Neo Ned (2005) Poster

(2005)

User Reviews

Review this title
26 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
The State of the (Gabrielle) Union
lineman31 May 2005
On paper it sounds pretty far-fetched: neo nazi skinhead falls in love with a black girl in a mental institution - who may or may not think she is possessed by Hitler's ghost. Wow. But somehow it works. There is a surprisingly healthy dose of and humor - and heart - which makes this story palatable and involving, rather than just unrelentingly grim. The actors are sturdy throughout - Gabrielle Union proves she's not such a pretty face - I wish Hollywood would take better advantage of her; she is an actress of depth and true beauty. Jeremy Renner proves that his work in "Dahmer" (rather than in mainstream fare like, say, "S.W.A.T.") was no fluke. He is amazing. When Sally Kirkland gets a role of substance, as she does here, it becomes clear why she's been kicking around Hollywood for so long. She's terrific. Good work also by Steve Railsback and Cary Elwes. The budget on this one is low, but it is more involving and entertaining than a lot of other stuff that's playing in the multiplexes. 8/10.
22 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Neo Nazi Skinhead falls deeply in love with an African American woman
yvillalobos10 May 2005
I had the opportunity to see this film at the Tribecca Film Fest. This is a winner. The movie is a little shocking,its funny and its sad with a bittersweet ending all rolled in one. The acting is awesome. This is truly Jeremy Renners best! I had seen him in Dalmer,which I thought he was great,but his performance as Ned is much more explosive. When a Neo Nazi skinhead can bring a tear to your eye you know its good. Gabrial Union's character is a deeply misunderstood young woman who comes across very believable on screen. I later learned during the Q&A session,after the movie, that Gabrial is in fact a rape survivor. She stated that she was able to relate to her character through her own life experiences. She brings great depth and her own natural beauty to the film. Her inner strength really shines in this movie. Sally Kirkland (a true Hollywood legend) brings her enormous presence to the screen as Neds Mother. A role in which she is able to show how truly talented and funny she is. There is lots of great acting in this film. I love this movie because it shows how two people from very different worlds manage to fall in love ,while discovering what they really need in life to be happy. I hope to see this film on the big screen soon.
19 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great Film
friendsoflime8 April 2006
I just saw this movie at the Ashland Independent Film Festival and it was amazing. The acting was top notch, the script great, the story interesting and compelling. It was absolutely hilarious and heartwarming, while maintaining that rare sense of reality. It was all around a good quality movie. Don't let the scary and twisted plot outline throw you off, the movie is about so much more. Gabrielle Union and Jeremy Renner had great chemistry on screen and they both did well in their respected roles. I would highly recommend this film to anyone and I would love to see it hit theaters nationwide. The rest of the audience I saw it with enjoyed it as much as I did. Afterward there was a Q&A session with Van Fischer the director, one of the producers and one of the actresses, it was pretty awesome. again, highly recommend, go see it when it comes near you, you wont be disappointed.

-Dooder
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Just watched it at Tribeca Festival and.....
Theavata22 April 2005
I really enjoyed it! I saw Mrs. Union sitting a few rows in front of me before the films started and not knowing who she was, made a mental note to try and talk to her after the film (Once the film started and I saw she was one of the leads I decided to abandon that idea! :))

But back to the film, let's start with the end, it actually brought an emotional tear to my eye and although at least part of the ending is predictable I found the other part of the ending a nice surprise. Both lead were great, the guys who plays Ned was awesome, great character, great acting. It must be had to act as someone who is supposed to be acting a part, and still let the true inside person shine through. Ms. Union's part was more subdued, but just as well played; she was a Martin to his Lewis, giving the viewers a person who was easier to relate to.

A fine film! I hope it gets the release it dissevers.

One last note. One guy in the audience was "disturbed" by the use of race in the film, he thought it was treated too lightly, but I feel race in this film was more like window dressing; it was a means to an end. This film is not about a white neo Nazi and an emotionally disturbed black woman (well I guess it is on the surface); it's really about two dysfunctional people who try to help each other like GARDEN STATE. But Neo Ned works better than Garden State and has almost as good a soundtrack.
16 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
If I was a film distributer, this film would be in all theaters NOW
stuff4parks6 April 2006
I just saw this at the AIFF (Ashland Independent Film Festival) and all I can say it WOW! Jeremy Renner should get an academy award for this role. All the actors were great but Jeremy's performance was beyond outstanding. Apparently, this film is still awaiting distributors to get it out into theaters. Maybe all of us who have seen it should pool our resources, open a film distribution company, and buy it and market it ourselves! It was very well received today in Ashland Oregon and the spectators were glad to have a Q&A session with the director. He did state that the film had been very well received in each location that it screened with only a few folks walking out before the finish. To those who walked out, you really missed out.
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely Amazing!!!
bjpphoto25 April 2006
I saw this film through the Palm Beach International Film Festival and I absolutely loved it! It is a love story for those of us who don't like love stories. At first, when I read the synopsis I rolled my eyes at the thought of a Neo Nazi man falling in love with a Black woman who believes that she is Adolf Hitler. After viewing the movie, I see now that it involves so much more. Ned is a young man who more than anything wants desperately to be a part of a family and he finds that in Rachel even though she is literally the complete opposite of him and his beliefs.

Both Jeremy Renner and Gabrielle Union do a phenomenal job with their characters. Renner's portrayal of Ned is almost childlike as he yearns for attention- weather it's positive or negative. You can't help but to fall in love with Ned and Rachel and after a while you find yourself routing for them.

Overall I think this is an amazing film and I think that everyone should take the time to watch it! I love this movie more and more every time I see it!
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Renner Rules & Union Scores
nynylyly31 July 2005
This is the best work I have seen Jeremy Renner do. I didn't think he could top his performance in "Dahmer" but this performance is even more exceptional - powerful, humane and heartbreaking. Gabrielle Union who plays opposite Renner's "Ned," is equally good, and it as much her character's story as it is Ned's. I don't want to reveal any "spoilers" but suffice to say, this is an unpredictable movie with a lot of unexpected surprises. I hope this film gets a bigger release, as it is really a movie that might change peoples' minds about prejudice and how love can heal the most wounded of hearts. And it's a good example of how an independent movie with a low budget can outshine a summer full of cookie cutter blockbusters. This film isn't perfect but there is an earnestness that is refreshing. It's an uncynical piece of work. Kind of rare in Hollywood.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Gritty love story of two misfits
fmg051 May 2005
I was able to see this film at the Tribeca Film Festival last week and walked away incredibly impressed with Jeremy Renner. I'd seen him in Dahmer so expected another good performance, but was truly blown away. The Village Voice compared his performance to DeNiro's in Taxi Driver and I can see why. Gabrielle Union was also good - this film is nothing like her previous work. I admire her for playing this part and also for defending her decision to do so. I think the director Van Fischer should be commended for spotting this interesting screenplay, having the vision to create such a compelling story of love, and being able to make it actually happen. If you like quirky romances, this film will satisfy you and then some.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Renner's a genius
dominic-5623 April 2006
Tim Boughn's script for "Neo Ned" won Slamdance's screen writing award, and after four years of mostly looking for money, Van Fischer has directed an enchanting – yes, enchanting – film about a Neo-Nazi's romance at a mental hospital with a black woman who thinks she's Hitler. Jeremy Renner and Gabrielle Union give us terrific performances. Renner took a goofy, naive, offbeat approach to this violent character, and Union underplays to great affect. The movie has attracted distributors whose superiors are squeamish about finding an audience. The filmmakers are building their case, though, by winning audience awards left and right. Interestingly, they've also realized they need to give a better, truer feel for their film in festival programs, which have been frightening people off with the Neo-Nazi photo and language. Post on this message board to let distributors know of your interest.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Simple, touching love story
DaveB197220 August 2006
At it's heart this is just a simple tale of star-crossed lovers given a new twist, and depending on it's actors to pull you into the movie. Luckily for all of us the managed to get two incredible actors in the lead roles.

The performance of Jeremy Renner in this movie is incredible, bringing an innocent charm to a very misguided neo-nazi called Ned. Even when he's spouting racial epithets towards Rachael (Gabrielle Union in a terrific part) early in the film it comes through in the performance that he's interested in her rather than hateful towards her, but just doesn't know how else he should behave. It's a difficult thing to describe, and deserves to be seen. Gabrielle Union is particularly good in some of these early scenes.

There are some incredibly funny moments in the movie with a number of them purely visual plays on the happy couple walking around together. One of my favourite comedic scenes takes place in the hospital where Ned tells Rachael about what he'd like to do once the great racial war has split America into quadrants. It's in moments like these where you really see Ned for what he is - lonely, and desperate for human connections.

While the ending of the movie may be no great surprise, the final scene with Ned is an uplifting and touching moment of comic genius.

Seeing this at the Edinburgh Film Festival we were lucky enough to see a Q&A with the Director Van Fischer, Jeremy Renner, and one of the producers, Mark Borman. The movie does not have a distribution deal yet, and Mark Borman believes most of that is that distributors aren't sure how to market the movie. It's an understandably difficult sell, but one I hope some brave distributor will run with.

I look forward to the release on DVD.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fine acting by Renner & Union make the most for a predictable indie
george.schmidt17 August 2006
Warning: Spoilers
DVD REVIEW -NEO NED (2006) ** Jeremy Renner, Gabrielle Union, Sally Kirkland, Cary Elwes, Steve Railsback, Ethan Suplee, Eddie Kaye Thomas, Richard Riehle.

Jeremy Renner is an up-and-coming new character actor with definite acting chops who, this past year, made an indelible impression on me in two disparate roles, as a sexual harassing co-worker to Charlize Theron in the drama "North Country" and as a former fire-fighter coming to grips with depression in the indie "Twelve and Holding", both excellent work by the talented thespian, who shines here in this little seen indie as the metaphorically titular character (the Neo- referring to his skinhead Nazi tendencies and eventually for his re-birth at a mental health clinic) Ned, who has had a rough life. His real mother, a flibbertigibbet flake (Kirkland), lost him to the tragic life of foster care (he barely escaped a family's mass suicide) while his father is in prison, he wound up befriended by peer-pressuring thugs in the unlikely form of a skinhead gang that eventually leads to the murder of a young black man. Although not implicit for the death Ned is sent instead of jail to the clinic where he meets a beautiful young black woman named Rachael (Union, in one of her surprisingly stronger efforts and also another talent to continue to watch), who has everyone there under the impression she is the re-incarnation of Adolph Hitler (!)

Tentatively feeling each other out and realizing that both are completely at unease with their guises, the two begin to bond and fall in love until Ned is unceremoniously dismissed from the premises (no one sees any progress and he has been a nuisance to the staff and patients). Instead of taking his one-way ticket on a bus to nowhere, Ned instead returns to the clinic and follows the patients to their scheduled field trip at the local zoo, where he sees Rachael and lies to her that he is 'cured' and persuades her to join him in a new life. But Rachael is also not who she appears (a victim of a sexual abuser while a young girl) and the happy life the two design for themselves doesn't turn out to be what they anticipated.

The film, directed by novice Van Fischer moves along predictably - kind of like a made-for-TV mix of "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest" meets "Badlands" but without the rampant wave of violence for violence sake, with some subtle touches (i.e. Ned's fading swastika on his t-shirt suggesting his tendencies are all but non-existent), but the screenplay by Tim Boughn feels bare-bones where rich character development and a better transition from scene-to-scene could've been forged more thoroughly.

But the acting is uniformly solid, including cameo-esquire work by Elwes and Kirkland.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A deeply human story- awesome and mesmerizing
thepynelb28 December 2008
I was really impressed with this movie; particularly the performance of Jeremy Renner. It's an incredibly sad and strikingly true story that broke my heart, but I absolutely loved it. Ned has a sad innocence juxtaposed with his explosive but upbeat personality that is mesmerizing. There are a lot of incredible stories out there about unlikely heroes from broken backgrounds and Ned is a classic example. Worn down by the system and never shown a normal example of a family or life, Ned's violent tendencies are truly a product of his reaction to a destructive universe. At the end when his mother speaks of his 'heart of gold', you realize that she isn't mistaken. He isn't exactly a hero, but did the best he could with his given situation and history.

I was fascinated and impressed with both Renner and Union, as they both had tragic histories and longed for something happy.. Awesome, awesome, awesome... if you can handle it. This movie is definitely for people who don't mind a bittersweet story. Beautifully acted and directed.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Really About Belonging !Beware Spoilers!
melaknee1 October 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Like everywhere else, this film has just scored big with a packed audience at the San Diego Film Festival. Director Van Fischer said that distributors can't figure out the audience demographic. Well, if a movie about 2 gay cowboys found its niche in Oscarland, I think this one can too. This has 'indie hit' written all over it BECAUSE it's a controversial premise that delivers. Give us a little credit, will ya?

I won't repeat everything said re: excellent performances (all true) and gripping, intelligent script (also true). A special kudo should also go to Fischer, who managed to just stand back and let the story do its thing without getting in the way. It seems very hard for many directors to trust their actors and writer, but that's just what Fischer has done.

What struck me most about Ned - our anti-hero - is what Renner managed to etch into his face - his aching need to belong. He's like a little lapdog throughout, trying to please anyone who can get past his bravado: clinging to his favorite 'goon' orderly when released at a bus station, kissing Rachel when she translates his racist rhetoric as mutual attraction, and replaying his mother's favorite video because it makes her happy - even though it's of her exploiting his pain on a national talk show. Though written very effectively as a comedy, Neo Ned looks at the tragic lengths a person will travel in order to be part of a family - any family. Ned tries to find this in the Aryan Brotherhood, but they reject him because he's not hateful enough. He finally achieves his goal by reuniting with his dad - in prison. Not a happy ending for most people, but it's only when incarcerated that Ned finally feels like most people - loved.

I would disagree with the Scottish comment that retribution is the driving goal behind Rachel's final crime (Union's character). Ned wants to help her overcome her fear of the abuser so she can move on, but when she won't go inside the man's office with Ned, he takes second-best - i.e. beating the guy. When Rachel does appear, she's simply shaking, terrified that her childhood molester is moving toward her. She's brought Ned's gun because of her panic, not her premeditated eye-for-an-eye mentality. Bloodthirsty American I may be, but I certainly didn't condone her crime. I don't think the writer Tim Boughn asks us to. Far from supporting a get-off free vigilante attitude, Boughn throws his main character in jail for twenty years. The fact that this perhaps seems like a character success proves how swept up into Ned's value system we are (in his childlike moral code, the 'good guys' have won). And no, European countries may not have the legacy of slavery we have here (since they saved it for their colonies), but they certainly have prejudices and histories of their own which should resonate with audiences (and plenty of current race relation problems they may be choosing to ignore).

Finally, a word about realism. Van Fischer said in his Q&A that this film definitely requires a suspension of disbelief, and he's right. I can't think of a black woman I know who would date a self-proclaimed Neo-Nazi, but I know plenty of women of all backgrounds who love their man precisely because they see through his game. Rachel knows from the beginning that Ned is full of it, that he's playing the race card because he can't think of anything better to provoke people. And how different is that from a crowing Romeo who really just wants to be cuddled? The masks might change, but the right partner sees through them all the same.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Neo Ned is an INCREDIBLE FILM!
surfinbeez21 April 2006
I just saw Neo Ned at the Newport Beach Film Festival. I had no idea what the movie would be about before I went in, I had heard it was something about Nazis. But as soon as the character of Ned hit the screen, I was captivated! The acting is awesome, and the story is simple and unique. PLEASE SEE THIS FILM. I walked out of the theater wanting to buy a copy of it on DVD. IT NEEDS TO BE DISTRIBUTED.

The director was at the event and he spoke of how they need to establish their audience so that distributors will attach themselves to the project. Definitely go see this film and become a part of the ever growing fan base. He mentioned that every time they screen the film, they get great responses. But those good responses don't mean for the filmmaker much unless they lead to distribution deals. Please support these guys. They make great movies.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great movie - especially for the small budget
gabjag2 October 2006
I just saw this movie at the San Diego Film Festival. I had some reservations about the premise - a love story between a Neo-Nazi and an African American.

But we quickly discover that Ned -the "Neo Nazi" - is really just a very simple and childlike person with a great need to be part of a group.

They did a good job of making the main characters multidimensional and "likeable".

There seem to be a few technical glitches in the first five minutes of the film, and there is also a small 10/15 minute lull in the middle of the piece - but a small price to pay for a solid film.

Overall, I thought the writing, acting and directing were great.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
*****
dunclesam30 April 2005
I didn't have the opportunity to stick around and see some of the other festival entries (many of which seemed interesting), but I'm glad to have been able to see Neo Ned. Thoughtful, creative storytelling shot in a simple style (probably due to a low budget). Excellent acting all around, especially by Mr. Renner. He seems to have a lot of potential (his energy reminds me of Sean Penn), and I'd love to see him in a similar role in a big-budget feature. I'm looking forward to seeing more from Tim Boughn (screenwriter). He's crafted an impressive, fresh story and I believe he's the real star of this film. As a writer, I believe that it's crucial to know your subject, and these characters and their situations were totally convincing.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not Your Average Love Story...
scissor_hands5530 September 2006
I saw this movie at the San Diego Film Festival. It was absolutely incredible. Neo Ned is a romance-drama-comedy wrapped up all in one. It offers unique ideas on racism, love and making choices that are revealed through the talented actors in this film. Jeremy Renner and Gabrielle Union put their heart and souls into this film and their breath taking on-screen chemistry is captured. This is a movie that can be appreciated by people of all shapes and sizes (except children, there is profanity). The director, Van Fischer, did an awesome job with this film. His plot style is disarrayed characters who wind up in odd situations, a dynamic duo that results in entertainment. During the film festival he answered questions from the audience. We shall be expecting to see more of his movie magic soon. He did a lot with his budget that was so small. I give it five stars(*****)! I also recommend getting familiar with the independent film festivals.. you might just find a diamond in the rough!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Multi-level comedy with loaded questions
Chris_Docker2 August 2006
An unusual romantic comedy tackling taboo subjects is the basis for Neo Ned, a white supremacist with a violent nature who, while staying in a psychiatric hospital, meets a Rachael, a black woman who thinks she's Hitler. As an unlikely attraction forms between the two, they abscond together, are introduced to Ned's talk-show addict mother and a cop who arrested Ned as a married couple, and blunder their way through a relationship to a surprise ending with a bloody twist.

We suspect early on that neither character is quite as clear-cut as they seem. When not spouting defiance in German, Rachael is mild mannered and almost like an insightful social worker to Ned, who has a tantrum when he can't get sugar on his toast (but explains that he has to 'keep up his reputation' as a psycho). In one of his milder moments, Ned says to Rachael, "Just cos I'm a racist doesn't mean I'm not sensitive." When he makes a Nazi-style collage for her, she tears off and keeps only the corner where he has written, "To Rachel, from your friend Ned." The oddball element of the characters provides some of the charm as well as much unsettling humour. Ned's mother, who has appeared on six Jerry Springer -type chat shows to eulogise her 'misunderstood son' is at first shocked at his liaison with a black woman but then she sees the potential and gets on the phone to TV producers the minute the happy couple leave. "Every mother should love their child, no matter what," she proclaims, with well-rehearsed, realistic tears. The phrase has hidden irony when we learn later about Rachael's childhood.

Neo Ned is a clever concept and delivered with varying degrees of success. It will have aficionados while boring the pants off others. Ned's gritty antics will thrill some as harmless escapist entertainment, not to be taken seriously and definitely not emulated. The script has an ingenious overall pattern but sags in many parts as it slowly builds up the pieces of a jigsaw. If you are offended by bad language, it's one to avoid, but otherwise it does contain a few gems such as, when trying with his limited vocabulary to backtrack after a night of playing away, Ned exclaims, "I wish to God I could take that back - I wish I could unf*ck her!" Although much of the pacing struck me as slow, this is really a film that lulls you into to thinking one thing so it can hit you between the eyes with something else. As a romantic comedy, I didn't find it very believable, although I admit I warmed to it as we found out more about Ned's character. This is quite intentional, as the film is a journey of self-discovery and finding there is more to a person than is immediately apparent. On a second level, it examines racism, and although it is a fairly intelligent insight, I didn't feel it added anything new. Finally (in the last scenes) it hits us with an eye-for-an-eye retributive philosophy, which some people may find worrying and others agree with (and the audience is encouraged to agree). It struck me that the film has done well on the U.S. festival circuit and I will be curious to see if fares as well in the UK or Europe - where our penal system is less retributive - we generally don't believe in killing people whether as capital punishment or otherwise. Racial tensions outside of the U.S. tend to follow very different patterns and I wonder if audiences will relate to it as well in countries that have had little history of Klu Klux Klan or extremist movements that, strangely enough, also echo certain aspect of Nazi intolerance.

Neo Ned is not one of my favourite films. I disliked its treatment of violence and I lost interest several times in the first half. But it is one that people will have strong opinions about, for and against, so you might want to watch it and disagree with me.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Lucky Ducks That Have Seen It
Ahrean200713 June 2007
Already being a Jeremy Renner fan, reading through these reviews makes it seem as though I've seen it already and it saddens me that I haven't had the chance (living in Iowa, kind of hard to since to my knowledge it hasn't been distributed yet).

I just wanted to add my two cents in that this film should be distributed, if not to the theaters than at least on DVD. I'm just sick and tired of the big budget movies getting all of the play when the movies with true substance have to scratch and claw for years just to get some notice.

So add my vote to the please distribute this film list.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Brilliant acting and a well written and heart-warming/breaking story
karoline480-859-76650915 August 2016
Jeremy Renner has to be one of Hollywoods finest. He plays the role of a neo-nazi serving time for a race related crime in a mental hospital with brilliant ease. At the facility, he meets a young African American woman who believes she is Adolf Hitler. The two of them forms a strong bond that lead Ned (Jeremy Renner) to a new found path of love rather than hate.

The movie itself is quite remarkable, painting a picture of a unique relationship without falling into any plot shattering clichés. Both lead characters Ned and Racheal (Gabrielle Union) provide stories that are both complex and heart breaking. The movie does rely on the viewer to figure out the main character Ned, which is far from a problem. Renner plays the part with such a strong conviction that the audience is left feeling what his character does, and not once does he make the character feel unrealistic or synthetic.

As far as Unions role goes, she has no problem following her male college. She proves she is more that capable of playing deep interesting roles, and that her talents go way beyond her repetition. The movie might not be perfect; from a personal point of view the soundtrack may be a bit of and does not complete the vibe in the movie. But all those little things is forgotten thanks to such brilliant acting and a well written and heart-warming/breaking story.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
this movie answers the question: what happens when a black woman possessed by Hitler means a neo nazi in a insane asylum?
rdukeesq23 May 2011
So have you ever wondered what would happen when two mental patients, one of whom is a Neo-Nazi and the other who is a black woman who thinks she is possessed by Adolf Hitler fall in love, well match this delightful movie to find out. This is pure indy film making, very low budget, hell I could see the reel change marks and this was on television. So is this a good movie well yes. Is it for everyone well no!. This is not a movie that hits just one note, it is at times funny, at other times touching, at times brutal, and yes at times disturbing. This movie is for the individual who finds it hard to sit through most of what Hollywood puts out. Gabrielle Union (Hitler), and the hurt locker's Jeremy Renner give remarkable performances with tons of emotion that feels "real". I liked this movie a lot, this is one of those movies that hopefully would appeal to those readers I am seeking. If you watched this movie and liked it you pass the test.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Pleasant Surprise!
MIDDLEMYATT21 November 2010
Wow! What a pleasant surprise! Don't let the neo-Nazi/Hitler/racist premise scare you off from enjoying a well-written and entertaining character study -- a really solid little piece of cinema. Great performances all around: Jeremy Renner's star is guaranteed to continue rising, as evident in his work as the troubled but likable Ned -- and even Gabrielle Union (who I usually find rather flat, predictable and ultimately uninteresting despite her prettiness) succeeds here as well. Union, thanks to the tight script and adept directing, perhaps puts in the best work of her career. And I agree with another reviewer's observation: there's great chemistry between the two leads, empowering the notion of their characters' profoundly unlikely romance. Overall, the film is at times dark, humorous, genuinely touching and never heavy-handed or unforgivably false. I consider Neo Ned a more insightful, true and telling treatise on racism in America than 2009's laughable and embarrassing The Blind Side. I highly recommend Neo Ned!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Wow, Wow, Wow!
RebeccaWood29 April 2008
Heard of Neo Ned? Not too many have. I, in fact, discovered it last night while I was working the closing shift at the movie theater in my town. As it turns out, the producer of the film is from here and decided to offer a free showing with a Q&A at the end. My opinion: this movie should not have been free. In fact, I wouldn't have minded paying $10.00+ to view it. I would even dare to say that it far surpassed every other film in our theater, and possibly every film that we've had for the last six months. So, to shorten and conclude my rant: It was amazing.

Neo Ned is a story about love, or as a previous audience member mentioned "anti-hate". Ned is a neo-Nazi who grew up in an array of torn homes and who witnessed his father's arrest, which tore him away from his son for many years. As an adult, he ends up in a psych ward, only to meet a black woman, whom he falls in love with.

This is certainly not your traditional love story. In all actuality, it quite possibly breaks many, if not all, of the rules of tradition. But who really cares? Overall, the writing, directing, and acting were superb. Hollywood: stop giving us your half-baked movies and start putting real movies with real stories in our theaters. Neo Ned would be a great way to start.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A great movie script comes to life.
cindybird130 April 2005
My compliments go out to Tim Boughn, who wrote the script for Neo Ned. His karma from working with endangered young people in group homes allowed him to create a best case scenario. Not only is the script funny, it is moving and sexy. This just proves that Tim, as a boy from Nebraska, has all the talents we associate with the great pioneer families and their genetic pool. Johnny Carson and Dick Cavet were not the only talents to emerge from the Cornhusker state.

The actors brought Tim's script to life and kept it cooking. The two lead characters became believable and real. I attended the premiere and enjoyed the Q & A session, especially the insight brought to the sexual encounter scene from a young woman who has experienced abuse herself.

Congratulations from a fan in Connecticut!
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
"Just because i'm a racist that doesn't mean i'm insensitive" - Neo Ned
DeuceWild_772 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Charming lil' unseen flick made in a tight budget, tells a story of young neo-nazi skinhead, Ned Nelson, caught in a mental ward after he was involved in a murder of an African-American. There he meets & befriends a young single mother, a black girl that thinks Adolf Hitler reincarnated on her. The apparently impossible relationship between the two comes to live when the reckless & intolerant Ned starts to develop a feeling of caring for her...

"Neo Ned" is a nicely watch for a Sunday afternoon film, in the vein of Johnny Depp's "Benny & Joon" where two misfits find love in their own wicked world full of disillusions, violence and abuse. The director tries to not be preachy as usual in a movie involving skinheads, just showing us a modern days' fairy tale oscillating between melodrama & comedy but always with an upbeat feel.

Two times Academy Award nominee, Jeremy Renner, one of the best actors working today, delivers an honest, committed and often naive performance as Ned, a skinhead with a heart of gold suffering for lack of parenthood that just wants to belong. The scene in the bus stop when he was kicked out of the Mental Ward it's downright emotional and beautiful played that may drop a tear on the audience (i cried...).

A funny fact is that Ethan Suplee who played the neo-nazi Seth in "American History X", here plays the benevolent and comprehensive guard at the Mental Ward.

In short, "Neo Ned" needs do be rediscovered, a movie made after the Renner's breakthrough role in "S.W.A.T.", but before his critical & commercial success in Kathryn Bigelow's "The Hurt Locker". Renner may be a bit too old for the role (the actor had almost 34), but he delivers, for sure.

Recommended !!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed