Andy Warhol: The Complete Picture Poster

Episode List


Season 1

27 Jan. 2001
The Leader of the Brand
In this debut episode we experience the vulnerable and witty emotional core of the young artist, whose shoe drawings and, in collaboration with his mother, drawings of cats and angels, reveal an artist full of humor, tenderness, and whimsy. These qualities made the young Warhol a sensational success in the commercial field, but he craved the respectability of an Artist. Trading on his shyness and strange looks, he fashioned for himself a conceptual shell that, taken with his screenprints of everyday supermarket objects, stormed the Art establishment and challenged the...
3 Feb. 2001
Shooting Stars
In this film we explore Warhol's shift from painting to film-making. No less radical in this area, he eschewed Hollywood conventions, setting up at The Factory his own rival East coast studio churning out films in which nothing happened. In his one reel three-minute screen tests he proved himself a true documentarian fascinated by the depths of nothingness, that would, years later, be the key ingredient of reality television. Meanwhile, to fund his experimental agenda Warhol also became a commercial portrait artist, charging wealthy patrons for flattering portraits ...
10 Feb. 2001
The Sixteenth Minute
In this final episode in the series we look at the way Warhol, perhaps to convince himself that he was alive (and to confound the critics who had written him off as a spent force), stepped up production in every field. He wrote books, published Inteview magazine, made television shows and did commercials. He painted everything from piss paintings to male nude torsos, collaborated with new artists like Haring and Basquait, and produced The Last Supper paintings exhibited months before his completely unexpected death. Through the subsequent establishment of two museums,...

 Season 1 

See also

TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page

Recently Viewed