Amu (2005) Poster

(2005)

User Reviews

Review this title
20 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
A strong film from a first time director.
madshy10 November 2005
Let me start by saying I lived in New Delhi during the time of the riots, and had close Sikh friends whom we had to care for at the time of the mayhem.

That said, I went to watch the film with no preconceived notions. I was pleasantly surprised. It had its share of low spots, but that is the beauty of watching a first time director's work, you see them grow. Shonali is going to be a writer director to be reckoned with.

Like all good 'Films' that are based on true events this film walks the fine line of not getting too caught up in the heat of actual events. Instead it tries to dramatize or fictionalize the effects of the events on people lives. A fact that some audience don't seem to grasp. Especially, a substantial number of Indian audience (amply demonstrated on this site by the stupid review by ajaysaxena1960)! I sat through a Q&A session with the director where people wanted to know why the director did not name names of all the MLA's involved in the massacre. Or if the director could through her film, get the International tribunal to try Indian government for crimes against humanity.

SHE IS A FILM MAKER. NOT A HISTORIAN OR A CRUSADER.

The film took 8 years to fund and make (a crusade in itself), for that alone I admire the director. But of all the films done by writers and directors based in America, Shonali's film most certainly stands head and shoulders above the rest. She has a strong voice and a crisp sense of film-making.

A director most certainly worth watching!
26 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Authentic and Provocative ! A must see movie for a Unique Cinematic Experience!!!
hafilms27 April 2005
I like "Amu the movie" tremendously. The movie has so many layers that it is difficult for me to pinpoint to a single reason for its impact. As a passive observer of compelling and authentic portrayal of a journey of a Girl finding her true identity, I had suspended my reality and enjoyed the experience. As an agitated follower of the injustice highlighted in the movie, I was incensed by the implication of tacit support . Yet as an observer of slow revelation of plot line, I was enthralled. The acting, the directing, the photography and the editing/music were totally endearing. The fact that there some people in the audience crying and others sat in silence after the movie had finished, showed that the movie had indeed touched all of us. It is hard to believe that Shonali is a first time director, who captured on celluloid a slice of life that was actually manufactured. Konkona Sen was spectacular but Lovleen Mishra, Brinda Karat, Chaiti Ghosh, Ashish Ghosh, Aparna Roy were all fantastic.

Finally, I would like to say, that in South Africa a unique experiment is taking place, the Truth and Reconciliation Commision. In India too, the wounds of destructive, ethnic cleansing violence go deep and are tremendously complex. It is indeed a bold step of shining the light on a dark period of recent history but "Amu the Movie" , is the step is taken in the right direction.

I look in great anticipation to others all over the world following in this film's footsteps and making more creative and more bold choices as Shonali has done in "Amu". I also look forward to many more viewers enjoying the tremendous journey of "Amu".

Berkeley
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Amu - seriously good cinema .....
ratan-sethi20 April 2005
I was initially hesitant about watching Amu because movies with a backdrop of communal riots don't sit well with me. However, I had heard good things about the film and for that reason I also did not want to miss it.

Amu is a film about a young, adopted girl on a quest to find her birth parents. Kaju, played by Konkona Sen Sharma, lives in LA and is visiting India to be with her mother's family. During her visit she is also trying to get more information about her real parents, who she knows nothing about. The journey to find out her identity has her come across the characters played by Yashpal Sharma and Ankur Khanna, who help take her to each lead and finally to a point where she discovers her history. A history that is tied to the 1984 communal riots.

Amu is also about Kaju's relationship with her mother who is trying to keep the truth from her.

Shonali Bose does a fabulous job in telling the story and keeping the viewer glued to the screen. The cast was obviously selected very carefully. Konkona is completely believable as the young NRI. Brinda Karat as the mother puts in a wonderful performance, besides looking gorgeous! Ankur Khanna is perfect as the brooding, cynical Kabir, who gets exposed to a life he is completely unfamiliar with. Yashpal Sharma makes you laugh and makes you cry. The Bengali family as well as Kabir's parents are all people most Indians would have come across.

In conclusion all I have to say is that Amu rocks! It's a movie thats been made from the heart .... don't miss it.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
An important story, good lead performance; but film could be stronger
anhedonia15 May 2006
This clearly was a movie of passion for writer-director-producer Shonali Bose, a UCLA film school grad who wanted to tell a very important story about her homeland's history after she had some personal experience in the 1984 riots that followed the assassination of Prime Minister Indira Gandhi.

Bose wanted this film to appeal to audiences outside India - hence it is mostly in English - so she uses the plot device of a 21-year-old young Indian girl returning home from the U.S. for the first time. There, as she searches for her real parents, she finds out the ugly truth about her nation's recent history.

It's a brave, courageous attempt to reveal what happened in 1984, when several thousand Sikhs were massacred in what was a sanctioned move, if not a coordinated effort, by the government.

"Amu" takes a while to get going as we're introduced to the characters and the set up. It's fine, because the characters are engaging.

Konkona Sensharma is an absolute revelation. I realize that these days Aishwarya Rai gets much more coverage and publicity, but Sensharma is a much better actress, more convincing and gets thoroughly absorbed into her roles. As Kaju, Sensharma is utterly believable as a young woman who has spent most of her life in the United States. She has the mannerisms down, the accent's certainly not unbelievable and her emotions never ring false. I've now seen two films starring Sensharma - the other was "Mr. and Mrs. Iyer" (2002) directed by her mother, Aparna Sen - and she's been brilliant in both.

The film's shortcomings, however, are in the supporting players. Bose did a fine job in casting Sensharma. But as Kaju's love interest, she cast Ankur Khanna as Kabir. Khanna's problem is he never makes Kabir even remotely interesting. To say Kabir is wooden would be an understatement. The lines are delivered in monotone and there's barely any emotion in this performance. I couldn't believe that someone as vivacious and sprightly as Kaju would find Kabir attractive in the least. True, Kabir tries to be a sensitive young man trying to uncover the truth, but Khanna's so flat and dull that their budding romance is difficult to fathom. When Khanna works for some emotion, it seems very forced. There's little, if anything, natural about his performance.

Brinda Karat as Kaju's mother, Keya, is adequate - you can see her trying really hard to wring emotion out of her performance. The film's other fine performance comes from Yashpal Sharma as Gobind, a Hindu tea shop owner befriended by Kaju.

Bose uncovers her story well, adding a few surprises here and there. I realize why Bose used the device of having an Indian American going back to India. But I wondered if it was necessary. I would've preferred if the story had been about the riots; the mystery truly was superfluous. Then again, I also understand Bose's need to get this film distributed and seen in North America and the rest of the world - other than India, I mean - and adding a western touch to it was (unfortunately) probably unavoidable.

Bose certainly isn't lacking confidence in her story. There's one quiet moment between Kaju and Kabir where Bose allows the scene to unwind quietly, without any music. It's a fine moment, a poignant and strong one because of Bose's confidence. But just imagine how riveting and unforgettable that moment might have been with a better actor as Kabir. Having seen Rahul Bose and Sensharma have such tremendous chemistry in "Mr. and Mrs. Iyer," I can't help but think Rahul Bose would have been sensational as Kabir.

The flashback sequences are predictable only in that you know when they're about to be revealed. On the other hand, some of them are extremely painful to watch. Seeing a riot sequence replayed in never easy, but Bose brings out the humanity and the inhumanity out awfully well. And as anyone who's lived through riots would attest, they seem very real.

"Amu" is an important film that needed to be told. It gets a bit didactic occasionally. More subtlety would've helped. Some of the dialogue clearly needed to be tightened only because Bose serves up lines to only be transitions to more expositionary speeches. It's forgivable considering this is Bose's first narrative feature. But the lines seem too obvious and with a little bit of tweaking, this could have been a provocative masterpiece. Bose's a good director, but she needed someone to come in and strengthen the dialogue in this film.

If you're looking for some different fare, something other than Bollywood out of India, do yourself a favor and give "Amu" a chance. Bose shows a lot of promise and that's good not only for Asian cinema, but for film-making as a whole.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Imperfect but Compelling
MITCH!14 May 2006
I had the pleasure of seeing "Amu" during the launch of the first annual Asian American Film Festival in Pittsburgh this past weekend. Perhaps a fitting testament to the reason festivals such as this need to exist in the first place, the film deals with a subject I hadn't even known existed beforehand: the Sikh massacres in India over a three-day period in 1984, and the complicity of a corrupt government in facilitating and masking the events.

Director Shonali Bose, one of the producers (her husband, Atiya, I believe) and star Konkona Sen Sharma were all on hand to answer questions from the audience, and the political nature of the film led to a spirited discussion (and occasional debate) that, unfortunately, could not be condensed into the time allowed. Thus, given the film's stature and the importance of its subject matter, it's a shame to point out the shortcomings of its actual artistry.

As another commenter has mentioned, the film is generally well-directed but is not perfect. I agree that certain elements of its narrative (particularly the pacing, as well as a few contrived interpersonal moments) felt tacked-on or inauthentic, and were perhaps invented to couch the story in a modern-day milieu that could appeal to audiences before "surprising" them with the political content of the film in its second half, as the mystery of the main character's history is unraveled.

It's entirely possible the film would have worked better without the "mystery" angle, especially since it seems to come from left field midway through the film and then becomes all-pervasive, in direct contrast to the semi-documentary "romantic comedy travelogue" feel of the first half. What struck me most awkwardly was the disjointed nature of the "suspense" surrounding the eventual divulging of repressed information. The purposely vague ways in which Kaju's family avoids discussion of her past or, when confronted with conflicting information, seek to simply change the subject or stare pensively at the floor felt falsely melodramatic.

But all of my criticisms become quibbles when faced with the undeniable power of the film's few flashback scenes, which depict certain controversial events in an unflinching light. In those moments, Bose finds her true voice, and the voice of the victims in these unjustified atrocities.

Incidentally, one area the films succeeds in artistically is the casting of Konkona Sen Sharma as Kaju. Her accent and body language were flawlessly American on screen, as they should have been (Kaju is an Indian girl raised in America), but Bose explained after the film that Konkona has lived her whole life in India and was only given two weeks to immerse herself in Los Angeles's culture to prepare for the role of Kaju. Those who see the film will certainly agree that she succeeded.
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
True face of India
folkpoet809 January 2008
This was a very well made movie and a very daring movie. Such movies usually fade away in India. Konkona Sen acted well and her American Accent was almost perfect and commendable. Shonali has poured everything in the movie. Konkona Sen shows why she is clearly apart and far above the run of the mill actresses of Bollywood. Other artists did their part well. About why the Great Govt. of India has banned the movie, there could be several reasons. Apparently the common reason is that the movie might have "raked up the long lost past". I'm not sure about that. Every sane person knows that the Govt. had a large role in the riots of '84 and I'm not saying this because I'm a sikh (because I'm not). I'm saying this as an Indian. Just like there was hand of the govt. when innocent Muslims were butchered in Gujrat a few years ago. Truth is easily suppressed in a country like India, but that didn't stop Shonali Bose from creating an award winning movie. Go see it.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Courageous Film
Jamester14 September 2005
I have to say, I was initially not looking forward to this movie based on the lose plot line I had seen, but having seen in, I'm glad I did. While there were a few rough spots, there were a lot of redeeming qualities for this which makes this movie worth seeing.

For example, the historical look at an assassination in is done very indirectly by examining the life of one family. There is suspense, some interesting flashbacks, as well as some plot development which moves on reasonably nicely, with fairly good acting.

I think there were definitely points in the acting or possibly editing that would smooth out the transitions and increase the believability of the movie, but it is fairly easy to look beyond this after the plot line pulls you in.

The courage in telling this story is what is the most important part of this movie. This was good general knowledge information for me on a slice of Indian history as well as an entertaining tale on surrounding an important historical event.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Well-written, well-acted, very satisfying
Rajika15 May 2007
First of all it's a delight to watch such unselfconscious acting and to hear English (and Hindi, Bengali) spoken so naturally. First time director Shobnali Bose elicits wonderful performances from most of her cast - many of whom are 'non-actors'. The script, too, is deliciously funny in parts, which off-sets well with the powerful and serious message underlying the film. The locations chosen capture the actual places represented so that the whole has the verisimilitude of a documentary film, even while the spectator is drawn into the lives of the characters whose stories are being told. All in all a very satisfying film, and a great debut.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
insightful. not a bollywood product.
enchantedguru15 May 2006
I just went to screening locally as part of an Asian American Film festival. Amu was the opening movie for the festival. I liked the film a lot. Not your typical Indian movie by any means. After the movie they had Q&A with the director, producer, and lead actress. The discussion gave some neat insight regarding the movie. For example a lot of the filming / subject matter was done in fear of govt censorship. The version shown, as well as the one to be released later this fall in the US, is different than what those in India saw at the theater. For example in the scene with the widows discussing with Amu & Kabir the riots and how the government tolerated the violence, that the widows voices are left silent as Amu & Kabir sit in silence.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Good plot spoiled by a poor screenplay
Pratyush8 February 2005
The fact that Indian movies are much more viewable is shown best by movies like Amu appearing in theatres.

Amu is about Kajju's (Konkona Sen's) exploration into her past. Right from the time I saw her in Mr. and Mrs. Iyer, I have regarded her as an excellent actress. This movie is no different. Excellent, flawless acting bu Konkona who plays an Indian girl who has grown up in the US and comes back to India.

The acting by the grand mother of Kajju is interesting with some sharp dialogues 'how do girls pee from pants?'. The step mother's role is played excellently as well. However, the actor playing the boy friend to Kajju is far from satisfactory with his expressions. The screenplay also leaves a lot to be desired as a movie just about 90 minutes long has enough scenes in between which could have been edited to make the flow of scenes smoother.

The movie is about how Kajju slowly finds out about the dark riots of 1984 where Sikhs were mercilessly killed in Delhi. The politicians are shown as supporting the riots and the policemen doing nothing to help. It is a shocking reality which makes one wonder how human we really are.

And it is ironic that just as Kajju seems to come to terms with her tragic past, a newscaster from NDTV is shown on TV reporting about a train being burnt down in Godhra. That was the beginning of the gruesome riots of Gujarat which occurred in 2003. It seems we really will never learn from the past.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Realistic personal story with a historical twist
sunny shri26 July 2007
I just saw this film in a preview for the SF Film Society, and was deeply moved by it. It was masterful storytelling combining a deeply personal search for identity with a historical retelling of a national disgrace. As others have commented, I too was in North India till 1985 (Delhi & Kanpur) and even being so close, I was unaware of the extent of the atrocities and the deep complicity of the government till I saw this movie. This really is an unexplored chapter in Indian history in the media, compared to the many films about Hindu-Muslim riots such as Bombay, Mr & Ms Iyer, Hey Ram etc and kudos to Shonali Bose for exploring this issue.

But it was also the small but exquisite touches that touched a chord in me. Others have complained that Khanna seems too wooden, but he reminds me of people I have known at college in Delhi (including perhaps myself), and a couple of scenes between him and Sen Sharma portray a deep intimacy without the unrealistic physical displays too often seen in other Indian movies. And the relationships between the family members seemed very real to me - the affection between mother and daughter and between mother and grandmother was touching and palpable. And yes, the pace seems slow at first, but the build up is terrific (although the music during the opening scenes could do with a little less of the dramatic bass undertones) and the scenes at the dhaba and in the jhuggis are first rate, as is the portrayal of Gobind by Yashpal Sharma.

Overall, this film is a must-see for anyone interested in Indian cinema and in Indian history.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
so much history, such little to offer...
ajaysaxena196013 February 2005
i have never written a review but felt obligated to after watching this film. i had heard very nice things about this movie but was surprised how disappointed i felt leaving the cinema. one question, why cast Indian girl for nri Indian? she had the accent down, but still - aren't there talented actors from America? also, who is the horrible guy playing kabir. he is awful! he spoils so many scenes of the film.

the mother brinda karat is good as is yashpal sharma from lagaan. the film seems to catering to outside Indians and somehow loses the effect of being powerful for the Indian audience and the outside Indian audience.

i must admit i thought the flashback scenes were powerful. director bose is promising but she should never write again. the dialogue is pretentious and the impact is minimal. still, she extracts competent performances with those restrictions.

the music is okay and the production value is decent. the riots had so much history and i was waiting for a film other than trash like hawayein to offer justice and honesty to what transpired back then. amu offers a glimpse and that's it. i wish the entire film was the flashbacks - it had the chance to make intelligent powerful cinema without the forced formula.

in the end, amu may be made with heart but the result is heartless for the audience.
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Amu (2005) - Review
Mansi Dutta (BalconyRow)26 September 2015
Amu is the story of a 21-year old American-Indian girl who on her staycation in India uncovers unsettling facts about her past - her roots, her identity, where she belonged. This fiction tale is woven around the true events of the 1984 Sikh genocide. A gripping narrative makes this film a compelling watch. The one hour and twenty minutes had my undivided attention. And the performances only added to it. Konkana Sen leaves me spellbound with every film. She's no different here. She plays any part with so much ease I forget I'm watching a film. Brinda Karat, our firebrand political leader and social activist, plays Konkana's mother and she it does adequately.

The film explores and questions the happenings of the '84 riots, stories of which I've heard in my childhood days. Reason why I could so relate to the film. (Stories of sikhs being pulled out of houses and burnt alive, of hindus helping hide away sikhs in their houses, of wailing women and children, of widowed women being rehabilitated in what's now called the "Widow Colony"). A documentary Widow Colony was also made on this subject in 2005. It was screened at various film festivals abroad.

The censor board created much noise at the time of Amu's theatrical release giving it an A-certificate and cutting out a few scenes/dialogues for reasons obvious (that you'll find out in the film and here but the film-makers gave a raw, unpeppered account of all that had happened in their DVD version in 2008 (which was not allowed to be shown on TV).

Amu premiered at the Berlin and Toronto Film Festivals in 2005. Since then, it has won numerous awards and accolades including 2 National Film Awards in the Best Feature Film and Best Director (English language) categories.

Pat on the back to director Shonali Bose and producer-cum-husband Bedabrata Pain (who directed Chittagong) for showing the audacity to make a film without compromising on the facts. The film steers clear of clichés and only focuses on telling the story. And it does that brilliantly!

Source: http://www.balconyrow.com/2013/07/amu-2005-movie-review.html
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A very different yet important angle to the 84 riots
batraman8727 April 2014
I never knew a movie like Amu was released way back in 2005. This is one of the finest story writing I have seen in Indian cinema complimented with the exceptional direction. This angle of 84 Sikh riots was very different but still is one of the most important one describing the sentiments of the people who have faced it and those who still bear the burden of it in day to day life without being able to do anything.

The story in 2014 is still the same. Communities suffer and the creators of this disturbance roam freely and live freely on the taxpayers money.

A must watch movie for those who like intense and near to real cinema.

Thanks a lot Shonali Bose. Hats off to you.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Excellent film, with certain burgeoning message, and good screenplay and direction
Amit Choudhury15 December 2008
Amu is definitely one of the best recent Indian films. I can't stop myself admiring the point the way the story has been told. The planning seemed to be very mature. Hats off to Sonali Bose for her outstanding maiden effort with writing, directing and producing such a film that has got voice and certain mark of difference. In short, this is called something doing courageous and different. I still can't believe that it was a director's first film. The last scene where the protagonist character Kajol walks with Kabir on rail lines and a train comes in the scene, was really hard to believe that the train was made stopped and this train scene was out of the script! It was Sonali's distinctive endeavor that made it possible. We are waiting Sonali for more of your such definite challenging works and would like to see your mark in film making. Best of wishes.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Good film, not great, but good
SirMathius12 November 2005
In Amu, a twenty-one year old Indian girl named Kaju goes back to her homeland after eighteen years to discover her roots. Adopted at age three by doctor Keya, Kaju was taken to the United States to escape the political turmoil of 1984 riots in India. Upon Kaju's return, she soon discovers that her stroll down memory lane has some obstacles and at the end awaits a bitter truth about her family.

Most of the cast fit their roles wonderfully, especially Konkona Sen Sharma as Kaju and Brinda Karat as Keya. Ankur Khanna did seem out of place as Kabir, whose Keanu Reeves' (The Matrix, Constantine) type of unenthusiastic, hardened character wasn't played out well in this dramatic film.

The story also seemed a bit weak, especially the tie between Kaju's background and the 1984 riots in India. The history of the riots was summed up in a few short dialogues and an approximate 10-minute clip during the climax. The dialogue for Kabir also seemed a bit repetitive as he frequently asked the same question concerning the 1984 riots.

The directing was another great element in this film along with the great performances by Sharma and Karat. The scenes were well staged; especially the scene with the dancing boy and the scenes at the train station. The flashbacks that Kaju experienced were also exceptional and helped the story give a sense of depth, the feeling that something deeper has happened that Kaju's relatives are hiding from her.

With the exception of Kabir's roles and the slightly melodramatic tone in some of the scenes, Amu was directed well and great performances by the other main and supporting characters. Amu also showed the true political chaos that corrupts India today. Eight out of ten.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
May be authentic but lacks spirit and the right talent!
Tarla Bhatarcharya16 September 2005
I've seen many politically charged films. The one thing that always gets to me is that a cause drives a project to greater awareness of an issue or event. But what bothered me incredibly about "Amu The Film" was that the script was so benign that the history was getting a fairly weak treatment. Shonali Bose, the writer director should have stuck to directing as the handling is mostly first rate. However, the insipid dialogue, the forced romantic angle between Kaju and some horribly wooden actor playing Kabir (are we supposed to buy that she would fall for this chap?), and politics which unravel through a mystery that simply is too over-dramatic in its unfolding make me wonder if "Amu The Film" was trying too hard to please too many people.

I was amazed by the responses here as people seem to be eating up the contrived emotions and the forced responses we are supposed to feel for these characters and the situations. While the 1984 riots is absolutely a topic that needed further examination "Amu The Film" fails miserably.

As much as I tried to like the film, it just lacked the spirit. And the spirit is what drove me to see the film in the first place.
4 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Melodramatic story that could have been so much more.
Treasure Girl2 December 2005
I went to a recent screening of this movie because I had heard interesting things about it. The one word that I can best use to explain the movie: contrived! The story is waferthin yet dealing with quite an important issue that I had no idea about. Yes, a filmmaker with passion and patience deserves applause but ultimately the film needs to back that up. This film dramatizes elements of the 1984 riots in such a way that if you didn't know about them, you are frustrated by the lack of being in the know and if you do know about it, it's far too trivial and over-dramatic. The lead actress played by Konkona Sen is a great heroine. The only problem is that her supporting team is horrible. Maybe something gets lost between the English the characters speak and my understanding but it's so pretentious and completely distances the audience. Her love interest is beyond words - horrendous. The mother is strictly okay. I liked the director's intent and her fierce drive. That is 100% missing on screen. The only thing I left feeling for AMU was sorry that I couldn't better understand her needs and her past. It's a shame because the film highlights a part of history that is not well known in the western world. Perhaps realizing that got lost in translation.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Brilliant movie but has anyone learnt a lesson ???
shivalikian_18 November 2007
Well I haven't yet watched this movie but I would surely like to watch it. I would like to appreciate director for such a bold and courageous effort. And the bad thing is that masses would watch it as just another work of art or ....... sadly in the so called largest democracy of the world there is no democracy at all. minorities in Punjab, eastern states, Kashmir have suffered thru successive Indian governments and continue to do so. My heart and feelings are with all those unfortunate but brave people who stood out for their self-respect and civil rights. SHAME on fascist people who still thrive freely !!! It is a blot on the image of India until justice is done to those innocent people
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Its a pity that 23 yrs down the road there is no justice!!
voguish2116 February 2007
well made movie - shows the plight of people in so called democratic India. Portrays the suffering of the common man - 23 years on and a community still awaits justice: 20000+ killed in 3 days and not 1 person was found guilty - amazing and stunning.

Hopefully someone can also make a movie about the killing of hundreds of Sikh youth in "fake encounters" by Indian govt sponsored terrorism in Punjab, Kashmir, Assam and many other states in India.

This movie is not just about the 1984 pogrom of Sikh murders but also to show all the Indian people who chose to ignore this - YOU WILL BE NEXT!!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews