The Room (2003) Poster

(2003)

User Reviews

Review this title
751 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
It's so bad that it becomes good
Gordon-1114 January 2018
This film tells the story of a man who will be marrying his girlfriend of seven years. However, his girlfriend seems not to settle for what she has.

I would not have known about this film if not for "The Disaster Artist". Seriously, the sets are bad, the lighting is bad, the camera angles are bad, the camera is mostly static, the acting is horrible, and the story is just bad. The plot is so thin that it almost appears to be a soft core film. It is worse than a B film. It is so bad that I laughed out loud several times, such as the infamous bottle throwing scene, or when Jack throws the girlfriend on the sofa, or the fight in the party. And could they have at least filmed on a real rooftop, instead of the fake computer generated scenery? The acting is so bad, most of the characters are wooden, except the mother who has a quite a character. The film is so bad that it becomes good. I do recommend it.
39 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Movie [0/10] The Experience [10/10] A TRUE CINEMATIC PARADOX!
tom-297919 January 2019
Okay - quality of the movie [0/10] Enjoyability of the movie [10/10]

Total paradox, right?

This is the absolute pinnacle of bad story, bad dialogue, bad editing, bad plot.. I mean, I'm saying 'bad' like there actually is any of these elements within the film. The editing makes no sense, it seems randomly cut with continuity errors, there are lines like 'What's going on with the candles and the music' when there ARE NO candles or music.. The entire thing is absurd. But what makes it truly unique is that it was done entirely seriously, this is not a tongue in cheek production like low budget bad movies that know they are catering to an audience who expect to laugh at the poor effects and story.. No, this man, Tommy Wuseau, honestly, genuinely thought he was crafting his magnum opus, masterpiece of cinema.

Is it good? Absolutely, definitely not.

However - as a movie EXPERIENCE. I watched this with some of my family, warning them it was terrible, but we had one of the funniest, most incredible bonding experiences in cinematic history - As we collectively picked apart every camera angle, wobbly set, insane use of props, costume, music that skips, repeats, continuity, edits, plot and dialogue. There is not one redeeming moment in the entire movie. Even if there is a single well crafted line (there isn't) it would have to be spoken by either a terrible actor or by Tommy himself, who's accent sounds like it was in a European car crash . We all laughed until it HURT, and for that.. I have to give the experience a 10/10. I've never enjoyed a movie more with friends and family more than this one.. EVER.

I head that the experience is similar in theatres that still show this film for precisely this reason. Everybody dresses up as their favourite character, recites every line and throws spoons at the screen every time one inexplicably ends up on screen (it's a lot.. is there a reason behind this 'artistic' decision. No. There is no reason for anything)

There is more and more to notice about this film every time I watch it.. Most recently, how the architecture of the building makes no sense whatsoever. They appear to be on the ground floor, but exiting from the other side causes them to end up on the roof - at night. It's things like this that could inspire a PhD in studying the intricate insanity and entirely non sequitur values of every moment in The Room.

Do I recommend it? Well.. how can I not. Everyone needs to see this movie at least once, after a couple of drinks and with friends. It's even funnier than Weekend at Bernies after taking magic mushrooms.

I almost died laughing from a hypoxic brain injury, unable to catch my breath - narrowly avoiding giggling myself into a coma.

The finest abdominal workout video ever made.
414 out of 423 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's like sitting on an atom bomb that's about to explode
brickyardjimmy12 January 2004
I have now seen Mr. Tommy Wiseau's cinematic tour-de-force, 'The Room' three times. With each viewing, 'The Room' becomes more complexly entangled in and inseparable from my own life. I no longer know where The Room ends and I begin. It is, without question, the worst film ever made. But this comment is in no way meant to be discouraging. Because while The Room is the worst movie ever made it is also the greatest way to spend a blisteringly fast 100 minutes in the dark. Simply put, 'The Room' will change your life. It's not just the dreadful acting or the sub-normal screenplay or the bewildering direction or the musical score so soaked in melodrama that you will throw up on yourself or the lunatic-making cinematography; no, there is something so magically wrong with this movie that it can only be the product of divine intervention. If you took the greatest filmmakers in history and gave them all the task of purposefully creating a film as spectacularly horrible as this not one of them, with all their knowledge and skill, could make anything that could even be considered as a contender. Not one line or scene would rival any moment in The Room. The centerpiece of this filmic holocaust is Mr. Tommy Wiseau himself. Without him, it would still be the worst movie ever made, but with him it is the greatest worst movie ever made. Tommy has been described as a Cajun, a Croatian cyborg, possibly from Belgium, clearly a product of Denmark, or maybe even not from this world or dimension. All of these things are true at any one moment. He is a tantalizing mystery stuffed inside an enigma wrapped in bacon and smothered in cheese. You will fall in love with this man even as you are repelled by him from the first moment he steps onto screen with his long Louis the Fourteenth style black locks and thick triangular shoulders packed into an oddly fitting suit, and his metallic steroid destroyed skin. Tommy looks out of place, out of time and out of this world. There has never been anything else like him. Nor will there ever be. The Room begins with 'Johnny' (Tommy Wiseau) and his incomprehensibly evil fiancée 'Lisa' (played by a woman with incongruously colored eyebrows and a propensity for removing her shirt) engaging in some light frottage, joined by, Denny, (played with a deft sense of the absurd by Phillip Haldiman), their sexually confused teenage neighbor who is clearly suffering from a form of aged decrepitude. When Denny, who looks like the human version of Gleek the monkey from Superfriends, says, in a slightly creepy yet playful tone of voice, 'I like to watch!' as Johnny and Lisa roll around the bed in a pre-intercourse ritual revolving around rose petals, you know you are in for a very special movie. After a lengthy lovemaking scene (not to worry if you miss it the first time, they show it again in its entirety later in the movie) in which Tommy's bizarre scaly torso and over-anatomized rear-end are lovingly depicted over and over again as he appears to hump Lisa's hip, we discover that Lisa, for no particular reason, has become bored with Tommy's incessant lovemaking and decides to leave him. Just when you think the movie might lapse into an ordinary, pedestrian sort of badness, Johnny's best friend Mark, a man who's job seems to be to wear James Brolin's beard from Amityville Horror, shows up and electrifies the screen with a performance so wooden that it belongs in the lumber section of Home Depot. Incidentally, Mark is played by Greg Sestero, who, in addition to being described as a department store mannequin, was also the line producer on 'The Room' and one of Tommy Wiseau's five (5!!!!!) assistants on the movie. Lisa forces Mark, amid his paltry, unconvincing protests, to have an affair with her on their uncomfortable circular stairs. For no apparent reason Lisa decides that she is made of pure evil and wants to torture her angelic and insanely devoted fiancé, Johnny. Lisa receives pointed advice from her mother who casually announces that she is dying of breast cancer and then never mentions it again. But Lisa is determined to make Johnny's life a living hell, in spite of the fact that she, according to her mother, "cannot survive on her own in the cutthroat 'computer business'". But not before they recycle the sex scene from earlier in the movie where we get another bird's eye view of Johnny's ludicrous naked body. Denny gets into trouble with a drug dealer. Mark shaves his beard. Tommy gets drunk on an unusual cocktail made from mixing whiskey and vodka. Lisa lies and tells everyone that Tommy hit her in a drunken rage. A balding psychologist appears out of nowhere, offers some advice, then apparently dies while softly falling on the ground in an attempt to catch a football thrown by Mark. All of these seemingly disparate events build up to two cathartic moments. The first is when Tommy expressively yells at Lisa with the line 'You are tearing me apart Lisa!'. You will cheer at this line as you realize that the film has been tearing you apart the whole time. And the second is at Tommy's birthday party where the worst actor that has ever been born plays a unidentified man wearing a silk shirt who utters a phrase that perfectly describes the experience of watching The Room, 'It feels like I'm sitting on atom bomb that is going to explode!' The shocking ending will leave you pleading for some kind of sequel. See this film at all costs. See it twice. Or three times. Or as one kid that I met from Woodland Hills has, 12 times! See it until you can recite every precious line of dialogue this movie has to offer. Let The Room become your new religion and Tommy Wiseau your prophet preaching the gospel according to Johnny. My dream is to someday buy a theater and run The Room 24 hours a day, 7 days a week until the print disintegrates. I hope it becomes your dream as well.
2,317 out of 2,517 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The "Plan 9 from Outer Space" of chamber dramas
NeelyO23 February 2004
Forget all the three-line raves this movie has received (which all seem to be suspiciously similar in tone). THE ROOM is one of those rare laugh-riots that is so fantastically inept as to border on genius. While most bad movies offer a handful of terrible scenes divided by stretches of just plain dull, writer-director-producer-star Tommy Wiseau's film offers one moment of disaster after another.

Whether it's the made-up-by-fifth-graders dialogue, the deer-in-headlights performances, or the positively icky sex scenes (love those smushed rose petals on the chubby girl's back), you'll be howling from start to finish.

This movie has already amassed a cult of people who know what to yell at the screen and when; for a movie that's being self-distributed, this rates as some kind of crap-movie miracle.

Keep an eye out for the pointless insert shots of San Francisco, which give the idea of time passing even when it doesn't: one party scene, for example, features eight of these cut-aways.

You really can't believe how terrible THE ROOM is, but at least it's entertaining, albeit in ways that the lazy-eyed, odd-bodied, English-mangling auteur never imagined. Not to be missed.
463 out of 553 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You're Tearing Me Apaaaaaart!!!!
evanston_dad6 December 2017
I have to believe I'm not the only person who was prompted to see "The Room" in preparation for James Franco's well-received "The Disaster Artist," the story of the cult classic's creation.

Called the worst movie ever made by many, what I think people mean is that "The Room" is one of the most entertaining bad movies ever made. It's certainly not the worst; just try watching a movie like, say, "ThanksKilling" for an example of a movie so bad that it's unwatchable. No, "The Room" belongs to the same category as something like "Battlefield Earth," films so earnestly made yet so poorly executed that they become more entertaining than they would have been had the filmmakers been able to make a legitimately good movie.

One can't really provide a description of "The Room" that will come anywhere close to approximating the experience of watching it. Tommy Wiseau, the film's legendary and strange creator, plays Johnny, who's been dating Lisa for something like six or seven years and who he refers to throughout the entire movie as "my future wife." The problem is that Lisa hates Tommy and doesn't want to marry him, despite bonking him repeatedly. It never seems to occur to Lisa that she could just tell Johnny she doesn't love him anymore, so she instead complains to everyone who will listen to her how bored she is by him and even makes up stories about him getting drunk and beating her. No one seems especially bothered by this prospect, perhaps because Lisa is such an unpleasant person that we don't understand why Johnny wants her in the first place. O.k. maybe it's not so far fetched, since Johnny isn't the sharpest knife in the drawer, and his prospects for female companionship that he doesn't have to pay for are probably limited. He clearly is drawn to Lisa's formidable intelligence, because he thinks her suggestion that they invite a bunch of friends to a birthday party she plans to throw for him (despite hating him) is "a great idea," which I guess is if the alternative idea is to invite a bunch of random strangers. And Johnny isn't alone; at said birthday party, she suggest that they should all eat some cake, and the party goers act like that's an idea no one's ever had at a birthday party before.

Complicating matters is Johnny's best friend Mark, who gives a brilliant discourse on gender politics in which he categorizes all women as stupid or evil. Given the women in this movie, he may be on to something. Lisa has the hots for Mark, and they pick the least comfortable spot in the apartment (the bend of a spiral staircase) on which to consummate their passion (though I'm not sure if anything was actually consummated since Mark appears to be humping Lisa's knees). Mark seems like a bit of dim bulb himself, since every time thereafter that Lisa initiates sex his first question is "What are you doing?"

The most mysterious character in the movie is Denny, an orphaned kid who lives God knows where but who pops in all. the. time. and who we're told thinks of Johnny as a father figure, though, given the fact that the first scene with Denny finds him wanting to watch Johnny and Lisa have sex, he might have wanted to shop around a bit more. Denny is always carrying either a basketball or a football and acts like he's twelve despite the fact that the actor playing him is about twenty-five. Once in a while, some combination of guys will actually play ball with him, which involves standing about three feet from each other and gently tossing the ball around like it's an explosive device. After some ball tossing on the roof of Johnny's apartment building, and then some more ball tossing in a cramped alley, I started to wonder whether or not San Francisco had any parks these guys could go to, and then later in the film when they actually go to a park, I wondered why they didn't go to one sooner.

My favorite character is Lisa's mom, who walks into every situation and expresses disbelief that she's surrounded by dipsh*ts, a sentiment I shared. Nothing phases this woman, not breast cancer, not drug dealers, not random people using her daughter's apartment for a booty call. Whatever's going on, she's just so over it.

And another supporting character is Johnny's psychologist friend, who looks like the bald Nazi from "Raiders of the Lost Ark" and lurks in the background, lit by the camera man like a serial killer.

Every scene in "The Room" feels like the intro to porn sex, no matter what combination of people are present. There are actually a couple of soft core scenes, both featuring Johnny and Lisa, though it actually only counts as one scene since the second one uses the EXACT SAME FOOTAGE as the first. Needless to say, they're not very erotic unless you find weirdly veiny men of an indeterminate age erotic, or are turned on by the sight of rose petals mashed into a woman's back like giant ticks.

I don't know why "The Room" is called "The Room." There is a room in the movie, in which almost all of the action that doesn't occur on the roof takes place. The set decorator clearly thought that Johnny and Lisa are the kind of people who decorate their apartment with giant candles and bowls of fruit, which comes in handy when Denny needs to eat an apple as a way of managing the sexual frustration that occurs when Johnny and Lisa aren't up for a menage a trois.

Maybe he should have played some football in the alley instead. Hah- hah! Hah-hah!

Grade: F (for not having even a minimum understanding of the art of narrative filmmaking)

Grade: A+ (for entertainment value)
61 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Leave your stupid comments in your pocket!
tieman648 June 2010
Warning: Spoilers
"I did not hit her! It's not true! It's bulls***t! I did not hit her! I did NOTTT. Oh hi, Mark." – Tommy Wiseau (The Room)

Released in 2003, "The Room" would have faded into obscurity had it not, like most of Ed Wood's films, possessed the right mixture of sincerity, god-awful ineptness, and unintentional humour. Within months the film had become a cult classic, playing in packed Los Angeles theatres to legions of screaming fans.

What makes the film hilarious is Tommy Wiseau, a talentless and egotistical auteur, who wrote, directed, produced, financed and starred in this six million dollar flick. The classic self-important European artist, Wiseau sees himself, not only as a serious actor, but a serious writer and director. He thinks he's written a Shakespearean plot, when in reality this is a childish love triangle. He thinks his dialogue flies like Tennessee Williams, but in reality it is worse than that offered by the Disney Channel. He thinks his direction rivals Cassavetes, but in reality...well, he was so confused, he shot the film on both HD and celluloid cameras, mounted side by side because he didn't know which camera was which.

And yet there is something captivating about Wiseau's performance. His accent is odd, he approaches each word from a strange angle, he puts emphasis on the wrong syllables, he structures sentences in off kilter rhythms, he inserts punctuation in the wrong places and has his dialogue branch off in weird tangents. Listening to Wiseau speak is like watching the English language being re-invented. It should be god awful, but it's strangely interesting. Like David Mamet, his intonations, his verbal tempo, is almost balletic.

Whilst all the actors in the film are bad – soft-core porn bad – Wiseau imbues the film with a kind of transcendent badness. He's not bad, so much as he is unaware of the rules of good. He's so earnest, so confident that his performance, that his art, is the epitome of quality, that his ineptness renders the whole production farcical.

With regards to the film's plot, there are themes of cancer, betrayal, drug abuse, and infidelity, but it's all handled in an awkward way akin to a kindergarten play. At times whole lines of dialogue are dubbed over, often with no regard to the actor's lip movements. Like Ed Wood's "Plan Nine From Outer Space", characters are also oddly replaced by other actors half way through the film, no explanation given. Throw in countless shots of the Golden Gate Bridge, an epically stupid ending, some hilariously badly written dialogue – "Leave your stupid comment in your pocket!", "Chocolate is a symbol of love!", "What kind of money?", "I definitely have breast cancer", "I needed money so I bought drugs!", "I'm fed up of this wur-urld!" - and you have the funniest "so bad it's good" film since Ed Wood.

7.5/10 – Comedy gold. Snippets from this film can be seen at the following links:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7S9Ew3TIeVQ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mQ4KzClb1C4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LR1oG8-JajM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Plz-bhcHryc

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CnnTqFTHGuc

As you can see, Wiseau's performance is strangely captivating. He has been described as "Borat trying to do an impression of Christopher Walken playing a mental patient". How apt.
60 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Tommy Wiseau used me and I am the fool
Smells_Like_Cheese3 August 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Oh, wow, um, where do I even begin with this movie? I suppose I could tell you how I heard of it, like most people I heard about this movie from an internet reviewer(the Nostalgia Critic). I honestly would've never heard of this film either, probably would have never seen it. But after the clips I saw, I HAD to see this movie, I went on Amazon.com immediately afterwards and ordered it. Now I knew this movie was going to be bad, but I HAD NO IDEA! I think it's one of those movies that had to be handled in clips because I cannot tell you all the safety precautions you should take before watching this movie. My boyfriend tried to commit suicide while I just wanted to find Tommy Wiseau and do some things that even the Dark One would look at me and say "geez, take it easy on the guy". I cannot even describe how this movie is bad. The acting is like the actors are literally reading the script for the first time. Tommy Wiseau's acting, I don't know if there's a word for how bad it is so we'll just say it's "aguwaba", also it seems his voice was dubbed over. Now I thought this was because maybe he only speaks one language that isn't English, but he speaks with this stupid indefinable accent all the time, so why is his dubbing the same way? Where is he from? Brazil, Romania, France…? I have no idea.

Lisa has become inexplicably dissatisfied with her fiancé Johnny, confiding to her best friend Michelle and her mother Claudette that she finds him boring. Lisa seduces Johnny's best friend Mark, and they begin an affair that continues throughout the film, even as Mark more than once tries to break it off. As the wedding date approaches and Johnny's clout at his bank slips, Lisa gets closer to leaving Johnny for Mark. When Lisa throws Johnny a surprise birthday party, she flaunts her affair in front of Johnny, and Johnny and Mark get into two altercations. Johnny has also attached a tape recorder to the telephone, recording an intimate call between his future wife and Mark. Now that Johnny is "fed up with this world", feeling like he cannot trust anyone, he pulls the ultimate punishment in self loathing to himself but a true gift to the audience.

This movie is just incredible that it was made, I didn't think it was possible to make a film so bad. It's like it's a new genre, just a bad movie. Sub plots get brought up out of no where in this movie and never get brought up again. Characters get brought up and again never mentioned. The script, story, characters, editing, setting, everything was just wrong with this movie. Also Tommy Wiseau's name is mentioned 6 times before the film even begins and his character is of course "perfect" that everyone should just love him. Lisa, who is very odd looking, is constantly called "sexy" which either has a new definition or is ironic. Mark is a doof ball that probably thinks that penguins are fish, because he's just that stupid. Denny is a perverted 15 year old who wants to watch Johnny and Lisa make love and constantly says how in love with Lisa he is and how he loves Johnny. Also there is so many pointless love scenes, football scenes, gift giving scenes, lines, if there was a drinking game on the pointless scenes for this film, you'd die of alcohol poisoning by the end of this movie. I don't know, it is one of those films you have to see to believe, but I can tell you one thing for sure, if Tommy Wiseau thinks we're laughing with him, he should check that we're actually laughing at him.

1/10
100 out of 133 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The Greatest Film in the History of Western Civilization
gavin694217 November 2009
Tommy loves Lisa, his future wife. But Mark, Johnny's best friend, is sleeping with Lisa. And Lisa's mother has breast cancer. And Denny, Johnny's adopted son, has a drug problem, or at least a money problem. What does all this have to do with each other? Not much.

Could "The Room" be the greatest film ever made? Writer, director, producer and star Tommy Wiseau thinks so. The rumor is he submitted the film to the Academy for consideration as best picture. Sadly, he was turned away. "The Room" may not be the best picture of the year, but is probably the single greatest film of all time, at least from a purely entertaining point of view.

Yes, the love scenes are recycled. Yes, some of the dialog makes no sense. Yes, there are countless subplots that go nowhere. Yes, one of the main characters disappears halfway through and is replaced by another guy. Yes, the music is bad. Yes, yes, yes. But somehow, the more things that seem to be wrong with this film -- a film that Wiseau assures us was "meticulously" made -- the better it gets.

I was laughing so hard, I was in pain within fifteen minutes and cried. All of the "Oh, hi Mark" lines, and the epic "you're tearing me apart" were too much for me. I ended up spewing my guts, and several bottles of Coors Light, all over the place. The intensity of the awesome in the picture just blew me away.

I have a new favorite film, and that film's name is "The Room". What other film could make me want to play football in a tuxedo or sing the "Full House" theme song? Only one film has that power... for the full effect, you really need to see a midnight screening of this film with the audience participation. Or at the very least, download the RiffTrax and laugh all over again... this film could be watched fifty times and still not begin to get old.
86 out of 116 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The work of a genius Auteur
mrbeasley3 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Contains Spoilers

The Location - The film is set in San Fransico, as we are reminded several times throughout the film, with good reason. San Fransico represents the city that gave birth to free love - and this is subtly juxtaposed with the theme of the film, that love is not free. Johnny's apartment has a spiral staircase indicating that the path to meaningful congress isn't straight forward, as evidenced by Lisa's liaison on the stairs. The many scenes on the roof top actually represent reaching a higher level of understanding. The transcendental if you will.

The football - the football represents Lisa, a woman who is prepared to be passed from man to man, and indeed those that are not prepared for her suffer a literal downfall. It is symbolism and beautiful metaphor.

The dress - this is Johnny's subconscious awareness of Lisa's true reality expressed in Jungian terms. He is bestowing on her the role of the Scarlet Woman.

The rose - When Johnny places the rose on the bed next to Lisa he is saying " I am replacing one prick in this bed with several pricks" How true he is!

The white car - this is in fact Johnny's white steed. Symbolism for him being the good guy.

The repeated scene - don't believe all you read. The lovemaking scene is repeated, not for budgetary reasons or the actress' dislike of Tommy; rather it indicates that the lovemaking has become boring and literally repetitious.

The Tuxedos - these symbolise Johnny's identity loss and awareness of mass consciousness.

The Psychologist - forsaking the R.D Laing school of thought, he is unable to identify the existential angst of the other characters and after his symbolic downfall plays no further part in their lives.

Chris R - this is in fact a scathing critique of the American Health Care system. Denny is obviously using him to get extra supplies of the Ritalin he so badly requires.

The alcohol - the Scarlet Woman Lisa tempts Johnny away from the path of virtue by intoxicating him with the noxious substances of two cultures - whiskey and vodka, representing the intoxicating combination of their pairing.

The names - Johnny, the 'everyman', a name used in countless films in the 40's and 50's. His everyman status is reinforced by the florists failure to recognise him until he removes that which alters his perception of the world. His sunglasses. Lisa represents 'everywoman'. Notice how the other characters have lovers called Betty and Elizabeth. Claudette - literally 'Claw Debt' - a woman obsessed by her own and others financial situation.

Genetic determinism - Lisa was born out of a loveless relationship and is therefore doomed to repeat such behaviour. Her mother's breast cancer represents the transmission of this through suckling.

The spoons - one is reminded of Heideggers contemplation of the representation of boots in art. The spoons are there for aesthetic rather than utility purposes. This shows that one does not always get 'one's just desserts' ( Get your coat, you're fired - Ed)
301 out of 352 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
"I DID NAAAAGHT! Oh hi, Mark."
cedde628 January 2013
Johnny, a man thanks to whom a bank makes lots of money, did not get his promotion but he's way too busy trying to be American by throwing footballs around at any given opportunity to really mind that. And he's also about to get married to Lisa who's in some computer business of some kind but she's having an affair with Mark, Johnny's best friend, who does not want to hurt Johnny but clearly can't help himself. Danny, Johnny and Lisa's young sexually confused neighbour who has problems of his own somewhat related to drugs and football fetching, doesn't suspect a thing although he's always hovering about and is also in love with Lisa but would rather watch Lisa and Johnny in bed when he's not fetching Johnny's balls. The only person who knows what is afoot between Johnny and Lisa is Lisa's mother who begs her daughter to come to her senses but in vain since no one listens to her and... she's dying... since she DEFINITELY has breast cancer (which is okay since "they're curing people everyday"). Confused? Well don't be...

And welcome to the wondrous world of "The Room". This is a world from the breathtaking lack of imagination of Tommy Wiseau, the least appealing man ever to walk this Earth; a world where people play football in tuxedo, have the same conversations again and again due to their 5 minutes memory, make babies by humping belly buttons in the middle of rose petals and finally enter and exit places without any other reason than to do just that.

Indeed, this is probably one of the worst film ever made but as opposed to any other cinematic turd, this one is hardly ever dull (except for the "sex" scenes maybe), the aimless plot driven through one stupidity to the other by the on-par grammar-school writing delivering gems galore ("I'm so happy I have you as my best friend and I love Lisa so much", "I'm tired. I'm wasted. I love you darling"), the final broth served by inept performances (for want of a better word) from its cast. This is truly the most inspired disaster ever committed to screen.

But what I find the most interesting about the "The Room" is its maker Tommy Wiseau. "The Room" is a window into his confused psyche because make no mistake folks: Tommy IS Johnny. And what are we told about Johnny? Well that "he's very caring about the people in his life", provides for his girlfriend, "is very sensitive", "doesn't drink", "has a very secure situation" and has nice pecs. Quite a catch wouldn't you say ladies? On paper possibly... Because everything about his persona seems phoney: his accent which is a mix of anyone's that ever walk this planet whom couldn't speak English, his over-sized suit, his dark, long and way too greasy hair, his geriatric body posture, his re-shaped and re-muddled face and, above all, his completely dry and humourless laughter (and not in a sarcastic way either). Such a penchant for dissimulation is downright creepy and I must admit, the physical repulsion he exerts on me is the stuff fascination is made of.

The fact that "The Room" has gathered such a cult following is no surprise. In the oh-so jaded times we're living in, celebrating the mediocre, talentless and pointless have become all the rage with the recipient of the mockery confusing infamy with fame. There is something both pathetic and a little unsettling about how Tommy Wiseau regards the cynical interests his movie has attracted for a genuine recognition of his talent.

Mind you, I suppose Mr Wiseau can take pride in the fact that "The Room" will go down in Cinema history. But as what?
175 out of 217 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Best Movie....EVER!!!
houndog529 February 2004
Warning: Spoilers
OK, that may be a stretch, but I have inside knowledge into the facts. You see, I was fortunate enough to have worked on the film. As I read the reviews here, especially the last one, which I am sure was written by our amazing Director/Actor/Producer/Writer, I felt I had to respond. Having the dubious honor of saying I worked on this film, has also brought with it the responsibility of telling the truth about what happened on set. Apparently Tommy had a lot of money sitting around and decided he needed to make a film. Not being able to decide what to shoot, film or video, we shot both. Side by side. Both cameras on the same head, being operated by one camera operator. We shot almost the whole thing in the parking lot and back storage shed (read- sound stage) of a camera rental house in Hollywood. I got the call to work on the show after they had already tried to start with another crew that ended up all being dismissed. I believe that we ended up being crew 2 of 4. The show never had much organization to it from the start. We were told it would be a 3 week shoot. At the end of 3 weeks we were exactly 1/2 way done. Crew calls were usually 8 a.m. tommy would show up around 10:30 or 11. Because he would take the HD video camera home with him every night, we had no choice but to wait for him. Since we were only in one room or outside the door in the parking lot, we did not have anything to do but sit around and wait every day. When Tommy arrived we would have to see if he was in actor mode or director mode. If he was in actor mode, you were not allowed to talk to him so he could "stay in character." Since he was in almost every scene, he was always in his "actor" mode. This also meant that he could not direct. Noting the huge delays every day and the fact that we were never seeming to get anything done, our wonderful script supervisor stepped up and became the director...at least he tried. One day he had to go off and do another show and asked if anyone else wanted to step up and direct and keep some script notes. When nobody volunteered, I stepped up. I loved it. It was my directorial genius that had tommy bump into Lisa as they were taking the bad guy off the roof! I will also take credit for the now famous line "You are tearing me apart, Lisa!" In the first 10 takes, tommy kept saying "You are TAKING me apart!" As the crew tried to keep it together, I felt I should right the situation and corrected the line. The crew was also instrumental in keeping the chicken line in. "CHEEEEEPPPPPPP, CHEEP, CHEEP, CHEEP, CHEEP!" We begged our scripty/director to keep him doing it take after take. Though the crew ultimately followed the original DP out the door and quit, we are all proud to have taken part in the making of this film. Amongst the film crew realms, we are minor celebrities. "Dude, you worked on that thing?" is a phrase that is often heard when The Room is mentioned.

I have the pleasure of driving through Hollywood every day and still seei ng the billboard for the film up and Tommy glaring at me as if to say, "I telled you I could make movie." For those looking for a photo op, it's on Highland, a few blocks south of Sunset. I know that tommy took out an ad in the trade papers asking "For Your Consideration", I only wished that I could see him on stage accepting an Academy Award. It would be well earned. Rumor has it that he has a vampire film in the works... let's hope so... I only hope I get the opportunity to work on it. I can only hope that The Room becomes a cult classic with midnight showings. I'll put my tux on and bring a football. Perhaps I'll stand up for a Q&A afterward and tell the stories I have so fondly tried to burn from my memory. My other dream is for the DVD. There are 100's of hours of behind the scenes footage out there. The camera for the behind the scenes material was always recording. ALWAYS! It will be awesome to see what took place on our set. I hope he puts it out there. I know I would buy several copies for all my friends and family.

Any questions?
667 out of 761 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This Is Really a Very Bad Movie
claudio_carvalho13 February 2018
After watching James Franco´s "The Disaster Artist", it is mandatory to any curious viewer to see "The Room" (2003) despite the bad expectations. "The Room" is a terrible amateurish movie that becomes hilarious and cult so bad it is. The story is absolutely silly, without continuity and laughable dialogs giving the sensation that was written by a high-school teenager. The cast is amateurish and ham, probably ashamed and embarrassed with their lines and their names in the credits. My vote is one (awful).

Title (Brazil): Not Available
27 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This cost $6.000.000 to make and "Plan 9" only cost $60,000....Mr. Wiseau needs to take some lessons from Ed Wood.
planktonrules6 August 2011
Tommy Wiseau...who is this guy? The IMDb biography is pretty scant and his vaguely Eastern European accent is not at all explained. What also isn't explained is how he was able to somehow get $6,000,000 to make this film--as well as HOW it could cost that much to make this movie. After all, none of the actors are professionals (and it shows), the sets look like they are the homes of Wiseau or his friends and Wiseau himself wrote/directed/starred in the film. So where did all the money go?! Perhaps some could have been spent on TVs (see the end to know what I mean). I think most young filmmakers could do just as well with $47 and a HandyCam and chimp actors!

"The Room" seems to have nothing to do with a room. Instead, it's like a soft-core porno film where the camera gets blocked anytime you are about to see most of the nudity. I counted something like 6 sex cenes--3 of which were in the first 25 minutes!! So is the film therefore sexy--God no!! I will be nice and not make any more comments about this--you just have to see the writhing bodies to know what I mean. After all, I'm a middle-aged chubby guy and so I don't have much room to talk. But wait, I am NOT starring in a film...so yes, I can say that they were kind of scary looking--particularly Wiseau. So, if there was an award for least sexy film, this one might win....unless Ernest Borgnine made a porno.

So why has this film become a cult favorite? It's the dialog....and the acting to a lesser extent. It's as if much of the dialog were written by someone with only a limited knowledge of the English language. So often the same catch phrases are repeated again and again. And often what characters say seems very, very random. And, to make it worse, the post-production dubbing is hilariously out of sync at times. Honestly, the dialog in "Plan 9" is no worse--especially since Wood was not trying to make a serious film--whereas "The Room" is deadly serious.

Is it ONLY the dialog and acting? Well, no. The writing is god-awful--inconsistent, with missing plot lines AND the inexplicable need for all the men to suddenly break into a game of tossing the football--even though they are only 3-5 feet apart and even when they are in tuxedos! I can clearly understand why at L.A. showings of the film, crowd members reportedly bring footballs and toss them about during the film! And, the musical dubbing is occasionally terrible. And, the plot is dull. And, there's the problem with Wiseau's character being the greatest yutz in film history--knowing that his girlfriend is cheating on him near the beginning of the film yet continuing to stay with her AND doing the funniest temper-tantrum scene in film history late in the movie (he should have yelled "Hulk SMASH!!!").

By the way, the film says the couple in the film have been together five years and then later in the film it says seven. Either way, considering the age of Wiseau's co-star, she would have been between 11 and 13 when they first became a couple.

Also, on the DVD there is an interview with Wiseau. You must see this--the dubbing was hilarious even for this 'making of' mini-films! Plus it tries to explain the repeated use of footballs in his film! And, he wears a nice suit.

In conclusion, I must quote the film. "Why, Johnny,...why?!?..."
41 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Liberation in Mediocrity
heffay11131 May 2009
There are more than enough reviews of this movie that tell you in wonderful ways how absolutely perfect the awfulness of "The Room" is. What I found terribly interesting when I was brought to a Los Angeles midnight screening of this movie, besides the fact that this damn thing was on five screens at once, is that this movie provides the moviegoer with the rare opportunity to absolutely mock terrible cinema.

I see several movies per year, often from the major studios, that I long to shout at in disgust. "The Room" is terrible to the point that the audience has agreed to do just that. It is liberating and hilarious and downright therapeutic to shout, when a character who has never been established suddenly appears on screen, "Who are you?"

Wiseau shows up at these Los Angeles screenings and revels in what he seems to think is adoration, almost psychotically not in on the joke.

You do not go to "The Room" to see a movie. You go to get even with that screen that promises entertainment and often disappoints. Finally, you get to mock mediocrity. It's enjoyable and liberating. How lucky is Wiseau that he gets rewarded for being awful? At least he is a good sport about taking the abuse.
66 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Enjoyable
louwburger-6104224 December 2019
I can't think of anything good to say about this movie, other than I enjoyed every single second of it. It's actually so bad that it entertains effortlessly.
28 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
No Room Available
thesar-22 December 2012
Warning: Spoilers
No, no, no, no, no, no, NO! The Room is not a black comedy as arrogant writer, star, distributor, producer and obviously blind director, Tommy Wiseau would want you to believe. Heck, it doesn't even have a single black person, much less anything but unintentional humor.

Could The Room be absolutely the worst movie ever made in a World that gave us: Manos: The Hands of Fate? Eegah? Troll 2? Sharp Teeth? Shark Attack in the Mediterranean? Another Gay Sequel: Gays Gone Wild? A Sound of Thunder? Furry Vengeance? Boat Trip? Basic Instinct 2? Good Luck Chuck? Piranha Part Two: The Spawning? Glitter? Remember Me? Stan Helsing? Leonard: Part 6? Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Next Generation? All About Steve? Deathbed: The Bed That Eats? Pieces? Paranormal Activity? The Raspberry Reich? Curtains? Axe? Superman IV: The Quest for Peace? Batman & Robin? The Twilight series? Vampires Suck? Any Howling Sequel? Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines? Friday the 13th Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan? Jennifer's Body? Plan 9 From Outer Space? 88 Minutes? Beyond a Reasonable Doubt? Lucky You? Jaws: The Revenge? 2012? Empire of the Ants? The Food of the Gods? Jurassic Park III? Halloween III: Season of the Witch? Halloween: The Curse of Michael Myers? Halloween: Resurrection? Grown Ups? Year One? The Toxic Avenger? Either I Spit On Your Grave(s)? Blood Beach? The Last Airbender? The Happening? Freddy's Dead: The Final Nightmare? TV's Viva Laughlin? Saddam Hussein? Paris Hilton? Keanu Reeves?

(Okay, those last four weren't movies, but damn you, World, for those.)

Well, I had to ask myself: Is this really a movie? Is this a joke and I got the wrong "film" that people are talking about?

Believe it or not, I had to consult with a professional critic and he actually confirmed that this is, in fact, a movie. And that he's seen it. And then I heard a gunshot and a loud thud. His poor, poor children.

While he didn't actually die, you'll want to roughly 10 seconds into The Room. Die laughing, perhaps, at its amazing lack of direction and incredibly, there are two men fighting over the director credit: Wiseau (huh. WISEau?) and Sandy Schklair. Hmmm. Would you have fought with Pilate when he claimed to be the murderer of Jesus?

In a "movie" (from here on out, that word will be very loosely associated with The Room) that even the dialogue sounds like it was dubbed à la Rumble in the Bronx, even though everyone's speaking English – if you can call it that, you'll quickly learn what NOT to do. Such as the ever so comical "shots" of San Francisco and the unfortunate Golden Gate Bridge which probably would've asked for a cut if this made more than a tenth of a penny.

Recently I re-watched and reviewed the brilliant The Big Lebowski, and I stated towards the end that it should be actually studied in film school, if not already. I'll say the same here, but obviously at the other end of the spectrum.

You almost feel sorry for the labeled "director" Wiseau, if not for his arrogance – SEE: poster for proof. Ironically, his follow-up was Homeless in America, and if America did have anything to do with it, he would be. But can you really be mad at the guy for this atrocity? Well, if he stayed in the background, and not in more than 75% of screen-time, you might feel some pity.

And his writing? It's as if he was a stone-cold foreigner who watched a lot of American Sitcoms of the 1950s and used an English Translating Dictionary to produce the words spoken on screen. Sure, it's hilarious to hear him, or any of them speak, but it's also sad when someone who apparently isn't familiar with the language, culture or modest enough to hire someone to even take a 30-second peek at the screenplay. Personally, I wouldn't jump over to Paris and write a movie on the life and times of the natives using both a French for Dummies guide and my memory of French class in High School nearly two decades back. Is Paris is Burning already taken? Oh.

The "movie" follows a confused blonde (duh) named Lisa (Danielle) who unsure of her pending nuptials to Johnny (Wiseau.) Who would be when you're about to marry the love child of Gérard Depardieu and Bob Dylan? So…she sleeps around and shows the camera she's not ashamed of her (probably bought) breasts.

That's pretty much the plot. Throw in some laugh-out-loud 15-second subplot of a boy, Denny (Haldiman) who both likes to watch and do daaaangerous narcotics and a mother who looks as confused as George W. Bush without a speech to read.

The actors, unbelievably, took this seriously. I would show more compassion for them, but even with a $1,000,000 scholarship to the New York Film Academy, they'd still fail later on.

I've been told this is a great midnight movie experience, i.e. the astonishingly superior The Rocky Horror Picture Show. Perhaps. But, even at 99 minutes, it drags and my laughter nearly died, from pure exhaustion, towards the end. Fortunately, the SURPRISE! ending brought me back up to laughing hard.

That all said, well…this entire review, I'd still recommend this "movie." How could you miss an opportunity like this? I seriously thought Troll 2 could never ever happen again. Improbably, lightning struck twice. First with a movie that's called Troll 2 that doesn't even involve trolls and now with The Room that's not even about one.
19 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The joke wears off. And fairly quickly, too.
Jimmy-12823 February 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Ten-plus years since its release, it's safe to say that "The Room", conceived, written, directed, and produced by lead actor Tommy Wiseau, has become a phenomenon. Making less in its initial release than your average paralegal rakes in on one paycheck--*after* taxes--The Room has become the Rocky Horror Picture Show of its generation, with midnight screenings and various rituals enacted by its fans. Numerous online critics, including the Nostalgia Critic, CinemaSins, and Obscurus Lupa, have had a merry time taking the movie apart--oh, sorry, *TEARING THE MOVIE APART, LISA!!!!* And yes, the movie is one of the movies that is truly so bad it's good. The script, and Wiseau's delivery of his lines, are guaranteed to make you smile for all the wrong reasons, so it qualifies as a guilty pleasure, too. And after seeing all the online hatchet jobs, I decided, "Hey, it's on YouTube, and for free--why not enjoy it again?" Unfortunately, by this time, the joke had worn off. Barely fifteen minutes into the movie, I was bored out of my mind. Camp comedy doesn't have a long shelf life in general, and when you outgrow it, you're left with the appalling mess that is The Room.

The problem, obviously, is Tommy Wiseau, wholly and entirely. The Room is his story--his baby, if you will. It flows completely out of his understanding of American culture and the human condition--and it fails because Wiseau's understanding of American culture and the human condition is utterly and completely superficial.

He knows, for example, that Americans in general love football, but he doesn't understand *why* we do, or that we put football aside when we have more pressing concerns (like a wedding). He knows that banks handle money, but he doesn't understand that an investment banker (which is what I'm presuming Johnny is, because I doubt very much he's a teller at your corner Citibank) is primarily in the business of *making* money, not just saving it. Johnny shouldn't be talking about how he saved the bank money; he should be talking about private placements and hedge funds. And so on and so on.

Wiseau shows a similar ignorance of human character and relationships. The oft-mocked breast cancer line is actually an opportunity for Wiseau to explore the concept of "like parent, like child"--if Lisa is manipulative and willing to tell outrageous lies to get what she wants, where's the most logical place for her to learn such behavior? This would also make Lisa's lack of reaction to the line more understandable. But Wiseau apparently doesn't have any grasp of the relationships between parents and their children; for all that he makes use of their relationship, Claudette and Lisa might as well be neighbors, co-workers, or perfect strangers rather than mother and daughter.

The result is a script that makes no sense whatsoever, because Wiseau started by ignoring the first rule of writing, "Write what you know", and proceeded to blow off the second rule, "If you don't know it, do your research." Compounding the problem is Wiseau's complete lack of understanding of script structure; like a bad Off-Off-Broadway play, subplots come out of nowhere with absolutely no setup (for example, the Chris-R scene) or start and are dropped without any development (for example, the breast cancer line).

Much has been made of the performances in The Room, but I will be blunt: if you could reach back in time and take great film actors to do the roles when they were the right ages to do so--say, a 1930s Laurence Olivier as Tommy, a 1970s Meryl Streep for Lisa, a 1960s Dustin Hoffman for Mark, etc.--they still wouldn't be able to do much with this script. The complete lack of depth means that none of the actors can give more than a surface performance, although a few--Robyn Paris and Carolyn Minnott, mostly--manage to at least make their characters somewhat interesting.

Still, it's a good laugh, right? And yes, it is--the first two or three times you see it. Afterwards, the joke doesn't have the same impact. What made you laugh hysterically the first time you saw the movie only makes you grin now, and what made you grin only makes you roll your eyes.

And eventually, the elephant in the room (no pun intended) makes itself known. This is about Tommy Wiseau. That's why the script gives Johnny absolutely no flaws: he's funny (so Wiseau thinks), generous (ditto), brave (not even armed drug dealers scare him!), philosophical, is everybody's friend, and everybody's "favorite customer". Wiseau, we realize, cannot afford to consciously give Johnny any warts to his character because that would undermine his own fragile self-esteem. And the amusement we feel at the joke of The Room turns into an uncomfortable feeling in the pit of our stomach, and a vague sense of guilt that we were laughing at this person in the first place.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Deserving of being regarded as one of the worst movies of all time
grantss11 February 2018
Johnny and Lisa are engaged and in a month will be married. Everything seems idyllic but Lisa is finding Johnny boring and has an affair with his best friend, Mark. Things start to escalate...

Regarded as one of the worst movies of all time, and rightly so. Written, directed and starring Tommy Wiseau, the crappiness is largely a solo effort. Incredibly badly written: the dialogue is so bad to be quite bizarre at times. The central plot - the Johnny-Lisa-Mark love triangle - has no depth at all and really just goes around in circles. The lack of substance in the central plot is padded by random sub-plots and scenes that add nothing.

Acting is about as bad as the writing, with Tommy Wiseau to the fore, again. He is so bad he makes Arnold Schwarzenegger look like Marlon Brando. "Hammy" doesn't even come close to describing how bad he is, sometimes looking like he is just reciting lines that he is wholly disinterested in (which he wrote!) and then delivering in a ridiculously melodramatic manner ("You're tearing me apart, Lisa!" launched a thousand gifs).

The remaining cast aren't great but aren't anywhere near as bad as Wiseau. They are helped by being in the same scene as him as he's so bad he makes them look okay.

Direction is pretty much uninspired paint-by-numbers, though is not as laughable as the script or acting.

There are no redeeming qualities to this movie. It's not accidentally a decent comedy while trying to be a serious drama. No "So bad, it's good" for it. This movie is incredibly bad, full stop.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
inept
samsavenger16 July 2010
I've never in my life been more entertained by a film that has absolutely NO redeeming qualities. Unintentionally inept characters engage in progressively bizarre and unnatural interactions which seem to peak at erratic and unexpected intervals. The awkwardness of the actors is framed by strange pauses, jarring scripts and incredibly bizarre production techniques - there are ample 'deer in the headlights' moments, in which you can feel genuine sympathy for these people who are obviously so caught up in Tommy's strange and dominating creative control that they've failed to see any better.

Other filmmakers play with similarly surreal concepts - David Lynch for example - but this film lacks anything resembling artistic refinement, insight or self awareness placing it far from comparison. It's kind of like watching a train crash in slow motion - random, incoherent, disastrous, accidental and ultimately painful. The sense of alienation emanating from this film places the audience extremely far from being able to relate to what's happening on screen, which leaves a lot of room for uncontrollable laughter given the right circumstances.

The camera work and production techniques would not be out of place in many daytime soap operas, nor would the script and plot, but there is an undefinable quality which separates this movie from the sense mediocrity often found in such shows and instead casts it deep into the abyss of tragically bad film making where it will be forever trapped along with Wiseau's artistic integrity. This really is a new frontier.

It is truly awful, but I cannot recommend it enough.
229 out of 268 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hard to decide: should I give this a very low or a very high grade?
domienappelsien5 August 2013
There are a number of "so bad it's hilarious" movies out there but almost all of them are in the sci-fi and horror genres. "The Room" is exceptional in that it's intended as an edgy independent psychological drama. To see a "Plan 9 From Outer Space"-style version of that genre is even funnier! This film is absolutely bizarre. The dialogue is at once very childlike and yet it tries to tackle "heavy" themes like adultery, terminal illness, drug abuse and the like. As a result, it feels like it was written by an alien from outer space. And when you see The Room's protagonist, who is also the director, writer and producer, you'll see that he very likely IS an alien from outer space! It's absolutely unbelievably, jaw-droppingly awful... And highly recommended!
90 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
so bad
SnoopyStyle13 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
San Francisco banker Johnny is engaged to Lisa. She is bored with him. Her mother has much advice. Lisa starts an affair with Johnny's best friend Mark. Neighbor kid Denny keeps making passes at her. He has a run-in with a thug. There is Lisa's friend Michelle and her boyfriend Mike. They all have subplots which are barely followable.

I hoped for a comically bad movie. This fulfills the need for being bad but it's hard to laugh when the movie is flailing away like this. The plot is chaotic and disjointed. The writing is awful. There are story threads that go everywhere and nowhere. The dialog is clunky accentuated by the amateurish acting. The worst is Tommy Wiseau's outrageous bad over-acting. He shocks me into laughing. Most everything else leaves me scratching my head.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A film like no other
masonsaul17 December 2018
The definition of so bad it's good, a classic and a masterpiece.
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
In a word: CRAPTASTIC
Debauchee22 May 2004
Possibly the most entertaining CRAP film of all time, beating out "From Justin to Kelly," and every movie starring Steven Segal. Note: you must be in the presence of a large heckling audience and/or under the influence to enjoy this movie. Although Tommy "What the hell am I saying?" Wiseau may be lauding his film as reminiscent of Tennessee Williams, the closest it comes to anything I've seen by Williams is that I had to get up to pee three times during it. Crap writing, Crap acting, Crap directing...but the movie as a whole? So deliciously crap that it can only be considered CRAPTASTIC!

Nobody seems to know where Tommy is from, although the consensus seems to be somewhere in Eastern Europe. So I have decided to consider his point of origin, Ridiculouslovania.

Have we been sending out the wrong signals? Is this really what Ridiculouslovanians think about us? I never stand three feet from my friends and toss a football. Never. Unless I am making fun of "THE ROOM."
38 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Hi Doggy......
FlashCallahan14 December 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Johnny is a successful banker with great respect for and dedication to the people in his life, especially his future wife Lisa. Johnny can also be a little too trusting at times which haunts him later on.

Lisa is a beautiful blonde fiancé of Johnny. She has always gotten her way and will manipulate to get what she wants. She is a taker, with a double personality, and her deadly schemes lead to her own downfall.

Mark is a young, successful and independent best friend of Johnny. He has a good heart, but gets caught up in Lisa's dangerous web and gives into temptation.

This eventually brings him to great loss. Claudette is the classy, sophisticated mother of Lisa who has had disappointing relationships in her life. She wants her daughter to be married as soon as possible so she can benefit.

Denny is an orphan boy, naive and confused about life, love, and friendship. Denny is very ambitious and also very grateful to the people that are in his life.....

What is there to say about this movie that hasn't already been said? It's an amazing film to watch, so full of atrocities to the senses we carry, that you really have to see this to understand the badness/greatness of it all.

It drags in some scenes, but for once, the best bits of this, is when characters are talking to eacj other. From the dismissed 'I have breast cancer' line, to 'Cheep Cheep Cheep Cheep', it really does hold your attention.

The basic story is that a man gets unfairly treated in life....thats it.

But Wissau makes this film/movie/miracle into something more.....something mystical.

It's the sort of film that hooks you from the upstart, and doesn't let you go until the very end.

Even though I love this movie, I cannot give it a ten, it's just weird to give it that. A film to show your kids if they have been naughty.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Awful was never this funny
Mr-Fusion12 March 2016
It's not every day that a bad movie can be life-affirming. And that's what makes "The Room" such a treasure. It's an exercise in shoddy filmmaking, but there's something about it that's just . . . well, it's just a whole lot of fun. And yes, I do mean it's a lot of fun to bag on this hot mess, but doing so has never felt so satisfying.

If you boil this movie down to its base elements, Johnny loves Lisa, Lisa cheats on Johnny. Why does she? Ehh, not really sure. It's not like he deserved it, really - I mean, he's a super nice guy. He's not the best looking guy, but she didn't seem to have a problem with it. And the rest of the movie is just Lisa being a galactic hussy (seriously, they don't come more arbitrarily two-timing than this).

There's a lot here that goes unanswered. What happened with the mother-in-law's cancer? Will Denny get off drugs? Why does Mark turn on Johnny? You can tell this is supposed to be a big tragedy, kind of an inept Tennessee Williams joint. But nothing about this comes off like it should. Subplots are introduced and then forgotten, the dialogue's full of non-sequiturs, and there's not really any meaning to anything. Add to that the bad green-screening and the Skinemax production values, and you're witnessing a veritable trainwreck.

But, my god, is it entertaining. Ninety minutes chock-full of unintentional hilarity. The reputation is there for a reason, and it's definitely earned. The "so-bad-it's-good" label is thrown around so often these days, but it truly applies here.

In the best way possible.

8/10
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed