4.9/10
2,461
84 user 19 critic

Hangman's Curse (2003)

Trailer
0:59 | Trailer
Bullying students are becoming deathly ill after screaming the name of a legendary ghost. What's to blame? An exotic illness? An illicit drug? Or is it the supernatural? The clues are few ... See full summary »

Director:

Rafal Zielinski

Writers:

Frank Peretti (novel), Kathy Mackel (screenplay) | 1 more credit »
Reviews

Videos

Photos

Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
David Keith ... Nate Springfield
Mel Harris ... Sarah Springfield
Leighton Meester ... Elisha Springfield
Douglas Smith ... Elijah Springfield
Jake Richardson ... Ian Snyder
Bobby Brewer Bobby Brewer ... Leonard Baynes
Daniel Farber Daniel Farber ... Norman Bloom
Edwin Hodge ... Blake Hornsby
Andrea Morris ... Crystal Sparks
William R. Moses ... Coach Marquardt
Margaret Travolta ... Debi Wyrthen
Tom Wright ... Dan Carillo
Frank Peretti Frank Peretti ... Dr. Algernon Wheeling
Liz Schilling Liz Schilling ... Shawna Miller
Teresa Suter Teresa Suter ... Julie
Learn more

More Like This 

Anatomy 2 (2003)
Horror | Sci-Fi | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.1/10 X  

The doctor and soccer player in the leisure time Jo Hauser decides to move to Berlin and be an intern in a famous clinic, expecting to increase his knowledge and expertize, and help his ... See full summary »

Director: Stefan Ruzowitzky
Stars: Ariane Schnug, August Diehl, Herbert Knaup
Crime | Horror | Mystery
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.1/10 X  

A hypnotherapist is caught up in the pursuit of a serial killer.

Director: Nick Willing
Stars: Goran Visnjic, Paddy Considine, Shirley Henderson
Glory Days (2002)
Comedy | Mystery | Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.5/10 X  

The author of a tell-all book gets writer's block and decides to return home for inspiration only to find that the town locals aren't too happy with his last book.

Stars: Eddie Cahill, Poppy Montgomery, Jay R. Ferguson
Wendigo (2001)
Horror | Mystery | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5/10 X  

George is a high-strung professional photographer who is starting to unravel from the stress of his work with a Manhattan advertising agency. Needing some time away from the city, George, ... See full summary »

Director: Larry Fessenden
Stars: Patricia Clarkson, Jake Weber, Erik Per Sullivan
Crime | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4/10 X  

The true story of serial killer Henry Lee Lucas.

Director: Michael Feifer
Stars: Antonio Sabato Jr., John Burke, Kelly Curran
Meeting Evil (2012)
Crime | Drama | Mystery
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.3/10 X  

John is taken on a murder-fueled ride by a mysterious stranger that transforms the weak-willed, disillusioned husband and father into a desperate hero willing to go to any length to protect his family.

Director: Chris Fisher
Stars: Luke Wilson, Samuel L. Jackson, Leslie Bibb
Drama | Fantasy | Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.9/10 X  

A television mini-series adaptation of Nightmares and Dreamscapes, Stephen King's collection of short horror stories.

Stars: Robert Mammone, Kodi Smit-McPhee, Tom Berenger
Evil Aliens (2005)
Comedy | Horror | Sci-Fi
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.2/10 X  

A TV crew, desperate to boost ratings, arrive on a remote Welsh farming island to investigate an intriguing incident. A local girl and her boyfriend had been abducted by aliens, who also impregnated her.

Director: Jake West
Stars: Emily Booth, Jamie Honeybourne, Sam Butler
Hideaway (1995)
Fantasy | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.3/10 X  

Hatch gets a special resuscitative medicine after "dying" in a car accident. His wife and daughter only get minor injuries. He gets strange nightmares such as killing a teen girl. Is it just dreams?

Director: Brett Leonard
Stars: Jeff Goldblum, Christine Lahti, Alicia Silverstone
Intacto (2001)
Drama | Fantasy | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.9/10 X  

An enigmatic tale of four incredibly lucky people whose lives are intertwined by destiny are subject to the laws of fate. They discover that they cannot afford to be without luck as they ... See full summary »

Director: Juan Carlos Fresnadillo
Stars: Max von Sydow, Eusebio Poncela, Leonardo Sbaraglia
Action | History | Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.5/10 X  

A young man transforms into a brutal warrior as he travels the unforgiving landscape in search of his long lost brother, Hakan the Ferocious, whose people are relying on him to restore order to their kingdom.

Director: Farren Blackburn
Stars: Charlie Bewley, Alexandra Dowling, Clive Standen
Action | Crime | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.1/10 X  

Two New Orleans cops are up against an extremely violent gang.

Director: William Kaufman
Stars: Johnny Strong, Kevin Phillips, Costas Mandylor
Edit

Storyline

Bullying students are becoming deathly ill after screaming the name of a legendary ghost. What's to blame? An exotic illness? An illicit drug? Or is it the supernatural? The clues are few and time is running out for the students of Rogers High School. The only hope is the Veritas Project, a highly trained investigative team working undercover to expose the truth. Lives hang in the balance as they scramble to unravel the mystery and protect the student body from their own hatred and fear. Written by Anonymous

Plot Summary | Add Synopsis

Taglines:

Watch your locker. Watch your back. Watch your soul.


Motion Picture Rating (MPAA)

Rated PG-13 for elements of violence/terror and for brief drug material | See all certifications »

Parents Guide:

View content advisory »
Edit

Did You Know?

Goofs

When Sarah picks up the disk to the digital recorder in the RV, she is wearing white gloves. But when Elijah immediately takes the disk from her, the gloves are gone. See more »

Quotes

Blake Hornsby: Yo, Lord. I'd like to thank you for this wonderful day and thank you for this wonderful lunch and this wonderful family. And thank you for healing my friends and getting Norman the help that he needed. And that you for Elisha being so hot and thank you for the dad for being so cool and not kicking my butt because of what I just said. Yeah, amen. Let's eat.
See more »

Connections

References Hawaii Five-O (1968) See more »

Soundtracks

Over Occupation
Written by Lesa Hardy & David Bergeaud
Performed by Renfey
Courtesy of Land Factory Music
See more »

User Reviews

Too much Spy Kids
4 September 2004 | by Iced GuardianSee all my reviews

I rented this movie basically because of its cover. It looked kind of spooky and dark and that is just what I expected; a dark and mysterious thriller. What I got was a family film, more in the vein of "Scooby Doo" and "Spy Kids".

It is basically about a family solving mysterious situations at a high school where the local law enforcers fail. The kids go undercover as students (duh, didn't see that one coming) and get right sucked into a rivalry between the popular football team, aka bullies, and the outcasts of the school. Not too original.

The acting is not mindblowing, but neither is it in any way annoying. The grand finale in the end where the mystery is revealed is kind of a letdown and if you spotted the clues during the film (you have great pointers by the way) you will see it coming a mile away.

This movie is a kids movie, but is PG-13 rated, which makes it fall between the chair of the kid audience and the sophisticated older watchers. The cover and the rating made me think of something more like "Wire in the Blood", but in the end, this movie is too much Spy Kids. Avoid if you are allowed to watch.


2 of 13 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you? | Report this
Review this title | See all 84 user reviews »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.
Edit

Details

Country:

USA

Language:

English

Release Date:

12 September 2003 (USA) See more »

Also Known As:

The Veritas Project: Hangman's Curse See more »

Edit

Box Office

Budget:

$2,000,000 (estimated)

Opening Weekend USA:

$78,084, 14 September 2003

Gross USA:

$168,406

Cumulative Worldwide Gross:

$168,406
See more on IMDbPro »

Company Credits

Show more on IMDbPro »

Technical Specs

Sound Mix:

Dolby Digital

Color:

Color

Aspect Ratio:

1.78 : 1
See full technical specs »

Contribute to This Page



Recently Viewed