Love So Divine (2004) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
9 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Lackluster Korean Romantic Comedy.
cremea9 January 2013
SPOILERS!

Love So Devine is Korean film from back in 2004. Korean cinema was on a roll with a number of stellar romances and rom-coms around that time. Unfortunately, this isn't one of them.

There's nothing drastically horrible about this film, but there's not much that stands out either. It's rather ordinary and occasionally dull, and it seems to be a little underwritten and haphazardly thrown together.

Your story has a young man soon entering priesthood who has second thoughts after meeting the spunky niece of the priest of the small town church he's sent to. It's a pretty straight forward opposites attract romance. The two seem a poor match for each other, which is the entire point I guess, but it results in few sparks between them and they really don't make for an endearing or believable couple. She's too wild for him, and he's too tame for her; you can't help but feel these 2 people just don't belong together, and will never be able to stay together over time.

This film seems as if it was more or less just put together to give Ha Ji-won a chance to prance around some while looking pretty. While she can certainly do that well, there's not much going on otherwise that's worthwhile. The story is pretty sluggish throughout, and rarely does it strike a chord of being cute or charming or romantic enough to really invest in.

Our two leads spend more time together as the story progresses, and they start to develop feelings for each along the way. Those feelings soon start to slowly blossom into love, and from there it's just a matter of seeing whether they'll be together or not. There's an inexcusable musical number that breaks out for some reason I can't fathom. I suppose this was included to add some element of whimsy to the whole affair (or maybe the director just has a fondness for movies from India), but it's just out of place overall. Then, when it appears the two leads won't be together, our young priest cries for about 20 minutes (Uggh!) until the story wraps up. That's really about all there is to it.

I guess you could watch this film if you're huge Ha Ji-won fan, but that's probably the only reason to check it out. It's not very entertaining otherwise, and there are many better Korean romantic films and rom-coms out there to choose from. Feel free to skip over this one.

Bottom Line: 6 out of 10 stars.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Movie!
leoruizocampo6 October 2005
I'm a Catholic seminarian myself and I was able to emphasize with the story of "Love so Divine". The acting although not very technically superior, was certainly witty and engaging! Kwon Sang-Woo could have passed for a real seminarian! Ha ji won on the other hand was really, really sassy and carried out her role very well without making it too sweet or too stubborn. They had perfect chemistry right from the start. The ending, although predictably positive as in any romantic comedy, had a very interesting twist. It is good to note the slightest details in the story to fully appreciate the final outcome: locket, shoe, "Deo gratias", rosary, and even the theme song and its lyrics etc. I believe the team did their research well especially as to the life and formation of seminarians as well as the many problems they face. The set, as well as tye costumes, was also well-designed and realistic. Great theme song and dance number (epithalamium) too! I saw the MTV and I liked it as well. I highly recommend this film.
16 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Amusing romantic comedy
TeddyTwoToes7 December 2004
Warning: Spoilers
Possible spoilers ahead:

A light-hearted, only mildly irreverent romantic comedy about a pious Catholic seminarian falling in love with his free-spirited catechism student, during his stay at a parish in rural Korea. This film basically follows the typical romantic comedy blueprint, and the ending is rather predictable for anyone who knows the genre. Relatively respectful treatment of the Church and its doctrines, though hardcore Catholic traditionalists may be offended at jokes about horny seminarians and drinking holy water. If you're a fan of romantic comedies or light-hearted takes on Catholicism, you might want to give this a look.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Romantic, Character Driven Comedy, Filled with Emotion, Sass and Fun that will Appeal to Many Audiences
totalovrdose30 March 2015
If Kyun-Woo had been a seminary student, and The Girl the niece of a priest, the romantic comedy My Sassy Girl would probably have appeared a lot like Love So Divine, a number of obvious similarities connecting this particular feature to the beloved, aforementioned title. Bong-Hee (Ha Ji-Won), who is originally revealed as a headstrong, yet intoxicated young woman, who seldom thinks before she acts, returns from America, only to be promptly rejected by her paramour. Her father, Nam (Kim In-Mun) the local priest, has no sympathy for her current situation, and despite his adamant disapproval of her decision to stay, Bong-Hee has little choice, opting to do chores around the church in order to pay her way back to the States.

While there, she happens upon Gyu-Shik (Kwon Sang-Woo), a seminary student, who is not at the church by choice. After an accident, involving his best friend Seon-Dal (Kim In-Kwon), causes Gyu-Shik to break a priceless Christian artifact, he, alongside his friend, are expelled from their original church in the city, to Father Nam's church in a rural province. Gyu-Shik's dedication to become a priest is unmoved after this turn of events, using his time instead to prove he has what it takes to eventually fulfill his life's endeavors, Bong-Hee, who he perceives to be incredibly sinful, becoming someone he puts a vested interest in, hoping to change her character to efficiently demonstrate he can serve the church.

He and Bong-Hee couldn't be more different. Similar to My Sassy Girl, Gyu-Shik at one point has to carry the incapacitated Bong-Hee on his back to a hotel, who repays him over the course of the film through not only hitting him, but subjecting Gyu-Shik to her frequently sassy, recklessly spontaneous attitude. Despite the initial antagonism they hold for one another, a mutual attraction begins to form, this particular avenue developing a daring plot that questions whether a man should devote himself solely to loving God, or to give his heart to a woman, the question of whether or not these two souls can find the common ground to be together having a paramount effect on the story.

Bong-Hee and Gyu-Shik are incredibly likable, the chemistry between the characters being truly superb, although both of them play into a wealth of renowned stereotypes. Even Seon-Dal, despite been immature and irresponsible for most of the feature is entertaining as the comic relief, though he is seldom necessary, for what transpires between the two leads is often humorous in itself, resulting in a number of laughs.

The soundtrack adds depth to the already engaging feature, the suspenseful uncertainty that is gradually built up as the film progresses being especially powerful. The characterization is well achieved, as is the development, with significant changes becoming evident in the leads over the feature's duration. Despite the comedic backdrop, Love So Divine offers its audiences a number of beautiful moments that will make those prone to tears (namely me) potentially cry on at least one occasion.

Although Love So Divine is not nearly as outstanding as My Sassy Girl, Windstruck or Cyborg She, it is certainly worth a gander for audiences with an avid appreciation for Korean dramatic productions and comedies.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
KDramas Comic Relief
dealchic28 March 2020
If you understand being a Catholic, this movie is serious and funny with its religious undertones. This film is about the question of celibacy and the devotion to one God only. It's done very well. #LaughThroughout
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
This movie succeeds by not being too ambitious
karluk9917 September 2012
Warning: Spoilers
"Love So Divine" is the story of a developing love between a Catholic seminarian, who is on the verge of becoming a priest, and his free-spirited student from America, the lovely Ha Ji Won. The plot obviously sets up an inevitable conflict between human and divine love. Considering the conventions of the romantic comedy genre, plus the undeniable charms of Ha Ji Won, it's not too difficult to guess the final decision.

The rather standard plot is saved from cliché by the likability of the stars and their good on-screen chemistry. I especially like the plot devices that allow the couple to reveal their mutual love as a part of their religious faith, not outside of it.

I would have to say the film could have done just fine without the music video style song and dance number. It was entertaining enough, I suppose, but I've never been in a Catholic service that would have tolerated such an irreverent tone to worship. Unless the Catholic Church is considerably different in Korea than it is in the U.S., this scene could simply never have happened in real life, so it made it a little disconcerting to see in a movie.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A story of disrespect and disregard for what Love really is!
journi2 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I was disappointed and furious with this movie by the ending. While I had hoped that these two (searching) people, would find a true, DEVINE love, all that was realized was lust. Yep. Lust wins. I think I could have accepted it if the two individuals had come to an honest realization of what love and devotion was and then made a conscious decision to each other, (which didn't have to preclude their love for God.....) Love is Love. And I've been taught God is the greatest love of all. But all this movie does is turn an honest searching and loving young man who is on the path to a lifetime serving God into a bumbling idiot who can not control his "desires". And the girl. Oh please. She was a horror from the beginning her totally insulting irreverence to anything good or true. She mocks the Faith of the young man, and instead of his being steadfast and perhaps even showing her the true Light of life, he becomes just another fallen man, unable to resist the twitching of a female; he must accept he has "sinned" and turn away from the true Love his life. Oh, and I must mention, the film even positions Our Blessed Mother against the heroin of the story...and yup....the twitching insolent female beats our Lady at every turn. I am most disappointed that the young ones of our society will view the film and see it as a victory for what the film's definition of "true love" is. There is no love, no romance, no sacrifice and dedication between two people in Love, no expression of "true love". And even though I was pretty disgusted watching this story play out, I kept holding out that in the end, .maybe there would be some redeeming quality to the woman, something that would make her worthy of the young seminarian turning his back on his vocation. And what were we left with? Her again drinking the Holy Water directly from the basin, not because she was thirsty, this act had remained what is was from the beginning of the movie....and act of insolence and disrespect. Don't waste your time with this story, but if you do, please post your opinions somewhere so the public isn't left only with the movie's opinion on the subject of "Devine" Love.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Warm and smooth romantic comedy
naazanin23 September 2015
Warning: Spoilers
If you search for a passionate-hot romance, this is not for you. This movie says the story of an emerging love from hate and fondness during time. This love goes against duty, loyalty and commitment to Catholic church. It still catches my eyes at 2015 even though I have seen amazing Korean movies recently.

I think the idea is not too fresh but the setting is lovely. It happens in a Korean quiet village when a modern sassy girl jump in to a church with two young seminaries who will be priests in a month. One of these seminary students try to baptize her while they gradually fell in love.

The side characters are amazing, too. The father is a lovely grandpa with broad point of view, letting the young man and woman get close. The nun is funny and better than all, the second seminary student who is Kim's friend is an attractive character. While he had watched porn and like hanging out with ladies (though it's never been clarified in the movie, he took a road to become a devoted priest at last. Somehow he finds it wonderful to live and work among people as a priest instead of staying in seminary and study; he is a man of practice.

Just it is a bit shallow at the end, I would like to see at least a kiss between the main actor and actress. And also a bit more of his pleading with god trying to avoid temptation before it. Briefly I would say that I preferred to witness more passion in the movie scenario.

If you like a well-made comedy romance for a lazy evening, I strongly recommend it!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Most underrated movie..with purest form of love..
fklahwar19 July 2020
One of the best purest love storical movie of the world..and most underrated movie..It will make you smile cry and smile..Roller coster of emotions..Best thing is that you will see innocence of love..Its not like other movies that only focus on having sex is only love..This is a love storical movie without any adult content..You can watch it with your family as well.."A MUST WATCH ONCE IN LIFETIME"
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed