Grilled (2006) Poster

(2006)

User Reviews

Review this title
49 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
From SLOW to Fast in 35 minutes!
yatri2524 July 2006
This is one of those movies that you watch waiting and hoping for it to get better. And the good news is Grilled gets better. The movie was s-l-o-w for first 35 minutes; and after that Grilled is fast, suspenseful, clever, and funny. Don't skip the slow part though or you'll be lost in the last half of the film. The actors excellent performances compensate for the bland story line.

This movie is like a bag of potato chips. Its junk food, not gourmet, but some times we all like a little junk food.

The movie's irregular pace explains why Grilled was released straight to DVD. Its a B movie worth a rent, but not worthy of any home shelf space.
26 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Decent movie with good characters and a weak plot
Potus41512 July 2006
When I first heard that Kevin James and Ray Romano were doing a movie together, I thought it was a great idea. Shortly after that, I learned that the movie was being re-tooled and would be headed straight to DVD. Obviously this curbed some of my enthusiasm.

However, after seeing the movie, I think it was good enough to be released in theaters. I have seen many theatrical releases that were worse than this.

Certainly there are problems, mostly with the plot (meat salesmen following leads?) and story lines left undeveloped (the relationship between Kevin James' character and his daughter). But the one redeeming quality that makes the movie worth watching is the characters. James and Romano both play their parts well. However, I will say that James is better suited for his loud mouth, slapstick-style humor that can be seen in King of Queens or the sweaty, nervous guy that he played in Hitch and his character in this movie could have used a little more of either. The supporting/cameo roles turned in by Burt Reynolds, Juliette Lewis, and Michael Rapaport along with a few other familiar faces are quite good.

All in all, this is an average movie. I'm a little surprised it went straight to DVD since I think it would have done alright in the theaters given its star power. I'm not saying it would have won any Oscars, but I'm sure people would have gone to see James, Romano, and Reynolds with the right kind of promotion. I'd recommend the DVD for fans of James and Romano, although it won't measure up to their respective sitcoms.
27 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The performances make it worth-watching.
tarbosh220008 July 2006
"Grilled" was a pretty funny and suspenseful dark comedy. Ray Romano and Kevin James play meat salesman who are in a slump. If they don't make at least two sales, they're going to be fired.

Ray Romano was really good in this. He doesn't have to wait for a laugh track this time. Kevin James is his usual bumbling self, but he showed that he can be serious also and he pulled it off. You care about their problems. Jon Polito, Juilette Lewis and Michael Rapaport put in funny performances. The two stand-outs are Burt Reynolds and Kim Coates. They take one-dimensional characters and make them interesting.

This is a pretty big straight to video release. It doesn't deserve a quick death. It's worth watching.

For more insanity, please visit: comeuppancereviews.com
36 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Forget Everything You (think you) Know about Ray and Kevin
burnit21215 July 2006
If you're expecting Ray and Kevin to bring their TV personas to the big screen in this movie you will be very mistaken and disappointed. This is a dark cool road-like movie. This movie could've been an independent film if they had cast actors like steve buscemi and paul giamatti as the meat salesmen. Instead, for some reason, they went with Ray and Kevin and didn't tell anybody what they did. You can't put two comedians who live in a world of laugh tracks into this kind of movie without giving the audience a hand by getting them ready for what they're about to watch. It's not that kind of funny. It's uncomfortable funny. It's ruthless funny. And you have to be ready for it. If you are, you'll have a great time. There's amazing performances by Juliette Lewis and Kim Coates and everyone else. Ray and Kevin are believable and competent in their roles. It looks cool and hot and sweaty. It's not perfect, but it's also not what you're expecting. Turn the AC off, put this movie on, and forget everything you think you know about Ray Romano and Kevin James.
36 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Hmmm, Never made my mind up
joe_the_movie_goer23 July 2006
5 out of 10

That is because I just couldn't make up my mind if this movie was good or bad. It had a lot of classic humor. The problem was that while watching a movie which stars two of the biggest sitcom actors / comedians you expect BIG laughs. It doesn't have BIG laughs. It has "Hmm that's funny" laughs.

I reserve this film for the "if you have seen all the big hits" and just want something different, then this is for you.

It's a decent flick and I will leave it at that.

Enjoy the show.
19 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Deserved better
caa82118 December 2007
Ray Romano and Kevin James are certainly two of the top comic talents in the past several years. Ray, as the cornerstone of his series, and with reruns appearing frequently and in multiple airings - he has to be adding to the financial benefits from his creation - already well into 9 figures, and probably approaching 10.

I don't know if Kevin had the equity in his program equivalent to Romano, but if he hasn't made as much, it's very considerable nonetheless.

Many big TV stars have had an overall rough time in gaining anything even close in translating their talents to the big screen. Sometimes the films seem to be bad choices - or just "bad."

Bill Cosby's TV show was top-rated, and I believe he led all entertainers in earnings at least one year, and was near the top during others - but what he provided on the big screen was neither memorable initially nor provided anything one would seek to view again.

Even where not only due to movie quality, it seems difficult for audiences to accept characterizations different from those which made their television programs so popular.

This movie wasn't of "blockbuster" proportions, but certainly worthy of better than direct-to-video release. The two leads have worked well together before - James regularly on "Raymond," and while I didn't and don't watch "King of Queens" a lot, I do recall seeing Romano at least once in a cameo-type appearance.

But this flick was humorous with a plot which balanced its humor and a modicum of believability and drama. I thought both leads did well, and the supporting cast, too..

Worth a viewing - and much better than, say, the Pesci/Glover offering, "Gone Fishin'," where even big-screen performers with successful track records can produce a real flop.

Again, this film seems to deserve better than it got.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
uneven, but it has it's moments
pheimill11 October 2006
first and third acts were pretty good. Uneven middle with some sequences that didn't add up. Especially something they tried to make you believe about Sofía Vergara's character. No one would buy it for one second.

But leads (Ray and Kevin) were very funny in spots, especially if you like dark comedy. These roles are a bit more serious than most people will be used to for these actors. But their characters seemed genuine, and provided laughs throughout. Smaller parts were made for laughs, but fell flat in places. One exception was Kim Coates, who was an over the top arms dealer in a brief but funny role. In total, I think it was worth seeing.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
not funny
gandalf_a_199916 December 2006
This is a movie without a single laugh.

Two meat salesman who have fallen into a slump are about to get fired unless they make some sales.

After many leads gets them nothing, they have a chance with an attractive woman who seems more interested in Romano. By this time the movie's thin plot is losing interest, and the only way to liven it up....in come some hit men.

As a fan of Ray Ramano's and having enjoyed Welcome to Mooseport which had some laughs and of course his Raymond sitcom, this movie was disappointing.
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
underachieved, but still enjoyable thanks to good acting
manicman8412 August 2006
"Grilled" depicts vicissitudes of two desperate door-to-door meat salesman who are attempting to sell the huge amount of beef at all costs. This farce idea of the film is maybe improbable, but quite original and triggers off some laughs. However, the film is not very intense and uses mostly situational humor. The real stress is put on the leading actors who managed quite well. In particular, Kevin James is hilarious and Juliette Lewis in a supporting role as a loony suicide is as always great. Nevertheless, I think that screenwriters really didn't properly make use of an enormous potential flowing from this project. Thus, the script seems half-baked. This black comedy should be funnier and contain more types of humor. All in all, "Grilled' is an average flick with not enough laughable scenes and good acting
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great film (watch with a open mind)
neil-4245 November 2006
I liked this film, I really did! My girlfriend rented it one night (knowing that I am a big fan of 'King of Queens', with Kevin James, and 'Everbody Loves Raymond', with Ray Romano), and at first I was a little sceptical! From past experiences, straight to D.V.D releases have burned a hole in my eyes, with bad acting, bad direction etc, but this film had a certain charm to it! I must admit, the rebel in me loved hearing Kevin James curse like a angry hillbilly, and Ray Romano looked like a real bad ass with that beard (my girlfriends opinion), and Julliete Lewis done a great job as a crazy drunk bitch, I don't think she had to act much though;) Burt Renoylds, even though he was in a small part of the film oozed all the class, and coolness you would expect from him! Although you would expect it to be a comedy with two comedians playing the leading roles, it was more of a drama, with funny parts thrown in for good measure! Kevin James and Ray Romano actually 'act', instead of doing silly dances and complaining about their parents, they do a pretty good job at playing desperate salesmen (being in sales, I could relate to their predicament), I am not going to give away the plot/ending, because I didn't know anything about this movie before I watched it, and I really think you should watch with a open mind!! All in all, I would recommend this film to anybody who has nothing better to do than sit in with your girlfriend, drink beer and eat pizza...........what a perfect night!!!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Soft nice comedy
Attila_Krieger4 July 2006
As i hate spoilers I'm gonna be as brief as possible. Its a soft comedy,it will make you laugh sometimes and bring a smile to your face. Do see it, its worth it. I've seen some comedies lately and they were not as much enjoyable as this one was. It will cleanse all stupid and goofy humor films out of you, and yet it will give you a smile to your face,its rewarding! It has a plot, its emotional and very,very funny sometimes. Loved the acting of all characters, well done!! I personally think its a good movie to see in the afternoon and just chill and give a good laugh. It has a dark humor added as to failure situations in life but with a smile in it, and it has that feeling that if you keep trying you will be rewarded :) enjoy the movie

Cheers (sorry about my 2 inches of raw meat English) ;)
9 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pretty bad movie
rustyshackleford093846 September 2006
Ray Romano & Kevin James should just stick to their respective sitcoms on TV. OK, well maybe it's not their fault this movie stank, it's probably just the weak story line. That, and the fact that if this is supposed to be a comedy, it's not really that funny. You won't find yourself laughing at the jokes, because, well, there really aren't any. And while I'm not offended by vulgar language, the overuse of profanity in this movie seemed very clumsy & unneeded, kind of like a 13 year old trying to impress his friends by talking dirty.

Overall, it's no surprise this turkey went straight-to-DVD. And it's not even worth renting.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Never really gets started
anirog9 July 2006
The first 30 minutes of watching Grilled I was waiting for the film to start, after an hour I was still waiting. It's only redeeming feature is Juliette Lewis, who I like very much, but she does seem to get typecast by directors as the strung out wacky chick in most of the movies I have seen her in.

The director demands we suspend our disbelief for Grilled as the plot is totally unbelievable, I like suspending my disbelief for movies I don't want realism all the time, but if you need us to enter your little world then please give us something better than this terrible movie.
7 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Meat and Potatoes
mmason_2811 July 2006
I recently saw this movie, and I loved it. Hollywood needs to make more comedies like Grilled. Why? Simply because it is filled with laughs. Isn't that precisely what a comedy should aim to do? Entertain the audience and make them laugh..

Kevin James and Juliette Lewis stole the show, and even Burt Reynolds delivered a strong performance. I also enjoyed seeing Ray Ramona in a different-type role. This is definitely not the 'sitcom' Ray Ramona, however, somehow he is believable in this movie. Would I buy meat from him? Probably not. However, I would go see him in this movie again. Well done.

Not only would I see this movie again,I would recommend that my friends go see it too. I never would have imagined that a comedy about 'meat salesmen' would succeed in making me laugh, but Grilled did exactly that.

Go see it.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
An adequate film, but I can see why it went direct-to-video
guyfromjerzee4 December 2006
You would think that a movie starring both Ray Romano and Kevin James (each extremely funny on their sitcoms) couldn't possibly fail. This movie doesn't necessarily fail, but with the talents of these two great comedians, it definitely falls short. Romano and James show that they're both good actors, and can play characters different from the ones on their sitcoms. Hopefully, next time they'll be working with a better script. Other than the novelty of the main characters being door-to-door meat salesman, the movie doesn't contain much originality. I chuckled quite a few times throughout the course of the film, but there are no big laughs. I can see why "Grilled" went straight-to-video, despite the popularity of the two actors. If it played in theaters, it would probably have a worse box office performance than "Welcome to Mooseport." To be fair, the plot does thicken in the second half, and I found myself pretty intrigued. However, being a big fan of both "Everybody Loves Raymond" and "The King of Queens," I couldn't help but feel disappointed. And I'm sure other fans will be disappointed as well.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Absolute rubbish
xredgarnetx14 July 2007
GRILLED predictably sat on the shelf for a time before finally being released direct to video. Better it should have stayed buried. TV actors Ray Romano and Kevin James play a pair of underhanded meat salesmen (the movie tagline says it all) who run afoul of gangsters, a smoking hot transsexual and assorted and sundry goofballs and fools. Juliette Lewis plays a suicidal bimbo and Sofia Vergara is Romano's fleeting love interest. Burt Reynolds and Jon Polito are also along for this wildly uneven ride. What a disaster. Everyone involved in this should be ashamed. Unearthly beauty Vergara is the only reason to watch even five minutes of this.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Pretty funny movie
The_Wagon28 July 2006
I thought it would suck, but I rented it anyway because there was nothing else to rent. I was looking for The Benchwarmers, but they were out, so I grabbed this because the storyline sounded cool. It was actually quite funny. The movie is nice and short. I like short movies sometimes. Some movies need to be long, like Scarface. Would it have been as good if it was 90 minutes? NO! But this movie has the perfect length. There were some really funny parts. These two meat salesman get involved with the mafia, and it's just a really funny story. Go watch it, have some popcorn, and enjoy the movie. You'll laugh. Good movie. 7/10.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Perfect for me
msloan214 July 2006
I like watching Ray Ramono much like Jim Carey or Bill Murray. Have a couple drinks, watch the movie, and don't over-think it. I agree it is somewhat cliché and superficial, but hey I don't like to have to use my brain too much when I watch a comedy. Certain celebrities bring an intangible energy to their character that surpasses the words they are saying. To me this is Ray Ramono's gift. I liked the movie and felt Ray stayed true to his well known character. But hey I was half drunk so it may have sucked to anyone that over analyzes it. So I gave it an 8 because I am a huge Ray Ramono fan and laughed out loud several times just looking at him.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A real upset. Enough said.
steeped15 February 2007
We all love Ray Romano and Kevin James in Everybody Loves Raymond and the King of Queens. I've gained respect from both of these guys, playing a very funny role in a great family TV shows. Especially Ray Romano, who I thought was very consistent with the movies he chose. Ice Age, Welcome to Mooseport... sure not the greatest films out there but at least you see a comedian stick with his funny family role. I grew up picturing Ray Romano as a role model, as a guy I would love to meet and remember my experience with him. And yes, of course there's a BUT.

This movie totally ruined my respect for them. Instead of being all funny and making you enjoy the picture, this was a dark movie with harsh language and pathetic acting. It was like when I heard Ray Romano swear for the first time a knife went through me. Sure everyone swears, but just he fact that my role model... If you love Ray Romano and/or Kevin James, DO NOT see this movie. Trust me. If you do love these two actors, it's because of the previous wicked roles they were in. This movie will lower your respect for them. Play it safe and don't watch this movie. Trust me, it's no loss. This was a bad film.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Different Comedic Style Than Both Sitcoms
walken_on_sunshine28 January 2007
The two geniuses behind Everybody Loves Raymond and The King Of Queens come together to bring us Grilled.First of all and this is very important Grilled has a completely different comedic style than both sitcoms so don't expect The King Of Queens or Everybody Loves Raymond.The humour style of Grilled is very subtle and rather dark as Dave and Maurice get themselves in and out of hilariously dark situations.The acting is what makes Grilled funny Ray Romano, Kevin James, Juliette Lewis, Burt Reynolds, and Michael Rappaport give amazing performances that are unique and show all the talent the have in the genre of comedy.Where the pacing is concerned it is very slow and yes Grilled does get a little stale but they always put in a good plot twist to get your interest back and hold it.The movie has a lot of film noir like humour the kind of humour you'd find in Lucky Number SLevin or Pulp Fiction but it also has it's fair share of physical humour as well.It is overall a very fantastic movie but definitely not as good as either Everybody Loves Raymond or The King Of Queens it is however a funny film worth watching at least once.Ray Romano and Kevin James show they have a lot of potential and a lot of talent in more than one division of the comedy genre.I enjoyed the slow yet amusing tale of two meat salesmen hellbent on making a sale no matter what the situation so I give Grilled a 6 out of 10 it would receive a 7 if the pace was faster and there was a little more physical comedy.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Don't waste your money!!!
juliana121 August 2006
Um what can I say about this movie... without retching?! We rented it because it had Ray and Kevin in it. Within the first 10 minutes I was already bored by the driving scene. I found the conversation between James and Ramano to be lacking, and uninteresting. I was left wanting more. I was bored by the script, plot, and lame lines. I thought it would be funny, yet I found it continually lame and quite the let down. I found Juliette Lewis' role to be pointless and found the drunk wife scene to be overdone. I am glad it had not gone to theater, otherwise I would've wasted more money than the 4.99 it cost to watch this pitiful excuse of a movie. I am still a Ray and Kevin fan though, and will probably watch their next "big" flick. I also was a bit disturbed by Burt Reynold's and his teachings for his son on how to become a man. Maybe if I was in a different mood, I may have enjoyed this movie more. But I seriously doubt it.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Good for a few laughs
wrlang20 August 2006
Grilled is a dark comedy about two meat salesmen that run into problems as they try and sell people bulk meat subscriptions. They fall into the wrong crowd and are faced with getting some subscriptions or die trying. The whole scenario is pretty depressing, but the stars do an adequate job of turning the problems into humor. I waited a month for the DVD to return to the rental store, it was always out of stock, which promised a good show that didn't really materialize for me. I guess I like each of these actors in their respective TV comedies, but there wasn't that much chemistry between them on the same screen. Good for a few laughs, solid acting, good camera work, but over all not that great.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Just above average, but still a cute movie.
gambilljen29 July 2006
So, I heard about this movie through IMDb and decided to check it out. First off, it is a low budget straight to video movie, but, this has some big name actors. Ray Ramano and Kevin James are REALLY good together in this movie. THe chemistry is there and you can tell they are friends. The acting is really good to, although a bit silly some times. The movie is very entertaining. The only problem I had with this movie was it was a little amateurish (sp?). I almost could have been a little kids movie had it not been for the content. The humor isn't like non-stop, but is consistent with the movie. There is strong language and a bit of violent content, so if you don't like really crude movies, stay away. Overall it was just OK, but still a fun little movie. I give this a 6/10.

R-Language, some sexual references, and a scene of violence.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Avoid at all cost
s_h_t_28 July 2006
Can there be a negative rating?

Wasn't expecting much for this direct to video debacle, but it shocked me on the YIKES!!! scale.

Horrid dialog, dreadful pace, not funny, cheesy plot.

Whoever came up with this stinker should be arrested.

How can even B list actors work on this?

Romano and James should be able to come up with better stuff in their sleep.

Don't they read the script before signing the contract or was it a blackmail deal.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
VERY underrated ... VERY cool
bfarahmand15 July 2006
This movie has an original and hilarious story, normally that would be enough for me, but add Ray Romano, Kevin James and a cast of talented actors and actresses plus great scenery and music, I don't know what the folks in Hollywood were thinking not plugging this movie. if you ask me, you're missing out. The story evolves around two partners (Romano and James) who sell fine quality meat door-to-door. Dave (James) is a family man trying to take care of his little daughter and Maurice (Romano) is a swinging bachelor. The story starts when they go on a bad luck streak and get an ultimatum and 3 lead cards from their boss. They both know it's do or die time and it picks up from there.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed