Sniper 3 (Video 2004) Poster

(2004 Video)

User Reviews

Review this title
28 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
A Really Good "B" Action Movie
gazebo16 January 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Yeah, I know. Tom Berenger should be in better movies. This movie is your typical "B" action movie but the acting is much, much better. This time, he has to go back to Vietnam to assassinate a friend who has turned evil. Problem is, Thomas Beckett is older and his sniper skills are not as good as before. Something goes wrong with the hit and Thomas is forced to run for his life. Will Thomas Beckett and the Vietnamese policeman be able to get out of this mess? I liked the scenes of Ho Chi Minh City. I thought the actor that played the good Vietnamese policeman who puts his life on the line to help Thomas was excellent. Tom Berenger, as usual, has a lot of charisma and his acting is very good. Just looking at him, you feel that he is a haunted man who probably feels extremely guilty for doing what he does so well, and that is, killing people with a gun.

This is a good movie to rent and watch if you're in the mood for a good action flick.

I enjoyed this movie very much. But as I said, Tom Berenger should really be in better movie vehicles.
17 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Thomas Beckett "One in a Million" and Quan Kick Some Tail
aonn9 July 2005
The Sniper series is just as good as any action movie that you'd see at a movie theater. Unbeknownst to the neophyte, these Sniper movies are really spy movies and damn good ones, I might add. The series is well produced, adequately funded and high tech. You won't see any bad acting or hear any lame jokes here. Instead, you get evenly distributed bang for your buck.

In the cloak and dagger realm of Sniper 3, you are taken on a mission to modern day Ho Chi Minh, previously called Saigon. The NSA (National Security Agency) has reactivated a former Marine sniper, Tom Beckett, so as to hunt down and neutralize a target, which is connected to a high level mole in the Washington political arena. Has Colonel Dan McKenna, NSA military intelligence, positioned in Washington D.C., picked the right man for this assignment? Also, can we count on William Avery, Deputy Director of NSA, to oversee the operation through to completion? We have our fingers crossed. Beware the Cobra—revere the Mongoose! and learn about an ancient Vietnamese folktale, as your life will depend on it.

The Sniper 3 soundtrack is upbeat and will delight more than a handful of Ravers. Vietnam in the twenty-first century sure ain't what it used to be, and offers a new light juxtaposed with the age-old, dark world of espionage.

Make sure you check out the other Sniper installments, as they are equally worthy.
31 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Finnegan's wake
movieman_kev27 April 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Tom Berenger is once again back on hand as our favorite fictional super sniper, Tom Beckett. This time he's sent back to Vietnam to kill Paul Finnegan, a former soldier, thought dead but gone AWOL. But the government that sends him on the mission isn't really telling him the whole truth.He teams up with the son he never knew he had (it's never said out right, but it's pretty damn obvious) to finish his mission. This movie was actually a good step up from the second one, thanks to the locale, some rather good action, and a better plot overall. I have no clue if a fourth film is being thought up, but if this is the last Sniper film then I'm glad that the series ended on a high note.

My Grade: B+
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I thought it was fantastic.
CynthiaAlvarenga13 July 2004
I liked the casting choices. Of course Tom Berenger is the perfect actor but John Doman, Denis Arndt, William Duffy and especially Byron Mann were convincing in their characters. The Vietnamese cast and crew were phenomenal. I liked the very well-written story, no loose ends. All the information that was told in the story was used with it's conclusions. I like the location choices in Vietnam. I loved the music (WOW). There was a Southeast Asian theme but not over the top stereotypical. The music was hip and matched the screens of the movie. I like the cinematography. The lighting at the dock with Quan and the informant, spooky. Great job, really !!
20 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Sure it's low budget, but....
samurai_jazz30 April 2008
While this is certainly low budget, the producers and director did something special that set this one apart: they got a good script AND good actors. Tom Beringer and Byron Mann headed up a cast that took what little money was thrown into this movie and brought it up to the level of many films that have found their way into the local cinema. Even surpassed a lot of them. They took a very well written script and squeezed every drop out of it that they could and made a very enjoyable film to boot. Could it have been better? Sure. The production values could have been better if a few more bucks had come their way. But given the limitations: this movie rocked!
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good ending in a very decent trilogy
ODDBear12 February 2006
Sniper was a solid and moody thriller boosted by some top notch action sequences. Sniper 2 proved to be a very solid sequel and not that far behind the original. Sniper 3 is every bit as good as, if not slightly better, than part 2 as it expands somewhat on Beckett and gives you more of an insight into this interesting character.

Retired Marine sniper Beckett, now teaching this profession, is given a one off assignment; track down an kill and old friend who's been supplying weapons to the enemy.

The action scenes are good, production values surprisingly good, the story is mostly well written and the film is fast paced. These are all qualities that make a decent film and Sniper 3 is definitely a very decent action/thriller. Tom Berenger adds more layers to Beckett's character and gives a very good performance.

The Sniper trilogy is well worth watching, every movie has something going for it.
21 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Enjoyed the hell out of this sequel
dima-1218 October 2004
SNIPER 3 is pretty exciting and well-crafted B-flick, shot by promising once-indie filmmaker PJ Pesce who wound up nailing great direct-to-video sequels. The theatrical feature SNIPER opened the nineties and now it seems it was directed by the guy who is way inferior to the ones credited on the sequels. First off it was Craig Buxley who turned SNIPER 2 into a well-made inventive low-budgeteer. Here comes Pesce who adds vintage eighties muscle into the typical Cannon MISSING IN ACTION Vietnam setting. Pesce knows his pulp and is proud to show it. Berenger is experienced and he can do such roles in his sleep while Byron Mann remains one of the greatest underused martial arts heroes after Invincible and BELLY OF THE BEAST.

SNIPER 3 is more than a worth rental.

When it comes to owning it, I recommend buying it when the price drops. A definite VHS pick if you stumble upon it on cable.
20 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A bit better than Sniper 2 but still has bugs
Usually by the third installment of any franchise, the stories become bland, and the characters: carbon copies and the charm is lost. Sniper 2 (2002) was a mediocre sequel but it did have some things about it that made it enjoyable. I did not favor how the first Sniper (1993), which was a thriller, turned into an action film for the sequel. I did think it was an interesting take, but it wasn't executed properly. I also didn't appreciate the character that Bokeem Woodbine played. His role was more obnoxious than involving.

Here, Tom Berenger once again reprises his role as the callous marine scout sniper, Thomas Beckett. Berenger still has the character down like he did for the last two films but this time the writers address an issue with his health. J.S. Cardone and Ross Helford make it clear in this film that Beckett is no longer the soldier he once was. Because of the trauma that he suffered in the first film, he now suffers from mild muscle spasms in his hand.

This small subplot may upset some viewers because in a way, it's speaking to the audience saying, "this the last time Thomas Beckett will be on screen". It's visible too. Several times it seems like Berenger is making his character look worn and drained of energy to show that Thomas Beckett is getting too old for the career he tries to hold on to. But Beckett's drawn in one more time to execute his new "hit" that was a man he once called a friend. Too bad flashbacks and dream sequences had to be used when Beckett ever focused on these issues. It's not needed.

Co-starring Berenger is Byron Mann playing Quan, a police operative sent to assist Beckett in his assassination. Mann plays his character rather cool and intelligently. The writers even allowed Quan to make a personal connection with Beckett, being that his father was a scout sniper as well. This at least leads to a comparatively easy-going relationship between these two individuals. Its nothing like the stupid quibbles between Beckett and Cole from the previous film.

As for the rest of the film nothing has really changed. I've accepted the fact that no one's going to bother to try and make this a thriller again. There's still lots of things being blown up, several gunshots and the anticipation of the thriller aspect is unfortunately abandoned. However, the fight scene between Quan and one of the main villain's thugs entertained me. Hand-to-hand combat is always cool to watch no matter what.

Also, the location to where Beckett travels is at least a little more lively and it even allowed Tim Jones, the composer, to make his score slightly more engaging than Gary Chang's half-hearted version of the previous sequel. It's not as good as the first, but it seems to me that there was more effort put into the making of this sequel than that of Sniper 2 (2002). So although it didn't satisfy me much more than the last one, it definitely shows improvement.

The second sequel to Sniper (1993) still has the qualities of a bad action film and relies too much on Beckett's rising personal issues. But what makes this one different is its character development and better music.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Happy Ending
Head_Cheese190329 September 2007
Warning: Spoilers
This was a great way to end the trilogy. The Vietnam flashback was great, the kills were good, and the dialog wasn't boring. Just one big "oh what the hell that could NEVER happen" in there but it is made up for the sniper kills and nice handgun kills. The rifle he uses, the winchester m70 I think it was, was nice if you're a sniper fan. I really hope they make another sniper because there aren't enough good sniper movies out there, this is definitely one of my favorites and I recommend it to anyone who likes sniping.

If you liked sniper 1 and 2 you have to see this one.

in fact I'm gonna go watch it again right now.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
a one in a million shot
disdressed1226 June 2010
while this final installment in the series isn't as good as the previous two,it's still not too bad.it's still very watchable.it just takes much longer too get going and even when it does,it much slower than the other two.the character are not as interesting either.having said that,the movie still entertains.and that last shot has to be seen to be believed.i had to rewind to see it again.that was truly a one in a million shot.of course it wasn't real.but it was still something to see.without that particular scene,i would give this movie a rating of 6.but that one moment actually elevates the movie.for me,Sniper 3 is a 7/10
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Full circle
refinedsugar27 April 2013
The third stop in the series, likely Tom Berenger's last go round, a story that nicely comes full circle, Sniper 3 ends up being the next best thing to the original and far and away the best sequel. The original established mood, tone, character and such. I like it a lot, good flick. Sniper 2 didn't do much right in my book. It's sole asset was its brief expansion on Beckett's character, but hey, a lot of people seem to enjoy it. Finally what is there to say about Sniper 4; aka Reloaded? Hi Billy Zane, maybe? Nice to see Miller again (even if he's stuck in a z grade, rundown sequel).

I won't rundown the story to Sniper 3 like it's epic. It's not, but besides being serviceable - as a backdrop for the casual viewer - it opens up plenty on Beckett's character, history, background and isn't that what we tune in for at this point in the road? Yes, the return to it's jungle roots (so to speak) is welcomed, the supporting cast is decent and the sniping portions of the movie feel right, but Beckett's up and down slope is this sequel's strongest asset. Weak spots? Every sequel has dealt lies and predictable betrayal and this one's no different. Oh and taking out a rival sniper with a handgun from quite a distance. That scene made me wince.

The casual moviegoer can rightfully be excused for perceiving Sniper 3 as nothing more than an indistinguishable dtv offering, but fans of the series will want to give it a go. I enjoyed the opening and the finale's simple but efficient ending with what I perceived to be a wink and nod to the original. I went in with lowered expectations because of Sniper 2, but 3 delivered. A good bookend to Beckett's saga.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A fairly serviceable DTV thriller that doesn't do anything that well or that badly
bob the moo10 March 2007
Although sniper Thomas Beckett is still known as a master of his "art", his loss of a finger and deal with the Corp to stay with a training programme has now earned him a reputation as a pain in the ass washed out old man. However the NSA need a sniper to take out a Vietnamese drug warlord who has moved into international terrorism. The problem is that this "warlord" is former CIA and Beckett's spotter who has taken his former role of using drug running to fund black ops for the US and expanded it, with the "presumed dead" label helping him to do it.

I'm not sure what made me try this film although rest assured that the offer of a Tom Berenger three-quel is not usually what has me forming a "Star Wars" style queue at my cinema. It was actually reasonably good for what it was though, despite doing no one thing really well and generally accepting for a level of serviceability across the board. This can be seen in the many things it tries to do. It wants to have a conspiracy/shadowy NSA men thing; a "sick of the killing but am nothing without it" character thing; an action movie thing and, weirdly, an Apocalypse Now thing as well. Being a direct to video third film in an unremarkable series, I doubt that dropping all of these and focusing on one would have made them any better so actually it does do a reasonable job of having a bit of everything.

If you're looking for a solid direct-to-video thriller then the little touches surrounding Beckett and Finnegan will be of interest and perhaps be a welcome addition to what the film is doing. Anyone expecting it to do much more than the basics with Beckett's supposedly broken man other than having him mumbling something about being "tired" will be disappointed because of all the things the film does, it generally doesn't take them beyond this level. The film still engages though, despite the way the action rarely actually reflects the stealth of the title or the "one shot" of the tagline. Pesce does an OK job of directing given the usual b-movies he does (which I suppose this is another one of).

The cast are mixed and do mostly do the job , albeit a job where not a lot is asked. Berenger does "grizzled" well and wears it like a pair of old slippers here. In terms of depth or understanding of his character I'd suggest he doesn't bring much out, but then he doesn't really need to. Mann is on hand to do "oriental side kick" duties as is often the way; I like him as he is an attractive man and has an easy charm and he gets to do a fight scene in return for playing second fiddle. Arndt and Duffy are suitably shadowy but the surprise find for me was a solid presence from Streutker. Better known to those with taste as Rawls from The Wire (and if you haven't seen this show then I would suggest you perhaps put that above things like Sniper 3 in your rental queue), he manages to do a good job with basically what is a half-baked rip off of Kurtz. His character is stupid, his motivations worse and the jail room scene just too close to being a spoof but yet the man has presence and he makes for a good big character opposite Berenger.

Overall then, a fairly serviceable DTV thriller. It has lots of things going on but does none of them beyond a level that could be politely called average. However by having them there it does help make the film feel slightly better than it is and, for all it did, I reasonably enjoyed it.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good movie but the size of project cause the movie corny in some scene.
kankawin2501315 March 2009
I was surprised when I knew at first glance that this is the DVD movie. This movie's quality made me stupendous. The cast and plot was great. Tom Berenger still fit in his role as Thomas Beckett, even he was very old at the time. Byron Mann also showed his good performance too. (Unfortunately, Mann didn't have a chance to portray a big film.) I suggested that the financial and the image of project made this movie only direct-to-DVD. However, it didn't make me disappointed.

A lot of scenes was great, reasonable and realistic. Nevertheless, the size of project cost the movie's fun. For example, the scene that Beckett escaped from Finnegan's underground base which looked very corny, also Finnegan and Beckett in the jail which made me unsatisfied.

For the summary, Sniper 3 is a very good movie in my opinion. Somebody could think that it was mediocre and nothing spectacular. But for me, it's fun to watch. If you don't care about how extreme is in the action movie, Sniper 3 should be one of your choices.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Poor Tom
frankwhat14 October 2004
Yet another bad movie that showcases Tom Berenger's awesome acting talents. I seriously feel so badly for this guy as he was one of the best film actors of the '90s, I mean this was the same guy who was in "Platoon" for crying out loud. He had some pretty classic bad-ass quotes in this as you can always usually expect at least one of them per film but sometimes you get blessed with a few. As average as this was it actually fared substantially well for a direct-to-video release since it was definitely well done in that regard. The action was okay, the best ones were when Beckett is behind the rifle though, as you probably could've guessed. I liked this but I still couldn't help but let out a silent prayer that TB gets one more big-budget movie deal before he's through with Hollywood because he's way too cool to let him slide into oblivion. Please think about it!

Final Quarantine:

Movies: Didn't quite make it there did it.?

DVD Purchase: Only if you need to complete the trilogy.

Rental: Got my money's worth and that's what counts.
13 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Third time's not the charm
Leofwine_draca31 January 2013
More low rent straight-to-video action tosh. This one sees a tired looking Tom Berenger signed up for a mission that sees him off to Vietnam, where he's paired up with a local cop (Byron Mann, fresh off some Steven Seagal flicks) to track down various, nefarious bad guys.

It's all very predictable and staid, despite the presence of a handful of mildly frenetic action scenes and lots of sniper action. It feels like a very different beast to its predecessor but the story feels less focused and less well realised. The whole thing about Berenger being sent on a mission by some corrupt officials is incredibly dull.

The acting is as half-baked as the plotting, and at the end of the day this is a film that's extremely difficult to get excited about, purely because it's all so familiar and boring.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
a lone ranger
twi160937218 October 2005
I seen most other reviews are of a positive nature to this. While i liked the series, sniper 1 was great and two was pretty good, sniper 3 was a disgrace to the series. I realize i am a bit "old school" in that despite my realization that it is Extremely POPULAR and loved by 99.9% of movie viewers, i detest, abhor, hate, and despise movies without any definitive ending. I realize for whatever reason movie viewers love movies that create 10,001 questions and 0 answers. Movies that give you a great plot, great scenes, well written, and then just end leaving it all open to interpretation, while it is loved by the masses i hate it. Had this movie gone another 5 minutes, it could have explained everything, and i would have liked the movie. However appealing to popular demand, not to have an ending, they decided just to end at any random point. great job!!!!!!!!!!!!!
6 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Tom Berenger is still great
kentaur6919 February 2005
Warning: Spoilers
OK, this gotta be the worst Sniper movie ever made. No offense, Sniper and Tom Berenger fans (I'm a fan too), but lets face it. Sniper was a great movie, Sniper 2 was OK (though it suppose to take place in Serbia, all of the "serbian" people is speaking fluent Hungarian) but Sniper 3 is seriously weak. Why? OK, lets see: poor directing, an obvious and transparent storyline, and what's with the finger?? Well, I don't think that's Berenger's fault (he did his part perfectly), but much likely the director's. I only watched it because I like Berenger, and I like Sniper. After Sniper 2, I expected Sniper 3 to outdone its predecessor and thrill me like the first one did, but it's far from it. It has some nice features like the music, the casting was perfect (Tom Berenger is still great as Beckett), good editing, nice action shots, but that's the far as it gets. There is one thing that I missed the most: the sniper vs sniper action.

I only recommend it to Sniper and Tom Berenger fans. A solid 4 out of 10.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
What a Great Sequel..
BatmanFunReviews20189 October 2018
Sniper Thomas Beckett is hired by NSA officials, William Avery and Richard Addis to perform a covert operation to eliminate a suspected terrorist. The terrorist turns out to be a friend of Beckett's and the real purpose of the mission turns out to be something other than what Beckett was told. Sniper 3 is once again a worthy sequel to the previous two movies but also one heck of a ride with some pretty good perfomances once again especially by Tom Berenger and some exciting and well directed action scenes despite the straight to dvd title. (7.5/10)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Back to Vietnam
Uriah436 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Still suffering from a wound incurred during a previous mission and having aged to a point where his career is about at an end, "MSgt Thomas Beckett" (Tom Berenger) is somewhat saddened to learn that his next potential assignment involves returning to Vietnam and killing a man named "Paul Finnegan" (John Doman) who saved his life during the war. However, when informed that the man he knew has become a drug lord and has knowledge which might embarrass the United States, he accepts the mission as a matter of principle. Naturally, since it has been many years since he was last in Vietnam he is assigned a covert agent named "Quan" (Byron Mann) to help him locate his target. But what neither MSgt Beckett nor Quan realize is that there is a reason the National Security Agency (NSA) wants to kill Paul and it has little to do with the drug trade. Now rather than reveal any more I will just say that this was an adequate film for the most part but marred by a rather asinine ending. At least, that is my opinion. Be that as it may, all things considered I rate this movie as slightly below average.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not quite a representative to snipers out there
Seraphion29 June 2014
The base premise is of course an average and common, about a retired soldier secretly recruited to silence an old enemy of the state. The twist in the story development that the recruiters turn out to be a cabal within the government is a nice one at the time. All the other complications such as the sniper's fingers were starting to wore down on him, The target is a person who once saved the sniper's life, and subsequent failure of the sniper to take the first shot are essentially a good mix into the story.

But unfortunately the execution is not so good. Tom Berringer is already looking to old to portray an old yet still capable combat sniper. His acting doesn't really cover it, though he was capable to convey the aura of being cool and calm as a true sniper should be. For me the movie deserves a 5 out of 10 score.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not bad but It's hard to get very enthusiastic about a third Sniper movie. To date, the best one remains the first one!
tarbosh2200016 February 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Beckett's back! Yay? This time around, Beckett (Berenger, of course) is summoned to back to Vietnam to kill some terrorists. He teams up with a local cop to clean up Ho Chi Minh City, but as his mission is getting underway, he realizes a former 'Nam buddy had stayed behind and now is his nemesis. Beckett will now have to grapple with demons from his past, his current alcoholism, and a sort of culture shock to dust off his old sniping skills. Can he do it? Okay, okay, we get it. Thomas Beckett. He's a sniper. He's the best. Why on God's green earth there needs to be THREE movies to tell us this cannot possibly be explained. There's no possible way anyone demanded another Sniper movie after the lackluster Sniper 2 (2002). Now there's even a fourth one, but Berenger had the good sense to steer clear. But Billy Zane returns, so it's not a total loss. However, the movie at hand today is not Sniper: Reloaded (2010), it's part three of the Berenger trilogy. But the problem is, there are only so many ways you can snipe. There are only so many times you can say "One shot, one kill" before it starts to lose all meaning.

We see what they were trying to do here. They were trying to bring it back to a more dark, serious and human level after a mediocre part 2, exactly what happened with the Universal Soldier series. Part two of that was lame, but Regeneration redeemed itself by dispensing with the stupidity and going for the jugular. While Sniper 3 appears to be following that formula, the results are not the same. While we appreciated Beckett calling the city "Saigon" and reminiscing about his past, and his struggles with alcohol, somehow it's just getting harder and harder to care. Not that there aren't some cool moments, such as the scene at the nightclub. But if there must be a Sniper 3, they should have gone in a grittier direction and stuck with it, not just give Beckett yet another temporary partner and call it a day. But because it's a DTV film of the 2000's, there's plenty of techno on the soundtrack. Due to the presence of Vietnam vet Thomas Beckett, a new genre is formed: "Beckno".

The four Sniper movies made to date have four different directors. Coincidence? Perhaps no director has come back because after they finish directing it, they feel they've taken a movie about sniping as far as they can and feel no need to return. Apparently that rule doesn't apply to the viewing public. The people behind the Sniper series seem to think there's an endless appetite for this out there. While Sniper 3 is not a bad movie by any means, it's unnecessary on top of unnecessary. Even the presence of the great Tom Berenger can't save it from feeling like a retread. It's hard to get very enthusiastic about a third Sniper movie. To date, the best one remains the first one.

For more action insanity, please visit: comeuppancereviews.com
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Very slow and little of interest
djhodsoll27 September 2004
Having seen the original Sniper film (I haven't had chance to see the second yet) I was looking forward to this one. I wondered how they would make a third film about a very focused topic without just providing more of the same. An old and weighted Tom Beringer isn't up to his best. His portrayal of a lonely hard man has given way to a man who appears to have little interest in the part he's acting. The film is very slow, and is really a last ditch attempt to gather as much floss from the series as possible. The better acting in the film comes from the half American / half Vietmanese cop who plays alongside Tom Beringer in the Vietnam scenes. Never really picking up pace, it displays little of interest to the viewer expecting more Sniper goodness, or for that matter, more of any other goodness.
3 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Horrible!
e-m-moller27 December 2008
It was torture watching the movie. This was not in Vietnam, it was in Thailand. The "Vietnamese" actors were Thai. When the "Vietnamese" police told Beckett to put down the gun, they were speaking Thai, not Vietnamese. If you want to make a movie, make it genuine. I'm white myself but it's giving off the exact stereotype white people have on Asian people.

This is what Cynthia Alvarenga from Burbank, California wrote:

"I liked the casting choices. Of course Tom Berenger is the perfect actor but John Doman, Denis Arndt, William Duffy and especially Byron Mann were convincing in their characters. The Vietnamese cast and crew were phenomenal. I liked the very well-written story, no loose ends. All the information that was told in the story was used with it's conclusions. I like the location choices in Vietnam. I loved the music (WOW). There was a Southeast Asian theme but not over the top stereotypical. The music was hip and matched the screens of the movie. I like the cinematography. The lighting at the dock with Quan and the informant, spooky. Great job, really !!"

Listen, Cynthia: take off your blind fold. This just shows how uneducated you are and your stereotype doesn't contribute anything to this world. You need to get a sense of what's a good movie and what's a bad movie because you are completely lost. I feel sorry for people like this lady.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Tom stay home buddy.:-))
Liloh26 October 2004
Tom is really a talented Actor, but i think he is too old for the character like Tom Beckett. I have watched Sniper 1, was really cool, but after watching the 2 and 3 I personally think he should concentrate more on other Roles and give the younger one a chance. The character like Tom Beckett suites him, and to be frankly one could think thats not acting, its Tom himself. HAHAHA. Well playing a bad guy doesn't suite him at all "Bad Guy in Platoon?" I have watched his other Movies, well this Guy seem to have many faces, and once he suited in many character, but those were 80's and 90's

Tom buddy you are getting Old, but we still adore you.
1 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Another worthy sequel
Woodyanders19 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Sniper Tom Beckett (well played with hangdog grace by Tom Berenger) gets recruited by the CIA to go to Ho Chi Minh City to take out a ruthless drug dealer who turns out to be an old Vietnam war buddy that Beckett thought was dead.

Director P.J. Pesce relates the enjoyable story at a constant pace, maintains an admirably serious tone throughout, and stages the thrilling action set pieces with skill and flair. Berenger brings a touching vulnerability to the character of the aging and battle weary Beckett, who's clearly getting too old and worn out to continue being a sniper for the marines. Bryon Mann lends sturdy support and exudes an easygoing charm as Beckett's eager cop partner Quan. John Doman likewise does well as the cynical and disillusioned Tom Finnegan. Michael Bonvillain's spirited score hits the stirring spot. The slick cinematography by Tim Jones gives this picture a nice polished look. A fin little B-grade flick.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed