australians have Black African slaves that call them 'Maam'and never fear if one of them gets shot because more just keep popping up everywhere. It also bears mentioning that there slaves have safe houses on sprawling properties for you to hide out in when being hunted escaped convicts. Another point that is going to have be changed in text books worldwide is that the death penalty is an active part of the Australian legal system.

Gamma rays pounded into earth scaring some birds. When it gets hot dolphins cant handle the heat and all beach. The government decided to only protect Food stores from rioters because "They can have the booze we wont be needing it" much to the delight of rioting Alcoholics and Luke 'Black Liver' Perry. In a startling revelation about human nature it turns out that when it get hot humans decide to riot and set fire to everything around them in an attempt to cool down. Also we got a look into the mind of a rioter when the mob was faced with an angry police force instead of banding together they decided to attack their fellow rioters.

Still showing hes 'Got it' Matthew Perry found the time (in between pondering the fate of the world and saving his family from a killer) to spade 3 girls and also discuss at length why a 16 year old girl was at a party, proving that even when your wife and child are days away from dying not even the Apocalypse can stop a man like Luke Perry making a run at some Asian poon.

A sinister scheme was uncovered by the government to firstly hide the fact that sun was going to blowup, hoping that nobody would notice the fireballs, extreme heat,millions of people dying around them, the disappearance of the sun and the fact that the sea has become the worlds largest deep fryer, hoping that people would write it off as some sort of freaky eclipse or just blame it on that pesky el nino. The 2nd part of this scheme involved rounding up the worlds greatest minds, that by chance were all in Australia at the time and hiding them underground when the sun blows up. All designed for an ambitious attempt to sort out the ensuing over heating problem with a little dry ice and then bring them out of hiding after it 'all blows over' and begin construction of the new sun.

In an ambitious move Wayne's Asian Girlfriend from Wayne's World decided to drive from Sydney to St Louis with only her good looks and ill conceived idea to aid her. Unfortunately her cross continental driving trip was cut short by a bullet wound 10 minutes out of town but not before using her final breath to add to Luke Perry's swelling ego by telling him that he quite a catch.

A group of scientists decided to back up all the data and leave it for someone to find after everyone in the world is boiled to death. A child murder took little notice of the approaching Armageddon and decided instead to travel halfway across Australia to kill a little girl.Then Luke got back to his family and jumped into the bizarre and not explained sub plot, killing the murder who showed determination and a will to succeed that should be applauded, his demonstration of keeping 'your eye on the prize' will surely appear in the next Tony Robbins 'power hour'.

Also another tip for would be heroes, when you find out that world isn't going to end don't bother telling anybody, instead copulate with your wife and let everybody outside kill each other in riots.
53 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Poorly researched
imdb-1042011 November 2005
This movie is full of holes. It's the middle of the day in Sydney at the same time as the Sahara, India and what I presume to be Central America, when they're all meant to be in Australia they keep changing the side of the road that they're driving on, the number plates are not Australian (the cars either), half the street signs don't even exist here, waitresses in cafés don't wear uniforms (except at Starbucks), the only Australian accents are terrible, the desert scenes are definitely more like 14 than 4 hours drive from Sydney - everything about Australia in particular is just wrong! And that's because clearly none of it was shot in Australia. Oh and incidentally - we don't have the death penalty in Australia.

Extend that analysis to pretty much every other aspect of the movie and the only conclusion you can draw is that whoever wrote the script lives on a desert island without so much as an Internet connection. Even the Sun manages to explode on only one lateral plane (that which includes the orbit of Earth), and when the city's burning, the riot police waste their water on looters.

It's really difficult to tell what's going on where (and when) because of all these obvious inconsistencies. It wasn't until Luke Perry says "St Louis is half way around the other side of the world" that I really became convinced that they were meant to be in Australia. Couple all of that with a triumvirate of bad special effects, flat acting and a recycled doomsday premise and you've got a real stinker. A complete waste of time if you ask me.

Still, it wasn't as bad as The Perfect Storm.
55 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Don't waste your time on this
Mel J31 December 2005
What can I say about this? Well, firstly, there is no need for me to give a summary of this mini-series when people can just easily refer to the standard disaster film formula: smart guy with all the answers, pretty but tough woman, cute kid, corrupt government agent/politician/business man who is only interested in some greedy proposition and some CGI effects. There isn't a sweet little dog that, of course, survives deadly situations but the script writer does toss in a serial killer who escapes. There are also destruction by meteors that seem to be intelligent with the way they just know how to land on structures of significance ('Oh look, there's the Taj Mahal- let's blow it up. There's the Sydney Opera House- get it! Look the scientist who can set everyone straight; he has to go!').

Basically, 'Supernova' has been done many times before and the previous efforts have been much superior. The science behind the concept is so ridiculous that they resort to techno-babble in the hopes the audience won't notice. Although the story is supposedly set in Australia, the director and the actors don't seem to know this and are confused whether the location should be America, Australia, the UK or South Africa (the shift in scenery and accents just gets irritating after the first half-hour). While one can't blame the CGI effects for being far from great given the lower budget of the series, this could have been avoided if it hadn't bothered to show off.

What could have save 'Supernova' was if the plot was solid and the characters were interesting but it didn't even have that. The characters were so flat and uninspiring that they just left the audience praying that sun would just swallow these people up, and the plot was tedious and too drawn-out.

If you want a disaster film, stick with 'The Day After Tomorrow' or 'Independence Day'. They too may be predictable but they know it and do it well!
25 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Superbore, anyone?
micdavey20 November 2005
Everything in this movie is absolutely shocking. Ridiculous scenarios, stupid characters, mundane dialogue, if it's bad, this movie has it. But the funniest thing in this movie has to be the massive errors in geography. As has already been pointed out, no one in Sydney seems to have an Australian accent; they're all British, American or badly pseudo-Australian. One viewer pointed out that Australia doesn't have the death penalty; not quite true. You can still be executed for treason in Australia, but that's it; mass murderers spend the rest of their lives in prison. Also, the term "recitles" is never used in Australia to denote a musical or drama performance done by school kids (at least not in Adelaide, where I come from). This is an Amreican term that the American makers of this film clearly assumed would be used everywhere else in the world. However, there was another howler that had me in stitches. A section of the film is supposedly set in the Maldives. The Maldives lie no more than six metres above sea level, yet there are gigantic mountains covered in lush rain-forests. Obviously, no research went into these geographic aspects of the movie.
36 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
The spirit of Ed Wood is amongst us!
lindensong11 November 2005
The Sun cuts loose and attacks the Earth! This must surely be one of the worst movies ever made - an abysmal script, ridiculous sets and effects, woeful actors, outrageously poor accents, unbelievable story, ridiculous conclusion, etc, etc It's like a Godzilla movie, but without the finely-tuned character development and deeply thought-out plot - hell, it makes Godzilla look like Shakespeare.

Set in Sydney - oh really?? did they do ANY research AT ALL? Do they have any clue what an Australian accent actually sounds like? Peter Fonda has a sort of minor role - boy, he must have been pretty hard up for money to accept a role in such a turkey.

Plan 9 From Outer Space updated to the 21st century!
36 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Definitely awful !
sun7_25 January 2006
This "movie" was broad-casted last night on a french network. I couldn't believe my eyes how bad it was. There's absolutely nothing good about it. I mean nothing. Acting was zero, "science" completely stupid, backgrounds and CGI look like being painted by a 50's artist, and so on. I understand that even better artists need sometimes to pay big taxes so they have to play in second choice productions...But please ! Not in such a crap ! About location : Cape Town, South Africa, is perfectly recognizable in most exterior scenes (Table Mountain with Signal Hill on its right when looking from the sea; the business center of the city; even in some street scenes you can see typical buildings with Old Cape Dutch style; the license plates are definitely capetonians; on a house wall there is a plate claiming that the house is protected by Chubb Security Company; in one scene you can see a train, which is a Metro one, used in CPT,...etc.).

A "movie" to forget. There's nothing else to do with it.
36 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Bomb!
winner553 October 2007
Why, oh why, do I keep getting suckered by promotional trailers for DVDs? Anyway, if you have seen the promo trailers for this film, be warned: they are clearly concerning another film never made, brief clips of which showing up in this one for no discernible reason whatsoever.

The principle problem here is a script that thinks it's a remake of "The Day After" but which would fit just about any daytime soap-opera. Since the premise of the film derives from astro-physics, the finale - a typically empty 'happy ending', having absolutely no grounding in any science whatsoever - makes no sense whatsoever.

Although the film actually avoids religion, let's put the matter in religious terms for clarification: Imagine Judgment Day; and God is really pee-ed off and decides no one is worth saving. Suddenly, Peter Pan's Tinkerbell pops up and reminds God that if he really really believes, creation can be saved. God smiles down on a half-dozen soap-opera stars (no, they haven't repented, what's to repent?), and suddenly we're all back in Eden.... - Scientifically speaking, that's "Supernova".

What brilliant con-artist convinced anybody this film could be made? And who are the emotionally troubled people who would like this garbage? By the way, if you're wondering whether one could watch this turkey all the way through, the answer is no; after giving it some 20 minutes, sheer boredom demanded I started skipping scenes sequentially trying to find something interesting to watch. I didn't. But I did watch the whole of the finale to see if there was anything important I'd missed. There wasn't.

And there wouldn't be anything important missed if you skipped the whole film.
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Supernova is a Super No No
Hubert Jassol10 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Peter Fonda is a famous astrophysicist who discovers that the sun is about to explode so he does what anyone would do - runs off to the Maldives to drink, eat lobster and sleep with some blonde barmaid. Luke Perry is his colleague whose wife and daughter are being pursued by an escaped serial killer as he gallivants about the countryside with Tia Carrere who is a turncoat federal agent while the earth is being destroyed by fireballs emanating from the sun. Fireballs which, by the way, have the accuracy of laser guided bombs as demonstrated when Fonda's beach hut is destroyed, killing him and blondie, while the immediately surrounding flora is left completely unscathed.

Had enough yet? No? Okay, Luke ultimately saves the world by discovering that Peter's original formula was missing a minus sign and, with that news, the sun immediately stops hurling fireballs and decides to behave like a good little sun, the worldwide rioting and looting stops, entire cities which were destroyed are now deemed "just a scratch", Luke's wife shoots and kills the serial-killer bad guy, and the rain comes to put out all the fires. All is right in the world once again, so Luke and his wife and daughter go to the beach to build sand castles and have a barbecue.

Why have I told you all this? To save you from wasting 3 hours of your life by watching this abominable piece of garbage - that's why. You can thank me later.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Made for TV!
butterfly_tes31 January 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I have read that many Australians, understandably, commented on the lack of research and logic placed in this film. While those comments are all warranted and supported by all who watch 'Supernova', I would like to put a few things into perspective.

I know quite a few South Africans who starred in this movie. Most of them having good resumes and known for their high caliber of acting. I was horrified to hear that quite a few of their voices were dubbed into ridiculous sounding 'Australian' accents without any initial knowledge before or during filming, that they were in Australia. Initially it was meant to be an undisclosed location. This knowledge alone made me take a gallon of salt in hand while watching this 'movie.' I feel that the producers of this movie not only undermined the actors but Australians too. Yes, it is simply a made for TV movie, however, when I read the comments posted about the lack of attention to detail with regards to facts such as the death penalty, accents and actors, I need to defend our local talent in SA. Granted the film starred the out of date and generally out of work, Luke Perry. It needs to be reminded that this is a B Grade movie and should be taken that way. It cannot be compared to other end of the world saga's and after the opening scenes should definitely not be torn apart to look for logic, when it is clear to all who watch this movie that logic and research have not been added into the making of this movie at all.

We have a thriving industry of actors, producers, directors and playwrights in South Africa and unfortunately due to lack of publicity and the fact that it is more cost effective to film in South Africa, these hardworking people are often reduced to acting in movies, that they can hardly bear to watch themselves.

Everyone has to start somewhere and better known actors such as Peter Fonda should have their acting ability and judgment questioned more than the 'glorified extra's' who are simply taking whatever they can get. Do you really think that any person who is indirectly or directly involved in the film industry would knowingly attach their name to this?? It is also necessary to bear in mind that producers have far more say when it comes to the final cut and editing. When it comes to blaming people about the atrocities and lack of basic research, generally the fingers should be pointed at them.

I agree with the general consensus of comments posted. I don't feel that it is the worst movie ever made as I have had to unfortunately sit through many movies far worse than this one. Most made for TV movies are second rate, not all, as there are always one or two exceptions an example: "Angels in America." In general most TV movies are cheaply made and with production eerily similar to that of fast food chains!

My comments are not to defend the movie or the actor's performances within the movie but to make viewers aware that final editing boils down to production. Once an actor has done their part it can and often is changed for mass market and quick production which always results in an inaccurate and low quality film!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Bloody awful
eggamoobymuffin-211 November 2005
It seems they tried so hard to get the Aussies off side in this one. With great success! Where do I start with the inconsistencies? Lets start with, all the officials being American (I mean I know our PM is weak and easily led by Bush but really), and the news reporters British and American. Is this realistic? Cmon. This movie would've gone a lot better if Aussie A-List actors put on their flawless Yankee accents (mind you I'm sure they had better projects to work on.) Luke perry... Need I say more? The poor bastard is balding and pathetic. The rest followed suit. There is one line I found even more annoying than the rest of it. Perry's wife says that she wants to go home where she can be safer. Are you kidding? Perhaps she shouldn't be walking around her daughter and home with a gun (so illegal here BTW.) Pathetic, offensive and a complete waste of time. As as matter of fact it is on my TV now. I have chosen instead to warn anyone who feels their time is valuable. Its ashame that the production costs for this atrocity couldn't be put towards a real cause. Can this production team say 'continuity expert'?
23 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
It was South Africa
markbutcher915 December 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I agree that this was one of the worst films I've ever seen. I'm sure it'll become cult because of it. I saw this on Sky TV in the UK, which is normally pretty good at filtering out the worst US TV - this time their schedulers let themselves down terribly.

But on the most contentious issue about the death penalty. It was in South Africa. The news report clearly, although only once, mentioned Pretoria. I think Luke Perry and Tia Carrere were in SA. The labs were in Australia - and then the US military were in the US (where they should always stay). Did some captioning go astray? Along with the script, acting, dialogue, the special effect budget and everything else that's needed for a movie? This movie was so badly researched - the scene in the 'Maldives' with a big mountain?! The country is only 5 meters above the ocean at its highest point. And as a sacristy Muslim nation - only allows alcohol on authorized islands run by the Government. Not a wooden beach side shack with a single white woman! The producers could have chosen a million other destinations that would have made more sense.

I nearly switched off, but I was hoping the producers had a surprise up their sleeve at the end - like the Earth really ending, but then the scientists discovered a flaw in their equations (which they had to repeat several times in case we missed it) and the Earth was saved - but not the movie. This is a terrible film. An earlier contributor likened it to Plan 9 From Outer Space - a perfectly fair comparison.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
FilmCreature Reviews 'Supernova' (2005)
FilmCreature25 September 2007
SuperNova is an astonishingly cheeseball TV disaster miniseries--not that I expected much more than that. The acting is truly awful, the plot is utterly riddled with clichés. The Spunky Hero (Luke Perry) has to stop the sun from exploding or something like that. Tia Carrere plays his butt-kickin FBI gal pal. But there's no friskiness between these two--he's got a loving wife and adorable daughter at home.

Who are in danger from (*gasp*) a RAPIST! The series stupidly segue-ways from an exploding sun to a convicted rapist going after the Loving Wife and the Adorable Daughter.

The Adorable Daughter is played by Eliza Bennett, who sadly had to take a stop in this miniseries before she stars in the highly anticipated 2008 fantasy film 'Inkheart,' also starring Brendan Fraser and Paul Bettany. And Helen Mirren and Jim Broadbent.

You get my point. There are probably people with potential talent here, but is is, of course, wasted in this awful film. Don't pick this one up.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
bad science, bad research, and bad acting
rickbarry11 November 2005
Oh where to begin? Leaving the incredibly bad science out of it (and believe me, as a former astronomer I gotta say the science was so bad!), the people who made this movie did obviously NO research on what Australia is supposed to look like.

Not only did just about everyone have an American accent (and most of those who affected an Aussie accent need to fire their dialect coach), but just about every detail was way, way off. I could handle some of the small stuff (i.e. phone numbers here have 8 digits, not 7), but they got some pretty major stuff wrong too.

Whlle the cars were at least driving on the left, they all had the wrong kind (possibly European) of licence plates. Aussie plates don't look anything like what they had. Imagine a movie set in New York where all the cars had bright pink tags.

But the BIGGEST blunder that anyone who had ever set foot on this continent would recognise: Australia doesn't have the death penalty. Like in most civilised nations, it was abolished years ago. This was a major plot point in the movie, and if they had bothered to do a lick of research, they would have known they needed a major rewrite.

Sloppy
33 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Core story promising, but padded out and lost
strangeman21125 September 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This is a standard end-of-the-world flick with low end special effects even for a TV movie. Some of the performances were worthy efforts, some of the dialogue was good, but not nearly enough. The plot often felt cobbled together, more like a rough draft. However, I had the sense that there might have once been a decent screenplay, but, perhaps once out of the writer's hands, it got rewritten innumerable times under the direction of some suit. You could almost hear the keys cutting and pasting in the script. The by-the-numbers feel seems to have effected the actors at times; here and there you felt they were just going through a well known routine.

The overall sense I was left with was a lack of clear direction. Not so much in individual scenes, which were sometimes good, but in the movie as a whole.

SPOILLER!!! The subplot of the protagonist's wife and child being threatened by a homicidal maniac that she had once helped put away was absurd. It belonged in another movie. My guess is that it was inserted in this one so the typically Neglectful Scientist, who has become standard in these movies, can re-bond with his family. That, and to add some thrills.

I will say, however, the actor who played said maniac certainly had the right face for it. Good casting there.

I hope some of the name actors have something better to go on to after this.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Australia? Sydney?
nickapopolis8711 November 2005
Look, aside from incredible plot holes and the ridiculous nature of the film, did anyone else notice something awry? This was screened as one long movie here in Australia on the Seven Network (www.seven.com.au the network to whom the camera man that was beaten up by terrorist supporters belonged) and one thing that became bleedingly obvious to me: THE SETTING IN NO WAY RESEMBLES Australia!!! THAT IS NOT SYDNEY...No one WITH ANYTHING CLOSE TO AN Australian ACCENT APPEARS...AND FOR A MOVIE SET HERE, THERE ARE A LOT OF Americans AND British! Also, in reference the news woman reporting on the Sydney Mayoral election, Mayors in Australia have almost no power, unlike in the U.S. Our system gives most of the power to the state government, eg. police, education, public transport, health, main roads, and all of this is funded from the federal government. The local council, headed by the mayor, is basically responsible for rubbish collection, parks etc and no one cares about the elections and by no means do they run high profile elections. In fact it is usually a postal vote. And voting in Australia is compulsory for all. Back on topic, the National Intelligence people from the states would never be allowed to run their investigation in Australia! They have no jurisdiction here, and would have to run with the help of state or federal police and or ASIO. It is the nature of nationality and sovereignty that another external power does not have free reign to conduct itself in the borders of another! Sorry for the long spiel...but Christ this movie is BAD!
27 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
I give it cult movie status on account of making it to Hallmark
ekwright7 October 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was so bad I could not resist going on the Internet to find out what others had to say. The whole thing seems to have been shot in and around Cape Town, and if you watch the credits, you can see that it was mostly a South African production. Their assumption that the rest of the world is maybe as dumb as the film makers regarding the topography of the Maldives (what we saw was False Bay, Cape Provence)and other places is disproved by the posts here.

All along I thought there were three "locations", Washington, Sydney and somewhere in South Africa. The prison guard scenes were unmistakably South Africa, as were the African Nanny scenes - I could not quite figure out how our hero (who appeared to be in Australia)ended up in South Africa whilst driving a truck, or how our heroine intended getting back to St Louis in the same truck. And why was our professor, who was apparently sitting in Siding Springs Observatory NSW waiting for evacuation orders from Washington? The accents, uniforms, geography, minor details, plot, science was all so bad it was actually funny. I wonder did the South African Government give a grant for this film? I smell government involvement here - no commercial production would ever have survived the first cut.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A genre of its own!
lstolten11 November 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Some films are so bad, they're good. I had a great time watching Supernova, not so much for its acting, plot and intellectual stimulation, but more for the lack thereof. The producers and directors most likely owned a chook farm prior to entering showbiz, as everything seems to have been thrown together much akin to the way pellets of feed are distributed to chickens. This first becomes evident at the beginning of the film where a city shot of Sydney, Australia pops up along with a subtitle calcifying the locale, and immediately after this scene and for the rest of the movie none of the movie even seems to take place in Australia (I was guessing Mexico?). The number plates are not Australian, the people are either speaking with an American accent or some weird gobbledygook that sounds like a mix between cockney English and the orange shuurr-buurrt man out of Austin Powers. I could go on forever but you really need to see for yourself. pockets of genius - "except for lawyers" "you make a great drink - you make a great drunk" It really should be in a genre of its own. It can't be easy to make a film this bad. Sideshow Luke
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
This Movie both sucks and blows...
Diaboliqa66611 November 2005
Warning: Spoilers
What can I say, Oh I know how about:

Before you make a movie set inanother country spend more than five minuets there and do some freaking research!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

As an Australia I am deeply offended by this...thing. According to Steven H. Berman, Don Keith Opper and John Harrison the Australian population is approx 95% American, we have the death penalty, have some kind of strange English accent and our emergency services are English. It's obvious that they didn't like our native scenery as hardly any of it appears and apparently our own Government is so inept that we need the Americans to make all the decisions for us.

For the love of god burn this thing now, never ever ever show it to another living person again! The best part of this whole thing was writing this comment. This pile of dung is not worth the brain cells, time or electricity required to watch it.

Oh yeah, it's about the sun exploding, the end of life on earth and hope regained through a mistake made by the experts...sound familiar?? In case your interested there is also a bad guy chasing the leading characters family down in an act of revenge....sound familiar? A move/mini full of cliché and cultural ignorance.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Two Thirds of a Good Disaster Movie
Bob-456 September 2005
The Hallmark Network has chosen to create a series of movies to supplement their "Hall of Fame" product. They are off to a decidedly mixed start with "Supernova." Certainly, their timing could not have been worse, given events in New Orleans. Too bad they couldn't have scheduled another film for this time.

"Supernova" would a made a pretty good two hour disaster movie. Cut out the "dime store" space special effects and the trite "serial killer" subplot and you'd have something pretty memorable. Unfortunately, the "solar flare" effects look about as realistic as Disney 2D animation. While not particularly surprising, given the limited effects budget for TV fare, the bad "space effects' contrast jarringly with the pretty good "earth effects" on display.

Peter Fonda plays, flatly, a world famous astronomer who predicts the sun will go supernova (enlarge, then explode) within a month (or, was it a week). Luke Perry plays an astrophysicist(!), also flatly, and is the principal protagonist. Lance Henriksen plays his stock baddie. The women come off much better in the acting department, most notable are Tia Carrere (as a government agent), Emma Samms (as a crusading TV news commentator), Clemency Burton-Hill (as a scientist) and an unnamed actress who plays Fonda's bartender-squeeze.

Jettison an hour and "Supernova" would be good enough for a "7". As presented, however, it barely squeaks by as a "5".
18 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Not much else to say....
Adaru25 June 2006
Warning: Spoilers
... Just wanted to add my views to the chorus: this was very bad indeed.

So bad, in fact, that having watched the first half, I've been putting off watching the second for every reason I can think of, and have finally admitted to myself that I really don't want to, and deleted it.

Some may think that disqualifies me from commenting, but I think it just goes to show how poor this thing was, since generally I'll sit through any old rubbish. Apart from 'Razor Blade Smile', obviously. Managed three minutes of that.

Now I find, reading the other comments here, that the writers of 'Supernova' rely on the most feeble kind of deus ex machina to get themselves out of the corner, and I'm glad I didn't waste my time.

The whole thing (at least, the whole first half) is thoroughly confused and confusing. I was never entirely sure where things were supposed to be set, or who people were - the caption would say we were in Australia and ten minutes later you'd realise you were watching things happening in South Africa with no real awareness that the transition had been made. The 'science' - even to an amateur astronomer - was appalling: this idea that the sun will suddenly start spitting fireballs out exclusively at Earth, and suddenly stop having any problems at all when someone gets marked badly in maths... well, everyone else has already covered this.

Oh, and the US government have had the foresight to build dozens of giant cities underground for people to hide in in the event of a supernova - for some reason assuming that their cities will survive the shattering of the planet around them. "We're hoping for something a little less apocalyptic", I think was the rationalisation here - but the character never explained why.

Plus points? It's got Tia Carrere in it. That's it.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Disgusting movie
peter-cartledge11 November 2005
This "movie" was one of the worst I have seen. With the representation of Australia, I wasn't sure what country I was looking at. The accents were very suspicious, something like a mix of South African, British, Kiwi (New Zealand) and Australia.

Other errors, Australia does not have capital punishment, we do NOT execute prisoners. There were no locations that I recognised, so I am not sure where it was really filmed. Sure there were some "gratuitous" shots of Sydney, but they looked like stock footage. The mountains were not like any that I recognised in Australia. The "echidna" that came out of the door in the professor's home, looked more like a porcupine to me.

When they came out of the mountains to look at the "ruins" of Sydney and in the commentary toward the end, there was nothing at all like it. In reality, when you come over the mountains from the west, the actual city is still 50 kilometres away and more of a tiny cluster of buildings on the horizon. Also, looking down on the city, behind it was a large body of water with a large landmass in the distance. Nothing like that exists.

The acting was poor, the "structure", as such disjointed at best. The licence plates on the cars bore no resemblance to New South Wales (the state of which Sydney is the capital) plates.

The graphics were third rate. In addition, anyone who knows anything about physics would know that a supernova would not "shatter" planets as in the beginning but simply boil them away. Also, the large asteroid that supposedly crashed into the sun would never have gotten that far, it would have also boiled away before being able to make impact (on what it would impact, I am not sure, since the sun has a very deep and dense "atmosphere" of super hot plasma). The sun is about 1.4 million kilometres in diameter and wouldn't even notice a little blip like an asteroid.

All in all, if I were the producer of that "movie" I would hang my head in shame. The money could have been better spent on something more worthwhile. To the writers and producers I say "If you want to make a movie like this, do your homework."

(By the way, I have used Australian spelling which is different from American spelling, so please don't get worked up over that.)
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Typical made for TV disaster flick
navychuk5 September 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Ugh! This formulaic disaster flick relies on all of the sophisticated scientists in the world predicting the sun will explode and destroy the earth. The predictions are based on research based on more basic research which, predictably, is flawed (the mathematician used a plus sign instead of a minus sign in a mile long formula!). Heaped on top of this mumbo-jumbo is a stupid sub-plot involving a homicidal maniac and a plan for subterranean cities to save the right gene pool for the human race to continue post apocalypse all of which is controlled by sinister military leaders calling the shots. On top of this is gratuitous violence, mediocre special effects and unbelievably poor acting with a new all time low performance by Peter Fonda. This is definitely one to overlook.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Luke Perry Cannot Act His Way Out Of A Paper Bag
craigman13 November 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Wow, I feel cheated out of the time I wasted watching this utter garbage. It came on channel 35 (ION) in the middle of a Sunday. That's when I usually get suckered into watching something crappy, I guess, since I was feeling particularly lazy and absolutely nothing good was on the TV. While most of the other reviewers rightly pointed out out how awful this was, I don't think it will become a "cult favorite", like some said. There really is nothing redeeming about this.

Why does Luke Perry still get ANY acting jobs? All he does in this is kind of mumble and stumble around. He has the charisma of a turnip, and doesn't even know how to act angry when some killer is trying to kill his annoyingly cute wife and child! I was rooting for the bad guy to kill him. The killer inexplicably only knocks him out! Then his wife has to save him! And poor Tia Carerre. I always thought she was hot looking, but she always seems so cold and sexless on-screen. It's as if she is under orders to never flirt or act sexy, or ever kiss anyone! She is always single and childless as well.

The scenes with Peter Fonda and the lone blond woman on the beach were excruciating to watch as well. They are killed in a really stupid manner by a heat-seeking sun-chunk (don't ask). After suffering through about 3 hours to the end, I was hoping the sun would indeed put everyone out of their misery! No such luck, though. Like so many other stupid "disaster" movies and TV shows, there is always a stupid happy ending! The creators never have the stones to actually follow through on their "end of the world" scenario!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Poor Peter Fonda...
effjott2 August 2006
Dr. Shepard (Peter Fonda) discovers an awful mistake in maths: the sun is some billion years older than we thought! Within a few hours it will burst to a "Supernova"! Everybody will die! Then a rapist escapes... What a plot. Unbelievable - this is a Hallmark production! In ancient times they not only paid attention to their scripts but also watched out for their special effects. In this lousy production the close-ups of our solar-hottie look alike done with a twenty year old computer. Some other effects are okay, but I've seen better days on good old Hallmark. But the worst thing in this production simply is the script. Redundant phrases and pictures may be a good laugh for some. But the only thrilling question is what made poor Peter Fonda doing this...?
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
A Truly Disgusting Movie
OzSekhmet12 November 2005
Not only was the astrophysics absolute crap, but the film was utterly offensive to Australians. A quick summary of errors - the accents, of course (Yanks never get them right - though the producers get half a point each for one New Zealand accent and one semi-Afrikaaner); Sydney populated by Yanks and Brits, and the odd black West Indian; Aussie vegetation the same as that in Colorado; what looks suspiciously like Table Mountain - which overlooks Capetown in South Africa - "to the west of Sydney"; a serial rapist and murderer, imprisoned in a US-style prison in Pretoria (that's actually in South Africa, guys!), condemned to death by lethal injection - we don't have the death penalty here in Oz - escaping overland to Sydney for revenge; Sydney cops driving 1.5 litre toy cars... Need I go on?

When the outside world is actually the empty lot of a studio in Hollywood or LA, with a few home movies cut in for "authenticity," it's no wonder that most Americans know nothing about the rest of the planet, care less, and regard other countries as their private playground. Now THAT'S spiteful!
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews