Dante's Cove (TV Series 2004– ) Poster

(2004– )

User Reviews

Review this title
37 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Dante's Cove - a more than fine attempt.
prowlamongus28 October 2005
Make no mistake: Dante's Cove is targeted primarily for the gay male audience. Its young, cute, hunky and beautiful male actors aren't cast by accident. While their acting doesn't quite hit the mark, the main characters, Kevin and Toby, do well, and I suspect may improve further in the remaining segments. In their scenes together, they represent a plausible young gay couple in love–refreshing and what most gay (and straight) people need to see. Sure, the great bodies and handsome faces are wonderful, but we all want love, and this show provides the chance to vicariously jump head first into more than just sex.

For those not tuning in to see guys, take heart--there are lesbian scenes; beautiful, scantily-clad young women, and just a nice bunch of young people kind of lazing around white, sandy beaches doing what most of us would enjoy: not much and having a hell of a good time. There's also a strong Gothic and macabre element reminiscent of Dark Shadows from '70s television.

Roll all of the show's elements together, and you have an entertaining, albeit exaggerated plot, that adheres to the show's preternatural basis. Dante's Cove is not about BEING gay, but more pointedly that gay people find themselves in everyday AND extraordinary situations--trying to navigate life's labyrinth and survive (Wow! exactly like straight people do!).

Take a look at Here!'s new miniseries. This genre and its audiences are here to stay; get used to it, folks.
53 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Dante's Cove fan...
rivertam2617 September 2006
So on the DVD box this series reads Dark Shadows meets Melrose Place. two of my favorite shows successfully combined into one I have to to see this. add to the fact that I'm gay the guys are hot and its horror based and this is so me. Dante's Cove the series explores a witch named Grace played over the friggin top by Demonic Toys veteran Tracy Scoggins. She curses her fiancée Ambrocious who is played by the semi attractive William Gregory Lee after he is found getting done in the backdoor by the butler. She traps him in what looks like an S&M room and leaves him there for centuries. the only thing that can break his curse is a kiss from a young man. Enter the happy over sexed couple Kevin and Toby. Toby is moving back to Dantes Cove for some strange reason and wants Kevin to go with him. But Kevin is not out and Toby has trust issues with him because of past relationships. So they have a big argument. Kevin goes home gets slapped (LOL) by his stepfather and rushes to Toby in Dante's Cove. There is sex, sex, more sex, and than some more sex. it's extremely graphic and full frontal nudity is shown. There is mostly gay guy sex and Gregory Michael whom plays Kevin and Charlie David whom plays Toby have great bodies and genuinely good chemistry even if they can't act worth a damn. But there is some straight sex and lesbian sex as well. Hotties fill out the rest of the cast. And it picks up in its second half as a intriguing supernatural soap opeara. there are sordid backstories, murder, cheating, and past relationships mixed in with some witchcraft and etc. It's all pretty interesting. And it's all campy and trashy as hell. It indulges in it's ridiculousness and has a great time doing it. as you will too when viewing it. I am now declaring myself a fan of Dante's Cove. sure it's cheesy, bad and clichéd but gotta love pretty boys, over the top performances, slap scenes and dialogue that just leaps off your TV screen. Check it out!
24 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Deliciously dreadful
marcelproust1 August 2008
God, how I love this programme.

They say that if you put a thousand monkeys in a room with a thousand typewriters then in a thousand years they will write the works of Shakespeare.

Some years ago a group of producers put one monkey in a room with an etch-a-sketch and the result was: Dante's Cove.

It's genius. A parallel world where concepts that we accept as normal just do not exist. Like "acting". And "shirts".

But goodness me, what a wonderful place to live. An entire island populated by beautiful, young, sexy people. And Tracy Scoggins.

It's a place where someone called Reichen Lehmkuhl (who apparently won a reality TV show and dated Lance Bass) must atone for his sins by submitting to living his life under a sheen of baby oil.

It's where we marvel at the "performance" of Charlie David - possibly the most wooden actor who ever lived. (Let me put it this way - that chiselled torso isn't so much the result of Gold's Gym as it is a carpenter's workshop. No really, you can see the other actors batting away the splinters.)

In short, a masterpiece. I wouldn't miss an episode.
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Silly but kind of fun
preppy-323 October 2005
Starts off in 1840 with Ambrosius (William Gregory Lee) about to get married to an evil witch (Tracy Scoggins). But she catches him having sex with his butler and immediately puts a curse on him.

Cut to 2005--Young hunky Kevin (Gregory Michael) is in love with young hunky Toby (Charlie David). Toby takes a job in Dante's Cove and stays at Hotel Dante. Kevin joins him and meets the various inhabitants--gay Corey, bisexual Amber, straight Adam, straight Josh, lesbian Vanessa. Kevin starts hearing voices calling him from the basement and unwittingly follows them...

I only saw part one of this of here! TV On Demand. This is (basically) a supernatural soap opera full of nudity (mostly male) and simulated sex scenes. Heck, within the first 10 minutes there's a (fairly explicit) gay sex sequence! There are more later on mixed in with lesbian and straight sex...something for everyone. This is squarely aimed at gay male audiences though--there are plenty of hunky young guys here frequently out of their clothes.

This is pretty well-made but the sex scenes are the main reason for this. As for the acting---all of the actors were probably hired for their looks, bodies and comfort with doing nude scenes...not their acting ability. Some of the acting is pretty bad--Kevin, Vanessa, Adam and Josh are TERRIBLE. But Toby and Corey are pretty good. But let's face it--you're watching this for the nudity and sex. There's plenty of it and all the actors look great nude. This does have limits--the sex is (obviously) simulated and there's no frontals on the guys (except for one brief scene at the beginning).

So--for gay men this is a silly but fun and sexy soap. Others might not like it too much. I give it an 8.
36 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Improving greatly!
rambler-96 July 2008
When I saw the first season, I posted a review and commented on the bad acting and sub-par writing. But, I really enjoyed the show anyway. I'm glad I stuck with it, because it's gotten better. A LOT better.

It has all the basic elements I like - Gothic plot line, romance, and skin on screen. The writing, acting, and directing have come a long way since Season 1 - in fact, I would have to say Season 3 is by far the strongest yet. The writing is tighter, the performances turned in by series veterans have improved enormously (Charlie David in particular is giving substantially-improved performances) and the show is just plain FUN! Gothic Horror is a genre I love, and Dante's Cove delivers that. Especially in Season 1 (the show moved shooting locations to Hawai'i starting Season 2) there are great locations with old architecture and some spooky native locales. The cast is hot, the sex is getting hotter by the season, and the plot lines are engaging - covering all the territory from "jealous boyfriend" to "jilted fiancée" to "mind-controlling warlock" as time rolls on in the show. There is humor (both intended and not, I think), drama, and by Season 3 the camp atmosphere feels more intended than accidental and the show has finally hit its stride.

One ding - every season the show appears to move. Between Season 1 and 2, shooting moved to Hawai'i (O'ahu, to be exact) so some established locations either just changed (The Hotel Dante) or "closed for renovations" (the Historical Society building.) Between Seasons 2 and 3 we've moved locales again! For reasons I won't get into here, we're not spending any more time at the hotel. The feel of the locales has moved from Gothic to Paradise Beach - while Hawai'i is gorgeous, it's a bit sunny and fun for the feel I got from the first season. Personally, I find the constant venue changes jarring, and hope we'll get to see some of the same locations for Season 4 when it arrives, or perhaps return for a bit to some older ones.

In any event, I love this show. For those who haven't figured this out yet, it does feature full-frontal nudity (male) and lots of sex - gay, lesbian, and IIRC a straight scene or two. The show (with the sole exception of the opening five minutes of Season 1) doesn't show full-frontal with erection, which occasionally looks strange given what's supposed to be going on, and which seems strange given where it went in the show's opening five minutes of Season 1. A couple of the actors are obviously not planning on full-frontal, and occasionally contort to avoid it, while extras are frequently (and occasionally pointlessly) nude, and soft even when horn-dogging someone. Perhaps more creative set staging or action blocking could help them cover up without looking so odd doing it, or maybe they'll decide one day that full-frontal in a gay soap is not career-ending. While I'm not looking for pornography here, a touch more realism would help with "suspension of disbelief" quite a bit.

All in all, if you like horror, and like gay themes, give "Dante's Cove" a try. Try to watch at least two seasons, and I really recommend going for the third - it's the strongest yet, and starts to deliver on the promise of the premise that we've been waiting for from the beginning.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Fun and Enjoyable
ncsearcy16 September 2007
Having watched the first and second seasons of this show, I find myself drawn into the world of "Dante's Cove". The cast members are all very good looking and the sex scenes are very enjoyable. A common complaint with this series is that the writing and the acting is a bit off. The truth is, this series is being built from the ground up and I have hope that this series will get better as the the seasons roll on.

I do have one complaint, Kevin's crying, at least three episodes in the second season alone had Kevin crying and the first season had him on non-stop waterworks. Aside from that, the series is great.

I've seen the trailer for Season 3 and I am very excited to see the inclusion of Jenson Atwood, who I adored in Noah's Arc. The Story is engaging and yes it can be a little slow, but as the budget gets bigger and the actors become more accustomed to their characters and the writers become more accustomed to those characters, the writing will improve.

This series has great potential and is a breath of fresh air to the AIDS awareness films that have dominated the queer market for the better half of 20 years. Please give this show a chance and you'll see the magic in it too.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
All and all good series
Ryan S9 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I stumbled across Dante's Cove one day at blockbuster and decided to rent it. The first season was a little on the rough side, and the acting wasn't the best but it kept my attention. The show obviously had a low budget and was working with what little money they had. I did love the theme of it. To me the show is like Buffy the Vampire Slayer mixed in with a my personal favorite Charmed and made the characters gay. Shows like these are hard to come by. I love the way the 1st season ended with Toby being thrown in the water and grace breaking free. It left me wanting more.

I decided to buy the second season. There was an extremely noticeable set change and I believe this was due to a budget increase. It took a minute to get use too but I fell in love with the new set. They also got more actors,replaced the actor who played Adam with Jon Flemming (HOT), got rid of most of the bad actors and the show improved a lot. I must say there was still some bad acting but as the season rolled on it got better. I will even go as far as saying that the acting was 100% better than the first season. So if you stopped watching after the 1st season give it another chance. The constant thunder and lightning stopped as well, which was part of the reason the 1st season wasn't the best. They ended season 2 in cliff hanger with Ambrosius taking Kevin as his prisoner. Once again leaving me wanting more.

Season 3 they did it again. Another set change but at least this time they covered it up, saying that the one side of the island was washed away after a tsunami. They got rid of most of the new actors they brought in at season 2 within the first 2 episodes and changed the actress that played Michelle. They also got rid of my favorite on the show from season 1 who is van =(. They brought in about 3 or 4 new actors, which only one of them had no business being on any show at all but all in all the acting was just about dead on this season, with a few noticeable bad spots but it was good. This season instead of everyone being against each other, they had to band together and fight something else. And for the 3rd time they left me wanting more by Showing Toby and Adam trapped in a mirror world of some kind.

So once again, if you stopped watching because the 1st season wasn't the best give it another shot. This show is worth giving a second chance. Can't wait for season 4 coming soon.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Very intriguing, if not erotic
xindi00516 October 2005
I have seen a lot of mini-series and have seen a few movies of this nature(most of it anyway), but never have I been blown away by a mini-series like this one. It has all of the elements of a good thriller with an interesting twist that is sure to catch a few heads....and eyes.I won't spoil it too much, but if you have the HERE! network, then make sure you check this out.

It is wrapped around a relationship between a couple and some supernatural events that take place. The cast is beautiful in all aspects of the spectrum and connect very well. It also stars veteran Tracy Scoggins(BABYLON FIVE, LOIS&CLARK: THE NEW ADVENTURES OF SUPERMAN) in a role that is made for her and she does it very well(she looks good in it too).

So check out DANTE'S COVE and keep an open mind. It's very cool.

P.S. Its very sexy too...I saw it twice already.
37 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Starts out rough, gets better
Vanyel16 August 2006
Someone mentioned 3 parts; I just got the DVD set which is 2 parts. Fortunately the second part redeemed it, because the first part was pretty bad: it's about half softcore porn (going beyond QAF even), and the writing is pretty rough, as is some of the acting.

The second part improves just about everywhere, though some of the writing and acting still leaves a little to be desired. It actually gets gripping and leaves me wanting more, and I certainly don't mind seeing lots of bare chested hunks, especially Gregory Michael! I just wish they'd make up their mind: one minute, they're showing a sex scene out of a soft core porn video, and the next they have the actors contorted in a gruesomely unnatural position in order to avoid showing a body part that they already had on camera early on in the first episode. If they shot it naturally, even though we'd see "everything", the scene would still be far less sexual than the one that preceded it, and would flow much better.

Anyway, if it continues to improve at the rate the 2nd episode did over the first one, I'm looking forward to seeing it continue.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
The Land of Duh
Paul Creeden23 March 2007
I fast forwarded through the whole first season on DVD. I suppose that makes me an expert on this show. Wow, dude. I have been watching GLBT-themed productions since 'Boys in the Band'(1970). This is probably the worst. And I hear that here!network is surprised that GLAAD is not giving out GLBT media awards to them. Well, boys and girls, you'll have to come up with something better than this show. Bad writing. Enough gratuitous plastic surgery and body make up to make Michael Jackson cringe. Did I mention bad writing? Bad acting. Even mediocre sex appeal in the casting. Did I mention bad writing? The sexual simulations are worse than soft-core straight cable TV. I didn't think it possible. Did I mention bad writing? I have met 10 year-olds with higher IQs than most of the characters. I particularly loathe the set design. One scene, supposedly set in 1840, has a standard electric lamp on a table and two air conditioning ducts on the walls of the room. Frankly, I think this true horror of a show displays great contempt for its presumed GLBT audience. I know I certainly didn't march for my civil rights for this.
35 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Dante's Cove - Three Successful Seasons
allencommon2 July 2008
If you search Itunes by Dante's Cove you can now purchase the music from the first three seasons. Dying to Be With You is one of the best theme songs out there.

The women definitely are the stronger actresses. Especially with Thea Gill and Tracy Scoggins.

The male leads - Charlie David and Jon Fleming give great eye candy.

I hope they bring the show back for a fourth season as it's the new Queer As Folk. Plus, The Lair was a successful spin off of Dante's Cove.

The music by Eric Allaman is fantastic!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Just Fun! Nothing More.
mdnjr7010 October 2007
This show is by no means going to win any awards, however it is fun and over all very well done. The locations are amazing and the sets are passable, they get better in season two. The 1800s costumes are amazing a lot of detail went into them to get them correct which I think makes up for some of the 1800 sets that aren't so good. Dante's Cove is no worse then some of the network stuff that is forced on all of us night after night. These characters are typical, but I like them. I believe in them. I love the fact that they don't take themselves or the show to serious, if you watch the DVD check out the special features and you will see what I mean. Dante's Cove is a cross between Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Queer as Folk. Personally, I found it difficult to except the production location shift, but I got over it.

If you enjoy the supernatural, enjoy watching beautiful people and just want to have fun with a show then this is the show for you. If you are looking for great writing or A+ acting then move on. Love the show for what it offers, something different then the rubbish on network TV.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Plenty of eye candy, but painful at times to watch
sjguy200619 August 2006
I just finished watching the DVD release of season 1. Why they call it a "season" is beyond me. It is 2 episodes! OK, I admit, I rented it for the eye candy! And yes, there is PLENTY of eye candy with lots of young, beautiful hunky men prancing around shirtless and completely naked. Sort of like Queer As Folk, but Dante's Cove goes a step further by showing full frontal nudity! There is lots of heavy petting (kissing) and the sex scenes are steamy! If you're looking for a quick fix of eye candy, this one's for you!

If you're looking for a well written, well acted queer drama, STAY AWAY. Dante's Cove is one of the WORST written queer dramas I have ever seen! I think the writer(s) needs to take a "season" off and attend a few writing courses before bringing this crap back to TV!

The acting is AT BEST, watchable and decent at times, and outright horrid in some scenes. It is the acting that makes Dante's Cove painful to watch! The scenes with Kevin's parents are inexcusably BAD! And there were several more scenes that made me cringe! Unfortunately, it's hard to tell if the actors are really THAT BAD, or if they are just doing the best they can with the crappy script they are handed!

Dante's Cove reminds me of a badly written and badly acted (for the most part) David DeCoteau film. But, I also will admit that I don't watch DeCoteau films for the quality story lines and great acting. I watch them for the eye candy!

Perhaps the lack of quality is due to the fact that the Here! channel is so new and it will take a few years for them to get adequate funding to finance quality TV shows.

The story line is absolutely pathetic, as well as the lame special effects. I am sooooo sick of seeing witches, or demons, or monsters with glowing red eyes! This effect has been done to death! Enough! Come up with something ORIGINAL. The use of flashbacks is also unnecessary and very irritating.

Now that Queer As Folk has wrapped up, maybe the Here! channel can scoop up a few of the QAF staff writers and start producing well written and engaging scripts.
21 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
God Awful! Terrible! Avoid it!
ra7391 September 2006
Dante's Cove is so bad on so many levels that it's too numerous too mention. The writing is god awful. I mean terrible, trite, just plain bad. Some of the dialog doesn't even make sense. They lay it on thick.

The acting is just as bad. It's like the show can't decide if it's porn, where you'd expect bad acting and good sex, or a thriller, where you'd expect at least half-way decent acting and bad sex. You get bad acting and yes, bad sex.

Cinimax late at night (a.k.a. skinimax) offers better sex than this. It's just naked guys and girls kissing each other and caressing each other. Guys with guys and girls with girls of course.

The sex scenes seem mechanical and forced as if there is no chemistry between the actors. And why the hell is everyone with their clothes off look all sweaty? I mean, I know why, but come on! It just looks F-ing ridiculous.

Gays are supposed to be uber-creative. This shows that we can make awful programming just like straight people.

Avoid this at all costs! I swear I almost threw up in my mouth by watching only 15 minutes.

You're better off watching a porn.
16 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Horrible
scottshimer12 July 2006
This was one of the worst things I ever watched. What was Traci Scoggins thinking when she agreed to appear in this horrible series. If you want to see sexy scenes and better acting/plots check out Queer as Folk (Canadian Version). The acting in this series was really bad, the plot has been done, the writing was terrible. There are many gay movies and series out there now that are good, this falls in the terrible category. Even the names of the characters are stupid. Actually, I must admit that I watched most of the series, but mainly for the laughs. Perhaps this should be placed in the comedy category, it was very funny to watch. Unfortunately, I don't think it was meant to be a comedy.
15 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Fun stuff - not for stuffy people
david-d-627 September 2008
Dante's Cove is a blast. It's not for culture snobs who pooh-pooh shows like Queer as Folk for being "too out there" or who like to denigrate anything you wouldn't see at Cannes, but for those of us who can appreciate a sexy, fun show with engaging characters, some dark magic, and a few divas, it's top notch.

Tracy Scoggins is just fantastic as Grace, one of the lead characters. The ensemble cast has great chemistry, and after you watch the first season, you may find yourself, like I did, wanting more and more.

While there is a great mystery going on across the three episodes, the strands that run through the show of unrequited love, coming out, questions over the role monogamy has in some relationships, possession versus love, etc. all are played out through the many twists and turns that this fun, mysterious, and magical romp has in store for its viewers.

If you loved Queer as Folk, or maybe even Dynasty for all you folks out there my age, you'll really enjoy Dante's Cove and will be looking forward to the next episode to see what your friends on the cove are up to this week. Sure, stay away if your inclinations tend exclusively to art films and high culture and academy award winning performances. But if you're more flexible in your support of gay programming and like the idea of a steamy gay soap opera with a magical mystery twist and, in my opinion, pretty good acting (how DOES one prepare to play a 200 year old witch in modern times?) then it's a good bet that you'll have lots of fun with this series.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Watch it only if you really want to ruin your evening
huyazo24 September 2006
I won't spend many words on this incredibly bad DVD. I just want to warn you. Don't waste your money on this DVD. And if you do, at least don't invite your friends over.

The story is bad, the actors are good looking and we get to see a fair bit of nudity, but in spite of that, they are not able to engage. Not a single scene managed to entertain me. And did the director think that he could compensate for all the bad by throwing in thunder and lightning throughout the whole movie? It is not exciting, not scary, not erotic, you will not feel good afterward. So nothing more than one star. The only ones on the team that could be eligible for some honor would be the marketing team.
12 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Even Eye Candy Can Get Stale
gradyharp24 September 2006
DANTE'S COVE is a two disc DVD release of a TV series for Here! TV that had everyone on the waiting list to see just how far the 'new television' market would/could go. Now that the mystery is over with the public release of the DVDs, the comments and responses are bound to be mixed: there are those who whoop that gay themed and photographed stories are finally on television, and there are those who will wonder why a series could make it through the year with little to no storyline and a production that is essentially soft porn - for both men and women! The 'plot' is based on the traditional haunted house with a mysterious history dating back to 1840: the 'story' revolves around the folk who inhabit the house cum hotel in present day time and the aftershocks of lifting the door off the secrets hidden with the subsequent effects of the 'curse' on the inhabitants. Sounds like a 'been there, done that' bit? Well, it is. The difference lies in the fact that the main characters are gay and the hotel inhabitants are pretty guys and gals who spend the majority of their time topless, swimming or en flagrante.

The cast is attractive (and we see a LOT of them!) but the lack of plausible story and the mercilessly poor writing and quality of acting keep the show grounded. This is a film for a special audience and one that would benefit from watching it with sound turned off. Maybe next season will improve....
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Stupid, worst acting ever..
Alex Bryan27 October 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Worst acting ever.. The worst of it: both of the main role, Toby n Kevin acting are the worst compare to the other actor..

Toby - His movement throughout the movie are unrealistic.. Kevin - His face are the worst of all.. and he claim to be Straight(Gregory Micheal)??? Don't believe it.. He is DAMN GAY!!!

The only watchable in this movie was the sex scene.. (It's because the actor are naked, so the audience are looking at their body..) Even though most of the scene are unrealistic.. It is awful and painful to see...

--not recommended--
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Guilty - yes! What pleasure?
lothd17 July 2007
Seriously, who watches this? I was coaxed into trying the "first season" (actually 2 feature length episodes) by my boyfriend. If you want something really stimulating, you know where to get it. If you want a well written gay series, turn to "Queer As Folk" (original or US). This mishmash of bad acting and plotting had me laughing out in disbelief when a major situation was shown a few minutes into the pilot. The "special" effects are unbelievably bad for a series that is supposed to deal with the supernatural.

This is being marketed as a "guilty pleasure". Well, they got half of that right...
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Dante's Eden...
arno_5424 October 2014
I've read all the reviews and posts on the site, and it's quite an interesting mix of opinions.

To me, DANTE'S COVE is a cool and innovating show as I've never seen any single episode of the others TV-Series mentioned here as 'Buffy the vampire slayer - The OC's -or- Charmed'. I must say that generally, I'm not that much attracted by supernatural genre. It bores me a lot. But not for DANTE'S COVE. I retrieve what I've appreciated in 'Queer As Folk & Tales of the City' : a community spirit combined with mutual help, fun (and venomous tongues !).

I think the writing's just fine (even if the red-eyes thing is far too much !) and for sure some of the actors really CAN act (as Tracy Scoggins, Thea Gill & Charlie David for firsts). I find in this show what I search on TV - well for this kind of stuff : something entertaining, eyes-candy and refreshing. (My on-screen-witchcraft knowledge mostly is limited to Elvira's, I guess !) so I like what I see on the 13 episodes of this Series (I include the 'Unaired Pilot'). And Goash, Charlie David is a Hunk ! I hope so much that one day we'll get the chance to see the Fourth Season : I know I'll go back to this Cove with a delighted (and non-guilty) pleasure again...
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
IMDb misses musical info!
erikmusicproductions19 August 2014
Hi... my stage name is ERIK, and I am a Canadian Recording Artist. 2 of my songs appeared on the soundtrack of Dante's Cove (Season 2 .. episodes 2 and 5 I believe). IMDb lists the artist that performed the theme song, but no one else.

Not trying to pull a look-at-me here, but it's on my resume and should be acknowledged here. I was, and am, proud to be part of this GBLTQ step forward, and have tons of new tunes I would be happy to have used on future regent projects! Anyways cheers and continued success to the series, now in syndication everywhere!

ERIK
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
utterly ridiculous
ambidaud17 September 2011
I loved Queer As folk because the characters were complex: it was not simply about gay characters but about flesh and blood people. Besides, all the actors were excellent. But Dante's Cove is so ridiculous and funny, though not voluntarily...

The Gothic background is a caricature, with witches having red, glaring eyes when they curse their victims, and people turning into dust all of a sudden. Harry Potter sounds like Kierkegaard compared to that rubbish of hidden manuscripts, pentagrams and undead people... The acting is below awful, so much so that I couldn't help laughing most of the time. And the sex scenes so conventional, the men looking all more or less alike. A real waste of time! (and money if you have been unfortunate enough to buy this series)
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Getting my ticket to the cove....
enlewellyn-12 September 2008
Well,

What I can say is that season 1 and 2 were really a soft core porn supernatural soap opera. With that said I additionally will review is that season 3 did bring it all together and for me (and this may not be a big jump for some) brought this series into a comic book realm, beyond a soap opera, which I did truly enjoy, the sex became a device of the story, rather than a major part, the plot turned from drama, to thrill and action. The characters came together, even though there were a few, how did they know that. Regardless, in watching the entire series I recommend this, I haven't laughed this much in a show from shock (at the commingling, situations), freeness and sensation. And I haven't cried and laughed in almost the same moment (yeah I did both to my surprise), it's special and I recommend it (some may wish to fast forward the lesbian/gay scenes, depending on your orientation) nuff said.

Rich

P.S. Please watch the "Behind the Scenes" as you will notice references I had mentioned, "Dark Shadows" and I will say "Dynasty and Falcon Crest" in the beginning. Season 3 was a great comic book I would have collected, brought to film. Anyway. I do recommend this for your next party, when no one really wants to think, but wants to have a bit of titillation and enjoy the "drama" sit back and be glad they are not there, even though Dante's Cove is paradise (without virgins). Now to get my ticket….
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
It's a decent show
FireGoblet18 November 2007
OK this is hard cause i like this series but the acting is a little crappy but I really like the story and the extra sex scenes are a added bonus. I loved the supernatural aspect of it , mind you it's not super well done . Most likely do to budget but it was really crappy . I still really think it's a good series worth watching, so does everyone else i showed it too. I find it funny that a mix of gays and lesbians and heteros live in harmony in a hotel. The actors are so hot , which makes watching this allot easier lol. Dante's Cove is such a beautiful place to stage a show. Between the ocean and the sun and sand makes for hot scenes.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews