The Star (2002) Poster

(2002)

User Reviews

Review this title
22 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
This movie could make millions, if released with english subtitles
videoflk9 November 2002
Properly marketed, may be with a dubbed option, for english and french,this movie has great box office potential. Specially in the wake of SAVING PRIVATE RYAN, BAND OF BROTHERS, THIN RED LINE and WINDTALKER, this movie has in no way to hide behind those titles. The script is excellent, kept me right in the seat, the cinematagrophy stunning, and I was amazed with the historical details of the uniforms and military hardware. I would give it a 9+ rating, or two thumbs way up, as Siskel and Ebert used to do. The russians know how to craft the best war pictures, why are they not releasing them via box office, or at least for the north american homme video and DVD market ? I'm very impressed, and I would like to point out, that you can get this movie on VHS, in it's russian only version. Some of my friends watched it without any knowledge of the russian language, and loved it. The action is so intense in this movie, that it explains itself.
44 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
True heroes.
athena248 July 2006
This movie is about soldiers who didn't try to be heroes. In contrast to Private Ryan they didn't question their orders. They believed in their mission, and they had to complete it whatever the cost is. Heroes it's what we call them after watching this movie.

Visually, Zvezda is very decently made, though far from high budget movies like Saving Private Ryan or Enemy At The Gates. But on the other hand it wasn't the movie's goal. The director didn't try to lure us with stunning explosions, or great angle shots of a battle. He just tried to touch our feelings, which he did outstandingly.

There are some minor drawbacks in the plot(like of Vorobej remembering the way back) but except of these the movie is very tense, and the last minutes bring really heart-breaking, tear-dropping moments, that can't leave anyone indifferent. I wanted to scream but I couldn't let the words out, tears ready to go.

This movie is in memory of those, to whom we owe our lives, leaving our flowers over the grave-stone of the unknown soldier.
27 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Russia Does Hollywood
Theo Robertson4 February 2010
Warning: Spoilers
After seeing the Russian film 9 ROTA set during the Soviet -Afghan conflict I was struck how similar it was to American war films which disappointed me since I was expecting something with a much more idiosyncratic style . I had better hopes for ZVEZDA since it is set during the second world war . The Soviet Union lost a grand total of 30 million citizens during the conflict . Putting it in to perspective both Britain and the USA lost around 350,000 war dead each . No Soiet family was left untouched and many Soviets died in the most cruel way possible . There's a famous Soviet film COME AND SEE which gives a small taste of the brutality of the Eastern front so I looked forward to this film with anticipation . Sadly like 9 ROTA I was disappointed with it for exactly the same reason - it seems more like a Hollywood movie than a Russian one

The plot is simple . A team of reconnaissance scouts is sent behind Nazi lines to pick up information . It's obvious what director Nicolai Lebedev and the screenwriters are going to do with the story - they're going to make a suspenseful war drama where every five minutes the unit are in mortal danger of being caught . Two previous units on the same mission have disappeared and the unit come across the tortured bodies of one of their predecessors . This lets even the most uneducated audience members know that

1 ) The mission is dangerous

2 ) If they're caught they won't face a simple death of a bullet - they'll be skinned alive

Unfortunately the more danger the unit face the more unlikely things become . For example two of the scouts climb aboard a German truck . All of a sudden Germans appear and drive the trucks off towards the German base . Two Germans sit in the back of the truck and suddenly become suspicious so pull out their pistols as they prepare to search he back . Then out of nowhere a Soviet air raid takes place allowing our scout heroes to make good their escape . Every time it looks like the unit are going to be caught something always happens that allows the unit to escape regardless of how unlikely it is . This scene also interferes with the time frame since the truck must have traveled several miles but the surviving scout manages to walk back to his unit in what seems a few minutes

As far as I can remember the year isn't mentioned on screen but since the Red Army are on the frontier of the Western Soviet Union then it can only be happening in 1944 . This leads to a serious inaccuracy in the dialogue where the unit find out the Nazis are going to launch a counter-offensive with " 40,000 men and 2,000 tanks " What the Nazis had 2,000 tanks to spare in the Summer of 1944 ? I knew the biggest tank battle in history took place between the Wermacht and Red Army the previous year at Kursk where the Nazis had a grand total of 2,700 tanks . Certainly there's no way they could muster that amount of tanks in the Summer of 1944 so I take it the subtitles are wrong and should have read 200 . Even so this wouldn't have been enough to launch a counter-offensive against the Soviets who had an army of 1,500,000 ready to launch Operation Bagaration

Things like this spoil the movie but it's not really a film that concerns itself with portraying history accurately otherwise we wouldn't be seeing scenes with a Soviet scout feeling sorry for the unit executing Nazi prisoners or references to " The liberation of Poland " . Its sole function is to keep the audience on tenterhooks as to the individual fate of the unit members . In this it succeeds to a large degree but one had hoped to have seen a much more " Soviet " type of film rather than a Russian film trying to emulate Hollywood
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Star that Shines Brightly
FilmFlaneur12 March 2007
Based on a book by Emmanuil Kazakevich, and derived from his own wartime experiences, The Star (aka: Zvezda) has a hardly original plot. One can easily think of war films in which a group of handpicked men are sent out on a suicidal mission, the successful conclusion of which thousands of allied lives depend upon; operations during which contrasting character types inevitably emerge and personal sacrifice is the norm. In interview, director Lebedev has stressed how little he knew of war cinema before he made his film, and such innocence is one reason why he's able to bring a fresh eye to some of the stereotypes, which are nowhere near the distraction that some critics have claimed. But ultimately the real strength of his film lays less in the formulaic plot than in how the director plays with the incidentals, and creates some striking moments as he does so. And despite Lebedev's blithe disavowal's, for alert viewers at least, there's some fun discovering echoes of another, much greater Russian war film, in fact the benchmark for such cinema: Come And See.

One of Travkin's crack team is Anikanov, played by none other than actor Aleksei Kravchenko, who played the boy hero of Klimov's masterpiece so memorably. A decade or two along in his career, he provides a much more mature presence here, and recognising the actor is in itself an apt process. Lebedev's film is set in much the same countryside, amongst the forests of Belorussia. Kravchenko's presence at the heart of the action brings the boy survivor of the earlier cinematic holocaust back, still obeying the essential call to arms, still resolutely hounding the cruel invaders out of the Motherland. Other moments also recall the earlier production: there's a swamp scene, during which the unit, Anikanov included, are almost lost up to their chins in the filthy water while avoiding a German patrol. Elsewhere, one or two scenes contain casually shocking images which have a familiar, brief intensity, such as the naked bodies of tortured soldiers floating down the river, or a brief glimpse out of a truck window at hanged villagers. And just like Klimov's film, Lebedev ends his own on an image of massed Soviet soldiery, marching implacably towards the foe.

That's not to say that the current work does not offer memorable enjoyment of its own too. During the fraught reconnaissance behind enemy lines, 'Star' patrol face purely military challenges, which are different from the civilian hell of Come And See. The present film is proactive towards the enemy, whereas Klimov's is mostly reactive. Lebedev's Star shines best at such times of difference, notably the film's main set piece, the bombing attack on the railway station which is well choreographed, and reminded me of the one in Frankenheimer's equally as good The Train. There are also moments where the cinematography and direction are, frankly inspired: one thinks of the rain falling on the muddy, pale face of a just-fallen comrade, washing him clean of the filth of conflict, or an extraordinary death scene of another solder, taken from a vantage point of camera strapped to the actor's chest. Most impressive of all, there's the striking crane shot, which takes the eye from the barn where the unit are hiding, up, across, and through trees from whence advancing Germans appear.

The 'star' of course comes to mean various things during the course of the film. One of the first things we see is a wartime flare, shooting its way through the night. When the impressionable radio operator Katya (Yekaterina Vulichenko) first appears, she's asked if she's from another unit "or just fallen from the sky?" And, as Russian speakers have noted elsewhere here, when on the radio, Katya hears her love, hero Travkin, say "ia zvezda" - which means both 'star speaking' as well as 'I am a star'. Finally, of course, a star is a point of reference, an inspiration perhaps, as well as the Soviet symbol on every uniform.

If there is a weakness to the film it lays in that tentative relationship between Katya and Travkin, the romantic elements of which seem a both a little undeveloped and over wrought - especially when placed against the turmoil and tragedy elsewhere. What was presumably intended to be understated instead approaches triteness by the film's close, despite the best efforts of actors and score. One only has to remember the similar scenes between a female radio operator and a doomed military figure in, say, A Matter Of Life And Death, to see how close to cloying comes Lebedev's distantly communicating couple. The Russian director's professed wish to make something romantic out of the conflict (thus staying true to the sensibility of the source novel) ironically brings his film its weakest moments.

Buoyed up by a splendid score by Aleksei Rybnikov, featuring solid performances throughout as well as a suspenseful narrative, The Star is well worth seeking out. The DVD includes some deleted scenes, a couple of interviews - including one with the young and modest director - but not a lot else. Lebdenev has since made a couple of less well received movies, including a fantasy epic, but the present film appears to be his best work so far.
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Very good work of a young director
kuznetsov-18 July 2002
Just a very good movie about WW II. A true story about a small scout group with radio sign "The Star" (Zvezda) which got a task to find place of German tanks concentration. Two previous groups were lost and nobody knew where and how. The third group is completed by scouts from different fronts. "The Star" goes in both dark of night and obscurity understanding that enemy waits them leaving no chances to return. The movie stays in line with famous US movies like "Private Ryane" and "Thin Red Line". Very good battle scenes and music.
19 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
In memory of 20 million lost lives
Ivaylo28 March 2004
Russians always knew how to make a film about the World War II. This war is a large and deep scar on the hearts of all Russians, they suffered that war and they won it with the sacrifice of a whole nation.

In the former USSR and now Russian Federation there is a lot of young filmmakers who probably have grandfathers or fathers who are war veterans or lost their lives in the most fierce battles in 1941-1943...

That's why the memories are still alive and the pain is still fresh... It is needful to feel all this pain if you'd like to produce a film, which is able to make you understand even with just a tiny bit of your heart the meaning of the word "war" and what it's like to have no way back...
23 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An intimate wartime story in close-ups--both visual and emotional--that is sure to touch you deeply
alex_kleimenov20 February 2003
This movie is about romance that went without a touch, every word of which was sent through the airwaves in form of a code.

A newly recruited radio operator girl falls for a young handsome reconnaissance officer. Zvezda is the call-sign of his squad that steals into the night on a mission that may turn deadly.

Watching a movie set in the middle of a war, we instinctively try to guess who will survive until the end. In this movie, we hope they all will as we bond with the 6 guys on the squad to the point of our hearts starting to beat with theirs in unison.

Communications on a reconnaissance mission is about signs and looks. That's the way a viewer gets to communicate with the characters. The contact takes place on the eye level: the eyes on the screen are larger than life, as well as what we see in them. And what we see there is very often the fear-a feeling very familiar to us, something that makes us bond with the characters even stronger. `Which one would I've been like?' is a question drilling through our heads. The plot is far from schematic and the axiom that `the ours will always win' is subject to a reasonable doubt. Tears are inevitable.

A masterpiece music score accompanies the movie shot in beautiful landscapes. The cast is perfect: the actors are not well-known and free from unnecessary stigma. Don't miss a chance to see it.
19 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Triumph of Russian Cinema
robred6928 May 2012
Warning: Spoilers
The last couple of months have been great when going shopping as I have re-discovered Russian cinema. Especially war films! The first Russian war film, I ever saw, was "Come & See". Perhaps the most outstanding war film of the last 30 years. However, the Russians have re-emerged with numerous war offerings, from Fortress of War, to The Bomber. The former being absolutely stunning!!! The Star however, was a film certainly made in the same vein. The realism and the style of the film was direct. The stealth, guile and intelligence of Soviet soldiers behind enemy lines was thorough and admirable. By 1944 the Red Army was perhaps the most battle-hardened and skillful soldiers in existence. Night manoeuvres and fighting was by that time a master-class in Red Army operations. All I can say, is that it seems that the Russian film industry is returning to this genre, without the communist baggage. All one can hope, is that the Russian film industry keeps making these types of movies.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
intense
Gordon-1120 September 2002
this film is intense! throughout the film it grasps the audience's concentration. the way that some scenes are shot are very clever too. i wont elaborate as it may spoil the film for other people. war and the resultant deaths are portrayed to be cruel and brutal, and yet realistic. there are scenes that are so powerful, that only images are needed to convey the idea. no words needed at all, and yet we get to know what happened and we totally understand how the actors in the film feel. in summary this is such a powerful film that will move anyone to tears
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Simply brilliant - I love the way it was filmed
elian14 November 2002
I hope this movie will be properly distributed. I would like to see it AGAIN in a proper cinema and subtitled (not dubbed ! that would be a shame).

The actors are all extremely natural and have realistic and interesting personalities.

The lady is not bad either !
14 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Very Russian Film
eviltrav9 August 2003
What struck me about this film was how Very Russian it was. Having spent some time in the country, enough to get a sense of how Russians like to view themselves, this films themes felt very familiar. The depiction of the female radio operator, was so cliche, and well almost laughable. The band of scouts seemed to scream hey look we're PC, we even have a central Asian guy. The group also largely reminded me of the gang from Saving Private Ryan. There was even the weedyl little guy who is too afraid to shoot. All this said, its not a BAD film, its quite enjoyable, and its always interesting to see a WW2 film that is not from the Allied side. Alas though it falls short of greatness, well short due its insistence on dragging out all the old WW2 films tricks. You have seen this all before, the film offers nothing new. The thing that always irked me about Private Ryan, was the overtly sanctimonious/God Bless America style ending. The Star has an equally patriotic finale, but somehow the Russian patriotism is less galling. Overall a solid film, good even, but its been done.
13 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Best movie 2002 worldwide
artlaub3 May 2004
I seen this movie about 10 times, its always damn nice 2 see it. Its the favourite movie of my cousin and in the way 4 people who likes seeing war movies its a pure god's gift 4 them, cause with this movie the russians could shows the world that there are always even exist good regiseurs and actors who can make such a hearttouching and interesting good movie. This movie has a typical russian movie-end like movies in the perestroika time(1986-1991).Because typical is the tragic end without happy end. Other russian movies like avaria-doch menta(1989), pomiluj i prosti(1988), katala(1989), kamyshovyj raj(1989), igla(1988)....have such a typical end, too.But it means not that the movie is bad, the movies are still good movies.
16 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Entertaining Eastern Front war film
gordonl567 April 2015
Warning: Spoilers
ZVEZDA– aka : The Star : 2002

The time is summer 1944 and the place is the Eastern Front. The Soviet summer offencive has bulled its way to the border with Poland. The Soviets have stopped to bring up supplies etc for the next series of attacks. In order to have a better idea of the opposing German forces, Soviet headquarters has sent out several recon squads. These squads have failed to return.

Headquarters decides they really need the info, so out goes another patrol of recon scouts. The patrol sneaks through the German lines at night under cover of a Soviet artillery barrage. They keep off the roads and cut across country. There main objective is a railway station 30 miles behind the lines.

The Soviets works its way towards the station, but are spotted by a German patrol. The chase is now on, the Soviets to gather information, and the German's to kill or capture them.

There are several clashes with German troops and the patrol starts to lose members. They do however discover that the Germans are hiding forces in the deep forest for a counter attack. They are also setting up fake tanks etc near the rail station to fool Soviet aerial reconnaissance.

They have the info needed, but have lost their radio in a clash with some SS troopers. They pull a raid on a German outpost and steal a German radio. While holed up in a barn, they manage to contact headquarters. They pass on the needed intelligence just before the Germans show with a large force. There is a bloody firefight with the Soviet patrol being wiped out to the last man.

This is a pretty decent war film, with some nice looking cinematography and good attention to military detail. The German Tiger tanks are of course not real, but they do make an effort to make them look real. Same with the German half-tracks, they are really post war Czech built items. When the war ended, the Czechs just continued to build the Sd.Kfz 251 for their use.

All in all, the film is well worth a look.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fulfilling second world war movie
richard612 May 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Based on the novel by Emmanuil Kazakevich, The Star is a story focusing on a Soviet reconnaissance unit comprising of seven soldiers sent on a scouting mission behind enemy lines. The enemy is the German armed forces and the line is Eastern Poland, late summer 1944. The reconnaissance is required in order to gather intelligence concerning current German positions and strengths of counter attack indications.

The scouting skills are demonstrated in a ghostly atmosphere effectively using the forest environment as cover. The film moves along at a nice pace and the story widens upon detection and advances through the interception of the scouts by the SS. What actually kills the scouts is their need to obtain a wireless in order to transmit their discovery of military information back to divisional headquarters. This they succeed at the cost of their lives.

The film conspicuously emphasises that the soldiers fighting in the Soviet army were young men. This is demonstrated through the youthful and fresh appearances of the soldiers. Also, the film acknowledges the participation of young women enlisted into the Soviet army. The director, Nikolai Lebedev, deliberately indicates the human cost of war and the justification for the conflict and defeating their enemy. This point also exists in the screen play by Yevgeny Grigoriev, Nikolai Lebedev and Alexander Borodyansky and performed well by the actors. Their is no joy expressed in killing and regardless of nationality each life lost appears to strengthen the sadness of war.

The Star has a satisfactory running time of 97 minutes. If I had to categories this picture it reminds me of "A Bridge On The River Kwai" or "The Guns Of Navarone" and "The Dirty Dozen". The qualities or attributes of hero's during the second world war. The Star, in the same manner, highlights the sacrifices of the Soviet nation. The style of the film is in the mold of many modern combat pictures. Also, cinematography concluding the demise of our screen hero's simulating "Saving Private Ryan", Brotherhood or even "The Alamo"! For these reasons a picture of this quality and authenticity deserved a marketed international release.

The distraction of the sub-plot love story between the scout leader Travkin and wireless operator Katya did not several damage the accomplishment of the film. Even though this plot could be described as embarrassing and unnecessary, it helps apprehend, in a mildly unconvincing manner, the youthful conditions of still being a teenager, regardless of the terrifying surroundings. Evidently, the characters are between 17-20 years of age, expressing innocence and spirit of adolescence. "The Star" is effective, sharp and abrupt, at the same time as providing tension.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I expected more
Hamsvoord121 May 2003
Good movie but not as good as i hoped. Some very nice camera work and an interesting story but I find the acting less convincing also didn't I like the music. The movie shows a nice inside view about the legendary Russian `ghost' scouts' team. The strange unconvincing romance mix would have been best left out the story. It is a good movie worth watching, I rate the movie a 7 out of 10.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Earth to the Star
monsieurfairfax20 May 2020
The Star' might not be the most sophisticated war movie out there, but it was an exciting thrill ride. It quite never achieves the epic proportions compared to some better Hollywood and (Soviet) Russian was movies. Although we are not given much time to get introduced with characters, the heroes, and what makes them tick, are established quickly. Not much build-up - we are thrown into the action quite quickly. Still, there is enough room for the obligatory love story. Luckily that doesn't feel forced. The characters develop along with the story. We were given just the faces and names, but who these men really were, we learned while they moved towards behind the enemy lines.

Tight directing, perfect pacing and, timing with great acting makes this 'on the budget' movie edge of your seat thrill ride. Here I can't say that this is the only Russian war movie you should see, but it definitely belongs among the best (modern) Russian war movies.

P.S. I couldn't go without noticing that Aleksey Kravchenko's similarity with David Lynch is uncanny.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Lovely Music portrays Katya
Dada_Tonya17 February 2003
Hi!

Zvezda got two golden eagle (zolotoi oryol) prize for best cinematography and best music for Russian movies of 2002.

Theme music by guitar solo or strings orchestra portrays romantic love feeling of Katya, a young female soldier in front head quarter communication unit who loves "Zvezda" scout team leader lieutenant Trabkin.

Beside this is a serious and precise war combat story, this is romantic love story with lovely music.
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Magnificent!!!
wolfdance18 April 2006
This is a story , no, a legend, about a Russian WW2 reconnaisance group sent deep into German lines to gather information about the enemy's movement. Their callousing is ZVEZDA (Star). From there on the movie is a tale of heroism and glory, told in the strange Russian way. If you haven't watched it - do so, you will get a new understanding to the words duty, patriotism and love, never before seen on the big screen.A masterpiece of Russian cinematography and a fine example that a massive, epic movie can be shot outside the narrow boundaries of Hollywood.

The movie has its flaws - it is hard to understand for a person outside the Slav way of thinking, but it gives and insight to not only the war, but its human perspective in the Russian way of life.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Why this movie gives me the creeps
cat-that-goes-by-himself5 September 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I would say Zvezda is well worth seeing for its sociological value. In short, i see it as the kind of incredibly primitive patriotic propaganda deemed necessary to restore the faith of the population in Putin's tattered Russia by flattering the century-old Russian soft spot for militarism.

Besides, Lebedev openly and shamelessly copies Spielberg's "saving private Ryan". The rip-off become obvious when you compare the characters with the original short story (which was awarded the Stalin prize in 1947 !). You will see the German-speaking-greenhorn spring right from Spielberg's script. Same goes for the gross simplifications of the military context. As Spielberg replaces German garrison troops armed with 1940 obsolete French light tanks with first-line veterans supported by Tiger tanks, Lebedev makes up grotesque figures - 10 000 men to chase a handful of Russian scouts ! - and turns what the short story describes as a limited counter-offensive into the threat of an Eastern front version of the battle of the Bulge. This rewriting of history simply stinks.

On the same line, one can recognize a scene that borrows heavily from various elements of Sam Peckinpah's "cross of iron" in the middle of the movie. One can also notice the addition of the utterly idiotic final scene (a nearly perfect copy of the equally unrealistic private Ryan finale), where Russian cowboys slaughter stormtroopers (more star wars than Waffen SS style) by the dozen, where the aforementioned greenhorn uses his last breath to lecture the hero about switching a radio transmitter, where the good savage from the steppes, unhindered by a couple of rifle caliber bullets in the arm, continues picking off enemies 100 m away with his PPS 42 submachine-gun, the idiot Germans camp 50m from a barn they could have reduced to matchsticks from a safe distance with mortar, canon or machine-gun fire, etc.

The short story was also mainly a bunch of patriotic ranting, but at least the author had seen actual fighting and did not depict such stupid scenes (in the short story the scouts simply throw a couple of grenades at the handful of soldiers probing the barn and escape before the Germans can bring in reinforcement). It also contained some indications about the terrible pressure inside the Red Army during the Stalin era, the very limited support of the "liberated" populations of Bielorussia, and the savage behavior of soldiers of both camps. All this has been utterly wiped out from the movie, leaving only cardboard heroes fighting a kind of generic enemy.

By the way, I can't see how anyone could have appreciated the infamous performances of lieutenant Travkin and private Simakova. A fine example of over-the-top and contrived acting from these two main protagonists. Admitedly some secondary characters were not bad, within the limited bounds of their simplistic lines.

These kind of fictions that revel in both cheap and fake poetry of war (the reason why the only female character casts languid looks at the starry sky is unfortunately kind of lost in translation : speaking on the radio she can hear the hero say "ia zvezda" which can mean both "star speaking" and "I am a star") are just a step toward the building of another generation of canon fodder. Considering what is currently happening in Chechnya, that movie really gives me the creeps.

Have a look at "vremia sobirat' kamni" (the time to pick up stones (instead of throwing them)) instead. A much more interesting point of view on the sequels of WWII in Russia, that shows there is still room in Russia for directors wanting to go a bit farther than primary xenophobia and stupid, blind nationalism.
10 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Good as Propaganda Only
anthony_retford15 November 2009
Warning: Spoilers
For domestic audiences I can see how they would applaud this movie. For outsiders, with no vested interests, it did not make much sense. The Germans were portrayed as incompetents and the Russians as heroes. The supposedly romantic angle was superfluous and a distraction. How a young woman could 'love' the lieutenant from just glimpsing him was nonsense. How she could, as mentioned at the end of the movie, never marry just because of this infatuation was beyond me. I mentioned the Germans were portrayed as idiots and that was exemplified in the chase into the marsh. Several hundred German troops advanced, pushing the Russians into the marsh. So the Russians hid and the Germans stopped at the edge of the marsh and just stood there listening. I suppose they did not want to get their boots wet, but I am sure an officer would have ordered 20 or 30 men into the water to search the marsh. But that would have ended the story. Also, the Germans entered the barn where the Russians were hiding in the loft and did not bother to fire into the roof. At the worst some soldier would have tossed a grenade into the loft and not climbed a ladder to peer in.

I did see some reviewers who said they cried at the end. I wonder why? You knew this small band would perish and they was nothing heart-tugging in that.
7 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Putin's Great Patriotic Film about Stalin's Great Patriotic War
gest196925 September 2009
I believe that war films should try to convey the terror of war, avoid idealism and respect some rudimentary military principles. Zvezda barely does the first. Zvezda being a Russian war film, I was expecting patriotism, sentimentality, beautiful poetic pictures, a lush score, Slavic cheekbones and cruel Germans. What I didn't need was the naive love non-affair, the unrealistically silly war scenes and the abuse of the syrupy soundtrack in a film which avoided carefully all historical or political references (Stalinism, Nazism, Holocaust) only to end on a passing but nonetheless insulting to our sense of history endnote about "liberating Poland". A missed opportunity as a film but not as propaganda apparently.
6 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Excellent war flick!
rsvp32119 October 2020
I watched it with subtitles and it was easy to follow.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed