An American student living and studying in Edinburgh is given a mysterious box of toy animals for her birthday, toys that come alive during the night in their quest to find an ancient magical book.




2   1  
2005   2004  
1 win & 3 nominations. See more awards »




Series cast summary:
...  Bruno the Bear 13 episodes, 2004
...  Edwin the Eagle 13 episodes, 2004
...  Ailsa the Adder 13 episodes, 2004
...  Storyteller 13 episodes, 2004
...  Marnie McBride 13 episodes, 2004
Kelsey Collins ...  Becky 13 episodes, 2004
Sanjeev Kohli ...  Mr. Kasmani 13 episodes, 2004
...  Cousin Henry 13 episodes, 2005
Paul Coeur ...  Grandpa 13 episodes, 2005
Kyle Daly ...  Kid #1 13 episodes, 2005
Forrest Eaglespeaker ...  Steve 13 episodes, 2005
...  Aurora Dexter 13 episodes, 2005
Elisabeth Harmer ...  Kid #2 13 episodes, 2005
Vanessa Holmes ...  Flight Attendant 13 episodes, 2005
Jessica Knights ...  Carlie 13 episodes, 2005
...  Edinburgh Airport Security Officer 13 episodes, 2005
Sammy Simon ...  Stone Bear 13 episodes, 2005
...  Nathaniel 13 episodes, 2005
Cassidy Waring ...  Camp Girl 13 episodes, 2005
...  Michael Scot 12 episodes, 2004
...  Wolfgang the Wolf 12 episodes, 2004
David McKay ...  McTaggart 11 episodes, 2004
...  Dad 10 episodes, 2004
Tony Donaldson ...  Toledo 10 episodes, 2004
Krystina Coates ...  Laura 10 episodes, 2004
...  Ms. MacKay 7 episodes, 2004
Sean Joseph Young ...  Stewart 6 episodes, 2004


Colorado-born eleven year old Marnie McBride is mourning the loss of her beloved mother as she settles into her new home in Scotland with her widowed father, who takes her to a run-down junk shop on her eleventh birthday. There, she is given a box of toy animals by a mysterious old man, which spring to life the next morning. She soon learns from these creatures that they are on an important quest to find an ancient book that holds a dark magical power within its pages, and need to find it before the evil shape shifter, Toledo does first. Marnie reluctantly offers to help, but finds she has her own fair share of problems to deal with, as she tries to make some friends at her new school, as well as put up with the classroom bullies. Written by Extraordinary Machine

Plot Summary | Add Synopsis

Plot Keywords:

quest | book | birthday | scotland | bully | See All (47) »


Awaken the magic. See more »


See all certifications »


Official Sites:





Release Date:

1 September 2004 (UK)  »

Also Known As:

Skokartongens hemlighet  »

Filming Locations:


Box Office


£8,500,000 (estimated)
See more on IMDbPro »

Company Credits

Show more on  »

Technical Specs


(26 episodes)

Sound Mix:


See  »

Did You Know?


The BBC were so impressed by the quality of the series that a second season was in production before the first had even aired. See more »


Referenced in Son of the Mask (2005) See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

shoebox zoo
24 October 2005 | by See all my reviews

shoebox zoo is brilliant. who ever said that Vivian Endicott Douglas was a bad rotten actress, you are very wrong she is the best actress i have ever seen. well in programmes anyway. you should be ashamed of your self writing that. that gutted me reading that. if you really think she is that bad ( WHICH SHE IS NOT ) she is only 13 years old trying to play a girl who lost her mother, talking to toys. which are real according to Marnie but in real life we all no that there not. i just want to say to you what planet are you from? and yes I'm talking to the person who wrote that stupid paragraph about her being a bad actress!!!

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you? | Report this
Review this title | See all 9 user reviews »

Contribute to This Page

Stream Trending Movies With Prime Video

Enjoy a night in with these popular movies available to stream now with Prime Video.

Start your free trial