Kevin James: Sweat the Small Stuff (2001) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
9 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
You Might Stop Eating Pizza After This Show.
james36200122 January 2002
You might stop eating pizza altogether or not be so quick to enter an elevator or never enter a bank again after watching this show. "The phone number/phone message bit" is great. "Opening the car door" was great too. How I wish the Comedy Central cable network had commercial-free comedy. They ruined this special by adding (I lost count) six commercial breaks and those fillers making this one-hour show only 39 minutes of actual joke-telling.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Kevin James Needs To Do More Stand-Up Videos
mr_matt111 February 2005
My wife and I own this DVD after it was recommended by friends. Previous comments of this being funny are dead-on. We recite lines from the act routinely back and forth. The phone number bit and jet ski bit had us slapping the floor. We never watched his TV show prior to seeing the special, but now catch it from time to time and realize that this man is funny! Observations, self-depreciating humor, facial expressions, sound effects and body movements GALORE are all highlights of this special...and you can see touches of them all in his television show as well. He'd make a great comedic sidekick/comic relief in movies...and it looks like he's breaking into them with that new movie "Hitch" that just came out. Previews seem to portray him as the comic relief. Funny man!
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I'm still laughing.
Angel_and_Demon25 September 2003
I saw this on Comedy Central after my older brother recommended it to me and my mother. I was laughing so hard, I have never laughed like that since Robin Williams Live on Broadway. The sketch with the phone numbers, and the Hallmark woman were the funniest. Kevin James is soooo funny!

Rating: 10/10
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The most hilarious stand-up piece I've seen!
greenbob1712 June 2003
This is one funny New Yorker. In fact if he were to come to Atlanta to perform this same piece, I would pay good money to see it. This is probably the best act I've seen aired on Comedy Central, well worth watching. The facial expressions James makes during this are amazing. In fact you could probably get a ton of laughs just looking at him on the TV screen with the volume off.

Great work Kevin and we'd love to have you in Atlanta!
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Can i say he is a god?
paigeypoo8223 November 2002
Wow! That is all I have to say about Kevin James. He has got women pretty figured out. I laughed so much my mother thought i was going to die. He is a brilliant man. The whole buying a card thing really got to me. How does he do it? Can I say that he is a god? Not only is he extremely good looking, he is a very funny and talented. Kudos to you Kevin and keep up the great work. Love ya...
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I laughed till I hurt!
childers-321 June 2004
This is a must-see for anyone who loves good stand-up comedy. Strangely, I've never seen King of Queens, for which he stars, but I saw his Sweat the Small Stuff on Comedy Central and laughed until I was out of breath! Watch his facial expressions when he's asked by airport personnel, "Do you know what's in your suitcase?" His response is hysterical. Also, his skit involving women picking out greeting cards is dead-on. The number rhythm bit is also great! Get hold of a copy of this ASAP. It can be viewed by anyone in your family. No smut or cursing - very clean, and incredibly funny! Another great comic is Eddie Izzard. He's uses the *f* word frequently, but he's British, so he scales it down a bit. He's also an action-transvestite. Keep an open mind and see his Dress to Kill DVD.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely hysterical!
hunnylvr16 January 2003
When I first caught this on Comedy Central, I only saw the last half and loved it. For over two months, I searched for the repeat and finally saw the whole thing. Kevin James is a brilliant comedian. Not only are his stories very funny, but he is a master of gesture, body movement and facial expression. I kept this on tape and have passed it around to friends who've come back laughing every time. Too bad Comedy Central enjoys commercial interruptions and censors. I'd love to see this guy on HBO.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Funny Shtuff!!!
MysticalGem14 August 2002
This is the funniest bit on Comedy Central. I coudnt stop laughing. The guy is hilarious, and it's family viewable (at least I don't remember any vulgar material..). I only caught the last half of this twice, and I really wish they could release this show on VHS/DVD or something, unedited. But I love this guy. I hope he comes out with more material. He's a riot.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious
greghall6120 March 2007
Kevin James is a comic genius! This is the funniest thing I have seen in years! His facial expressions were priceless and the water skiing thing was hilarious. These were things we could all relate to and that was what really made it funny. I really loved the line at the airport bit and the phone number rhythm thing was great. The DVD is hard to find but I would love to buy it. I have seen it several times on Comedy Central and could watch it again and again. The whole bit was really pretty clean so the whole family watched it. We can quote all of the jokes now but still love to watch it. Watching this made me a "King of Queens" fan.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed