What Not to Wear (TV Series 2003–2013) Poster

(2003–2013)

User Reviews

Review this title
19 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Possibly the best reality show on television
mwhitmore0327 January 2006
This is one of the only reality shows I can stomach. Unlike many reality shows that are completely gratuitous and basically smutty, this show has excellent results. I feel the hosts, Clinton Kelly and Stacy London, are fantastic. Though some of the things they say about the contestant's clothes are very critical (and often hilarious), they never denigrate the person's body or personality. They are there to help the person and almost every person who appears on the show is amazed at how good he or she looks at the end of the experience. Some complain that the show forces people into some "cookie cutter" style that reduces creativity and expression. However, that is hardly the case. Clinton and Stacy go out of their way to find clothes that fit the person's individual shape, size, and wardrobe needs. In addition, many of the contestants do need a makeover in a sense they are not dressing in a way that is appropriate for their professional lives. There is nothing wrong with helping someone look better and feel more comfortable in their own skin as well as help their career by giving them a more professional image. Long live What Not to Wear!
45 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Love It
supermollie334 February 2005
The author of the another comment regarding this show failed to mention that the men and women feel much better about themselves after their makeovers. It is not all personal style. Some people get stuck in a rut or have no fashion sense and really do not know how bad they look. No one wants to look bad no matter what their personal style is. The stylists always try to take the "victims" own sensibilities into account while updating them. Some of the people only dress bad because they do not have the money to spend on clothes, and if that were me, I would welcome $5000 and a chance to shop in NY. I do think they went a little crazy on the pointy toed shoes last season which I hate regardless of trend, but all in all the show is fun, and educational for people who are unaware of what shapes, cuts, and fabrics flatter their figures.
31 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
This show is not only good, but NEEDED
askinner16014 May 2005
Thank you, Clinton and Stacy. Almost every single person they make over is in dire need of help. It never ceases to amaze me what some people will wear in public. I've seen tons of other fashion/makeover shows, and this one is the best, hands down. Clinton and Stacy take into account the person's individual tastes (as much as possible, anyway)and figure shape and incorporate that into today's styles. They can definitely be a little harsh sometimes, but that's what makes it interesting to watch! And very rarely do I see someone that doesn't look 100% better at the end of the show. Hear hear, Clinton and Stacy, for improving the lives through improving the looks of people all across the country!
19 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Stacy and Clinton are the greatest
blanche-227 May 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This is a great show, and I can't agree with the "anything but cruelty free" poster at all. The people helped by Stacy and Clinton have heightened self-esteem after their makeovers and present themselves in their careers much more professionally. Stacy and Clinton help the individual integrate his or her own personality into what they wear without looking like throwback hippies, hookers, older than they really are, or survivalists. If you like mixing patterns, Stacy and Clinton mix patterns. If you like loud colors, they fit that into the wardrobe. Some of the transformations have been amazing. I've had many favorites, but one that sticks in my mind is the young woman who had been a fashion plate until she had her baby. After that, it was strictly sweat pants. Stacy and Clinton aided her in adapting to her slightly changed body and refinding her fashion plate self. When she walked out in a black dress and heels while holding her baby, she looked incredibly beautiful. But all of the people on this show have walked away looking amazing and ready to start a new journey.
12 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
This Show is GREAT!(mentions some show info!-spoiler i guess)
texasfan1 April 2005
Warning: Spoilers
First off, you can always turn down the makeover-and they've had one person do it. Read their website. Second, men do it too. Third, well, just because you like it doesn't mean its good-one girl was wearing tube tops to work in her office because she just didn't know any better...! These guys do a great service, and the tips they've given have helped me out a lot-I always feel great when I see someone with my body type (a little heavier I suppose) get a makeover-it helps me see that I can also look great :)...

I also like the UK version-sometimes being harsh is what's needed...and if you read their books/bios, the UK ladies happily talk about their own past foibles/fashion mistakes...

Currently I think Clinton and Stacey both do a great job of building the person up and letting them know they deserve to look their absolute best because of what a great person they are-I really like this show and look forward to it each week!
11 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Entertaining and Educational
quincy_0217020 May 2006
What was the idiot watching when she/he made the comment about this show being awful? I've only begun watching this show this season, and all I can say is how helpful and passionate Clinton and Stacy are towards their fashion victims. Often times, they do make cracks, but it's always about the person's fashion sense, and NEVER about the person. There are many clueless people out there, myself included, when it comes to wearing clothes that truly flatter one's figure. Yes, it's arguable that there's maybe too much "cookie-cutter" and "conformist" views of fashion, but it doesn't take away from this show still being very educational (and entertaining).

I love their sarcastic and very dry sense of humor. There's a huge difference between being sarcastic for entertainment purposes and being downright mean and cruel, which they're not. The original UK version of this show is actually even more brutal, as the Brits/Europeans are famous for being no holds barred. And that show is still showing and has been wildly successful! As for this US version, I haven't seen a show yet where the participant walked away not feeling better about herself. Besides, you get flown to NYC, given $5,000 for new clothes, AND are given a hair and facial makeover. If you were to get a haircut from Nick Arrojo, you'd be paying through the roof! What's not to like?
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
One of my Must-watch shows
squallie3 June 2006
Stacy and Clinton......I don't even know what to say about them. They are absolutely fantastic on this show. They are funny, witty, and really down-to-earth. They don't criticize a person's body, but instead, help them to make it look best. That is probably what I admire most about this show. There is always someone who appears with the same body type and there is always someone you can relate to. This show wouldn't be known without Stacy and Clinton.

I mean, TLC is The Learning Channel right? And this show, IMO is what makes TLC. That and Little People, Big World. Hats off to Stacy, Clinton, Carmindy and Nick. They have made many people feel confident, beautiful and last but not least, STYLISH.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
completely awful.
lordofthefries-14 December 2010
If someone followed me around and secretly videotaped me, and then tried to embarrass me in front of all my colleagues in order to pressure me into submitting to their attempts to force me into a lifestyle not my own...yeah, I'd be making a beeline for my lawyer to see if I could sue them for invasion of privacy. Screw this show. Not everyone wants to spend hundreds of dollars on clothes. And why should we, when it's possible to get things that look just as good and are more comfortable for so much cheaper? I don't think I've seen a single flat shoe on this show, ever. They had one with a woman who worked backstage at a theater and had to do a bunch of physical work, and they took her out of her nice, practical shoes and stuck strappy little high heels on her feet. What the hell?
17 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
A man's point-of-view (but just one man's)
Jason McGee12 July 2009
Before you choose to approve or disapprove of this comment, realize that I do not claim to speak for all men on the issue of fashion. All I can safely say in my introduction is that this show is hard evidence that the two genders really do show differences in the way we think! That out of the way, let's talk about What Not to Wear.

When I first saw the show, I didn't really know what to expect. So I was rather surprised to see that virtually all of the participants were women. Figuring this just had something to do with ratings--after all, how many straight men routinely watch shows about fashion?--I decided to see just what all the hub-bub was about. And I almost liked the show, but there was one critical component that hit me very, very wrong: The $5000 gift card.

To me, giving someone five grand to spend on nothing but clothes, sends women a message that there is nothing more important that a dollar can buy than a set of clothing--not her home, not provisions for her kids, not investment portfolios, not even food on the table. Now if they would give participants five HUNDRED dollar cards and had them buy the best clothes for the lowest cost, then I might understand. Perhaps they could teach the participant how to balance the need to maintain good finance with the desire to dress in good fashion. But no, they dish out the money like it grows on trees. Great lesson there. Not!

Yes, this flaw completely does the show in. In a society that judges women almost entirely on how they look and very little on how they think, this show does nothing but enable that culture. If there are shows out there that praise the modern woman as intelligent, confident, and independent, What Not to Wear is not one of them.
15 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
opinion of choices and attitude
thompsongale6412 August 2008
I personally feel that firstly, Stacy and Clinton are way too harsh. No one deserves to be spoken to in such a demeaning and hurtful way. The point could be made with a bit more kindness. Frankly, while I would not condone it, I am surprised that there haven't been punches thrown in the direction of the hosts. Now for those clothing choices. Mostly bad. I would never want a tight little jacket that uncomfortably snug. Looks like one can't raise her arms. Slacks nearly dragging the ground is so ugly, and most of us who's upper arms have gotten a little bigger, don't want to wear sleeveless or cap-sleeves, but rather kind of loose and to the elbow at least. One more thing, most women do not spend $200 on a blouse or pants. How much better to shop with all that credit card at a more reasonable priced department store. NO, I don't mean Wal-Mart. A $50 pair of jeans can fit and look really good. A good choice would be Marshall's or TJ Maxx. So calm down a little with the harsh remarks. Shop a little more wisely. I am 4ft. 11in. and I get frightened when I think of what those two would put me in. No way I would let them near me.

Thanks, Peace to all
15 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Dr. Frankenstein has "class"
crash2120 June 2010
I find it interesting how they can call many people's clothes "childish", yet I would say that their method of telling these things to these people is what is truly "childish". If they did this in a calmer and more informing way, instead of just dramatizing everything to death, with even a hint of respect to the victim in this, I think this could be a much more successful show, and not just the criticizing joke that it is.

If the show hosts had a little class of their own, and didn't just go around shoving their so-called "class" down people's throats, I think this would be a much better show. Because it is hard enough to take normal criticism, let alone when the criticism is meant to be purposely embarrassing.

Instead of embarrassing people to death, then handing them money and telling them to go buy expensive clothes, wouldn't it make more sense to actually teach them to use what money they have to get a better looking wardrobe for job interviews, or whatever else it's TRULY needed for? And if your job situation doesn't require you to look like royalty, what's the point to dress like one? Because many companies in the world today have taken in the more laid-back model working environment from Silicon Valley, and let their employees dress like, what this show calls "childish."

What are these people trying to do? Get everyone to go around 24/7 looking like they're the King or Queen? Because, according to them, it's OK to go around dressed like a hippie-style executive, just as long as they're not what they call, "dressed like a whore."

Honestly, how is this any different than if they were trying to get an overweight person to loose weight by getting a bunch of people at work to point at them and call the person fat, then handing the person a famous cook and professional trainer for a couple months?

How in the world can Discovery still call this channel The Learning Channel?
12 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Not so sure about the hosts
Basias Wieliczko30 April 2016
I really enjoy watching shows with the make overs, they truly change people's lives.In this show I do not understand all the dramatic and exaggerated comments from the hosts. Why are they so mean?? I really think that if you want to wear classy clothes, you need to behave so to match them. The hosts wear pretty clothes, but they talk like street dogs. There was a girl that liked wearing flip flops a lot - it was a favorite part of her wardrobe. The hosts got the wood chopper to the studio and threw all the flip flops in there. Which part of it was supposed to represent a constructive comment? I can imagine they had fun, and the show was great, but personally I found it really immature of them. I mean how would you feel if I took a part of your favorite clothing and use them to make beds for homeless dogs and ask you to help me (!) as that's the best I could think of?

..and for the love of God, Stacey - please stop swearing, are you 16 to express your feelings this way?
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
questionable style
sharoneedles7 September 2006
I have to agree with other comments that list this show as cruel and ridiculous. I've seen them dress people that live in Miami beach in the same wool clothes that someone in nyc would wear. They are not conscious of climate differences or different styles for different cities. They impose the nyc style on everyone that is forced into the show. I'm sure it's good drama, but how useful is a wool skirt in Miami on a 20 year old club kid? Fashion is not about what you wear to the office every day but utilizing a personal style and self expression. I'd love to remake their wardrobes and mock them. I'm so sick of her pointy toed shoes. It's absolutely ridiculous and suppose someone isn't working in a corporate clone setting, this makes their fashion rules silly and obsolete. I'd like to see an actual fashion designer and someone with a demographic and climatic sense dress these people. Palm Springs, Miami, LA, Charleston, SC would not be wearing nyc fashion. It makes no sense. Clinton isn't as rude as Stacy but these two twits are annoying and ridiculous. It makes me nuts to see the show.
17 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Quality Show
TamPalm13 February 2009
I was late to this party, but I'm glad I found it. Now I've been a fan for the past year and half or so. If you're leery of reality TV like me, don't be afraid to watch this show. It's not superficial or mindless. It's very constructive for the most part and you come to trust the expertise of the two hosts. The only down side is the hair stylist, he rarely makes contestants' hair look better, I don't think he "reads" his clients well or helps enhance their features. He's the only weak link of the show, the rest is great! Even if you think you're already a fashionista, I think you'll find it entertaining to see how these people get made over. And if you're a fashion misfit, this show can definitely help you in the educational department. Not perfect, but darn close, so I'm giving it a 9.
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Anything but Cruelty Free
152313 February 2004
Warning: Spoilers
What a novel concept for a show! Let's follow someone around with a hidden camera, photograph her from unflattering angles, show the tape to two conceited fashion "experts" so they may make rude comments, grab the woman in front of her friends to mock and embarrass her while announcing that everyone thinks the poor woman dresses and looks terrible, root through all the clothing in the woman's closet, make demeaning remarks about each item, throw away the clothing, drag the poor woman around New York telling her to buy things that fit the "experts'" tastes, insult her hairstyle and force her to have it redone into something trendy, then stand her up at the end and expect her to say she appreciated it all.

The cruelty in this show is appalling! Each of the victims of these "experts" in fashion had an individual look and taste that may not have been what every one else felt was most flattering to her, but it was what she liked. The woman is humiliated and forced into being remade into the current cookie cutter look that the "experts" like. Two episodes were enough for me.
27 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Throwing away memories
fireezdragon13 January 2007
Thing that gets me is, people attach memories to clothing, essentially they are throwing away people's keepsakes. I know I wouldn't take $5000 for the things that matter to me. Quite honestly, there are people who the show is great for but also people who I see that they don't pay any attention to the person's lifestyle. I saw them throw out clothes a girl had for meditation sessions. I personally own a lot of clothing I don't wear regularly but have for costume reasons because I LARP (Live Action Role Playing). But I am sure if someone went on the show with stuff like that in their closet and tried to explain that they'd just throw it out like they did the clothes the girl used for meditation.
12 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
I'm a fan...
tchate128 July 2006
While you may think the show is cruel, I have yet to see an episode where the person receiving the makeover ends up upset and hurt at the end. They are always thrilled with the results and always comment on how it changed them both inside and out. They do make some cruel comments, but they're clearly all in jest. I love the show and don't see anything wrong with it. The makeover recipients also rarely say that their feelings were hurt by the comments. It's likely that they realize that the comments are true and have wanted to change for awhile. I've seen the British version and don't care for it nearly as much. No surprise to me as I'm not usually a fan of British humor, style, etc...
4 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Amazing show!
wazzootee8 July 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I love this show. Stacy London and Clinton Kelly are my idols. They are funny, and they have great fashion sense. Everyone has such BAD fashion sense, but they always look good at the end. They also get really mad at the beginning, but they always thank Stacy and Clinton in they end, even if the victim didn't really like them. Nick Arrojo is extremely talented as a hairstylist. I don't think I've ever seen a bad cut or dye job when he did it. And Carmindy Bowyer is very good at make-up. I've taken many of her tips. Sometimes she uses a bit too much, though. This is an amazing show and it is so much fun to watch, especially seeing the people before and after. Diffinitely watch it! It's on TLC at noon every day and new episodes are on at 9 o'clock on Saturdays, also on TLC.
3 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Witty, sharp and real.
keepthemagic21 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
What not to wear helps people who are walking fashion disasters. Family of the fashion victim hooks up with the show and surprises the fashion victim. The subject is now off to New York to be transformed into the Swan they never knew they were. Stacy and Clinton now begin helping the fashion victim by schooling them on how to make their fashion really stand out in a way that is best for their age, body type and what makes them look their best. Stacy and Clinton along with a chic hair dresser and and a sassy make up artist cause "What not to wear" a must see show. They transform the sometimes frumpy to red carpet ready. All the fashion victim needs to do is get rid of their old clothes,spend $5,000 which they are given on new clothes by using the fashion educational tools that Stacy and Clinton has provided.
2 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews