2 Fast 2 Furious (2003) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
384 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Relax and have fun
realtobi22 June 2003
Nice movie to just lean back, chill and watch hot girls,hot cars and hot action - there is no need of complex story or reality. And the black guy is really funny, so take some friends, some money for popcorn and nachos and chill out ;)
41 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Almost as equally entertaining as the first film
With the help of Paul Walker and Vin Diesel's chemistry and some intense racing scenes, Rob Cohen's The Fast and the Furious (2001) was an instant hit among racing fans. And like most franchises with critical financial success, a sequel started to be put into the works. Similar to many other sequels, it was distributed two years later and it's difficult to say whether it pleased fans as much as the first one did. According to this site, this is lowest score the franchise has. It wasn't bad at all but it was missing a few elements of the first movie, which left a more entertaining feeling.

The story follows ex-cop Brian O'Conner (Paul Walker) back to Miami from Los Angeles where he's enjoying his time racing street cars only to be pulled back by the authorities that he dropped. Heading the authorities is Agent Bilkins (Thom Barry) from the first installment and this time he wants O'Conner back one more time to take down a drug lord. And O'Conner can't refuse because he'd go to jail if he didn't accept. Plus, if the drug lord is turned in, all of his criminal charges will disappear. Why does this plot sound like Vin Diesel's xXx (2002) plot line (except it doesn't deal with a drug lord)? Speaking of which, why didn't Vin Diesel return? That's one thing that this franchise consistently needs. Paul Walker is the central character but Vin Diesel's presence was the icing on the cake.

Is was nice though that the writers kept the continuity together. The characters do reference material from the first film which shows the producers want to keep the story going and not divert completely from the original. But if there's one thing that comes into question, it is the concept of getting caught having a love interest in the business. This happened in the first movie and it blew O'Conners cover. Here the same thing happens in a similar way. You'd think the lesson was learned. Sigh. The new interest is Eva Mendes and she plays her character well enough. Accompanying O'Conner is Roman Pearce (Tyrese Gibson) an old friend who originally has a grudge for some of his own issues. Even with this though, their chemistry works well.

Playing the drug lord is another interesting actor - Cole Hauser. He has a very smooth deep voice and resembles a very young Tom Berenger. He's also able to make his character seem dangerous enough to hurt someone. That's it for characters. The music produced by David Arnold of Stargate (1994) sounded better than BT's score from the first film but it wasn't evident enough. Barely heard a thing. As for action scenes, the racing is still fast paced and contains much of the same film making as the first, which kept the feeling the same. Other than that, the story feels the same as before but without Vin Diesel.

It's not a bad follow up to the first movie, but not casting Vin Diesel wasn't smart - it's like missing a piece to a puzzle. Other than that, it's still a decent watch with better music and well-staged action sequences.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
The cars are better than the first...
hoxjennifer6 July 2015
The cars, the stunts and the eye candy (Eva Mendes) are better than the first. But unlike the first, 2 Fast 2 Furious still boasts a lacklustre plot. Nevertheless, it's a great "bro" movie for the guys. The partnership between Roman Pierce (Tyrese Gibson) and Brian O'Connor (Paul Walker) is amusing and works well as they team up and do next to impossible driving stunts with each other. The slight romance between Monica Fuentes (Eva Mendes) and Brian O'Connor is predictable, but it's not to the same extent as the first one - just a bit of flirtation but not to the extent of a full fledged relationship. The Miami backdrop adds to the "upgrade" feel of the second movie in the Fast & Furious franchise. Flashy and full of action is 2 Fast, 2 Furious.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Is this a sequel ?
lordsaves77723 December 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I don't think this movie deserves to be called a sequel to "The Fast and the Furious",not because it is a bad movie,it is great and it does not fail to entertain most of the public,but for those who really liked the first one,this one is not a sequel.The first was very original,its conflicts were original,the movie was really about cars,and driving,and street racing,this one,in the other hand,presents us conflicts that we have seen for the last decades,the police couple that don't like each other,and at the end of the movie they finish kissing and hugging each other,the guy that falls in love with a woman that could make him fail his mission,the guy that has a drug empire in Miami,and pretends to become more powerful,the police that's trying to stop him,this are most of the conflicts we see in this movie,and we have seen in other movies,so it's not original.The Fast and the Furious was very original with great conflicts,it wasn't as fun as "its sequel",but it was awesome as well.But I think that this is the reason why this movie was released in the summer,to make critics say "well,is not original it has some cars stunts that are hard to believe,but is a summer movie,what the hell".I also did not like the decision of the director of making the movie in Miami because usually the backgrounds of street racing are nocturnes,Miami is usually more popular on daylight,street racing is usually on high ways in big cities like New York or Los Angeles,but it is clear that the director was just trying to make the movie more attractive to the summer-movie lovers because a lot of people identifies Miami with summer.This movie is more like a cop movie than a street racing movie,you can notice how hard is for the writers to make a space for races,and how easy is for the writers to find space for those things that usually a cop has to deal with.Is not a bad movie,but it is not original,and it cant be called a sequel.
49 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
more fast more furious
SnakeEclipse14039 June 2003
This one was way better than the first, I don't care what all you other pladough brains say. It had better cars, women, plot, bad guys, and action. You should still watch the first one before you see this, even if it wasn't as good, if you want to get some of the stuff they talk about in this film. As far as the plot goes, it's a lot more interesting than a boring theft of electronic equipment. You're much more rather to watch a movie where the good guys are up against meaner and more dangerous bad guys who really have the thrill of danger in them. Actually only Verone did a good job showing that off, but the rest didn't do bad. Action sequences are what really smoke the original. Finally, a circuit race, and more amounts of races instead of cheesy talking for almost a whole act. I'm glad they improved on the races and action, otherwise I would have hated this movie. God Bless you, John Singleton.
27 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
2 times the fast 2 times the furious but still not better than the original.
Daniel Velker23 May 2013
This film brings back more of what we loved from the first film with all the cars, girls, and action and multiplies it. However it is still inferior to the first film but that dosen't mean it isn't awesome. This movie has gotten a lot of criticism and i don't understand why there is so much hate for this movie. Some people complained about the lack of plot and the casts acting skills but I don't care about that. I watch these Fast films to be entertained and I was throughly entertained with this one. Even though it dosen't match up to the original it still excels in excitement. I mean how could you go wrong with taking the series to Miami were our eyes will be blessed with dozens of beautiful beach girls. And the races in this movie are also very exciting to. And let's not forget the awesome chase sequence in the film as well. Paul Walker and Tyrese Gibson make a great team and show us why this movie is so cool. I still love this movie despite the many negative reviews I've seen and to all the haters I say forget about the plot and just enjoy the perks. This movie is made for entertainment not Oscar awards and as far as entertainment goes It was grade A popcorn style.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
cool
kath-ahmad20 May 2015
This film brings back more of what we loved from the first film with all the cars, girls, and action and multiplies it. However it is still inferior to the first film but that dosen't mean it isn't awesome. This movie has gotten a lot of criticism and i don't understand why there is so much hate for this movie. Some people complained about the lack of plot and the casts acting skills but I don't care about that. I watch these Fast films to be entertained and I was throughly entertained with this one. Even though it dosen't match up to the original it still excels in excitement. I mean how could you go wrong with taking the series to Miami were our eyes will be blessed with dozens of beautiful beach girls. And the races in this movie are also very exciting to. And let's not forget the awesome chase sequence in the film as well. Paul Walker and Tyrese Gibson make a great team and show us why this movie is so cool. I still love this movie despite the many negative reviews I've seen and to all the haters I say forget about the plot and just enjoy the perks. This movie is made for entertainment not Oscar awards and as far as entertainment goes It was grade A popcorn style.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Don't be '2 Fast 2 Furious' to Judge the Sequel
Viking5 April 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Clearly many viewers were expecting 2 Fast 2 Furious to double up on the original. But without all the same cast members, it's hard to meet that level of expectation.

Brian is back in the racing scene and has earned his own street credit, with moves that are just as smooth as his first ride. However, it doesn't take long for the FBI to reel the ex-cop back into the law to help bring down a Miami drug exporter. Being a two-man job, Brian insists that Roman join the crew - a childhood friend and 'criminal' that wants to clear his record. What follows the reunion is a good film with action-packed car chases, sexy actors and great suspense.

Having watched all of the following Fast and Furious movies, it's important to have these two characters introduced early on. Most of you will agree with me saying, that the sequel is more laid back and doesn't take itself too seriously. I enjoyed the street racing, the narrative progression and amusing dialogue, particularly Roman's observations.

2 Fast 2 Furious is the kind of racing film you should see.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
The Engines Are Running Full Gear Here
eric26200326 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Without the assistance of a fugitive on the run Dominic Toretto (Vin Diesel, who is AWOL here), Brian O'Connor (Paul Walker) who's still a marked man with the FBI leaves Los Angeles and travels around the USA to compete in drag races and making new friends along the way as well as a substantial amount of money. It wasn't before long that the cops found his car and now he has to travels by foot. Until a lady drops him off at a car lot and his money he purchases a blue car and paints it silver. O'Connor ventures off to Miami where he reunites with ex-con Roman Pearce (Tyrese Gibson) as they join forces with the FBI to track down a shady dealer named Carter Verone (Cole Hauser), but only in exchange if they erase his criminal records. They are also joined by Secret Agent Monica Fuentes to bring this sleazy miscreant to justice.

Unlike a lot of sequels where they don't measure up to the first instalments "2 Fast 2 Furious" succeeds in equalling up to the first instalment to maybe even being better (even without Vin Diesel). This movie like the first film is loaded with all the usual formulaic by-the-numbers mixed bag of clichés like the token slimy gangster and his dim-witted gang of goons, corrupt cops, by-the-book FBI agent and his determined sidekick and whatnot. But people who see this movie aren't here to see that. Hell no! We've come to see exciting drag races, cars crashing into each other, fight scenes, over-the-top humour (not Shakespaere), epic fights and most of all cool cars and hot girls.

With Vin Diesel out of the picture, Paul Walker takes the central role as Brian O'Connor an former LAPD on the run and locating himself in Miami to capture a sleazy dealer in exchange that for his criminal charges to be eradicated. And he turns in a wonderful performance, even though it just feels at time forced, but in a funny way. Why funny? Because he just seems a bit to old to be talking like the way he does. His dialogue makes him sound like an adolescent who's been living in the basement of an LA public school and has picked up on their lingo. Roman Pearce (Gibson) is O'Connor's sidekick is no Dominic Toretto is still a capable replacement and has just as much charisma to pull it off.

This movie is no different than the Land of Make Believe. It doesn't exist. It's all surreal. It's the threshold where the bad-assed dudes hang out, where drag racing is a pastime and not an illegality. Where the ladies let it loose and enjoy every moment of it. This utopia has our two heroes who constantly bicker like two teens arguing over who's pizza slice is bigger. In a world like this, there are no real good guys, and the badder you are, the greater your odds at survivor are in your favour. In action films this has been a common trend since Jason Statham starring in "The Transporter" as he played a hero who was a lackey for the underworld. These days, being a cookie-cutter hero is obsolete, it's a fight between bad guys and even more bad guys. O'Connor and Pearce confiscate drug money, but they take it before the cops grab their hands on the dough. It makes you wondering if the producers know who's coming to see this film or maybe not. It may feel at times like they're glorifying the audience watching it giving the impression those watching it are dumber than rocks.

But once the smoke is cleared the real stars are the awesome cars. They grind, they release steam and most of all, they make a lot of noise that it's not too late to purchase some earplugs. The opening drag race will likely have your heart beating faster than a thousand bees in a hive. Vin Diesel was not the only one who departed as Rob Cohen took an exodus as John Singleton took over the director's chair which is quite surprising since Singleton back in 1991 directed the ever so powerful drama "Boyz in the Hood". What happened? I guess under a more competent director should come to no fluke that this film is 5x better than the first instalment.

We know that the target audience was intended for the teen male audience between the ages of 15-20 years old. Their girlfriends knew what was coming to them when they joined them in this atmosphere and quite frankly, we never outgrow these kind of movies. Fast cars, exciting action and hot babes, what more do you need?
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
2 Fast but not so Furious
BearGlove28 May 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Before I start about anything. I was little disappointed with this movie. So second movie of The Fast and the Furious franchise didn't full my expectations. Brian is the only one of the main characters who stays in this film from the last film crew. The plot get little bit more action then the last movie so they filled up that part. They put the bad guy, so it gets some action. You still got some badass cars, but it is not about tuning this time. Races from 1/4 of a mile sprint now evolve into circuit races and highway chasing and running from police. The film is mainly about undercover mission to catch that bad guys similar to the last movie, but I miss that there is no one else from the old crew. Still this movie deserve 7, and current rate is underrated. Watch this movie, it won't have much roll into plot in later movie, don't have high expectations and you will like it. It is still worth seeing.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
It gonna make Ben-Hur look like a baby buggy race.
Star Wars Lover10 February 2005
Warning: Spoilers
2 Fast 2 Furious is the sequel of The Fast and Furious, but everyone knows that. The races are very cool and exciting, looking like Need for Speed Underground.The nitrous boosts, the escape from the cops and the jump across the bridge were extremely cool. In the story, Brian O'Connor slept out the police and now he was living only for racing drags and things like that.But he was caught by a cop at the end of a race and had a proposal.He would help the cops investigate a drug seller or he would be arrested.Then the story flows.I will not tell everything about the story, if you want to know more go see the movie. The car parts are great, but some parts like the fight next Brian's boat was really boring. 8/10
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
2 fast 2 furious
sdas1831 January 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I think that 2 fast 2 furious is the best car chase film that i have ever seen. The acting is good and the stunts were well executed.

I have also seen Gone in 60 Seconds and i think that 2fast is 100 times better because in Gone In 60 seconds the plot is weak and the film has lots of guys talking to each other.

I especially enjoyed the scramble scene because i like modified cars and i am a fan of the street culture which is associated with a film like this.

If you like the modified car culture then this film is for you and i would seriously recommend it for all car crazy people out the there.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Best Fast & Furious So Far Honestly
Jeff Horton18 October 2013
Okay so what really counts is realism in my opinion. When he's revving the engine out and actually doing more than 100mph, I want the speedometer to report accurately. It's a little unrealistic but hey it's still a fun movie! The muscle car races are excellent and I recommend the movie to most people who enjoy fast cars and cute girls. The next movie should include more extended periods of engines revving and exhaust like the movie "Bullet". That movie had one of the most epic car chases ever on camera. Key point being realism, they actually video taped them in real life. Not in a CGI booth etc. More engines, revving, and lots of revving and volume! Rumbling of the exhaust of the engines. So in the theater we not only see the fast cars, but FEEL the engines rumbling in our seats. How about a movie that the guy is a test driver, he's running super sports cars across the nation from new york, to California. California to Bahamas etc while all the way bad guys are attempting to steal the cars. That's when verone and dahm and the gang come in to escort them across the nation. High speed racing across the nation like "Cannonball Run"!!! Shelby Cobra GT500s or 1979 porsche 959, or 1995 lamborghini countach, or 1995 Ferrari F50... Cool amazing classics!!! Lots of flames from the exhaust and lots of cute girls screaming and enjoying the ride!!! Good LUCK!
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Decent Entertainment But Not As Good As the First
Michael_Elliott7 April 2013
2 Fast 2 Furious (2003)

** 1/2 (out of 4)

Sequel to THE FAST AND THE FURIOUS has former cop Brian O'Conner (Paul Walker) pulled back into the game when he's asked to go undercover and link a drug dealer to some flowing cash. O'Conner brings in his buddy Roman (Tyrese Gibson) as the two try to bring down the drug dealer so that their records will be cleared. I think it's safe to say that John Singleton is pretty much above this type of material and I think his inexperience in the genre somewhat hurts the picture. There's no question that the man knows how to tell a story and I think he does a great job with just about everything in the picture except for the car races and stunts. The one area where this sequel is really lacking is in regards to the races because they all look rather poor. A lot of this can be blamed on how they're shot and I also wasn't too impressed with the editing during these scenes. It really did seem as if they didn't film anything in a good way so they had to cover it up with the editing. Another bad thing is when the cars hit their "turbo" we're given some very bad effects with all the scenery getting blurry. This here just doesn't work. The rest of the film I thought was pretty good as we're given characters we like and there's no question that there's plenty of eye candy at work. Walker and Gibson are both good in their parts as they share some nice chemistry and both manage to play it cool. Eva Mendes doesn't get too much to do except try out a good looking bikini, which I'm sure will be enough for most. The rest of the supporting players are good in their parts including Cole Hauser as the bad guy as Ludicrous as a racing buddy. At just 108-minutes the film never overstays its welcome and director Singleton at least keeps the film moving at a nice pace. The story itself is downright idiotic but this is a popcorn movie after all so it's not that big of a deal.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
2 fast 2 furious
hot_stuff5464626 June 2003
Warning: Spoilers
2 fast 2 furious was an adrenaline rush for me I loved it I had to go to the theatre to see it twice and I want to go again I am really into the stuff they do. They whole racing thing was awsome now I want a skyline, a eagle, and a mitsubishi eclipse. All with neon lights big spoilers and big engines then I will be set to race legal.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A GREAT FUN flick, I am just here for the entertainment...
flash-10824 June 2003
Fast cars, pretty girls, high speed chases, solid racing. What you were expecting maybe "Gone with the Wind"? This is a fun thing to watch suspend disbelief at the door and enjoy yourself for the time its on the screen. Reminded me a lot of classic car shows of the seventies(i. e. Starsky and Hutch, Dukes of Hazzard etc.) You want some serious drama go see something else. You want an entertaining 2 hours go see this.
38 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
cool
ameliajoster29 September 2003
a cool action flick with lots of action and cars and chases and tyrese is really, really funny in it. paul walker sucks, but tyrese doesn't. also cool perfs by devon aioki and eva mendes and the bad guy from dazed and confused.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
2 Fast is 2 Cool
Hollywood_Yoda7 February 2015
The absence of Vin Diesel is felt greatly in this film, as he and Paul Walker were a great team in the original film. I wasn't sure if I would like this film the first time I saw it, but Paul Walker was still great, as was Tyrese Gibson, playing Roman.

After this film, no one was certain about the future of the Fast franchise, not even Vin Diesel. There is a great storyline from this film that gives background on Brian O'Connor and Roman Pearce for future installments. This all culminates in the 2009 film, Fast & Furious.

I have to say, I really liked the jump onto Carter Verone's (Cole Hauser) yacht, that was really spectacular. I wonder how many takes it took to get that right. And the ejection seats in the car! Ouch! Overall, 2 Fast was not the best of the series, but it was really good nonetheless.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Not as good as the first but still entertaining.
Bruce7222 June 2013
2 Fast 2 Furious isn't quite as good as the first film but it's still a really good movie in its own right. The cast was great once again with Paul Walker returning to his role as Brian O'Connor and Tyrese Gibson and Eva Mendes adding new character dynamics. Tyrese in particular was great. If there's one thing the first film lacked it's that there wasn't much humor. It was a very serious film and while that's great, Tyrese's character, Roman Pearce, added some great laughs at some unexpected moments. The cinematic effects were much better in this film also. The only negatives were that some of the action sequences were a little overboard (Dukes of Hazard jump for example) and the dialogue had too much street car jargon to the extent that some of it felt forced. "That Yenko will snap a speedo in 5 seconds" is an example of the type of dialogue that doesn't actually feel genuine in its placement in the film. Nonetheless, a really good movie with solid acting and great action.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Despite Vin Diesel's absence, the sequel's still solid.
departed0715 August 2008
What made the first "The Fast and the Furious" movie attracted fans besides the bad ass cars and competition on the streets was Vin Diesel's appearance as Dominic Toretta, a hotshot race driver who makes his money racing others in the streets; he was a rising star on the fame after doing such flicks such as "Saving Private Ryan", "The Iron Giant" and later doing "XXX".

At the end of the first movie, Vin's character Dominic flees away to Mexico where he wouldn't be in this sequel.

No matter, the series continues on.

"2 Fast 2 Furious" has Paul Walker reprising his role as Brian O'Conner, the one time agent who betrayed the enforcement agency by letting Dominic get away, is now a fugitive and being in a race competitions every night to make money. After being captured by the police, Brian is given a choice in either going to jail or helped the people he once work for in taking down a drug cartel dealer (Cole Hauser). Brian agrees under one condition that he gets his childhood friend Roman Pierce (Tyrese Gibson, Transformers) involved since he's into cars and knows his ways around tough people. They're also given an ally, the sexy Monica Fuentes (Eva Mendes) who's not only an undercover agent but also posing as the enemy's mistress. Time will tell when all will be revealed.

"2 Fast 2 Furious" is directed by John Singleton of Boyz in the Hood fame where he manages to bring the same energy and high expectations of the first movie. There's more cars, more chase sequences, more babes and more cameos this time around with a high octane pace.

Overall, it's good.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Amazing
x1c08 July 2003
This film is much better than the first , is like to be inside a car a 160m/h and the interpretation of Tyrese has very comic. P.S.I hope the first film will better than this one , I think impossible but I can dream. bye,cya,sayonara and adeus to everyone... x1c0
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
EVERYTHING YOU WILL (AND I DID) EXPECT!
the_el_man22 June 2003
Great cars. Cheesy but cool lead stars (Walker and Tyrese). Lots of semi naked ladies.

Thats pretty much it. AND THATS GOOD!!!

This is much better than the great first film. It features more interesting races, better looking cars and just is a fun blockbuster (First time I have said this for a long time). Its great and has plenty of action and speed.

Looks great and sounds cool.

A Fun Show For All. -- As long as you dont take it too seriously.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
A really fun enjoyable action flick!
necronomicon_seeker19 April 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This film is more of an action comedy then an action which the first film was. This film is about Brian O' Conner who goes back to fighting crime with his buddy Roman Pearce and secret agent Monica Fuentes to bring down the notorious criminal Carter Verone. What I think people don't get about this film is unlike the first, this film is just plain out in good 'ol fun. This is definitely not meant not to be serious at any level. I would think people could tell just by how the actors play their characters. The acting is very good because you can see that the actors are having fun doing this flick to make it an actual fun movie. Even though it is a fun film, the action scenes are great. Like when the car flies onto that boat; I thought that was awesome!!

This film is like a mix of "Hollywood Homicide" and "The French Connection"

Overall I think this is a great little afternoon sit on the couch on a sunny day and leave the screen door open movie.

My take: 10/10
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
great action, great racing
jehren12 June 2003
i understand when people say it is a forced second movie, and i can see when people say it has a thin plot. knowing that going into the movie, i'd say it's excelent. as long as you're not looking for a deep plot, this movie is all you'd expect. action, and racing, and girls. that's what you are hoping for, right?
23 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews