In Her Shoes (2005) Poster

(2005)

User Reviews

Review this title
162 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
High heels
jotix10022 February 2006
Maggie Feller is a destructive young woman who has no regards for her sister Rose, or anyone, for that matter, as we meet her. This Maggie is a mess, but what caused her to be that way? One keeps wondering how she could even be related to the meticulous Rose, a lawyer, who seems to be in control of her life. That is, until Maggie appears at Rose's door and disrupts her life, committing the ultimate sin, messing around with her sister's lover! The only thing these sisters have in common is the passion for the fancy shoes Rose loves to buy and Maggie, a penniless girl can't afford.

Curtis Hanson directed this film in which the main characters are women. Men only play a small part in this tale about two young sisters, that in spite of loving each other, grow distant because the carelessness of Maggie. Adapted from the Jennifer Weiner novel of the same title, the movie version was adapted by Susannah Grant.

The main reason for watching this uneven film is Toni Collette, who as Rose, gives one of her most detailed performances in recent memory. Ms. Collette makes us believe she is this woman whose life unravels because her irresponsible sister. Ms. Collette is perfect as the mousy Rose, who secretly would like to be like her sister, but can't bring herself to do it.

Cameron Diaz goes into a transformation in the film. We get a hint of her problems as she auditions for an MTV spot. She has grown into a wild young woman because her mother was not around to supervise, or pay attention to the sisters. But whereas Rose goes to make something of her life, Maggie rebels and does destructive things to herself. It is not until she gets to meet her unknown grandmother that she begins to put her life to good use and in the process discovers what's wrong with her.

Shirley MacLaine is seen in one of the most sedate characters of her screen career as the grandmother Ella. Family problems intervened between her and a son in law that didn't want to have her around at any cost and alienated Ella from her granddaughters. Ms. MacLaine disappears into her role and gives an underplayed performance that sets well with her two co-stars.

While the film could have used some trimming, the first half has a little more spark than the second part, which turns into a formula picture. Curtis Hanson doesn't break any new ground with this film.
35 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Sweet Forgiveness
marcosaguado22 November 2005
Old wounds, family secrets, screwed up relationships with perfectly logical explanations. A film that starts beautifully and then spends an inordinate amount of time meandering to finally arrive to its soft but beautiful center. Cameron Diaz and Toni Collette have wonderful moments as the star crossed sisters. Their feelings as genuine as they are, never seem to find a common ground until Shirley MacLaine makes her entrance. I must confess I was very moved by her, by her performance. Her most human and real in many, many years. She is the glue that keeps all the elements together and presents them to us with that unmistakable flair of hers for feisty truths and uncompromising tough love. I don't know quite how I feel about Curtis Hanson as a director. Personally, my favorite of his films is "Wonder Boys" and in a way "In Her Shoes" is closer to that one, without being as good, than any of his other movies. However, I'm recommending it wholeheartedly, specially to my sisters.
57 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The grade of A+ for screen writing!
lavatch4 September 2006
"In Her Shoes" is noteworthy for its crisp dialogue, lively repartee, and multi-dimensional characters, For her novel and for her screenplay, Jennifer Weiner and Susannah Grant, respectively, both deserve an extra curtain call for exemplary work.

Because of the careful scripting, all three of the leading characters played by Toni Collette, Cameron Diaz, and Shirley MacLaine were strong roles with no single character dominating the script. The two sisters, Rose and Maggie, shared the focus in the first half of the film, and MacLaine's grandmother Ella provided a strong impetus in the latter portion.

While all three performances were superb, the trickiest role was Maggie the tomcat. Cameron Diaz brought depth to the role, and one scene especially stood out when Maggie's learning disability was revealed. As she struggled with her reading of the poem in the hospital room, a new dimension of the character suddenly emerged. The scene was sensitively played by Diaz, and the dialogue was, once again, dynamic, sustaining dramatic interest at a point when the impetus of the film could have been lost.

It was impressive as well that the screenplay offered some delectable dialogue for the small parts, especially in the members of the retirement community of Florida. There were many delightful and humorous moments. Yet, the screenplay provided depth and detail in a rich emotional tapestry.

One character that deserves special acknowledgment was the Professor, blind and dying in the Florida hospital. The role was played with great understatement by Norman Lloyd, a veteran character actor who performed with Orson Welles' celebrated Mercury Theatre. Prior to his stunning success in "Citizen Kane" and even before his notorious "War of the Worlds" radio broadcast, Welles was a luminary in the New York theatre. One of the great Shakespearean productions in America in the last century was Welles' 1937 production of Shakespeare's "Julius Caesar" that was part of the Federal Theatre Project. Norman Lloyd played the small but crucial role of Cinna the Poet, and, although Lloyd battled with Welles during the rehearsals, the death scene of Cinna the Poet underscored the theme of fascism that Welles wished to evoke. "In Her Shoes" provides Lloyd with another small, but memorable role. Lloyd's was a riveting performance, and the film would not have been the same without it.

Part of the genius of Shakespeare was his ability to individualize and make memorable even the tiniest roles in his plays. This was the strength as well of "In Her Shoes" and an example of some of the finest screen writing in recent years.
58 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
IN HER SHOES Stands Tall
seaview112 October 2005
Having previously tackled a wide range of themes in his films, Director Curtis Hanson delves into the love/hate relationship of two disparate sisters in the film, In Her Shoes. The result is an enjoyably entertaining comedy/drama featuring a number of topflight performances and some hilarious dialogue.

Maggie Feller (Cameron Diaz) is an irresponsible, practically illiterate alcoholic who sleeps around and mooches or steals to get by in the world. Her sister, Rose Feller (Toni Collette) is a self conscious, workaholic lawyer who is dating her boss and indulges in her one passion, fashionable dress shoes. (Maggie's obsession with Rose's sexy heels recalls an ongoing theme of television's Sex and the City.) Both sisters lost their psychologically impaired mother to a supposed car accident that affected their family over the years. One day Maggie is thrown out of her house by her step mother and dad. Finding refuge with her sister, Rose, she proceeds to make life miserable with her carefree attitude and interference that ends in embarrassment and anger for both. As Rose's romantic and professional life is turned upside down, Maggie is sent packing and turns to one last hope, her maternal grandmother she never knew, namely Ella Hirsch (Shirley MacLaine). Ella works in a retirement community in Florida, and Maggie's appearance causes quite a stir. When she lost her daughter, Ella lost touch with her granddaughters, and Maggie's 'visit' serves as a catalyst for reconnection. Maggie's visit becomes a reawakening of sorts for herself and a chance for Ella to rediscover her lost family. Meanwhile, Rose is at a crossroads in her life and decides to change course in her job and finds romance from an unlikely source. Anxious to reunite her granddaughters, Ella resorts to extreme measures to bridge an emotional gap as her two girls begin to discover their own identities in unique and unexpected ways.

This is a gem of a film. It says something when you realize early on that you are watching something special. Curtis Hanson (L.A.Confidential, Wonder Boys) has struck gold with Susannah Grant's (Erin Brokovich) adaptation of the best seller by Jennifer Weiner. The film is really about the secrets and lies that cripple a family over time and how a strange course of events revisit the relationships or lack thereof. Hanson and the company do a marvelous job of balancing some very funny dialogue with more serious, dramatic scenes. There are some great, memorable lines, some of which are funny and smart without losing sight of the context of the story. A number of scenes are touching and affecting in their sensitive handling of real emotions without becoming clichéd. It's nice to see real people who change over time and how seemingly inconsequential supporting characters gradually come to the forefront.

The acting by the entire cast is strong and you appreciate the little nuances in facial expression and inflection of dialogue that enrich each character. This may be Cameron Diaz's best performance. That's saying something as the glamorous model has been more star than actress in her most popular films (Charlie's Angels, There's Something About Mary) and she is given a juicy role with sharp direction. Toni Collette has always been a solid actress in any film (Sixth Sense, The Hours) but she has found a wonderful character in Rose and makes the most of it. Shirley MacLaine (Terms of Endearment, The Turning Point) is terrific in what is a change of pace role where she eschews makeup to look her age and shows a maternal wisdom that is the stuff of Supporting Oscars. You wish there were more of her in the film, but what's there is delicious. It's nice to see an old pro like Norman Lloyd still displaying his acting chops in what is a minor role of a bed-ridden patient who has a profound influence on Diaz's character.

The performances are complemented by seamless editing which not only captures the right reactions, but effortlessly switches back and forth between the two sisters especially during key scenes that are thematically linked. Although the running time goes over two hours, the pacing is good, and everything seems integral to the storyline. The musical score by Mark Isham is quite effective in complimenting the emotional moments without ever being intrusive.

Despite its strong script, the film never fully explores Maggie's transformation which, while uplifting and remarkable, is never totally convincing given her origins and tendencies. Things get wrapped up in a dreamy sendoff which is perhaps too good to be true, but those same qualities also make for a more upbeat film.

Hanson displays a very keen eye in relating what is essentially a woman's film. Yes, this may be considered a woman's film in its theme and target audience, but considering the fact it is also a well made, funny, and heart rending film about love and family, the women ought to bring along the men. In Her Shoes is not just about rival sisters but rather it is about a family yanked apart and slowly brought together again in ways that are not altogether apparent at the start. How these lost souls meld together is the stuff of high entertainment and substance.
126 out of 162 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
This Shoe Fits
David Ferguson9 September 2005
Greetings again from the darkness. Caught a screening of this after only seeing one trailer, which had done little to spark my interest. I will issue a "chick flick" alert; however, this is a rare case of that alert not ruining a movie for guys. This is an excellent film, period.

Director Curtis Hanson, who helmed one of my all-time favs "L.A. Confidential" brings a reality to the film that prevents it from ever sinking into "Beaches" muck. The three lead actors are all outstanding. Cameron Diaz flashes some real ability as party girl turned soul searcher. Shirley MacLaine is terrific as the long-lost grandmother who has wised up and is thrilled to be re-discovered. The always great Toni Collette ("The Sixth Sense" mom) is the heart of the the film, despite her character's lack of confidence, which usually sends me into a coma. This overused female trait is handled quite differently by writer and director and actor, thereby creating a great deal of interest for the viewer.

The dialogue is real, the characters are real and the settings are real. These are people and families and relationships that we can all relate to. The script proves that most family dysfunction is the result of poor communication, not bad people. Regrets can eat away and just become part of the fabric of a family. Once they are hit head-on, there is much to gain by all involved.

Two supporting cast members really stand out. Francine Beers as Mrs. Lefkowitz, a retirement community neighbor of Ms. MacLaine's character shows wisdom and color beyond her (many) years. Should-be Hollywood legend Norman Lloyd has a warm and heartfelt role as a hospital patient who has much to offer. Mr. Lloyd has quietly put together an incredible career as Actor, Director and Producer and should receive more recognition for his accomplishments. My personal favorite was his role as the head of TV's underrated "St. Elsewhere" from the 1980's.

I hope the trailer does not prevent men from seeing the film as I believe this is one of the best of the year. Kudos to Mr. Hanson - he scores again!
147 out of 206 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Enjoyable film
sarasdano23 November 2005
Enjoyable but slightly flawed, In Her Shoes is definitely deeper than a chick-flick in the handling of the characters. Toni Collette is excellent as usual, as well as Shirley MacLaine, yet I couldn't help thinking while watching that I should read the book it was based on and get a deeper look at these people and their lives. I felt the film could have gone into more detail and I expected it to be longer, as so many plot developments felt somewhat simplified to fit them all in to a 2-hour running time. That's my biggest criticism of the film, but it was enjoyable in general and I had a wonderful time watching. A few other things I enjoyed: the Rocky reference (my favorite), and the opening sequence during the credits. I have to credit this last one to both screenwriter and director for this incredible opening, which in completely visual terms sets up the film's themes. The titles are presented in cuts between the two sisters, highlighting both their conflict and their connection to one another. Generally, it has a nice balance between dead-seriousness and light drama, but I wish there was more of it to comment on.
47 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
This Shoe is a Nice Fit
Brent Trafton8 October 2005
The Fall season is when the intelligent, adult films are supposed to come out, and "In Her Shoes" is the first one this year.

A story about sibling rivalry and bonding did not initially have much interest for me, but this is a good example of how a well made film can transcend it's subject matter.

This is one of the best acted films of the year. Toni Collette bears the brunt of having to carry the film because her character is central to the story, and she does a great job. She is convincing as the frumpy older sister of Cameron Diaz, who always gets the guys but who is illiterate and an alcoholic. Shirley MacLaine is the feisty, estranged grandmother. The film starts kind of slow, but gets much better when MacLaine shows up.

This film has a lot in common with a film that came out last month called "Proof." That film had a good story but had poor photography and directing. "In Her Shoes" looks like every frame was done with meticulous detail. The directing is done with confidence and the film does not suffer from the rapid cut camera angles that so many films suffer from these days.

It's no secret that this year's box office has suffered due to the poor quality of the films. The success of "In Her Shoes" will be a good yardstick to tell if people will go to the theater for a quality film.

If you've been waiting for an intelligent, moving film without the gun shots and helicopter chases, "In Her Shoes" is a film you should see.
109 out of 156 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Totally delightful
mkerman10 October 2005
I don't get all this "chick flick" talk. This is a wonderful movie. I did not expect a Hollywood movie to have characters with depth and an interesting complex family story. Cameron Diaz is a terrific comedic actress (regardless of her obvious sex appeal). Shirley Maclaine plays understated older women and Toni Collenette continues to be a excellent actress. There was good chemistry between all three. Some of the minor characters, especially in Florida were quite good. As a guy I hope all this "chick flick" talk does not deter serious film goers who want to have a rally good time at the movies. This is an intelligent movie for adults- not aimed at the 15-19 year-old set.
74 out of 105 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
It is never to late to learn and love
jefflevine-124 September 2005
Guys, if you have a girlfriend, take her to see this film. If you don't take your mother or sister. If you still don't have a lady friend to take and see this film with you take yourself and learn something important and heart warming about the story of love, learning and friendship. I was one of three guys in the audience and I have to say I walked away feeling that it is never to late to make good decisions and everyone of every age and sex has something important to contribute. The casting was excellent, the laughs were sincere and those moments where the knot in your throat gets tighter are the real emotions that we all feel. This is honestly a well constructed story that flows off the screen with excellent performances by Cameron Diaz, Tony Collette and the fabulous Shirley MacLaine. Everyone that performed in this film made it complete and the feel good movie of the year!
136 out of 217 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
"Chick-Flicks" just don't get any better than In Her Shoes
lgran8112 October 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Okay Ladies – it is time to gather up all the important women in your life, leave the boys at home and head to the movie theater for In Her Shoes staring Cameron Diaz, Toni Collette and Shirley MacClaine.

This comedy/drama begins with Rose (Collette) having to pick up her drunk and passed out sister, Maggie (Diaz) from her 10-year high school reunion.

When Rose tries to take Maggie back home where she stills lives with her parents, Maggie is kicked out by her wicked stepmother, Sydelle. Rose has no choice but to take her sister back home with her.

From here the tension and conflict grows as Rose and Maggie are polar opposites. In fact, the only similarity they share is their size eight-and-a-half shoes. Maggie's irresponsible and promiscuous ways eventually drive the two apart after a very awkward and dramatic fallout.

After the fight, Maggie finds herself in Florida and Rose finds herself searching for a change. Although angry and apart, the two can't help but miss the other desperately.

The movie, based on the novel by Jennifer Weiner, was brilliantly re-written for the big screen by Susannah Grant and directed by Curtis Hanson.

All of the actors did an award winning performance although the Oscar should definitely go to Collette who simply shined.

I believe that Cameron Diaz had a little too much of the spotlight in the trailers and promotional poster, but fortunately was not all the focus in the actual movie.

Overall In Her Shoes gets four out of four stars. This is definitely a movie that will make you realize exactly how important all the women in your life truly are. It's just not possible for a chick-flick to get any better than this!
44 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Sisterhood and Parenthood
Claudio Carvalho9 February 2008
In Philadelphia, the irresponsible and selfish Maggie (Cameron Diaz) is a drunken easy woman having sex with many men. Her sister Rose (Toni Collette) is the opposite, responsible lawyer but needy and having complex, compulsively buying shoes to relief her frustrations. Maggie is expelled from her father home by her stepmother, and Rose lodges her sister in her apartment. When Maggie has one night stand with Rose's boyfriend, Rose sends her sister away. She finds letters and postcards from her missing grandmother Ella Hirsch (Shirley MacLaine) that she believed had died that lives in a retirement compound in Florida hidden in her father's drawer, and without any option, she decides to travel to meet Ella. With Ella, Maggie changes, becoming another woman and improving the relationships in her family.

"In Her Shoes" is a feel-good comedy with an excellent lead trio of actresses. The story about sisterhood and parenthood is bitter sweet, alternating funny and dramatic moments and with a nice conclusion. My vote is seven.

Title (Brazil): "Em Seu Lugar" ("In Your Place")
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A chick flick that I enjoyed more than I should probably admit ensues...
TheMovieMark7 October 2005
CHICK FLICK! Chiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiick fliiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiick! What else could you possibly expect from a movie about sisters that involves shoes and a search for their grandmother? That's all you need to know. You either like the genre, you don't like the genre, or your girl forces you to watch the genre with her. Accept which one applies to you and go with it. If you're chickflicktose intolerant then this obviously isn't for you.

That being sad, I must admit that thanks to good character and relationship development, good acting, and believable characters set within a believable story, I enjoyed it. Granted, Cameron Diaz's long legs might have had something to do with enhancing my enjoyment, but I was entertained nonetheless.

Things start off a little slow as the relationship between the sisters is allowed to grow, but once Maggie finds herself in Florida, working at an old folks' home, the story and laughs start to pick up. There's one old woman who is particularly funny. I don't know her name (you'll recognize her by the fact that she's in a wheelchair most of the time), but she reminded me of my grandmother, commenting on how Diaz "puts a postage stamp on her bottom and calls it a swimsuit" and acting shocked that there are now pants that exist with "'juicy' written across the hiney." How can you not be entertained by a crotchety old woman's outlook on how the times have a-changed?

If reading comprehension has got you down and you're still struggling with whether or not you want to see this, let me break it down even further. This is a story about the love between sisters. They fight, they drift apart, they find out their grandmother is still alive, and they make their way back to each other. All sorts of lessons on love, self-discovery, romance, and who owns whose heart are explored. There's even some sappy poetry reading thrown in for good measure. I know that this all sounds like a huge shot of estrogen, but thankfully, things never get as syrupy as you might expect.

That doesn't mean there's any shortage of attempts to strain a tear out of the female (and non-manly) eyes. I almost missed out on some dialogue thanks to the sniffling of the four ladies sitting in front of me. So gals, bring your tissues. Guys, if your gal brings you along then bring the sewing kit. You'll need to sew 'em back on after this one. All right, everybody knows what to expect now, so enjoy.
39 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Cameron Diaz Walks in Someone Else's (Sisters of the Traveling) Shoes!
KissEnglishPasto31 July 2016
.........................................................from Pasto,Colombia...Via: L.A. CA., CALI, COLOMBIA...and ORLANDO, FL

**** MAY Contain a Couple MINOR Spoilers ****

Cameron Diaz amazes in this delightful little film. ALERT! For all men! "In Her Shoes" is the perfect movie to see with all the important women in your life: Wife or girlfriend(s), daughters, sisters, mother, mother- in-law, aunts, cousins, friends and grandmothers! You've got my 100% guarantee that all of them will love it! So you can please them all and treat yourself to some eye candy, too, because scenes abound with Cameron Diaz romping around in a scant bikini in this rather amusing and interesting story which interweaves a patchwork of unusual family ties.

Diaz plays Maggie, the very attractive inveterate party-girl. Rose (Toni Collette), the successful workaholic lawyer, plays counterpoint to her sister, Maggie. When an industrial size faux pas, committed by Maggie, drives a Grand Canyon size wedge between these polar opposite siblings, Maggie tempestuously decides to cut ties with Rose and relocate to Miami in order to seek out her estranged grandmother (Shirley Maclaine) whom she has not seen since she was a little girl. The sisters take advantage of this forced hiatus in their relationship to achieve personal growth and self- improvement. Fate, as it so often does in real life, plays an important role both in the development of the story and in the lives of its characters.

The nuanced on-screen chemistry between the three leading characters is exquisite! "SHOES" shows some rather original and interesting elements. Observing the artistic growth of Cameron Diaz over the years, I now consider her an exceptional actor. Here, Diaz fleshes out her character; converting each action and reaction into world-class natural! In one close-up, her face fills the entire screen,at a moment when Maggie is feeling extremely tired and stressed. She clearly projects a frail, aging fatigue at the precise real-time twilight of her youth! Not many Divas would lend themselves to such a scenario to improve a scene! 8.5*

8*…....ENJOY/DISFRUTELA!

Any comments, questions or observations, in English o en Español, are most welcome! ....
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A beautiful story about love, hate and forgiveness...
luizpaulon13 December 2006
First things first. I didn't like Cameron Diaz as an actress. 90% of her movies were brainless...but they were delightful indeed. But in "In her shoes" I saw a TOTALLY different Cameron Diaz. I saw a great actress, maybe her best role in her entire life. The movie tells us a story about 2 sisters, Maggie (Diaz) and Rose (Toni Collette). They are totally different from each other. While Rose is an outstanding Lawyer, responsible and VERY shy, Maggie is a lazy, drunk, irresponsible and a troublesome girl, who wants just spend money (stealing or not) on unnecessary stuffs. The way how they fight, blame, and love each other is really impressive. Cameron and Toni REALLY WERE sisters, and that realism was what made me love this movie. You will laugh, you will cry, you will learn about love, and you will learn about forgiveness. This is one of the most beautiful movie that I've ever seen. Watch, rent, BUY it if necessary... You will not regret, I assure you!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Unexpectly good movie...
Turriff7 October 2006
A relationship with a video store clerk is an important thing when you like to watch movies. He can let you have Star Wars III the weekend before its due to hit the shelves, or he can waive the late fee, or unofficially give you free rentals because you've rented over 1000 movies from him.

Most importantly, when you can't decide what to watch, he can tell you what he thinks, and make a few suggestions. If you have a good relationship, he'll put more thought into it, and you'll know better how your tastes and his intersect. This happened to me last night.

So my video go-to guy suggested, in a bold and shocking move, In Her Shoes, which at first glance is nothing but a sappy chick-flick that even my Girlfriend balked at. He insisted, pointing out that the director, Curtis Hanson, had also made Wonderboys (but forgetting to mention L.A. Confidential, for some reason). He described its merits, and eventually convinced me and my Girlfriend.

And so I watched In Her Shoes, best described as a character driven drama with some funny moments. It was very good, and my faith in the Video Guy is renewed. This movie is probably the first time I ever liked Cameron Diaz in a movie. Toni Collette is great, as is Shirley MacLaine. The rest of the supporting cast is strong. While there is no real umph behind the visuals, the movie doesn't really suffer from it, in as much as the focus is character, not visual.

My only reservation about this movie is that it comes on a little strong by times. It achieves levels of saccharine sweetness that jar the overall mood of the movie. The overt sentimentality, while awfully effective (barely a dry eye in the house), leaves a bad aftertaste. The same, I think can be said of a few comedic moments, that while funny, seem to stand out as maybe not part of the right movie. I'm glad I didn't watch it by myself, but as a couple movie, go for it.

I'm planning a overhaul of my rating system, given that I'm not sure about the efficacity of the old one. In the old system, I think this movie would be a 3.75, maybe a 4 at a stretch, outta 5. My Girlfriend loved it.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Just the right match with this outfit, I'll take them!
Camera Obscura24 July 2006
Don't be too harsh on this film. A chick-flick? Perhaps, but lots more than that! This film is about women relationships with just the right touch of comic relief many of these films normally lack. Hats of for everyone who contributed to this film! A good script, great acting and stellar craftsmanship of director Curtis Hanson make this one hit the bulls-eye, or very close indeed. I expected a decent comedy, which - in part - it certainly is, but the performances are so good and the characters so alive and breathing that I soon forgot about the initial comic aspect of the film. Right from the start, the film sucks you into the story, which just ring true.

Two sisters with quite opposite characters, sexy, uneducated party animal Maggie (Cameron Diaz) and the somewhat dull responsible lawyer Rose (Toni Collette), are unwillingly confronted with each other. They learn that they can actually learn something from their deficiencies and combine the strands they have - with help from their grandmother - to improve their lives.

Curtis Hanson expertly directs in an appropriately modest fashion He knows his job and manages to focus on character development but doesn't forget to add the occasional comic relief. The cast shines with Cameron Diaz in what might be her best role so far. The still vastly underrated Australian Toni Collette, who shined as the vulnerable ugly duckling in MURIEL'S WEDDING (1994), is just perfect in her role a Rose, and there's Shirley Maclaine as the sister's grandmother with a somewhat low-key part, but she knows how to handle it, expertly. A treat!

Perhaps some minor flaws: The story takes some time to get going. A bit too much focus on Cameron Diaz's legs, which is completely unnecessary and Maggie's partial illiteracy and incapability to get a job might have needed somewhat more background or explanation. What beautiful woman, no matter how stupid she might be, could have any difficulty finding a job? Highly unlikely. But these are minor quibbles.

Worth your time, even if you are one of three guys in a crowd of three hundred women in the cinema;)

Camera Obscura --- 9/10
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Well-acted character study is worth seeing but too long
April Glaspie28 May 2006
Warning: Spoilers
"In Her Shoes" is a movie that takes an awfully long time to really get itself going. It almost seems as though there are two movies going on even though they are both from the same book: 1) Rose (Toni Colette) coming to terms with how much being her sister's keeper has saved her from dealing with the fact that she hasn't really allowed herself to develop or find out what she's really about; and 2) Cameron Diaz's shallow and self-absorbed "bad girl", a habitual user, going down to Florida to scam her grandmother and finally discovering that she's not such an unredeemable loser after all.

The problem for me is that the latter is such well-worn territory that showing all her episodes of personal failure prior to her grand faux pas of having sex with her sister's boyfriend become increasingly repetitive wastes of time -- especially the sequence with the two guys who take her to the impound lot and the first sequence that lands her in jail. None of this stuff -- in my opinion-- is needed in the film. We all know users like her; aside from the allusion to her dyslexia problem that she later addresses with Norman Lloyd, the other messes she creates are run-of-the-mill. They are treated with importance while shedding no new light on her character. Once we get to Florida and Shirley Maclaine catches onto her, then her ensuing transformation is worth watching, but by then we're halfway through the film. Hanson also seems obsessed with showing us everything he finds interesting about filming a movie that is supposed to take place in Philadelphia.

So much for the film's pacing problems. Everything else works quite well. The performances are all excellent. Shirley Maclaine, Norman Lloyd, Jery Adler, and Mark Feuerstein are all terrific in their supporting roles with the last showing a very nice and quirky chemistry with Collette. Maclaine is surprisingly understated and not surprisingly magnificent.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Excellent film. Quality thought-provoking entertainment. Why else do you go to the theater?
airplanehunter8 October 2005
My wife and I saw In Her Shoes last night (10/7) and REALLY liked it! We were not expecting to be so impressed by this film.

What a pleasant surprise to see Cameron Diaz performing so well in what should be her most challenging role yet. And Shirley MacLaine proved her mettle in a role that is not typical for her. Not to mention the great job by Toni Collette

OK, this may not the perfect film for everyone, but is sure has a lot going for it. 1-Great acting, 2-excellent direction, 3-good story ... all of which adds up to quality thought-provoking entertainment. For what else does one go to the theater?

The story involves two sisters the eldest (early thirties) of which has become compulsively responsible while the younger sister copes by irresponsibly acting out. Their weaknesses are the other's strengths and about the only thing they share in common is an interest in designer shoes and a gnawing sense of being adrift in the world. This much you find out in the first five minutes of the film. How the sisters struggle with each other and their ability to maintain meaningful relationships is, of course, the meat of the story and delightfully involves their no-nonsense grandmother (Shirley MacLaine) trying to define herself in that role.

Yes, in the modern vernacular, In Her Shoes is most certainly a "chick flick". The focus is intentionally on three women working to understand and change some stereotypic female roles in which they find themselves and they do so by struggling with feelings and seeking insights. Throw in a focus on designer shoes, a close girlfriend or two to talk things over with, and ...(I could go on...) But, y'know guys, the quality of this film is so high that all this stuff actually makes sense and fits. It's not overly sentimental and the end result is satisfying.

Go see this film with a friend or loved one. It's a real "feel good" keeper.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Beautiful story about family
slpierce15 October 2005
I just got back from the theater, and I'm still elated by the ending of this movie. By the entire movie, actually. I haven't read the book, but I was afraid that this movie would be a giant cliché about women and their dealings with family. You know, a woman has an awful sister, puts up with a lot of crap, and then learns to accept her sister as she is, and meanwhile the sister realizes that she can't go through life acting wild, and changes for the better. What I found was an incredibly moving story about love in its many forms. There is familial love, there is romantic love, there is the love of self, all brought together in just the right way - not cloying or saccharine. It was all pitch perfect. I have always loved Toni Colette, and Cameron Diaz... well, I feel like I haven't given her a chance before this. Shirley Maclaine was wonderful, and Mark Feuerstein as well. It's a beautiful movie, and everyone in the theater clapped when it was over - how often does that happen?
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Brilliant!
Connective24 September 2005
Calling "In Her Shoes" a chick flick, as some have done, is absurdly dismissive. If a movie has to have killing, explosions, and car chases to not be a chick flick, then count me among the men who would rather see a film like this any day. This is a great screenplay from a fine book, directed flawlessly by Curtis Hanson (whose previous films have little resemblance to anything chick flick-like).

It also stars three actresses at the top of their form. Cameron Diaz does her best work by far, and Toni Collette surpasses her Oscar-nominated performance in "The Sixth Sense." Then there is Shirley MacLaine, who puts on an acting clinic--a perfectly calibrated performance by a truly remarkable talent.

Ridley and Tony Scott, who co-produced and executive produced this film (and who also produce the TV show "Numbers"), are clearly tuned into the joys and difficulties of being siblings. This film is about sisters who share history, baggage, a confused father, and a few important but differently interpreted events. If you need a car chase, drive as fast as you can to the theater to see this film.
18 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Very good chick flick
Bigbang7 June 2007
Warning: Spoilers
What brings this chick flick over the top is Cameron Diaz. It's a great performance by her and she carries the movie. I didn't expect that. The only other time I remember her being almost this good was in "Being John Malkovich" and of course "Something About Mary". She is a good actress but she does pick bad roles sometimes, that's her flaw.

The movie itself is way better than I ever expected it to be. Most chick flicks let me down with sappiness but "In Her Shoes" rises way above any of that. The director Curtis Hanson lets each scene breath and doesn't rush things. Characters get a chance to express themselves through nice dialogue and subtle conversations. We really get to know these people. Shirley Mcclaine as the grandmother of the two sisters brings warmth and intelligence to every scene she's in. There are some funny moments but mostly this is a drama. There are some very touching scenes, especially with Diaz and an old man in a nursing home who she befriends.

There a a few flaws here and there, like there are one too many plot coincidences, and the over-the-top portrayal of the mother-in-law, but nothing bad enough to make a difference. Toni Collette and all the other actors also do great jobs. I'm a guy and I'm a little addicted to this movie, I've seen it a few times. Weird. Congratulations to Cameron Diaz on a great performance.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Excellent dramatic vehicle for Diaz
Arie Pach15 September 2006
Diaz starts out as a slut, and changes dramatically because of her no-nonsense grandmother, MacClaine. The definition of a good movie is one in which the characters change through the plot. S.M. is great at achieving this, and she should have received an Academy Award. So should have Diaz. The defining moment is when she is told by the blind professor, who can't see her beauty - from which she suffers basically - that she is clever. That's her moment of truth. Colette is great, but one expects that from her. The movie was one of the best I have seen lately, and certainly Diaz's best one yet. I would have preferred less nudity, as Diaz does better as a dramatic actress here.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Great adaptation of a funny, touching novel
Barbara30 September 2005
I've read all of Jennifer's books to this point, and this one made a great movie. Some scenes were condensed scenes, but the screenwriter still managed to keep the feeling of the novel. This is definitely not your standard chick flick or romantic comedy. It's got more to it than that. It's a movie about how people really interact. Watching it, I felt touched, happy, sad and thrilled all at the same time.

Having read the book, I was really happy that the movie was still about all three women, Rose, Maggie and Ella. Toni Collette was excellent as Rose, played almost subtly against Cameron Diaz's more outgoing Maggie. It was good that the movie wasn't like the trailers, focusing exclusively on Maggie/Cameron Diaz. It was good to see Rose and Ella as central to the plot. Shirley MacLaine did an outstanding job as Ella, the lost grandmother, Mark Feuerstein was surprisingly adorable as Simon.

Definitely a great date movie, but also good for a night out with family and friends. It did have some elements of a tearjerker in it, but it wasn't as openly weepy as Terms of Endearment or similar dramatic movies.

All in all, a great movie. I'll make sure to have it on DVD and I might see it again before it leaves the theaters.
13 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Guys, if you want too be bored, get your girlfriend and go see this movie
theio129 December 2005
I did not find this movie interesting at all. It is so full of old clichés and so predictable that by the half of the movie I was so bored that I started talking during the movie (something I don't like to do). Anyway, maybe I am too cruel, maybe I have seen to many movies or I am too old, I do not know, but honestly, if you don't want to see anything else than Cameron Diaz in a bathing suit, it's a great movie. It's a movie about the beautiful but not so smart blond...I really hope you will find my comment useful and trust me, it's a bad movie, do not expect even the smallest kind of comedy. I hope that bad is not a word too strong, but I do not know how else to classify it since it was so boring for me and since I regretted the few money I have spent on it (and believe me it was very cheap for me to see this movie).
12 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Guys, make sure you get credit for taking her to two chick flicks.
SP-1031 October 2005
Warning: Spoilers
SPOILERS CONTAINED

That is how long and awful this movie is. Two major rules broken by Curtis Hanson:

1. It is well over 2 hours which immediately breaks first the sacred covenant of chick flicks - KEEP IT SHORT (1.5 hours or less). Yes, you hate your sister and your step-mom. Yes, the cute guy cheated on you with your sister. Yes, the nice guy you overlooked in your sensitive knight in shining armor. Move it along, we've seen it all before

2. 2nd rule- IF YOU DIRECT ONE OF THE BEST ACTION & SUSPENSE MOVIES EVER MADE (L.A. CONFIDENTIAL), DON'T LOSE YOUR MIND AND SETTLE FOR THIS GARBAGE.

I really can't believe it, Curtis. What happened? I can't believe you are not directing better movies than this.
12 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews